Product Library / Indoor Air & Comfort

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-18

Big Ass Fans Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Four Big Ass Fans models now sit in this catalogue and the names differ by one word. This is the Haiku Outdoor — 52 to 84 in., $1,700.00 to $2,880.00, damp-rated for covered spaces. It is NOT the indoor Haiku ("big-ass-fans-haiku-ceiling-fan", $1,550), NOT the low-profile Haiku L ("big-ass-fans-haiku-l", $849.00 to $999.00) and NOT the i6 ("big-ass-fans-i6", $2,100 to $3,560). ⚠ The compatibility difference between them is REAL and is the reason this warning matters: this page names four ecosystems outright, while the i6's and the Haiku L's pages name none at all.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][8][11][14][17]
[1][8][14][20]
[1][8][14][20]
[1][8][14]
[2][10][16]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · MATTER[1][3]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Matter controller

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[1][8][14][21][22]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4] [9] [15]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4] [9] [15]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[4][9][15]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomePartial[1][8][11][14][17]Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][8][14][20]AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][8][14][20]SmartThingsInconclusive[1][8][14]Home AssistantInconclusive[2][10][16]
On/offDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan mode is not on it.

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Big Ass Fans names Apple Home in one sentence — 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee.' — so the route it claims is Matter rather than a HomeKit-native link. Apple's side stops short of that. Apple's own list of the Matter accessories the Home app supports names air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and a few sensors, and it leaves fans out, so Apple does not say the Home app will run this fan. That is why this reads partial rather than full. We also found no Matter certificate for this model in the certification body's database, so the Matter route itself is the maker's claim. On Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV, which the page does not mention, is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control.[1][8][11][14][17]

Fan mode automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Fan mode is not on it.

Google Home

Big Ass Fans lists Google Home among the platforms this fan works with. It does not say how the fan links to Google Home or what Google Home can do with it, so on/off and fan mode are unconfirmed there. Big Ass Fans ties Matter to Apple Home only.[1][8][14][20]

Alexa

Big Ass Fans lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms this fan works with. It does not say how the fan links to Alexa or what Alexa can do with it, so on/off and fan mode are unconfirmed there. Big Ass Fans ties Matter to Apple Home only.[1][8][14][20]

SmartThings

Not established. SmartThings is not in the vendor's four-name list and appears nowhere else on the page. ⚠ Deliberately NOT inferred from the Matter claim: a Matter device is reachable by Matter controllers in principle, but this catalogue records what a source states, and no source read here states SmartThings support for this model.[1][8][14]

Home Assistant

Not established for this model. Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration lists 'Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later' and 'i6 Fans'; the Haiku Outdoor is nominally a Haiku fan, but it is never named, the firmware condition is unchecked, and no Big Ass Fans surface ties this model to that protocol. Ambiguity resolves to unknown — the same standard applied to the Haiku L in the previous batch, and the same one that filled the i6, which the integration names outright.[2][10][16]

Device documentation: [4] [9] [15]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[1][8][11][14][17]Big Ass Fans names Apple Home in one sentence — 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee.' — so the route it claims is Matter rather than a HomeKit-native link. Apple's side stops short of that. Apple's own list of the Matter accessories the Home app supports names air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and a few sensors, and it leaves fans out, so Apple does not say the Home app will run this fan. That is why this reads partial rather than full. We also found no Matter certificate for this model in the certification body's database, so the Matter route itself is the maker's claim. On Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV, which the page does not mention, is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control.
Amazon AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][8][14][20]Big Ass Fans lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms this fan works with. It does not say how the fan links to Alexa or what Alexa can do with it, so on/off and fan mode are unconfirmed there. Big Ass Fans ties Matter to Apple Home only.
Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][8][14][20]Big Ass Fans lists Google Home among the platforms this fan works with. It does not say how the fan links to Google Home or what Google Home can do with it, so on/off and fan mode are unconfirmed there. Big Ass Fans ties Matter to Apple Home only.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][8][14]Not established. SmartThings is not in the vendor's four-name list and appears nowhere else on the page. ⚠ Deliberately NOT inferred from the Matter claim: a Matter device is reachable by Matter controllers in principle, but this catalogue records what a source states, and no source read here states SmartThings support for this model.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2][10][16]Not established for this model. Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration lists 'Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later' and 'i6 Fans'; the Haiku Outdoor is nominally a Haiku fan, but it is never named, the firmware condition is unchecked, and no Big Ass Fans surface ties this model to that protocol. Ambiguity resolves to unknown — the same standard applied to the Haiku L in the previous batch, and the same one that filled the i6, which the integration names outright.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][8][14]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription, plan or fee is named anywhere on Big Ass Fans' product page for this model. Recorded as "none" on the strength of the vendor carrying no plan.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

Read the rating before the price. 'Damp-rated for covered patios, porches, and sunrooms with overhead protection' is Big Ass Fans' own wording, and it means this fan is for a roofed space — an open deck is outside what the vendor rates it for, and the specification sheet rules out salt air and anywhere within 50 miles of the coast. ⊕ On compatibility this page is unusually straight for the brand: 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee', with control by app, voice, a Bluetooth wall control and a handheld remote. ⚠ Four limits on that sentence, though. It names Alexa and Google Home without saying how the fan links to either or which commands work, so both read partial here; Apple's own list of the Matter accessories the Home app supports does not include fans, so the Apple route is the maker's claim and not one Apple backs; that route is Matter, where an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV, which the page never mentions, is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control; and SmartThings is not on the vendor's list, so it stays unknown here rather than being inferred from the word Matter. ⚠ Also worth knowing: LED lighting is optional rather than included, and the page prints no warranty term — it links to a document.

Where Big Ass Fans's own pages disagree

whether the color-changing uplight is available on this fan

On whether the color-changing uplight is available on this fan, this page shows optional lighting is a downlight; the uplight is not available on this damp-rated fan. Big Ass Fans' product page says a color-changing uplight is available for this fan, while its specification sheet says the uplight is not available on damp-rated fans, so this page goes by the specification sheet because the product page's own order form offers only a downlight or no light.

Who it's for

A covered porch, patio or sunroom, well inland, for a buyer wanting a large, quiet fan, willing to pay from $1,700 and happy to run it from Big Ass Fans' own app, remote or wall control. Big Ass Fans names Alexa and Google Home for this fan without saying how it links to them or which commands work, so a household buying it for either should ask the maker first. Big Ass Fans also names Apple Home through Matter, but Apple's own list of supported Matter accessories leaves fans out, so an Apple household should treat that route as the maker's claim until Apple names fans. It is the wrong buy for an exposed deck or a coastal home — the vendor rates it damp, not wet, and wants it at least 50 miles from the coast — and an uncertain one for SmartThings or Home Assistant households, where nothing is documented for this specific model.

Check availability at Big Ass Fans

This opens Big Ass Fans's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

22 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] bigassfans.com, Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] home-assistant.io, Big Ass Fans (baf) integration documentation — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  3. [3] bigassfans.com's Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan product page, read 2026-08-20: "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee", and "Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." The page names no certificate, states no transport for Matter, and names no hub or bridge in either direction., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  4. [4] Big Ass Fans' own Haiku technical specification sheet (HKU-MKTG-222-ENG-01 REV. N, 05/22/26), read 2026-08-21 as a PDF. It covers this model rather than only the indoor sibling, and that was checked rather than assumed: its fan-specification table enumerates 'Covered Damp' rows for the 52, 60 and 84 in. diameters, and the 84 in. Covered Damp row reads '17,369' CFM — the exact airflow figure this record's product page leads with. Verbatim from the Construction Features table — Controls: 'Bluetooth remote / Big Ass Fans mobile app / Voice control / 0-10 V (optional)'; Integrations: 'Voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa' and 'Apple Homekit with Matter'; Onboard Sensors: 'Temperature and motion sensors enable SenseME Technology'. Key features, verbatim: 'Superior airflow control with bluetooth remote, seven speed settings, mobile app, and more'. Footnote: 'Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant.' Read against the product page's own sentence at https://bigassfans.com/haiku-outdoor-ceiling-fan/ — 'Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote.' ⊕ Second, differently-constructed check behind the Apple limit recorded in perIntegrationLimits: the CSA's certified-products listing at https://csa-iot.org/csa-iot_products/ was queried on 2026-08-21 twice — once by the keyword 'big ass fans' and once by its Big Ass Fans company filter — and both queries return exactly two entries, both titled 'es6' — a different Big Ass Fans model, whose two certificate identifiers belong to it and are left on its own registry entries rather than repeated here, because the document this entry cites is Big Ass Fans' own specification sheet and a specification sheet never prints a certification number. No Haiku, Haiku Outdoor, Haiku L or i6 entry appears in either result, which is the finding this check exists for and is unchanged by not restating the es6's numbers. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Capabilities
  5. [5] https://bigassfans.com/haiku-outdoor-ceiling-fan/ and the Big Ass Fans cutsheet at https://bigassfans.widen.net/content/i1iywwi1kn/pdf/cutsheet-haiku.pdf (read 2026-09-09) carry no band, 802.11 or frequency statement and link no app store. The Wi-Fi band and the app's platforms stay unanswered, recorded as checked and not published. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  6. [6] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-11 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-11
  7. [7] Big Ass Fans' own page for the outdoor Haiku prints no model number and no part number, read on 2026-09-18. Under the maker number 0x1452 the certification ledger carries eight models, and the only two that mention Haiku are called Haiku H/I Series and Haiku L Series — both of which already belong to the two other Haiku fans in this catalogue. No ledger entry names an outdoor fan, a weather rating or a damp location. So no certificate numbers are attached here, and nothing on this page claims that the series entry next door covers this fan. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
  8. [8] Big Ass Fans' product page for the Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "HAIKU® OUTDOOR CEILING FAN" · "$1,700.00 - $2,880.00" · "Damp-rated for covered patios, porches, and sunrooms with overhead protection." · "Three precision-balanced aluminum airfoils deliver up to 17,369 CFM at under 35 dBA." · "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Optional LED downlight and color-changing uplight available. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." The order form lists diameters of 52, 60 and 84 in., downrod or flush mounting, and lighting as Downlight or No Light. The page names no fee or plan, no hub, no SmartThings and no warranty term; it links to Tech Specs, an Install Guide and a Warranty document. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  9. [9] Big Ass Fans' Haiku technical specification sheet (HKU-MKTG-222-ENG-01 REV. N, dated 05/22/26), read in full on 2026-10-01. It covers this fan: the aluminum fan-specification table has Covered Damp rows for 52, 60 and 84 in., and the 84 in. Covered Damp row gives 17,369 CFM, 26 lb and 42.3 W. Operating voltage for every row: "100–240 VAC, 1 Φ, 50–60 Hz". Mounting: low profile on flat ceilings from 8 to 10 ft, universal on sloped or flat ceilings from 9 ft. Controls column: 'Bluetooth remote', 'Big Ass Fans mobile app', 'Voice control', '0–10 V (optional)'. Integrations column: 'Voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa' and 'Apple Homekit with Matter'. Key features: seven speed settings. Footnotes, verbatim: "SenseME Technology and the Haiku mobile app are supported by Android™ and iOS®." · "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." · "Not suitable for salt air environments." · "Fan must be installed at least 50 miles (80.5 km) inland from coast." · "Uplight not available on damp-rated fans." The damp footnote also requires fixed overhead cover reaching at least two feet past the airfoil tips and the included stabilizer. The cover panel gives the warranty as up to 5 years indoor and up to 3 years outdoor, and the sheet says warranty period and terms vary by country and application. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Installation, Power source, App platforms, Capabilities
  10. [10] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page, read in full on 2026-10-01. Supported devices, verbatim: "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" · "Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" · "i6 Fans". "Its IoT class is Local Push." The page names no outdoor or damp-rated model. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  11. [11] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (published May 07, 2026), read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." The list does not name fans. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  12. [12] The Matter certification ledger's model list for Big Ass Fans' vendor number 5202 (0x1452), read on 2026-10-01 through the ledger lookup tool. It carries eight models: i6, es6, Haiku H/I Series, Haiku L Series, Speakeasy, Turbo6, Mammoth and Bison. None is named as an outdoor or damp-rated Haiku., verified 2026-10-01
  13. [13] Big Ass Fans' product page for the Haiku Outdoor and its Haiku specification sheet, both read on 2026-10-01 and quoted word for word. Product page: "Optional LED downlight and color-changing uplight available." Specification sheet: "Uplight not available on damp-rated fans.", verified 2026-10-01
  14. [14] Big Ass Fans' product page for the Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan, read in full on 2026-10-02. Verbatim: "HAIKU® OUTDOOR CEILING FAN" · "$1,700.00 - $2,880.00" · "Damp-rated for covered patios, porches, and sunrooms with overhead protection." · "Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Optional LED downlight and color-changing uplight available. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." The page names no Alexa skill, no account link and no list of voice commands, and no fee or plan, no hub, no SmartThings and no warranty term; it links to Tech Specs, an Install Guide and a Warranty document. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  15. [15] Big Ass Fans' Haiku technical specification sheet (HKU-MKTG-222-ENG-01 REV. N, dated 05/22/26), read in full on 2026-10-02. It covers indoor and covered damp fans. Operating voltage for every row of both fan-specification tables: "100–240 VAC, 1 Φ, 50–60 Hz". The Integrations column lists voice control with Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa and Apple Homekit with Matter. Footnotes, verbatim: "Voice control requires an Amazon Alexa-enabled device or the Google Assistant." · "SenseME Technology and the Haiku mobile app are supported by Android™ and iOS®." · "Uplight not available on damp-rated fans." The sheet names no skill, no account link and no list of voice commands. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Installation, Power source, App platforms, Capabilities
  16. [16] Home Assistant's Big Ass Fans integration page, read in full on 2026-10-02. Its supported devices are "Haiku Fans with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)", "Discontinued Haiku Lights with 3.0 firmware and later (Legacy SenseME firmware not supported)" and "i6 Fans". It does not name the Haiku Outdoor. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  17. [17] Apple's support article on pairing and managing Matter accessories, read in full on 2026-10-02: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." Fans are not on the list. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  18. [18] The Matter certification ledger's model list for Big Ass Fans' vendor number 5202 (0x1452), read in full on 2026-10-02. It carries eight models: i6, es6, Haiku H/I Series, Haiku L Series, Speakeasy, Turbo6, Mammoth and Bison. None is named as an outdoor or damp-rated Haiku. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-02
  19. [19] This record's own entries for the maker pages its maker finding quotes., verified 2026-10-01
  20. [20] Big Ass Fans' product page for the Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Smart Home Ready, Optional Lighting Works with Apple HomeKit (Matter), Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Ecobee. Optional LED downlight and color-changing uplight available. Control via app, voice, Bluetooth wall control, or handheld remote." The page names no Alexa skill, no account link and no list of voice commands. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  21. [21] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (Published Date May 07, 2026), read 2026-10-10: "If you have an iPhone using iOS 18 or later, you can add Matter accessories to and control Matter accessories from the Home app without a home hub." · "However, for the best experience set up a home hub to add supported Matter and thread-based accessories to the Home app." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  22. [22] Apple Support, 'Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub' (Published Date September 15, 2025), read 2026-10-10: "Set up a home hub to control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories to do what you want, when you want." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Required hub or bridge

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Big Ass Fans Haiku Outdoor Ceiling Fan with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker