Product Library / Smart Locks

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-09

Schlage Sense Pro

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[6][24][28][41][43]
[5][33][38][48]
[7][39]
[8][34][39][49]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: BLUETOOTH · MATTER · NFC · THREAD · UWB · WIFI[14][20][23][26][28][31][41][45]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Needs a Thread border router in whichever ecosystem you choose — HomePod/Apple TV 4K, a Thread-capable Echo or eero, Nest Hub (2nd gen)/Nest Wifi Pro, or a Thread-capable SmartThings hub. Its WiFi radio serves only the Schlage Home app; Matter runs over Thread alone.[9][42]

Platform setup limits

Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Thread border router

Needed for every ecosystem route: Matter on this lock runs over Thread alone, so a HomePod/Apple TV 4K, Thread-capable Echo or eero, Nest Hub (2nd gen)/Nest Wifi Pro, or Thread-capable SmartThings hub is required to reach any platform. Not needed for the Schlage Home app, which the lock's own Wi-Fi radio serves.[9][42]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Lock/unlock

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [23] [26] [30] [42] [44]

Documented device function

Lock state

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [23] [26] [30] [42] [44]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[3][23][26][30][42][44]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[6][24][28][41][43]Google HomeWorks, except voice unlock[5][33][38][48]AlexaWorks[3][4][32][36][37][44][47]SmartThingsWorks[7][39]Home AssistantWorks[8][34][39][49]
Lock/unlockDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Works, except voice unlock (Matter device-type support)

Automation

? not stated

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it[51][52]

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Lock stateReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it[51][52]

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

The strongest ecosystem: Apple Home Key + UWB hands-free unlock are shipping and Apple-exclusive today — needs iPhone 11+/Apple Watch Series 6+ AND a Thread-enabled home hub (Apple TV 4K 2nd/3rd gen Wi-Fi+Ethernet, HomePod 2nd gen, HomePod mini). Apple Home control rides Matter, not a legacy HomeKit pairing; hands-free is set up in Apple Home but the three UWB entrance modes are configured in the Schlage Home app.[6][24][28][41][43]

Google Home

Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Schlage does not say whether the Sense Pro requires one. Matter over Thread requires a Google Thread border router (Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro). UWB hands-free unlocking is Apple-only today; Google Wallet Aliro keys are announced, not shipping.[5][33][38][48]

Alexa

Matter-over-Thread only — requires an Echo or eero that is a Thread border router; a plain Echo Dot gets no integration at all. Lock/unlock/status via Matter's Door Lock cluster, with Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate. UWB hands-free, entrance modes, and access-code scheduling stay in the Apple Wallet/Schlage Home apps.[3][4][32][36][37][44][47]

SmartThings

Matter-over-Thread only — requires a SmartThings hub that is a Thread border router; hubless SmartThings app users cannot connect this lock. Lock/unlock/status/codes per Matter's Door Lock cluster. UWB hands-free is not available to SmartThings users today — Samsung Wallet Aliro keys are announced pending certification, and entrance-mode config stays in the Schlage Home app.[7][39]

Home Assistant

Needs the HA Matter integration (Matter server) plus a Thread border router (e.g., HA's OpenThread Border Router add-on or a Nest hub). HA's Matter lock support is unusually deep — set/clear lock users and PIN credentials via documented actions — but UWB hands-free, entrance modes, and Schlage-specific settings stay in the Schlage/Apple apps.[8][34][39][49]

Device documentation: [3] [23] [26] [30] [42] [44]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][4][32][36][37][44][47]Matter-over-Thread only — requires an Echo or eero that is a Thread border router; a plain Echo Dot gets no integration at all. Lock/unlock/status via Matter's Door Lock cluster, with Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate. UWB hands-free, entrance modes, and access-code scheduling stay in the Apple Wallet/Schlage Home apps.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorks, except voice unlockWorks, except voice unlock — see the catch[5][33][38][48]Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Schlage does not say whether the Sense Pro requires one. Matter over Thread requires a Google Thread border router (Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro). UWB hands-free unlocking is Apple-only today; Google Wallet Aliro keys are announced, not shipping.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[6][24][28][41][43]The strongest ecosystem: Apple Home Key + UWB hands-free unlock are shipping and Apple-exclusive today — needs iPhone 11+/Apple Watch Series 6+ AND a Thread-enabled home hub (Apple TV 4K 2nd/3rd gen Wi-Fi+Ethernet, HomePod 2nd gen, HomePod mini). Apple Home control rides Matter, not a legacy HomeKit pairing; hands-free is set up in Apple Home but the three UWB entrance modes are configured in the Schlage Home app.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[7][39]Matter-over-Thread only — requires a SmartThings hub that is a Thread border router; hubless SmartThings app users cannot connect this lock. Lock/unlock/status/codes per Matter's Door Lock cluster. UWB hands-free is not available to SmartThings users today — Samsung Wallet Aliro keys are announced pending certification, and entrance-mode config stays in the Schlage Home app.In SmartThings you also need: a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[8][34][39][49]Needs the HA Matter integration (Matter server) plus a Thread border router (e.g., HA's OpenThread Border Router add-on or a Nest hub). HA's Matter lock support is unusually deep — set/clear lock users and PIN credentials via documented actions — but UWB hands-free, entrance modes, and Schlage-specific settings stay in the Schlage/Apple apps.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[1][23][26][42]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Security updates[13][40]

Schlage publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

Schlage does not publish how long this lock will keep getting security updates, and one door was closed to us, which is named here rather than counted as silence. No regulatory filing naming this model (BE889WB) was located, British or European. Allegion's own cybersecurity page at us.allegion.com/en/resources/cybersecurity.html, the surface most likely to carry a support period, turned us away and remains unread; its address is printed here so you can open it yourself, and a page that refuses to load is not being treated as evidence of absence. What Schlage does document is delivery, not duration: its Sense Pro firmware article says the lock "automatically updates its Firmware every day between 1 and 3 AM" and "will download the latest Firmware from the cloud as long as it is paired with the Schlage Home app and has a strong Wi-Fi connection", and that an update can also be started by hand at the lock, in the Schlage Home app over Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, or from Apple Home. No support period, end-of-support date or duration appears in it. So read this as bounded: no published period on the surfaces we could read, not no published period anywhere.

The catch

Brand-new (June 2026) — early-adopter firmware risk and top-of-market price.

Who it's for

Schlage loyalists who want Matter + UWB; wait a firmware cycle if risk-averse.

Check availability at Schlage

This opens Schlage's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

52 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Schlage's own launch announcement 'Schlage Launches Sense Pro™ Smart Deadbolt, Redefining Home Access Through Schlage Converge™ Technology with Ultra Wideband' (re-read 2026-08-08): 'available for $399 USD online at national retailers, including Amazon, Lowe's and The Home Depot, and will also be available for purchase on Schlage.com'; Matter over Thread named; Schlage Converge with Ultra Wideband for hands-free unlock. Plus the live smart-lock lineup navigation and product pages BE889WBFFF and FBE889WBSEPLATFFFCEN. No subscription, plan or tier named anywhere — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Research status
  2. [2] schlage.com product page BE889WBFFF ('no keyway to bump/pick'; 'Included USB-c jumpstart port for temporary power backup'; 4 AA alkaline; low-battery indicator) + official Sense Pro launch press release (up to six months expected battery life) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet, Product identity
  3. [3] CSA Matter registry cert CSA25124MAT45174-24 (csa-iot.org/csa_product/schlage-sense-pro — device type Door Lock, Matter 1.3, transport Thread) + Amazon's official Matter device-category doc (developer.amazon.com: 'Door lock — Set lock, unlock — Door Lock — Alexa.LockController') and Alexa Matter support doc for the Thread-border-router Echo list. Schlage's own works-with page names only Apple Home + Matter — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Capabilities
  4. [4] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters' (developer.amazon.com, last updated Apr 08, 2026), read 2026-08-22. The door-lock row of the supported-categories table reads across its four columns: example device 'Door lock' | required feature 'Set lock, unlock' | required Matter cluster 'Door Lock' | corresponding Alexa capability interface 'Alexa.LockController'. That is the platform-side statement that a certified Matter Door Lock reaches Alexa with lock, unlock and lock state — the fact holding this cell at full rather than at the manufacturer's word. Read at Amazon's alexaplus path, which this record's citation moved to on 2026-08-17; the older en-US/docs/alexa path serves the same table and the same Apr 08, 2026 date. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  5. [5] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types — Matter' (developers.home.google.com/matter/supported-devices): 'Remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled.' + CSA Matter cert (Thread-only transport) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  6. [6] Schlage Sense Pro FAQ (schlage.com/en/blog/product_updates/sense-pro-faq.html): 'hands-free unlocking with Apple home keys requires a Thread-enabled home hub such as Apple TV 4K (2nd generation), Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, HomePod (2nd generation) or HomePod mini' + Schlage Sense Pro works-with page (iPhone 11+/Watch S6+, 'Apple home hub with Matter') + BE889WBFFF product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  7. [7] CSA Matter cert (Door Lock, Matter 1.3, Thread-only transport) + Samsung Newsroom 2025-12-19 (news.samsung.com: SmartThings' supported Matter device list includes door locks). SmartThings-hub Thread-border-router model specifics remain a lead — the dedicated support.smartthings.com article refused our request on the day of the read — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  8. [8] Home Assistant official Matter integration docs (home-assistant.io/integrations/matter): 'a Thread border router device (Nest Hub (2nd Gen) or Nest Wi-Fi Pro or Home Assistant with the Home Assistant OpenThread Border Router app) present in your home network'; Lock listed as a supported device type with lock-credential/user management actions + CSA Matter cert — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  9. [9] Same evidence as this record's 2026-07-21 integration entries (CSA cert transport lists + vendor works-with/FAQ pages naming the Thread-border-router requirement) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  10. [10] 2026-07 web research sweep (docs/02 catalog; primary sources cited there) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-12
  11. [11] schlage.com, Sense Pro FAQ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
  12. [12] This record's own hub-requirement answer and the entry already claiming it (unnamed entry), re-read 2026-08-19., verified 2026-08-19
  13. [13] Three rungs walked 2026-08-20 for BE889WB (Sense Pro). (a) No UK PSTI statement of compliance or EU declaration naming this model was located. (b) Allegion's cybersecurity resource page (us.allegion.com/en/resources/cybersecurity.html) refused our request and is UNREAD — recorded as a refusal, never as silence. (c) Schlage Residential, "Schlage Encode Series: Firmware Update", read in full: "The Schlage Encode Series locks automatically update their firmware periodically. These locks will download and install the latest firmware from the cloud as long as they are connected to your home Wi-Fi network and paired with the Schlage Home app." No support period, end-of-support date or duration appears anywhere in it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  14. [14] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the ruled definition of a protocol the device itself speaks: certificate CSA25124MAT45174 · Matter over Thread. No new outside source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  15. [15] https://schlage.com/en/blog/product_updates/sense-pro-faq.html (read 2026-09-09) says 'Sense Pro supports 2.4GHz WiFi networks' — inside a pairing-troubleshooting answer that begins 'verify that your home hub, iPhone/Apple Watch, and Sense Pro are all on the same WiFi network'. It names one band and never says 5 GHz is unsupported, so under the claim-vocabulary bar the ambiguity leaves the band unrecorded rather than resolved. The app's platforms likewise: the launch release names iPhone models and an iOS floor for a specific UWB feature, which is a requirement on the phone for that feature, not an enumeration of the Schlage app's platforms. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  16. [16] schlage.com Sense Pro product page (BE889WBFFF), re-read 2026-09-10 — 'During a power/WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active.' Corroborated by Schlage's Sense Pro FAQ this record already cites (https://schlage.com/en/blog/product_updates/sense-pro-faq.html, re-read the same day) — 'Because Sense Pro is battery powered, in the event of a power or WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active.' and 'Does UWB still work if the power or WiFi goes out? Yes - in the event of a power or WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
    Backs: Works without the internet
  17. [17] A check for broken links on this record, 2026-09-12. https://schlage.com/en/blog/product-updates/sense-pro-faq.html no longer exists, either on a quick check or on a full read, and the address it redirects to does not exist either. https://schlage.com/en/blog/product_updates/sense-pro-faq.html opens normally and still carries the quoted pairing answer — "For app pairing, verify that your home hub, iPhone/Apple Watch, and Sense Pro are all on the same WiFi network. Sense Pro supports 2.4GHz WiFi networks." — along with the battery answers this record's powerSource entry cites ("Sense Pro comes with four AA batteries included", "up to six months of battery life", the USB-C jumpstart port) and the Thread-hub sentence its Apple entry cites. Two other entries on this record already cited the underscore form and were unaffected., verified 2026-09-12
  18. [18] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
  19. [19] csa-iot.org certified-product page for Allegion (Schlage Lock Company LLC)'s Schlage Sense Pro, read 2026-09-16. It lists certificate CSA25124MAT45174-24, certified 2025-03-06, firmware 00.26.969033, hardware A, product ID 0x3800 and vendor ID 0x1236. The vendor and product IDs are what this entry records; the page's product name is Schlage Sense Pro and the certificate is the one this record already cites for its lock capabilities. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  20. [20] Two first-party pages, both read 2026-09-16. (1) Schlage's own Sense Pro FAQ (schlage.com/en/blog/product_updates/sense-pro-faq.html), verbatim: "Because Sense Pro is battery powered, in the event of a power or WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active." · "Does UWB still work if the power or WiFi goes out? Yes - in the event of a power or WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active." · "Schlage Converge uses your speed to unlock precisely as you reach your door" under the heading "How does Schlage Converge with UWB react to different speeds of approach?" · "For app pairing, verify that your home hub, iPhone/Apple Watch, and Sense Pro are all on the same WiFi network. Sense Pro supports 2.4GHz WiFi networks." (2) The CSA certified-product page for this model (csa-iot.org/csa_product/schlage-sense-pro), whose detail block prints "Certificate ID CSA25124MAT45174-24 · Certified Date 03/06/2025 · Specification Version 1.3 · Transport Interface Thread · Primary Device Type ID 0x000A", and whose product description reads "Sense Pro offers seamless smart home interoperability with Matter over Thread". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Protocols, Research status
  21. [21] Schlage's own product page for the Sense Pro Smart Deadbolt (BE889WBFFF), read 2026-09-16. The page is live and sells the lock as a current product: it carries the Sense Pro in the site's Smart Locks navigation alongside Encode Plus, Encode, Encode Lever, Arrive and Connect, offers three handle-and-trim combinations (Latitude Lever with Century Trim, Bowery Knob with Collins Trim, Latitude Lever Handleset with Century Trim), links a Where To Buy route, and publishes the Schlage Sense Pro (BE889) Digital User Guide for download. Its feature list states, verbatim: "Built-in WiFi allows you to lock/unlock from anywhere, manage up to 250 customized access codes, view history, and control whole-home access—all when paired to the Schlage Home app and connected to a secure WiFi network" · "During a power/WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active" · "Works with Matter. Requires a Thread-enabled home hub [Apple TV 4K, Home Pod (2nd Gen) or Home Pod Mini] for iPhone/Apple Watch pairing" · "Limited lifetime mechanical and finish warranty and limited 3-year electronics warranty" · "Easy install in minutes with just a screwdriver, no hardwiring required; interactive digital instructions walk you through step by step; fits standard doors with 1-3/8 in to 1-3/4 in door thickness and 2-3/8 in or 2-3/4 in backset." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Market availability, Service status
  22. [22] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  23. [23] Schlage's own launch announcement, dated 06.16.2026 and re-read in full 2026-09-22. 'The Schlage Sense Pro Smart Deadbolt will be available for $399 USD online at national retailers, including Amazon, Lowe's and The Home Depot, and will also be available for purchase on Schlage.com. In Canada, the product will be available for $549 CAD... beginning June 29, 2026.' 'Sense Pro is the brand's first smart lock to support Matter over Thread'; 'Thread support allows Sense Pro to pair with a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub'; 'With built-in WiFi, Sense Pro can be managed remotely through the Schlage Home app, allowing users to lock and unlock from anywhere, manage up to 250 unique access codes for keyless entry, set timed auto-lock and daily locking schedules'; 'With standard usage, Sense Pro has up to six months of expected battery life and provides a low-battery indicator on the lock touchscreen and in the Schlage Home app. If the lock's batteries run out, Sense Pro includes a built-in USB-C jumpstart port for temporary power.' 'Sense Pro is Aliro compatible and, once certified, is expected to support Aliro digital keys in Samsung Wallet and Google Wallet later this year.' No plan, tier, trial or subscription is named anywhere in the release. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Protocols, Batteries, Capabilities, Research status
  24. [24] Schlage's Sense Pro FAQ, read in full 2026-09-23. Verbatim: 'Yes – hands-free unlocking with Apple home keys requires a Thread-enabled home hub such as Apple TV 4K (2nd generation), Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, HomePod (2nd generation) or HomePod mini running the latest software.' and 'enable automatic updates to keep your lock's firmware up to date by turning on automatic updates in either the Schlage Home app or Apple Home app.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  25. [25] Schlage's own Sense Pro product page (BE889WBFFF), read in full on 2026-09-30. Verbatim: "Battery operated: uses four included AA batteries; low-battery indicator on lock touchscreen and in Schlage Home app provides advance notice; included USB-c jumpstart port for temporary power backup." and the specification row "Battery Cell Type Uses 4 AA alkaline batteries". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Batteries
  26. [26] Schlage's own launch announcement dated 06.16.2026, read in full on 2026-10-03. "The Schlage Sense Pro™ Smart Deadbolt will be available for $399 USD online at national retailers, including Amazon, Lowe’s and The Home Depot, and will also be available for purchase on Schlage.com." · "Sense Pro™ is the brand’s first smart lock to support Matter over Thread" · "With built-in WiFi, Sense Pro™ can be managed remotely through the Schlage Home app, allowing users to lock and unlock from anywhere, manage up to 250 unique access codes for keyless entry, set timed auto-lock and daily locking schedules, and customize lock settings." · "With standard usage, Sense Pro™ has up to six months of expected battery life" · "Sense Pro™ is Aliro compatible and, once certified, is expected to support Aliro digital keys in Samsung Wallet and Google Wallet later this year." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Protocols, Batteries, Capabilities
  27. [27] Schlage's own product page for the Sense Pro (BE889WBFFF), read in full on 2026-10-03. The title block prints "399.00" with no struck-through figure, and the coordinating handle bundles start "From $ 449.00". Feature list: "Easy install in minutes with just a screwdriver, no hardwiring required; interactive digital instructions walk you through step by step; fits standard doors with 1-3/8 in to 1-3/4 in door thickness and 2-3/8 in or 2-3/4 in backset." · "During a power/WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active." · "Battery operated: uses four included AA batteries; low-battery indicator on lock touchscreen and in Schlage Home app provides advance notice; included USB-c jumpstart port for temporary power backup." · "Works with Matter. Requires a Thread-enabled home hub [Apple TV 4K, Home Pod (2nd Gen) or Home Pod Mini] for iPhone/Apple Watch pairing". Specification table: "Battery Cell Type Uses 4 AA alkaline batteries" and "WiFi compatibility Requires 2.4GHz WiFi network". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Batteries, Power source, Installation, Works without the internet
  28. [28] Schlage's Sense Pro FAQ, read in full on 2026-10-03. "Yes – Sense Pro comes with four AA batteries included. Because Sense Pro is battery powered, in the event of a power or WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active. With standard usage, Sense Pro has up to six months of battery life." · "Yes – hands-free unlocking with Apple home keys requires a Thread-enabled home hub such as Apple TV 4K (2nd generation), Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, HomePod (2nd generation) or HomePod mini running the latest software." · "enable automatic updates to keep your lock’s firmware up to date by turning on automatic updates in either the Schlage Home app or Apple Home app." · "For app pairing, verify that your home hub, iPhone/Apple Watch, and Sense Pro are all on the same WiFi network. Sense Pro supports 2.4GHz WiFi networks." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Protocols, Batteries, Power source, Works without the internet
  29. [29] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's product page at this address, read in full on 2026-10-03. It now describes the alliance's Aliro certification of the Schlage Sense Pro, granted in May 2026 against version 1.0 of that standard, and prints no Matter vendor or product number and no network. Its list of the maker's other certified products names three Matter certificates for the Sense Pro, among them CSA25124MAT45174-24, the one this record's 2026-07-21 and 2026-09-16 entries describe at this address. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
  30. [30] The alliance's product page for the Sense Pro's first Matter certificate, CSA25124MAT45174-24, read in full on 2026-10-03. In our words: the certificate was granted in March 2025 against Matter 1.3 for firmware 00.26.969033 and hardware revision A, under vendor number 0x1236 and product number 0x3800, with Thread as the lock's only network and the door-lock device type as its primary type. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Capabilities
  31. [31] The alliance's product page for the Sense Pro's newest Matter certificate, CSA262CBMAT52443-24, read in full on 2026-10-03. In our words: granted in May 2026 against Matter 1.4.2 for firmware 01.06.347712, under the same vendor and product numbers as the first certificate, with the door-lock device type, and naming two networks, Thread and Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols
  32. [32] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters', read in full on 2026-10-03 (last updated Apr 08, 2026). The door-lock row reads across its columns "Door lock Set lock, unlock Door Lock Alexa.LockController". — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  33. [33] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types', read in full on 2026-10-03. The device-type table lists Door Lock. The Door Locks section: "Although the Matter specification does not require PIN codes for door locks, remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled." — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  34. [34] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. "Make sure there is a Thread border router device (Nest Hub (2nd Gen) or Nest Wi-Fi Pro or Home Assistant with the Home Assistant OpenThread Border Router app) present in your home network." · "The controller then sends your network credentials to your device over Bluetooth. Once that is done, the device communicates over its native interface: Wi-Fi or Thread." · the actions list names "Set a Matter lock credential ( matter.set_lock_credential )" and "Set a Matter lock user ( matter.set_lock_user )", and the categories list includes Lock. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  35. [35] Schlage Residential's help-centre article 'Schlage Encode Series: Firmware Update' (Version 1.3 printed at its foot), read in full on 2026-10-03. "The Schlage Encode Series locks automatically update their firmware periodically. These locks will download and install the latest firmware from the cloud as long as they are connected to your home Wi-Fi network and paired with the Schlage Home app." No support period, end date or duration appears in it. The section's article list beside it names a separate article titled 'Schlage Sense Pro™: Firmware Update'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
  36. [36] Amazon's Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters page (Alexa+ path), read in full on 2026-10-03: "Door lock Set lock, unlock Door Lock Alexa.LockController". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  37. [37] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's page at this address, read in full on 2026-10-03, now shows an Aliro certificate for the Schlage Sense Pro (certificate CSA2600EALR80014-UW, certified 2026-05-05, specification 1.0). Its list of the same company's products still shows a Schlage Sense Pro Matter certificate, CSA25124MAT45174-24, the certificate this record has cited for the Matter route. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  38. [38] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-07. The device type and control support table's Door Lock row is marked available in all three control columns it prints: Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. The Door Locks section: "Although the Matter specification does not require PIN codes for door locks, remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  39. [39] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's product page for the Sense Pro's first Matter certificate, read in full on 2026-10-07. In our words: certificate CSA25124MAT45174-24, granted in March 2025 against Matter 1.3 for firmware 00.26.969033, vendor number 0x1236 and product number 0x3800, with the door lock as the primary device type. This is the certificate entry bq107-ct-20261003-sense-pro-csa-matter-2025-03 describes. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  40. [40] Schlage Residential's help-centre article 'Schlage Sense Pro™: Firmware Update' (dated May 19, 2026 on the page), read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "The Schlage Sense Pro™ automatically updates its Firmware every day between 1 and 3 AM. The lock will download the latest Firmware from the cloud as long as it is paired with the Schlage Home app and has a strong Wi-Fi connection." It then gives three manual routes: at the lock ("Press and release the blue button 5 times rapidly"), in the Schlage Home app "via Bluetooth or Wi-Fi", and through Apple Home. No support period, end-of-support date or duration appears anywhere in it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Security-update support period
  41. [41] Schlage's Sense Pro product page (BE889WBFFF), read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09; the Features list and Specifications table are in the plain text, so no rendered read was needed. Verbatim: "Works with Apple hands-free unlock with home key and NFC tap to unlock/lock on your iPhone or Apple Watch for easy and secure access to your home" · "Tap to unlock With a home key, tap to unlock Sense Pro™ using your iPhone or Apple Watch." · "Sense Pro offers seamless smart home interoperability with Matter over Thread" · "Built-in WiFi allows you to lock/unlock from anywhere, manage up to 250 customized access codes, view history, and control whole-home access—all when paired to the Schlage Home app and connected to a secure WiFi network." · "During a power/WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active." · "Battery operated: uses four included AA batteries" · "Easy install in minutes with just a screwdriver, no hardwiring required" · "Battery Cell Type Uses 4 AA alkaline batteries". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Protocols, Batteries, Power source, Installation, Works without the internet, Market availability, Service status, Apple Home compatibility, Research status
  42. [42] Schlage's launch release for the Sense Pro, read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "Sense Pro™ is the brand’s first smart lock to support Matter over Thread" · "Thread support allows Sense Pro™ to pair with a Thread-enabled Apple Home hub" · "With built-in WiFi, Sense Pro™ can be managed remotely through the Schlage Home app" · footnote 2: "Control of this accessory requires a Thread-enabled home hub — Apple TV 4K (2nd generation), Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a compatible third-party Thread border router — running the latest software." · "The Schlage Sense Pro™ Smart Deadbolt will be available for $399 USD". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Subscription, Required hub or bridge, Market availability, Service status, Capabilities, Research status
  43. [43] Schlage's Sense Pro FAQ, read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "Yes – hands-free unlocking with Apple home keys requires a Thread-enabled home hub such as Apple TV 4K (2nd generation), Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, HomePod (2nd generation) or HomePod mini running the latest software." · "Because Sense Pro is battery powered, in the event of a power or WiFi outage, hands-free unlocking, Schlage Home app access via Bluetooth and key code access are all still active. With standard usage, Sense Pro has up to six months of battery life." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Batteries, Power source, Works without the internet
  44. [44] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's product page for the Sense Pro's first Matter certificate, CSA25124MAT45174-24, read in full on 2026-10-09. In our words: granted in March 2025 against Matter 1.3 for firmware 00.26.969033, under vendor number 0x1236 and product number 0x3800, with the door lock as the primary device type and Thread as the network. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility
  45. [45] The alliance's product page for the Sense Pro's newest Matter certificate, CSA262CBMAT52443-24, read in full on 2026-10-09. In our words: granted in May 2026 against Matter 1.4.2 for firmware 01.06.347712, under the same vendor and product numbers, with the door lock as its device type and Thread and Bluetooth as its networks. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Protocols
  46. [46] The alliance's page at this address, read in full on 2026-10-09: it still describes the Aliro certification of the Schlage Sense Pro (certificate CSA2600EALR80014-UW, May 2026), and its list of the maker's other products names the Sense Pro's Matter certificates. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-09
  47. [47] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters', read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09. The door-lock row reads across its columns "Door lock Set lock, unlock Door Lock Alexa.LockController". — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  48. [48] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09. The Door Lock row is marked available in all three control columns. The Door Locks section: "remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled." — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  49. [49] Home Assistant's Matter integration page, read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09. "Make sure there is a Thread border router device (Nest Hub (2nd Gen) or Nest Wi-Fi Pro or Home Assistant with the Home Assistant OpenThread Border Router app) present in your home network." · "Once that is done, the device communicates over its native interface: Wi-Fi or Thread." · the actions list names "Set a Matter lock credential ( matter.set_lock_credential )" and "Set a Matter lock user ( matter.set_lock_user )", and the categories list includes Lock. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  50. [50] Schlage Residential's 'Schlage Encode Series: Firmware Update', read plainly and in full on 2026-10-09 with its link list; the section's list links 'Schlage Sense Pro™: Firmware Update' to schlage-res.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/47994047357204. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-09
  51. [51] SmartThings' own matter-lock Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "4662/14336" · deviceLabel: Schlage Sense Pro · vendorId: 0x1236 · productId: 0x3800 · deviceProfileName: lock-modular — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  52. [52] SmartThings' own lock-modular device profile in the matter-lock Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: lock-modular · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: lock · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: What your assistant can automate

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Schlage Sense Pro with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker