Product Library / Sensors & Detectors

Research profile · verified 2026-10-27 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02

Philips Hue Motion Sensor (indoor)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]
[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]
[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]
[1][13][32][47][48][54]
[10][20][28][37][52][61]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ZIGBEE[1][2][3][6][7][8][9][23][24][33][34][49][56]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Philips Hue Bridge

Philips Hue Bridge (required — the official product page states a Bridge is required for the Motion sensor; there is no Bluetooth-only mode for this accessory)[1][2][4][7][9][10][20][22][23][25][28][32][33][35][37][48][49][50][52][54][55][57][61]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [14] [20] [28] [37] [52] [61]

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [14] [20] [28] [37] [52] [61]

Documented device function

Illuminance reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [14] [20] [28] [37] [52] [61]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[14][20][28][37][52][61]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
Not established from vendor documentation
Reported events
3 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]Google HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]AlexaWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][13][32][47][48][54]Home AssistantWorks[10][20][28][37][52][61]
Motion detectedReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Temperature readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Illuminance readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Through the Hue Bridge: Signify marks this sensor 'HomeKit compatible' and lists Apple Home among its voice assistants, with the Bridge stated as required. Its page does not say which readings reach Apple Home, so motion detected, temperature reading and illuminance reading are all unconfirmed there.[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]

Google Home

Through the Hue Bridge: Signify lists Google Assistant among the voice assistants for this sensor, with the Bridge stated as required. Its page does not say which readings reach Google Home, so motion detected, temperature reading and illuminance reading are all unconfirmed there.[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]

Alexa

Through the Hue Bridge: Signify lists Amazon Alexa among the voice assistants for this sensor, with the Bridge stated as required. Its page does not say which readings reach Alexa, so motion detected, temperature reading and illuminance reading are all unconfirmed there.[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]

SmartThings

Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the systems this sensor works with, but does not say how it connects or which readings come through.[1][13][32][47][48][54]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant's own Hue integration reads this sensor through the Hue Bridge, with motion, light level and temperature as separate readings. Home Assistant says a square (V2) Bridge sends changes to it straight away over your home network, while the older round Bridge, which Home Assistant notes Signify no longer supports, is checked on a timer instead.[10][20][28][37][52][61]

Device documentation: [14] [20] [28] [37] [52] [61]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]Through the Hue Bridge: Signify lists Amazon Alexa among the voice assistants for this sensor, with the Bridge stated as required. Its page does not say which readings reach Alexa, so motion detected, temperature reading and illuminance reading are all unconfirmed there.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge
Google HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]Through the Hue Bridge: Signify lists Google Assistant among the voice assistants for this sensor, with the Bridge stated as required. Its page does not say which readings reach Google Home, so motion detected, temperature reading and illuminance reading are all unconfirmed there.In Google Home you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge
Apple HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][13][22][32][45][48][54]Through the Hue Bridge: Signify marks this sensor 'HomeKit compatible' and lists Apple Home among its voice assistants, with the Bridge stated as required. Its page does not say which readings reach Apple Home, so motion detected, temperature reading and illuminance reading are all unconfirmed there.In Apple Home you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][13][32][47][48][54]Signify lists Samsung SmartThings among the systems this sensor works with, but does not say how it connects or which readings come through.In SmartThings you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[10][20][28][37][52][61]Home Assistant's own Hue integration reads this sensor through the Hue Bridge, with motion, light level and temperature as separate readings. Home Assistant says a square (V2) Bridge sends changes to it straight away over your home network, while the older round Bridge, which Home Assistant notes Signify no longer supports, is checked on a timer instead.In Home Assistant you also need: a Philips Hue Bridge

Plans and ongoing costs[5][18][26][36][51][58]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own setup material and it does not say either way. Treat it as unanswered rather than as a no.[15][31][41][60]

No subscription for motion/automation functions. (Hue Secure camera plans exist elsewhere in the lineup but do not apply to this sensor.)

Maintenance and offline use[7]

Who it's for

Suits homes already running a Hue Bridge that want light-aware motion automation (with temperature and lux readings) inside the Hue ecosystem or Home Assistant.

Check availability at Philips Hue

This opens Philips Hue's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

66 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] www.philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-motion-sensor/046677570972, read in full 2026-09-22. Price, verbatim: 'Current price is $48.99 $48.99', 'In stock', beside a store-wide 'Halloween sale: Save 30% when you buy 2 or more!'. Bridge, verbatim: 'For a Motion sensor a bridge is required'. Specification block, verbatim: 'Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677570972', 'Material number (12NC) 929003067502', 'Battery type AAA (LR03)', 'Batteries included 2 x AAA', 'Minimal battery lifetime 2', 'IP code IP42', 'Service Warranty 2 year(s)', 'Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller', 'Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later', 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana', 'WiFi Works without Wi-Fi', 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)', 'Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee', 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos'. Description: 'The battery-powered Hue motion sensor can be easily installed anywhere in your home.' FAQ: 'Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Price, Protocols, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Works without the internet, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/works-with/matter, read in full 2026-09-22. Verbatim: 'Bridge has been updated to support Matter, meaning that your Hue lights and accessories automatically support Matter, too.'; 'All Philips Hue products — including both new and existing ones — will work with Matter if connected via Hue Bridge.'; 'The Philips Hue Play HDMI sync box and the dial on the Tap dial switch do not support Matter. Because the Philips Hue Bridge enables Matter support, products connected via Bluetooth cannot be used with Matter.' The platforms it names are 'Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, and Google Assistant'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
    page changed on 2026-10-10, after this reading
  3. [3] www.philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/faq/controls/how-to-connect-philips-hue-without-a-bridge, read in full 2026-09-22. Verbatim: 'Many newer Hue bulbs include Bluetooth connectivity'; the comparison table still reads 'Without Hue Bridge (Bluetooth) Up to 10 lights per control source' against 'With Hue Bridge (Zigbee/Matter) Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Protocols
  4. [4] www.philips-hue.com/en-us/support/connect-hue-product/accessories/motion-sensor, read in full 2026-09-22. The guide still offers one route, 'Connect with a Bridge': 'Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app.' then '1. Open the Hue app. 2. On your Home tab, tap the three dots (…) icon. Then, tap Add devices … 4. Scan the QR code.' No sign-in step appears in the procedure. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  5. [5] www.philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/propositions/smart-home-security/subscription-plans, read in full 2026-09-22. The tiers are unchanged, verbatim: 'Free $0/Year', 'Basic plan $39,99 per camera /year', 'Plus plan $99,99/Year', and the device-scope row 'Cameras All cameras Pay per camera All cameras³'. Every paid feature listed is a camera video feature: 'Video clip recording', 'Activity and Package zones', 'Video history'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Subscription
  6. [6] philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-motion-sensor/046677570972 (re-read 2026-08-09): 'Communication protocol: Bluetooth, Zigbee' in the spec table, alongside 'What do I need to use a Hue motion sensor? Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  7. [7] https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-motion-sensor/046677570972 re-read from RAW MARKUP 2026-08-09 (official product+spec page). Price $48.99 UNCHANGED since 2026-07-16, taken from the offer the page publishes in its own machine-readable form ('price': '48.99', availability InStock) rather than from a search across the whole page. Verbatim from the specification block: 'For a Motion sensor a new bridge is required' · 'Battery type AAA (LR03)' · 'Batteries included 2 x AAA' · 'Minimal battery lifetime 2' · 'IP code IP42' · 'Weight 65 g' · 'Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)' · 'EAN/UPC - product 046677570972' · 'Material number (12NC) 929003067502' · 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems: Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required): Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Price, Protocols, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Market availability, Service status, Research status
  8. [8] ⚠ CONTROLLED, NOT ASSUMED — 2026-08-09. The specification block on https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-motion-sensor/046677570972 reads 'Communication protocol: Bluetooth, Zigbee'. It was NOT taken at face value, because that same table carries sections headed 'The bulb' and 'The switch' on a motion-sensor page and therefore renders family-level template fields rather than this accessory's own radios. Two controls, both against Signify's own words: (1) the page itself states 'For a Motion sensor a new bridge is required', which a Bluetooth-capable Hue accessory would not; (2) Signify's Bridge-free guidance at https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/faq/controls/how-to-connect-philips-hue-without-a-bridge compares the two paths in a table — 'Without Hue Bridge (Bluetooth): Up to 10 lights per control source' versus 'With Hue Bridge (Zigbee/Matter): Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories' — so ACCESSORIES exist only on the Zigbee/Bridge side, and Bluetooth is described throughout as a bulb feature ('Many newer Hue bulbs include Bluetooth connectivity'). Bluetooth is therefore deliberately NOT added to this record's list of radios. Adding a radio a device does not have is the nest-learning-thermostat-4 error, and this is the same shape as the Aqara FP2 cross-sell finding of 2026-08-08. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  9. [9] philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/works-with/matter (official Matter page) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
