Guide

When a Smart Home Maker's Own Pages Disagree

Illustration of two document pages side by side, each with one highlighted line, and a magnifying glass resting between them

One maker page isn’t enough to settle how long a device will get security updates or whether it can be mounted outdoors. On 33 of the products we track, the maker’s own documents give two different answers to a question like that about the same product. When you find two answers, start with the document written for the exact model you’re buying: a signed compliance statement, the user manual, or the line in a table that names the model number. A general policy page or a headline feature list covers a whole range, and one model in that range can differ.

For security updates there is a second step. Some makers sign a statement for each model in countries that require one, and a signed statement for your model outranks a sentence on a brand-wide policy page. Where two signed statements promise different periods, our profiles use the shorter promise as a conservative planning reference. Read the named region: a United Kingdom statement is not a guarantee for a unit bought elsewhere.

Where the two answers come from

The cases in our records fall into a few shapes, and each one points at a different document to check.

A policy page and a signed statement. Aqara publishes a general security page with a minimum update period for certain models, a support table with end dates, and signed statements for the United Kingdom and Australia that name individual products. For the Aqara Camera Hub G5 Pro and the Aqara Smart Lock U200, those documents give different periods, and the two countries’ statements differ from each other. Of the products listed below, 9 are Aqara’s. That reflects how much Aqara publishes. A maker that puts out one page has nothing for it to disagree with, so a short list for a brand is not a finding about that brand.

A store page and a manual. The store page for the Aqara Camera Hub G3 lists a weather rating in its specifications, and the camera’s user manual says where it may be used. The two don’t match. Anyone planning to mount it under an eave should read the manual’s installation section before ordering.

Two places on one page. A product page’s question-and-answer section can say one thing while a feature list or a per-model line higher up says another. The Mammotion LUBA 3 AWD has a case of this about which models get its positioning service free. Per-model lines are the ones to read when a product comes in several sizes.

A plans table and a help page. Ring’s plans page describes its entry plan by the doorbell or camera it covers, while that plan’s help page lists a calling feature for the Ring Alarm Flood & Freeze Sensor. A comparison table is a summary, and the help page for the plan is where the device-by-device detail sits.

How a case gets onto this page

Both sentences are quoted word for word from the maker’s own pages, its manuals or its certification and compliance filings. Each one carries the name of the document and the date we read it. A case counts only when the two sentences are about the same fact on the same product and both come from the maker.

Every case ends with what the product page shows and one sentence of reasoning. For a security-update period, a signed statement for the model comes before a brand-wide policy sentence, and where two signed statements differ the page goes by the shorter, because that is the period a buyer can plan on. Where nothing settles the question, the page says less: the camera above is shown with no weather rating at all.

A case appears only when both sentences are on file exactly as the maker wrote them. Others wait for the next read of the maker’s pages. This is desk research. We read documents and compare them, and nothing here comes from using the products.

Every case that affects a purchase

There are 35 findings on 33 products from 19 makers. This list keeps the cases that bear on what you pay, whether the product works with the rest of your home, how long it gets security updates, or whether it is safe where you plan to put it; the 17 smaller differences we found, such as a runtime or a zone count, stay in our records and off this list. Each product name links to its full page.

Aiper Scuba S1 (2026)

Where Aiper's own pages disagree

pool type

On pool type, this page shows in-ground. This page goes by Aiper's specification table, which gives in-ground pools as the pool type, although a paragraph on the same Aiper page also names above-ground pools.

Airthings View Plus

Where Airthings's own pages disagree

Amazon Alexa compatibility

On Amazon Alexa compatibility, this page shows that it works, by a limited route. Airthings' product page says Alexa can trigger routines from sensor readings while its specification sheet describes Alexa as reading the current values aloud, so this page says it works with Alexa, with an exception.

Aqara Camera Hub G3

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

whether the camera is rated for outdoor use

On whether the camera is rated for outdoor use, this page shows no water or weather rating is claimed. Aqara's store page lists an IP65 rating for this camera while its user manual says it is only for indoor use, so this page states no water rating and does not describe it as an outdoor camera.

Aqara Camera Hub G350

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

Subscription

On whether it needs a subscription, this page shows optional subscription. Aqara's product page says the cloud plan's free trial starts automatically while its own store listing says there are no automatic trials, so this page says only that the plan is optional and comes with a trial.

Aqara Camera Hub G5 Pro

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

Security-update support period

On how long it gets security updates, this page shows updates until December 31, 2026 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). Aqara's signed statements for this camera promise security updates until 31 December 2026 in the UK and at least 3 or 5 years from launch in Australia, and its general policy page promises at least 2 years for certain models, so this page goes by the UK date because it is the shortest promise Aqara has signed.

Aqara Presence Sensor FP2

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

Works without the internet

On whether it works without the internet, this page shows that it partly does. Aqara's store page says this sensor's automations keep working with no internet connection, while its user manual says local automation needs a hub with Wi-Fi local automation features, so this page says it works without the internet only with other Aqara or Apple Home devices.

Security-update support period

On how long it gets security updates, this page shows at least 2 years of security updates from the launch day — Aqara's stated policy, qualified to "certain device models". The document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated. Aqara has signed a UK statement promising at least 2 years of security updates from launch and an Australian statement promising at least 5 years for the same Presence Sensor FP2 model codes, and this page goes by Aqara's general policy of at least 2 years because neither statement can be tied to the version sold in the United States.

Aqara Smart Lock U200

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

Security-update support period

On how long it gets security updates, this page shows updates until December 31, 2026 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). Aqara's signed statements for this lock promise security updates until 31 December 2026 in the UK and at least 5 years from launch in Australia, while its policy table lists 30 June 2026, so this page goes by the UK date because it is the shorter of the two promises Aqara signed.

Aqara Smart Lock U400

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

Security-update support period

On how long it gets security updates, this page shows at least 2 years of security updates from the launch day — Aqara's stated policy, qualified to "certain device models" and with no published launch date for this model. The document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated. Aqara's general policy page promises at least 2 years of security updates for certain models, while its signed Australian statement for the U400 kit promises at least 3 years, so this page goes by the policy page because the statement does not say which of its six model codes is the lock sold in the United States.

Aqara Valve Controller T1

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

Security-update support period

On how long it gets security updates, this page shows updates until December 31, 2026 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). Aqara's signed statements for this valve controller promise security updates until 31 December 2026 in the UK and at least 5 years from launch in Australia, and its general policy page promises at least 2 years for certain models, so this page goes by the UK date because it is the shorter of the two promises Aqara signed.

Aqara Water Leak Sensor

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

whether the sensor has a sounder of its own

On whether the sensor has a sounder of its own, this page shows no sounder on the sensor; the hub sounds the alarm. Aqara's US store description says this sensor has a built-in buzzer, while its product page and quick start guide say the hub sounds the alarm, so this page says the sensor itself is silent.

Aqara Wireless Mini Switch

Where Aqara's own pages disagree

Security-update support period

On how long it gets security updates, this page shows at least 2 years from the launch day (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). Aqara's signed UK statement for this switch promises security updates for at least 2 years from launch, while its security support policy table lists an end date of 30 June 2026, so this page goes by the signed statement because it names this exact model.

Big Ass Fans Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan

Where Big Ass Fans's own pages disagree

whether the color-changing uplight is available on this fan

On whether the color-changing uplight is available on this fan, this page shows optional lighting is a downlight; the uplight is not available on this damp-rated fan. Big Ass Fans' product page says a color-changing uplight is available for this fan, while its specification sheet says the uplight is not available on damp-rated fans, so this page goes by the specification sheet because the product page's own order form offers only a downlight or no light.

Cielo Breez Max

Where Cielo's own pages disagree

Home Assistant compatibility

On Home Assistant compatibility, this page shows that it works. Cielo's own comparison tables disagree about whether the Breez Max works with Home Assistant, so this page goes by Home Assistant's integration page, which lists the Breez Max by name.

ecobee Smart Doorbell Camera (wired)

Where ecobee's own pages disagree

Google Home compatibility

On Google Home compatibility, this page shows that it works; camera stream and two-way audio unconfirmed. ecobee's doorbell page lists Google Home among the systems it pairs with, but the same page's specification list and ecobee's smart home integrations page name Google only for its thermostat, so this page treats Google Home as named by ecobee with nothing confirmed to work.

eufy FamiLock S3 Max

Where eufy's own pages disagree

whether the lock works with eufy HomeBase 2

On whether the lock works with eufy HomeBase 2, this page shows unknown (the record states only the HomeBase 3 pairing). eufy's own page says in one place that this lock was expected to work with HomeBase 2 from mid-2025 and in another that it does not work with HomeBase 2, so this page lists only the HomeBase 3 pairing eufy states plainly.

eufy Video Doorbell S4

Where eufy's own pages disagree

Apple Home compatibility

On Apple Home compatibility, this page shows that it works; two-way audio unconfirmed. eufy's general doorbell support article says HomeKit is not supported, while eufy's own pages for the S4 say it works with Apple Home through a HomeBase S380, so this page goes by the S4's own pages.

Google Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen)

Where Google Nest's own pages disagree

how often this thermostat needs a C wire or the Nest Power Connector

On how often this thermostat needs a C wire or the Nest Power Connector, this page shows both, with the help article's system list first, in maintenance.notes. Google's C wire help article says heating-only, cooling-only, zone-controlled and heat pump systems need a C wire or the Nest Power Connector, while its specification page says one is needed in under 1% of homes, so this page gives the help article's list first.

Home Assistant Green

Where Home Assistant's own pages disagree

Thread through the Connect ZBT-2

On Thread through the Connect ZBT-2, this page shows Thread on the ZBT-2 offered, with the Green page warning repeated in the Home Assistant catch. Home Assistant's page for the Green says Thread through the Connect ZBT-2 is still under development while the ZBT-2's own page offers Thread as a ready choice, so this page repeats the Green page's warning.

Hunter Aerodyne Indoor Smart Fan ENERGY STAR with LED Light, 60 inch (52832)

Where Hunter Fan's own pages disagree

Apple devices the fan works with

On Apple devices the fan works with, this page shows an Apple home hub (HomePod 2nd generation or later, HomePod mini, Apple TV 4K 2nd generation or later) is needed to keep the fan in Apple Home. This page goes by Hunter's Apple Home changes article, which says the fan now needs a HomePod (2nd generation or later), a HomePod mini or an Apple TV 4K (2nd generation or later) for Apple Home, although Hunter's Siri commands article still lists older devices such as the Apple TV (3rd generation) and iPhones on iOS 13.

Hunter Techne Indoor Smart Fan with 4 Lights, 52 inch (52310/52311/52312)

Where Hunter Fan's own pages disagree

Apple devices the fan works with

On Apple devices the fan works with, this page shows an Apple home hub (HomePod 2nd generation or later, HomePod mini, Apple TV 4K 2nd generation or later) is needed to keep the fan in Apple Home. This page goes by Hunter's Apple Home changes article, which says the fan now needs a HomePod (2nd generation or later), a HomePod mini or an Apple TV 4K (2nd generation or later) for Apple Home, although Hunter's Siri commands article still lists older devices such as the Apple TV (3rd generation) and iPhones on iOS 13.

Hunter Pro-HC (Hydrawise)

Where Hunter Industries's own pages disagree

whether starting watering from a sensor input needs the paid plan

On whether starting watering from a sensor input needs the paid plan, this page shows the paid Enthusiast plan is needed to start watering from a sensor input. Hunter's plan comparison lists starting watering from a sensor as included on the free Home plan, while its specification page says it needs the paid Enthusiast plan, so this page goes by the specification page.

IKEA GRILLPLATS Smart Plug

Where IKEA's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows no hub needed to switch it with an IKEA remote control or motion sensor; a hub adds phone, app, voice and automation control. IKEA's launch announcement says every Matter product in the range needs a smart home hub, while this plug's manual says it can be paired directly with an IKEA remote or motion sensor without one, so this page goes by the manual.

IKEA MYGGBETT Door/Window Sensor

Where IKEA's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows no hub needed to use it with other IKEA smart products; a hub adds phone, app, voice and automation control. IKEA's launch announcement says every Matter product in the range needs a smart home hub, while this sensor's manual says it can be paired directly with other IKEA smart products without one, so this page goes by the manual.

IKEA MYGGSPRAY Wireless Motion Sensor

Where IKEA's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows no hub needed to use it with other IKEA smart products; a hub adds phone, app, voice and automation control. IKEA's launch announcement says every Matter product in the range needs a smart home hub, while this sensor's manual says it can be paired directly with other IKEA smart products without one, so this page goes by the manual.

Mammotion LUBA 3 AWD

Where Mammotion's own pages disagree

Subscription

On whether it needs a subscription, this page shows iNavi (NetRTK) free for life on the 3000 and 5000 models; the 1500 is not on the qualifying list. Mammotion's FAQ says every LUBA 3 gets NetRTK free for life, while the same page describes the 1500 as working without RTK or NetRTK and its 4G Service listing names only the 3000 and 5000 models, so this page goes by the per-model lines.

Matic Robot Vacuum and Mop

Where Matic's own pages disagree

App platforms

  • “Matic works seamlessly with both iPhone (iOS 17.2 or above) and Android (Android 14 and above) smartphones.” Matic shop page FAQ block, read 2026-09-30
  • “Yes, the Matic app is supported on iOS 17.2 and above. Our Android beta app is now available.” Matic help-centre FAQ, read 2026-09-30

On which phones its app runs on, this page shows iOS and Android. Matic's shop page lists Android 14 and later as supported, while its help centre still calls the Android app a beta, so this page lists both phones and notes the beta wording.

whether audio or video is ever collected

  • “No user’s audio or video information is ever shared, sold, or even collected in the first place.” Matic shop page FAQ block, read 2026-09-30
  • “That means no user’s audio or video information is ever shared, sold, or even collected in the first place, except in limited circumstances when we provide support services (and explicitly authorized by you).” Matic help-centre FAQ, read 2026-09-30

On whether audio or video is ever collected, this page shows the exception is stated in theCatch. Matic's shop page says no audio or video is ever collected, and its help centre adds an exception for support you authorise, so this page goes by the help centre's narrower wording.

Nanoleaf PC Screen Mirror Lightstrip

Where Nanoleaf's own pages disagree

Desktop App minimum operating system

On Desktop App minimum operating system, this page shows Windows 11 or macOS 13. This page goes by the Nanoleaf site menu, which says the Desktop App needs Windows 11 or macOS 13, although Nanoleaf's Desktop App page says Windows 10 or later, or macOS 12 or later.

Philips Hue Smart Button

Where Philips Hue's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows A Hue Bridge is optional: the button pairs to up to 10 lights without one, and a Bridge adds its settings and up to 50 lights. Signify's shop page says a Bridge is required for the smart button, while the same page's FAQ and its setup guide pair it to up to 10 lights without one, so this page lists the Bridge as optional and says what it adds.

Ring Alarm Flood & Freeze Sensor (Z-Wave)

Where Ring's own pages disagree

Subscription

On whether it needs a subscription, this page shows Ring Solo is the cheapest plan that covers a Ring Alarm. Ring's plans page says Ring Solo covers one doorbell or camera, while its Ring Solo help page lists Flood and Freeze Calls for this sensor, so this page goes by the help page and names Ring Solo as the cheapest plan that covers a Ring Alarm.

Ring Alarm Security Kit, 8-Piece (2nd gen)

Where Ring's own pages disagree

Subscription

On whether it needs a subscription, this page shows Ring Solo is the cheapest plan that covers a Ring Alarm. Ring's plans page says Ring Solo covers one doorbell or camera, while its Ring Solo help page lists arming and disarming the alarm in the Ring app as a Ring Solo feature, so this page goes by the help page and names Ring Solo as the cheapest plan that covers a Ring Alarm.

Ring Smart Lighting Solar Steplight

Where Ring's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows a Ring hub is required for the smart features, with Amazon Sidewalk coverage named as Ring's own exception. Ring's support article says a Ring Bridge is required for smart controls while its product page says a home that already has Amazon Sidewalk coverage might not need one, so this page tells buyers to budget for a Bridge.

Tapo Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug, Matter (P400M)

Where Tapo's own pages disagree

maximum motor load

On maximum motor load, this page shows 1/6 HP motor (the datasheet's figure), with the page's 1/2 HP named as the conflict. TP-Link's product page rates this plug for a 1/2 HP motor and its datasheet for 1/6 HP, so this page goes by the datasheet's lower figure.

YoLink Water Leak Sensor 1

Where YoLink's own pages disagree

the sensor's working temperature range

On the sensor's working temperature range, this page shows 32°F to 122°F (0°C to 50°C). YoLink gives this sensor's working range as -4°F to 122°F in its specification and as 32°F to 122°F, indoor use only, in its store description, so this page shows the narrower range.

Checking a promise yourself

You can run the same check on any product before you buy it, including ones we don’t cover.

  • Find the model number first. It’s on the box, the label or the store page’s specifications. A promise only counts for you if the document names that model.
  • Look for a compliance or security page. Some makers that sell in the United Kingdom or Australia post a signed statement per product giving a security-update period. Search the maker’s site for “statement of compliance” or “security support period”. If a period has already ended, our guide to what can remain usable when a service ends covers what to check next.
  • Open the manual for anything about placement. Outdoor use, temperature limits and wiring are usually covered in the installation section.
  • For subscriptions, read the plan’s help page as well as the comparison table, and check which of your devices each feature needs.
  • When two documents differ, go by the one that promises less until the maker’s support team tells you otherwise in writing.

If you spot a maker page that says something different from what we’ve quoted, or a sentence that has changed since the date shown, tell us through the corrections page. Dated quotes go stale, and a reader with the maker’s page open is often the first to see it.

Frequently asked questions

Does a longer list for one maker mean that maker is less reliable?

No. A maker shows up here only when it has published two or more documents about the same fact that we could read and compare. A maker with signed statements for several countries, a policy page and a support table has many places to compare. A maker that publishes one short page has none, and its absence from the list says nothing about how long it will support a product.

Why are price differences left out?

Prices and stock change by the day, so two maker pages showing different prices may simply have been updated at different times. We record those differences and keep them off the page.

What happens when the maker fixes one of its pages?

Each sentence is shown with the date we read it. If a later read finds the maker has brought the two documents into line, we update the product's record and the case leaves this list.

Sources for this guide· 5 product records

Product facts come from the linked research records; other cited sources appear below. Read each claim with its source date and any stated limit. Prices, features and support can change after a check. These are research profiles, not hands-on reviews.Report a correction if a source now gives a different answer.