Product Library / Hubs & Controllers

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-17

SwitchBot Hub 3

⚠ Similar names, different products: Not the SwitchBot AI Hub, which is a different and much more expensive product sold beside it — the AI Hub is $259.99 to this one's $119.99 and does a different job. Also distinct from the older Hub Mini, which SwitchBot still lists.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][15]
[1][15][23][24][25]
[1][10][15][23][27]
[1][10][15][23][24][26]
[1][15]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · MATTER · BLUETOOTH · INFRARED[1][5][17][18]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4] [18] [28]

Documented device function

Humidity reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4] [18] [28]

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4] [18] [28]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[4][18][28]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
Not established from vendor documentation
Reported events
4 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][15]Google HomeWorks[1][15][23][24][25]AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][10][15][23][27]SmartThingsWorks[1][10][15][23][24][26]Home AssistantWorks[1][15]
Temperature readingReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Humidity readingReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Illuminance readingReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Claimed by SwitchBot in its own words and with the mechanism named, which is why this cell is stronger than its siblings: 'Bridge your SwitchBot devices to Apple Home or Home Assistant with Matter'. The path is Matter bridging rather than a native HomeKit accessory — meaning your SwitchBot curtains and sensors appear in the Home app through this box, and what appears is limited to what Matter's device types can express.[1][15]

Google Home

Google Home takes this hub as a Matter bridge, and Google says devices behind a Matter bridge show up in Google Home like any other device. SwitchBot lists Google for the Hub 3. What appears is limited to the device types Matter carries; anything only the SwitchBot app does stays there.[1][15][23][24][25]

Alexa

SwitchBot lists Alexa for the Hub 3, but neither SwitchBot nor Amazon says how the hub's devices reach Alexa. Amazon's Matter list covers hubs and devices, not bridges, so which devices appear is not confirmed.[1][10][15][23][27]

SmartThings

SmartThings lists Matter bridges among the devices it supports, and SwitchBot lists SmartThings for the Hub 3, so the hub's devices reach SmartThings through it. What appears is limited to the device types Matter carries.[1][10][15][23][24][26]

Home Assistant

Named directly by SwitchBot, on the same line and by the same mechanism as Apple Home: 'Bridge your SwitchBot devices to Apple Home or Home Assistant with Matter'. That is unusually explicit — most vendors on this shelf leave Home Assistant unmentioned — though as with Apple, what crosses over is bounded by what Matter's device types can express, not by what the SwitchBot app can do.[1][15]

Temperature reading: Through Home Assistant's SwitchBot Cloud integration the hub reports its sensor readings only and cannot be controlled. This limit belongs to that cloud integration, not to the Matter connection.

Humidity reading: Through Home Assistant's SwitchBot Cloud integration the hub reports its sensor readings only and cannot be controlled. This limit belongs to that cloud integration, not to the Matter connection.

Motion detected: Through Home Assistant's SwitchBot Cloud integration the hub reports its sensor readings only and cannot be controlled. This limit belongs to that cloud integration, not to the Matter connection.

Illuminance reading: Through Home Assistant's SwitchBot Cloud integration the hub reports its sensor readings only and cannot be controlled. This limit belongs to that cloud integration, not to the Matter connection.

Device documentation: [4] [18] [28]

  • Home Assistant: Through Home Assistant's SwitchBot Cloud integration the hub reports its sensor readings only and cannot be controlled. This limit belongs to that cloud integration, not to the Matter connection.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][10][15][23][27]SwitchBot lists Alexa for the Hub 3, but neither SwitchBot nor Amazon says how the hub's devices reach Alexa. Amazon's Matter list covers hubs and devices, not bridges, so which devices appear is not confirmed.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][15][23][24][25]Google Home takes this hub as a Matter bridge, and Google says devices behind a Matter bridge show up in Google Home like any other device. SwitchBot lists Google for the Hub 3. What appears is limited to the device types Matter carries; anything only the SwitchBot app does stays there.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][15]Claimed by SwitchBot in its own words and with the mechanism named, which is why this cell is stronger than its siblings: 'Bridge your SwitchBot devices to Apple Home or Home Assistant with Matter'. The path is Matter bridging rather than a native HomeKit accessory — meaning your SwitchBot curtains and sensors appear in the Home app through this box, and what appears is limited to what Matter's device types can express.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][10][15][23][24][26]SmartThings lists Matter bridges among the devices it supports, and SwitchBot lists SmartThings for the Hub 3, so the hub's devices reach SmartThings through it. What appears is limited to the device types Matter carries.In SmartThings you also need: a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][15]Named directly by SwitchBot, on the same line and by the same mechanism as Apple Home: 'Bridge your SwitchBot devices to Apple Home or Home Assistant with Matter'. That is unusually explicit — most vendors on this shelf leave Home Assistant unmentioned — though as with Apple, what crosses over is bounded by what Matter's device types can express, not by what the SwitchBot app can do.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[1][15]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No plan is named anywhere in SwitchBot's own product content for this hub — bridging, scenes, IR control and the sensor readouts are the product, not a tier of it. Worth contrasting with the AI Hub one record over, where SwitchBot's own description names a '$4.99/month' service after a free trial: two hubs from one vendor, one with a recurring cost and one without.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

SwitchBot's specification lists 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, which is ordinary for a hub but worth knowing if your network segregates bands. The bigger thing to understand before buying is what Matter bridging actually delivers: your SwitchBot devices reach Apple Home, Google Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant through this box, but only as far as Matter's device types can describe them — features that live in the SwitchBot app may simply have no equivalent on the other side. SwitchBot also lists Alexa for this hub, but neither SwitchBot nor Amazon says how the hub's devices get there, so that one is not confirmed.

Who it's for

A household already accumulating SwitchBot's Bluetooth gadgets — curtains, locks, meters, buttons — that wants them reachable from Apple Home, Google Home, SmartThings or Home Assistant, plus a physical dial and buttons for the scenes it uses most. The IR blaster is the quiet bonus: it gives old air conditioners and TVs a smart-home presence they were never built for.

Check availability at SwitchBot

This opens SwitchBot's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

28 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] us.switch-bot.com, structured storefront data for the SwitchBot Hub 3 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  2. [2] This catalogue's own hub-edge data, swept 2026-08-19 against the 111 manufacturer records in src/data/manufacturers/., verified 2026-08-19
  3. [3] SwitchBot's own Vulnerability Disclosure Policy (www.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-vulnerability-disclosure-policy), read in full 2026-08-20. The commitment, verbatim: "We will deliver an updated experience for you on a regular basis including updated security patches. The period of software update support is 2 years, see the table below for details." The table it points to contains exactly ONE row — "SwitchBot Floor Cleaning Robot S10 | 2023/10/16 | 2025/12/31" — under the headings "Product Name", "Launch Date" and "End date of software update support". The same policy publishes remediation targets rather than a support horizon: "critical and high-risk vulnerabilities will be fixed within three working days, high-risk vulnerabilities within 0.5 months, medium-risk vulnerabilities within one month, and low-risk vulnerabilities within four months", with reports to security@switch-bot.com. Rungs walked per method note 69: (a) no SwitchBot regulatory-declaration library (UK PSTI / EU CRA) could be located — a first-party search surfaced only per-product FCC "Safety and Compliance Information" articles, which carry no support period; (b) answered by this policy page; (c) the product's own page sits on us.switch-bot.com, a host our conduct register lists as refusing us, and was not reachable when this entry was written. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  4. [4] switch-bot.com's Hub 3 product page, read 2026-08-20: the device offers "Real-Time Home Monitoring" and can "Track room temperature, humidity, and CO₂ in real time", with the specification qualifying the third of those — "(Meter Pro CO2 is required)". The hub also provides IR control of other devices and supports Matter for managing "SwitchBot and third-party Matter devices". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  5. [5] This record's own sourced list of what the device provides, establishing it as a Matter controller. Re-read 2026-08-20 against the ruled definition of what the device itself speaks; no new external source was read., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  6. [6] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  7. [7] SwitchBot, Hub 3 product page — verbatim: "Matter-Compatible Control Across Brands — Effortlessly manage SwitchBot and third-party Matter devices like Hue and IKEA lights." · "Smart Home Hub with Apple Home & Home Assistant Support — Bridge your SwitchBot devices to Apple Home or Home Assistant with Matter." · "Control 30+ devices, create advanced scenes, and enable IR compatibility — all through Hub 3." · "Supports 30 sub-devices as a Matter Bridge". Specification row, verbatim: "Connectivity Mode 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  8. [8] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
  9. [9] Plugs into a wall outlet — nothing to wire or mount., verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Installation
  10. [10] SwitchBot, international product page for the SwitchBot Hub 3 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  11. [11] SwitchBot's own page for the Hub 3 prints no model number and no part number, and the product-declarations page it links to lists the Hub 3 by name with a date and no model string either, both read on 2026-09-18. The alliance publishes the same certified product in two places that disagree about its name: its public product directory has a page headed SwitchBot Hub 3, certificate CSA2516EMAT45248-24, maker number 0x1397 and product number 0x07EB, while the machine-readable ledger lists that same pair of numbers as SwitchBot Hub with part code W7202100. No certificate numbers are attached to this record yet, because the rule this catalogue follows matches a maker's model string against the ledger, and SwitchBot publishes no model string for this product. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
  12. [12] csa-iot.org certified-product page, read direct by URL 2026-09-19. Its served HTML is headed SwitchBot Hub 3 and lists certificate CSA2516EMAT45248-24, certified 2025-03-13, firmware 1.0, hardware 0, product ID 0x07eb, vendor ID 0x1397, Matter 1.3 over Wi-Fi with Bluetooth, and device type 0x000E. Cross-read against CSA's Distributed Compliance Ledger (vendor 5015 = 0x1397, product 2027 = 0x07EB), which prints "sv 10 (1.0): CERTIFIED CSA2516EMAT45248-24 dated 2025-03-13" and names that model "SwitchBot Hub", part W7202100., verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  13. [13] SwitchBot's own US store listing for the Hub 3, read 2026-09-20. The listing is titled "SwitchBot Hub 3", is sold by SwitchBot International, and gives 810150544053 as the order code for the single-unit version. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  14. [14] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certificate page for the Aqara Smart Lock U200, a different product, read on 2026-09-19 only to check that the registry's search was working. It says nothing about this product. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-19
  15. [15] SwitchBot's US store listing for the Hub 3, structured route, read in full on 2026-10-01. Fields: title 'SwitchBot Hub 3', vendor 'SwitchBot International', price 11999, no compare-at price, available true; versions 1-Pack sku 810150544053 at 11999, 2-Pack sku 810150544053X2 at 23998, 4-Pack sku 810150544053X4 at 47996, each available true, with no barcode and requires_selling_plan false. Description, verbatim: "Effortlessly manage SwitchBot and third-party Matter devices like Hue and IKEA lights. Seamlessly connect via Apple Home, Fire TV, and more — all from one app." · "Bridge your SwitchBot devices to Apple Home or Home Assistant with Matter. Control 30+ devices, create advanced scenes, and enable IR compatibility — all through Hub 3." · "Track room temperature, humidity, and CO₂ in real time (Meter Pro CO2 is required)." · "Size : 126 × 94 × 38 mm (4.96 × 3.70 × 1.50 in.)" · "Weight : 190 g (6.7 oz.)" · "SwitchBot Hub 3 is covered by a 1-year warranty." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  16. [16] SwitchBot's structured store data for the Hub 3, read 2026-10-08: title 'SwitchBot Hub 3'; variants '1-Pack' at 11999 (sku 810150544053), '2-Pack' at 23998 and '4-Pack' at 47996, all available, with no compare-at price. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Market availability
  17. [17] SwitchBot's US product page for the Hub 3, read in full on 2026-10-08. Specification rows, verbatim: "Power supply mode 5V2A adapter Input 5V⎓2A Output 5V⎓500mA" · "Connectivity Mode 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy" · "Matter Supported". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, Protocols, Power source
  18. [18] SwitchBot's international product page for the Hub 3, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Effortlessly manage SwitchBot and third-party Matter devices like Hue and IKEA lights." · "Bridge your SwitchBot devices to Apple Home or Home Assistant with Matter." · "Supports 30 sub-devices as a Matter Bridge" · "Connectivity Mode 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy" · "Power supply mode 5V2A adapter". Its comparison table's Voice Assistant Support row reads "Alexa, Google, Siri, HomeKit, SmartThings, Watch" in the Hub 3's column. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, Protocols, Power source, What it provides to your home, Capabilities
  19. [19] The certification site's page for the SwitchBot Hub 3, read in full on 2026-10-08. In our words: certificate CSA2516EMAT45248-24, certified on 13 March 2025 to Matter 1.3, firmware 1.0, hardware 0, vendor ID 0x1397 and product ID 0x07EB, over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, with primary device type 0x000E, the Matter bridge type. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  20. [20] The certification site's page for the Aqara Smart Lock U200, a different product, read in full on 2026-10-08 because the record cites it to show the certification site was answering. In our words, it still lists certificate CSA25547MAT46233-24, product ID 0x2802 and vendor ID 0x115F. It says nothing about the Hub 3. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
  21. [21] SwitchBot's Vulnerability Disclosure Policy, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "The period of software update support is 2 years, see the table below for details." The table still has one row, "SwitchBot Floor Cleaning Robot S10 2023/10/16 2025/12/31", and no row for the Hub 3. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Security-update support period
  22. [22] Apple's Home app accessories directory, read in full on 2026-10-08. The only SwitchBot product it names is the Plug Mini; the matcher reported the Hub 3 not listed. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
  23. [23] SwitchBot's international product page for the Hub 3, read on 2026-10-10. Verbatim: the comparison table's Voice Assistant Support row reads "Alexa, Google, Siri, HomeKit, SmartThings, Watch" in the Hub 3's column (the first column, headed Hub 3), and the specification reads "Supports 30 sub-devices as a Matter Bridge"., verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  24. [24] The certification site's page for the SwitchBot Hub 3, read on 2026-10-10, certificate CSA2516EMAT45248-24. In our words: the hub is certified to Matter 1.3 with the Matter bridge as its primary device type (0x000E), over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, vendor ID 0x1397 and product ID 0x07EB., verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  25. [25] Google Home Developers, Matter supported devices, read on 2026-10-10. Verbatim: "All devices behind a Matter bridge appear as normal for a user in the Google Home ecosystem.", verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  26. [26] SmartThings' Matter page for partners, read on 2026-10-10. Verbatim: the supported-device list's More Devices group names "Matter Bridges"., verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  27. [27] Amazon's Alexa supported Matter device categories page, read on 2026-10-10. Verbatim: the list begins "Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices". The page carries no sentence about Matter bridges (the word bridge does not appear in its text)., verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  28. [28] Home Assistant's own SwitchBot Cloud integration page (its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository), read on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: 'Hub 3' · '(currently only supports retrieving sensor data, does not yet support device control)' · '#### Hub 3 Features:' · 'get motion detection state' · 'get temperature' · 'get humidity' · 'get light level' — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Capabilities

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check SwitchBot Hub 3 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker