Product Library / Plugs & Outlets

Research profile · verified 2026-10-27 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02

IKEA GRILLPLATS Smart Plug

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[7][10][11][24][27][28][41]
[8][10][11][24][27][28][41]
[6][10][11][24][27][28][41]
[9][10][11][24][27][28][41]
[10][27]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: MATTER · THREAD[2][13][19][32][45]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

Hub options need a closer check

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub is needed to switch it with an IKEA remote control or motion sensor. IKEA's manual says: 'Pair it directly with a remote control or motion sensor from IKEA to use it without a smart system', and 'a maximum of 10 plugs from IKEA can be connected with one remote control or motion sensor by direct pairing.' It is one or the other: 'Only one connection method can be used at a time.' A hub adds phone and app control, voice assistants and automations. For those, IKEA's page says 'you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub', and IKEA names Matter systems from Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung, each through that platform's own Thread border router.[3][12][25][28][30][41][42]

Platform setup limits

Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Thread border router

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[3][12][25][28][30][41][42]

Check which features need it

Matter controller

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[3][12][25][28][30][41][42]

Check which features need it

Ikea hub or bridge

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[3][12][25][28][30][41][42]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [20] [24] [28] [41]

Documented device function

Energy monitoring

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [20] [24] [28] [41]

Documented device function

Energy reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [20] [24] [28] [41]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[20][24][28][41]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks, except energy monitoring[7][10][11][24][27][28][41]Google HomeWorks; energy monitoring unconfirmed[8][10][11][24][27][28][41]AlexaWorks, except energy monitoring[6][10][11][24][27][28][41]SmartThingsWorks[9][10][11][24][27][28][41]Home AssistantWorks; energy monitoring unconfirmed[10][27]
On/offDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Energy monitoringDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy monitoring is not on it.

Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy monitoring is not on it.

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Energy readingReported event
Event

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy reading is not on it.

Event

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Event

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy reading is not on it.

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Apple Home turns the plug on and off through Matter, and IKEA names Apple among the systems it works with. Apple Home has no energy type among the Matter accessories it supports, so energy monitoring stays in the IKEA Home smart app. You need a Thread border router on the Apple side.[7][10][11][24][27][28][41]

Energy monitoring automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy monitoring is not on it.

Energy reading automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy reading is not on it.

Google Home

Google Home turns the plug on and off through Matter, and IKEA names Google among the systems it works with. Google's Matter table marks energy readings as available in the Google Home app only and does not say a plug's readings appear, and IKEA does not say, so energy monitoring is unconfirmed. You need a Thread border router on the Google side.[8][10][11][24][27][28][41]

Alexa

Alexa turns the plug on and off through Matter, and IKEA names Amazon among the systems it works with. Alexa's Matter support has no place for energy readings, so energy monitoring stays in the IKEA Home smart app. You need a Thread border router on the Alexa side.[6][10][11][24][27][28][41]

Energy monitoring automation: Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy monitoring is not on it.

Energy reading automation: Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Energy reading is not on it.

SmartThings

SmartThings turns the plug on and off and reads its energy use through Matter, and IKEA names Samsung among the systems it works with. You need a SmartThings hub that can act as a Thread border router.[9][10][11][24][27][28][41]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant turns the plug on and off through its own Matter support, which runs locally. IKEA does not name Home Assistant, and Home Assistant's Matter page does not say whether a plug's energy readings appear, so energy monitoring is unconfirmed. You need a Thread border router.[10][27]

Energy monitoring: Home Assistant setup limit

Device documentation: [20] [24] [28] [41]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks, except energy monitoringWorks, except energy monitoring — see the catch[6][10][11][24][27][28][41]Alexa turns the plug on and off through Matter, and IKEA names Amazon among the systems it works with. Alexa's Matter support has no place for energy readings, so energy monitoring stays in the IKEA Home smart app. You need a Thread border router on the Alexa side.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorks; energy monitoring unconfirmedWorks; energy monitoring unconfirmed — see the catch[8][10][11][24][27][28][41]Google Home turns the plug on and off through Matter, and IKEA names Google among the systems it works with. Google's Matter table marks energy readings as available in the Google Home app only and does not say a plug's readings appear, and IKEA does not say, so energy monitoring is unconfirmed. You need a Thread border router on the Google side.In Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorks, except energy monitoringWorks, except energy monitoring — see the catch[7][10][11][24][27][28][41]Apple Home turns the plug on and off through Matter, and IKEA names Apple among the systems it works with. Apple Home has no energy type among the Matter accessories it supports, so energy monitoring stays in the IKEA Home smart app. You need a Thread border router on the Apple side.In Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[9][10][11][24][27][28][41]SmartThings turns the plug on and off and reads its energy use through Matter, and IKEA names Samsung among the systems it works with. You need a SmartThings hub that can act as a Thread border router.In SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller
Home AssistantWorks; energy monitoring unconfirmedWorks; energy monitoring unconfirmed — see the catch[10][27]Home Assistant turns the plug on and off through its own Matter support, which runs locally. IKEA does not name Home Assistant, and Home Assistant's Matter page does not say whether a plug's energy readings appear, so energy monitoring is unconfirmed. You need a Thread border router.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[1][11][24][28][41]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription referenced on the IKEA US product page, IKEA's smart-product support policy, or the launch press release; IKEA Home smart app features are described with no paid tier.

Maintenance and offline use[4][12][14]

Where IKEA's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows no hub needed to switch it with an IKEA remote control or motion sensor; a hub adds phone, app, voice and automation control. IKEA's launch announcement says every Matter product in the range needs a smart home hub, while this plug's manual says it can be paired directly with an IKEA remote or motion sensor without one, so this page goes by the manual.

Who it's for

Households already running a Thread border router in any Matter ecosystem who want a low-cost plug with energy monitoring, and anyone who wants a lamp or fan switched by an IKEA remote or motion sensor with no hub or app at all — but those are two different setups, not one, because the plug does direct pairing or smart-system control, never both at once.

Check availability at IKEA

This opens IKEA's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

51 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] IKEA US product page: GRILLPLATS plug, smart, art. 706.247.40 (ikea.com/us/en/p/grillplats-plug-smart-70624740/) — price, Matter over Thread statement, ecosystem statement, energy monitoring, app/remote/motion-sensor control — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Product identity
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  2. [2] CSA Matter certification CSA255B5MAT46343-24, certified 2025-08-20: Matter 1.4, Transport Interface Thread + Bluetooth, device type 0x010A, vendor 0x117C, SKU E2491 (csa-iot.org/csa_product/grillplats-plug-17/); Zigbee 3.0 cert ZIG26067ZB332298-24 for same family noted but not user-documented — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Protocols
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  3. [3] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — 21 products; 'All Matter-enabled products need a smart home hub to work — like IKEA's DIRIGERA hub, or one from another brand' — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Market availability, Service status, Research status, Required hub or bridge
  4. [4] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/) — 5-year device support if paired with DIRIGERA/TRADFRI, post-support local operation — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Works without the internet
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  5. [5] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter — official integration, local push, supports certified Matter devices; Thread devices need a Thread border router — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
  6. [6] IKEA official GRILLPLATS product page (ikea.com/us/en/p/grillplats-plug-smart-70624740): still only the blanket statement 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung' plus 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router.' No Works-with-Alexa-specific listing found — the catch's blanket-statement basis remains exactly what the sources show — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  7. [7] IKEA official GRILLPLATS product page: Apple named only inside the blanket Matter-compatibility sentence; no Apple-specific accessory listing supersedes it; Thread border router requirement stated on the page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  8. [8] IKEA official GRILLPLATS product page: Google named only as an example in the blanket Matter statement; no Google-Home-specific listing published; Matter-over-Thread + Thread border router requirement stated verbatim — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  9. [9] IKEA official GRILLPLATS product page: Samsung appears only in the 'for example' blanket Matter sentence; no Works with SmartThings directory entry names GRILLPLATS — the catch's disclosure that the cell rests on IKEA's blanket statement stays accurate — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  10. [10] Apple support 102135 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (Matter accessories + Thread border router requirement). Google Home Matter setup support.google.com/googlehome/answer/12391458 (Matter-enabled hub required). Amazon Matter docs developer.amazon.com/en-US/docs/alexa/smarthome/matter-support.html (Echo/eero administrator + Thread border router). Samsung SmartThings samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10002638 (SmartThings hub as Matter controller). home-assistant.io/integrations/matter. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-07-22
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  11. [11] IKEA US product page: GRILLPLATS plug, smart, art. 706.247.40 — '$7.99'; 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung'; 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub'; 'You can connect up to 10 plugs to one remote control or motion sensor'; energy-monitoring statement; control via the IKEA Home smart app, a remote control or a motion sensor — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  12. [12] IKEA US manual, GRILLPLATS plug smart (AA-2694229-1), English section — 'Technical data Model: GRILLPLATS Type: E2491-NA Input: 120 V~, 50/60Hz Max output power: 1800 W / 15 A Resistive load/ Max 300W motor load Range: 10 m in open air. Operating frequency: 2402 - 2480 MHz Output power: 10 dBm (EIRP)'; 'The products can be either paired directly to each other or connected to the IKEA Home smart system or any other system that uses the Matter standard. Only one connection method can be used at a time.'; 'Note, a maximum of 10 plugs from IKEA can be connected with one remote control or motion sensor by direct pairing.'; 'The plug will turn off if the ambient temperature rises above its maximum operational limit. When the temperature returns to a safe level, the plug will be ready for use again.'; 'Do not connect after each other in a sequence.'; 'If the product is connected to another smart system that uses the Matter standard, check with the manufacturer for available features.'; 'Operating temperature: 0° C to 40° C (32° F to 104° F).'; FCC Part 15 / Industry Canada statement present, confirming this is the North American document — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Product identity, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Power source
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  13. [13] CSA Matter certification CSA255B5MAT46343-24, certified 08/20/2025, re-read 2026-08-10: Matter 1.4, Transport Interface 'Thread, Bluetooth', Primary Device Type 0x010A, Vendor ID 0x117C, Family SKU E2491-EU, Family Variant SKU E2491-NA, firmware 1.4.2, hardware P2.0 — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Protocols
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  14. [14] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', re-read 2026-08-10 — 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'; 'We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase' for DIRIGERA hub and TRÅDFRI gateway; 'You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support… use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Service status, Works without the internet
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  15. [15] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — 'All Matter-enabled products need a smart home hub to work — like IKEA's DIRIGERA hub, or one from another brand' — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Research status
  16. [16] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter, re-read 2026-08-10 — official core integration, IoT class Local Push; 'To use Thread devices you will need a Thread network with at least one Thread border router in your network nearby the Thread device(s)'; supported entity types include Switch and Sensor — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-10
  17. [17] Record wiring, 2026-08-15: attached the shared IKEA Matter rule 'ikea-matter-ecosystems' to alexa, google, apple, smartthings. The rule quotes IKEA's range-wide Matter statement verbatim from a same-session vendor read and supplies this page's setup-path line. NOTHING on this record was re-verified — no level, catch, path or protocol was re-checked, and no axis date moves, which is why this entry carries no claims., verified 2026-08-15
  18. [18] ikea.com/us, GRILLPLATS manual PDF (AA-2694229-1-100) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  19. [19] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled definition of what counts as a protocol: certificate CSA255B5MAT46343 · Matter over Thread. No new outside page was opened — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  20. [20] IKEA's own GRILLPLATS product page, already cited on this record for its Matter-over-Thread statement, ecosystem statement, ENERGY MONITORING, and app/remote/motion-sensor control. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  21. [21] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  22. [22] IKEA US, 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (www.ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/), read 2026-09-18. The sentences taken off the page: 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway to ensure that your smart products from IKEA: Works with applicable IKEA Home smart app. Gets security updates.' The same page sets a separate floor for the hardware those products pair with: 'We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway: Works with the IKEA Home smart app / IKEA Home Smart 1. Gets security updates. Gets updates to ensure compatibility with Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and Google Assistant.' Both windows are measured from the purchase date rather than from a launch date. On what happens afterwards: 'Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support. For example, you will still be able to turn your lights on and off, take your blinds up and down and use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection.' The policy defines the class it covers: products marked 'Works with IKEA Home smart' are 'smart products from IKEA that can be controlled with an applicable app if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'. It names DIRIGERA, the TRÅDFRI gateway and SYMFONISK speakers, and it carries no last-updated date. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Security-update support period
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  23. [23] csa-iot.org certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden AB's GRILLPLATS plug, read 2026-09-22. The page gives family SKU E2491-EU, variant SKU E2491-NA, firmware 1.4.2, hardware P2.0, certificate CSA255B5MAT46343-24, certified 2025-08-20, family FAM226324, product ID 0x1003 and vendor ID 0x117C. Those vendor and product IDs are what this entry records. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  24. [24] IKEA's US product page for GRILLPLATS, read in full on 2026-09-24. Verbatim: 'GRILLPLATS Plug, smart $ 7 . 99 Price $ 7.99' · 'GRILLPLATS 706.247.40' · 'This plug also allows you to keep track of your power usage and adjust your daily routines to save energy.' · 'Use the IKEA Home smart app, a remote control or a motion sensor to turn the plug on or off. You can connect up to 10 plugs to one remote control or motion sensor.' · 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub.' · 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Product identity, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Capabilities
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  25. [25] IKEA US manual AA-2694229-1 for GRILLPLATS plug smart, read in full as a PDF on 2026-09-27 (English section, type E2491-NA). Verbatim: 'Pair it directly with a remote control or motion sensor from IKEA to use it without a smart system.' · 'Note, a maximum of 10 plugs from IKEA can be connected with one remote control or motion sensor by direct pairing.' · 'The products can be either paired directly to each other or connected to the IKEA Home smart system or any other system that uses the Matter standard. Only one connection method can be used at a time.' · 'A Thread border router is needed to connect to Matter systems.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  26. [26] IKEA's US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', read in full on 2026-09-29. Verbatim: "We have designed them to function even without an internet connection or the need for a remote server." · "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" · "We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway:" · "Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support. For example, you will still be able to turn your lights on and off, take your blinds up and down and use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  27. [27] IKEA's US product page for GRILLPLATS, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "This plug also allows you to keep track of your power usage and adjust your daily routines to save energy." · "This smart product uses the universal standard Matter, making it easy to install, operate and add to DIRIGERA hub and to other well-known systems." · "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." · "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." The page names no function per platform and does not name Home Assistant. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  28. [28] IKEA's US product page for GRILLPLATS, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "GRILLPLATS Plug, smart $ 7 . 99 Price $ 7.99" · "GRILLPLATS 706.247.40" · "This plug also allows you to keep track of your power usage and adjust your daily routines to save energy." · "Use the IKEA Home smart app, a remote control or a motion sensor to turn the plug on or off. You can connect up to 10 plugs to one remote control or motion sensor." · "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." · "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Product identity, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Capabilities, Required hub or bridge
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  29. [29] IKEA's global newsroom release 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products', read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Published 6 November 2025" · "GRILLPLATS smart plug. This smart plug lets you control ordinary lamps or smaller appliances remotely — turning them into smart products. It also tracks energy use and can be paired with a remote or motion sensor." · "All Matter-enabled products need a smart home hub to work — like IKEA’s DIRIGERA hub, or one from another brand." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Market availability
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  30. [30] IKEA US manual AA-2694229-1 for GRILLPLATS plug smart, read in full as a PDF on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Type: E2491-NA" · "Input: 120 V~, 50/60Hz" · "Max output power: 1800 W / 15 A" · "Resistive load/ Max 300W motor load" · "Operating frequency: 2402 - 2480 MHz" · "Pair it directly with a remote control or motion sensor from IKEA to use it without a smart system." · "Note, a maximum of 10 plugs from IKEA can be connected with one remote control or motion sensor by direct pairing." · "Do not connect after each other in a sequence." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Power source
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  31. [31] Read on 2026-10-08. IKEA's US manual AA-2694229-1 (entry bq107-l5-20261008-grillplats-manual) prints one type number, E2491-NA, in all three language sections, and no second one. The Matter ledger, asked on 2026-10-08 through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: the vendor name 'IKEA' matches one vendor, 4476 (IKEA of Sweden); its model list holds 39 models and one GRILLPLATS plug, product 4096, part E2491, so the ledger carries the E2491 family. In our words, its compliance record for that product shows certificate CSA25F73MAT48837-24, software 1.4.6, dated 8 December 2025, family FAM226324, over Thread with Bluetooth for setup. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-08
  32. [32] The certification body's page for IKEA of Sweden's GRILLPLATS plug, certificate CSA255B5MAT46343-24, read in full on 2026-10-08. In our words: it shows family SKU E2491-EU with variant SKU E2491-NA, firmware 1.4.2, certified 20 August 2025, family FAM226324, product 0x1003 under vendor 0x117C, Matter 1.4, Thread with Bluetooth as its transports, and an on/off plug-in unit as its primary device type. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  33. [33] IKEA's US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "We have designed them to function even without an internet connection or the need for a remote server." · "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" · "We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway:" · "Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support. For example, you will still be able to turn your lights on and off, take your blinds up and down and use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  34. [34] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "The Thread border router forwards traffic from the devices in the Thread network to devices outside that network." The page names no IKEA product. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-08
  35. [35] The older IKEA US address for GRILLPLATS (article 606.247.40), read on 2026-10-08. It no longer serves a product page: the response is IKEA's general product menu with no GRILLPLATS text. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  36. [36] IKEA's US product page for a KAJPLATS E26 bulb, read in full on 2026-10-08. It is a sibling product's page and names no GRILLPLATS fact. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
  37. [37] IKEA's global newsroom release of 6 November 2025 and IKEA's US manual for the GRILLPLATS plug, both read on 8 October 2026, each quoted word for word., verified 2026-10-08
  38. [38] Record-keeping entry: this record's Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home and SmartThings answers now sit as an exception entry in IKEA's Matter range rule instead of carrying the rule's id, 2026-10-16, verified 2026-10-16
  39. [39] Record-keeping entry: the alexa, google, apple, smartthings, home_assistant answers of this record gained a per-function findings map from the platforms' own Matter files (alexa-matter.json, google-matter.json, apple-matter.json, smartthings-matter.json, home_assistant-matter.json), 2026-10-17, verified 2026-10-17
  40. [40] Record-keeping entry: each maker disagreement on this page now says what is at stake for a buyer (the 2026-10-21 split into shown findings and research notes)., verified 2026-10-21
  41. [41] IKEA's US product page for GRILLPLATS, read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "GRILLPLATS Plug, smart $ 7 . 99 Price $ 7.99" · "706.247.40" · "This plug also allows you to keep track of your power usage and adjust your daily routines to save energy." · "Use the IKEA Home smart app, a remote control or a motion sensor to turn the plug on or off. You can connect up to 10 plugs to one remote control or motion sensor." · "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." · "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Product identity, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Capabilities, Required hub or bridge
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  42. [42] IKEA US manual AA-2694229-1 for GRILLPLATS plug smart, read in full as a PDF on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf. Verbatim: "Type: E2491-NA" · "Input: 120 V~, 50/60Hz" · "Max output power: 1800 W / 15 A" · "Resistive load/ Max 300W motor load" · "Operating frequency: 2402 - 2480 MHz" · "Note, a maximum of 10 plugs from IKEA can be connected with one remote control or motion sensor by direct pairing." · "Do not connect after each other in a sequence." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Power source
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  43. [43] IKEA's global newsroom release on its Matter-compatible smart home range, read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "Published 6 November 2025" · "GRILLPLATS smart plug. This smart plug lets you control ordinary lamps or smaller appliances remotely" · "All Matter-enabled products need a smart home hub to work". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Market availability
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  44. [44] IKEA's US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "We have designed them to function even without an internet connection or the need for a remote server." · "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" · "We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway:" · "Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  45. [45] The certification body's page for IKEA of Sweden's GRILLPLATS plug, certificate CSA255B5MAT46343-24, read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). In our words: it shows family SKU E2491-EU with variant SKU E2491-NA, firmware 1.4.2, family FAM226324, product 0x1003 under vendor 0x117C, and Thread with Bluetooth as its transports. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  46. [46] Read on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs and tools/dcl-lookup.mjs cert 4476 4096. In our words: the ledger's compliance record for IKEA of Sweden's product 4096 shows certificate CSA25F73MAT48837-24 for software 1.4.6, dated 8 December 2025, over Thread with Bluetooth for setup. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
  47. [47] The Matter ledger's model list for vendor 4476, read on 2026-10-27 through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs models 4476 (one page, 39 models). In our words: the names 'IKEA' and 'IKEA of Sweden' each resolve to one vendor, 4476 (IKEA of Sweden AB), and its list holds one GRILLPLATS plug, product 4096, part E2491; it holds no product 4099 (0x1003). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-27
  48. [48] The Matter ledger's version address for vendor 4476, product 4099 (0x1003, the product id the certification body's page prints), checked on 2026-10-27: the ledger holds no entry there., verified 2026-10-27
  49. [49] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read in full on 2026-10-27 as its documentation source file on GitHub (tools/page-read.mjs, plain). Its platforms list names binary_sensor, button, climate, cover, diagnostics, event, fan, light, lock, number, select, sensor, siren, switch, update, vacuum, valve and water_heater; no sentence in the file names an energy, power or electrical reading, and the file names no IKEA product. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  50. [50] The older IKEA US address for GRILLPLATS (article 606.247.40), read on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). It still serves IKEA's general product menu with no GRILLPLATS text. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-27
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  51. [51] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner page for IKEA, read rendered in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs --rendered. Its one GRILLPLATS line reads "GRILLPLATS plug Model Number E2491 Category Energy monitoring". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check IKEA GRILLPLATS Smart Plug with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker