There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Product Library / Energy, Solar & EV
Research profile · last verified 2026-09-21Shelly EM Mini Gen4
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · ZIGBEE[1][2][3][6]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
No hub, and this is the one product in this category where that answer is unqualified rather than technically-true-but-cloud-dependent. Home Assistant's own documentation for its core Shelly integration states that the 'Integration is communicating directly with the device; cloud connection is not needed' — so a Home Assistant household reaches this meter over the local network with nothing in between and no vendor account involved. The device also advertises Zigbee, which would let a Zigbee hub talk to it directly, and it holds a Zigbee certificate for that. Shelly's own copy describes 'local + cloud metering', so the cloud is an option here rather than a requirement, which inverts the arrangement on every other record in this subcategory.[4]
Unknown, and the reason is the same thing that makes this record interesting. The obvious Apple route for a device like this would be Matter, and Shelly's own store description claims Matter — but the CSA-IoT certificate for this exact product is Zigbee 3.0, and no Matter certificate exists for it or for any of Shelly's four certified energy meters. That is not us doubting the vendor on principle: the same database shows Shelly holding genuine Matter certificates for other products (Shelly 1 Mini Gen3, CSA25014MAT44902-24, and 1PM Mini Gen3, CSA25012MAT44900-24, both under the same filing company), so this company certifies Matter when it certifies Matter. Until the claim and the registry agree, this catalogue will not tell an Apple household that this device will appear in the Home app. Shelly names Apple nowhere at product level either — the only Apple reference found is shop-wide navigation furniture, which is not a claim about any individual device. The conflict is recorded in full in provenance.[3]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Unknown, on identical grounds to the Alexa cell — the sole evidence is the same shop-wide compatibility sentence, which is store furniture rather than a product claim, and no Google-side documentation naming this meter was located. As with Alexa, it is worth being concrete about the ceiling: this is a measurement device with no relay, so there is nothing for a voice assistant to switch, and neither Google Home nor Alexa has an energy-meter device type that would let it report readings as a first-class thing.[2]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Unknown. The only Alexa evidence located is a shop-wide sentence on Shelly's US store — 'Shelly devices are compatible with Alexa, Google Home, Android, and iOS, allowing voice control through your assistant!' — which appears as site furniture rather than on this product's own data, and which describes a brand of several hundred products including relays and dimmers where voice control obviously means something different. This catalogue does not promote a shop-wide badge into a per-product claim; the same rule was applied to another vendor's store banner in this catalogue and it applies identically here. Note also what voice control would even mean on this device: it has no relay and cannot switch anything, so the only thing Alexa could offer is reading a number back to you, and nothing found documents that capability for this product. Re-read on 19 September 2026, this product's own store data still names no platform of any kind: it describes the meter by its radios and standards — Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee and Bluetooth — and Alexa is not mentioned on it, which leaves the shop-wide badge the only Alexa text anywhere near this device.[2][16]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Unknown. Shelly names SmartThings nowhere, and no Samsung-side documentation naming this meter was located. This is the cell where the Matter discrepancy costs the most in principle, because SmartThings is the platform that supports the widest set of Matter energy device types — but this product's certificate is Zigbee, not Matter, so the Matter route this record cannot confirm is exactly the route that would have mattered here. The device does hold a genuine Zigbee 3.0 certificate (ZIG25332ZB332213-24, device type 'Energy meter'), and SmartThings hubs do speak Zigbee, but nobody on either side documents that pairing, and this catalogue does not construct a compatibility claim out of two protocols happening to match.[3]
Follow the documented setup. Read the equipment details and connection limits below.
Connect over your home network
Shelly EM Mini Gen4
- Shelly EM Mini Gen4Shelly EM Mini Gen4
- Local networkHome networkLocal network connection
- Local integrationHome AssistantPlatform app
What you gainReach the device through its documented local network integration.
Keep in mindRead the setup notes for required credentials, firmware, pairing and supported functions. Local communication does not establish every function or remote access.
Which features come through?
Check the function table and setup notes for this route. An alternative connection does not inherit every capability of the recorded primary connection. A Thread border router, a Matter controller and a platform home hub are different roles; suitable hardware may provide more than one.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-07
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Home Assistant has an official, built-in Shelly integration that talks to the device on your own network with no Shelly account, and Home Assistant says every Shelly generation is supported, which covers this Gen4 meter. Home Assistant doesn't list which readings it shows for this meter, so its energy readings in Home Assistant are unconfirmed.[4][26]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Documented device function
Energy reading
The device reports this event.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Setup and sources
Device documentation: [4]
Apple Home · Inconclusive
Energy reading
This device reports energy reading.
- Event
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Unknown, and the reason is the same thing that makes this record interesting. The obvious Apple route for a device like this would be Matter, and Shelly's own store description claims Matter — but the CSA-IoT certificate for this exact product is Zigbee 3.0, and no Matter certificate exists for it or for any of Shelly's four certified energy meters. That is not us doubting the vendor on principle: the same database shows Shelly holding genuine Matter certificates for other products (Shelly 1 Mini Gen3, CSA25014MAT44902-24, and 1PM Mini Gen3, CSA25012MAT44900-24, both under the same filing company), so this company certifies Matter when it certifies Matter. Until the claim and the registry agree, this catalogue will not tell an Apple household that this device will appear in the Home app. Shelly names Apple nowhere at product level either — the only Apple reference found is shop-wide navigation furniture, which is not a claim about any individual device. The conflict is recorded in full in provenance.
Connection documentation: [3]
Device documentation: [4]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-21
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-02
Google Home · Inconclusive
Energy reading
This device reports energy reading.
- Event
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Unknown, on identical grounds to the Alexa cell — the sole evidence is the same shop-wide compatibility sentence, which is store furniture rather than a product claim, and no Google-side documentation naming this meter was located. As with Alexa, it is worth being concrete about the ceiling: this is a measurement device with no relay, so there is nothing for a voice assistant to switch, and neither Google Home nor Alexa has an energy-meter device type that would let it report readings as a first-class thing.
Connection documentation: [2]
Device documentation: [4]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-21
us.shelly.com · checked 2026-09-21
Alexa · Inconclusive
Energy reading
This device reports energy reading.
- Event
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Unknown. The only Alexa evidence located is a shop-wide sentence on Shelly's US store — 'Shelly devices are compatible with Alexa, Google Home, Android, and iOS, allowing voice control through your assistant!' — which appears as site furniture rather than on this product's own data, and which describes a brand of several hundred products including relays and dimmers where voice control obviously means something different. This catalogue does not promote a shop-wide badge into a per-product claim; the same rule was applied to another vendor's store banner in this catalogue and it applies identically here. Note also what voice control would even mean on this device: it has no relay and cannot switch anything, so the only thing Alexa could offer is reading a number back to you, and nothing found documents that capability for this product. Re-read on 19 September 2026, this product's own store data still names no platform of any kind: it describes the meter by its radios and standards — Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee and Bluetooth — and Alexa is not mentioned on it, which leaves the shop-wide badge the only Alexa text anywhere near this device.
Connection documentation: [2] [16]
Device documentation: [4]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-21
us.shelly.com · checked 2026-09-21
SmartThings · Inconclusive
Energy reading
This device reports energy reading.
- Event
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Unknown. Shelly names SmartThings nowhere, and no Samsung-side documentation naming this meter was located. This is the cell where the Matter discrepancy costs the most in principle, because SmartThings is the platform that supports the widest set of Matter energy device types — but this product's certificate is Zigbee, not Matter, so the Matter route this record cannot confirm is exactly the route that would have mattered here. The device does hold a genuine Zigbee 3.0 certificate (ZIG25332ZB332213-24, device type 'Energy meter'), and SmartThings hubs do speak Zigbee, but nobody on either side documents that pairing, and this catalogue does not construct a compatibility claim out of two protocols happening to match.
Connection documentation: [3]
Device documentation: [4]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-21
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-02
Home Assistant · Works; energy reading unconfirmed
Energy reading
This device reports energy reading.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- ? not stated
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Home Assistant has an official, built-in Shelly integration that talks to the device on your own network with no Shelly account, and Home Assistant says every Shelly generation is supported, which covers this Gen4 meter. Home Assistant doesn't list which readings it shows for this meter, so its energy readings in Home Assistant are unconfirmed.
Connection documentation: [4] [26]
Device documentation: [4]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-07
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
The functions, side by side
What can you use, and where?[4]
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- None documented by the vendor
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeInconclusive[3] | Google HomeInconclusive[2] | AlexaInconclusive[2][16] | SmartThingsInconclusive[3] | Home AssistantWorks; energy reading unconfirmed[4][26] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energy readingReported event | Event Inconclusive | Event Inconclusive | Event Inconclusive | Event Inconclusive | Event Not stated |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Unknown, and the reason is the same thing that makes this record interesting. The obvious Apple route for a device like this would be Matter, and Shelly's own store description claims Matter — but the CSA-IoT certificate for this exact product is Zigbee 3.0, and no Matter certificate exists for it or for any of Shelly's four certified energy meters. That is not us doubting the vendor on principle: the same database shows Shelly holding genuine Matter certificates for other products (Shelly 1 Mini Gen3, CSA25014MAT44902-24, and 1PM Mini Gen3, CSA25012MAT44900-24, both under the same filing company), so this company certifies Matter when it certifies Matter. Until the claim and the registry agree, this catalogue will not tell an Apple household that this device will appear in the Home app. Shelly names Apple nowhere at product level either — the only Apple reference found is shop-wide navigation furniture, which is not a claim about any individual device. The conflict is recorded in full in provenance.[3]
Google Home
Unknown, on identical grounds to the Alexa cell — the sole evidence is the same shop-wide compatibility sentence, which is store furniture rather than a product claim, and no Google-side documentation naming this meter was located. As with Alexa, it is worth being concrete about the ceiling: this is a measurement device with no relay, so there is nothing for a voice assistant to switch, and neither Google Home nor Alexa has an energy-meter device type that would let it report readings as a first-class thing.[2]
Alexa
Unknown. The only Alexa evidence located is a shop-wide sentence on Shelly's US store — 'Shelly devices are compatible with Alexa, Google Home, Android, and iOS, allowing voice control through your assistant!' — which appears as site furniture rather than on this product's own data, and which describes a brand of several hundred products including relays and dimmers where voice control obviously means something different. This catalogue does not promote a shop-wide badge into a per-product claim; the same rule was applied to another vendor's store banner in this catalogue and it applies identically here. Note also what voice control would even mean on this device: it has no relay and cannot switch anything, so the only thing Alexa could offer is reading a number back to you, and nothing found documents that capability for this product. Re-read on 19 September 2026, this product's own store data still names no platform of any kind: it describes the meter by its radios and standards — Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee and Bluetooth — and Alexa is not mentioned on it, which leaves the shop-wide badge the only Alexa text anywhere near this device.[2][16]
SmartThings
Unknown. Shelly names SmartThings nowhere, and no Samsung-side documentation naming this meter was located. This is the cell where the Matter discrepancy costs the most in principle, because SmartThings is the platform that supports the widest set of Matter energy device types — but this product's certificate is Zigbee, not Matter, so the Matter route this record cannot confirm is exactly the route that would have mattered here. The device does hold a genuine Zigbee 3.0 certificate (ZIG25332ZB332213-24, device type 'Energy meter'), and SmartThings hubs do speak Zigbee, but nobody on either side documents that pairing, and this catalogue does not construct a compatibility claim out of two protocols happening to match.[3]
Home Assistant
Home Assistant has an official, built-in Shelly integration that talks to the device on your own network with no Shelly account, and Home Assistant says every Shelly generation is supported, which covers this Gen4 meter. Home Assistant doesn't list which readings it shows for this meter, so its energy readings in Home Assistant are unconfirmed.[4][26]
Platform documentation:
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-02
us.shelly.com · checked 2026-09-21
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-10-07
Device documentation: [4]
Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Home | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3] | Unknown, and the reason is the same thing that makes this record interesting. The obvious Apple route for a device like this would be Matter, and Shelly's own store description claims Matter — but the CSA-IoT certificate for this exact product is Zigbee 3.0, and no Matter certificate exists for it or for any of Shelly's four certified energy meters. That is not us doubting the vendor on principle: the same database shows Shelly holding genuine Matter certificates for other products (Shelly 1 Mini Gen3, CSA25014MAT44902-24, and 1PM Mini Gen3, CSA25012MAT44900-24, both under the same filing company), so this company certifies Matter when it certifies Matter. Until the claim and the registry agree, this catalogue will not tell an Apple household that this device will appear in the Home app. Shelly names Apple nowhere at product level either — the only Apple reference found is shop-wide navigation furniture, which is not a claim about any individual device. The conflict is recorded in full in provenance. |
| Amazon Alexa | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2][16] | Unknown. The only Alexa evidence located is a shop-wide sentence on Shelly's US store — 'Shelly devices are compatible with Alexa, Google Home, Android, and iOS, allowing voice control through your assistant!' — which appears as site furniture rather than on this product's own data, and which describes a brand of several hundred products including relays and dimmers where voice control obviously means something different. This catalogue does not promote a shop-wide badge into a per-product claim; the same rule was applied to another vendor's store banner in this catalogue and it applies identically here. Note also what voice control would even mean on this device: it has no relay and cannot switch anything, so the only thing Alexa could offer is reading a number back to you, and nothing found documents that capability for this product. Re-read on 19 September 2026, this product's own store data still names no platform of any kind: it describes the meter by its radios and standards — Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee and Bluetooth — and Alexa is not mentioned on it, which leaves the shop-wide badge the only Alexa text anywhere near this device. |
| Google Home | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2] | Unknown, on identical grounds to the Alexa cell — the sole evidence is the same shop-wide compatibility sentence, which is store furniture rather than a product claim, and no Google-side documentation naming this meter was located. As with Alexa, it is worth being concrete about the ceiling: this is a measurement device with no relay, so there is nothing for a voice assistant to switch, and neither Google Home nor Alexa has an energy-meter device type that would let it report readings as a first-class thing. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3] | Unknown. Shelly names SmartThings nowhere, and no Samsung-side documentation naming this meter was located. This is the cell where the Matter discrepancy costs the most in principle, because SmartThings is the platform that supports the widest set of Matter energy device types — but this product's certificate is Zigbee, not Matter, so the Matter route this record cannot confirm is exactly the route that would have mattered here. The device does hold a genuine Zigbee 3.0 certificate (ZIG25332ZB332213-24, device type 'Energy meter'), and SmartThings hubs do speak Zigbee, but nobody on either side documents that pairing, and this catalogue does not construct a compatibility claim out of two protocols happening to match. |
| Home Assistant | Works; energy reading unconfirmedWorks; energy reading unconfirmed — see the catch[4][26] | Home Assistant has an official, built-in Shelly integration that talks to the device on your own network with no Shelly account, and Home Assistant says every Shelly generation is supported, which covers this Gen4 meter. Home Assistant doesn't list which readings it shows for this meter, so its energy readings in Home Assistant are unconfirmed. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[13]
◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.
- Free: Measuring the circuit and seeing the readings in the Shelly app, Energy statistics charted at one-hour intervals, An event log of the last 5 events per device, Up to 5 dashboards with up to 40 widgets each, Up to 3 Alexa virtual actions, Running the meter entirely on your own home network, through the control page built into the device, with no Shelly account involved
- Behind a plan: Energy statistics charted at one-minute intervals instead of one-hour, Monthly energy reports in the app and by email, An event log of the last 100 events per device, Up to 20 dashboards with up to 80 widgets each, and up to 100 Alexa virtual actions, Weather widget, weather-triggered scenes, forgotten-lights reminders and device-failure detection
Vendor account required: No — no vendor account is involved.[4]
Shelly sells an optional plan called Shelly Premium — $3.99 a month or $35.99 a year on its US store, with a three-month free trial — and the meter does its job without it. What you buy with the plan, in Shelly's own comparison table, is a finer view of the same data rather than the data itself: energy statistics at one-minute intervals instead of one-hour, monthly energy reports in the app and by email, a longer event log, and more dashboards, widgets and Alexa actions. Measuring the circuit and reading it in the app are included in the purchase price. So is the route that matters most on this device: it can run entirely on your own home network, through the control page built into the meter itself, where no Shelly account and therefore no plan is involved at all. The honest way to hold this: if hourly resolution is enough for you, you will never pay Shelly anything; if you bought a meter to watch a circuit minute by minute, that view is the paid tier.
Maintenance and offline use
- Works without the internet: Yes — the core function runs on the device or your home network. A vendor cloud may still be involved in remote access.[12]
- Shelly describes the product as an 'ultra-compact 16A energy meter (no relay) with Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee & Bluetooth, local + cloud metering for smart home analytics', and the store title is 'Shelly EM Mini Gen4 - Compact 16A Smart Energy Meter'. Read the parenthesis carefully because it is doing real work: NO RELAY means this device measures and cannot switch — it will tell you what a circuit is drawing and it will never turn that circuit off. Several Shelly products in the same family do both, and it is easy to buy the wrong one. The 16-amp rating is the other scoping fact: this is a single-circuit meter, not a whole-panel monitor, so it answers 'what is this circuit using' rather than 'what is my house using'. ⚠ THE MATTER CLAIM IN THAT DESCRIPTION IS NOT SUPPORTED BY THIS PRODUCT'S CERTIFICATE and is recorded as a conflict in provenance rather than repeated here — the certificate is Zigbee 3.0. It works locally, and it is the only product in this subcategory recorded that way: Home Assistant states its integration talks to the device directly with no cloud connection needed. Installation is inside an electrical enclosure on a live circuit, which is why installEffort is pro-recommended despite the low price — the cost of this device is not the cost of fitting it.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether Shelly publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
The catch
Read the words 'no relay' before you buy. Shelly's own description calls this an 'ultra-compact 16A energy meter (no relay)', which means it measures a circuit and can never switch one. Shelly sells near-identical-looking products in the same family that do both, and at these prices it is genuinely easy to order the wrong one. Second, and just as important, this is a 16-amp single-circuit meter, not a whole-home monitor. The $24.99 price looks like it undercuts the $99–$199 monitors beside it in this category by an order of magnitude; it does not compete with them, because they clamp onto your mains and measure the whole panel while this measures one circuit. If you want to know what your house is doing, this is the wrong shape of product at any price. Third — and this is the one that would have made it onto the page otherwise — Shelly's own store description advertises 'Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee & Bluetooth', but the CSA-IoT certificate for this exact product is ZIG25332ZB332213-24, Zigbee 3.0, device type 'Energy meter', and no Matter certificate exists for it. Nor for any of Shelly's four certified energy meters. That is not a general suspicion of the vendor: the same database shows Shelly holding real Matter certificates for its Gen3 Mini switches, so the company certifies Matter when it has. Until the claim and the registry agree, do not buy this expecting it to appear in a Matter controller, and ask Shelly to name the certificate if that is what you are buying it for. Fourth, the cheap price is not the cost. This installs inside an electrical enclosure on a live circuit, and a $24.99 part fitted by an electrician is not a $24.99 project. Finally, and unusual enough to state plainly: this is the only product in this category with a documented control route that does not pass through a manufacturer's cloud. Home Assistant's official integration talks to it directly over your own network — 'cloud connection is not needed' — so unlike every whole-home monitor here, a Home Assistant household keeps its readings even if Shelly goes away. And Shelly says the same thing about the meter on its own: it can run standalone on your local Wi-Fi network, with its cloud service as an option rather than a requirement, so the readings do not stop when the internet does. In a category whose history includes a monitor line discontinued last December and a charging network that went dark with nine days' notice, that matters more than the feature list suggests.
Who it's for
The right buy for a Home Assistant household that wants to meter a specific circuit — a heat pump, a dryer, a workshop subpanel, an EV charger — locally, cheaply, and without a vendor account. It is the only product in this category with an official, core, LOCAL Home Assistant integration, and Home Assistant's own words are that no cloud connection is needed. At $24.99 you can meter several circuits for less than one whole-home monitor costs. It also suits anyone whose reason for buying is resilience rather than features: a Home Assistant household keeps control of it through that local integration if Shelly stops answering the phone, which is not true of anything else here. It is the wrong product if you want to know what your whole house is using — that is a mains-clamp monitor's job, and this is a single 16-amp circuit meter. It is the wrong product if you want to switch anything, because it has no relay. It is the wrong product for an Apple, Alexa, Google or SmartThings household today: none of them is documented at product level, the only platform reference is a shop-wide banner, and the Matter claim that would open those doors is contradicted by this product's own Zigbee-only certificate. And it is the wrong product for anyone not comfortable paying an electrician, because the install is inside an enclosure on a live circuit and costs several times the device.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
26 numbered sources, including 1 where sources disagree· read them in the source's own words
- [1] kb.shelly.cloud/knowledge-base/shelly-em-mini-gen4 (read 2026-08-09): BLE gateway described as 'Bridge between your Shelly BLU devices and the wider Shelly ecosystem. It receives Bluetooth signals and sends them to the cloud or locally to another non-bluetooth device.' Bluetooth specifications: 'Protocol: 5.0', 'RF band: 2402 - 2480 MHz', 'Max RF power: < 4 dBm', 'Range: Up to 10 m indoors and 30 m outdoors'. Setup role: pressing and holding the control button for 5 seconds activates the device's access point and Bluetooth connection for configuration. Bluetooth listed as one of three connectivity options alongside Wi-Fi and Zigbee. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols
- [2] Shelly USA store, EM Mini Gen4 product data — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Market availability, Power source, Installation, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
- [3] CSA-IoT certified products database, keyword search — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-02Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [4] Home Assistant, Shelly integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Service status, Vendor account required
- [5] US Consumer Product Safety Commission, recall REST service — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Service status
- [6] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, models for VID 5264 (Shelly), read 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: 22 model(s) enumerated to pagination exhaustion (next_key terminated). The list carries Gen3 and Gen4 relays, plugs, dimmers, flood and presence sensors and wall displays — including 'Shelly 1PM Mini Gen4' and 'Shelly 1 Mini Gen4' — but NO energy-monitor 'EM' model of any generation. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22Backs: Protocols
- [7] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance (a check of how this record marks the facts it does not have), verified 2026-08-27
- [8] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [9] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [10] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
- [11] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by Shelly itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation of local control, or its own statement about this model — that the EM Mini Gen4 keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: Home Assistant's own Shelly integration documentation, and its sentence 'Integration is communicating directly with the device; cloud connection is not needed.'., verified 2026-09-16
- [12] Shelly's own knowledge base article for the EM Mini Gen4, already cited by this record, read 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check (kb.shelly.cloud is open on the register). Recorded verbatim from the article's 'Device identification' and 'Short description' blocks: 'Device name: Shelly EM Mini Gen4'; 'Device model: S4EM-001PXCEU16'; 'Shelly EM Mini Gen4 is a small form factor energy meter. Enhanced with all the gen3 firmware flexibility and also some of EM type Shelly devices, it provides professional integrators with additional options for end-customer solutions. It can work standalone in a local Wi-Fi network, or it can also be operated through cloud home automation services…' (the article then names the messaging protocols those cloud services use, and states that all inbound connections are encrypted); and 'Shelly EM Mini Gen4 can be accessed, set up, and monitored remotely by the User, as well as the Device can access and communicate with an automation system, as long as they are in the same network infrastructure.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Works without the internet
- [13] Shelly's own US plan page for Shelly Premium, which prints the price, the free trial and a Standard-versus-Premium table naming exactly which energy features the plan adds — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Subscription
- [14] Connectivity Standards Alliance, certified-products database — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Research status
- [15] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
- [16] Shelly's US store product data for the EM Mini Gen4, us.shelly.com/products/shelly-em-mini-gen4.json, re-read 2026-09-19. Its description reads "ultra-compact 16A energy meter (no relay) with Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee & Bluetooth, local + cloud metering for smart home analytics". Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, HomeKit, Siri, SmartThings and Home Assistant each appear zero times in the product's own data. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [17] SmartHomeWorkflow batch escalation (a re-check of the registry this cell reasons from; no value changed) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-21
- [18] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
- [19] Shelly USA's own store listing for the Shelly EM Mini Gen4, read 2026-09-24. The listing is titled "Shelly EM Mini Gen4", is sold by Shelly USA, sells a single version, and uses the retail barcode 3800238070823 as its part code too. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-24Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [20] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-24 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-24
- [21] Home Assistant's Shelly integration page (documentation 2026.9.4), read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "There are four generations of devices and all generations are supported by this integration." · "Integration is communicating directly with the device; cloud connection is not needed." · "Shelly devices rely on SNTP for features like power measurement." · "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "Categories Binary sensor Camera Climate Cover Energy Event Light Media player Number Select Sensor Switch Text Update Valve". The page does not name the EM Mini Gen4. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
- [22] The Matter ledger, read on 2026-10-06 through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs with its built-in check passing (a product known to hold a certificate, the Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2, returned it). Vendor names asked: 'Shelly' and 'Shelly Europe'. In our words: the vendor registry, walked to the end of pagination (863 vendor records), matches Shelly at vendor 5264 (legal name Shelly Europe Ltd.) under both names. The model list for that vendor holds 25 registered models, walked to the end of pagination: Gen3 and Gen4 relays, plugs, power strips, flood and presence sensors, dimmers, input modules and two wall displays. None is the EM Mini Gen4 or any energy meter. The readHash is the model list's first page as tools/page-read.mjs returned it. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
- [23] The certification body's member page for Lumi United Technology (Aqara), read in full on 2026-10-06 as route (A)'s control. In our words: it carries a short company description and a link to the company's site, and lists no certified product and no certificate number, so it does not show the Door and Window Sensor P2 and the control failed. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
- [24] The certification body's certified-products search, asked with 'Aqara P2' on 2026-10-06 as route (B)'s control. In our words: it served the unfiltered first page, with no Aqara product on it, so the control failed. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
- [25] The certification body's certified-products search, asked with 'Meross' on 2026-10-06. In our words: it served the same first page, with the same fingerprint, as the 'Aqara P2' search, so the keyword was not applied. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
- [26] Home Assistant's Shelly integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "There are four generations of devices and all generations are supported by this integration." · "Shelly BLU series devices (e.g. Shelly BLU H&T) are not supported; please use BTHome int[egration]" · "Categories Binary sensor Camera Climate Cover Energy Event Light Media player Number Select Sensor Switch Text Update Valve". The page does not name the EM Mini Gen4 or say which energy readings it shows for it. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
Where sources disagree
Where two sources we consider reliable say different things, we publish both positions and what we recorded, rather than quietly picking one.
Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- Shelly USA store, EM Mini Gen4 product description (as of 2026-08-02): Describes the product as an 'ultra-compact 16A energy meter (no relay) with Wi-Fi, Matter, Zigbee & Bluetooth' — naming Matter as a supported protocol.
- CSA-IoT certified products database (as of 2026-08-02): Lists 'Shelly EM Mini Gen4' with certificate ZIG25332ZB332213-24, technology Zigbee 3.0, device type 'Energy meter', filed by Shelly Europe Ltd. No Matter certificate exists for this product, nor for any of Shelly's four certified energy meters, while the same company does hold Matter certificates for its Gen3 Mini switches.
We publish: unknown
We record the Matter claim as unproven rather than either repeating it or calling it false, and the middle position is the honest one here. It is not false in the sense of being obviously invented: Shelly is a real Matter participant with real Matter certificates in the same database under the same filing company, so the claim is at least plausible and may describe a planned firmware, a variant, or a certification in progress. But it is not something a buyer can rely on either, because the certificate that would make this device work in a Matter controller does not exist for this product, and a stablemate's certificate never transfers. So `matter` stays out of the protocols array, the Apple and SmartThings cells stay unknown rather than being opened by a route nobody can verify, and the record tells a buyer to ask Shelly to name the certificate before paying for Matter. The asymmetry of the two errors decides it: recording Matter and being wrong sends someone to buy a device that will not appear in their Home app, while withholding it costs a correctly-certified product one cell until the registry catches up.
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Shelly EM Mini Gen4 with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.