ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
⚠ Similar names, different products: 🔴 THE MOST IMPORTANT FACT ON THIS RECORD. ULTRALOQ sells TWO different locks as 'Bolt Fingerprint' on one product page, at the SAME price ($199.99), separated only by a dropdown: this one, 'Matter over Thread + Bluetooth' (SKU BOLT-F-MATTER), and a 'Apple Home + WiFi + Bluetooth' unit (SKUs UUL-BOLT-F-NK / UUL-BOLT-F-BK). They are not finishes of one product — they carry different radios, need different infrastructure, quote different battery life, and reach the ecosystems by different routes. This one has NO Wi-Fi radio and needs a Thread border router before it works at all. Anyone who buys 'the Ultraloq Bolt Fingerprint' without reading the SKU has a 50/50 chance of getting the architecture they did not want. Note also the neighbours: Bolt SE, Bolt NFC, Bolt Z-Wave, Bolt Pro and Bolt Mission are different products again.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: THREAD · MATTER · BLUETOOTH[2][6][21]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Needs a Thread border router — ULTRALOQ states it plainly for this variant ('Requires a Matter Over Thread hub controller (Thread border router)'), and the Matter certificate lists Thread as the ONLY transport. There is no Wi-Fi radio in this version to fall back on.[2][14][18][21]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ThreadThread border routerThread border router
- MatterApple HomePlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-08-14
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
Reached through Matter rather than a legacy HomeKit pairing on this variant, so it needs a Thread-capable Apple home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV 4K with Thread). ⚠ Do not read Apple Home Key into this: ULTRALOQ sells Home Key on its Bolt NFC line, and nothing on the Bolt Fingerprint page claims it for this model.[3][14][18]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ThreadThread border routerThread border router
- MatterGoogle Home Matter controllera hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
- ControlGoogle HomePlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-08-14
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-07
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-11
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
Setup and sources
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and ULTRALOQ does not say whether the Bolt Fingerprint requires one. ULTRALOQ names Google Home among its Matter platforms, over Thread only, so you need a Google Thread border router (Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro).[3][14][15][16][22]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ThreadThread border routerThread border router
- MatterMatter-capable Echo or eeroa Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
- ControlAmazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-08-14
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-11
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
Setup and sources
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
ULTRALOQ lists this variant as working with 'Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings'. Everything runs over Matter-over-Thread, so the Echo in question must be a Thread border router — a plain Echo Dot gets you nothing. Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate applies.[3][14][18]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ThreadThread border routerThread border router
- MatterSmartThings Matter controllera Matter-compatible SmartThings hub
- ControlSmartThingsPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-08-14
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-14
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub
Setup and sources
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
Named by ULTRALOQ ('Samsung SmartThings') and corroborated by the Matter certificate. Requires a SmartThings hub that is a Thread border router; a hubless SmartThings app cannot commission a Thread-only device.[3][14][18]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread)
- ThreadThread border routerThread border router
- MatterHome Assistant Matter ServerHome Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
- ControlHome AssistantPlatform control
What you gainThis connection communicates locally.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-09
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-11
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
Setup and sources
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Home Assistant is not mentioned anywhere on ULTRALOQ's page — this level rests on the Matter certificate, not on the vendor's word. HA's official Matter integration commissions certified locks over Thread (with a Matter server and a border router such as HA's own OpenThread Border Router add-on) and exposes lock, unlock, state and PIN-credential management. Fingerprint enrolment and user management stay in ULTRALOQ's own app, now called Xthings Home.[2][17][21]
Platform setup limits
Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Works
Lock/unlock
This device supports lock/unlock.
- Control
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ routines can use it
Setup: Thread border router
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Reached through Matter rather than a legacy HomeKit pairing on this variant, so it needs a Thread-capable Apple home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV 4K with Thread). ⚠ Do not read Apple Home Key into this: ULTRALOQ sells Home Key on its Bolt NFC line, and nothing on the Bolt Fingerprint page claims it for this model.
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [18]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
Apple Home · Works
Lock state
This device reports lock state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ routines can use it
Setup: Thread border router
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Reached through Matter rather than a legacy HomeKit pairing on this variant, so it needs a Thread-capable Apple home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV 4K with Thread). ⚠ Do not read Apple Home Key into this: ULTRALOQ sells Home Key on its Bolt NFC line, and nothing on the Bolt Fingerprint page claims it for this model.
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [18]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
Google Home · Works, except voice unlock
Lock state
This device reports lock state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ routines can use it
Setup: Thread border router, a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV). Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and ULTRALOQ does not say whether the Bolt Fingerprint requires one. ULTRALOQ names Google Home among its Matter platforms, over Thread only, so you need a Google Thread border router (Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro).
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [15] [16] [22]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-09
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-07
Google Home · Works, except voice unlock
Lock/unlock
This device supports lock/unlock.
- Control
- Works, except voice unlock (Matter device-type support)
- Automation
- ? not stated
Setup: Thread border router, a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV)
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV). Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and ULTRALOQ does not say whether the Bolt Fingerprint requires one. ULTRALOQ names Google Home among its Matter platforms, over Thread only, so you need a Google Thread border router (Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro).
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [15] [16] [22]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-09
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-07
Alexa · Works
Lock state
This device reports lock state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ routines can use it
Setup: Thread border router, a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device. Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
ULTRALOQ lists this variant as working with 'Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings'. Everything runs over Matter-over-Thread, so the Echo in question must be a Thread border router — a plain Echo Dot gets you nothing. Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate applies.
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [18]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
Alexa · Works
Lock/unlock
This device supports lock/unlock.
- Control
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ? not stated
Setup: Thread border router, a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device. Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
ULTRALOQ lists this variant as working with 'Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings'. Everything runs over Matter-over-Thread, so the Echo in question must be a Thread border router — a plain Echo Dot gets you nothing. Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate applies.
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [18]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
SmartThings · Works
Lock/unlock
This device supports lock/unlock.
- Control
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ routines can use it
Setup: Thread border router, a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub. SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
Named by ULTRALOQ ('Samsung SmartThings') and corroborated by the Matter certificate. Requires a SmartThings hub that is a Thread border router; a hubless SmartThings app cannot commission a Thread-only device.
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [18]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings · Works
Lock state
This device reports lock state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ routines can use it
Setup: Thread border router, a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub. SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
Named by ULTRALOQ ('Samsung SmartThings') and corroborated by the Matter certificate. Requires a SmartThings hub that is a Thread border router; a hubless SmartThings app cannot commission a Thread-only device.
Connection documentation: [3] [14] [18]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-14
Home Assistant · Works
Lock/unlock
This device supports lock/unlock.
- Control
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- —
Setup: Thread border router, Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy). Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Home Assistant is not mentioned anywhere on ULTRALOQ's page — this level rests on the Matter certificate, not on the vendor's word. HA's official Matter integration commissions certified locks over Thread (with a Matter server and a border router such as HA's own OpenThread Border Router add-on) and exposes lock, unlock, state and PIN-credential management. Fingerprint enrolment and user management stay in ULTRALOQ's own app, now called Xthings Home.
Connection documentation: [2] [17] [21]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-04
Home Assistant · Works
Lock state
This device reports lock state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- —
Setup: Thread border router, Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy)
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy). Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-09-11
Home Assistant is not mentioned anywhere on ULTRALOQ's page — this level rests on the Matter certificate, not on the vendor's word. HA's official Matter integration commissions certified locks over Thread (with a Matter server and a border router such as HA's own OpenThread Border Router add-on) and exposes lock, unlock, state and PIN-credential management. Fingerprint enrolment and user management stay in ULTRALOQ's own app, now called Xthings Home.
Connection documentation: [2] [17] [21]
Device documentation: [2] [14] [18]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-10-09
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-04
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- 1 documented
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeWorks[3][14][18] | Google HomeWorks, except voice unlock[3][14][15][16][22] | AlexaWorks[3][14][18] | SmartThingsWorks[3][14][18] | Home AssistantWorks[2][17][21] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lock/unlockDevice control | Control Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ routines can use it | Control Works, except voice unlock (Matter device-type support) Automation ? not stated | Control Supported for this Matter device type Automation ? not stated | Control Supported for this Matter device type | Control Supported for this Matter device type Automation — |
| Lock stateReported event | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ routines can use it | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ routines can use it | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ routines can use it | Event Supported for this Matter device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation — |
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Reached through Matter rather than a legacy HomeKit pairing on this variant, so it needs a Thread-capable Apple home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV 4K with Thread). ⚠ Do not read Apple Home Key into this: ULTRALOQ sells Home Key on its Bolt NFC line, and nothing on the Bolt Fingerprint page claims it for this model.[3][14][18]
Google Home
Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and ULTRALOQ does not say whether the Bolt Fingerprint requires one. ULTRALOQ names Google Home among its Matter platforms, over Thread only, so you need a Google Thread border router (Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro).[3][14][15][16][22]
Alexa
ULTRALOQ lists this variant as working with 'Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings'. Everything runs over Matter-over-Thread, so the Echo in question must be a Thread border router — a plain Echo Dot gets you nothing. Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate applies.[3][14][18]
SmartThings
Named by ULTRALOQ ('Samsung SmartThings') and corroborated by the Matter certificate. Requires a SmartThings hub that is a Thread border router; a hubless SmartThings app cannot commission a Thread-only device.[3][14][18]
Home Assistant
Home Assistant is not mentioned anywhere on ULTRALOQ's page — this level rests on the Matter certificate, not on the vendor's word. HA's official Matter integration commissions certified locks over Thread (with a Matter server and a border router such as HA's own OpenThread Border Router add-on) and exposes lock, unlock, state and PIN-credential management. Fingerprint enrolment and user management stay in ULTRALOQ's own app, now called Xthings Home.[2][17][21]
Lock/unlock: Home Assistant setup limit
Lock state: Home Assistant setup limit
Platform documentation:
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-08-14
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-09
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
ultraloq.com · checked 2026-10-07
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-09
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-14
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-10-09
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-04
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][14][18] | ULTRALOQ lists this variant as working with 'Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings'. Everything runs over Matter-over-Thread, so the Echo in question must be a Thread border router — a plain Echo Dot gets you nothing. Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate applies.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
| Google Home | Works, except voice unlockWorks, except voice unlock — see the catch[3][14][15][16][22] | Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and ULTRALOQ does not say whether the Bolt Fingerprint requires one. ULTRALOQ names Google Home among its Matter platforms, over Thread only, so you need a Google Thread border router (Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro).In Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
| Apple Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][14][18] | Reached through Matter rather than a legacy HomeKit pairing on this variant, so it needs a Thread-capable Apple home hub (HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV 4K with Thread). ⚠ Do not read Apple Home Key into this: ULTRALOQ sells Home Key on its Bolt NFC line, and nothing on the Bolt Fingerprint page claims it for this model.In Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router |
| SmartThings | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][14][18] | Named by ULTRALOQ ('Samsung SmartThings') and corroborated by the Matter certificate. Requires a SmartThings hub that is a Thread border router; a hubless SmartThings app cannot commission a Thread-only device.In SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14) |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][17][21] | Home Assistant is not mentioned anywhere on ULTRALOQ's page — this level rests on the Matter certificate, not on the vendor's word. HA's official Matter integration commissions certified locks over Thread (with a Matter server and a border router such as HA's own OpenThread Border Router add-on) and exposes lock, unlock, state and PIN-credential management. Fingerprint enrolment and user management stay in ULTRALOQ's own app, now called Xthings Home.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
Plans and ongoing costs[3][14][18]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
No subscription is named anywhere on ULTRALOQ's product page for either version of this lock — fingerprint, keypad, app and Matter control are all described without a plan. Recorded as none on that absence.
Maintenance and offline use[3]
- Batteries: 8 × AA — manufacturer-stated 12 months per set
- Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- ULTRALOQ's battery figures for this version are 'Up to 1 year with Matter Over Thread and Alkaline batteries' and 'Up to 1.5 year with Matter Over Thread and Lithium batteries'. Eight alkaline AAs are in the box, so a year is the figure for the lock as it ships, and it is the one this page shows as the battery life; the longer figure needs lithium cells bought separately. The Wi-Fi version is quoted at up to 8 months on alkaline cells and up to a year on lithium, so Thread's lower power draw is the trade the buyer gets for needing a border router. Unlock methods: fingerprint, keypad code, app, Apple Watch, auto-unlock and a physical key. Capacity is stated as 'up to 50 users, each with the ability to register two fingerprints'. Warranty: '18 months electronic warranty and lifetime mechanical warranty'. ⚠ ULTRALOQ publishes no ANSI/BHMA grade for this model — only a general claim that its locks 'meet the highest possible standards from the Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association (BHMA) and the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)', which names no grade and is not recorded as one.
Security updates[4]
ULTRALOQ publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.
No security-update or firmware-support period is published for this lock. The 18-month electronics warranty is a warranty, not a patching commitment. The Matter certificate records firmware 2.34 as certified on 08/15/2024, which establishes that firmware exists and was certified — not that updates will continue.
The catch
The catch is on the shelf label, not in the lock. ULTRALOQ sells this and a Wi-Fi/Apple Home lock under one name at one price, and this is the version that cannot work on its own: no Wi-Fi radio, so without a Thread border router in the house it is a fingerprint deadbolt and nothing more. Buy it deliberately and it is the better half of the pair — a genuinely local Matter lock, every major platform reachable, and longer battery life on the same cells. Buy it by accident and you have bought infrastructure you did not plan for. Two smaller gaps worth naming: no ANSI/BHMA grade is published for this model, and no security-update period is published either — the 18-month electronics warranty is the only dated commitment.
Who it's for
A household that already runs Thread — a HomePod, a Nest Hub, a Thread-capable Echo or SmartThings hub — and wants local Matter control across whichever platforms it uses, with fingerprint entry and the longest battery life of the two versions. Anyone without a border router should buy the Wi-Fi/Apple Home version of the same lock instead, or accept the cost of adding one.
This opens ULTRALOQ's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
24 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] https://www.ultraloq.com/products.json — product 'Bolt Fingerprint', product_type 'Locks', tag 'Deadbolt', published 2025-07-03, read 2026-08-14. Three variants under ONE product, all at price 199.99 with no compare_at_price and all available: 'Apple Home + WiFi + Bluetooth / Black & Satin Nickel' SKU UUL-BOLT-F-NK · 'Apple Home + WiFi + Bluetooth / Black' SKU UUL-BOLT-F-BK · 'Matter over Thread + Bluetooth / Black & Satin Nickel' SKU BOLT-F-MATTER. This record covers the last of the three. Vendor description verbatim: 'ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint is a smart fingerprint deadbolt built for fast, keyless front-door access. Unlock with your fingerprint, keypad code, smartphone app, Apple Watch, auto unlock, or a physical key, and manage access remotely with compatible Wi-Fi, Apple Home, or Matter over Thread options.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability
- [2] https://csa-iot.org/csa_product/ultraloq-bolt-fingerprint-smart-deadbolt/ — certified product 'ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint Smart Deadbolt', vendor 'Xthings Inc.', certificate ID CSA24402MAT43701-24, certified 08/15/2024, Matter specification version 1.2, firmware 2.34, TRANSPORT: Thread (Thread alone; no Wi-Fi transport is listed). The registry description also names 'built-in Bluetooth Low Energy support' and 'eight AA batteries'. localOperation is 'partial' rather than 'local' because Matter-over-Thread control runs on the local fabric while the U-tec app's remote features run through the vendor's cloud. The Home Assistant level rests on this certificate plus HA's own official Matter integration; ULTRALOQ names no HA support. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-14Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
- [3] https://www.ultraloq.com/products/ultraloq-bolt-fingerprint (read 2026-08-14). For the Matter over Thread + Bluetooth version, verbatim: works with 'Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings' plus 'IFTTT'; 'Requires a Matter Over Thread hub controller (Thread border router)'; 'Requires Thread-enabled hub to connect to Wi-Fi'; 'Thread offers longer battery life and better connectivity'; battery 'Up to 1.5 year with Matter Over Thread'. For the OTHER version, kept separate: 'Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, IFTTT' and 'Up to 1 year with Wi-Fi connection and Alkaline batteries'. Shared specs: '8 X Alkaline AA batteries', 'Bluetooth', 'up to 50 users, each with the ability to register two fingerprints', '18 months electronic warranty and lifetime mechanical warranty'. No ANSI/BHMA grade is stated for this model — only the general claim that ULTRALOQ locks 'meet the highest possible standards from the Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association (BHMA) and the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)'. No subscription is named for either version. ⚠ Home Assistant and Z-Wave appear nowhere on this page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Subscription
- [4] Listed and available at $199.99 on ULTRALOQ's own storefront on 2026-08-14 with a live product page and an active Matter certificate (firmware 2.34, certified 08/15/2024). No security-update period, end-of-support date or firmware-support statement was found on the product page or storefront; the only dated commitment published is the 18-month electronics warranty, which is not a patching period. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14Backs: Service status, Security-update support period
- [5] Researched 2026-08-14 from ULTRALOQ's own store (its machine-readable product data and its product page, read for each variant) and the CSA-IoT certified-products registry. No third-party retailer or review site was used as evidence. Gaps stated rather than filled: which phone platforms the app runs on is left blank, and whether an account is required is left unknown — neither was established from ULTRALOQ itself on 2026-08-14. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14Backs: Research status
- [6] A confirmation pass on 2026-08-20: this record's existing protocol evidence was re-read against the ruled definition of a protocol — what the device itself speaks, with anything reachable only through a bridge counted as an ecosystem integration or a hub instead. No new outside source was read; the evidence already on this record was re-examined, and the entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Protocols
- [7] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
- [8] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by ULTRALOQ (U-tec) itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation of local control, or its own statement about this model — that the Bolt Fingerprint keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: the CSA-IoT certified-products registry entry for this lock (certificate CSA24402MAT43701-24, transport Thread only)., verified 2026-09-16
- [9] U-tec's own Ultraloq product page for the Bolt Fingerprint, already cited by this record, read end to end on 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check and checked for any statement about this lock's behaviour without the internet. What it carries: in its Matter-and-Thread feature block, 'Better Reliability Matter and Thread offer faster and more reliable local control (no internet needed).', 'Enhanced Security Robust encryption and local control enhance the protection of your home without relying on cloud services.' and 'Mesh Connectivity Thread creates a self-healing mesh network, allowing your lock to stay connected even if other devices or node go offline.' Nothing on the page states what the keypad or fingerprint reader does during a household internet outage. The page's other offline-adjacent sentences are customer reviews and are not treated as evidence. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
- [10] csa-iot.org certified-product page for Xthings Inc.'s ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint Smart Deadbolt, read 2026-09-16. It lists certificate CSA24402MAT43701-24, certified 2024-08-15, firmware 2.34, hardware 1.2, product ID 0x0001, vendor ID 0x147F, a compliance document to download, TIS/TRP testing marked yes, Matter 1.2 over Thread, and device type 0x000A, filed as an end product. The vendor and product IDs are what this entry records; the page's product name is ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint Smart Deadbolt and the certificate, CSA24402MAT43701-24, is the one this record already cites for its Matter and Thread claims. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [11] ULTRALOQ's own store listing for the Bolt Fingerprint, read 2026-09-23. The listing is titled "Bolt Fingerprint", is sold by ULTRALOQ, and sells three versions; the "Matter over Thread + Bluetooth / Black & Satin Nickel" version carries part code BOLT-F-MATTER and no retail barcode. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [12] ULTRALOQ's own store feed, read 2026-10-01. Product "Bolt Fingerprint", three purchase options: Apple Home + WiFi + Bluetooth in Black & Satin Nickel, part code UUL-BOLT-F-NK, 199.99, not in stock; Apple Home + WiFi + Bluetooth in Black, part code UUL-BOLT-F-BK, 179.99, in stock; Matter over Thread + Bluetooth in Black & Satin Nickel, part code BOLT-F-MATTER, 199.99, not in stock. None carries a compare-at price. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Price, Market availability, Product identity
- [13] ULTRALOQ's own store data for the Bolt Fingerprint, read 2026-10-01. The option Matter over Thread + Bluetooth / Black & Satin Nickel carries part code BOLT-F-MATTER, price 199.99, no compare-at price and an empty barcode, and is not in stock. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Price, Market availability
- [14] ULTRALOQ's own product page for the Bolt Fingerprint, read in full 2026-10-01. Battery: "Up to 8 months with Wi-Fi connection and Alkaline batteries Up to 1 year with Wi-Fi connection and Lithium batteries Up to 1 year with Matter Over Thread and Alkaline batteries Up to 1.5 year with Matter Over Thread and Lithium batteries" · "Working Voltage 12V (8 X Alkaline AA batteries), included" · "ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint includes 8 AA batteries that will power the unit for a year of everyday use." For the Matter edition: "Requires a Matter Over Thread hub controller (Thread border router)" · "Works with Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings". App: "Xthings Home app works with iPhone and Android phones." · "Compatible Smartphone iOS and Android". "No wiring or drilling required." · "This feature supports up to 50 users, each with the ability to register two fingerprints." · "Warranty 18 months electronic warranty and lifetime mechanical warranty". No plan or fee is named, and Home Assistant is not named. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01Backs: Subscription, Service status, App platforms, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Batteries
- [15] ULTRALOQ's Bolt Fingerprint product page, read in full on 2026-10-07: "Works with Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings" · "Requires a Matter Over Thread hub controller (Thread border router)". The page lists Pin Code among the ways to unlock and does not say whether the lock requires a PIN code over Matter. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [16] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-07. The device type and control support table's Door Lock row is marked available in all three control columns it prints: Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. The Door Locks section: "Although the Matter specification does not require PIN codes for door locks, remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [17] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint Smart Deadbolt, read in full on 2026-10-07. In our words: certificate CSA24402MAT43701-24, granted in August 2024 to Xthings Inc. for firmware 2.34, vendor number 0x147F and product number 0x0001. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [18] ULTRALOQ's product page for the Bolt Fingerprint, read in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "Requires a Matter Over Thread hub controller (Thread border router)" · "Works with Matter-compatible platforms including Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings" · "Up to 1 year with Matter Over Thread and Alkaline batteries Up to 1.5 year with Matter Over Thread and Lithium batteries" · "Working Voltage 12V (8 X Alkaline AA batteries), included" · "ULTRALOQ’s Xthings Home app works with iPhone and Android phones." · "It comes with everything you need to install it right out of the box — except a screwdriver." · "Warranty 18 months electronic warranty and lifetime mechanical warranty". The page names no plan or fee for either version and does not mention Home Assistant. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Subscription, Service status, App platforms, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Batteries, Research status
- [19] ULTRALOQ's store product data for the Bolt Fingerprint, read on 2026-10-09. Three versions: 'Apple Home + WiFi + Bluetooth / Black & Satin Nickel', part code UUL-BOLT-F-NK, price 19999 (cents), not available; 'Apple Home + WiFi + Bluetooth / Black', part code UUL-BOLT-F-BK, price 17999, available; 'Matter over Thread + Bluetooth / Black & Satin Nickel', part code BOLT-F-MATTER, no barcode, price 19999, not available. No compare-at price on any version and no selling plan. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Price, Market availability, Certification and product IDs
- [20] ULTRALOQ's store catalogue data, read on 2026-10-09 at ultraloq.com. It carries this product with the same three versions, part codes, prices and stock flags as the product's own data route. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-09
- [21] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint Smart Deadbolt, read in full on 2026-10-09. In our words: certificate CSA24402MAT43701-24, granted on 15 August 2024 to Xthings Inc. for firmware 2.34 and hardware 1.2, Matter 1.2, Thread as the only transport, vendor number 0x147F, product number 0x0001, primary device type 0x000A (door lock), filed as an end product. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Certification and product IDs, Home Assistant compatibility
- [22] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-09. The table's Door Lock row is still marked available in its three control columns. The Door Locks section, verbatim: "Although the Matter specification does not require PIN codes for door locks, remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-09Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [23] SmartThings' own matter-lock Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "5247/1" · deviceLabel: ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint Smart Matter Deadbolt · vendorId: 0x147F · productId: 0x0001 · deviceProfileName: lock-user-pin-battery — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-14Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [24] SmartThings' own lock-user-pin-battery device profile in the matter-lock Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: lock-user-pin-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: lock · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-14Backs: What your assistant can automate
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (Matter over Thread) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.