Product Library / Smart Lighting
Research profile · last verified 2026-08-18Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight
⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Ring's Smart Lighting range is a set of near-identically named fixtures, and this catalogue now holds three of them. This is the Solar Pathlight — 80 lumens, solar-charged 18650 battery, stakes into ground on its own mounting stake, $34.99. It is NOT the Pathlight Battery (ring-smart-lighting-pathlight-battery, $29.99, four D-cells, no solar) and NOT the Solar Steplight (ring-smart-lighting-solar-steplight, $29.99, 50 lumens, screws to a surface beside steps). The two pathlights differ in what powers them and nothing else a buyer would notice at the shelf.
Exactly which product this is[1][7]
- Model number
- Not established
- Generation
- Not established
- Region this page covers
- Not established
- Also sold or listed as
- Not established
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[2] | Requires a Ring Bridge — Ring states a Bridge is required for Alexa integrations. Alexa can then do on/off, brightness, motion sensitivity and alerts, snooze, on-duration and auto-shutoff.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Ring hub |
| Google Home | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[5] | No Ring-owned page documents Google Assistant support for Smart Lighting, and Ring's own Alexa article makes no mention of it. No negative statement was found either, so this is recorded as unknown rather than none. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[15] | The light is Sidewalk-only with no Matter or HomeKit radio, and no Ring documentation asserts Apple Home support. Recorded as none on the basis of the protocol constraint plus absence of any manufacturer claim. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[5] | No primary source found in either direction from a Ring-owned or Samsung-owned page. |
| Home Assistant | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[3] | Home Assistant's Ring integration documents a light platform only for cameras that carry a light, such as floodlight cameras. Standalone Smart Lighting products including pathlights and steplights are not listed as supported. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Protocols: AMAZON-SIDEWALK[1][7]
Needs before it works: Yes, for anything smart. Ring's product page carries the hard line: 'Compatible Sidewalk Hub Required. To enable smart security features, add one of the following: Ring Bridge (2nd Gen), Ring Bridge, Alarm Pro Base Station.' Its Tech Specs then soften it: 'This device now connects to the Ring app with Amazon Sidewalk… If you already own a device that supports Sidewalk coverage, you might not need Ring Bridge (2nd Gen).' ⚠ What you cannot know before you buy is whether your address actually has that coverage — it comes from Sidewalk-bridging devices nearby, other households' included — so plan on needing a Bridge or an Alarm Pro Base Station, and treat it as a bonus if you turn out not to. With no hub and no coverage, the light still works as a motion-activated solar lamp, with no app control, scheduling, grouping or linking.[7]
What it can do[10]
You can tell it to
- On/off
- Brightness
It reports
- Motion detected
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Alexa |
|---|---|
| On/off | ? not stated |
| Brightness | ✓ routines can use it |
| Motion detected | ✓ routines can use it |
Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01)
- Alexa: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[19]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[11]
No subscription is required for the light's own control, scheduling or motion activation. A Ring subscription is required only to record video on a Ring camera or doorbell you link the lights to — it gates the linked camera's recording, never the light. Note the clean verbatim 'functions with or without a Ring subscription' wording comes from Ring's Smart LED Lightbulb article rather than a Pathlight-specific page.
Maintenance reality
- Batteries:
- Works without the internet: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own material and it does not answer this either way. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.[8]
- From Ring's own Tech Specs: IP66 weather resistance, rated '-4°F to 122°F (-20°C to 50°C)'; 'Up to 80 lumens (adjustable), 3500K Color Temperature' with a 'Schedulable dusk to dawn glow'; 'Adjustable Motion Detection. Up to 120º field of view, detection angle dependent on distance from unit. 15' Range'. The pathlight is 16.8 in x 4.33 in x 4.33 in plus a 5.91 in mounting stake, in black only. In the box: 'Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight, 18650 Lithium-Ion Rechargeable Batteries, Micro USB Charging Cable, Installation Hardware'. Installation is 'Mount to most surfaces with included screws (screwdriver not included).' Ring ships it to the continental US plus Alaska and Hawaii, and not to Canada.
- Security updates: Ring declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2030 (the document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.[9]
The catch
It is a single-ecosystem device. Sidewalk-only means no Matter, no Apple Home and no Home Assistant, and even Alexa needs a Ring Bridge or another Sidewalk hub. Without a compatible hub, a $34.99 smart light is a motion-activated solar lamp.
Who it's for
Households already inside Ring's ecosystem with a Bridge or Alarm Pro base station, who want solar pathway lighting that links to Ring cameras and Alexa. Not a fit for Apple Home or Home Assistant households, or for anyone unwilling to add Ring hardware.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
20 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] ring.com/products/smart-lighting-pathlight-solar and ring.com Smart Lighting collection page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26Backs: Price, Protocols, Product identity
- [2] ring.com/support/articles/n88my 'Smart Lighting and Alexa' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [3] home-assistant.io/integrations/ring/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [4] ring.com/support/articles/kufz9 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26
- [5] Absence check across ring.com product, support and collection pages — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-26Backs: Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [6] ring.com Smart Lighting collection page listing Solar Pathlight at $34.99, verified 2026-08-22Backs: Market availability
- [7] ring.com, Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Price, Protocols, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Product identity
- [8] ring.com, Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight product page (absence check) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Works without the internet
- [9] Ring, "Information on Ring Devices Software Security Updates" (ring.com support article ri2p1), read 2026-08-19; page states "Last updated 6 days ago". Smart Lighting table row: "Solar Pathlight | 31 December 2030", under the column heading "Software security updates until at least"; the same table carries "Pathlight Battery" and "Solar Steplight" as separate rows. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19Backs: Security-update support period
- [10] Ring's own support article "Smart Lighting + Alexa", read 2026-08-20: through Alexa users can "Turn your Smart Lights on and off" and adjust brightness, control groups, "Manage your Ring app settings like Groups, Motion Sensitivity, Motion Alerts, Turn On Duration, and Auto Shut-Off Timer", and — the automation-facing part — create "Alexa Routines triggered by motion detection from the devices' sensors". The article states plainly: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." This model's own Ring product page, read the same day, states adjustable motion detection with a stated field of view and 15' range, brightness and motion sensitivity adjustable "from anywhere — all from the Ring app", schedulable operation, and that "A Ring Bridge or a compatible hub is required to control Ring Smart Lights unless your area has Sidewalk coverage." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [11] Ring support, 'Setting up and installing your Ring Alarm Base Station', read 2026-08-21 — 'If this is your first Ring product, you will be asked to set up an account.' The same article adds 'you can have multiple locations (up to 10) on one Ring account', so the account is the container the products live in. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [12] No source was read for this entry. It records how this record's existing evidence for its no-support ecosystem cells was classified, so a later pass reads the classification instead of working it out again. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-22
- [13] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance (filling in which region this record's security-support facts describe), verified 2026-08-27
- [14] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [15] Ring, Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight product page (https://ring.com/products/smart-lighting-pathlight-solar), read 2026-09-03 (the page loaded in full, 830 KB). THE SURFACE SEARCHED AND WHAT IT PUBLISHES: the page carries exactly one platform badge, verbatim "Works with Amazon Sidewalk", and one connectivity statement, verbatim "Connect with Amazon Sidewalk to use customizable smart controls in the Ring app and sync with other Ring smart lights and select Ring doorbells, cameras, and Alexa-enabled devices." The strings "Apple", "HomeKit" and "Siri" occur ZERO times on that page, as does "Google". This is the vendor's published platform list omitting Apple Home, which is the standard this catalogue requires before recording that a product does not work with Apple Home — recorded with the date and the surface, rather than resting on a general search. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-03Backs: Apple Home compatibility
- [16] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [17] https://ring.com/products/smart-lighting-pathlight-solar, read 2026-09-12. Power and Connectivity, verbatim: 'Power Solar and rechargeable battery' · 'Battery 18650 Lithium-Ion Rechargeable Battery. Can recharge via Micro USB.' ⚠ Calling it battery-powered is a limit of our vocabulary, not the whole reading: the light runs from a rechargeable cell that its panel (or a Micro USB cable) recharges, there is no mains option, and our list of power types has no solar term. Same call, on the same wording, as the Ring Smart Lighting Solar Steplight, and as the eufy SoloCam S340 for a solar-charged cell. The power-source answer was never filled in on this record rather than refused: its 2026-08-18 re-verification read this same row. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12Backs: Power source
- [18] The same page names the Ring app three times ('all from the Ring app'; 'Complete control from the Ring app') and carries no App Store link, no Google Play link and no platform row. The app's platforms stay unrecorded: we looked, and Ring does not publish them. Wi-Fi bands cannot be researched on this record: its only radio is Amazon Sidewalk. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
- [19] Ring's own plans page, ring.com/plans, read 2026-09-15 in a rendering browser (17,294 characters of visible text). It is headed 'Ring Protect Plans' and enumerates four tiers with what each covers. Verbatim: 'Ring Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr — Video recording, smart alerts, and more, for one device. Up to 180 Days of Video Playback, Person, Package, and Vehicle Alerts, Extended Live View, Device Modes and more'; 'Ring Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr — Video recording, smart alerts, and more for all devices at one location'; 'Ring Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr — Get intelligent assistant features that tell you more and automatically protect, plus emergency response when your system is triggered ... Video Descriptions, Familiar Faces, 24/7 Professional Monitoring, Active Warnings and more'; 'Virtual Security Guard $99.00/mo — Live Video Monitoring, Real-Time Intruder Deterrence'. Its own feature glossary defines every benefit against cameras, doorbells or the Alarm: 'Video Event History — Save, share and replay recorded videos of every doorbell ring, motion event, and Live View session'; 'Smart Alerts — only getting an alert when your camera spots a person, package, or vehicle'; 'Device Modes — Customize when your cameras record, remotely Arm and Disarm your Ring Alarm'; add-ons for 'Pro Intelligence for one camera', '24/7 Continuous Recording for one camera' and 'Smoke & CO Monitoring at one location'. The words 'light', 'lighting', 'pathlight' and 'solar' occur ZERO times anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15Backs: Subscription
- [20] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing no-support answer for Apple Home now names the platform rule the reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.