Product Library / Sensors & Detectors

Research profile · verified 2026-11-07

IKEA MYGGSPRAY Wireless Motion Sensor

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]
[35]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: MATTER · THREAD[2][8][15][25][31][42][53][60][71]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

Hub options need a closer check

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub is needed to use it with other IKEA smart products, such as turning IKEA lights on when it sees movement. IKEA's manual says: 'Pair it directly with a smart product from IKEA to use it without a smart system', and 'a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be connected to the sensor via direct pairing.' A hub adds phone and app control, voice assistants and automations beyond IKEA products. For those, IKEA's page says 'you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub', and IKEA names Matter systems from Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung, each through that platform's own Thread border router.[1][7][21][22][23][25][26][36][37][47][48][59][62][70][73]

Platform setup limits

Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Thread border router

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[1][7][21][22][23][25][26][36][37][47][48][59][62][70][73]

Check which features need it

Matter controller

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[1][7][21][22][23][25][26][36][37][47][48][59][62][70][73]

Check which features need it

Ikea hub or bridge

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[1][7][21][22][23][25][26][36][37][47][48][59][62][70][73]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[14][21][25][31][42][53][60][70]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
Not established from vendor documentation
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]Google HomeWorks[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]AlexaWorks[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]SmartThingsWorks[1][6][20][21][25][32][36][43][47][54][59][67][70][78]Home AssistantWorks; motion detected unconfirmed[35]
Motion detectedReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Documented for this model[45][46][56][57][68][69][79][80]

Event

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Same basis: IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Apple; no Apple-specific listing. Thread border router on the Apple side required.[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]

Google Home

Same basis: IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Google; no Google-specific listing. Thread border router on the Google side required.[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]

Alexa

No Alexa-specific listing exists; coverage rests on IKEA's blanket statement of compatibility with smart systems from Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung, via standard Matter with a Thread border router on that platform.[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]

SmartThings

IKEA's own Matter statement names Samsung SmartThings, and Samsung's own partner directory lists this sensor by its model number, so both companies say it works. It joins over Matter, and the Samsung side needs a hub that can act as a Thread border router.[1][6][20][21][25][32][36][43][47][54][59][67][70][78]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant adds it through its own Matter support, which runs locally, and IKEA's sensor is Matter certified. IKEA does not name Home Assistant, and Home Assistant's Matter page does not say which sensor readings it shows, so the motion readings are unconfirmed. You need a Thread border router.[35]

Device documentation: [14] [21] [25] [31] [42] [53] [60] [70]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]No Alexa-specific listing exists; coverage rests on IKEA's blanket statement of compatibility with smart systems from Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung, via standard Matter with a Thread border router on that platform.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]Same basis: IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Google; no Google-specific listing. Thread border router on the Google side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][21][25][36][47][59][70]Same basis: IKEA's blanket Matter-systems statement naming Apple; no Apple-specific listing. Thread border router on the Apple side required.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][6][20][21][25][32][36][43][47][54][59][67][70][78]IKEA's own Matter statement names Samsung SmartThings, and Samsung's own partner directory lists this sensor by its model number, so both companies say it works. It joins over Matter, and the Samsung side needs a hub that can act as a Thread border router.Setup path: Thread border router required — IKEA names its DIRIGERA hub as one option · Matter controller requiredIn SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller
Home AssistantWorks; motion detected unconfirmedWorks; motion detected unconfirmed — see the catch[35]Home Assistant adds it through its own Matter support, which runs locally, and IKEA's sensor is Matter certified. IKEA does not name Home Assistant, and Home Assistant's Matter page does not say which sensor readings it shows, so the motion readings are unconfirmed. You need a Thread border router.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[1][6][21][25]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription referenced on the IKEA US product page, IKEA's smart-product support policy, or the launch press release.

Maintenance and offline use[4][7][9]

Where IKEA's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows no hub needed to use it with other IKEA smart products; a hub adds phone, app, voice and automation control. IKEA's launch announcement says every Matter product in the range needs a smart home hub, while this sensor's manual says it can be paired directly with other IKEA smart products without one, so this page goes by the manual.

Who it's for

Households already running a Thread border router in any Matter ecosystem who want motion-triggered automations at the lowest price in the category, and DIRIGERA homes pairing it directly with IKEA lights. Outdoors it suits sheltered, non-freezing spots — IKEA's IP67 rating covers water, but its stated operating range stops at 0 °C.

Check availability at IKEA

This opens IKEA's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

80 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] IKEA US product page: MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor, smart, art. 806.194.51 (ikea.com/us/en/p/myggspray-wireless-motion-sensor-smart-80619451/) — price, Matter over Thread statement, Thread-border-router requirement, ecosystem statement ('for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung'), 2x AAA HR03 sold separately, IP67 indoor/outdoor, connects up to 10 light sources — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] CSA Matter certification CSA2533FMAT45713-24, certified 2025-06-05: Matter 1.3, Transport Interface Thread + Bluetooth, device type 0x0107 (occupancy sensor), vendor 0x117C, firmware 1.0.7 (csa-iot.org/csa_product/myggspray-wrlss-mtn-sensor/); Zigbee 3.0 cert ZIG25125ZB332006-24 for same hardware noted but not user-documented — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — MYGGSPRAY listed among the smart sensors ('Motion sensor for indoor/outdoor use triggering automatic lighting') — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Market availability, Service status, Research status
  4. [4] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/) — 5-year device support if paired with DIRIGERA/TRADFRI, post-support local operation; policy silent on Matter-without-IKEA-hub term — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet
  5. [5] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter — official integration, local push, supports certified Matter devices; Thread devices need a Thread border router — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
  6. [6] IKEA US product page: MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor, smart, art. 806.194.51 — '$9.99'; 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung'; 'Approved for IP67.'; 'Suitable for indoor and outdoor use.'; 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub'; 'Batteries are sold separately. We recommend 2 x LADDA rechargeable batteries HR03 AAA 1.2V'; no detection range or angle stated — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  7. [7] IKEA US manual, MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor smart (AA-2664594-3), English section — 'Technical data Model: MYGGSPRAY Type: E2494 Input: 2 x AAA/HR03 Range: 10 m in open air. Operating frequency: 2402 - 2480 MHz Output power: 5 dBm (EIRP) IP-class: IP67'; 'Battery care — 2 x new LADDA AAA HR03 batteries will power this sensor for about 15 months before it needs to be changed.'; 'Note, a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be connected to the sensor via direct pairing.'; WARNING 'The product is only suitable for mounting at heights up to 2 m.'; 'Operating temperature: 0° C to 40° C (32° F to 104° F).'; 'MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor detects nearby movement' — no range or angle figure anywhere in the document; FCC Part 15 / ISED block present, confirming the North American document — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge
  8. [8] CSA Matter certification CSA2533FMAT45713-24, certified 06/05/2025, re-read 2026-08-10: Matter 1.3, Transport Interface 'Thread, Bluetooth', Primary Device Type 0x0107 (occupancy sensor), Vendor ID 0x117C, Product ID 0x3000, hardware 2.0, firmware 1.0.7 — no SKU field published — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Protocols
  9. [9] IKEA US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', re-read 2026-08-10 — 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'; 'You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support… use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Service status, Batteries, Works without the internet
  10. [10] IKEA global newsroom, 2025-11-06: 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products' — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Research status
  11. [11] home-assistant.io/integrations/matter, re-read 2026-08-10 — official core integration, IoT class Local Push; 'To use Thread devices you will need a Thread network with at least one Thread border router in your network nearby the Thread device(s)'; supported entity types include Binary sensor and Sensor — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-10
  12. [12] Record wiring, 2026-08-15: attached the shared IKEA Matter rule 'ikea-matter-ecosystems' to alexa, google, apple, smartthings. The rule quotes IKEA's range-wide Matter statement verbatim from a same-session vendor read and supplies this page's setup-path line. NOTHING on this record was re-verified — no level, catch, path or protocol was re-checked, and no axis date moves, which is why this entry carries no claims., verified 2026-08-15
  13. [13] ikea.com/us, MYGGSPRAY product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
  14. [14] ikea.com US product page for MYGGSPRAY, read 2026-08-20: "This sensor reacts to movement and turns your lighting on automatically, both indoors and outdoors", and "Can be connected to up to 10 light sources at the same time, and they all work in unison." Platform scope: "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung", with "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  15. [15] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled definition of what counts as a protocol: certificate CSA2533FMAT45713 · Matter over Thread. No new outside page was opened — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  16. [16] IKEA US product page, MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor, smart, art. 806.194.51, re-read 2026-08-31. Price reads '$11.99', up from the '$9.99' this record carried and re-verified on 2026-08-10. Read in the same pass and UNCHANGED: 'uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub'; compatibility with smart systems from 'Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung'; '2 x LADDA rechargeable batteries HR03 AAA 1.2V' recommended, sold separately; 'Suitable for indoor and outdoor use' and 'Approved for IP67'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-31
    Backs: Price
  17. [17] csa-iot.org certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden AB's MYGGSPRAY wrlss mtn sensor, read 2026-09-16. The page gives firmware 1.1.4, hardware P2.0, certificate CSA262B9MAT52405-24, certified 2026-04-28, product ID 0x3000 and vendor ID 0x117C. Those vendor and product IDs are what this entry records; the page's product name is MYGGSPRAY wrlss mtn sensor, and the vendor and product numbers it prints today are the same pair this record read from it on 2026-08-10. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  18. [18] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  19. [19] IKEA US, 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA' (www.ikea.com/us/en/customer-service/privacy-security/product-support-policy-for-smart-products-from-ikea-pub0d314780/), read 2026-09-18. The sentences taken off the page: 'We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway to ensure that your smart products from IKEA: Works with applicable IKEA Home smart app. Gets security updates.' The same page sets a separate floor for the hardware those products pair with: 'We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway: Works with the IKEA Home smart app / IKEA Home Smart 1. Gets security updates. Gets updates to ensure compatibility with Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and Google Assistant.' Both windows are measured from the purchase date rather than from a launch date. On what happens afterwards: 'Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support. For example, you will still be able to turn your lights on and off, take your blinds up and down and use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection.' The policy defines the class it covers: products marked 'Works with IKEA Home smart' are 'smart products from IKEA that can be controlled with an applicable app if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway'. It names DIRIGERA, the TRÅDFRI gateway and SYMFONISK speakers, and it carries no last-updated date. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Security-update support period
  20. [20] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, IKEA's page, read 2026-09-22. SmartThings lists this product on its own row and names the model number this record carries: "MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor", "Model Number" "E2494", "Category" "Motion Sensors". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  21. [21] IKEA's US product page, read in full on 2026-09-24. Verbatim: 'MYGGSPRAY Wireless motion sensor, smart $ 11 . 99 Price $ 11.99' · 'Batteries are sold separately. We recommend 2 x LADDA rechargeable batteries HR03 AAA 1.2V.' · 'MYGGSPRAY 806.194.51' · 'This sensor reacts to movement and turns your lighting on automatically, both indoors and outdoors.' · 'Can be connected to up to 10 light sources at the same time, and they all work in unison.' · 'Approved for IP67. Suitable for indoor and outdoor use.' · 'Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung.' · 'This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Product identity, Power source, Market availability, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Batteries, Capabilities
  22. [22] IKEA's US manual, read in full on 2026-09-24 as a PDF. Verbatim from the English section: 'Model: MYGGSPRAY Type: E2494 Input: 2 x AAA/HR03 Range: 10 m in open air. Operating frequency: 2402 - 2480 MHz Output power: 5 dBm (EIRP) IP-class: IP67' · '2 x new LADDA AAA HR03 batteries will power this sensor for about 15 months' · 'Note, a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be' connected by direct pairing · 'The product is only suitable for mounting at heights up to 2 m.' · 'Operating temperature: 0° C to 40° C (32° F to 104° F).' · 'MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor detects nearby movement.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Required hub or bridge
  23. [23] IKEA US manual AA-2664594-3 for MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor smart, read in full as a PDF on 2026-09-27 (English section, type E2494). Verbatim: 'Pair it directly with a smart product from IKEA to use it without a smart system.' · 'Smart products from IKEA can be paired directly to each other without a smart system.' · 'Note, a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be connected to the sensor via direct pairing.' · 'A Thread border router is needed to connect to Matter systems.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  24. [24] IKEA's US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', read in full on 2026-09-29. Verbatim: "We have designed them to function even without an internet connection or the need for a remote server." · "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" · "We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase, to ensure the hub / gateway:" · "Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support. For example, you will still be able to turn your lights on and off, take your blinds up and down and use the hub / gateway on your local network even without an internet connection." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
  25. [25] IKEA's US product page for MYGGSPRAY, read in full on 2026-10-03, rendered with tabs expanded. Verbatim: "MYGGSPRAY Wireless motion sensor, smart $11.99 Price $ 11.99" · "Batteries are sold separately. We recommend 2 x LADDA rechargeable batteries HR03 AAA 1.2V." · "Out of stock in IKEA St. Louis, MO" · "MYGGSPRAY 806.194.51" · "This sensor reacts to movement and turns your lighting on automatically, both indoors and outdoors." · "Can be connected to up to 10 light sources at the same time, and they all work in unison." · "Approved for IP67. Suitable for indoor and outdoor use." · "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." · "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." The Assembly and documents panel links assembly instructions AA-2604387-1 and advice and care instructions AA-2664594-4. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Subscription, Product identity, Power source, Market availability, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Batteries, Capabilities, Protocols, Research status
  26. [26] IKEA's US advice and care instructions for MYGGSPRAY, revision AA-2664594-4, read in full on 2026-10-03 as a PDF (English section). Verbatim: "MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor detects nearby movement." · "Pair it directly with a smart product from IKEA to use it without a smart system." · "Smart products from IKEA can be paired directly to each other without a smart system." · "Note, a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be" connected to the sensor via direct pairing · "AAA HR03 batteries will power this sensor for about 15 months" · "A Thread border router is needed to connect to Matter systems." · "The product is only suitable for mounting at heights up to 2 m." · "Operating temperature: 0° C to 40° C (32° F to 104° F)." Technical data: "Type: E2494" and, as a second block, "Type: E2706", each with "Input: 2 x AAA/HR03", "Range: 10 m in open air.", "Operating frequency: 2402 - 2480 MHz" and "IP-class: IP67". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Certification and product IDs
  27. [27] IKEA's US advice and care instructions for MYGGSPRAY at the address this record has cited, read in full on 2026-10-03 as a PDF; the address still serves revision AA-2664594-3, the same text as the 2026-09-24 and 2026-09-27 reads. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  28. [28] IKEA's assembly instructions for MYGGSPRAY, AA-2604387-1, linked from the product page, read in full on 2026-10-03 as a PDF. The text layer carries one sentence, "Different materials require different types of fittings. Always choose screws and plugs that are specially suited to the material.", step numbers and part counts, and the figures '10 m (33')', '5m', '60°', '(16.5')', '120°' and '2 m (6'6)' printed in the drawings with no words beside them. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  29. [29] IKEA's global newsroom release 'IKEA launches new smart home range with 21 Matter-compatible products', read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Published 6 November 2025" · "MYGGSPRAY - Motion sensor for indoor and outdoor use that turns on lighting automatically in areas like entrances, staircases, garages, or anywhere you need hands-free light." · "All Matter-enabled products need a smart home hub to work — like IKEA’s DIRIGERA hub, or one from another brand." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Market availability
  30. [30] IKEA's US 'Product support policy for smart products from IKEA', read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "We have designed them to function even without an internet connection or the need for a remote server." · "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" · "Yes! You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
  31. [31] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden's MYGGSPRAY motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-03. Stated here in our own words: certificate CSA262B9MAT52405-24, certified on 28 April 2026 under specification 1.4 for firmware 1.1.4 and hardware P2.0, vendor 0x117C and product 0x3000, an end product whose primary device type is the occupancy sensor, over Thread with Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Capabilities
  32. [32] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, IKEA's page, read rendered in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor Model Number E2494 Category Motion Sensors"., verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  33. [33] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "The Thread border router forwards traffic from the devices in the Thread network to devices outside that network." Neither IKEA nor MYGGSPRAY appears on the page. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-03
  34. [34] IKEA's global newsroom release of 6 November 2025 and IKEA's US manual for the MYGGSPRAY sensor, both read on 3 October 2026, each quoted word for word., verified 2026-10-03
  35. [35] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Its IoT class is Local Push" · "Categories Binary sensor Button Car Climate Cover Fan Light Lock Number Pump Select Sensor Siren Switch Update Vacuum Valve Water heater". The page names no kind of sensor and does not name this product. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  36. [36] IKEA's US product page for the MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-12. Buy box: "$ 11.99" with "Batteries are sold separately." Good to know: "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." and "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  37. [37] IKEA's MYGGSPRAY manual (the edition the product page links), read in full on 2026-10-12. Its technical data prints two type designations, "Type: E2494" and "Type: E2706", each with "Input: 2 x AAA/HR03" and "IP-class: IP67"; the battery sentence gives about 15 months; the getting-started text keeps the limit of 10 IKEA smart products by direct pairing; the safety notes keep the 2 m mounting limit. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Research status
  38. [38] IKEA's earlier MYGGSPRAY manual edition, read in full on 2026-10-12. Its technical data prints one type designation, "Type: E2494". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
  39. [39] IKEA's MYGGSPRAY assembly instructions, read in full on 2026-10-12: drawings with distance and angle figures and no type number. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
  40. [40] IKEA's global newsroom article on its Matter smart home range, read in full on 2026-10-12: "Published 6 November 2025" and "IKEA is launching 21 new smart home products focusing on lighting, sensors, and control — all built to work with Matter, the universal smart home standard." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Market availability
  41. [41] IKEA's product support policy for smart products, read in full on 2026-10-12: "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" and "We have designed them to function even without an internet connection or the need for a remote server." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
  42. [42] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden's MYGGSPRAY motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-12 and restated in our own words: certificate CSA262B9MAT52405-24, certified on 28 April 2026 under specification 1.4 for firmware 1.1.4 and hardware P2.0, vendor 0x117C and product 0x3000, an end product whose primary device type is the occupancy sensor, over Thread with Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Capabilities
  43. [43] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner page for IKEA, rendered read on 2026-10-12; the directory matcher reports the line 'Model Number · E2494' for this sensor. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  44. [44] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read in full on 2026-10-12. Verbatim: "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "The Thread border router forwards traffic from the devices in the Thread network to devices outside that network." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-12
  45. [45] SmartThings' own matter-sensor Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "4476/12288" · deviceLabel: MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor · vendorId: 0x117C · productId: 0x3000 · deviceProfileName: motion-illuminance-battery — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  46. [46] SmartThings' own motion-illuminance-battery device profile in the matter-sensor Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: motion-illuminance-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: motionSensor · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  47. [47] IKEA's US product page for the MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-14. Buy box: "$ 11.99" with "Batteries are sold separately." Good to know: "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." and "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  48. [48] IKEA's MYGGSPRAY manual (the edition the product page links), read in full on 2026-10-14. Its technical data prints two type designations, "Type: E2494" and "Type: E2706", each with "Input: 2 x AAA/HR03" and "IP-class: IP67"; the battery sentence gives about 15 months; the getting-started text keeps the limit of 10 IKEA smart products by direct pairing; the safety notes keep the 2 m mounting limit. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Research status
  49. [49] IKEA's earlier MYGGSPRAY manual edition, read in full on 2026-10-14. Its technical data prints one type designation, "Type: E2494". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-14
  50. [50] IKEA's MYGGSPRAY assembly instructions, read in full on 2026-10-14: drawings with distance and angle figures and no type number. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-14
  51. [51] IKEA's global newsroom article on its Matter smart home range, read in full on 2026-10-14: "Published 6 November 2025" and "IKEA is launching 21 new smart home products focusing on lighting, sensors, and control — all built to work with Matter, the universal smart home standard." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: Market availability
  52. [52] IKEA's product support policy for smart products, read in full on 2026-10-14: "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" and "We have designed them to function even without an internet connection or the need for a remote server." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
  53. [53] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden's MYGGSPRAY motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-14 and restated in our own words: certificate CSA262B9MAT52405-24, certified on 28 April 2026 under specification 1.4 for firmware 1.1.4 and hardware P2.0, vendor 0x117C and product 0x3000, an end product whose primary device type is the occupancy sensor, over Thread with Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Capabilities
  54. [54] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner page for IKEA, rendered read on 2026-10-14; the directory matcher reports the line 'Model Number · E2494' for this sensor. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  55. [55] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read in full on 2026-10-14. Verbatim: "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "The Thread border router forwards traffic from the devices in the Thread network to devices outside that network." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-14
  56. [56] SmartThings' own matter-sensor Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "4476/12288" · deviceLabel: MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor · vendorId: 0x117C · productId: 0x3000 · deviceProfileName: motion-illuminance-battery — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  57. [57] SmartThings' own motion-illuminance-battery device profile in the matter-sensor Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: motion-illuminance-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: motionSensor · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  58. [58] Record-keeping entry: each maker disagreement on this page now says what is at stake for a buyer (the 2026-10-21 split into shown findings and research notes)., verified 2026-10-21
  59. [59] IKEA's US product page for the MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "Price $ 11.99" · "Batteries are sold separately." · "MYGGSPRAY 806.194.51" · "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." · "Approved for IP67. Suitable for indoor and outdoor use." · "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Research status
  60. [60] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden's MYGGSPRAY motion sensor, certificate CSA262B9MAT52405-24, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain) and restated in our own words: certified on 28 April 2026 under specification 1.4 for firmware 1.1.4 and hardware P2.0, vendor 0x117C and product 0x3000, an end product whose primary device type is the occupancy sensor, over Thread with Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Capabilities
  61. [61] IKEA's global newsroom release on its Matter-compatible smart home range, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "Published 6 November 2025" · "MYGGSPRAY - Motion sensor for indoor and outdoor use that turns on lighting automatically in areas like entrances, staircases, garages, or anywhere you need hands-free light." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Market availability
  62. [62] IKEA's manual for the MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor (AA-2664594-4), read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (pdf). Verbatim: "Pair it directly with a smart product from IKEA to use it without a smart system." · "Note, a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be connected to the sensor via direct pairing." · "The product is only suitable for mounting at heights up to 2 m." · "Type: E2494" · "IP-class: IP67". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Research status
  63. [63] IKEA's earlier manual edition for the MYGGSPRAY sensor (AA-2664594-3), read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (pdf). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
  64. [64] IKEA's assembly instructions for the MYGGSPRAY sensor, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (pdf). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
  65. [65] IKEA's US product support policy for smart products, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" · "We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase" · "You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
  66. [66] Home Assistant's Matter integration source file on the documentation repository's current branch, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs from the documentation repository on GitHub (PK-5 route). In our words: IoT class Local Push, platforms including binary_sensor and sensor; the file names neither IKEA nor this sensor. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-03
  67. [67] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner page for IKEA, rendered read on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs --rendered. Verbatim row: "MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor Model Number E2494 Category Motion Sensors". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  68. [68] SmartThings' Matter sensor driver fingerprints file, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "deviceLabel: MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor vendorId: 0x117C productId: 0x3000 deviceProfileName: motion-illuminance-battery". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  69. [69] SmartThings' motion-illuminance-battery profile, read in full on 2026-11-03 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). In our words: it carries the motionSensor, illuminanceMeasurement and battery capabilities. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-03
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  70. [70] IKEA's US product page for the MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "Price $ 11.99" · "Batteries are sold separately." · "MYGGSPRAY 806.194.51" · "Built on the open standard Matter and is compatible with smart systems from, for example, Amazon, Apple, Google, Homey and Samsung." · "Approved for IP67. Suitable for indoor and outdoor use." · "This product uses Matter over Thread, which means that you need a Thread Border Router to control it through your phone, for example our DIRIGERA hub." · "This sensor reacts to movement and turns your lighting on automatically, both indoors and outdoors." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Capabilities, Research status
  71. [71] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certified-product page for IKEA of Sweden's MYGGSPRAY motion sensor, certificate CSA262B9MAT52405-24, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain) and restated in our own words: certified on 28 April 2026 under specification 1.4 for firmware 1.1.4 and hardware P2.0, vendor 0x117C and product 0x3000, an end product over Thread with Bluetooth, primary device type ID 0x0107. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs
  72. [72] IKEA's global newsroom release on its Matter-compatible smart home range, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "Published 6 November 2025" · "MYGGSPRAY - Motion sensor for indoor and outdoor use that turns on lighting automatically in areas like entrances, staircases, garages, or anywhere you need hands-free light." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: Market availability
  73. [73] IKEA's manual for the MYGGSPRAY wireless motion sensor (AA-2664594-4), read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (pdf). Verbatim: "Pair it directly with a smart product from IKEA to use it without a smart system." · "Note, a maximum of 10 smart products from IKEA can be connected to the sensor via direct pairing." · "The product is only suitable for mounting at heights up to 2 m." · "Type: E2494" · "IP-class: IP67". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Research status
  74. [74] IKEA's earlier manual edition for the MYGGSPRAY sensor (AA-2664594-3), read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (pdf). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07
  75. [75] IKEA's assembly instructions for the MYGGSPRAY sensor, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (pdf). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07
  76. [76] IKEA's US product support policy for smart products, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "We will offer support on smart products from IKEA for at least five years after purchase, if paired with DIRIGERA hub or TRÅDFRI gateway" · "We will offer support for a minimum of three years after purchase" · "You can continue to use your smart products from IKEA even after the end of our software support." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: Security-update support period, Service status, Works without the internet
  77. [77] Home Assistant's Matter integration source file on the documentation repository's current branch, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs from the documentation repository on GitHub (PK-5 route). In our words: it says the integration controls Matter devices over the local Wi-Fi or Thread network. The front matter no longer carries ha_iot_class or ha_platforms, and the file names neither IKEA nor this sensor. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-07
  78. [78] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner page for IKEA, rendered read on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs --rendered. Verbatim row: "MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor Model Number E2494 Category Motion Sensors". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  79. [79] SmartThings' Matter sensor driver fingerprints file, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). Verbatim: "deviceLabel: MYGGSPRAY Motion Sensor vendorId: 0x117C productId: 0x3000 deviceProfileName: motion-illuminance-battery". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  80. [80] SmartThings' motion-illuminance-battery profile, read in full on 2026-11-07 through tools/page-read.mjs (plain). In our words: it carries the motionSensor, illuminanceMeasurement and battery capabilities. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: What your assistant can automate

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check IKEA MYGGSPRAY Wireless Motion Sensor with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker