Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-03

Philips Hue Smart Button

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[7][32]
[7][32][45]
[7][32][44]
[7][18][20][32]
[5][19][27][37]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ZIGBEE · BLUETOOTH[2][3]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No for the basic job, yes for anything interesting. Without a Hue Bridge the button pairs directly to bulbs — Signify's setup guide is specific about the ritual: 'Hold the smart button up to the light you want to control. Stay within six inches of the light. Press and hold the smart button for three seconds until the green light starts to blink', repeated for 'up to 10 bulbs'. ⚠ Signify does not say which radio carries that pairing, and we do not guess: its Bluetooth explainer describes Bluetooth as the phone-to-bulb path and lists accessory-to-bulb pairing as a separate method that works 'without using the Bridge or app'. With a Bridge the button reaches up to 50 lights and, critically, becomes configurable: 'A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights.' So the Bridge is what turns a fixed on-off button into a scene cycler, dimmer or automation trigger.[4][15][21][23][26][32][33][34]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Philips Hue Bridge

Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[4][15][21][23][26][32][33][34]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Button pressed

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [19] [27] [37]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[5][19][27][37]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
None documented by the vendor
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[7][32]Google HomeWorks; button pressed unconfirmed[7][32][45]AlexaWorks; button pressed unconfirmed[7][32][44]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[7][18][20][32]Home AssistantWorks[5][19][27][37]
Button pressedReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Signify lists Apple Home among the systems this button works with, but does not say what the button can do there. The same list appears on every Hue product page, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[7][32]

Google Home

This button reaches Google Home through a Philips Hue bridge, which you link to Google Home with your Hue account through Works with Google. Hue doesn't say whether Google Home can use a button press, so that is unconfirmed there.[7][32][45]

Alexa

This button reaches Alexa through a Philips Hue bridge: Hue connects the bridge to Alexa through the Hue skill in the Alexa app, and the button comes along with it. Hue doesn't say whether Alexa can use a button press to start a routine, so that is unconfirmed there.[7][32][44]

SmartThings

Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the systems this button works with, but does not say what the button can do there. The same list appears on every Hue product page, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[7][18][20][32]

Home Assistant

The one platform that documents what the button actually does is Home Assistant, not Hue. A Hue Bridge is required. Home Assistant's official Hue integration treats the button as a device with no on/off state of its own: each press sends an event you can use to trigger an automation, and the battery level shows up as a sensor. Presses reach Home Assistant locally, as they happen, on a V2 Bridge. One documented limit worth knowing before you build a double-press automation: Home Assistant's documentation says Hue limits each device to one event per second.[5][19][27][37]

Device documentation: [5] [19] [27] [37]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; button pressed unconfirmedWorks; button pressed unconfirmed — see the catch[7][32][44]This button reaches Alexa through a Philips Hue bridge: Hue connects the bridge to Alexa through the Hue skill in the Alexa app, and the button comes along with it. Hue doesn't say whether Alexa can use a button press to start a routine, so that is unconfirmed there.
Google HomeWorks; button pressed unconfirmedWorks; button pressed unconfirmed — see the catch[7][32][45]This button reaches Google Home through a Philips Hue bridge, which you link to Google Home with your Hue account through Works with Google. Hue doesn't say whether Google Home can use a button press, so that is unconfirmed there.
Apple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[7][32]Signify lists Apple Home among the systems this button works with, but does not say what the button can do there. The same list appears on every Hue product page, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[7][18][20][32]Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the systems this button works with, but does not say what the button can do there. The same list appears on every Hue product page, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][19][27][37]The one platform that documents what the button actually does is Home Assistant, not Hue. A Hue Bridge is required. Home Assistant's official Hue integration treats the button as a device with no on/off state of its own: each press sends an event you can use to trigger an automation, and the battery level shows up as a sensor. Presses reach Home Assistant locally, as they happen, on a V2 Bridge. One documented limit worth knowing before you build a double-press automation: Home Assistant's documentation says Hue limits each device to one event per second.

Plans and ongoing costs[4][15][23][34]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[11][23][24][34][35]

No subscription is referenced on the product page or in the smart-button setup guide. Hue's paid tier covers camera and security services, not lighting control, and nothing about this button is gated behind it.

Maintenance and offline use[3]

The catch

Signify's product page lists eight third-party systems and Hue's own documentation never says what the button does in any of them. That specification field is a Hue-system list that appears across the catalogue — nowhere does Signify state whether a press can start an Alexa routine, appear in Apple Home, or reach a bulb that isn't a Hue bulb. The one place it is documented is Home Assistant, and that documentation was written by Home Assistant. Beyond that, the ordinary catch is the Bridge: without one the button pairs directly to at most 10 bulbs and does the single fixed thing it shipped doing, because Hue states outright that a Bridge is what lets you change how the button behaves. With a Bridge it reaches 50 lights, cycles scenes, dims on a long press and can start automations. And note the price — around $33 for a one-button remote is not the cheap end of this category.

Where Philips Hue's own pages disagree

Required hub or bridge

On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows A Hue Bridge is optional: the button pairs to up to 10 lights without one, and a Bridge adds its settings and up to 50 lights. Signify's shop page says a Bridge is required for the smart button, while the same page's FAQ and its setup guide pair it to up to 10 lights without one, so this page lists the Bridge as optional and says what it adds.

Who it's for

Hue households with a Bridge who want a physical, placeable button for a scene, a room or a whole-house off — and Home Assistant users, who get the most out of it because a press becomes a trigger for anything. Worth a second look if you are buying it expecting it to work as a button inside Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home or SmartThings: Hue publishes nothing that establishes that, and this record does not assume it.

Check availability at Philips Hue

This opens Philips Hue's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

46 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] FCC instrument validation performed 2026-08-09 across three Signify filings: 2AGBW9290042355X (Hue Essential A19, model 929004235501) and 2AGBW9290038537X (Hue White & Color A19, model 929003853701) each carry Bluetooth LE test reports and a separate Zigbee test report, authorised at 2402-2480 MHz and 2405-2480 MHz; 2AGBW9290030675X (Hue Motion Sensor, model 929003067502) carries 2405-2480 MHz only with no BLE exhibit. This record carries no 929-series model code (modelNumber 046677605773 is a UPC; generation v3 = RDM005), so no FCC ID could be constructed for it. The widely-repeated 'Zigbee only, no Bluetooth' claim for the Hue Smart Button is sourced to ROM001, a different generation, and is not applied here. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-09Seller's spec sheet, checked 2026-08-09This fact comes from a retailer or review specification listing rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-08-09.
  2. [2] philips-hue.com/en-us/support/connect-hue-product/accessories/smart-button (read 2026-08-09), 'Connect without a Bridge' instructions: 'Hold the smart button up to the light you want to control. Stay within six inches of the light. Press and hold the smart button for three seconds until the green light starts to blink. Repeat to pair the smart button with up to 10 bulbs.' — no radio named anywhere in the procedure. · philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/faq/controls/how-to-connect-philips-hue-without-a-bridge: method 1 is 'Use the Philips Hue App with Bluetooth'; method 3 is 'Pair with a Hue smart accessory — You can also connect Hue bulbs directly to Hue lighting accessories without using the Bridge or app'; comparison table gives 'With Hue Bridge (Zigbee/Matter): Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories' against 'Without Hue Bridge (Bluetooth): Up to 10 lights'. · philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-smart-button/046677605773 FAQ: 'Can I customize the settings of a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch without a Hue bridge? No. A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] philips-hue.com US product page, Smart button v3 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Market availability
  4. [4] philips-hue.com support, 'How to set up Hue smart button' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Service status
  5. [5] Home Assistant documentation, Philips Hue integration — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-07-31
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  6. [6] philips-hue.com Apple Home works-with page, the smart-button setup guide, and the Philips Hue and Matter complete setup and support guide (article 000012) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31
    Backs: Research status
  7. [7] philips-hue.com Apple Home works-with page, the smart-button setup guide, and the Philips Hue and Matter complete setup and support guide (article 000012) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  8. [8] Philips Hue's Smart Button product page, re-read 2026-08-18 — no sentence about the button or bridge working without an internet connection. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  9. [9] Signify's Hue smart-button setup guide and US product page, plus the FCC instrument validation across three Signify filings — all already cited on this record — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  10. [10] Philips Hue's own 'Philips Hue and Matter: Complete Setup & Support Guide', read 2026-08-21. Its feature-comparison table carries a 'Local control (offline)' row marked ✅ for BOTH the Hue Bridge setup and the direct-Matter setup — Hue stating, about its own system, that control survives the internet going away. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Works without the internet
  11. [11] Philips Hue's own setup guide "How to set up a Hue smart button", read 2026-08-21. It publishes two routes for this exact accessory, and the second needs neither the Hue app nor a Hue account: "Connect without a Bridge — Smart button setup instructions: 1. Hold the smart button up to the light you want to control. Stay within six inches of the light. 2. Press and hold the smart button for three seconds until the green light starts to blink. 3. Repeat to pair the smart button with up to 10 bulbs." The other route on the same page is the Bridge one: "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app… Open the Hue app… Scan the QR code." Signify's own Hue-account support topic (https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/support/topic/philips-hue-account/100057, read 2026-08-21) answers "What is a Hue account?" with: "A Hue account is your way to manage your Philips Hue system. Additionally, signing in to your account unlocks advanced features of Philips Hue, such as the ability to control your lights while you're away from home." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  13. [13] Runs on batteries — nothing to wire., verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  14. [14] Signify's own US product page for the Hue smart button, re-read 2026-09-19 and checked row by row against this record. NOTHING MOVED. Identity: "Shape — Smart Button (latest model)", "Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677605773", material number (12NC) 929004582202. Price: "Current price is $32.99" with no struck-through comparison price beside it, and the page states "In stock". The page therefore still supports this record's answer that the button is on sale today. Operating systems: "Compatible operating systems — iOS, Android". Batteries: "Battery type CR2032", "Batteries included — 1 x CR2032", "Minimal battery lifetime 2" (years, which is the 24 months this record carries). Physical and rating claims all unchanged: "⌀45 mm", "Lifetime 50000 clicks", "Operational temperature 0°C - 40°C", "IP code IP20", "Guarantee 2 years", "Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability, App platforms, Batteries, Research status
  15. [15] Signify's own setup guide "How to set up a Hue smart button", re-read 2026-09-19. Unchanged, and still carrying both routes verbatim as this record quotes them. Bridge route: "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app", then "Open the Hue app", "Choose a Room to add the smart button to", "Scan the QR code", "Follow the on-screen instructions to customize its settings". Bridge-free route: "1. Hold the smart button up to the light you want to control. Stay within six inches of the light. 2. Press and hold the smart button for three seconds until the green light starts to blink. 3. Repeat to pair the smart button with up to 10 bulbs." No subscription, plan, fee or paid tier is referenced anywhere on the page, and no third-party platform is named anywhere on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Subscription, Service status, Required hub or bridge
  16. [16] Signify's own US product page for the Hue smart button, "What's supported" table, read 2026-09-19. Verbatim row: "Defined support period — Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller". The same table carries "Software upgradable — Yes" for the switch. Signify also links an "End of Support Policy" from every page footer; that document was NOT opened for this entry, because no page is opened for an advance-on-touch field. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Security-update support period
  17. [17] Signify's US product page for the Hue smart button, "What's supported" table, read 2026-09-19. Two rows in that table speak to the platform cells and neither was used to set one: "HomeKit compatible — Yes", and the long-standing "Compatibility with 3rd party systems — Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-19
  18. [18] Hue's 'Philips Hue and Apple Home' page, re-read in full 2026-09-21. The body runs from 'Connect your Philips Hue smart lights to Apple HomeKit technology' through voice control, Apple TV/HomePod/iPad as a hub, Siri Shortcuts and a setup guide. It names no platform other than Apple, publishes no list of platforms, and discusses bulbs and lights throughout — accessories such as the smart button are not addressed anywhere on it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  19. [19] Home Assistant's official documentation for the Philips Hue integration, re-read in full 2026-09-22. 'The Philips Hue integration allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge. The integration supports: Lights; Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors); Remotes and switches (as device triggers for automations, and also exposed as battery sensors when they are battery-powered).' On scenes: 'These Hue scenes are automatically imported into Home Assistant and available as scene entities'; 'Creating or editing Hue scenes in Home Assistant is not supported'; 'Using Hue scenes is recommended when you want to control multiple lights at once.' On the bridge split: 'V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream. V1 Hue bridges (round shape) are polled on an interval'. Footer: 'The Philips Hue hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.60, and it's used by 15.9% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Local Push.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  20. [20] Hue's 'Philips Hue and Apple Home' page, re-read in full 2026-09-22 (2,549 characters of extracted text). It opens 'Connect your Philips Hue smart lights to Apple HomeKit technology to get voice control with Siri' and runs through voice control, Apple TV/HomePod/iPad as a hub and a setup guide. It names no platform other than Apple, publishes no list of platforms, and discusses lights throughout; SmartThings appears zero times. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  21. [21] Signify's US product page for the Hue smart button, read in full on 2026-10-03 (16,581 characters). Store block: "Current price is $32.99 $32.99", "Shape Smart Button (latest model) In stock", and beside a Bridge Pro offer "For a Smart button a bridge is required". Specification table: "Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677605773", "Material number (12NC) 929004582202", "Battery type CR2032", "Batteries included 1 x CR2032", "Lifetime 50000 clicks", "Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)", "Minimal battery lifetime 2", "WiFi Works without Wi-Fi", "Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller", "Compatible operating systems iOS, Android", "Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee". FAQ: "Can I customize the settings of a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch without a Hue bridge? No. A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights" and "We recommend a Hue bridge to customize how you can control your lights, as well as the Hue app, and at least one Hue light (sold separately). If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability, App platforms, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Security-update support period, Research status
  22. [22] Carried from this unit's reads of Signify's product page and setup guide for the smart button, both read 2026-10-03., verified 2026-10-03
  23. [23] Signify, 'How to set up a Hue smart button', read in full on 2026-10-03. Two routes. 'Connect with a Bridge': "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app.", then the Hue app's Add devices and QR-code steps and "Follow the on-screen instructions to customize its settings." 'Connect without a Bridge': "1. Hold the smart button up to the light you want to control. Stay within six inches of the light. 2. Press and hold the smart button for three seconds until the green light starts to blink. 3. Repeat to pair the smart button with up to 10 bulbs." No fee, plan or paid tier and no third-party platform appears on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Service status, Vendor account required
  24. [24] Signify, 'Philips Hue accounts', read in full on 2026-10-03. "Soon, you’ll need to create a Philips Hue account."; "With an account and a Bridge, you’ll get access to Out of home control."; "No matter which permissions you have, you’ll always be able to control the lights — even when the internet is down." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Vendor account required
  25. [25] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter: Complete Setup & Support Guide', read in full on 2026-10-03. With a Bridge it "Supports all Hue products"; the comparison table's 'Local control (offline)' row is marked ✅ for the Hue Bridge column. It names Alexa, Google and SmartThings for Hue lights and says nothing about accessories such as the smart button. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Works without the internet
  26. [26] Signify, 'How to connect Philips Hue without a Bridge?', read in full on 2026-10-03. Method 1 is "Use the Philips Hue App with Bluetooth"; method 3 is "Pair with a Hue smart accessory": "You can also connect Hue bulbs directly to Hue lighting accessories without using the Bridge or app." The table gives "Up to 10 lights per control source" without a Bridge and "Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories" with one. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  27. [27] Home Assistant, 'Philips Hue' integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03 (8,175 characters). Supports "Remotes and switches (as device triggers for automations, and also exposed as battery sensors when they are battery-powered)"; "Hue remotes such as the Dimmer Switch are stateless devices, meaning that they do not have an on/off state like regular entities in Home Assistant. Instead, these devices emit the event hue_event when a button is pressed."; "The Hue API limits each device to one event per second."; "V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream."; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  28. [28] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Apple Home', read in full on 2026-10-03 (2,575 characters). It covers Hue lights in Apple Home (Siri, a home hub for automations, Siri Shortcuts, a setup guide), names no other platform and does not mention accessories such as the smart button. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
  29. [29] Signify, 'Smart button' support page, read on 2026-10-03 (2,073 characters). The served text lists eight questions (dimming, installing, battery replacement and type, the old and latest models, mounts, humid rooms, resetting) and none of their answers; no Bridge requirement and no light count appear. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  30. [30] Signify support topic 'Philips Hue account', read on 2026-10-03 (2,556 characters). The served text lists fifteen questions, 'What is a Hue account?' first, and none of their answers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  31. [31] Signify support page 'Philips Hue system', read on 2026-10-03 (2,299 characters). The served text lists ten questions, among them 'Why can't I control my lights when I'm away from home?', and none of their answers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  32. [32] Signify's US product page for the Hue smart button, read in full on 2026-10-04 (16,636 characters). Store block: "Current price is $32.99 $32.99", "Shape Smart Button (latest model) In stock", and beside a Bridge Pro offer "For a Smart button a bridge is required". Specification table: "Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677605773", "Material number (12NC) 929004582202", "Operational temperature 0°C - 40°C", "Battery type CR2032", "Batteries included 1 x CR2032", "Lifetime 50000 clicks", "Max. lights per switch 50 (with Hue Bridge)", "Minimal battery lifetime 2", "WiFi Works without Wi-Fi", "Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller", "Compatible operating systems iOS, Android", "Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee", "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos". FAQ: "No. A Hue bridge is required to be able to change the way a Hue dimmer switch, smart button, or tap dial switch controls your lights" and "If you don't have a bridge, you can connect these switches to up to 10 lights". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability, App platforms, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Security-update support period, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  33. [33] Signify, 'How to connect Philips Hue without a Bridge?', read in full on 2026-10-04. Method 3 is "Pair with a Hue smart accessory": "You can also connect Hue bulbs directly to Hue lighting accessories without using the Bridge or app." The table gives "Up to 10 lights per control source" without a Bridge and "Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories" with one. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  34. [34] Signify, 'How to set up a Hue smart button', read in full on 2026-10-04. Two routes. 'Connect with a Bridge': "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app.", then the Hue app's Add devices and QR-code steps and "Follow the on-screen instructions to customize its settings." 'Connect without a Bridge': "1. Hold the smart button up to the light you want to control. Stay within six inches of the light. 2. Press and hold the smart button for three seconds until the green light starts to blink. 3. Repeat to pair the smart button with up to 10 bulbs." No fee, plan or paid tier and no third-party platform appears on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Service status, Vendor account required
  35. [35] Signify, 'Philips Hue accounts', read in full on 2026-10-04. "Soon, you’ll need to create a Philips Hue account."; "With an account and a Bridge, you’ll get access to Out of home control."; "No matter which permissions you have, you’ll always be able to control the lights — even when the internet is down." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Vendor account required
  36. [36] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter: Complete Setup & Support Guide', read in full on 2026-10-04. With a Bridge it "Supports all Hue products"; the comparison table's 'Local control (offline)' row is marked ✅ for the Hue Bridge column. It names Alexa, Google and SmartThings for Hue lights and says nothing about accessories such as the smart button. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Works without the internet
  37. [37] Home Assistant, 'Philips Hue' integration page, read in full on 2026-10-04 (8,175 characters). Supports "Remotes and switches (as device triggers for automations, and also exposed as battery sensors when they are battery-powered)"; "Hue remotes such as the Dimmer Switch are stateless devices, meaning that they do not have an on/off state like regular entities in Home Assistant. Instead, these devices emit the event hue_event when a button is pressed."; "The Hue API limits each device to one event per second."; "V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream."; "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  38. [38] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Apple Home', read in full on 2026-10-04 (2,575 characters). It covers Hue lights in Apple Home (Siri, a home hub for automations, Siri Shortcuts, a setup guide), names no other platform and does not mention accessories such as the smart button. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-04
  39. [39] Signify, 'Smart button' support page, read on 2026-10-04 (2,073 characters). The served text lists eight questions (dimming, installing, battery replacement and type, the old and latest models, mounts, humid rooms, resetting) and none of their answers; no Bridge requirement and no light count appear. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
  40. [40] Signify support topic 'Philips Hue account', read on 2026-10-04 (2,556 characters). The served text lists fifteen questions, 'What is a Hue account?' first, and none of their answers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
  41. [41] Signify support page 'Philips Hue system', read on 2026-10-04 (2,299 characters). The served text lists ten questions, among them 'Why can't I control my lights when I'm away from home?', and none of their answers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
  42. [42] The page on this record that could not be read on 2026-10-04: the FCC filing summary at https://fccid.io/2AGBW9290030675X. fccid.io turns our reader away (recorded on the host-conduct register)., verified 2026-10-04
  43. [43] This record's own entries, which already name the Hue Bridge: Signify's specification block, already quoted on this record, giving 'up to 50 lights with a Hue Bridge'., verified 2026-10-12
  44. [44] Philips Hue's setup page 'How to connect Philips Hue to Amazon Alexa', read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash 6dc8a40ce20e…). Verbatim: "There are two ways to connect Hue lights to Alexa, depending on if you want to connect with a Hue Bridge or Bluetooth. If you connect with a Hue Bridge, you’ll automatically connect through Matter." · "Set up with Bridge Open the Amazon Alexa app. In the More tab, tap Skills & Games." · "Type “Philips Hue” in the search bar. Tap the Hue skill. Tap Enable to use. You will be redirected to your Philips Hue account page. Sign into your account. Select the Hue Bridge you want to link and tap Next." The page carries no model list, names no Bridge generation, and states nothing about where commands are carried out., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  45. [45] Philips Hue's setup page 'How to connect Philips Hue to Google Home', read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash a42e43555872…). Verbatim: "Set up with Hue Bridge Open the Google Home app. Tap the plus icon (+) in the top left corner. Tap Set up device. Tap Works with Google. In the next screen, select Philips Hue from the list." · "You will be redirected to your Philips Hue account page. Tap Yes to grant the Google Home app permission to control your Hue lights." · "All your Philips Hue lights and Rooms will now be listed." The page carries no model list, names no Bridge generation, and states nothing about where commands are carried out., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  46. [46] Record-keeping entry: each maker disagreement on this page now says what is at stake for a buyer (the 2026-10-21 split into shown findings and research notes)., verified 2026-10-21

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Philips Hue Smart Button with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker