Product Library / Indoor Air & Comfort

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-21

Hunter Techne Indoor Smart Fan with 4 Lights, 52 inch (52310/52311/52312)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][2][13]
[1][2][13]
[1][2][13]
[1][12]
[4]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][2]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub. The Wi-Fi radio and remote receiver are built into the fan — Hunter's position is that 'you don't need to install or wire extra accessories to utilize the smart home fan capabilities' — so there is no bridge and no separate controller to buy. What replaces the hub is an account: a HunterSMART app account, distinct from the hunterfan.com shopping account, is required before the fan can be connected to Apple Home, Alexa or Google Home, and registering the fan in that app is step one of all three flows. The radio is 2.4 GHz; Hunter states its fans 'operate on 2.4G' and attributes most pairing failures to a phone on the 5 GHz side of a dual-band network. Hunter markets this model's physical installation as HunterExpress® — 'Prep, Connect, Complete. We have reduced the steps to make installation easier than ever!' — which is a claim about wiring the fixture, not about the network setup.[2]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [2]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [2]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [2]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][2]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][2][13]Google HomeWorks[1][2][13]AlexaWorks[1][2][13]SmartThingsInconclusive[1][12]Home AssistantPartial[4]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Native and certified, with the mechanism published rather than implied — which is what separates this from most 'works with HomeKit' marketing. Hunter states its HunterSMART fans 'were the first to HomeKit Certified by Apple' and documents the accessory pairing flow: in the Home app, tap the plus sign, choose 'Add Accessory', then 'scan the HomeKit setup code on the inside of the remote or in your HunterSMART fan's manual'. A HomeKit setup code is how a certified accessory pairs, so this is a native local integration rather than a cloud bridge. Hunter also names what the route carries: 'Through HomeKit, you can control your fan's speed, light, and direction', alongside scenes and geo-based automations with other HomeKit devices. THREE LIMITS. The HunterSMART app account is still required first — 'Register and pair your HunterSMART fan through our app' is step one even for Apple. The setup code is physically inside the remote, with the manual as the only other copy. And unlike a Matter certificate, an Apple certification has no public registry a buyer can check, so this cell rests on a first-party claim supported by a first-party mechanism — strong, but not third-party, evidence.[1][2][13]

Google Home

Published on the same footing as Alexa: 'To setup your smart fan to work with the Google Home platform, you must first register and set up your device using our HunterSMART app', then 'Under Settings, select Connect with Google' and follow the Google Assistant flow. The product page's specification table lists Google Home in the same 'Works With' row as Alexa and Apple HomeKit. Recorded full because both the route and its mechanism are first-party documented. ⚠ THE GAP IS CAPABILITY, NOT EXISTENCE: Hunter illustrates Alexa with example commands and never does the same for Google, so what reaches the fan on that side is inferred rather than stated. Hunter's own copy on this product also switches between 'Google Assistant' in the description and 'Google Home' in the feature bullet, which is loose naming rather than two different things.[1][2][13]

Alexa

Documented end to end: register the fan in the HunterSMART app, then under Settings choose 'Connect with Alexa' and complete Amazon's account-linking flow. Hunter publishes example commands, which is rarer than it should be — 'Alexa, set the office fan to high' and 'Alexa, turn on the office light' — establishing that both speed and the four-bulb light respond to voice rather than just on and off. ⚠ ONE DOCUMENTED FAILURE MODE THAT WILL LOOK LIKE A BROKEN FAN: 'If you add a new HunterSMART fan, change your existing HunterSMART fan's name through our app, or update your HunterSMART password, you will need to reset the skill. Do this by disabling the skill in Alexa and then enable it again.' Renaming a fan is the sort of thing people do casually months after install. This route is cloud on both sides, unlike Apple's.[1][2][13]

SmartThings

Not established, and Hunter's own wording is the reason. Where this page discusses platforms it names three, twice over, and both times with an open hand: the fan is 'compatible with smart home devices including Apple HomeKit, Google Assistant, and Amazon Alexa', and, a few lines later, 'seamlessly integrating with smart home systems like Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa'. 'Including' and 'like' introduce examples rather than close a list, so SmartThings being absent from them is not Hunter saying it does not work. SmartThings appears nowhere on the page, and no Samsung-side documentation naming this fan was located. Unknown is the honest answer: nobody has published one either way.[1][12]

Home Assistant

There is an official route to Home Assistant and it comes entirely from Home Assistant's side, because Hunter never mentions Home Assistant at all. This fan is a certified Apple Home accessory, so Home Assistant's built-in integration for Apple Home accessories pairs with it directly — control stays on your own network, with no maker's cloud in the path. Hunter ships nothing of its own: Home Assistant has no Hunter integration and no SimpleConnect integration, checked on 6 August 2026 against a page we knew existed in the same directory, so we could tell an empty result from a broken check. Two limits are why this is a partial yes rather than a full one. First, it is exclusive with Apple Home: Home Assistant can only find accessories that are not already paired, so a fan already added to the Apple Home app has to be removed from that app first — without resetting the fan — and the two apps cannot both hold it. Second, nobody publishes which of this fan's functions come through. Fan control is supported in general and neither company documents the Techne by name, so speed, light and direction are expected rather than confirmed. Getting the fan onto your network is the easy part: the HunterSMART app does that before Home Assistant is involved.[4]

Device documentation: [1] [2]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][2][13]Native and certified, with the mechanism published rather than implied — which is what separates this from most 'works with HomeKit' marketing. Hunter states its HunterSMART fans 'were the first to HomeKit Certified by Apple' and documents the accessory pairing flow: in the Home app, tap the plus sign, choose 'Add Accessory', then 'scan the HomeKit setup code on the inside of the remote or in your HunterSMART fan's manual'. A HomeKit setup code is how a certified accessory pairs, so this is a native local integration rather than a cloud bridge. Hunter also names what the route carries: 'Through HomeKit, you can control your fan's speed, light, and direction', alongside scenes and geo-based automations with other HomeKit devices. THREE LIMITS. The HunterSMART app account is still required first — 'Register and pair your HunterSMART fan through our app' is step one even for Apple. The setup code is physically inside the remote, with the manual as the only other copy. And unlike a Matter certificate, an Apple certification has no public registry a buyer can check, so this cell rests on a first-party claim supported by a first-party mechanism — strong, but not third-party, evidence.
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][2][13]Documented end to end: register the fan in the HunterSMART app, then under Settings choose 'Connect with Alexa' and complete Amazon's account-linking flow. Hunter publishes example commands, which is rarer than it should be — 'Alexa, set the office fan to high' and 'Alexa, turn on the office light' — establishing that both speed and the four-bulb light respond to voice rather than just on and off. ⚠ ONE DOCUMENTED FAILURE MODE THAT WILL LOOK LIKE A BROKEN FAN: 'If you add a new HunterSMART fan, change your existing HunterSMART fan's name through our app, or update your HunterSMART password, you will need to reset the skill. Do this by disabling the skill in Alexa and then enable it again.' Renaming a fan is the sort of thing people do casually months after install. This route is cloud on both sides, unlike Apple's.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][2][13]Published on the same footing as Alexa: 'To setup your smart fan to work with the Google Home platform, you must first register and set up your device using our HunterSMART app', then 'Under Settings, select Connect with Google' and follow the Google Assistant flow. The product page's specification table lists Google Home in the same 'Works With' row as Alexa and Apple HomeKit. Recorded full because both the route and its mechanism are first-party documented. ⚠ THE GAP IS CAPABILITY, NOT EXISTENCE: Hunter illustrates Alexa with example commands and never does the same for Google, so what reaches the fan on that side is inferred rather than stated. Hunter's own copy on this product also switches between 'Google Assistant' in the description and 'Google Home' in the feature bullet, which is loose naming rather than two different things.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][12]Not established, and Hunter's own wording is the reason. Where this page discusses platforms it names three, twice over, and both times with an open hand: the fan is 'compatible with smart home devices including Apple HomeKit, Google Assistant, and Amazon Alexa', and, a few lines later, 'seamlessly integrating with smart home systems like Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa'. 'Including' and 'like' introduce examples rather than close a list, so SmartThings being absent from them is not Hunter saying it does not work. SmartThings appears nowhere on the page, and no Samsung-side documentation naming this fan was located. Unknown is the honest answer: nobody has published one either way.
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[4]There is an official route to Home Assistant and it comes entirely from Home Assistant's side, because Hunter never mentions Home Assistant at all. This fan is a certified Apple Home accessory, so Home Assistant's built-in integration for Apple Home accessories pairs with it directly — control stays on your own network, with no maker's cloud in the path. Hunter ships nothing of its own: Home Assistant has no Hunter integration and no SimpleConnect integration, checked on 6 August 2026 against a page we knew existed in the same directory, so we could tell an empty result from a broken check. Two limits are why this is a partial yes rather than a full one. First, it is exclusive with Apple Home: Home Assistant can only find accessories that are not already paired, so a fan already added to the Apple Home app has to be removed from that app first — without resetting the fan — and the two apps cannot both hold it. Second, nobody publishes which of this fan's functions come through. Fan control is supported in general and neither company documents the Techne by name, so speed, light and direction are expected rather than confirmed. Getting the fan onto your network is the easy part: the HunterSMART app does that before Home Assistant is involved.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][2][13]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription. The HunterSMART app needs an account but no payment, and nothing published gates any function behind a plan — app control, voice control, light dimming and direction reversal are all described without a fee, and there is no consumable. Recorded as an absence rather than a promise: Hunter never mentions a charge and never commits in writing to not introducing one.

Maintenance and offline use[1][2][4]

The catch

The thing to understand before comparing this to anything else in Hunter's smart range is that you are not buying more smart. HunterSMART is a platform, and the connected behaviour — Apple Home natively by setup code, Alexa and Google by account-linked cloud, a required HunterSMART app account, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, no hub, no subscription — is the same on Hunter's $269.99 smart fan as on this $479.99 one. What $479.99 buys is the fixture: three finishes instead of one, a four-bulb light instead of two, 1,880 lumens instead of 1,600, a marginally more efficient motor at 77 CFM per watt, and a light kit warranted for three years rather than one. If the smart-home capability is the reason you are shopping, that is worth knowing. Second, every route to every ecosystem begins with creating a HunterSMART app account and registering the fan there — Apple's included, which is not obvious from a product that pairs like a normal HomeKit accessory. That account is separate from the one you shop with, which Hunter flags itself. Third, a documented gotcha that presents as a hardware fault: renaming the fan in the app, adding another fan, or changing your HunterSMART password breaks the Alexa skill until you disable and re-enable it. Fourth, the Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only and Hunter blames most failed pairings on a phone sitting on the 5 GHz network — sort that out before you are on a ladder. Fifth, this is a hardwired 27.85 lb fixture on a 3-inch downrod, indoor-rated only, with a light that cannot be removed; Hunter's HunterExpress installation claim is about the wiring steps, not about avoiding an electrician. Finally, ignore the badges on the page itself: this shop's markup carries 'Sale' and 'Out of Stock' labels on products that are neither, and the store's own data shows all three finishes available at full price.

Who it's for

The right buy when the fan has to look like a piece of furniture and still answer to your phone — this is the styling-led end of Hunter's smart range, with three wood-and-metal finish pairings, a four-bulb light behind a clear lens, and a light kit covered for three years. It fits an Apple Home household most closely, because HomeKit here is native and certified rather than bridged: it pairs with a setup code, runs locally, and Hunter documents speed, light and direction all arriving in the Home app. Alexa and Google homes are equally supported with published setup paths, accepting that those routes run through the cloud and depend on a linked account staying linked, and Home Assistant users can take the HomeKit Device route as long as they accept it is Home Assistant or Apple Home, never both. Think twice if you are paying the premium over Hunter's cheaper smart fans for better connectivity, because there isn't any — the platform, the app, the account requirement and the three supported ecosystems are identical, and the difference is light output, finish choice and warranty. Look elsewhere if you run SmartThings, which Hunter addresses nowhere, or if you want the fan without its light, which Hunter states is not possible.

Check availability at Hunter Fan

This opens Hunter Fan's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

14 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Hunter Fan Company, Techne 52 inch smart fan product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Capabilities, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Service status, Subscription
  2. [2] Hunter Fan Company, HunterSMART platform and setup documentation — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Protocols, Capabilities, Subscription, Batteries, Works without the internet
  3. [3] Hunter Fan Company storefront product data, Techne 52 inch — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability
  4. [4] Home Assistant, HomeKit Device (homekit_controller) integration documentation and integration directory — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-06
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Batteries, Works without the internet
  5. [5] Hunter's own storefront product data — product "Techne Indoor Smart Fan with 4 Lights 52 inch with Remote", available=true; all three finishes $479.99 and all three available. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Research status, Price
  6. [6] https://www.hunterfan.com/pages/huntersmart (read 2026-09-09) — table of contents '3. Using HunterSMART with iOS and Android', with a section under that heading. No third mobile platform is named. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: App platforms
  7. [7] https://www.hunterfan.com/pages/huntersmart (read 2026-09-09) says only 'be sure to use the 2.4 GHz network' and 'Make sure you are on 2.4 GHz network on your mobile phone' — instructions to the installer about their own network, not an enumeration of this fan's radio; the product page carries no connectivity specification. The Wi-Fi band is left unrecorded because Hunter does not publish it, not because nobody looked. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  8. [8] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  9. [9] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
  10. [10] Hunter's own pages, read in a browser with every tab opened, on 2026-09-15: this model's product page https://www.hunterfan.com/products/ceiling-fans-techne-indoor-smart-fan-with-4-lights-52-inch-with-remote-1001403 (9,113 characters: specifications including 'Control Type Included Handheld Remote', 'HunterSMART (WiFi) Smart Home Enabled' and 'HunterSMART Works With Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home'); the HunterSMART platform page https://www.hunterfan.com/pages/huntersmart (14,443 characters: account, pairing, Apple, Alexa, Google and troubleshooting sections, including 'you can use it to control your ceiling fan on/off functions and speed as well as the fan's light on/off functions and dimming while you're home or away'); and two Hunter support articles, 'HunterSMART Technology' https://support.hunterfan.com/hc/en-us/articles/29730884237719-HunterSMART-Technology (4,279 characters) and 'HunterSMART Network Compatibility' https://support.hunterfan.com/hc/en-us/articles/360038777934-HunterSMART-Network-Compatibility (3,574 characters). None of these pages says what the fan, its app or its remote does when the internet is down. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
  11. [11] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  12. [12] Hunter's product page for the Techne indoor smart fan, www.hunterfan.com/products/ceiling-fans-techne-indoor-smart-fan-with-4-lights-52-inch-with-remote-1001403, re-read 2026-09-19. Verbatim, the two platform sentences on the page: 'compatible with smart home devices including Apple HomeKit, Google Assistant, and Amazon Alexa' and 'seamlessly integrating with smart home systems like Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and Amazon Alexa'. Both are open constructions ('including', 'like'). SmartThings does not appear anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  13. [13] Hunter Fan Company: Techne Indoor Smart Fan 52 inch product page, its structured storefront product record, and the HunterSMART platform documentation page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Price, Product identity, App platforms, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  14. [14] Hunter's own store listing for the 52-inch Techne smart fan, read 2026-09-22. The listing publishes an item number and a retail barcode for each finish it sells. The Matte Silver finish carries item number 52310 — the same number this record already names as the model — and the retail barcode 049694523105. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Certification and product IDs

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Hunter Techne Indoor Smart Fan with 4 Lights, 52 inch (52310/52311/52312) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker