Product Library / Sensors & Detectors

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-03

Meross Matter Smart Presence Sensor (MS600)

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ THE SIBLING SKU IS A DIFFERENT RADIO, AND THAT IS THE WHOLE REASON THIS RECORD EXISTS. Meross sells the MS605 Thread Presence Sensor alongside this one, and its own page positions it as Matter over Thread in explicit contrast to needing a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network. The MS600 is the Wi-Fi SKU. Anyone shopping the two by name will not see the difference, and it decides whether a Thread border router is part of the purchase.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][9]
[1][9]
[1][9]
[1][15]
[1][7][9][17]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · MATTER[1][2][9][13]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No Meross hub and no Meross bridge — the sensor joins a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network directly, and the words 'hub' and 'bridge' do not appear on its product page at all. ⚠ Stated as the vendor states it, and no further: Meross says the sensor reaches HomeKit, Alexa and Google Home 'through the Matter framework', and it does not say on this page what a Matter setup needs at the controller end. Nothing about a Matter controller is asserted here because no source read for this record states it about this model.[1][9]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [9]

Documented device function

Presence detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [9]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][9]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
None documented by the vendor
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][9]Google HomeWorks[1][9]AlexaWorks[1][9]SmartThingsPartial[1][15]Home AssistantWorks; motion detected and presence detected unconfirmed[1][7][9][17]
Motion detectedReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

? not stated

Presence detectedReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Not stated

Automation

—

Event

Not stated

Automation

? not stated

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Meross names HomeKit directly and adds a detail worth having: 'On the Matter platform, both presence and light sensors are displayed', so the ambient-light half is exposed and not just the presence half.[1][9]

Google Home

Named by Meross in its own multi-platform sentence, reached through Matter. As with Alexa, what the platform actually sees is not itemised by the vendor.[1][9]

Alexa

Named by Meross in its own multi-platform sentence, reached through Matter rather than a Meross skill. The vendor does not state which of the sensor's two detection modes surfaces to Alexa, so treat the exposed entity set as unestablished.[1][9]

SmartThings

SmartThings' own partner page for Meross lists this sensor by its model number, MS600, under motion sensors. Neither SmartThings nor Meross says how it connects or what it does there, and Meross's own page does not name SmartThings, so treat what you get in SmartThings as unconfirmed until one of them says.[1][15]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant adds it through its own Matter support, which runs locally, and the sensor is Matter certified. Meross names Matter, HomeKit, Alexa and Google Home and does not name Home Assistant, and Home Assistant's Matter page does not say which sensor readings it shows, so motion and presence are unconfirmed.[1][7][9][17]

Device documentation: [1] [9]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][9]Named by Meross in its own multi-platform sentence, reached through Matter rather than a Meross skill. The vendor does not state which of the sensor's two detection modes surfaces to Alexa, so treat the exposed entity set as unestablished.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][9]Named by Meross in its own multi-platform sentence, reached through Matter. As with Alexa, what the platform actually sees is not itemised by the vendor.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][9]Meross names HomeKit directly and adds a detail worth having: 'On the Matter platform, both presence and light sensors are displayed', so the ambient-light half is exposed and not just the presence half.
SmartThingsPartialPartial support — see the catch[1][15]SmartThings' own partner page for Meross lists this sensor by its model number, MS600, under motion sensors. Neither SmartThings nor Meross says how it connects or what it does there, and Meross's own page does not name SmartThings, so treat what you get in SmartThings as unconfirmed until one of them says.
Home AssistantWorks; motion detected and presence detected unconfirmedWorks; motion detected and presence detected unconfirmed — see the catch[1][7][9][17]Home Assistant adds it through its own Matter support, which runs locally, and the sensor is Matter certified. Meross names Matter, HomeKit, Alexa and Google Home and does not name Home Assistant, and Home Assistant's Matter page does not say which sensor readings it shows, so motion and presence are unconfirmed.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[1][9]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription, plan, tier or trial appears anywhere on the product page — the word does not occur on it. Recorded as "none" on the strength of a plainly commercial page (live price, add-to-cart) carrying no plan, which is the same bar the rest of the catalogue uses for this negative.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

It has to stay plugged in. Meross is explicit — 'The Meross Presence Sensor is wired and requires continuous power' — so every place you want presence detection needs a USB-C cable reaching it, which is a harder constraint than it sounds in a hallway or a stairwell. What you buy for that is the thing battery PIR sensors cannot do: mmWave radar that holds a room 'occupied' while somebody sits still, rather than dropping the lights on a person reading. Meross names HomeKit, Alexa and Google Home. SmartThings lists the sensor on its own partner page without saying what it does there, and nobody has published anything for Home Assistant, so if either is your hub, treat it as an open question rather than a promise.

Who it's for

Rooms where motion sensors keep getting it wrong — a desk, a sofa, a bathroom — and where a power outlet is already within reach. The dual PIR-plus-radar design is aimed squarely at the 'lights went out while I was sitting here' failure, and because it speaks Matter over Wi-Fi it drops into an Apple, Alexa or Google setup without another box. It is the wrong buy where you need a sensor on a battery in a spot with no power.

Check availability at Meross

This opens Meross's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

17 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] shop.meross.com, 'Meross Matter Smart Presence Sensor, MS600' product page (read 2026-08-31): specification block giving wireless standards, input voltage, port, dimensions and radar frequency; feature copy giving the dual PIR/mmWave detection, the 12-metre 360-degree range and the wired-power note; the Matter multi-platform sentence naming Meross, HomeKit, Alexa and Google Home; price $40.99 across four regional variants; structured product data reporting the US/CA variant available. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-31
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Capabilities, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  2. [2] CSA Distributed Compliance Ledger (on.dcl.csa-iot.org), read 2026-08-31 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: vendor enumeration returning VID 4933 Meross; model list for VID 4933 containing 'PID 16897 MS600 [part 42010110]'; compliance detail for 4933/16897 returning software version 9.3.4 CERTIFIED, certificate CSA241F5MAT43176-24 dated 2024-04-17, with no matter compliance row at software version 0. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-31
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] shop.meross.com, 'Meross Thread Presence Sensor, MS605' product page (noted 2026-08-31): positioned as a Matter-over-Thread device in contrast to a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi connection. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-31
    Backs: Product identity
  4. [4] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
  5. [5] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-18 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-18
  6. [6] Meross's own store listing for this product, read 2026-09-18. The listing is titled "Meross Matter Smart Presence Sensor, MS600", is sold by Meross, and gives MS600MA-US as the order code for the version this record covers. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  7. [7] Meross's US store page for the MS600, shop.meross.com/products/smart-presence-sensor-ms600, re-read 2026-09-19. Its only platform sentence, verbatim: "The Meross Presence Sensor integrates seamlessly with multiple platforms through the Matter framework, including Meross, HomeKit, Alexa, and Google Home." Home Assistant appears nowhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  8. [8] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, the model list registered to vendor ID 4933 (Chengdu Meross Technology), read 2026-09-20 and enumerated to pagination exhaustion: twenty-one models, one of which is filed under the model string "MS600" at product ID 16897 with part number 42010110. The certificate detail for 4933/16897 returns one certified software version — "sv 1 (9.3.4): CERTIFIED CSA241F5MAT43176-24 dated 2024-04-17" — and no compliance row at software version 0. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  9. [9] Meross's US store page for the MS600, read in full on 2026-10-03 (5,711 characters). Verbatim: "Meross Matter Smart Presence Sensor, MS600 $40.99" · "The Meross Presence Sensor integrates seamlessly with multiple platforms through the Matter framework, including Meross, HomeKit, Alexa, and Google Home." · "On the Matter platform, both presence and light sensors are displayed, simplifying automation setup." · "Note: The Meross Presence Sensor is wired and requires continuous power." · "Wireless Standards: IEEE 802.11 b/g/n, 2.4GHz" · "Input: 5V~, 1A" · "Port: 1 x Type-C Power Port" · "Make sure you are on a 2.4G WiFi network when you configure this device" · "In stock, ready to ship". The words SmartThings, Home Assistant, hub, bridge and subscription appear nowhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Capabilities, Market availability, Service status, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  10. [10] Meross's US store product data for this listing, read in full on 2026-10-03 (12,441 characters, the same text as change detection's copy). Title 'Meross Matter Smart Presence Sensor, MS600', seller Meross. Four versions, each at $40.99 with no compare-at price and each available: MS600MA-US (US/CA), MS600MA-EU, MS600MA-UK and MS600MA-AU. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Price, Market availability
  11. [11] Meross's US store page for the sibling MS605 Thread presence sensor, read in full on 2026-10-03 (7,036 characters). Verbatim: "Supports Matter over Thread direct connection to Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant — no extra hub (such as Meross MSH450) or 2.4GHz Wi-Fi required." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity
  12. [12] The Matter ledger's model list for vendor ID 4933, read in full on 2026-10-03. In our words: twenty-one models are registered, one of them the model string MS600 at product ID 16897 (hex 0x4201) with part number 42010110; the MS605 sits at product ID 16898. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  13. [13] The Matter ledger's compliance row for this product's software version 1, read in full on 2026-10-03. In our words: software 9.3.4 is certified under certificate CSA241F5MAT43176-24, dated 17 April 2024, as an end product tested in full, and the row now gives its transports as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. The same lookup for software version 0 answers not found. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols
  14. [14] The Matter ledger's software-version list for vendor 4933, product 16897, read in full on 2026-10-03. In our words: it lists software versions 0 and 1. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
  15. [15] SmartThings' own partner page for Meross, read in full (rendered) on 2026-10-03 (2,565 characters). Under 'Meross Products United States': "Smart Presence Sensor Model Number MS600 Category Motion Sensors". The page lists each product with a model number and category only; it says nothing about how a product connects or what it does in SmartThings. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  16. [16] Apple's Home accessories page, read in full (rendered) on 2026-10-03 (29,037 characters). It lists many Meross products, among them 'Meross Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat' and several Meross plugs and switches, and under Sensors it names no Meross presence sensor and no MS600. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-03
  17. [17] Meross's US store page for the MS600, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "The Meross Presence Sensor integrates seamlessly with multiple platforms through the Matter framework, including Meross, HomeKit, Alexa, and Google Home." · "On the Matter platform, both presence and light sensors are displayed, simplifying automation setup." · "Certifications: CE, FCC, IC, WEEE". Home Assistant appears nowhere on the page. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Meross Matter Smart Presence Sensor (MS600) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker