Product Library / Smart Lighting
Research profile · last verified 2026-10-03Ring Smart Lighting Solar Steplight
⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Ring's Smart Lighting range is a set of near-identically named fixtures that differ in shape, brightness and power, and this catalogue holds three of them. This is the Solar Steplight — a small 50-lumen unit that screws to a surface beside steps or decking, $29.99. It is NOT the Solar Pathlight (ring-smart-lighting-solar-pathlight, 80 lumens, stakes into ground, $34.99) and NOT the Pathlight Battery (ring-smart-lighting-pathlight-battery, D-cell powered, $29.99). ⊕ The steplight is also sold in 2-pack and 4-pack bundles with a Ring Bridge (2nd Gen) under their own product pages; this record covers the single unit as Ring's own page sells it.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: AMAZON-SIDEWALK[1][15][24]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Yes for anything smart — but Ring states the requirement CONDITIONALLY, and the condition is not one a buyer can check in advance. The product page carries a warning block: 'Compatible Sidewalk Hub Required. To enable smart security features, add one of the following: Ring Bridge (2nd Gen), Ring Bridge, Alarm Pro Base Station.' The same page's Tech Specs then say 'If you already own a device that supports Sidewalk coverage, you might not need Ring Bridge (2nd Gen)', and Ring's own Bridge accessory copy on that page goes further: 'A Ring Bridge or a compatible hub is required to control Ring Smart Lights unless your area has Sidewalk coverage.' ⚠ 'Your area' is the operative phrase — Amazon Sidewalk coverage depends on Sidewalk-bridging devices nearby, including other households', so whether this light needs a $49.99 Bridge is answered by your neighbourhood rather than by the box. ⊕ Ring's own support article for this product names a different device list again — 'Wireless connection to Ring Bridge, Echo Show 10 (3rd Gen), or Echo (4th Gen)' — which is consistent with the Sidewalk story but is NOT the list the product page prints. Budget for a Bridge and be pleasantly surprised. ⚠ Neither surface states what the light does with no hub and no coverage; that it still works as a motion-activated solar lamp is an inference, and it is left as one.[3][4][15][17][24][26]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
The light is Amazon Sidewalk only — Ring names no Matter, Thread or HomeKit radio on either surface read — and no Ring documentation asserts Apple Home support. Recorded as none on the protocol constraint plus the absence of any manufacturer claim, which is a stronger negative than promotional silence alone.[2][16][25]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established. No Ring-owned page we have read documents Google Home or Google Assistant support for Smart Lighting, and Ring's own Alexa article does not mention it. No statement to the contrary was found either, so this is unknown rather than a no.[1][15][24]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
Ring Smart Lighting Solar Steplight
- LightRing Smart Lighting Solar Steplight
- Device connectionRing Alarm Pro Base StationRequired hub or bridge
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Alexa skillAmazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-20
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Ring Alarm Pro Base Station
Requires Ring hardware first: Ring's own Alexa article states plainly that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' With one, the documented Alexa controls are on/off for individual lights or groups, brightness, motion sensitivity, alerts, auto shut-off timers, group turn-on duration and alert snooze timing. Recorded as full against that documented control set, not as a claim about every Alexa feature.[5][18][27][33]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established in either direction. We have found no page from Ring or from Samsung that names this product.[1][15][24]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Home Assistant's own Ring integration documentation enumerates the devices it supports — doorbells, stick-up and floodlight cameras, chimes and intercoms — and standalone Smart Lighting fixtures appear nowhere on that list. Recorded as none because this is an explicit supported-device enumeration that omits the product, not silence on a marketing page.[6][22][31]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Doesn't work
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
The light is Amazon Sidewalk only — Ring names no Matter, Thread or HomeKit radio on either surface read — and no Ring documentation asserts Apple Home support. Recorded as none on the protocol constraint plus the absence of any manufacturer claim, which is a stronger negative than promotional silence alone.
Connection documentation: [2] [16] [25]
Device documentation: [9] [18] [27]
ring.com · checked 2026-10-03
ring.com · checked 2026-10-03
Google Home · Inconclusive
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not established. No Ring-owned page we have read documents Google Home or Google Assistant support for Smart Lighting, and Ring's own Alexa article does not mention it. No statement to the contrary was found either, so this is unknown rather than a no.
Connection documentation: [1] [15] [24]
Device documentation: [9] [18] [27]
ring.com · checked 2026-10-03
ring.com · checked 2026-10-03
Alexa · Works
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Works
- Automation
- —
Setup: Maker’s hub or bridge
Setup and sources
Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.
Maker’s hub or bridge. Required product →
Requires Ring hardware first: Ring's own Alexa article states plainly that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' With one, the documented Alexa controls are on/off for individual lights or groups, brightness, motion sensitivity, alerts, auto shut-off timers, group turn-on duration and alert snooze timing. Recorded as full against that documented control set, not as a claim about every Alexa feature.
Connection documentation: [5] [18] [27] [33]
Device documentation: [9] [18] [27]
ring.com · checked 2026-10-20
Alexa · Works
Brightness
This device supports brightness.
- Control
- Works
- Automation
- —
Setup: Maker’s hub or bridge
Setup and sources
Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.
Maker’s hub or bridge. Required product →
Requires Ring hardware first: Ring's own Alexa article states plainly that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' With one, the documented Alexa controls are on/off for individual lights or groups, brightness, motion sensitivity, alerts, auto shut-off timers, group turn-on duration and alert snooze timing. Recorded as full against that documented control set, not as a claim about every Alexa feature.
Connection documentation: [5] [18] [27] [33]
Device documentation: [9] [18] [27]
ring.com · checked 2026-10-20
SmartThings · Inconclusive
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Home Assistant · Doesn't work
On/off
This device supports on/off.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Home Assistant's own Ring integration documentation enumerates the devices it supports — doorbells, stick-up and floodlight cameras, chimes and intercoms — and standalone Smart Lighting fixtures appear nowhere on that list. Recorded as none because this is an explicit supported-device enumeration that omits the product, not silence on a marketing page.
Connection documentation: [6] [22] [31]
Device documentation: [9] [18] [27]
ring.com · checked 2026-10-03
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- 2 documented
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeDoesn't work[2][16][25] | Google HomeInconclusive[1][15][24] | AlexaWorks[5][18][27][33] | SmartThingsInconclusive[1][15][24] | Home AssistantDoesn't work[6][22][31] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| On/offDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Inconclusive | Control Works | Control Inconclusive | Control Doesn't work |
| BrightnessDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Inconclusive | Control Works | Control Inconclusive | Control Doesn't work |
| Motion detectedReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Inconclusive | Event Not stated | Event Inconclusive | Event Doesn't work |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
The light is Amazon Sidewalk only — Ring names no Matter, Thread or HomeKit radio on either surface read — and no Ring documentation asserts Apple Home support. Recorded as none on the protocol constraint plus the absence of any manufacturer claim, which is a stronger negative than promotional silence alone.[2][16][25]
Google Home
Not established. No Ring-owned page we have read documents Google Home or Google Assistant support for Smart Lighting, and Ring's own Alexa article does not mention it. No statement to the contrary was found either, so this is unknown rather than a no.[1][15][24]
Alexa
Requires Ring hardware first: Ring's own Alexa article states plainly that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' With one, the documented Alexa controls are on/off for individual lights or groups, brightness, motion sensitivity, alerts, auto shut-off timers, group turn-on duration and alert snooze timing. Recorded as full against that documented control set, not as a claim about every Alexa feature.[5][18][27][33]
On/off: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.
Brightness: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.
Motion detected: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.
SmartThings
Not established in either direction. We have found no page from Ring or from Samsung that names this product.[1][15][24]
Home Assistant
Home Assistant's own Ring integration documentation enumerates the devices it supports — doorbells, stick-up and floodlight cameras, chimes and intercoms — and standalone Smart Lighting fixtures appear nowhere on that list. Recorded as none because this is an explicit supported-device enumeration that omits the product, not silence on a marketing page.[6][22][31]
Platform documentation:
ring.com · checked 2026-10-03
ring.com · checked 2026-10-20
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-03
- Alexa: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][18][27][33] | Requires Ring hardware first: Ring's own Alexa article states plainly that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' With one, the documented Alexa controls are on/off for individual lights or groups, brightness, motion sensitivity, alerts, auto shut-off timers, group turn-on duration and alert snooze timing. Recorded as full against that documented control set, not as a claim about every Alexa feature.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Ring Alarm Pro Base Station |
| Google Home | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][15][24] | Not established. No Ring-owned page we have read documents Google Home or Google Assistant support for Smart Lighting, and Ring's own Alexa article does not mention it. No statement to the contrary was found either, so this is unknown rather than a no. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][16][25] | The light is Amazon Sidewalk only — Ring names no Matter, Thread or HomeKit radio on either surface read — and no Ring documentation asserts Apple Home support. Recorded as none on the protocol constraint plus the absence of any manufacturer claim, which is a stronger negative than promotional silence alone. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][15][24] | Not established in either direction. We have found no page from Ring or from Samsung that names this product. |
| Home Assistant | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[6][22][31] | Home Assistant's own Ring integration documentation enumerates the devices it supports — doorbells, stick-up and floodlight cameras, chimes and intercoms — and standalone Smart Lighting fixtures appear nowhere on that list. Recorded as none because this is an explicit supported-device enumeration that omits the product, not silence on a marketing page. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[1][7][15][19][24][28]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[10][21][30]
No subscription is named on this product's page or its support article — the app controls, motion settings and scheduling are described with no plan attached. ⚠ Scope stated rather than borrowed: Ring's clean verbatim sentence 'Ring Smart LED Lightbulbs function with or without a Ring subscription' comes from the Smart LED Lightbulb article, a DIFFERENT product family, and is not repeated on any steplight surface. A Ring subscription gates recording on a linked camera or doorbell, never the light itself.
Maintenance and offline use
- Batteries:
- Works without the internet: Not established — we have not sourced this yet. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- Ring's Tech Specs state IP66 weather resistance and an operating range of '-4°F to 122°F (-20°C to 50°C)'. Output is 'Up to 50 lumens (adjustable), 3500K Color Temperature' with a 'Schedulable dusk to dawn glow'; motion detection is 'Adjustable Motion Detection. Up to 120º field of view, detection angle dependent on distance from unit. 15' Range'. 3.43 in x 2.19 in x 4.00 in, in black or white. ⊕ Install, in Ring's words: 'Mount to most surfaces with included screws, Power drill and bits not included.' ⊕ Shipping: continental US including Alaska and Hawaii; 'Does not ship to Canada.'
- Security updates: Ring declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2030 (the document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.[8][20][29]
The catch
It is a single-ecosystem light whose smart half may need a box that costs more than the light. Amazon Sidewalk is the only radio Ring names — so no Matter, no Apple Home, no Home Assistant — and Ring's own Alexa article says flatly that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' ⚠ The detail worth reading twice is how conditionally Ring words the hub. The product page prints a hard warning ('Compatible Sidewalk Hub Required') and, a few sections later, a soft one: 'A Ring Bridge or a compatible hub is required to control Ring Smart Lights unless your area has Sidewalk coverage.' Sidewalk coverage comes from Sidewalk-bridging Amazon devices in the vicinity, your neighbours' included, so the honest answer to 'do I need the $49.99 Bridge?' is that Ring cannot tell you and neither can we. Budget for one. Without any hub or coverage, what you have bought is a motion-activated solar lamp.
Where Ring's own pages disagree
Required hub or bridge
- “Requires Ring Bridge for smart controls. Sold separately.” Ring's support article for the Solar Steplight, footnote, read 2026-10-01
- “If you already own a device that supports Sidewalk coverage, you might not need Ring Bridge (2nd Gen).” Ring's US product page, Tech Specs, read 2026-10-01
On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows a Ring hub is required for the smart features, with Amazon Sidewalk coverage named as Ring's own exception. Ring's support article says a Ring Bridge is required for smart controls while its product page says a home that already has Amazon Sidewalk coverage might not need one, so this page tells buyers to budget for a Bridge.
Who it's for
A household already inside Ring — with a Bridge or an Alarm Pro Base Station — that wants low, motion-triggered light on steps or decking that links to Ring cameras and Alexa. Solar charging with a USB fallback makes it a genuinely low-maintenance fixture. It is the wrong buy for an Apple Home or Home Assistant household, for anyone unwilling to add Ring hardware, and for anyone who needs more than 50 lumens over a 15-foot detection range.
This opens Ring's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
34 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] ring.com, Smart Lighting Solar Steplight product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [2] ring.com, Smart Lighting Solar Steplight product page — the same 2026-08-18 read recorded in full on this record's steplight product-page entry, cited here for its silence rather than its statements. Amazon Sidewalk is the only radio named anywhere on the page, and there is no Apple Home, HomeKit, Siri, Matter or Thread mention of any kind. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Apple Home compatibility
- [3] ring.com, Smart Lighting Solar Steplight product page (Tech Specs and accessory sections) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Required hub or bridge, Batteries
- [4] ring.com support, Ring Smart Solar Steplight Information — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Required hub or bridge
- [5] ring.com support, Smart Lighting and Alexa — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [6] home-assistant.io, Ring integration documentation — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [7] ring.com support, Ring Smart LED Lightbulbs — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Subscription
- [8] Ring, "Information on Ring Devices Software Security Updates" (ring.com support article ri2p1), read 2026-08-19; page states "Last updated 6 days ago". Smart Lighting table row: "Solar Steplight | 31 December 2030", under the column heading "Software security updates until at least". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19Backs: Security-update support period
- [9] Ring's own support article "Smart Lighting + Alexa", read 2026-08-20: through Alexa users can "Turn your Smart Lights on and off" and adjust brightness, control groups, "Manage your Ring app settings like Groups, Motion Sensitivity, Motion Alerts, Turn On Duration, and Auto Shut-Off Timer", and — the automation-facing part — create "Alexa Routines triggered by motion detection from the devices' sensors". The article states plainly: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." This model's own Ring product page, read the same day, states adjustable motion detection with a stated field of view and 15' range, brightness and motion sensitivity adjustable "from anywhere — all from the Ring app", schedulable operation, and that "A Ring Bridge or a compatible hub is required to control Ring Smart Lights unless your area has Sidewalk coverage." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [10] Ring support, 'Setting up and installing your Ring Alarm Base Station', read 2026-08-21 — 'If this is your first Ring product, you will be asked to set up an account.' The same article adds 'you can have multiple locations (up to 10) on one Ring account', so the account is the container the products live in. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [11] No source was read for this entry. It records how this record's existing evidence for its no-support ecosystem cells was classified, so a later pass reads the classification instead of working it out again. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-22
- [12] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance (filling in which region this record's security-support facts describe), verified 2026-08-27
- [13] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [14] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing no-support answer for Apple Home now names the platform rule the reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
- [15] Ring's own US page for the Smart Lighting Solar Steplight, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "Smart Lighting Solar Steplight" · "Now $23.99 Was $29.99" · "Compatible Sidewalk Hub Required" · "Add to Cart Out of Stock Does not ship to Canada." · "A Ring Bridge or a compatible hub is required to control Ring Smart Lights unless your area has Sidewalk coverage. Now $19.99 Was $49.99" · "See, hear, and do it all from the palm of your hand with the free Ring app." · "Lighting Up to 50 lumens (adjustable), 3500K Color Temperature Schedulable dusk to dawn glow" · "Power Solar and rechargeable battery Battery 18650 Lithium-Ion Rechargeable Battery. Can recharge via Micro USB." · "Connect with Amazon Sidewalk to use customizable smart controls in the Ring app and sync with other Ring smart lights and select Ring doorbells, cameras, and Alexa-enabled devices." · "Operating Conditions -4°F to 122°F (-20°C to 50°C), Weather Resistant (IP66 Rating)" · "Mount to most surfaces with included screws, Power drill and bits not included." · "If you already own a device that supports Sidewalk coverage, you might not need Ring Bridge (2nd Gen)." · "Warranty One-year limited warranty" · "Ships to the continental US (including Alaska and Hawaii)." The page names no Google, Apple, HomeKit, Matter, Thread or SmartThings product and no plan. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Batteries
- [16] Ring's own US page for the Smart Lighting Solar Steplight, the same 2026-10-01 read recorded on this record's product-page entry of that date, cited here for its silence. The one connectivity line reads "Connect with Amazon Sidewalk to use customizable smart controls in the Ring app and sync with other Ring smart lights and select Ring doorbells, cameras, and Alexa-enabled devices." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Apple Home compatibility
- [17] Ring's support article for the Solar Steplight, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "Connectivity Wireless connection to Ring Bridge, Echo Show 10 (3rd Gen), or Echo (4th Gen) Wireless connection to Amazon Sidewalk" · "Requires Ring Bridge for smart controls. Sold separately. One Ring Bridge supported per household." · "Works with Alexa Sidewalk compatible" · "Power Solar and rechargeable battery" · "Warranty One-year limited warranty". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Required hub or bridge
- [18] Ring's support article on Smart Lighting and Alexa, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "Ring Skill is compatible with all Ring Smart Lighting, 3P Works With Ring Light Switches and non Ring landscape lighting connected to the Ring Smart Lighting Transformer." · "Ring Smart Lighting also works with Alexa Routines." · "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." · "Turn your Smart Lights on and off." · "Adjust brightness." · "Enable a Routine when motion is detected by creating an Alexa Routine from the main menu on the app." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Capabilities
- [19] Ring's support article on Smart LED Lightbulbs, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "Do I need a Ring subscription to use Ring Smart LED Lightbulbs? No. Ring Smart LED Lightbulbs function with or without a Ring subscription." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Subscription
- [20] Ring's support article on software security updates, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "Solar Steplight 31 December 2030" in the Smart Lighting table under "Software security updates until at least", and "If you got your device somewhere else, we'll support it with software security updates until at least the date stated below." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Security-update support period
- [21] Ring's Base Station setup article, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "If this is your first Ring product, you will be asked to set up an account." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Vendor account required
- [22] Home Assistant's Ring integration page, read in full on 2026-10-01. Verbatim: "There is currently support for the following device types within Home Assistant: Doorbells" followed by doorbell, camera, chime and intercom names and no Smart Lighting fixture, and "This will add a light for every camera that supports a light (such as a floodlight)." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [23] Ring's US product page and Ring's support article for the Solar Steplight, both read on 1 October 2026 and quoted word for word., verified 2026-10-01
- [24] Ring's own US page for the Smart Lighting Solar Steplight, read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-product-page stands verbatim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Batteries
- [25] Ring's own US page for the Smart Lighting Solar Steplight, cited for its silence, read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-apple-absence stands verbatim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Apple Home compatibility
- [26] Ring's support article 'Ring Smart Solar Steplight Information', read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-support-article stands verbatim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Required hub or bridge
- [27] Ring's support article 'Smart Lighting and Alexa', read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-alexa-article stands verbatim. Verbatim, for the path: “Ring Skill is compatible with all Ring Smart Lighting, 3P Works With Ring Light Switches and non Ring landscape lighting connected to the Ring Smart Lighting Transformer.” — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Capabilities
- [28] Ring support article kufz9, read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-bulb-article stands verbatim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Subscription
- [29] Ring support, 'Information on Ring Devices Software Security Updates', read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-security-updates stands verbatim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Security-update support period
- [30] Ring support, 'Setting Up and Registering Your Base Station in the Ring App', read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-account stands verbatim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Vendor account required
- [31] Home Assistant's own documentation for the Ring integration, read in full 2026-10-03. The text is identical to the 2026-10-01 read (the fingerprint matches that entry's), so every quotation on entry bq107-t6-20261001-steplight-home-assistant stands verbatim. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [32] This record's own entries, which already quote Ring's warning block naming the Alarm Pro Base Station among the Sidewalk hubs this light accepts., verified 2026-10-12
- [33] Ring's help article 'Smart Lighting and Alexa', read in full on 2026-10-20. Verbatim: "Ring Skill is compatible with all Ring Smart Lighting, 3P Works With Ring Light Switches and non Ring landscape lighting connected to the Ring Smart Lighting Transformer." · "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." · "Turn your Smart Lights on and off." · "Adjust brightness." · "'Alexa, set the brightness of [device name] to 75 (any number between 0-100).'". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-20Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [34] Record-keeping entry: each maker disagreement on this page now says what is at stake for a buyer (the 2026-10-21 split into shown findings and research notes)., verified 2026-10-21
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Ring Smart Lighting Solar Steplight with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.