Research profile · verified 2026-10-04 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02
Tapo Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug, Matter (P400M)
Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Tapo · Plugs & Outlets · ~$25.99 ($25.99 at time of research (2026-09-17), from TP-Link's own US Tapo store listing for this model (SKU 'Tapo P400M'), never treated as a live price. The store read sold out on 2026-07-29 and 2026-09-17. On 2026-10-04 it listed the plug in stock at the same $25.99, shown against a struck-through $32.99, a figure we have not seen it sell at. On 2026-11-06 the listing showed the same $25.99 against $32.99 and read sold out again. TP-Link's product page and its own P400M datasheet publish no price. No price was taken from a third-party retailer or a search summary.)
Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.
Apple Home · Works
Two ways to use it with Apple Home
Both use Matter over your home Wi-Fi. Choose the setup that fits how you want to control it.
No home hub
Control it while you’re home
Use your existing Wi-Fi and iPhone.
Smart plugMatter over Wi-Fi
→Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi routerYour home network
→Wi-Fi
Apple HomeiPhone · iOS 18 or later
What you gainControl it in the Home app without adding a HomePod or Apple TV.
Keep in mindYour iPhone needs to be on the home network for this path.
Home hub added
Control it when you’re away, too
Add a home hub that stays connected at home.
Smart plugMatter over Wi-Fi
→Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi routerYour home network
→Local network
Apple home hubHomePod or Apple TV
→Internet
Apple HomeYour phone, away
What you gainThe home hub adds remote access and shared control.
Keep in mindA home hub provides Apple Home’s automation support. The functions a routine can use still depend on this device and connection; check the function table below.
Do I need a Thread border router?
No, for this connection. This device uses Wi-Fi. A HomePod or Apple TV here serves as an Apple home hub; Thread support is a separate role used by Thread devices.
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and Siri is named by TP-Link directly (its product page says 'Use simple voice commands with Siri®, Alexa, or Google Assistant'). No native-HomeKit path is documented for this model and none is needed. Platform requirement rather than a device limit: on Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control.[3][47]
Google Home · Works
How it connects to Google Home
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Google Home Matter controllera hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
→Control
Google HomePlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Same Matter mechanism: TP-Link's product page lists Google Assistant among the third-party platforms, and its datasheet names Google Assistant in the voice-control section. Needs a Matter-capable Google hub (Nest Hub / Nest Wifi Pro / Google TV Streamer class device) — the phone app alone will not commission it.[3][48]
Amazon Alexa · Works
How it connects to Amazon Alexa
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Matter-capable Echo or eeroa Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
→Control
Amazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Matter is the documented mechanism, not an inference: TP-Link's quick start guide and datasheet both say 'Open your selected smart home app and scan the provided Matter QR code on your device', and the product page lists Alexa among the third-party platforms. On/off is this device's entire function, so full. The requirement to budget for: TP-Link states 'A Matter-supported controller and smart home app of the same ecosystem are required' — a Matter-capable Echo, not just the Alexa app on a phone. Each outlet appears separately and can be named.[3][48]
SmartThings · Works
How it connects to SmartThings
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
TP-Link's product page names 'Samsung SmartThings' in its compatibility list and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. Requires a SmartThings hub that can act as a Matter controller; SmartThings' phone app alone is not sufficient.[3]
Home Assistant · Works
How it connects to Home Assistant
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Home Assistant Matter ServerHome Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
→Control
Home AssistantPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Worth reading closely, because the obvious route is the wrong one. Home Assistant's official TP-Link integration — which does list the Kasa HS300 and the Tapo P210M by name — does NOT list P400M, so the vendor-specific local integration is not the path here. What is: Home Assistant's own Matter integration, which accepts any Matter-certified device, and TP-Link certifies this one as Matter. That makes the route protocol-level rather than brand-level, and it needs Home Assistant's Matter server; no TP-Link cloud credentials are involved. Recorded full because on/off is the whole function, with the mechanism named so nobody wastes an evening in the wrong integration.[4][39]
Equipment that adds features
Check which features need it
Matter controller
Not needed for Tapo-app control over Wi-Fi, but required for every ecosystem path: TP-Link's datasheet states 'A Matter-supported controller and smart home app of the same ecosystem are required.' For Apple Home specifically that means an iPhone on iOS 18 or later (a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV for control away from home and automations); for Alexa, a Matter-capable Echo; for Google, a Matter-capable Nest device; for SmartThings, a SmartThings hub.[2][29][40][41][48]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Research, not hands-on testing
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
↔Device control
Documented device function
On/off
The device supports this control.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and Siri is named by TP-Link directly (its product page says 'Use simple voice commands with Siri®, Alexa, or Google Assistant'). No native-HomeKit path is documented for this model and none is needed. Platform requirement rather than a device limit: on Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control.
Setup: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
Setup and sources
a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV).Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Same Matter mechanism: TP-Link's product page lists Google Assistant among the third-party platforms, and its datasheet names Google Assistant in the voice-control section. Needs a Matter-capable Google hub (Nest Hub / Nest Wifi Pro / Google TV Streamer class device) — the phone app alone will not commission it.
Setup: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
Setup and sources
On/off and scheduling only. There is no energy monitoring on this model, so no energy data exists to surface in any ecosystem — a gap that is the device's, not the platform's.
a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device.Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Matter is the documented mechanism, not an inference: TP-Link's quick start guide and datasheet both say 'Open your selected smart home app and scan the provided Matter QR code on your device', and the product page lists Alexa among the third-party platforms. On/off is this device's entire function, so full. The requirement to budget for: TP-Link states 'A Matter-supported controller and smart home app of the same ecosystem are required' — a Matter-capable Echo, not just the Alexa app on a phone. Each outlet appears separately and can be named.
TP-Link's product page names 'Samsung SmartThings' in its compatibility list and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. Requires a SmartThings hub that can act as a Matter controller; SmartThings' phone app alone is not sufficient.
Setup: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
Setup and sources
Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy).Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Worth reading closely, because the obvious route is the wrong one. Home Assistant's official TP-Link integration — which does list the Kasa HS300 and the Tapo P210M by name — does NOT list P400M, so the vendor-specific local integration is not the path here. What is: Home Assistant's own Matter integration, which accepts any Matter-certified device, and TP-Link certifies this one as Matter. That makes the route protocol-level rather than brand-level, and it needs Home Assistant's Matter server; no TP-Link cloud credentials are involved. Recorded full because on/off is the whole function, with the mechanism named so nobody wastes an evening in the wrong integration.
Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Control
✗Not supported for this Matter device type
Automation
—
Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Control
✗Not supported for this Matter device type
Automation
—
Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Control
?Not stated
Automation
? Not stated
Control
?Not stated
Automation
—
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and Siri is named by TP-Link directly (its product page says 'Use simple voice commands with Siri®, Alexa, or Google Assistant'). No native-HomeKit path is documented for this model and none is needed. Platform requirement rather than a device limit: on Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control.[3][47]
Scene automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Google Home
Same Matter mechanism: TP-Link's product page lists Google Assistant among the third-party platforms, and its datasheet names Google Assistant in the voice-control section. Needs a Matter-capable Google hub (Nest Hub / Nest Wifi Pro / Google TV Streamer class device) — the phone app alone will not commission it.[3][48]
Scene automation: Google Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
Alexa
Matter is the documented mechanism, not an inference: TP-Link's quick start guide and datasheet both say 'Open your selected smart home app and scan the provided Matter QR code on your device', and the product page lists Alexa among the third-party platforms. On/off is this device's entire function, so full. The requirement to budget for: TP-Link states 'A Matter-supported controller and smart home app of the same ecosystem are required' — a Matter-capable Echo, not just the Alexa app on a phone. Each outlet appears separately and can be named.[3][48]
On/off: On/off and scheduling only. There is no energy monitoring on this model, so no energy data exists to surface in any ecosystem — a gap that is the device's, not the platform's.
Scene: On/off and scheduling only. There is no energy monitoring on this model, so no energy data exists to surface in any ecosystem — a gap that is the device's, not the platform's.
Scene automation: Amazon Alexa lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.
SmartThings
TP-Link's product page names 'Samsung SmartThings' in its compatibility list and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. Requires a SmartThings hub that can act as a Matter controller; SmartThings' phone app alone is not sufficient.[3]
Home Assistant
Worth reading closely, because the obvious route is the wrong one. Home Assistant's official TP-Link integration — which does list the Kasa HS300 and the Tapo P210M by name — does NOT list P400M, so the vendor-specific local integration is not the path here. What is: Home Assistant's own Matter integration, which accepts any Matter-certified device, and TP-Link certifies this one as Matter. That makes the route protocol-level rather than brand-level, and it needs Home Assistant's Matter server; no TP-Link cloud credentials are involved. Recorded full because on/off is the whole function, with the mechanism named so nobody wastes an evening in the wrong integration.[4][39]
Alexa: On/off and scheduling only. There is no energy monitoring on this model, so no energy data exists to surface in any ecosystem — a gap that is the device's, not the platform's.
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Matter is the documented mechanism, not an inference: TP-Link's quick start guide and datasheet both say 'Open your selected smart home app and scan the provided Matter QR code on your device', and the product page lists Alexa among the third-party platforms. On/off is this device's entire function, so full. The requirement to budget for: TP-Link states 'A Matter-supported controller and smart home app of the same ecosystem are required' — a Matter-capable Echo, not just the Alexa app on a phone. Each outlet appears separately and can be named.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Same Matter mechanism: TP-Link's product page lists Google Assistant among the third-party platforms, and its datasheet names Google Assistant in the voice-control section. Needs a Matter-capable Google hub (Nest Hub / Nest Wifi Pro / Google TV Streamer class device) — the phone app alone will not commission it.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple Home is reached through Matter, and Siri is named by TP-Link directly (its product page says 'Use simple voice commands with Siri®, Alexa, or Google Assistant'). No native-HomeKit path is documented for this model and none is needed. Platform requirement rather than a device limit: on Apple Home, an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control.
TP-Link's product page names 'Samsung SmartThings' in its compatibility list and the route is the same Matter commissioning flow. Requires a SmartThings hub that can act as a Matter controller; SmartThings' phone app alone is not sufficient.In SmartThings you also need: a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Worth reading closely, because the obvious route is the wrong one. Home Assistant's official TP-Link integration — which does list the Kasa HS300 and the Tapo P210M by name — does NOT list P400M, so the vendor-specific local integration is not the path here. What is: Home Assistant's own Matter integration, which accepts any Matter-certified device, and TP-Link certifies this one as Matter. That makes the route protocol-level rather than brand-level, and it needs Home Assistant's Matter server; no TP-Link cloud credentials are involved. Recorded full because on/off is the whole function, with the mechanism named so nobody wastes an evening in the wrong integration.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[11][36][49]
On Amazon Alexa via Matter: No — no vendor account is involved.[44]
On Google Home via Matter: No — no vendor account is involved.[44]
On Apple Home via Matter: No — no vendor account is involved.[44]
On SmartThings via Matter: No — no vendor account is involved.[44]
On Home Assistant via Matter: No — no vendor account is involved.[44]
TP-Link does sell a subscription, and it does not cover this plug. Tapo Care, read on TP-Link's own plans page on 2026-09-17, is a camera plan in three tiers — Cloud at $3.49/mo or $34.99/yr for up to 2 devices, Cloud Advanced at $11.99/mo or $119.99/yr, Cloud Advanced AI at $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr, the last two unlimited — and everything they unlock is camera footage: cloud storage, extended video history, AI analysis. The page's own FAQ reads 'Your Tapo camera works without a subscription.' No tier names plugs, outlets or outdoor devices, and no plug tier exists. Alongside that, no plan or paid tier appears in TP-Link's P400M datasheet or on its product page, including in the scheduling and away-mode sections that would be the obvious things to gate. So the scheduling and timers this plug is bought for are not behind a paywall. The limit worth knowing: TP-Link nowhere prints an explicit sentence saying this product needs no subscription — this is the maker's own plan surface enumerated and read, which is a stronger basis than the absence of paywall wording in two product documents that this record previously rested on.
Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
Two outlets, individually named and switched, on one weatherproof body. Datasheet ratings: 100–125 V~ 50/60 Hz; max load 15 A / 1800 W (general use / resistive load), 8 A incandescent, 1/6 HP motor — and note that TP-Link's product page states 1/2 HP for the same model (see theCatch). Radio: IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz only; Bluetooth 4.2 is used for setup only. IP65 enclosure with a stated weatherproofing condition that is easy to miss and affects real installs: 'keep the plug face down and at least 12 inches (1ft) from the ground' and 'keep the plug covered with the weatherproof cover when not in use.' Operating range -20 °C to 50 °C (-4 °F to 122 °F), humidity 10–90% RH non-condensing. Body is V-0 (UL94) flame-retardant PC; the datasheet's certification line reads 'Matter, FCC, ETL, NCC'. TP-Link claims a built-in power amplifier giving Wi-Fi reach 'of up to 300 ft in open areas'. Dimensions 4.2 × 3.1 × 1.6 in (106.5 × 79.4 × 39.4 mm). Box contains the plug, a clamp, a screw and wall anchor, and the quick start guide. System requirements Android 5.0+ or iOS 10+. No energy monitoring — a real difference from TP-Link's own P210M in-wall outlet, which has it.
Security updates: Tapo states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: ends 3 years after the product's end-of-life date (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.[9][35][50]
On maximum motor load, this page shows 1/6 HP motor (the datasheet's figure), with the page's 1/2 HP named as the conflict. TP-Link's product page rates this plug for a 1/2 HP motor and its datasheet for 1/6 HP, so this page goes by the datasheet's lower figure.
Who it's for
A fit for a household that wants two independently switched outdoor outlets joined to Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings through Matter rather than a vendor cloud, and that already owns a Matter controller for that ecosystem — for Apple Home an iPhone on iOS 18 or later (a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV for control away from home and automations), or a Matter-capable Echo, Nest hub or SmartThings hub. TP-Link names patio lights, string lights and holiday decorations as things to put on its schedules, and its datasheet rates the plug at 15 A / 1800 W for general-use (resistive) loads and 8 A for incandescent lighting. If your load is a motor, TP-Link publishes two different motor ratings for this plug, 1/2 HP on its product page and 1/6 HP in its datasheet (see the catch). Look elsewhere if you need energy monitoring, or if you have no Matter controller and want ecosystem control rather than app-only control. Also not the plug for a 5 GHz-only network.
This opens Tapo's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
56 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
[10] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the ruled definition of what the device itself speaks: certificate CSA240D9MAT42892 · Matter over Wi-Fi. No new external source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
[12] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
[27] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: TP-Link's UK security statement of 18 March 2026 was read again in full on 2026-10-02. It prints the company's general rule and has no row for the P400M., verified 2026-10-02
[42] Record-keeping entry: desk correction, no page read; one sentence about our own registry lookup tool is corrected on the identifiers entry., verified 2026-10-18
[43] Record-keeping entry: each maker disagreement on this page now says what is at stake for a buyer (the 2026-10-21 split into shown findings and research notes)., verified 2026-10-21
[44] Record-keeping entry: carried from this record's reads of TP-Link's P400M(US) quick start guide (2026-10-04, and in full on 2026-08-21), no new read. Verbatim: 'Set Up with Matter — This is a Matter-certified device. You can integrate it into any Matter ecosystem you prefer for easy control. How to Set Up: A Matter-supported controller and smart home app of the same ecosystem are required. 1. Turn on Bluetooth on your phone. 2. Open your selected smart home app and scan the provided Matter QR code on your device. 3. Follow the instructions in the app to complete setup.' The other column reads 'Get Started with the Tapo App'., verified 2026-10-04
Backs: Maker account requirements by connection
[45] Record-keeping entry: carried from this record's 2026-10-04 read of TP-Link's P400M(US) 1.0 datasheet, no new read. Verbatim, specification table: 'Weatherproof Rating: IP65'., verified 2026-10-04
Backs: Weather and dust rating
[46] TP-Link's US EOL List for Smart Home (V8.1), as read on 2026-10-27 and quoted on kasa-ep40-outdoor-plug entry bq107-t14-20261027-ep40-eol-list (readHash 1d7ba3513b77…), verified 2026-10-27
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Tapo Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug, Matter (P400M) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.