Product Library / Water Protection & Plumbing
Research profile · last verified 2026-09-18Aqara Valve Controller T1
Exactly which product this is[1]
- Model number
- VC-X01E
- Generation
- Not established
- Region this page covers
- Not established
- Also sold or listed as
- VC-X01D
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1] | Reached through a Matter-bridging Aqara hub, not natively — Aqara names Apple Home in both its global product prose and its US store's compatibility badges, and attributes it to 'Matter over Bridge support'. Two things to hold on to. The basis is Aqara's own word, with no Apple document confirming what the Home app exposes for a bridged valve. And which Aqara hub you own decides whether this cell is true at all, because only Aqara's Matter-bridging hubs can republish a Zigbee device into Apple Home.In Apple Home you also need: a Aqara hub |
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1] | Same route, same caveat: Aqara names Amazon Alexa in its product prose and its US store badges, via Matter over Bridge through an Aqara hub. Sourced to Aqara alone, and dependent on owning a hub that can do the bridging.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Aqara hub |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1] | Named by Aqara in both its product prose and its US store badges, through the same Matter-over-Bridge path. Worth contrasting with our Aqara leak-sensor record, where Google is recorded as partial because Aqara contradicted itself on that product's own page — here Aqara is consistent across both surfaces.In Google Home you also need: a Aqara hub |
| SmartThings | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1] | Named by Aqara in its product prose ('Samsung SmartThings') and its US store badges, via a Matter-bridging Aqara hub republishing the Zigbee device. Not a native path — pairing the controller directly to a SmartThings hub is not what Aqara documents.In SmartThings you also need: a Aqara hub |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1] | Named by Aqara on both surfaces, and Home Assistant's Matter integration is official and local, so both parties document the bridged path in principle. The practical route is a Matter-capable Aqara hub; Home Assistant users running their own Zigbee coordinator have a second, community route that Aqara neither documents nor endorses, and that is not claimed here.In Home Assistant you also need: a Aqara hub |
Protocols: ZIGBEE[2]
Needs before it works: Yes, unavoidably. This is a Zigbee device with no Wi-Fi, Thread or Matter radio of its own: Aqara states that 'When paired with a compatible Aqara Zigbee hub, the Valve Controller T1 integrates smoothly with other Aqara devices', and every third-party ecosystem arrives the same way — 'Thanks to Matter over Bridge support, it extends compatibility to major third-party ecosystems.' The bridge in that sentence is the Aqara hub, so the hub is doing all of the ecosystem work. Aqara's US store notes the Camera Hub G2H Pro as an exclusion. And the hub is not only the translator, it is the trigger path: this actuator has no leak sensor of its own, so a leak somewhere else in the house reaches it only as an automation running through the hub.[1]
What it can do[1]
You can tell it to
- Valve
It reports
None documented by the vendor
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Apple Home | Google Home | Alexa | SmartThings | Home Assistant |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Valve | ✓ routines can use it | ✓ routines can use it | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it | ✓ routines can use it |
Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Apple Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01), Google Home — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — automation engine ceiling (2026-09-01)
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[1][14]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[7]
No subscription is referenced on Aqara's global product page, its specification page or its US store listing.
Maintenance reality[2]
- Batteries: AA x4 — expect roughly 24 months per set
- Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- Runs on four AA cells for up to two years, which is the design's quiet advantage — no outlet is needed at the shutoff valve, and a power cut does not disable the actuator itself. Clamps onto an existing valve with a lever or butterfly handle in the DN15, DN20 or DN25 sizes (1/2", 3/4", 1") with no plumbing work. 93 x 72 x 84 mm; torque up to 3.6 N·m; rated for 1.6 MPa line pressure; valve opening or closing takes 5–20 seconds. Operating range -10 to 50 °C, humidity 0–95% RH non-condensing. Manual operation is supported alongside app, timer and automation control.
- Security updates: Aqara states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: at least 2 years of security updates from the launch day — Aqara's stated policy, qualified to "certain device models" and with no published launch date for this model (the document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.[6]
The catch
It is the cheapest honest way to make a leak sensor actually stop the water — and it cannot detect a leak. There is no probe and no sensor on this device: it is an actuator that turns a valve when something tells it to, which means a leak sensor, an Aqara hub, and an automation. That chain is the catch. The Zooz Titan in this same category will close on its own wired probe with the hub down and all wireless dead; the T1 will not, because the message has to reach it. What it does better is the other failure mode: four AA cells lasting about two years mean no outlet is needed at the valve and a power cut does not disable the actuator. And it is Zigbee, so every ecosystem on the box arrives through a Matter-bridging Aqara hub — buy the wrong hub and the six platforms Aqara lists shrink to the Aqara app. Physically it is the easy one: it clamps over an existing lever or butterfly ball valve in half-inch, three-quarter or one-inch sizes with no plumbing and no tools, at around a tenth of what a whole-home unit costs.
Who it's for
Anyone who already owns Aqara leak sensors and a Matter-capable Aqara hub, and has been living with the category's central absurdity — a sensor that can only beep. For about $70 and no plumbing, this is what closes the valve. It is also the sane entry point for anyone who wants automatic shutoff without the $500–$1,000 of a whole-home unit. It is the wrong pick if you want the shutoff to work when the hub or network is down, if you have no leak sensors yet, if your main is not a quarter-turn valve with a lever or butterfly handle, or if your Aqara hub is an older model that cannot bridge to Matter.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
17 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] Aqara global product page, Valve Controller T1 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Subscription
- [2] Aqara Valve Controller T1 specification page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Protocols, Maintenance, Power source
- [3] Aqara US store listing and Aqara newsroom announcement for the Valve Controller T1 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-31Backs: Price, Market availability, Research status
- [4] Aqara's Valve Controller T1 specification page, re-read 2026-08-18 — nothing about automations running locally or the actuator working during an internet outage. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
- [5] Aqara's compliance library at https://www.aqara.com/en/security-certifications/, read 2026-08-19 — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
- [6] Aqara's own security and compliance library (aqara.com/en/security-certifications/), read 2026-08-20 as a browser would see it, because a plain read of that page returns an empty frame. Its policy statement, verbatim: "We will maintain the security updates for at least 2 years from the launch day of certain device models." Its compliance table enumerates 60+ products BY MODEL NUMBER across three regulatory frameworks (Australian Cyber Security Rules 2025, UK PSTI Regulations, EU Data Act), each row carrying a status and a date issued. This model is listed as Valve Controller T1, models VC-X01E, VC-X01D, across all three compliance sections. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Security-update support period
- [7] Aqara Valve Controller T1 user manual — product introduction: "* This device needs to be used with Aqara Home app and an Aqara Zigbee Hub"; 'Quick Setup' step 2: "Please make sure the hub is bound in the Aqara Home account you are using. If you have not bound the hub, please refer to the manual of the hub to add the hub to the app." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [8] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance — filling in which region the security-support statement applies to, verified 2026-08-27
- [9] us.aqara.com — Aqara's US store listing data for the Valve Controller T1, read 2026-08-30 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30Backs: Price, Market availability
- [10] aqara.com — Global Security & Compliance Statements, and Aqara's US store listing data, both read 2026-08-30 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30Backs: Research status
- [11] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
- [12] us.aqara.com — Valve Controller T1 product page, read 2026-09-15. Verbatim: 'Valve Controller T1 is a complete retrofit device, easy to install on existing valves without additional piping work.'; 'Installs easily on existing valves without major plumbing work, ideal for DIY users.'; 'The Valve Controller T1 easily installs on existing water valves without major modifications, making it simple for anyone to set up, regardless of plumbing experience.'; 'The Valve Controller T1 runs on 4 AA batteries, with no wiring needed.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15Backs: Installation
- [13] Aqara Valve Controller T1 User Manual, 'Product Installation' section, read 2026-09-15. Verbatim, the DN15/DN20 procedure: '1. Find the valve piping where you plan to install the equipment, manually switch the valve once to make sure that the valve is in a state where it can be normally switched on and off, and please adjust the valve to open.'; '2. Pre-mount the 2 pieces of mounting bracket on the pipe using screws (do not tighten the screws yet).'; '3. Move the device to the valve, secure the swivel arm to the valve handle, and take note of the mounting position of the controller…'; '4. Tighten the mounting bracket screws to ensure the stability of the device.'; '5. Open the battery compartment, install the batteries, and then re-close the battery compartment.' For DN25 pipes: '2. Attach the 2-piece mounting bracket to the device by screws.'; '3. Adjust the pipe fixture, turn the screw to loosen the fixture…' Clearance note: 'At least 187 * 248 mm size should be reserved above the pipeline to ensure that there is enough space to install the equipment.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
- [14] Two Aqara first-party pages re-read in full on 2026-09-18 and neither one mentions a plan. aqara.com/en/product/valve-controller-t1/ (the global product page) carries no subscription, service plan, cloud fee or free-cloud-service language anywhere in its copy; what it does state about how the device is reached is 'When paired with a compatible Aqara Zigbee hub, the Valve Controller T1 integrates smoothly with other Aqara devices' and 'Thanks to Matter over Bridge support, it extends compatibility to major third-party ecosystems like Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings, Home Assistant, and Homey.' aqara.com/en/product/valve-controller-t1-specs/ (the specification page) carries no plan, account or fee row in its table either. The US store listing was read the same day through its structured route and carries no plan. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Subscription
- [15] Aqara's own US store listing for this product, read 2026-09-18 through the store's structured product route rather than the rendered page, per the storefront rule (the exact address is this entry's url). Verbatim from the structured product data: title 'Valve Controller T1'; available true; price 6999 (that is $69.99); no compare-at price; a single 'Default Title' variant, price 6999, available true. Battery facts re-read the same day from aqara.com/en/product/valve-controller-t1-specs/: 'AA Battery × 4' in the specification table, with the global product page stating the device 'operates on four AA batteries' and 'can function for up to 2 years'. The specification table also reproduces unchanged: 'Zigbee'; 'Compatible Pipe Sizes: DN15, DN20, DN25'; 'Compatible Handle Types: lever handle, butterfly handle'; '-10°C ~ 50°C'; '93 × 72 × 84 mm'; box contents 'Valve Controller T1 × 1, User Manual × 1, Accessory Kit × 1, AA Battery × 4'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Price, Market availability, Batteries
- [16] Scheduled re-verification, 2026-09-18. Three Aqara first-party surfaces were re-read today and this record's facts checked against them one by one: the global product page (no plan language, the hub sentence, the Matter-over-bridge ecosystem sentence, four AA cells for up to two years), the specification page (Zigbee, AA × 4, pipe sizes, handle types, temperature range, dimensions, box contents) and the US store's structured product route ($69.99, one variant, in stock). Every published value on this record reproduced. One question was not settled today — the install-effort boundary — and it is recorded below, deliberately left where it was. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Research status
- [17] No new external read. This entry records the state of an open question, using evidence already quoted verbatim on this record: the install-effort citation from Aqara's US store (entry aqara-valve-t1-install-effort-2026-09-15) and the user manual's own installation procedure (entry aqara-valve-t1-manual-install-2026-09-15)., verified 2026-09-18
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.