Product Library / Sensors & Detectors
Research profile · verified 2026-11-06Philips Hue Outdoor Sensor
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your home?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: ZIGBEE · BLUETOOTH[1][3]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Philips Hue Bridge, on the page's FAQ: 'Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app.' The shop block says the same. The page's specification table also prints 'Max. lights per switch 10 if not linked to Hue bridge'; that disagreement is recorded on this record.[1][3]
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Philips Hue Bridge
Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Philips Hue Bridge
Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Philips Hue Bridge
Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Compatibility is named, but the connection method is not documented here. A working path cannot be drawn yet.
Philips Hue Bridge
Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.[1][3]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: Maker’s hub or bridge
Setup and sources
Maker’s hub or bridge. Required product →
Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Google Home · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: Maker’s hub or bridge
Setup and sources
Maker’s hub or bridge. Required product →
Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Alexa · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: Maker’s hub or bridge
Setup and sources
Maker’s hub or bridge. Required product →
Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
SmartThings · Works per the maker; details unconfirmed
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: Maker’s hub or bridge
Setup and sources
Maker’s hub or bridge. Required product →
Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Home Assistant · Inconclusive
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.
Connection documentation: [1] [3]
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- None documented by the vendor
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | Google HomeWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | AlexaWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][3] | Home AssistantInconclusive[1][3] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motion detectedReported event | Event Not stated | Event Not stated | Event Not stated | Event Not stated | Event Inconclusive |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Google Home
Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Alexa
Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
SmartThings
Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.[1][3]
Home Assistant
Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record.[1][3]
Platform documentation:
philips-hue.com · checked 2026-11-06
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Alexa among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge |
| Google Home | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Google Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.In Google Home you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge |
| Apple Home | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Apple Home among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same table also reads 'HomeKit compatible Yes'. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.In Apple Home you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge |
| SmartThings | Works per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][3] | Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the third-party systems on this product page, but does not say what this product does there or which route it takes. The same list appears across Hue product pages, so treat it as a statement about the Hue system.In SmartThings you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge |
| Home Assistant | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][3] | Not established. Signify's product page does not list Home Assistant among the third-party systems, and no Home Assistant page was read for this record. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[1][3]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
The product page names no plan or subscription for this sensor.
Maintenance and offline use
- Batteries: AA (LR6) x2, included
- Works without the internet: Not established — we have not sourced this yet. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- Two AA cells included ('Batteries included 2 x AA', 'Battery type AA (LR6)'). The page's 'Minimal battery lifetime' row reads '2' with no unit, so no battery life is recorded. IP54, which the page's FAQ explains as 'protected against dust and splashing water', operating temperature -20°C to 45°C, wall mount with an adjustable spot head, and 'Zigbee repeater functionality No'. Signify's table lists 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee' and 'Matter functionality Via Hue Bridge'. Two-year warranty.
- Security updates: Philips Hue states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller (the document this comes from names no country, so which markets it legally covers is not stated). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.[1][3]
Where Philips Hue's own pages disagree
Required hub or bridge
- “Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app.” Signify's US product page for the outdoor sensor, the FAQ answer 'What do I need to use a Hue motion sensor?', read 2026-10-23
- “Max. lights per switch 10 if not linked to Hue bridge” Signify's US product page for the outdoor sensor, specification table, the 'Max. lights per switch' row, read 2026-10-23
On whether it needs a hub or bridge, this page shows A Hue Bridge is required. Signify's FAQ for the outdoor sensor says it needs a Hue Bridge, while the same page's specification table gives a 10-light figure without one, so this page lists the Bridge as required.
Who it's for
A Hue household with a Bridge that wants outdoor lights to come on when someone walks by, from a battery sensor rated IP54 for a garden, patio or entrance.
This opens Philips Hue's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
3 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Outdoor sensor, read in full on 2026-10-23. Verbatim: 'Outdoor sensor $54.99' · 'Current price is $54.99' · 'Indoor/Outdoor Outdoor Amount 1 In stock' · 'For a Outdoor sensor a bridge is required' · 'Control your outdoor lights automatically with a Philips Hue outdoor sensor. Place the battery-powered, completely wireless sensor anywhere — and then simply walk by to trigger your lights.' · 'Wireless installation' · 'Weatherproof' · 'Color Black' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003067402' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677570989' · 'Battery type AA (LR6)' · 'IP code IP54' · 'Zigbee repeater functionality No' · 'Mounting options Wall' · 'Batteries included 2 x AA' · 'Max. lights per switch 10 if not linked to Hue bridge' · 'Minimal battery lifetime 2' · 'Operational temperature -20°C to 45°C' · 'HomeKit compatible Yes' · 'Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later' · 'WiFi Works without Wi-Fi' · 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller' · 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'Compatible operating systems iOS, Android' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee' · 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'Matter functionality Via Hue Bridge' · 'Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-23Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Security-update support period
- [2] Carried from this unit's read of Signify's US product page for the Outdoor sensor, read 2026-10-23., verified 2026-10-23
- [3] Signify's US Philips Hue product page for the Outdoor sensor, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: 'Outdoor sensor $54.99' · 'Current price is $54.99' · 'Indoor/Outdoor Outdoor Amount 1 In stock' · 'For a Outdoor sensor a bridge is required' · 'Control your outdoor lights automatically with a Philips Hue outdoor sensor. Place the battery-powered, completely wireless sensor anywhere — and then simply walk by to trigger your lights.' · 'Wireless installation' · 'Weatherproof' · 'Color Black' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003067402' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677570989' · 'Battery type AA (LR6)' · 'IP code IP54' · 'Zigbee repeater functionality No' · 'Mounting options Wall' · 'Batteries included 2 x AA' · 'Max. lights per switch 10 if not linked to Hue bridge' · 'Minimal battery lifetime 2' · 'Operational temperature -20°C to 45°C' · 'HomeKit compatible Yes' · 'Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later' · 'WiFi Works without Wi-Fi' · 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller' · 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'Compatible operating systems iOS, Android' · 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee' · 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'Matter functionality Via Hue Bridge' · 'Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app.' · 'Software upgradable Yes' · 'The outdoor sensor has an IP54 rating, meaning that it's protected against dust and splashing water and will continue working in most weather conditions.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities, Security-update support period
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Philips Hue Outdoor Sensor with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.