Product Library / Energy, Solar & EV

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-04

Tesla Wall Connector

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[3][5]
[3][5]
[3]
[3][5]
[4]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][4][5][10]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub, and no Tesla car either. The Wall Connector joins your home Wi-Fi and is set up and controlled through the Tesla app, and Tesla states plainly that this works 'whether you own a Tesla vehicle or another electric vehicle' — if you own no Tesla product at all, its instruction is to 'download the Tesla app and create an account.' So the real requirement is a Tesla Account rather than a Tesla vehicle. Registration is a specific and slightly unusual process worth knowing before install day: you scan a QR code from the Quickstart Guide, accept a prompt to join the Wall Connector's own Wi-Fi network, then hand it your home network credentials, and Tesla says the whole thing can take up to five minutes. Keep that Quickstart Guide — Tesla's documented remedy for losing it is a support request. The home network has real constraints too: it must be 2.4 GHz and 802.11b, g or n, secured with WPA2-CCMP/AES, with no captive portal. A modern 5 GHz-only or WPA3-only setup will not do, and that is a Tesla-documented requirement rather than an inference.[2][3]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Start/stop

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [4]

Documented device function

Energy monitoring

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [4]

Documented device function

Energy reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [4]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[3][4]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[3][5]Google HomeInconclusive[3][5]AlexaInconclusive[3]SmartThingsInconclusive[3][5]Home AssistantPartial[4]
Start/stopDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Energy monitoringDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

✓ routines can use it[23]

Energy readingReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

✓ routines can use it[23]

Vehicle detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Inconclusive

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Unknown, and the reason is total silence rather than a shortage of looking. We read three of Tesla's own pages in full — the shop page, the Wall Connector support page and the dedicated Tesla-app support page — and none names Apple Home, HomeKit or Siri anywhere, in any context. Tesla documents exactly one way to control this product: its own app. We record unknown rather than a firm no, because an omission is silence and not a denial, and we keep that line hard. What can be said with confidence is that no standards route exists around the silence: Apple Home has no EV-charger category in the first place, so even a certificate would not make this appear in the Home app as a charger. If you want to say something to your iPhone and have charging start, nothing Tesla publishes supports it.[3][5]

Google Home

Unknown. Google Home is named on none of the three Tesla surfaces read, and Tesla publishes no integration list of any kind for this product — the closest thing to one is a page titled 'Tesla App for Wall Connector', which is precisely the point: the app is the integration story. Recorded unknown rather than none, because unlike ChargePoint — which wrote 'We currently do not have a Google Home integration' in its own words and thereby earned a 'none' in this catalogue — Tesla has made no statement at all. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Tesla. And Google Home has no EV-charger device type, so a charger arriving through any route would present as a generic device rather than as a charger.[3][5]

Alexa

Unknown for the same reason as Apple, and it is worth stating plainly because the assumption runs the other way: Tesla is a technology company with a well-known app, so buyers reasonably expect a voice integration to exist somewhere. Across three first-party surfaces read in full, Tesla names Alexa nowhere — no skill, no command list, no setup guide, no mention. Compare that with the ChargePoint charger in this same subcategory, where the vendor's support page carries a documented six-command Alexa list; the difference between those two records is not our research effort, it is what each company chose to publish. Recorded unknown rather than none: Tesla has not said no, it has said nothing. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Tesla, and no Alexa device type for EV charging exists regardless.[3]

SmartThings

Unknown. Neither side documents this pairing: SmartThings is named nowhere across Tesla's shop, support and app pages, and we found nothing on Samsung's side naming this charger. We record unknown on an absence of evidence from both directions. This is where a Matter certificate would count the most in principle, because SmartThings is the one major platform that recognises EV chargers as a Matter device type — so a certified charger could appear there as a charger rather than as a switch. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Tesla.[3][5]

Home Assistant

The only third-party connection this product has, and the only one that runs on your own network — but it does strictly less than the word 'integration' suggests. Home Assistant ships an official Tesla Wall Connector integration, and it talks to the charger across your own network rather than through Tesla's servers, which is the single most valuable property here given that everything else about this product runs through a Tesla account. WHAT IT DOES NOT DO IS THE CATCH: what it gives you is readings — energy and session energy, operational status, contactor state, grid frequency and voltage, handle, controller and board temperatures, phase current and voltage, whether a vehicle is connected, and error codes. No start, no stop, no control over charging current is documented. This is instrumentation, not control: Home Assistant can tell you everything about what your Wall Connector is doing, and cannot tell it to do anything. We call it partial for exactly that reason. One limit stated honestly: Home Assistant scopes this to the 'Gen 3 Tesla Wall Connector with Wi-Fi', and Tesla labels no generation on any page a buyer reads — so matching the unit on sale to that description rests on Tesla documenting its second generation as a separate older article, rather than on either party saying so directly.[4]

Device documentation: [3] [4]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][5]Unknown, and the reason is total silence rather than a shortage of looking. We read three of Tesla's own pages in full — the shop page, the Wall Connector support page and the dedicated Tesla-app support page — and none names Apple Home, HomeKit or Siri anywhere, in any context. Tesla documents exactly one way to control this product: its own app. We record unknown rather than a firm no, because an omission is silence and not a denial, and we keep that line hard. What can be said with confidence is that no standards route exists around the silence: Apple Home has no EV-charger category in the first place, so even a certificate would not make this appear in the Home app as a charger. If you want to say something to your iPhone and have charging start, nothing Tesla publishes supports it.
Amazon AlexaInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3]Unknown for the same reason as Apple, and it is worth stating plainly because the assumption runs the other way: Tesla is a technology company with a well-known app, so buyers reasonably expect a voice integration to exist somewhere. Across three first-party surfaces read in full, Tesla names Alexa nowhere — no skill, no command list, no setup guide, no mention. Compare that with the ChargePoint charger in this same subcategory, where the vendor's support page carries a documented six-command Alexa list; the difference between those two records is not our research effort, it is what each company chose to publish. Recorded unknown rather than none: Tesla has not said no, it has said nothing. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Tesla, and no Alexa device type for EV charging exists regardless.
Google HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][5]Unknown. Google Home is named on none of the three Tesla surfaces read, and Tesla publishes no integration list of any kind for this product — the closest thing to one is a page titled 'Tesla App for Wall Connector', which is precisely the point: the app is the integration story. Recorded unknown rather than none, because unlike ChargePoint — which wrote 'We currently do not have a Google Home integration' in its own words and thereby earned a 'none' in this catalogue — Tesla has made no statement at all. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Tesla. And Google Home has no EV-charger device type, so a charger arriving through any route would present as a generic device rather than as a charger.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][5]Unknown. Neither side documents this pairing: SmartThings is named nowhere across Tesla's shop, support and app pages, and we found nothing on Samsung's side naming this charger. We record unknown on an absence of evidence from both directions. This is where a Matter certificate would count the most in principle, because SmartThings is the one major platform that recognises EV chargers as a Matter device type — so a certified charger could appear there as a charger rather than as a switch. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Tesla.
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[4]The only third-party connection this product has, and the only one that runs on your own network — but it does strictly less than the word 'integration' suggests. Home Assistant ships an official Tesla Wall Connector integration, and it talks to the charger across your own network rather than through Tesla's servers, which is the single most valuable property here given that everything else about this product runs through a Tesla account. WHAT IT DOES NOT DO IS THE CATCH: what it gives you is readings — energy and session energy, operational status, contactor state, grid frequency and voltage, handle, controller and board temperatures, phase current and voltage, whether a vehicle is connected, and error codes. No start, no stop, no control over charging current is documented. This is instrumentation, not control: Home Assistant can tell you everything about what your Wall Connector is doing, and cannot tell it to do anything. We call it partial for exactly that reason. One limit stated honestly: Home Assistant scopes this to the 'Gen 3 Tesla Wall Connector with Wi-Fi', and Tesla labels no generation on any page a buyer reads — so matching the unit on sale to that description rests on Tesla documenting its second generation as a separate older article, rather than on either party saying so directly.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[2][3]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription, plan or fee for home charging appears on any Tesla surface read, and the app features Tesla documents — charge scheduling, a live charging status, twelve months of charging history, a combined view of your Tesla energy products — are described without any paid tier attached. Recorded as 'none' on that basis, with coreFunctionWithoutPlan deliberately 'unknown' rather than 'full', because this is an absence of any mention of payment rather than a vendor statement that everything is included. What IS established is that an account is mandatory: Tesla's own setup instruction for a non-Tesla owner is to create one, and the charger only becomes visible and controllable once registered to it. One adjacent fact kept deliberately separate so it cannot be misread as a home-charging fee: Tesla documents a commercial mode for this same hardware with 'pay-per-use functionality and 24/7 remote monitoring' aimed at property managers and workplaces. That is a different deployment of the product, not a tier of the residential one.

Maintenance and offline use[1][2]

The catch

Start with the sentence Tesla prints above the price, because nothing else about this product matters as much: 'Purchases are limited to Tesla vehicle owners currently.' The hardware is not the constraint — Tesla's own support page says the Wall Connector 'is compatible with most electric vehicles including Tesla vehicles and other electric vehicles', and its app page says the app works 'whether you own a Tesla vehicle or another electric vehicle'. Tesla built a charger for everyone and currently sells it only to its own customers. If you drive something else, this record may be describing a product you cannot buy, and that is a channel policy that could change at any time — note Tesla's own 'currently'. Second, the smart-home answer is short: there isn't one. Across three Tesla surfaces read in full, Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, HomeKit, Siri and SmartThings are named zero times. Tesla documents one control surface, its own app, and we could not confirm a Matter certificate for Tesla that would open a route around that. This is not a vendor saying no; it is a vendor saying nothing, which is why every one of those cells reads unknown rather than none. Third, the one integration that does exist is read-only. Home Assistant's core tesla_wall_connector integration polls the charger locally and exposes a genuinely rich set of sensors — session energy, contactor state, temperatures, phase voltages, vehicle connected, error codes — and documents no way to start, stop or throttle charging. Detailed instrumentation, zero control. Fourth, the headline speed is not your speed unless your car can take it, and Tesla says so in the footnote: Model 3 Rear-Wheel Drive, Model Y Rear-Wheel Drive and Model Y All-Wheel Drive cap at 32 A / 7.7 kW, well under the unit's 48 A / 11.5 kW. Tesla's own table maps every breaker size to a real output, which is the honest way to publish it. Fifth, this is hardwired, and Tesla instructs that it 'must be installed by a qualified electrician' — there is no plug-in variant to retreat to, so the installed cost is the real cost, and the 30C federal credit that used to offset it expired for property placed in service after 2026-06-30 per the IRS's own page. Sixth, Access Control — the feature that decides which cars may charge — is 'limited to Tesla vehicles' by Tesla's own statement, so a non-Tesla household loses it. Seventh, the network requirements are stricter than most: 2.4 GHz only, 802.11b/g/n, WPA2-CCMP/AES, no captive portal. Finally, two things verified rather than assumed, one of them a claim this record declines to make. A direct query of CPSC's recall database returns one Tesla record — the Powerwall 2 recall of 2025-11-13 — and it is not for any charger; a stablemate's recall transfers nothing, and this is recorded so nobody has to wonder. And Tesla is present in the EPA's ENERGY STAR EVSE dataset, but this record does NOT claim the Wall Connector is ENERGY STAR certified, because the entries are filed under internal part numbers Tesla publishes nowhere and the nearest match by specification lists a 22 ft cord against the 24 feet Tesla advertises. Close is not the same as identified.

Who it's for

The obvious fit is a Tesla household, and not only because of the purchase restriction: the charger appears alongside your other Tesla energy products in one app view, the garage shows your car plugged in, Access Control can restrict charging to your own vehicles, and the auto-sensing handle opens the charge port as you approach. If you already live in the Tesla app, this is the charger that disappears into it. It also suits a Home Assistant household better than its silence on every other platform would suggest — the core integration is local-polling and exposes an unusually detailed sensor set, so if what you want is to graph, log and alert on charging rather than to command it, this is one of the better-instrumented chargers in this catalogue. And it suits anyone whose priority is a maintained product from a company that ships firmware over the air and staffs a diagnostic flow behind it. It is the wrong charger for a household that wants voice control: Alexa, Google Home and Apple Home are unmentioned by the vendor and unreachable by Matter, and the ChargePoint charger in this same subcategory has a documented Alexa command set that this one has no equivalent of. It is the wrong charger if you want Home Assistant to actually control charging rather than watch it. It is the wrong charger for a rented or awkward electrical situation, because it is hardwired and Tesla requires an electrician — the Emporia charger in this subcategory offers a NEMA 14-50 plug route that this one does not. And unless something changes, it is simply not for sale to you at all if you do not already own a Tesla.

Check availability at Tesla

This opens Tesla's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

23 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Tesla Shop, Wall Connector product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Market availability
    Checked 2026-08-04. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  2. [2] Tesla Support, Wall Connector — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Product identity, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Service status, Subscription
    Checked 2026-08-04. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  3. [3] Tesla Support, Tesla App for Wall Connector — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, App platforms, Subscription, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Research status
    Checked 2026-08-04. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  4. [4] Home Assistant, Tesla Wall Connector integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols, Capabilities
  5. [5] CSA-IoT certified products database, keyword search — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  6. [6] A search check on the certification registry used another company's products (Narwal's Flow and Flow 2) to test that the search answers. Those certificates belong to different products and say nothing about this one., verified 2026-08-04
  7. [7] US Consumer Product Safety Commission, recall REST service — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Service status
  8. [8] US EPA, ENERGY STAR Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment — AC-Output (open dataset 5jwe-c8xm) — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability
  9. [9] US Internal Revenue Service, Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-04
    Backs: Price
  10. [10] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, vendor registry (read 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs). Tesla does not appear under any name tried: 'tesla'. The DCL's vendor registry was enumerated to EXHAUSTION on 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: substring queries were unioned until the distinct-VID count reached 833, which is the record count the tool itself reports scanning per query (the union of a/e/i/o/u/y reached 832; the last holdout was 'SLV GmbH', a vowel-free name, recovered by adding l/s/t). Every vendor in the ledger was therefore inspected, not searched for. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols
  11. [11] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
  13. [13] www.home-assistant.io/integrations/tesla_wall_connector/ ('Its IoT class is Local Polling.'), data.energystar.gov (Tesla query), www.saferproducts.gov recall search (Tesla), www.irs.gov alternative-fuel refueling credit page — all read 2026-09-12. NOT read, gate refused on the conduct register (refused-403-bot-gate, observed 2026-08-04): shop.tesla.com/product/wall-connector, www.tesla.com/support/charging/wall-connector, www.tesla.com/support/charging/wall-connector/tesla-app. Not read, transport: csa-iot.org product search (timeout), on.dcl.csa-iot.org (robots-unreachable, fail-closed). — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-12
  14. [14] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
  15. [15] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  16. [16] Looked on 2026-09-20 for another Tesla page carrying these facts. Tesla's own sites, www.tesla.com and shop.tesla.com, turn our reader away at the door, so they were not knocked on again. The other addresses this record cites are public registers rather than Tesla pages — the Energy Star product register, an IRS credit page and the product-safety recall search — and all three were read, 13 requests between them. None of them says what the Wall Connector needs in order to work, what it is set up with, or how it is powered. No page we are allowed to read carries these facts, so the dates already shown on them are where they stand., verified 2026-09-20
  17. [17] The IRS's own page for the Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit (30C), re-read in full 2026-09-22. Verbatim and unchanged: 'For property you buy and place in service at your main home from January 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026, the credit equals 30% of the cost of the property up to a maximum credit of $1,000 per item (each charging port, fuel dispenser, or storage property)', and the property must be 'in an eligible census tract (as of January 1, 2023)', assessed against 2015 tract boundaries before 2025-01-01 and 2020 boundaries after. — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Price
  18. [18] The EPA's own ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE (AC-output) open dataset 5jwe-c8xm, re-queried for the Tesla keyword 2026-09-22. The returned Tesla entries are unchanged and still keyed to internal part numbers rather than to any buyer-facing name: energy_star_partner 'Tesla, Inc.' with brand_name 'Tesla' and model_number '1457768-##*', and a second entry with brand_name 'Universal Wall Connector' and model_number '1734412-##*'. Both record max_nameplate_output_current_a '48.00' at input_voltage_v '240.00' for maximum_output_power_kw '11.52', with an output_cord_length_ft of '22' at 8 AWG, network_capability 'Yes' over 'Wi-Fi or Gigabit Ethernet,Cellular', markets 'United States, Canada', and dates qualified of 2023-09-18. — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability
  19. [19] The US Consumer Product Safety Commission's public recall REST service, re-queried 2026-09-22. The manufacturer query for 'Tesla' returns exactly one record: RecallID 10486, recall number 26092, dated 2025-11-13, 'Tesla Recalls Powerwall 2 AC Battery Power Systems Due to Fire and Burn Hazards; Risk of Serious Injury or Death', covering 'certain Tesla Powerwall 2 units, fully-integrated AC battery systems used for energy storage', about 10,500 units. No recall record names the Wall Connector. — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Service status
  20. [20] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  21. [21] The Matter certification ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-06: no maker registration was found under the names Tesla or Tesla Inc, so the ledger cannot say either way whether this Tesla product is certified. The Alliance's public product directory could not serve as the second check that day: its search showed the same list of products whatever name it was given, and a member company's page lists no products at all. No certification answer is recorded for this date. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
  22. [22] A wording correction to this record's own sentences about the certification body's keyword search. No page was read., verified 2026-10-07
  23. [23] Home Assistant's own Tesla Wall Connector integration page (its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository). Verbatim: 'title: Tesla Wall Connector' · '### Sensors' · 'Lifetime energy: Running total of energy used by the Wall Connector.' — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: What your assistant can automate

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Tesla Wall Connector with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker