Product Library / Sensors & Detectors

Research profile · verified 2026-09-22 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02

SwitchBot Contact Sensor

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[20]
[4][15][32]
[4][15][32]
[23]
[1][8][29]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: BLUETOOTH[1][8][11][13]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Switchbot hub or bridge

Works standalone over Bluetooth LE with the SwitchBot app (local open/close alerts; SwitchBot states Android users need a hub even for push alerts). A SwitchBot hub is required for remote notifications, Alexa/Google Assistant/IFTTT, and SwitchBot-ecosystem automations; Matter exposure specifically requires Hub 2, Hub 3, or Hub Mini Matter Enabled.[1][2][4][10][11][13]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Contact state

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [3] [16] [29]

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [3] [16] [29]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][3][16][29]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
Not established from vendor documentation
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomePartial[20]Google HomeWorks, except motion detected[4][15][32]AlexaWorks, except motion detected[4][15][32]SmartThingsPartial[23]Home AssistantWorks[1][8][29]
Contact stateReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Event

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation

? Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

✓ Documented for this model[28][30]

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Event

Doesn't work

Automation

—

Event

Doesn't work

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

✓ Documented for this model[28][30]

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Only via Matter bridging through Hub 2, Hub 3, or Hub Mini Matter Enabled, and only door open/closed state is exposed. Hub 2 bridges max 8 sub-devices to Apple Home; Hub Mini Matter Enabled only 4.[20]

Google Home

Requires a SwitchBot hub. SwitchBot says Google Home, like Alexa, does not support this sensor's light-level or motion features, so motion detected is missing on Google. Whether Google Home sees the door's open or closed state is unconfirmed: SwitchBot's voice-alert sentence names no assistant. SwitchBot points to IFTTT for the motion and light features.[4][15][32]

Alexa

Requires a SwitchBot hub. SwitchBot says 'Alexa and Google Home currently do not support Contact Sensor's light level sensor or motion features', so motion detected is missing on Alexa. Whether Alexa sees the door's open or closed state is unconfirmed: SwitchBot says only that with a hub 'your smart voice assistant can alert you of events', without naming Alexa in that sentence. SwitchBot points to IFTTT for the motion and light features.[4][15][32]

SmartThings

Requires a SwitchBot hub. Open/close works and can trigger SmartThings routines, and the battery level shows up; SwitchBot states the light-level and motion features are not available in the SmartThings app. Same shape as the Alexa and Google answers on this record.[23]

Home Assistant

Via Home Assistant's SwitchBot Bluetooth integration: local, no hub or cloud needed; exposes open/close, motion state, and battery. SwitchBot has also certified the Contact Sensor for Home Assistant over Bluetooth by name, so this route is backed by the maker as well as by Home Assistant's own documentation. The computer running Home Assistant needs working Bluetooth of its own.[1][8][29]

Device documentation: [1] [3] [16] [29]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks, except motion detectedWorks, except motion detected — see the catch[4][15][32]Requires a SwitchBot hub. SwitchBot says 'Alexa and Google Home currently do not support Contact Sensor's light level sensor or motion features', so motion detected is missing on Alexa. Whether Alexa sees the door's open or closed state is unconfirmed: SwitchBot says only that with a hub 'your smart voice assistant can alert you of events', without naming Alexa in that sentence. SwitchBot points to IFTTT for the motion and light features.In Amazon Alexa you also need: the maker's own hub
Google HomeWorks, except motion detectedWorks, except motion detected — see the catch[4][15][32]Requires a SwitchBot hub. SwitchBot says Google Home, like Alexa, does not support this sensor's light-level or motion features, so motion detected is missing on Google. Whether Google Home sees the door's open or closed state is unconfirmed: SwitchBot's voice-alert sentence names no assistant. SwitchBot points to IFTTT for the motion and light features.In Google Home you also need: the maker's own hub
Apple HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[20]Only via Matter bridging through Hub 2, Hub 3, or Hub Mini Matter Enabled, and only door open/closed state is exposed. Hub 2 bridges max 8 sub-devices to Apple Home; Hub Mini Matter Enabled only 4.In Apple Home you also need: the maker's own hub
SmartThingsPartialPartial support — see the catch[23]Requires a SwitchBot hub. Open/close works and can trigger SmartThings routines, and the battery level shows up; SwitchBot states the light-level and motion features are not available in the SmartThings app. Same shape as the Alexa and Google answers on this record.In SmartThings you also need: the maker's own hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][8][29]Via Home Assistant's SwitchBot Bluetooth integration: local, no hub or cloud needed; exposes open/close, motion state, and battery. SwitchBot has also certified the Contact Sensor for Home Assistant over Bluetooth by name, so this route is backed by the maker as well as by Home Assistant's own documentation. The computer running Home Assistant needs working Bluetooth of its own.In Home Assistant you also need: the maker's own hub

Plans and ongoing costs[24]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No paid plan referenced on the official Contact Sensor pages; remote features need a hub purchase, not a subscription.

Maintenance and offline use[10]

Who it's for

Suits people already in the SwitchBot hub ecosystem who want inexpensive door/window state for automations, or Home Assistant users who can use it locally over Bluetooth without any hub.

Check availability at SwitchBot

This opens SwitchBot's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

32 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] www.home-assistant.io/integrations/switchbot/, read in full 2026-09-22. Supported devices, Sensors: 'Contact Sensor (WoContact)'. Prerequisites, verbatim: 'To use this integration, it is required to have working Bluetooth set up on the device running Home Assistant. A SwitchBot Hub is not required for this integration.' Connection: 'The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the SwitchBot Cloud.' Features, verbatim: 'Contact Sensor Features: open or closed state motion detection state get battery level'. NEW since this record's last read of the page, under 'Works with Home Assistant', verbatim: 'SwitchBot is committed to making sure their products are up-to-date and ready to use in Home Assistant. Devices are certified for both Bluetooth and Matter. The following devices are certified for Bluetooth: SwitchBot Lock Ultra SwitchBot Air Purifier SwitchBot Air Purifier Table SwitchBot Leak Detector SwitchBot Meter SwitchBot Meter Pro SwitchBot Meter Pro CO2 SwitchBot Indoor/Outdoor Thermo-Hygrometer SwitchBot Curtain 3 SwitchBot Contact Sensor SwitchBot Roller Shade SwitchBot Lock Pro'. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Service status
  2. [2] us.switch-bot.com/products/contact-sensor, read in full 2026-09-22 (rendered, after the cadence the register names for this host). Price, verbatim: 'SwitchBot Contact Sensor Smart Sensors $16.99' beside a promotion 'This product is on sale now—don't miss out! 15% OFF Code: FVFV15 Now $14.44', with 'Bundle 1-pack 2-pack 4-pack Save more'. Description, verbatim: 'Remote Alerts & Voice Alarms: Sends phone notifications and triggers Alexa voice alarms if a door opens while you're away (SwitchBot Hub required).'; 'SwitchBot Ecosystem Integration: Works with other SwitchBot devices to automate actions, like turning off air purifiers when windows open (SwitchBot Hub required).'; 'Detects People Leaving or Entering the Home: … (SwitchBot Hub Mini needed).' Detection range: 'up to 16.4 ft (5m), 90° horizontally, and 55° vertically'. Sales assurances: '30-Day Money-Back Guarantee 1-Year Warranty'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Required hub or bridge, Research status
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  3. [3] www.switch-bot.com/products/contact-sensor, read in full 2026-09-22. Store block, verbatim: '1-pack - $16.99 USD 2-pack - $33.98 USD 4-pack - $67.96 USD', and the page's own product data carries 'price':1699 for the 1-pack variant with barcode 850007706388. Description: the same four bullets as the US store, each hub-dependent feature bracketed '(SwitchBot Hub required)' or '(SwitchBot Hub Mini needed)', and 'With the built-in light sensor, it will automatically trigger the Switchbot Bot to turn on the light when someone moves when the environment goes dark.' Warranty: 'SwitchBot Contact Sensor is covered by a 1-year warranty.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Price, Works without the internet, Capabilities
    page changed on 2026-11-03, after this reading
  4. [4] us.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-contact-sensor, read in full 2026-09-22 (rendered). Verbatim: 'When connected to SwitchBot Hub Mini, SwitchBot Contact Sensor can push notifications to your phone when someone enters your home'; 'When connected to SwitchBot Hub Mini, your smart voice assistant can alert you of events'; 'Alexa and Google Home currently do not support Contact Sensor's light level sensor or motion features. However, this feature is currently supported by IFTTT.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  5. [5] us.switch-bot.com/collections/sensors, read in full 2026-09-22 (rendered). Four products are listed: 'SwitchBot mmWave Presence Sensor', 'SwitchBot Motion Sensor', 'SwitchBot Contact Sensor … Monitor door and window status to help make home more secure. $16.99' and 'SwitchBot Water Leak Detector'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Product identity
  6. [6] www.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-vulnerability-disclosure-policy, read in full 2026-09-22. Verbatim: 'We will deliver an updated experience for you on a regular basis including updated security patches. The period of software update support is 2 years, see the table below for details.' The table still has one row: 'SwitchBot Floor Cleaning Robot S10 2023/10/16 2025/12/31'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Security-update support period
  7. [7] us.switch-bot.com/products/contact-sensor, read as structured product data 2026-08-09: variants 1-pack SKU 850007706388 at 1699 available true, 2-pack SKU 850007706388X2 at 3398 available true, 4-pack SKU 850007706388X4 at 6796 available true. Corroborated browser-rendered on us.switch-bot.com/products/contact-sensor: '$16.99', '1-Year Warranty', '30-Day Money-Back Guarantee'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Price, Market availability
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  8. [8] www.home-assistant.io/integrations/switchbot (read 2026-08-09): supported-device list names 'Contact Sensor' under Sensors; 'The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the SwitchBot Cloud.' Vendor side, us.switch-bot.com/products/contact-sensor browser-rendered the same day: 'Remote Alerts & Voice Alarms: Sends phone notifications and triggers Alexa voice alarms if a door opens while you're away (SwitchBot Hub required)'; 'SwitchBot Ecosystem Integration ... (SwitchBot Hub required)'; detection range 'up to 16.4 ft (5m), 90° horizontally, and 55° vertically'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Service status, Research status, Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols
  9. [9] us.switch-bot.com/products/contact-sensor (and its structured store data) — product live, priced $16.99/1-pack — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Price
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  10. [10] us.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-contact-sensor (official spec/detail page, spec accordion extracted from rendered DOM) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge
  11. [11] support.switch-bot.com/hc/en-us/articles/13282638111127 ('Which SwitchBot Devices Can Be Added to Apple Home As Sub-devices via Matter?') — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
  12. [12] us.switch-bot.com/collections/sensors — only one Contact Sensor SKU listed — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Product identity
  13. [13] home-assistant.io/integrations/switchbot/ — Contact Sensor listed: open/closed, motion, battery; 'A SwitchBot Hub is not required for this integration' — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Protocols
  14. [14] SwitchBot US Contact Sensor page, re-read 2026-08-18 — no sentence about hub requirement for remote access, Bluetooth-only operation, or internet-outage behaviour. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  15. [15] SwitchBot US Contact Sensor product and spec pages, plus SwitchBot support article 13282638111127 ('Which SwitchBot Devices Can Be Added to Apple Home As Sub-devices via Matter?') — both already cited on this record — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  16. [16] Home Assistant's SwitchBot integration documentation, read 2026-08-20, which lists "Contact Sensor (WoContact)" with open or closed state, motion detection state and battery level. Corroborated by SwitchBot's own storefront copy the same day: the sensor "Works with other SwitchBot devices to automate actions, like turning off air purifiers when windows open", with a SwitchBot Hub required for remote alerts and device integrations. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  17. [17] SwitchBot's own Vulnerability Disclosure Policy (www.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-vulnerability-disclosure-policy), read in full 2026-08-20. The commitment, verbatim: "We will deliver an updated experience for you on a regular basis including updated security patches. The period of software update support is 2 years, see the table below for details." The table it points to contains exactly ONE row — "SwitchBot Floor Cleaning Robot S10 | 2023/10/16 | 2025/12/31" — under the headings "Product Name", "Launch Date" and "End date of software update support". The same policy publishes remediation targets rather than a support horizon: "critical and high-risk vulnerabilities will be fixed within three working days, high-risk vulnerabilities within 0.5 months, medium-risk vulnerabilities within one month, and low-risk vulnerabilities within four months", with reports to security@switch-bot.com. Routes tried, in the standing order: (a) no SwitchBot regulatory-declaration library (UK PSTI / EU CRA) could be located — a first-party search surfaced only per-product FCC "Safety and Compliance Information" articles, which carry no support period; (b) answered by this policy page; (c) the product's own page sits on us.switch-bot.com, a site registered as refusing us, and was not reachable that day. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  18. [18] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  19. [19] https://us.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-contact-sensor (read 2026-09-09), Product details: 'Compatibility: Android 5.0+, iOS 14.0+' and 'Power Input: Battery: AAA x 2', 'Battery Life: Typically 3 years, triggered 80 times by door open, 80 times by door close, 40 times by button'. Both are vendor specifications, not setup advice. ⊕ The same page's '*SwitchBot Hub Mini only support 2.4GHz Wi-Fi' is about a DIFFERENT product's radio and was not read onto this record, which has no Wi-Fi radio of its own. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: App platforms, Power source
  20. [20] SwitchBot's own help-centre article 'Which SwitchBot Devices Can Be Added to Apple Home As Sub-devices via Matter?', read 2026-09-10 in a rendering browser because https://support.switch-bot.com/hc/en-us/articles/13282638111127 would not open to a simple read that day. The table row, verbatim: 'Contact Sensor Available door is open/door is closed'. The article names SwitchBot Hub 2, Hub Mini Matter Enabled and Hub 3 among its related products, and states 'The number of sub-devices that can be synced to Apple Home App via Hub 2 is 8 in total'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-10
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
    Checked 2026-09-10. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  21. [21] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
  22. [22] SwitchBot's own product page for the Contact Sensor, re-read on 12 September 2026 — 'Security Monitoring: Detects door/window openings, enhancing safety for elderly, children, and pets. With the built-in light sensor, it will automatically trigger the Switchbot Bot to turn on the light when someone moves when the environment goes dark.'; 'Detects People Leaving or Entering the Home: Recognizes when you leave or enter home, automating appliance control via the SwitchBot app (SwitchBot Hub Mini needed).'; 'Remote Alerts & Voice Alarms: Sends phone notifications and triggers Alexa voice alarms if a door opens while you're away (SwitchBot Hub required).'; 'SwitchBot Ecosystem Integration: Works with other SwitchBot devices to automate actions, like turning off air purifiers when windows open (SwitchBot Hub required).' Read on www.switch-bot.com, SwitchBot's global store; us.switch-bot.com, the host this record's older entries cite, has been turning our reader away and carries the same catalogue. Also re-read the same day: www.home-assistant.io/integrations/switchbot/ (quoted in the note, used for transport only) and www.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-vulnerability-disclosure-policy. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Works without the internet
    page changed on 2026-11-03, after this reading
  23. [23] SwitchBot's own help centre, the Contact Sensor article 'Why There Is No Motion Detection and Light Sensing Function for SwitchBot Contact Sensor on Smartthings App?', filed under the help centre's Contact Sensor category and read 2026-09-15. Verbatim, the article in full: 'Last Update: 2023 Mar 31 Related Products: SwitchBot Contact Sensor The SmartThings App can only detect the opening and closing of doors or windows through SwitchBot Contact Sensor. Door open/close and battery level can be set as routine conditions. However, the light sensor and motion detection functions are currently not available.' SwitchBot's help-centre metadata dates the article's last edit 2023-05-31 and its last update 2024-08-29. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
    Checked 2026-09-15. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  24. [24] SwitchBot's own Camera Cloud Storage Service User Agreement, whose definitions limit the plan to the camera and doorbell series, and SwitchBot's store listing for the Contact Sensor at $16.99 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription
  25. [25] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  26. [26] SwitchBot's own US store listing for the Contact Sensor, read 2026-09-20. The listing is titled "SwitchBot Contact Sensor", is sold by SwitchBot, and publishes its own order code and retail barcode for the single-unit version: 850007706388. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  27. [27] Looked on 2026-09-21 for another SwitchBot page saying what this sensor does and does not do in the SmartThings app. The SwitchBot help site this fact rests on turns our reader away at the door, so it was not knocked on again. SwitchBot's two open shops, us.switch-bot.com and www.switch-bot.com, were walked instead — their sitemaps, their product page for the Contact Sensor and their search — and none of those pages mentions SmartThings at all. Samsung's own partner directory was asked as well, and it does not list this sensor. No page we are allowed to read carries this fact, so the date already shown on it is where it stands., verified 2026-09-21
  28. [28] Home Assistant's own SwitchBot Bluetooth integration page (its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository). Verbatim: '#### Contact Sensor' · 'Features:' · 'open or closed state' · 'motion detection state' — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  29. [29] Home Assistant's SwitchBot Bluetooth integration page source, read in full on 2026-10-27 from the documentation repository on GitHub through tools/page-read.mjs (the file's base64 content decoded). Verbatim: "title: SwitchBot Bluetooth" · "ha_iot_class: Local Push" · "controlling device configurations manually or via automations." · "is not required for this integration." (of a SwitchBot Hub, under 'Prerequisites', which also require working Bluetooth on the machine running Home Assistant) · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the SwitchBot Cloud." Under '#### Contact Sensor', its features: "open or closed state", "motion detection state" and "get battery level". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Service status
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  30. [30] Home Assistant's SwitchBot Bluetooth integration page source at its raw-file address, read in full on 2026-10-27 through tools/page-read.mjs. Verbatim: "#### Contact Sensor Features: - open or closed state - motion detection state - get battery level" · "controlling device configurations manually or via automations." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  31. [31] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-10-31 (no new external read), verified 2026-10-31
  32. [32] SwitchBot's US Contact Sensor page, read in full on 2026-11-07 (rendered read). Verbatim: "When connected to SwitchBot Hub Mini, your smart voice assistant can alert you of events such as when someone enters you home, or when a door is opened." · "Alexa and Google Home currently do not support Contact Sensor's light level sensor or motion features. However, this feature is currently supported by IFTTT." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check SwitchBot Contact Sensor with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker