The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Product Library / Indoor Air & Comfort
Research profile · last verified 2026-10-09Airthings View Plus
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: WIFI[1][2][3][7][16][18][19][30]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
No hub — and unusually for this catalogue, the product IS one. The View Plus joins your 2.4GHz Wi-Fi directly and needs nothing between it and Airthings' service. It then acts as a bridge for the rest of the range: in Airthings' words, 'The hub feature allows the View Plus to extend its internet connectivity to Airthings Wave monitors, which on their own use only Bluetooth.' That matters if you are buying more than one Airthings device, because the cheaper Wave units are Bluetooth-only and are stuck within phone range until something gives them a network. Airthings notes the hub function requires the View Plus to be powered over USB-C rather than running on its batteries — which is the practical catch: the two-year battery life and the hub role are alternatives, not a combination.[2][14][28]
A rare thing and worth crediting: the maker answers the question in writing instead of leaving you to infer it from a list that stops short. Airthings' own page says 'Apple HomeKit is not currently supported.' That is the company itself stating an absence, which we treat as much stronger evidence than silence — most makers simply omit the platform and leave a buyer guessing whether it was forgotten or excluded. There is no Matter route either, and we checked rather than assumed: the official Matter certification database returns nothing for Airthings, and we confirmed that search was working by looking up a brand we knew was listed. So for an Apple household this is a clean no, from the manufacturer's own mouth. Note Airthings' own hedge — 'not currently' — which is a door left open rather than closed.[2][3][11][14][18][28]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
Airthings View Plus
- Airthings View PlusAirthings View Plus
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Account linkGoogle HomePlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-12
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Airthings connects the View Plus to Google Home when you link your Airthings account through Works with Google in the Google Home app, and the monitor then appears in the Google Home app. You can ask Google for the humidity, the CO2 level or the overall air quality of a room. Radon, the reading this monitor is sold for, is the exception: Airthings says Google Home can't be asked about radon directly, though radon counts toward the overall air quality answer. Airthings doesn't mention temperature for Google Home.[2][11][14][26][28][34]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
Airthings View Plus
- Airthings View PlusAirthings View Plus
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Alexa skillAmazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-12
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Airthings connects the View Plus to Alexa through the Airthings skill: you turn it on in the Alexa app and sign in with your Airthings account. You use it by asking the skill by name to read out a level, such as radon, CO2, VOCs or particulates in a room, and the monitor can also be added to the Alexa app as a thermometer. Airthings' help page says it offers no Alexa automation, so the readings can't start Alexa routines, although its product page says they can. Humidity isn't among the readings Airthings names for Alexa. Readings stay in the Airthings app either way.[2][11][14][26][28][33]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Unknown. Airthings enumerates four integrations — Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT and Homey — and SmartThings is not among them; no Samsung-side documentation naming this monitor was located. Recorded unknown rather than none, and the contrast with the Apple cell on this same record is the reason why: for Apple, Airthings wrote a sentence saying it is not supported, and that earns a 'none'. For SmartThings it wrote nothing at all, and an omission from a four-item list is silence rather than a denial. Same page, same vendor, two different kinds of evidence — and this catalogue records the difference instead of flattening it.[2]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
Airthings View Plus
- Airthings View PlusAirthings View Plus
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Official integrationHome AssistantPlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Not named by Airthings — its integration sentence lists Alexa, Google, IFTTT and Homey and stops — so this rests entirely on the Home Assistant side. Home Assistant ships an official Airthings integration, added in 2021.10, which signs in with credentials you generate in the Airthings dashboard and asks Airthings' service for updates at intervals. So an Airthings account is mandatory and nothing here runs on your own network. We call it partial rather than full for a specific, checkable reason: Home Assistant's documentation describes it at BRAND level and names no models at all — only that 'Airthings provide different sensors for measuring the air quality', with no mention of the View Plus or any other product. Neither side names this monitor, so the route plainly exists for Airthings hardware while coverage of this exact model is documented by nobody. Two limits worth knowing, both from Home Assistant: the radon reading may not come through from Airthings at startup until it has a value — which matters, since radon is the reason to buy this monitor — and live updates depend on having a hub. That second point connects to the hub note on this page: without a hub-capable device relaying them, Bluetooth-only Airthings units only sync when the phone app uploads their data. There is no Matter fallback that could give you a local path, since Airthings holds no certificate.[5][17][31]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Doesn't work
Air quality reading
This device reports air quality reading.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
A rare thing and worth crediting: the maker answers the question in writing instead of leaving you to infer it from a list that stops short. Airthings' own page says 'Apple HomeKit is not currently supported.' That is the company itself stating an absence, which we treat as much stronger evidence than silence — most makers simply omit the platform and leave a buyer guessing whether it was forgotten or excluded. There is no Matter route either, and we checked rather than assumed: the official Matter certification database returns nothing for Airthings, and we confirmed that search was working by looking up a brand we knew was listed. So for an Apple household this is a clean no, from the manufacturer's own mouth. Note Airthings' own hedge — 'not currently' — which is a door left open rather than closed.
Connection documentation: [2] [3] [11] [14] [18] [28]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [28]
airthings.com · checked 2026-10-09
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-10-01
Google Home · Works, except air quality reading
Humidity reading
This device reports humidity reading.
- Event
- Works
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Airthings connects the View Plus to Google Home when you link your Airthings account through Works with Google in the Google Home app, and the monitor then appears in the Google Home app. You can ask Google for the humidity, the CO2 level or the overall air quality of a room. Radon, the reading this monitor is sold for, is the exception: Airthings says Google Home can't be asked about radon directly, though radon counts toward the overall air quality answer. Airthings doesn't mention temperature for Google Home.
Connection documentation: [2] [11] [14] [26] [28] [34]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [28]
airthings.com · checked 2026-10-09
help.airthings.com · checked 2026-10-12
Alexa · Works, by a limited route
Air quality reading
This device reports air quality reading.
- Event
- Works
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Airthings connects the View Plus to Alexa through the Airthings skill: you turn it on in the Alexa app and sign in with your Airthings account. You use it by asking the skill by name to read out a level, such as radon, CO2, VOCs or particulates in a room, and the monitor can also be added to the Alexa app as a thermometer. Airthings' help page says it offers no Alexa automation, so the readings can't start Alexa routines, although its product page says they can. Humidity isn't among the readings Airthings names for Alexa. Readings stay in the Airthings app either way.
Connection documentation: [2] [11] [14] [26] [28] [33]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [28]
airthings.com · checked 2026-10-09
help.airthings.com · checked 2026-10-12
Alexa · Works, by a limited route
Temperature reading
This device reports temperature reading.
- Event
- Works
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Airthings connects the View Plus to Alexa through the Airthings skill: you turn it on in the Alexa app and sign in with your Airthings account. You use it by asking the skill by name to read out a level, such as radon, CO2, VOCs or particulates in a room, and the monitor can also be added to the Alexa app as a thermometer. Airthings' help page says it offers no Alexa automation, so the readings can't start Alexa routines, although its product page says they can. Humidity isn't among the readings Airthings names for Alexa. Readings stay in the Airthings app either way.
Connection documentation: [2] [11] [14] [26] [28] [33]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [28]
airthings.com · checked 2026-10-09
help.airthings.com · checked 2026-10-12
SmartThings · Inconclusive
Air quality reading
This device reports air quality reading.
- Event
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Unknown. Airthings enumerates four integrations — Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT and Homey — and SmartThings is not among them; no Samsung-side documentation naming this monitor was located. Recorded unknown rather than none, and the contrast with the Apple cell on this same record is the reason why: for Apple, Airthings wrote a sentence saying it is not supported, and that earns a 'none'. For SmartThings it wrote nothing at all, and an omission from a four-item list is silence rather than a denial. Same page, same vendor, two different kinds of evidence — and this catalogue records the difference instead of flattening it.
Connection documentation: [2]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [28]
airthings.com · checked 2026-10-09
airthings.com · checked 2026-08-02
Home Assistant · Partial
Air quality reading
This device reports air quality reading.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not named by Airthings — its integration sentence lists Alexa, Google, IFTTT and Homey and stops — so this rests entirely on the Home Assistant side. Home Assistant ships an official Airthings integration, added in 2021.10, which signs in with credentials you generate in the Airthings dashboard and asks Airthings' service for updates at intervals. So an Airthings account is mandatory and nothing here runs on your own network. We call it partial rather than full for a specific, checkable reason: Home Assistant's documentation describes it at BRAND level and names no models at all — only that 'Airthings provide different sensors for measuring the air quality', with no mention of the View Plus or any other product. Neither side names this monitor, so the route plainly exists for Airthings hardware while coverage of this exact model is documented by nobody. Two limits worth knowing, both from Home Assistant: the radon reading may not come through from Airthings at startup until it has a value — which matters, since radon is the reason to buy this monitor — and live updates depend on having a hub. That second point connects to the hub note on this page: without a hub-capable device relaying them, Bluetooth-only Airthings units only sync when the phone app uploads their data. There is no Matter fallback that could give you a local path, since Airthings holds no certificate.
Connection documentation: [5] [17] [31]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [28]
airthings.com · checked 2026-10-09
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-09
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- None documented by the vendor
- Reported events
- 3 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeDoesn't work[2][3][11][14][18][28] | Google HomeWorks, except air quality reading[2][11][14][26][28][34] | AlexaWorks, by a limited route[2][11][14][26][28][33] | SmartThingsInconclusive[2] | Home AssistantPartial[5][17][31] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air quality readingReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work | Event Works | Event Inconclusive | Event Not stated |
| Temperature readingReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Not stated | Event Works | Event Inconclusive | Event Not stated |
| Humidity readingReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Works | Event Not stated | Event Inconclusive | Event Not stated |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
A rare thing and worth crediting: the maker answers the question in writing instead of leaving you to infer it from a list that stops short. Airthings' own page says 'Apple HomeKit is not currently supported.' That is the company itself stating an absence, which we treat as much stronger evidence than silence — most makers simply omit the platform and leave a buyer guessing whether it was forgotten or excluded. There is no Matter route either, and we checked rather than assumed: the official Matter certification database returns nothing for Airthings, and we confirmed that search was working by looking up a brand we knew was listed. So for an Apple household this is a clean no, from the manufacturer's own mouth. Note Airthings' own hedge — 'not currently' — which is a door left open rather than closed.[2][3][11][14][18][28]
Google Home
Airthings connects the View Plus to Google Home when you link your Airthings account through Works with Google in the Google Home app, and the monitor then appears in the Google Home app. You can ask Google for the humidity, the CO2 level or the overall air quality of a room. Radon, the reading this monitor is sold for, is the exception: Airthings says Google Home can't be asked about radon directly, though radon counts toward the overall air quality answer. Airthings doesn't mention temperature for Google Home.[2][11][14][26][28][34]
Alexa
Airthings connects the View Plus to Alexa through the Airthings skill: you turn it on in the Alexa app and sign in with your Airthings account. You use it by asking the skill by name to read out a level, such as radon, CO2, VOCs or particulates in a room, and the monitor can also be added to the Alexa app as a thermometer. Airthings' help page says it offers no Alexa automation, so the readings can't start Alexa routines, although its product page says they can. Humidity isn't among the readings Airthings names for Alexa. Readings stay in the Airthings app either way.[2][11][14][26][28][33]
SmartThings
Unknown. Airthings enumerates four integrations — Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT and Homey — and SmartThings is not among them; no Samsung-side documentation naming this monitor was located. Recorded unknown rather than none, and the contrast with the Apple cell on this same record is the reason why: for Apple, Airthings wrote a sentence saying it is not supported, and that earns a 'none'. For SmartThings it wrote nothing at all, and an omission from a four-item list is silence rather than a denial. Same page, same vendor, two different kinds of evidence — and this catalogue records the difference instead of flattening it.[2]
Home Assistant
Not named by Airthings — its integration sentence lists Alexa, Google, IFTTT and Homey and stops — so this rests entirely on the Home Assistant side. Home Assistant ships an official Airthings integration, added in 2021.10, which signs in with credentials you generate in the Airthings dashboard and asks Airthings' service for updates at intervals. So an Airthings account is mandatory and nothing here runs on your own network. We call it partial rather than full for a specific, checkable reason: Home Assistant's documentation describes it at BRAND level and names no models at all — only that 'Airthings provide different sensors for measuring the air quality', with no mention of the View Plus or any other product. Neither side names this monitor, so the route plainly exists for Airthings hardware while coverage of this exact model is documented by nobody. Two limits worth knowing, both from Home Assistant: the radon reading may not come through from Airthings at startup until it has a value — which matters, since radon is the reason to buy this monitor — and live updates depend on having a hub. That second point connects to the hub note on this page: without a hub-capable device relaying them, Bluetooth-only Airthings units only sync when the phone app uploads their data. There is no Matter fallback that could give you a local path, since Airthings holds no certificate.[5][17][31]
Platform documentation:
airthings.com · checked 2026-10-09
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-10-01
help.airthings.com · checked 2026-10-12
help.airthings.com · checked 2026-10-12
airthings.com · checked 2026-08-02
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-09
