Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-25

Ring Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Ring sells two pathlights whose names differ by one word and whose running costs differ completely, and this catalogue holds both. This is the Pathlight Battery — $29.99, powered by '4 D-cell Batteries (not included)', rated for about a year of light per set. It is NOT the Solar Pathlight (ring-smart-lighting-solar-pathlight, $34.99, solar-charged 18650 with a USB fallback), and it is not the Solar Steplight (ring-smart-lighting-solar-steplight, a smaller surface-mounted fixture). ⊕ Ring also sells this fixture in 2-pack and 4-pack bundles with a Ring Bridge (2nd Gen) under separate product pages; this record covers the single unit. ⚠ Deliberately NOT carried over from the solar sibling: its 80-lumen output figure. This page publishes no lumen figure at all — see theCatch.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][15]
[1][14]
[1][4][14][16]
[1][14]
[5]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: AMAZON-SIDEWALK[1][14]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Ring Alarm Pro Base Station

Yes for anything smart — stated conditionally by Ring, and the condition is one the buyer cannot check before ordering. The product page carries a warning block: 'Compatible Sidewalk Hub Required. To enable smart security features, add one of the following: Ring Bridge (2nd Gen), Ring Bridge, Alarm Pro Base Station.' The Tech Specs on the same page then say 'If you already own a device that supports Sidewalk coverage, you might not need Ring Bridge (2nd Gen)', and Ring's Bridge accessory copy on that page reads 'A Ring Bridge or a compatible hub is required to control Ring Smart Lights unless your area has Sidewalk coverage.' ⚠ Amazon Sidewalk coverage comes from Sidewalk-bridging devices in the vicinity — other households' included — so whether a $49.99 Bridge is needed is answered by the neighbourhood, not the box. Under Supported Devices, Ring gives no list of its own, only a pointer: 'See the full list of Amazon Sidewalk Compatible Devices.' Neither surface states what the light does with no hub and no coverage, and that is left as a gap rather than filled with an inference.[1][14]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [8]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [8]

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [8]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[8]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeDoesn't work[2][15]Google HomeInconclusive[1][14]AlexaWorks[1][4][14][16]SmartThingsInconclusive[1][14]Home AssistantDoesn't work[5]
On/offDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Doesn't work

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Doesn't work

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Doesn't work

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Amazon Sidewalk is the only radio Ring names for this product — no Matter, Thread or HomeKit appears anywhere on the page — and no Ring documentation asserts Apple Home support. Recorded as none on the protocol constraint plus the absence of any manufacturer claim, which is a stronger negative than promotional silence alone.[2][15]

Google Home

Not established. Google Home and Google Assistant appear nowhere on this product's page, and Ring's own Smart Lighting Alexa article does not mention them. No negative statement was found either, so this is unknown rather than none.[1][14]

Alexa

Requires Ring hardware first: Ring's own Alexa article states that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' With one, the documented controls are on/off for individual lights or groups, brightness, motion sensitivity, alerts, auto shut-off timers, group turn-on duration and alert snooze timing. This product's own page describes the same shape in marketing terms — 'Connect with select Alexa-enabled devices in the Ring app to activate Ring smart lights and adjust settings with the sound of your voice.' Recorded as full against that documented control set, not as a claim about every Alexa feature.[1][4][14][16]

On/off: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.

Brightness: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.

Motion detected: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.

SmartThings

Not established in either direction. SmartThings appears nowhere on this product's page, and we read no Samsung page naming this product.[1][14]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant's own Ring integration documentation enumerates the devices it supports — doorbells, stick-up and floodlight cameras, chimes and intercoms — and standalone Smart Lighting fixtures appear nowhere on that list. Recorded as none because this is an explicit supported-device enumeration that omits the product, not silence on a marketing page.[5]

Device documentation: [8]

  • Alexa: Ring states the requirement flatly in its own Alexa article: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." Without a Bridge (or a compatible hub, or Sidewalk coverage in the area) the light is not reachable from Alexa at all — and with one, Alexa can turn it on and off, set brightness, and use its motion as a Routine trigger.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][4][14][16]Requires Ring hardware first: Ring's own Alexa article states that 'A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations.' With one, the documented controls are on/off for individual lights or groups, brightness, motion sensitivity, alerts, auto shut-off timers, group turn-on duration and alert snooze timing. This product's own page describes the same shape in marketing terms — 'Connect with select Alexa-enabled devices in the Ring app to activate Ring smart lights and adjust settings with the sound of your voice.' Recorded as full against that documented control set, not as a claim about every Alexa feature.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Ring hub
Google HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][14]Not established. Google Home and Google Assistant appear nowhere on this product's page, and Ring's own Smart Lighting Alexa article does not mention them. No negative statement was found either, so this is unknown rather than none.
Apple HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][15]Amazon Sidewalk is the only radio Ring names for this product — no Matter, Thread or HomeKit appears anywhere on the page — and no Ring documentation asserts Apple Home support. Recorded as none on the protocol constraint plus the absence of any manufacturer claim, which is a stronger negative than promotional silence alone.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][14]Not established in either direction. SmartThings appears nowhere on this product's page, and we read no Samsung page naming this product.
Home AssistantDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[5]Home Assistant's own Ring integration documentation enumerates the devices it supports — doorbells, stick-up and floodlight cameras, chimes and intercoms — and standalone Smart Lighting fixtures appear nowhere on that list. Recorded as none because this is an explicit supported-device enumeration that omits the product, not silence on a marketing page.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][6][14]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[9]

No subscription is named anywhere on this product's page — the app controls, motion settings, auto-shutoff timer and device linking are all described with no plan attached. ⚠ Scope stated rather than borrowed: Ring's clean verbatim sentence 'Ring Smart LED Lightbulbs function with or without a Ring subscription' belongs to the Smart LED Lightbulb article, a different product family, and is not repeated on any pathlight surface. A Ring subscription gates recording on a linked camera or doorbell, never the light.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

Three things sit outside the $29.99, and Ring puts all three on its own page. The batteries are 'not included' and there are four D-cells of them. The smart half needs a Sidewalk hub — the warning block says one is required, the Tech Specs say you 'might not need' one if your area already has Sidewalk coverage, and the Bridge Ring sells for that job is $49.99 — so whether this is a $29.99 light or a $79.99 light is decided by your neighbourhood. And it stakes into ground: setup is 'Insert into soil or gravel', so a paved or decked path is the wrong site. ⚠ One absence worth naming because it is the number buyers compare on: Ring publishes NO lumen figure for this light. Its marketing line is 'Shine 360 degrees of light on your walkways' — a direction, not a brightness. The 80-lumen figure that circulates for 'Ring pathlight' belongs to the SOLAR Pathlight, a different product, and it is not carried over here.

Who it's for

A household already inside Ring — with a Bridge, an Alarm Pro Base Station, or genuine Sidewalk coverage — that wants motion-triggered light along a soft-ground path and wants it linked to Ring cameras and Alexa. The five-minute, no-tools install and a year per set of D-cells make it the least effortful fixture in this range. It is the wrong buy for an Apple Home or Home Assistant household, for a paved path, and for anyone who needs to know in advance how bright it actually is.

Check availability at Ring

This opens Ring's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

18 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] ring.com, Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Batteries
  2. [2] ring.com, Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery product page — the same 2026-08-18 read recorded in full on this record's own product-page entry, cited here for its silence rather than its statements. Amazon Sidewalk is the only radio named anywhere on the page, and there is no Apple Home, HomeKit, Siri, Matter or Thread mention of any kind. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  3. [3] search-engine summary, rejected as a source, verified 2026-08-18
  4. [4] ring.com support, Smart Lighting and Alexa — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  5. [5] home-assistant.io, Ring integration documentation — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] ring.com support, Ring Smart LED Lightbulbs — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Subscription
  7. [7] Ring, "Information on Ring Devices Software Security Updates" (ring.com support article ri2p1), read 2026-08-19; page states "Last updated 6 days ago". Smart Lighting table row: "Pathlight Battery | 31 December 2030", under the column heading "Software security updates until at least". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Security-update support period
  8. [8] Ring's own support article "Smart Lighting + Alexa", read 2026-08-20: through Alexa users can "Turn your Smart Lights on and off" and adjust brightness, control groups, "Manage your Ring app settings like Groups, Motion Sensitivity, Motion Alerts, Turn On Duration, and Auto Shut-Off Timer", and — the automation-facing part — create "Alexa Routines triggered by motion detection from the devices' sensors". The article states plainly: "A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." This model's own Ring product page, read the same day, states adjustable motion detection with a stated field of view and 15' range, brightness and motion sensitivity adjustable "from anywhere — all from the Ring app", schedulable operation, and that "A Ring Bridge or a compatible hub is required to control Ring Smart Lights unless your area has Sidewalk coverage." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  9. [9] Ring support, 'Setting up and installing your Ring Alarm Base Station', read 2026-08-21 — 'If this is your first Ring product, you will be asked to set up an account.' The same article adds 'you can have multiple locations (up to 10) on one Ring account', so the account is the container the products live in. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  10. [10] No source was read for this entry. It records how this record's existing evidence for its no-support ecosystem cells was classified, so a later pass reads the classification instead of working it out again. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-22
  11. [11] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the pass that recorded which region this product's security-update statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  13. [13] Record-keeping entry, 2026-09-15: this record already said Apple Home is not supported, and that answer now names the shared Apple Home rule the reason rests on, verified 2026-09-15
  14. [14] Ring's own US product page for the Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery, read in full 2026-09-25 including its Tech Specs table. Verbatim and unchanged since 2026-08-18: "Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery" at "$29.99" with no was-price; "Compatible Sidewalk Hub Required To enable smart security features, add one of the following: Ring Bridge (2nd Gen) , Ring Bridge , Alarm Pro Base Station"; "If you already own a device that supports Sidewalk coverage, you might not need Ring Bridge (2nd Gen)"; the Bridge (2nd Gen) accessory at "$49.99"; "Power 4 D-cell Batteries (not included)"; "Battery 1 Year under normal use (8-10 light activations a day at Level 10 brightness, 30 seconds duration)"; "Average Install Time 5 Minutes"; "Setup Requirements Insert into soil or gravel"; "Warranty One-year limited warranty"; and the Alexa line "Connect with select Alexa-enabled devices in the Ring app to activate Ring smart lights and adjust settings with the sound of your voice." No lumen figure, no subscription statement, and no Google Home, SmartThings, Apple Home, HomeKit, Matter or Thread mention anywhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-25
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Batteries
  15. [15] Ring's own US product page for the Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery, the same 2026-09-25 full read, cited for what it still does not say: its connectivity row names Amazon Sidewalk as the only radio ("Connect with Amazon Sidewalk to use customizable smart controls in the Ring app") and Apple Home, HomeKit, Siri, Matter and Thread appear nowhere on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-25
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  16. [16] Ring's support article 'Smart Lighting and Alexa', read in full on 2026-10-07 (3,146 characters; the same fingerprint as entry bq107-t9-20261003-steplight-alexa-article on the Solar Steplight record and as change detection's stored copy). Verbatim: "Ring Skill is compatible with all Ring Smart Lighting, 3P Works With Ring Light Switches and non Ring landscape lighting connected to the Ring Smart Lighting Transformer." · "Note : A Ring Bridge is required for Alexa integrations." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  17. [17] This record's own entries, which already quote Ring's warning block naming the Alarm Pro Base Station among the Sidewalk hubs this light accepts., verified 2026-10-12
  18. [18] Ring's own US product page for the Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery, read in full on 2026-10-13 including its Tech Specs table. Verbatim: "Average Install Time 5 Minutes" · "Setup Requirements Insert into soil or gravel." · "Power 4 D-cell Batteries (not included)". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: Installation

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Ring Smart Lighting Pathlight Battery with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker