Product Library / Sensors & Detectors

Research profile · verified 2026-09-27 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02

THIRDREALITY Smart Presence Sensor R2

⚠ Similar names, different products: Third Reality's sensor shelf carries several devices a shopper will read as interchangeable and which detect completely different things: this mmWave PRESENCE sensor (radar — sees a still person), a 'USB Motion Sensor' at $14.99 (PIR — sees movement only) and a 'Vibration Sensor' at $19.99. Presence and motion are the distinction that decides whether the bathroom light stays on while you are standing still. The 'R2' is the generation marker; the model string on the SKU is P1MSR1A1-1.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[3][10][16]
[3][10][16]
[2][9][15][18]
[2][9][15]
[2][9][15]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ZIGBEE[2][9][15]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Zigbee hub

A Zigbee hub or coordinator is REQUIRED — the vendor states 'Requires a compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator' and names the platforms it supports: 'Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs'. There is no direct-to-phone or Wi-Fi mode.[2][9][15]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Presence detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [9] [15]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[5][9][15]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
Not established from vendor documentation
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[3][10][16]Google HomeInconclusive[3][10][16]AlexaWorks; presence detected unconfirmed[2][9][15][18]SmartThingsWorks[2][9][15]Home AssistantWorks[2][9][15]
Presence detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

⚠ THE PER-PRODUCT ASYMMETRY WORTH KNOWING: the vendor's own Smart Plug Gen2 copy names an Apple HomeKit route through its separately-sold Smart Bridge MZ1, and this sensor's page names no Apple route at all — zero occurrences of 'Apple', 'HomeKit' or 'MZ1'. Same brand, same protocol, different published answer, so the plug's bridge path must not be read across to this sensor. Recorded unknown: no vendor statement either way.[3][10][16]

Google Home

Google is not named anywhere on this product's page — a token search of its copy returns zero occurrences — and Zigbee gives Google no direct route. Whether a given hub re-exposes the sensor to Google Home is a fact about that hub, not about this sensor. Recorded unknown rather than none because the vendor states no refusal.[3][10][16]

Alexa

Reachable only through an Echo that has a Zigbee radio built in: ThirdReality's compatibility line ends with 'Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs', which is a small subset of Echoes, so a plain Echo Dot cannot host it. ThirdReality does not say whether presence detected reaches Alexa, so it is unconfirmed there.[2][9][15][18]

SmartThings

Named directly by the vendor among its supported platforms, alongside Aeotec — which matters because Aeotec builds the SmartThings hub hardware. Requires a hub with a Zigbee radio; presence and absence are exposed as automation triggers.[2][9][15]

Home Assistant

The route the vendor documents in most detail, naming the stacks rather than the brand: 'Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT)'. A standard Zigbee 3.0 device on a local coordinator — no vendor cloud in the path, and the five sensitivity levels are exposed as device settings on a Zigbee coordinator rather than locked in a vendor app.[2][9][15]

Device documentation: [5] [9] [15]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; presence detected unconfirmedWorks; presence detected unconfirmed — see the catch[2][9][15][18]Reachable only through an Echo that has a Zigbee radio built in: ThirdReality's compatibility line ends with 'Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs', which is a small subset of Echoes, so a plain Echo Dot cannot host it. ThirdReality does not say whether presence detected reaches Alexa, so it is unconfirmed there.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Zigbee hub
Google HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][10][16]Google is not named anywhere on this product's page — a token search of its copy returns zero occurrences — and Zigbee gives Google no direct route. Whether a given hub re-exposes the sensor to Google Home is a fact about that hub, not about this sensor. Recorded unknown rather than none because the vendor states no refusal.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][10][16]⚠ THE PER-PRODUCT ASYMMETRY WORTH KNOWING: the vendor's own Smart Plug Gen2 copy names an Apple HomeKit route through its separately-sold Smart Bridge MZ1, and this sensor's page names no Apple route at all — zero occurrences of 'Apple', 'HomeKit' or 'MZ1'. Same brand, same protocol, different published answer, so the plug's bridge path must not be read across to this sensor. Recorded unknown: no vendor statement either way.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][9][15]Named directly by the vendor among its supported platforms, alongside Aeotec — which matters because Aeotec builds the SmartThings hub hardware. Requires a hub with a Zigbee radio; presence and absence are exposed as automation triggers.In SmartThings you also need: a Zigbee hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][9][15]The route the vendor documents in most detail, naming the stacks rather than the brand: 'Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT)'. A standard Zigbee 3.0 device on a local coordinator — no vendor cloud in the path, and the five sensitivity levels are exposed as device settings on a Zigbee coordinator rather than locked in a vendor app.In Home Assistant you also need: a Zigbee hub

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[2][9][15]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription, plan or fee appears anywhere in the vendor's copy. A Zigbee sensor has no vendor cloud in its path once a hub adopts it; any recurring cost belongs to the hub's ecosystem rather than to this device.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Who it's for

A Home Assistant, SmartThings or Hubitat household adding presence detection to rooms where people sit still and PIR sensors turn the lights off on them — bathrooms, offices, reading chairs — and that can place it away from fans and airflow. It is not for anyone without a Zigbee hub, and not for an Apple Home household: unlike this brand's plug, the sensor's page names no Apple route at all.

Check availability at THIRDREALITY

This opens THIRDREALITY's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

18 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] https://www.3reality.com/products.json (301-redirects to thirdreality.com; read 2026-08-14) — product 'Smart Presence Sensor R2', product_type 'Smart Sensors', tag 'Zigbee', published 2026-05-09, single variant SKU P1MSR1A1-1 at price 39.99 with compare_at_price 39.99 (not a discount), available: true. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability
  2. [2] https://www.thirdreality.com/products/smart-presence-sensor-r2 (read 2026-08-14) — 'Zigbee 3.0 connection: Requires a compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator. Supports platforms such as Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs.' Specifications block: 'Protocol Zigbee 3.0', 'Detection technology 24 GHz mmWave radar', 'Power 3 AA batteries', 'Sensitivity 5 adjustable levels', 'Hub requirement Compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator required', 'Package includes Smart Presence Sensor R2 × 1, AA batteries × 3'; battery life '3 AA batteries, up to 3 years in typical usage'; detection range stated as 1 to 5 metres. Behaviour claims verbatim: 'Detects presence through common non-metallic materials such as wood and glass, and remains stable across changes in light, temperature, and humidity' and 'Environment learning helps reduce false triggers from everyday background movement, such as airflow or slight curtain movement. Strong or repetitive motion, such as fans, may still trigger detection.' Zigbee is the only radio published. No subscription, fee, warranty term or OTA-update claim appears in the copy. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, Batteries, Works without the internet, Subscription, Security-update support period, Amazon Alexa compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  3. [3] The product's copy was searched by TOKEN rather than by topic on 2026-08-14 (method note 81): 'Apple' 0 · 'HomeKit' 0 · 'Matter' 0 · 'MZ1' 0 · 'Google' 0 · 'Alexa' 0. The Alexa route recorded on this record comes from the compatibility sentence's 'Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs' rather than from the word Alexa. ⚠ The Apple absence is informative BECAUSE the same vendor states the opposite one product over: the Smart Plug Gen2's copy reads 'Enabled by Smart Bridge MZ1 (Sold Separately), integrates with Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Amazon Alexa (Smart Speaker required) and SmartThings'. Two products, one brand, one protocol, different published answers — so neither cell is filled from the other, and both stay 'unknown' here because absence is not denial. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  4. [4] Listed and available on the vendor's own storefront on 2026-08-14 (published 2026-05-09, one of the newer items in the range) with a live product page. Nothing marks it end-of-life. Researched 2026-08-14 from THIRDREALITY's own storefront and product page only; no third-party retailer or review site was used as evidence. Gaps stated rather than filled: app platforms unrecorded, account requirement unknown, offline operation unknown — a Zigbee sensor's account and local-control story belongs to the hub that adopts it, and the vendor claims nothing about either. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Service status, Research status
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  5. [5] thirdreality.com product page for the Smart Presence Sensor R2, read 2026-08-20: the sensor provides "presence or absence as a trigger for lights, thermostats, curtains, security cameras, and mobile alerts in compatible smart home systems", with "Accurate human presence detection, including stationary and micro-motion". Platform scope: "Supports platforms such as Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  6. [6] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  7. [7] ThirdReality's own product page for the Smart Presence Sensor R2 (and its structured product data), re-read 2026-09-12 — 'Zigbee 3.0 connection: Requires a compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator. Supports platforms such as Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs.'; spec row 'Hub requirement Compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator required'. Also re-read: www.3reality.com/products.json (the offline sentences quoted in the note belong to other products). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  8. [8] Runs on batteries — nothing to wire., verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  9. [9] ThirdReality's own product page for the Smart Presence Sensor R2, www.thirdreality.com/products/smart-presence-sensor-r2, re-read 2026-09-18. Verbatim and unchanged: 'Requires a compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator. Supports platforms such as Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs.'; the radio is 'Zigbee 3.0' and the detection technology '24 GHz mmWave radar'; power is '3 AA batteries' with 'up to 3 years in typical usage'; sensing is 'Five sensitivity levels, with detection range from 1 to 5 meters'; and the maker still publishes its own false-trigger limit rather than hiding it — 'strong or repetitive motion, such as fans, may still trigger detection'. No subscription, plan or fee appears anywhere in the vendor's copy, and no firmware-update promise, warranty term or support-until date appears either. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Batteries, Subscription, Security-update support period, Capabilities, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  10. [10] www.thirdreality.com/products/smart-presence-sensor-r2, re-read 2026-09-18 and searched by token in the vendor's own copy rather than by topic: 'Apple', 'HomeKit', 'MZ1' and 'Google' do not appear in the product description or the specification table. ⚠ One Matter string DOES appear on the page and it is not about this product: a site-wide footer link to a '3R-Installer App (Matter Support)'. A footer navigation link is not a claim about the sensor above it, and reading it as one would have put a Matter path on a Zigbee 3.0 device that has no Matter certification. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  11. [11] ThirdReality's own product page for the Smart Presence Sensor R2, read 2026-09-18: the price still reads 'Regular price $39.99', and the buy area now reads 'Sold out'. On 2026-08-14 the same storefront's structured product data recorded the single variant SKU P1MSR1A1-1 at 39.99 with 'available: true', so the figure is unchanged and the availability is not. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Price, Market availability
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  12. [12] THIRDREALITY, the maker's own store product feed — re-read 2026-09-21 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Product identity
  13. [13] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  14. [14] THIRDREALITY's own store data for the Smart Presence Sensor R2, read in full on 27 September 2026: title 'Smart Presence Sensor R2', vendor 'ThirdReality', type 'Smart Sensors', published 2026-05-09, one version (P1MSR1A1-1) at $39.99 with a comparison price of $39.99, available. No barcode. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability
  15. [15] THIRDREALITY's own product page for the Smart Presence Sensor R2, read in full on 27 September 2026 after a site redesign: 'Regular price $39.99'. Comparison table: 'Presence Sensor R2 ... Frequency Band 24 GHz ... Power Source 3 AA batteries, up to 3 years in typical usage.' and 'Five sensitivity levels, with detection range from 1 to 5 meters.' Features: 'Battery powered placement: Powered by three standard AA batteries, so it can be installed without wiring or a nearby outlet.'; 'Zigbee 3.0 connection: Requires a compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator. Supports platforms such as Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs.'; 'Strong or repetitive motion, such as fans, may still trigger detection.'; 'Automation ready: Use presence or absence as a trigger for lights, thermostats, curtains, security cameras, and mobile alerts in compatible smart home systems.' Specifications: 'Protocol Zigbee 3.0', 'Power 3 AA batteries', 'Hub requirement Compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator required', 'Package includes Smart Presence Sensor R2 x 1 AA batteries x 3'. Setup notes: 'Use the product manual and firmware history below to confirm setup steps and current platform notes for this SKU.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, Batteries, Subscription, Security-update support period, Capabilities, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  16. [16] THIRDREALITY's own product page for the Smart Presence Sensor R2, read in full on 27 September 2026 and counted by name in the vendor's own copy: 'Apple' 0, 'HomeKit' 0, 'MZ1' 0, 'Google' 0, 'Matter' 0, 'Alexa' 0. Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs are the only Amazon route named. The site-wide footer's '3R-Installer App (Matter Support)' is about the maker's app, not this sensor. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading
  17. [17] ThirdReality's own store feed, read 2026-10-01 at the address the cited one now forwards to. Product "Smart Presence Sensor R2": one purchase option, part code P1MSR1A1-1, price 39.99, compare-at 39.99, in stock. The feed dates the product's last change 2026-09-30. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Product identity
  18. [18] THIRDREALITY's own product page for the Smart Presence Sensor R2, read in full on 2026-10-21. Verbatim: "Zigbee 3.0 connection: Requires a compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator. Supports platforms such as Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs." · "Compatible platforms Home Assistant, SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and supported Echo devices with built-in Zigbee hubs". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
    page changed on 2026-10-27, after this reading

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check THIRDREALITY Smart Presence Sensor R2 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker