Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Aqara · Smart Locks · ~$269.99 (Price at time of research, read from Aqara's own store — never treated as a live price, so check the current one before you buy. Budget past the lock itself if hands-free unlocking is the reason you want it: Aqara says that feature needs a Thread-capable Apple home hub, meaning a HomePod or a Thread-capable Apple TV 4K, bought separately.)
⚠ Similar names, different products: Not just a higher number than the Aqara Smart Lock U200 already on this shelf — a different kind of lock. The U200 fits over the deadbolt you already have, from the inside, so your existing keys keep working. The U400 replaces the whole lock and brings its own rekeyable cylinder and key, so your old keys stop working. Which of those two you want is the real choice between them.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.
Not for the lock's basic operation — fingerprint, passcode, NFC card and physical key all work at the door with nothing else in the house. But two of the features Aqara sells it on DO require hardware you buy separately, and Aqara names them precisely: UWB hands-free unlocking needs 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub', and tap-to-unlock needs 'an Apple Thread-enabled Matter controller'. In practice that means a HomePod, a HomePod mini or a Thread-capable Apple TV 4K; the Wi-Fi-only Apple TV 4K has no Thread radio and does not qualify. Anything Thread-based also needs a Thread border router to reach your phone remotely, which is the same box. If the hands-free trick is the reason you are buying this lock, price that hub alongside it.[1][24][29]
Apple Home · Works
How it connects to Apple Home
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Matter
The documented connection
Aqara Smart Lock U400
Aqara Smart Lock U400Aqara Smart Lock U400
→Thread
Thread border routerThread border router
→Matter
Apple HomePlatform control
What you gainUse the recorded platform connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Needed for this connection
Thread border router
Setup and sources
Aqara: 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub' — this lock reaches Apple Home over Thread or not at all, so an Apple home hub that is also a Thread border router (a HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model) is what the Apple path needs. Recorded per ecosystem rather than product-level because Aqara states the requirement for each Matter platform separately, and for Apple names the hub.
⚠ THE DEEPEST APPLE STORY IN THIS CATALOGUE'S LOCK SHELF, AND THE ONE WITH THE MOST PREREQUISITES — read both halves. Aqara names specific minimums for it (iOS 18.5 on an iPhone 11 or later, watchOS 11.5 on an Apple Watch Series 6 or later), and the headline feature is UWB hands-free unlocking: the door opens as you approach with your phone or watch, no tapping. But that feature is not in the box. Aqara states it needs 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub', and tap-to-unlock needs 'an Apple Thread-enabled Matter controller' — a HomePod, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model, bought separately; the Wi-Fi-only Apple TV 4K has no Thread radio. Without one you have a capable keypad-and-fingerprint lock and none of the hands-free behaviour it is sold on.[1][24][29][41]
Google Home · Works, except voice unlock
How it connects to Google Home
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Matter
The documented connection
Aqara Smart Lock U400
Aqara Smart Lock U400Aqara Smart Lock U400
→Thread
Thread border routerThread border router
→Matter
Google Home Matter controllera hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
→Control
Google HomePlatform control
What you gainUse the recorded platform connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Needed for this connection
Thread border router
Setup and sources
Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The Google Home side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
Needed for this connection
a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Aqara does not say whether the U400 requires one. Aqara names Google Home among the U400's Matter platforms. You need a Google device that is a Matter controller and a Thread border router, since the lock is Thread-only. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][22][23][30][31][42][43][44]
Amazon Alexa · Works
How it connects to Amazon Alexa
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Matter
The documented connection
Aqara Smart Lock U400
Aqara Smart Lock U400Aqara Smart Lock U400
→Thread
Thread border routerThread border router
→Matter
Matter-capable Echo or eeroa Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
→Control
Amazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainUse the recorded platform connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Needed for this connection
Thread border router
Setup and sources
Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The Alexa side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
Aqara says the U400 'works by design with Apple Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and other ecosystems' over Matter over Thread, and its manual lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms it binds to. You need an Alexa device that is both a Matter controller and a Thread border router, because Aqara requires 'a Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem'. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][11][18][22][23][30][31]
SmartThings · Works
How it connects to SmartThings
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
What you gainUse the recorded platform connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Needed for this connection
Thread border router
Setup and sources
Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The SmartThings side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
Named in the same Aqara sentence ('Samsung SmartThings'), and the manual lists SmartThings among its Matter platforms. You need a SmartThings hub that is also a Thread border router, because the lock speaks Matter over Thread and nothing else. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][11][18][22][23][30][31]
Home Assistant · Works
How it connects to Home Assistant
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Matter
The documented connection
Aqara Smart Lock U400
Aqara Smart Lock U400Aqara Smart Lock U400
→Thread
Thread border routerThread border router
→Matter
Home Assistant Matter ServerHome Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
→Control
Home AssistantPlatform control
What you gainUse the recorded platform connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Needed for this connection
Thread border router
Setup and sources
Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The Home Assistant side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
Needed for this connection
Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
Named in the same Aqara sentence, and the manual lists Home Assistant among its Matter platforms. You need Matter set up in Home Assistant and a Thread border router on your network, because the lock is Thread-only. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][12][22][23][30][31]
Platform setup limits
Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25
Equipment that adds features
Check which features need it
Thread border router
Aqara names an Apple-side requirement specifically: 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub' for UWB unlocking and 'an Apple Thread-enabled Matter controller' for tap-to-unlock — a HomePod or Apple TV in practice. Recorded as optional because the lock's keypad, fingerprint, NFC and key access work without any hub at all.[1][24][29]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Research, not hands-on testing
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
↔Device control
Documented device function
Lock/unlock
The device supports this control.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Thread border router. Aqara: 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub' — this lock reaches Apple Home over Thread or not at all, so an Apple home hub that is also a Thread border router (a HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model) is what the Apple path needs. Recorded per ecosystem rather than product-level because Aqara states the requirement for each Matter platform separately, and for Apple names the hub.
⚠ THE DEEPEST APPLE STORY IN THIS CATALOGUE'S LOCK SHELF, AND THE ONE WITH THE MOST PREREQUISITES — read both halves. Aqara names specific minimums for it (iOS 18.5 on an iPhone 11 or later, watchOS 11.5 on an Apple Watch Series 6 or later), and the headline feature is UWB hands-free unlocking: the door opens as you approach with your phone or watch, no tapping. But that feature is not in the box. Aqara states it needs 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub', and tap-to-unlock needs 'an Apple Thread-enabled Matter controller' — a HomePod, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model, bought separately; the Wi-Fi-only Apple TV 4K has no Thread radio. Without one you have a capable keypad-and-fingerprint lock and none of the hands-free behaviour it is sold on.
Setup: Thread border router, a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
Setup and sources
Thread border router. Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The Google Home side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV).Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Aqara does not say whether the U400 requires one. Aqara names Google Home among the U400's Matter platforms. You need a Google device that is a Matter controller and a Thread border router, since the lock is Thread-only. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.
Setup: Thread border router, a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
Setup and sources
Thread border router. Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The Alexa side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device.Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Aqara says the U400 'works by design with Apple Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and other ecosystems' over Matter over Thread, and its manual lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms it binds to. You need an Alexa device that is both a Matter controller and a Thread border router, because Aqara requires 'a Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem'. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.
Setup: Thread border router, a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub
Setup and sources
Thread border router. Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The SmartThings side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
Named in the same Aqara sentence ('Samsung SmartThings'), and the manual lists SmartThings among its Matter platforms. You need a SmartThings hub that is also a Thread border router, because the lock speaks Matter over Thread and nothing else. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.
Setup: Thread border router, Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
Setup and sources
Thread border router. Aqara: 'A Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem is required for its respective platform.' The Home Assistant side therefore needs a controller of its own that is also a Thread border router; the lock has no Wi-Fi to fall back on.
Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy).Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Named in the same Aqara sentence, and the manual lists Home Assistant among its Matter platforms. You need Matter set up in Home Assistant and a Thread border router on your network, because the lock is Thread-only. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
⚠ THE DEEPEST APPLE STORY IN THIS CATALOGUE'S LOCK SHELF, AND THE ONE WITH THE MOST PREREQUISITES — read both halves. Aqara names specific minimums for it (iOS 18.5 on an iPhone 11 or later, watchOS 11.5 on an Apple Watch Series 6 or later), and the headline feature is UWB hands-free unlocking: the door opens as you approach with your phone or watch, no tapping. But that feature is not in the box. Aqara states it needs 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub', and tap-to-unlock needs 'an Apple Thread-enabled Matter controller' — a HomePod, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model, bought separately; the Wi-Fi-only Apple TV 4K has no Thread radio. Without one you have a capable keypad-and-fingerprint lock and none of the hands-free behaviour it is sold on.[1][24][29][41]
Google Home
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Aqara does not say whether the U400 requires one. Aqara names Google Home among the U400's Matter platforms. You need a Google device that is a Matter controller and a Thread border router, since the lock is Thread-only. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][22][23][30][31][42][43][44]
Alexa
Aqara says the U400 'works by design with Apple Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and other ecosystems' over Matter over Thread, and its manual lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms it binds to. You need an Alexa device that is both a Matter controller and a Thread border router, because Aqara requires 'a Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem'. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][11][18][22][23][30][31]
SmartThings
Named in the same Aqara sentence ('Samsung SmartThings'), and the manual lists SmartThings among its Matter platforms. You need a SmartThings hub that is also a Thread border router, because the lock speaks Matter over Thread and nothing else. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][11][18][22][23][30][31]
Home Assistant
Named in the same Aqara sentence, and the manual lists Home Assistant among its Matter platforms. You need Matter set up in Home Assistant and a Thread border router on your network, because the lock is Thread-only. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.[1][12][22][23][30][31]
Aqara says the U400 'works by design with Apple Home, Home Assistant, Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and other ecosystems' over Matter over Thread, and its manual lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms it binds to. You need an Alexa device that is both a Matter controller and a Thread border router, because Aqara requires 'a Thread-enabled Matter controller from each ecosystem'. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Aqara does not say whether the U400 requires one. Aqara names Google Home among the U400's Matter platforms. You need a Google device that is a Matter controller and a Thread border router, since the lock is Thread-only. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.In Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
⚠ THE DEEPEST APPLE STORY IN THIS CATALOGUE'S LOCK SHELF, AND THE ONE WITH THE MOST PREREQUISITES — read both halves. Aqara names specific minimums for it (iOS 18.5 on an iPhone 11 or later, watchOS 11.5 on an Apple Watch Series 6 or later), and the headline feature is UWB hands-free unlocking: the door opens as you approach with your phone or watch, no tapping. But that feature is not in the box. Aqara states it needs 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub', and tap-to-unlock needs 'an Apple Thread-enabled Matter controller' — a HomePod, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model, bought separately; the Wi-Fi-only Apple TV 4K has no Thread radio. Without one you have a capable keypad-and-fingerprint lock and none of the hands-free behaviour it is sold on.In Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router
Named in the same Aqara sentence ('Samsung SmartThings'), and the manual lists SmartThings among its Matter platforms. You need a SmartThings hub that is also a Thread border router, because the lock speaks Matter over Thread and nothing else. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.In SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Named in the same Aqara sentence, and the manual lists Home Assistant among its Matter platforms. You need Matter set up in Home Assistant and a Thread border router on your network, because the lock is Thread-only. Through Matter you get locking and unlocking. Aqara says features such as Night Latch mode and Auto-Lock settings need the Aqara Home app and are not available if you connect the lock straight to another platform.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[6][23][31]
No plan, tier or recurring fee is named anywhere in Aqara's own product content for this lock — access methods, the app and the Matter integration are the product rather than a subscription level of it. That is the norm for locks in this catalogue and worth stating explicitly, since it is not the norm for the camera shelf next door. ⚠ One adjacent cost that is not a lock subscription but will feel like one: the video-unlock feature works by integrating with Aqara cameras, which have their own storage economics.
Maintenance and offline use
Batteries: removable rechargeable lithium — manufacturer-stated 6 months per set
Works without the internet: Not established — we have not sourced this yet. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
A removable rechargeable lithium pack rated 'up to 6 months per charge', and Aqara solves the annoyance that usually comes with that: the lock's USB-C port lets you recharge 'without taking the lock offline', so you are not taking the door apart twice a year. Built for an exterior door: Aqara calls it 'BHMA-certified for proven protection, mechanical strength, and long-term reliability', with an 'IP65-rated exterior'. And the physical fallback is genuinely physical: the cylinder is rekeyable, so a lost key means recutting rather than replacing the lock.
Aqara states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: at least 2 years of security updates from the launch day — Aqara's stated policy, qualified to "certain device models" and with no published launch date for this model (the document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.
Aqara's general policy page promises security updates for at least 2 years from launch for certain device models, without saying which, and counts from a launch day Aqara does not publish. Aqara has also signed an Australian statement, dated 15 August 2025, for the Smart Lock U400 sold as a kit under six model codes (DL-D06E, DL-D16E, DL-D06D, DL-D16D, DL-D17D and DL-D15D), which promises at least 3 years from launch. We do not show that longer promise as this lock's headline because the statement does not say which of those six codes is the black or silver lock sold in the United States, so we cannot match it to this exact model. Aqara has not signed a UK statement for this lock.
The catch
The feature that sells this lock is not in the box. UWB hands-free unlocking — the door opening as you walk up — needs a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub by Aqara's own words, meaning a HomePod, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model bought separately, and tap-to-unlock needs the same thing. Buy it without one and you own a fingerprint-and-keypad deadbolt at $269.99. Two more things worth knowing: it replaces your entire lock rather than retrofitting over it, so your existing keys stop working, and on Alexa, Google, SmartThings and Home Assistant it arrives over Matter, which needs each platform's own Thread-capable controller and leaves Night Latch, Auto-Lock and the other Aqara settings in the Aqara Home app.
On how long it gets security updates, this page shows at least 2 years of security updates from the launch day — Aqara's stated policy, qualified to "certain device models" and with no published launch date for this model. The document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated. Aqara's general policy page promises at least 2 years of security updates for certain models, while its signed Australian statement for the U400 kit promises at least 3 years, so this page goes by the policy page because the statement does not say which of its six model codes is the lock sold in the United States.
Who it's for
An Apple household that already owns a HomePod or a Thread-capable Apple TV 4K and wants the closest thing to a door that recognises you — UWB hands-free entry is genuinely rare, and this is one of the few locks doing it. It also covers the unglamorous cases: fingerprint, passcode, NFC card and a rekeyable physical key, BHMA-certified and IP65 for a real exterior door. If you want to keep your existing keys and cylinder, the U200 retrofit answers a different question on the same shelf.
This opens Aqara's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
48 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
Checked 2026-10-01. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
[2] us.aqara.com store listing data for the Smart Lock U400, the only source this record cites — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
[5] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled meaning of the protocols a device itself speaks: a transport statement · Matter over Thread. No new outside source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
[8] No source was read for this edit. The Apple-path hub requirement written here restates evidence THIS RECORD ALREADY CARRIES — Aqara's own 'a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub' sentence, cited by the store-listing entry, which is what establishes that a hub is required., verified 2026-09-07
[9] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
[10] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-16 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-16
Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Certification and product IDs, Power source, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Apple Home compatibility
Checked 2026-10-01. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
[28] Aqara's security policy page and its signed Australian statement for the Smart Lock U400 kit, both read on 27 September 2026 and quoted word for word., verified 2026-09-27
Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Research status, Certification and product IDs, Power source, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Apple Home compatibility
Checked 2026-10-01. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
[48] Record-keeping entry: each maker disagreement on this page now says what is at stake for a buyer (the 2026-10-21 split into shown findings and research notes)., verified 2026-10-21
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Aqara Smart Lock U400 with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.