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][3][11][14][18][28] | A rare thing and worth crediting: the maker answers the question in writing instead of leaving you to infer it from a list that stops short. Airthings' own page says 'Apple HomeKit is not currently supported.' That is the company itself stating an absence, which we treat as much stronger evidence than silence — most makers simply omit the platform and leave a buyer guessing whether it was forgotten or excluded. There is no Matter route either, and we checked rather than assumed: the official Matter certification database returns nothing for Airthings, and we confirmed that search was working by looking up a brand we knew was listed. So for an Apple household this is a clean no, from the manufacturer's own mouth. Note Airthings' own hedge — 'not currently' — which is a door left open rather than closed. |
| Amazon Alexa | Works, by a limited routeWorks, by a limited route — see the catch[2][11][14][26][28][33] | Airthings connects the View Plus to Alexa through the Airthings skill: you turn it on in the Alexa app and sign in with your Airthings account. You use it by asking the skill by name to read out a level, such as radon, CO2, VOCs or particulates in a room, and the monitor can also be added to the Alexa app as a thermometer. Airthings' help page says it offers no Alexa automation, so the readings can't start Alexa routines, although its product page says they can. Humidity isn't among the readings Airthings names for Alexa. Readings stay in the Airthings app either way. |
| Google Home | Works, except air quality readingWorks, except air quality reading — see the catch[2][11][14][26][28][34] | Airthings connects the View Plus to Google Home when you link your Airthings account through Works with Google in the Google Home app, and the monitor then appears in the Google Home app. You can ask Google for the humidity, the CO2 level or the overall air quality of a room. Radon, the reading this monitor is sold for, is the exception: Airthings says Google Home can't be asked about radon directly, though radon counts toward the overall air quality answer. Airthings doesn't mention temperature for Google Home. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2] | Unknown. Airthings enumerates four integrations — Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT and Homey — and SmartThings is not among them; no Samsung-side documentation naming this monitor was located. Recorded unknown rather than none, and the contrast with the Apple cell on this same record is the reason why: for Apple, Airthings wrote a sentence saying it is not supported, and that earns a 'none'. For SmartThings it wrote nothing at all, and an omission from a four-item list is silence rather than a denial. Same page, same vendor, two different kinds of evidence — and this catalogue records the difference instead of flattening it. |
| Home Assistant | PartialPartial support — see the catch[5][17][31] | Not named by Airthings — its integration sentence lists Alexa, Google, IFTTT and Homey and stops — so this rests entirely on the Home Assistant side. Home Assistant ships an official Airthings integration, added in 2021.10, which signs in with credentials you generate in the Airthings dashboard and asks Airthings' service for updates at intervals. So an Airthings account is mandatory and nothing here runs on your own network. We call it partial rather than full for a specific, checkable reason: Home Assistant's documentation describes it at BRAND level and names no models at all — only that 'Airthings provide different sensors for measuring the air quality', with no mention of the View Plus or any other product. Neither side names this monitor, so the route plainly exists for Airthings hardware while coverage of this exact model is documented by nobody. Two limits worth knowing, both from Home Assistant: the radon reading may not come through from Airthings at startup until it has a value — which matters, since radon is the reason to buy this monitor — and live updates depend on having a hub. That second point connects to the hub note on this page: without a hub-capable device relaying them, Bluetooth-only Airthings units only sync when the phone app uploads their data. There is no Matter fallback that could give you a local path, since Airthings holds no certificate. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[2][11][14][28]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[12][14][28]
No subscription for the consumer product, and Airthings says the app is free in its own words: 'The View Plus requires the free Airthings app (iOS or Android) to function, including initial setup, alerts, and trend data.' Read that sentence twice, though, because it does two jobs — it tells you the app costs nothing, and it tells you the app is not optional. Setup, alerts and history all live there, so an account with Airthings is a condition of using the monitor rather than a convenience. Recorded as a positive 'none' on the strength of the written 'free'. One boundary this record keeps deliberately: Airthings also sells a paid 'Airthings for Business' tier, and that is a different product line for commercial buildings — its pricing is never conflated with the consumer app, and nothing about it gates anything described here. There is no consumable: an air-quality monitor has no filter, so after the batteries the ongoing cost is nothing.
Maintenance and offline use[2]
- Batteries: 6 × AA (user-replaceable); USB-C power alternative — manufacturer-stated 24 months per set
- Works without the internet: No — the core function depends on the vendor's servers, so an outage takes it with them.[2][11][14][28]
- This is the most sensors of anything in its category, and the radon is the reason people buy it. Airthings lists what it measures as 'Radon, particulate matter (PM2.5), Carbon dioxide (CO2), temperature, humidity, airborne chemicals (VOC), air pressure' — seven readings, where the two monitors beside it here manage four and five. Power is either six AA batteries, which Airthings rates at 'up to 2 years... depending on Wi-Fi router type and sensor reporting interval', or USB-C. Note the qualifier is doing real work: your router and how often the device reports both move that number, and Airthings gives no lower figure. What Airthings does print is each sensor's measurement range: radon from 0 to 500 pCi/L, carbon dioxide from 400 to 5,000 ppm, fine particles (PM2.5) from 0 to 1,000 μg/m³ and airborne chemicals from 0 to 10,000 ppb. The USB-C option is not merely a convenience — the feature that lets this unit relay readings from Airthings' Bluetooth-only Wave monitors requires it, so you cannot have both maximum battery life and that relay role at once. Connectivity is Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz, 802.11 b/g/n) plus Bluetooth Low Energy. It depends on Airthings' servers: the app is mandatory for setup, alerts and trend data, and nothing documents a way to reach this model on your own network alone.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether Airthings publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
The catch
Radon is what this monitor adds, so think hard about whether you need it. Seven sensors — radon, PM2.5, CO2, VOC, temperature, humidity and air pressure — make it the most complete monitor in this catalogue, but radon is the one nothing else here measures, and it is the one with a genuine health case behind it. If radon is not on your mind, you are paying $329.99 for a CO2-and-particulates monitor that a $34.99 IKEA sensor also covers — and that price went up by $30 between our August and September checks and was unchanged on 2026-10-01. Second, the Apple answer is a clean no and the vendor says so itself: 'Apple HomeKit is not currently supported.' There is no Matter path either — no Airthings certificate exists in the CSA database, checked and validated against a known positive. Credit where it is due: writing that sentence is more honest than the industry norm of quietly omitting the platform, and it is why this record can say 'no' rather than 'unknown'. Third, notice what is and isn't documented across platforms on this page. Apple gets an explicit refusal. Alexa, Google, IFTTT and Homey get a single shared sentence saying they can 'trigger smart home routines based on sensor readings'. SmartThings gets nothing. Three different states of knowledge on one page, and this record keeps them distinct rather than rounding them all to a checkmark. Fourth, a real trade-off buried in the specifications: the two-year battery life and the hub feature are alternatives. The View Plus can bridge Airthings' Bluetooth-only Wave monitors onto your network — genuinely useful if you own more than one — but that requires USB-C power, so you choose between the batteries and the bridge. Fifth, the free app is mandatory. Airthings states it plainly — setup, alerts and trend data all require it — so an Airthings account is a condition of ownership, and everything here runs through their cloud with no local path documented. Finally, two small things in the buyer's favour: Airthings advertises a free 5-year extended warranty if you register within 30 days, and lists the monitor as HSA/FSA eligible through Truemed, which is not something any other product in this category offers.
Where Airthings's own pages disagree
Protocols
- “Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) only used for onboarding via the app.” Airthings' View Plus product sheet, the Connectivity row, read 2026-10-01
- “Bluetooth for on boarding and daily use configuration” Airthings' View Plus product page, Tech specs, the wireless connection line, read 2026-10-01
On how it connects, this page shows Wi-Fi. Airthings' specification sheet says Bluetooth is used only for setup while its product page says setup and day-to-day configuration, and neither says readings travel over Bluetooth, so this page lists Wi-Fi alone.
Amazon Alexa compatibility
- “The Airthings View Plus integrates with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and Homey to trigger smart home routines based on sensor readings.” Airthings' View Plus product page, the FAQ answer on Alexa, Google Home and HomeKit, read 2026-10-01
- “Ask your Amazon Alexa to audibly share current readings and use IFTTT or Homey to trigger smart home automation routines.” Airthings' View Plus product sheet, the 'Smart & healthy home' highlight, read 2026-10-01
On Amazon Alexa compatibility, this page shows that it works, by a limited route. Airthings' product page says Alexa can trigger routines from sensor readings while its specification sheet describes Alexa as reading the current values aloud, so this page says it works with Alexa, with an exception.
Who it's for
The right buy for someone who wants radon monitored continuously rather than by a charcoal kit left out for three days — that is the case this product covers, and no other monitor in this catalogue measures it. It suits a household on Google Home that wants to ask for CO2, humidity or overall air quality by voice; on Alexa the readings are read out when you ask the Airthings skill, and Airthings' own help page says it offers no Alexa automation, although its product page says the readings can trigger routines. And it suits anyone already in the Airthings range, because this is the model that puts the cheaper Bluetooth-only Wave monitors onto the network — just plan on USB-C power if you want that, since it costs you the battery life. It is the wrong product for an Apple household: Airthings says in writing that HomeKit is not supported and holds no Matter certificate, so there is no route into the Home app at all. Think twice if radon is not your concern — it has seven sensors, but the CO2-and-particulates half of the job is covered by a $34.99 sensor sitting in this same subcategory. And think twice if you want local control or no vendor account: the free app is mandatory for setup, alerts and history, and nothing here works without Airthings' cloud.
This opens Airthings's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
34 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] Airthings View Plus product sheet, airthings.com (PDF read and its text extracted 2026-08-09), CONNECTIVITY section verbatim: '2.4 Ghz WiFi 802.11 b/g/n for wireless Internet connection. Not compatible with 5 Ghz WiFi. Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) only used for onboarding via the app. Airthings SmartLink is enabled when the monitor is plugged in. With SmartLink, View Plus can act as an Internet hub for Airthings Wave monitors.' Same sheet, APP REQUIREMENTS: 'Internet-connected smartphone with one of the 3 latest major versions of iOS or Android, supporting Bluetooth 4.2 or later' — a phone-side onboarding requirement, not a device control path. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols
- [2] Airthings, View Plus air quality monitor product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Capabilities, Market availability, Service status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Research status
- [3] CSA-IoT certified products database, keyword search — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-02Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
- [4] A search check on the certification registry used another company's products (Narwal's Flow and Flow 2) to test that the search answers. Those certificates belong to different products and say nothing about this one., verified 2026-08-02
- [5] Home Assistant, Airthings integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-02Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [6] Airthings View Plus product sheet (V2, 03/2024), 'CONNECTIVITY' — "2.4 Ghz WiFi 802.11 b/g/n for wireless Internet connection. Not compatible with 5 Ghz WiFi." The same sheet's radio table gives "802.11 b/g/n (2.4 GHz) WiFi Output power: <50 mW Frequency Range (MHz): 2400.0 - 2483.5", alongside separate SmartLink (868–928 MHz) and BLE radios. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
- [7] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, vendor registry (read 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs). Airthings does not appear under any name tried: 'airthings'. The DCL's vendor registry was enumerated to EXHAUSTION on 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: substring queries were unioned until the distinct-VID count reached 833, which is the record count the tool itself reports scanning per query (the union of a/e/i/o/u/y reached 832; the last holdout was 'SLV GmbH', a vowel-free name, recovered by adding l/s/t). Every vendor in the ledger was therefore inspected, not searched for. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22Backs: Protocols
- [8] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [9] Airthings, View Plus product page — verbatim, under its own heading: "Hub function and smart home integrations — Plug in your View Plus and it becomes a hub for your Airthings Wave devices." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02Backs: What it provides to your home
- [10] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
- [11] Airthings' own US product page for the View Plus, re-read 2026-09-19 and checked axis by axis. 🔴 PRICE MOVED: the page shows "$329.99" for a single unit, against the $299.99 this record carried from 2026-08-02. The four bundles all moved down on the same page and on the same day — "View Plus Duo $527.98 / $659.98", "View Plus + Wave Enhance $391.98 / $489.98", "View Plus + View Radon $439.98 / $549.98", "Wildfire Duo — Renew air purifier + View Plus $503.98 / $629.98" — with the struck-through 'before' figures unchanged from the earlier read. Everything else held. Subscription and app: "Yes. The View Plus requires the free Airthings app (iOS or Android) to function, including initial setup, alerts, and trend data. The on-device e-ink display also shows live readings without opening your phone. An Airthings account requires only an email address and a name." Platforms, verbatim and unchanged: "The Airthings View Plus integrates with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and Homey to trigger smart home routines based on sensor readings. Apple HomeKit is not currently supported. Live readings remain available through the Airthings app regardless of which voice assistant you use." Batteries: "The Airthings View Plus runs for up to 2 years on six AA batteries, depending on Wi-Fi router type and sensor reporting interval. You can also run it on USB-C power for always-on operation, which also unlocks the hub function for connecting Airthings Wave devices." Warranty: "a free 5-year extended warranty available when you register the device on airthings.com within 30 days of purchase". The monitor is on sale with an Add to Cart control, so this record's answers that it is still sold and still supported both rest on a live store run by Airthings itself. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, App platforms, Batteries, Works without the internet, Research status, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
- [12] Airthings' own US product page for the View Plus, FAQ answer read 2026-09-19, verbatim: "Yes. The View Plus requires the free Airthings app (iOS or Android) to function, including initial setup, alerts, and trend data. The on-device e-ink display also shows live readings without opening your phone. An Airthings account requires only an email address and a name." The same page's hub answer states that linking Wave devices is done "in the Airthings app", and its connectivity answer states that live readings from anywhere and air-quality notifications both come through the app. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Vendor account required
- [13] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
- [14] Airthings' own US product page for the View Plus, read in full on 2026-10-01. Bundle offers, verbatim: "View Plus Duo View Plus $560.98 $659.98" · "View Plus + Wave Enhance $416.48 $489.98" · "View Plus + View Radon $467.48 $549.98" · "Wildfire Duo Renew air purifier + View Plus $535.48 $629.98". FAQ, verbatim: "The View Plus requires the free Airthings app (iOS or Android) to function, including initial setup, alerts, and trend data. The on-device e-ink display also shows live readings without opening your phone. An Airthings account requires only an email address and a name." · "The Airthings View Plus runs for up to 2 years on six AA batteries, depending on Wi-Fi router type and sensor reporting interval. You can also run it on USB-C power for always-on operation, which also unlocks the hub function for connecting Airthings Wave devices." · "The Airthings View Plus integrates with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and Homey to trigger smart home routines based on sensor readings. Apple HomeKit is not currently supported." · "You can use smart home systems like IFTTT and Homey to create home automation flows that use View Plus sensor readings as triggers." · "The hub feature allows the View Plus to extend its internet connectivity to Airthings Wave monitors, which on their own use only Bluetooth." Feature section, verbatim: "Plug in your View Plus and it becomes a hub for your Airthings Wave devices. Works with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and IFTTT." Tech specs, verbatim: "Wireless connection: WiFi or Airthings SmartLink (with Hub) Bluetooth for on boarding and daily use configuration" · "Hub functionality: Enabled when connected with WiFi and USB-C cable is plugged into device (not compatible with Wave Radon 1 st Gen SN: 2900xxxx)" · "Power: 6 AA batteries or USB-C" · "Connectivity: WiFi (2.4 GHz and 802.11b/g/n), Airthings SmartLink & Bluetooth Low Energy" · "Model 2960". The Integrations cell of the specs lists IFTTT, Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. The page carries an Add to Cart control. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Product identity, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, App platforms, Batteries, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, What it provides to your home, Capabilities, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
- [15] Airthings' own US product page for the View Plus, rendered read on 2026-10-01. The buy box, verbatim: "$329.99", followed by the quantity control and Add to Cart. No struck-through figure sits beside it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Price
- [16] Airthings View Plus product sheet, read in full on 2026-10-01; the sheet's footer reads 'VIEW PLUS - V2 - 03/2024'. Verbatim: "VIEW PLUS PRODUCT CODES EAN: 7090031109608 UPC: 854232008224 SKU: 960 MODEL: 2960 Device serial number: 2960xxxxxx" · "2.4 Ghz WiFi 802.11 b/g/n for wireless Internet connection. Not compatible with 5 Ghz WiFi. Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) only used for onboarding via the app. Airthings SmartLink is enabled when the monitor is plugged in. With SmartLink, View Plus can act as an Internet hub for Airthings Wave monitors." · "Up to 2 years on 6 AA batteries." · "Power: 6 AA batteries or USB power cable included." · "Mobile app for iOS and Android. Web dashboard also available for in-depth data analysis." · "Ask your Amazon Alexa to audibly share current readings and use IFTTT or Homey to trigger smart home automation routines." Radio table: Bluetooth Low Energy at 2400.0 - 2483.5 MHz, Airthings SmartLink at 'Europe 868 - 870, North America 902-928' MHz among other regions, and 802.11 b/g/n (2.4 GHz) WiFi at 2400.0 - 2483.5 MHz. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Certification and product IDs, Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, What it provides to your home, Power source, Batteries, App platforms
- [17] Home Assistant's Airthings integration page, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "Airthings provide different sensors for measuring the air quality. The focus specially on Radon sensors. While this integration works without an Airthings SmartLink hub, using one will provide live updates to your sensor data. Without a hub, you’ll need to rely on the Airthings mobile app to sync data over Bluetooth and upload it to the cloud. Requires Airthings hardware and a valid Airthings Dashboard login." · "Initially, the radon sensor may not be published by the Airthings API (at device startup, the value is considered “unknown”), and so you may have to wait for the radon sensor to appear for a new device." · "The Airthings hub was introduced in Home Assistant 2021.10" · "Its IoT class is Cloud Polling." The page names no Airthings model. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [18] CSA-IoT certified products search for the keyword Airthings, read on 2026-10-01. The result region reported no matching entries. The control search for the keyword Narwal on the same search page the same day (readHash 86d4c06b52a8) returned two Matter certificates filed by Yunjing Intelligence Innovation (Shenzhen) Co., Ltd, for products named Flow 2 and Flow. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility
- [19] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, vendor registry, read on 2026-10-01 through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: 9 pages queried, 861 vendor records scanned to the end of pagination, and no vendor name or legal name contains 'airthings'. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Protocols
- [20] Carried from this unit's reads of Airthings' product sheet and Airthings' product page, both read 2026-10-01., verified 2026-10-01
- [21] Carried from this unit's reads of Airthings' product page and Airthings' product sheet, both read 2026-10-01., verified 2026-10-01
- [22] CSA-IoT certified products search for the keyword Narwal, read on 2026-10-01 as the check that the search answers. It returned two Matter certificates filed by Yunjing Intelligence Innovation (Shenzhen) Co., Ltd, for products named Flow 2 and Flow. Those certificates belong to another maker and say nothing about this monitor. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-01
- [23] This record's own entries for the maker pages its maker findings quote., verified 2026-10-01
- [24] This record's own entries for the maker pages its maker finding quotes., verified 2026-10-01
- [25] The Matter certification ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-06: no maker registration was found under the names Airthings or Corentium, so the ledger cannot say either way whether this Airthings product is certified. The Alliance's public product directory could not serve as the second check that day: its search showed the same list of products whatever name it was given, and a member company's page lists no products at all. No certification answer is recorded for this date. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
- [26] Airthings' own US product page for the View Plus, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Hub function and smart home integrations Plug in your View Plus and it becomes a hub for your Airthings Wave devices. Works with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and IFTTT." · "The Airthings View Plus integrates with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, and Homey to trigger smart home routines based on sensor readings." · "Live readings remain available through the Airthings app regardless of which voice assistant you use." · "Integrations IFTTT Amazon Alexa Google Assistant". No sentence says how the monitor connects to either assistant or which of its readings either one receives. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
- [27] Airthings' View Plus product sheet, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Ask your Amazon Alexa to audibly share current readings and use IFTTT or Homey to trigger smart home automation routines." The sheet does not name Google. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
- [28] Airthings' own US product page for the View Plus, read in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "The Airthings View Plus runs for up to 2 years on six AA batteries, depending on Wi-Fi router type and sensor reporting interval." · "Long battery life: Up to 2 years (depends on sensor interval and WiFi router)" · "Measurement range: 0 – 500 pCi/L / 0 – 20,000 Bq/m 3" · "Measurement range 400–5000 ppm" · "Range: 0~1000 μg/m³" · "Apple HomeKit is not currently supported." · "The View Plus requires the free Airthings app (iOS or Android) to function, including initial setup, alerts, and trend data." · "An Airthings account requires only an email address and a name." · "Plug in your View Plus and it becomes a hub for your Airthings Wave devices. Works with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and IFTTT." · "Hub functionality: Enabled when connected with WiFi and USB-C cable is plugged into device (not compatible with Wave Radon 1 st Gen SN: 2900xxxx)" · "Model 2960". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Product identity, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, App platforms, Batteries, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, What it provides to your home, Capabilities, Works without the internet, Vendor account required, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
- [29] Airthings' own US product page for the View Plus, rendered read on 2026-10-09. The buy box, verbatim: "$329.99 Quantity", followed by Add to Cart. No struck-through figure sits beside it. The plain read of the same day lists the bundles at View Plus Duo $560.98 against $659.98, View Plus + Wave Enhance $416.48 against $489.98, View Plus + View Radon $467.48 against $549.98 and the Wildfire Duo $535.48 against $629.98. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Price
- [30] Airthings' View Plus product sheet, read in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "BATTERY LIFE Up to 2 years on 6 AA batteries." · "Measurement range: 0-500 pCi/L or 0-20,000 Bq/m3" · "PM2.5 Measurement Range: 0 ~ 1000 μg/m3" · "Measurement range: 0 - 10,000 ppb" (the VOC block) · "Measurement range: 400–5000 ppm." (the CO2 block) · "Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) only used for onboarding via the app." · "SmartLink is enabled when the monitor is plugged in." · "MODEL: 2960". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Certification and product IDs, Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, What it provides to your home, Power source, Batteries, App platforms
- [31] Home Assistant's Airthings integration page, read in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "Airthings provide different sensors for measuring the air quality. The focus specially on Radon sensors. While this integration works without an Airthings SmartLink hub, using one will provide live updates to your sensor data." · "Requires Airthings hardware and a valid Airthings Dashboard login." · "The Airthings hub was introduced in Home Assistant 2021.10" · "Its IoT class is Cloud Polling." The page names no Airthings model. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [32] The certification body's certified-products search, asked with 'Airthings' on 2026-10-09. In our words: it served a default first page of recent certificates that names no Airthings product, with the same fingerprint as the same search asked with 'Aranet' and with 'Aqara' in this unit, so the keyword was not applied. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-09
- [33] Airthings' own help article 'Integrations: Amazon Alexa', read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash f1eebc4795b3…, plain). Verbatim: "To use this integration, you will need a Wi-Fi-enabled monitor (View series) or a Bluetooth monitor (Wave series) connected to a Hub for full functionality." · "Airthings offers a voice assistant integration with Alexa to read aloud your Airthings monitor’s sensor values" · "When linking your Airthings account to Alexa, your Airthings monitors can be added as a thermometer in the Alexa smart home ecosystem." · "Airthings currently does not offer smart home integrations and automation through the Alexa smart home ecosystem, as Alexa does not publicly support predefined air quality parameters." · "Search for Airthings , then select Enable to use on the Airthings skill." · "Alexa, ask Airthings to check <sensor> in <room name>" · "For <sensor>, use the name of the sensor you want to have read out (radon, CO2, VOC particle matter etc)", verified 2026-10-12Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [34] Airthings' own help article 'Integrations: Google Home', read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash 41494862c9cd…, plain). Verbatim: "you will need to have a Wi-Fi-enabled monitor or a Bluetooth monitor connected to a Hub for full functionality" · "What's the humidity in the bathroom?" · "What's the air quality of the kitchen?" · "What's the CO2 level in the bedroom?" · "Choose \"Works with Google\" Select Airthings from the list You will be prompted to log in and link your Airthings account" · "Your Airthings monitors will be added as Devices in the Google Home app and also within the Home section under \"Climate\"" · "Radon is not supported by Google Home so you can't ask about it specifically. However, if you ask about the overall air quality of a room/monitor, it will include radon along with the other relevant sensors", verified 2026-10-12Backs: Google Home compatibility
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Airthings View Plus with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.