    page changed on 2026-10-10, after this reading
  10. [10] home-assistant.io/integrations/hue/ (official HA docs) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Home Assistant compatibility
  11. [11] community.smartthings.com/t/hue-motion-sensor-brightness-and-temperature/305338, verified 2026-07-16Someone's observation, checked 2026-07-16This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-07-16.
  12. [12] Signify's Philips Hue product spec sheet for this model and philips-hue.com/en-us/explore-hue/works-with/matter — both already cited on this record or on the shared Hue-Bridge-to-Matter rule attached to it — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
  13. [13] philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-motion-sensor/046677570972 (read 2026-08-19), verbatim: 'Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required): Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana' · compatibility with 3rd party systems: 'Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos' · 'For a Motion sensor a bridge is required'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  14. [14] Home Assistant's Hue integration documentation, read 2026-08-20, which states the integration supports "Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors)" — an ecosystem integration doc enumerating what the accessory exposes, with the Hue Bridge as the path. The same page notes Hue remotes and switches are usable "as device triggers for automations". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  15. [15] Philips Hue's own setup guide "How to set up a Hue motion sensor", read 2026-08-21. Unlike the sibling smart-button guide, which publishes both a "Connect with a Bridge" and a "Connect without a Bridge" tab, this page offers ONE route: "Connect with a Bridge — Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app. Haven't done that yet? Learn how to set up the Bridge. 1. Open the Hue app… 4. Scan the QR code." No sign-in step appears in it. Signify's Matter topic (https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/support/topic/matter/100024) closes the other door explicitly: "All Philips Hue lights and smart accessories, such as dimmer switches and smart buttons, will work with Matter if connected via the Hue Bridge." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  16. [16] A clause describing a cloud path was REMOVED from this record's maintenance note on 2026-08-22: "Local control via Bridge; Alexa/Google exposure rides Hue's cloud integrations." No source on this record supports it. The Signify spec block behind that note covers battery type, IP rating, accessory cap and the two works-with lists, and never mentions cloud. The same mechanism had already been taken out of the Alexa and Google notes on 2026-08-19; this was the third place it appeared on the record, and that earlier fix did not reach it. It also read against this record's own finding, drawn from that same entry, that the core function runs without the internet — a reader saw both statements on one page. The supported half ("Local control via Bridge") went with it as redundant: localOperation renders its own line. No replacement citation was sought, because the absence of support is the finding., verified 2026-08-22
  17. [17] https://www.philips-hue.com/en-us/p/hue-motion-sensor/046677570972 (read 2026-09-09), Technical specifications: 'Philips Hue App: Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later' — the vendor enumerating its app's platforms with a floor for each — and 'Battery type: AAA (LR03)', 'Batteries included: 2 x AAA', 'Minimal battery lifetime: 2' years. The page's own description adds 'The battery-powered Hue motion sensor can be easily installed anywhere in your home', so battery comes from the vendor's power spec rather than from the device class. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: App platforms, Power source
  18. [18] Philips Hue's own 'Home security plans' page, the plan surface its Hue Secure section links to as 'Choose a plan', read 2026-09-15 (rendered read). Verbatim on what the plans are for: 'Hue Secure lets you rest easy with the feeling that someone's always home — and Secure plans let you choose exactly how to monitor your home in real time.'; 'Philips Hue Secure cameras and doorbell come with instant, free access to features, including free 24-hour to video history, live streaming, light and sound alarms, instant notifications, and more.'; 'Basic plan — Get 30 days of video history, plus advanced features such as Activity zones, video clips, and even smarter alerts. Get this plan on up to two cameras and pay for it per camera.'; 'Plus plan — Get 60 days of video history, plus advanced features such as Activity zones, video clips, and even smarter alerts. Get this plan on up to 10 cameras and pay a flat rate for all of them.' The comparison table prices the tiers 'Free $0/Year', 'Basic plan $39,99 per camera /year' and 'Plus plan $99,99/Year', and its last row is the device scope: 'Cameras — All cameras / Pay per camera / All cameras'. Every paid feature it lists is a camera video feature (video clip recording, Activity and Package zones, video history, AI-powered person, animal, vehicle and package detection). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-15
    Backs: Subscription
  19. [19] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  20. [20] Home Assistant's official documentation for the Philips Hue integration, re-read in full 2026-09-22. 'The Philips Hue integration allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge. The integration supports: Lights; Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors); Remotes and switches (as device triggers for automations, and also exposed as battery sensors when they are battery-powered).' On scenes: 'These Hue scenes are automatically imported into Home Assistant and available as scene entities'; 'Creating or editing Hue scenes in Home Assistant is not supported'; 'Using Hue scenes is recommended when you want to control multiple lights at once.' On the bridge split: 'V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream. V1 Hue bridges (round shape) are polled on an interval'. Footer: 'The Philips Hue hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.60, and it's used by 15.9% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Local Push.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  21. [21] Philips Hue's End of Support Policy on its own US support site, read 2026-09-26. For lights, devices and accessories other than the Hue Bridge it says: 'Signify intends to continue to support your Products with required security, quality and interoperability updates as well as maintaining compatibility with our online services, the latest version of our Philips Hue bridge (when applicable) and the latest version of the Philips Hue mobile application for a minimum total of five (5) years from the date of your purchase from an authorized reseller.' Its summary table gives 'At least 5 years' of 'Security, quality and interoperability patches' for 'Philips Hue lights, devices and accessories (other than Philips Hue Bridge)', under the line 'Durations are from the moment Signify stops selling this version of the product.' Its current support status lists 'All Hue branded lights' and 'All Hue branded accessories' as in active support. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-26
    Backs: Security-update support period
  22. [22] Signify's US product page for the Hue motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-03 (14,116 characters). Price: "Current price is $48.99 $48.99", "In stock", no struck-through price. Bridge: "For a Motion sensor a bridge is required" and, in the FAQ, "Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app." Specification block: "Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677570972", "Material number (12NC) 929003067502", "Battery type AAA (LR03)", "Batteries included 2 x AAA", "Minimal battery lifetime 2", "IP code IP42", "Warranty 2 year(s)", "Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later", "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana", "WiFi Works without Wi-Fi", "Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller", "Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)", "Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee", "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Works without the internet, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
  23. [23] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter', read in full on 2026-10-03. "Bridge has been updated to support Matter, meaning that your Hue lights and accessories automatically support Matter, too."; "All Philips Hue products — including both new and existing ones — will work with Matter if connected via Hue Bridge."; "The Philips Hue Play HDMI sync box and the dial on the Tap dial switch do not support Matter. Because the Philips Hue Bridge enables Matter support, products connected via Bluetooth cannot be used with Matter." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
    page changed on 2026-10-10, after this reading
  24. [24] Signify, 'How to connect Philips Hue without a Bridge?', read in full on 2026-10-03. "Many newer Hue bulbs include Bluetooth connectivity"; the table reads "Without Hue Bridge (Bluetooth)" with "Up to 10 lights per control source" against "With Hue Bridge (Zigbee/Matter)" with "Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols
  25. [25] Signify, 'How to set up a Hue motion sensor', read in full on 2026-10-03. One route only, 'Connect with a Bridge': "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app." then the Hue app's Add devices and QR-code steps. No sign-in step appears in the procedure. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  26. [26] Signify, 'Home security plans', read in full on 2026-10-03. Tiers "Free $0/Year", "Basic plan $39,99 per camera /year", "Plus plan $99,99/Year"; every paid feature is a camera video feature (video clip recording, activity and package zones, video history). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
  27. [27] Philips Hue End of Support policy, read in full on 2026-10-03. Section 2 still says Signify intends to support lights, devices and accessories other than the Bridge "for a minimum total of five (5) years from the date of your purchase from an authorized reseller"; the section 5 table still counts "At least 5 years" under "Durations are from the moment Signify stops selling this version of the product."; section 6 lists "All Hue branded accessories" in active support. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Security-update support period
  28. [28] Home Assistant, 'Philips Hue' integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03 (8,175 characters). "allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge. The integration supports: Lights Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors)". Data updates: "V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream. V1 Hue bridges (round shape) are polled on an interval because the V1 API does not support push updates." Legacy section: "the legacy V1 bridge (round shape) is now end of life and no longer supported by Signify." Footer: "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities
  29. [29] SmartThings Community thread 'Hue Motion sensor brightness and temperature', read in full on 2026-10-03. A user with a Hue Bridge linked to SmartThings over the cloud reports SmartThings shows motion only; a SmartThings moderator answers that the device's profile carries motion, battery, refresh and health check, and that the missing readings were never added to Hue's cloud-to-cloud integration. A later post points to a community driver., verified 2026-10-03Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-03This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-03.
  30. [30] Signify support topic 'Matter', read on 2026-10-03 (1,812 characters). The served text is a list of five questions and a link to the Matter setup guide; the answers are not in it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  31. [31] Signify, 'Philips Hue accounts', read in full on 2026-10-03. "Soon, you’ll need to create a Philips Hue account."; "With an account and a Bridge, you’ll get access to Out of home control."; "No matter which permissions you have, you’ll always be able to control the lights — even when the internet is down." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Vendor account required
  32. [32] Signify's US product page for the Hue motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-04 (14,134 characters). Price: "Current price is $48.99 $48.99", "In stock", no struck-through price. Bridge: "For a Motion sensor a bridge is required" and, in the FAQ, "Both the indoor and outdoor Hue motion sensors require a Hue Bridge-controlled Hue setup, as well as the Hue app." Specification block: "Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677570972", "Material number (12NC) 929003067502", "Battery type AAA (LR03)", "Batteries included 2 x AAA", "Minimal battery lifetime 2", "IP code IP42", "Warranty 2 year(s)", "Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later", "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana", "WiFi Works without Wi-Fi", "Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller", "Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)", "Communication protocol Bluetooth, Zigbee", "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Price, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Works without the internet, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  33. [33] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter', read in full on 2026-10-04. "Bridge has been updated to support Matter, meaning that your Hue lights and accessories automatically support Matter, too."; "All Philips Hue products — including both new and existing ones — will work with Matter if connected via Hue Bridge."; "The Philips Hue Play HDMI sync box and the dial on the Tap dial switch do not support Matter. Because the Philips Hue Bridge enables Matter support, products connected via Bluetooth cannot be used with Matter." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
    page changed on 2026-10-10, after this reading
  34. [34] Signify, 'How to connect Philips Hue without a Bridge?', read in full on 2026-10-04. "Many newer Hue bulbs include Bluetooth connectivity"; the table reads "Without Hue Bridge (Bluetooth)" with "Up to 10 lights per control source" against "With Hue Bridge (Zigbee/Matter)" with "Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Protocols
  35. [35] Signify, 'How to set up a Hue motion sensor', read in full on 2026-10-04. One route only, 'Connect with a Bridge': "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app." then the Hue app's Add devices and QR-code steps. No sign-in step appears in the procedure. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  36. [36] Signify, 'Home security plans', read in full on 2026-10-04. Tiers "Free $0/Year", "Basic plan $39,99 per camera /year", "Plus plan $99,99/Year"; every paid feature is a camera video feature (video clip recording, activity and package zones, video history). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Subscription
  37. [37] Home Assistant, 'Philips Hue' integration page, read in full on 2026-10-04 (8,175 characters). "allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge. The integration supports: Lights Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors)". Data updates: "V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream. V1 Hue bridges (round shape) are polled on an interval because the V1 API does not support push updates." Legacy section: "the legacy V1 bridge (round shape) is now end of life and no longer supported by Signify." Footer: "Its IoT class is Local Push." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities
  38. [38] SmartThings Community thread 'Hue Motion sensor brightness and temperature', read in full on 2026-10-04. A user with a Hue Bridge linked to SmartThings over the cloud reports SmartThings shows motion only; a SmartThings moderator answers that the device's profile carries motion, battery, refresh and health check, and that the missing readings were never added to Hue's cloud-to-cloud integration. A later post points to a community driver., verified 2026-10-04Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-04This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-04.
  39. [39] Philips Hue End of Support policy, read in full on 2026-10-04. Section 2 still says Signify intends to support lights, devices and accessories other than the Bridge "for a minimum total of five (5) years from the date of your purchase from an authorized reseller"; the section 5 table still counts "At least 5 years" under "Durations are from the moment Signify stops selling this version of the product."; section 6 lists "All Hue branded accessories" in active support. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Security-update support period
  40. [40] Signify support topic 'Matter', read on 2026-10-04 (1,812 characters). The served text is a list of five questions and a link to the Matter setup guide; the answers are not in it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
  41. [41] Signify, 'Philips Hue accounts', read in full on 2026-10-04. "Soon, you’ll need to create a Philips Hue account."; "With an account and a Bridge, you’ll get access to Out of home control."; "No matter which permissions you have, you’ll always be able to control the lights — even when the internet is down." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Vendor account required
  42. [42] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter: complete setup and support guide' (support article 000012), read in full on 2026-10-04. Under the Bridge section: "For anyone already using Alexa, Google or SmartThings to control their Hue lights, you'll be able to get the best of both worlds (multi admin control and all the advanced control features that were already developed with these partners)". The article does not name sensors in that sentence. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-04
  43. [43] SmartThings 'Supported devices' page, read in full on 2026-10-04 (4,223 characters of text). The served text names no Philips Hue product and no Signify brand page. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-04
  44. [44] This record's own entries, which already name the Hue Bridge: Signify's statement on this product's page, already quoted on this record: 'For a Motion sensor a bridge is required'., verified 2026-10-12
  45. [45] Signify's US product page for the Hue motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "HomeKit compatible Yes" · "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
  46. [46] Signify's US product page for the Hue motion sensor, read rendered with its tabs expanded on 2026-10-19 to check for a SmartThings mention the plain read lacks. The rendered page carries the same What's supported block and no SmartThings mention. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19
  47. [47] Signify's US product page for the Hue motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-21. Verbatim: "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos" · "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana" · "Matter functionality Via Hue Bridge". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  48. [48] Signify's US product page for the Hue motion sensor, read in full on 2026-10-27 (readHash de1e542a375a…). Verbatim: "Current price is $48.99 $48.99" · "Indoor In stock" · "For a Motion sensor a bridge is required" · "Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677570972" · "Material number (12NC) 929003067502" · "Battery type AAA (LR03)" · "Batteries included 2 x AAA" · "Minimal battery lifetime 2" · "Guarantee 2 years Yes" · "HomeKit compatible Yes" · "Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later" · "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana" · "WiFi Works without Wi-Fi" · "Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller" · "Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)" · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos" · "Matter functionality Via Hue Bridge" — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Price, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Works without the internet, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Research status
  49. [49] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter', read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Bridge has been updated to support Matter, meaning that your Hue lights and accessories automatically support Matter, too." · "All Philips Hue products — including both new and existing ones — will work with Matter if connected via Hue Bridge." · "Because the Philips Hue Bridge enables Matter support, products connected via Bluetooth cannot be used with Matter." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
  50. [50] Signify, 'How to set up a Hue motion sensor', read in full on 2026-10-27. One route only, 'Connect with a Bridge'. Verbatim: "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app." · "Choose a Room to add the motion sensor to." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  51. [51] Signify, 'Home security plans', read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Philips Hue Secure cameras and doorbell come with instant, free access to features" · "Free $0/Year Basic plan $39,99 per camera /year Plus plan $99,99/Year" · "Get this plan on up to two cameras and pay for it per camera." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Subscription
  52. [52] Home Assistant, 'Philips Hue' integration page source, read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "ha_iot_class: Local Push" · "allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge" · "Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors)" · "the legacy V1 bridge (round shape) is now end of life and no longer supported by Signify" · "V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream. V1 Hue bridges (round shape) are polled on an interval because the V1 API does not support push updates.", verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities
  53. [53] Signify's Philips Hue sustainability whitepaper on the Hue developer portal, read in full on 2026-10-27. The only Zigbee model ids it prints are three lamp codes (LCA001, LTA001, LWA001); it names no motion sensor model id and pairs no code with this sensor., verified 2026-10-27
  54. [54] Signify's US product page for the Hue motion sensor, read in full on 2026-11-06 (readHash 28de4737be16…). Verbatim: "Current price is $48.99 $48.99" · "Indoor In stock" · "For a Motion sensor a bridge is required" · "Product number (EAN/UPC) 046677570972" · "Material number (12NC) 929003067502" · "Battery type AAA (LR03)" · "Batteries included 2 x AAA" · "Minimal battery lifetime 2" · "Guarantee 2 years Yes" · "HomeKit compatible Yes" · "Philips Hue App Android 10.0 and above, iOS 16 or later" · "Voice assistants (Hue Bridge required) Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple Home, Microsoft Cortana" · "WiFi Works without Wi-Fi" · "Defined support period Minimum 60 months from date of purchase from an authorized reseller" · "Max. number of accessories 12 (with Hue Bridge)" · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, IFTTT, Klikaanklikuit, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Sonos" · "Matter functionality Via Hue Bridge" — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Price, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Certification and product IDs, App platforms, Market availability, Service status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  55. [55] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter', read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Bridge has been updated to support Matter, meaning that your Hue lights and accessories automatically support Matter, too." · "All Philips Hue products — including both new and existing ones — will work with Matter if connected via Hue Bridge." · "Because the Philips Hue Bridge enables Matter support, products connected via Bluetooth cannot be used with Matter." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  56. [56] Signify, 'How to connect Philips Hue without a Bridge?', read in full on 2026-11-06. "Many newer Hue bulbs include Bluetooth connectivity"; the table reads "Without Hue Bridge (Bluetooth)" with "Up to 10 lights per control source" against "With Hue Bridge (Zigbee/Matter)" with "Up to 50 lights + 12 accessories". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Protocols
  57. [57] Signify, 'How to set up a Hue motion sensor', read in full on 2026-11-06. One route only, 'Connect with a Bridge'. Verbatim: "Your Bridge should be connected and added to your Hue app." · "Choose a Room to add the motion sensor to." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  58. [58] Signify, 'Home security plans', read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "Philips Hue Secure cameras and doorbell come with instant, free access to features" · "Free $0/Year Basic plan $39,99 per camera /year Plus plan $99,99/Year" · "Get this plan on up to two cameras and pay for it per camera." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Subscription
  59. [59] Philips Hue End of Support policy, read in full on 2026-11-06. Section 2 still says Signify intends to support lights, devices and accessories other than the Bridge "for a minimum total of five (5) years from the date of your purchase from an authorized reseller"; the section 5 table still counts "At least 5 years" under "Durations are from the moment Signify stops selling this version of the product."; section 6 lists "All Hue branded accessories" in active support. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Security-update support period
  60. [60] Signify, 'Philips Hue accounts', read in full on 2026-11-06. "Soon, you’ll need to create a Philips Hue account."; "With an account and a Bridge, you’ll get access to Out of home control."; "No matter which permissions you have, you’ll always be able to control the lights — even when the internet is down." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Vendor account required
  61. [61] Home Assistant, 'Philips Hue' integration page source, read in full on 2026-11-06. Verbatim: "allows you to control and monitor the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge" · "Motion sensors (including temperature and light level sensors)" · "the legacy V1 bridge (round shape) is now end of life and no longer supported by Signify" · "V2 Hue bridges (square shape) push state changes to Home Assistant instantly over their local event stream. V1 Hue bridges (round shape) are polled on an interval because the V1 API does not support push updates.", verified 2026-11-06
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities
  62. [62] Signify support topic 'Matter', read on 2026-11-06. The served text is a list of five questions and a link to the Matter setup guide; the answers are not in it. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
  63. [63] Signify, 'Philips Hue and Matter: complete setup and support guide' (support article 000012), read in full on 2026-11-06. Under the Bridge section: "For anyone already using Alexa, Google or SmartThings to control their Hue lights, you'll be able to get the best of both worlds (multi admin control and all the advanced control features that were already developed with these partners)". The article does not name sensors in that sentence. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
  64. [64] SmartThings 'Supported devices' page, read in full on 2026-11-06. The served text names no Philips Hue product and no Signify brand page. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06
  65. [65] SmartThings Community thread 'Hue Motion sensor brightness and temperature', read in full on 2026-11-06. A user with a Hue Bridge linked to SmartThings over the cloud reports SmartThings shows motion only; a SmartThings moderator answers that the device's profile carries motion, battery, refresh and health check, and that the missing readings were never added to Hue's cloud-to-cloud integration. A later post points to a community driver. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-06Someone's observation, checked 2026-11-06This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-11-06.
  66. [66] A page on this record that could not be read on 2026-11-06: Signify's sustainability whitepaper on the Hue developer portal at https://developers.meethue.com/Philips%20Hue%20-%20Sustainability%20-%20Whitepaper.pdf. The host's robots.txt excludes AI crawlers as a class., verified 2026-11-06

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Philips Hue Motion Sensor (indoor) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker