Product Library / Smart Locks

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-01

Lockly Visage Zeno Series Facial Recognition Deadbolt

⚠ Similar names, different products: Lockly's naming carries two traps. 'Visage' and 'Vision' are different locks — Visage is facial recognition, Vision is a video lock with an intercom doorbell, and they sit side by side at $349 and $429. And 'Zeno Series' is a generation marker across four products (Visage, Vision, Secure Pro, PIN Genie Pro), not a model: the same names exist in older non-Zeno form on Lockly's own store, including a separate 'Secure Pro Deadbolt Latest Version'. The finish letters at the end of the model number are the only reliable identifier — PGK728WRHKSN is satin nickel, PGK728WRHKMB matte black.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][18]
[4][18][20]
[4][18][20]
[3][19][20]
[3][19]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH[2][18]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Apple hub or bridge

A HomePod or Apple TV set up as an Apple home hub. Not needed to use the lock, the Lockly Home app or Home Key at the door. Lockly says remote control and Home Key sharing through Apple Home need one, and so does sharing Apple Home access with additional Apple accounts.[2][18]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Lock/unlock

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [9] [18]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[9][18]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[2][18]Google HomeWorks[4][18][20]AlexaWorks[4][18][20]SmartThingsDoesn't work[3][19][20]Home AssistantInconclusive[3][19]
Lock/unlockDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Lockly sells this lock as an Apple Home product. Its own page lists 'Works with Apple Home' among the certifications, says you can 'Ask Siri to unlock or set up automations directly within the Apple Home app', and offers Apple Home Key, so an iPhone or Apple Watch tapped on the lock opens it. Two limits Lockly prints itself: remote control and Home Key sharing through Apple Home need an Apple home hub, meaning a HomePod or Apple TV, and access codes made in the Apple Home app are capped at 16, against 49 in Lockly's own app. This is Apple's own accessory route rather than Matter: the lock is not on Lockly's list of Matter-compatible devices.[2][18]

Google Home

Named by Lockly ('Hey Google') on the same non-Matter, Wi-Fi-based route as Alexa. The Zeno Series page footnotes voice support as requiring the Wi-Fi connection. Vendor's word alone.[4][18][20]

Alexa

Lockly names Alexa on the product page, and on this lock it works over the built-in Wi-Fi rather than through Matter — Lockly's hub page states the fallback explicitly: 'Devices not compatible with Matter, but that support Alexa or Hey Google, can still use voice control by pairing with a hub', and this lock needs no hub because its Wi-Fi is built in. Vendor's word alone; Amazon publishes no per-model entry.[4][18][20]

SmartThings

This is an evidenced no, not a silence. Lockly's Secure Link hub page states the rule: only its Matter-compatible devices get Siri voice control and automation with Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings, and they get it through Matter. Lockly publishes the membership list at lockly.com/pages/matter-compatible-devices, which names the Model S, Secure Plus/Pro latches and deadbolts, Secure Lux Mortise, Flex Touch and Access Touch models, the Compact models and the Guard series, and does NOT include the Visage Zeno. Lockly's only stated route to SmartThings is Matter, and this lock is not on the Matter list.[3][19][20]

Home Assistant

Lockly names no Home Assistant support and states no non-support either. There is no Matter certification to give Home Assistant a standard route in — this lock is absent from Lockly's own Matter list — and no way to control it on your own network is documented. We record this as unknown rather than as a no because the maker says nothing in either direction, but a Home Assistant household should assume nothing here works until there is evidence.[3][19]

Device documentation: [9] [18]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][18][20]Lockly names Alexa on the product page, and on this lock it works over the built-in Wi-Fi rather than through Matter — Lockly's hub page states the fallback explicitly: 'Devices not compatible with Matter, but that support Alexa or Hey Google, can still use voice control by pairing with a hub', and this lock needs no hub because its Wi-Fi is built in. Vendor's word alone; Amazon publishes no per-model entry.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][18][20]Named by Lockly ('Hey Google') on the same non-Matter, Wi-Fi-based route as Alexa. The Zeno Series page footnotes voice support as requiring the Wi-Fi connection. Vendor's word alone.
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][18]Lockly sells this lock as an Apple Home product. Its own page lists 'Works with Apple Home' among the certifications, says you can 'Ask Siri to unlock or set up automations directly within the Apple Home app', and offers Apple Home Key, so an iPhone or Apple Watch tapped on the lock opens it. Two limits Lockly prints itself: remote control and Home Key sharing through Apple Home need an Apple home hub, meaning a HomePod or Apple TV, and access codes made in the Apple Home app are capped at 16, against 49 in Lockly's own app. This is Apple's own accessory route rather than Matter: the lock is not on Lockly's list of Matter-compatible devices.
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[3][19][20]This is an evidenced no, not a silence. Lockly's Secure Link hub page states the rule: only its Matter-compatible devices get Siri voice control and automation with Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings, and they get it through Matter. Lockly publishes the membership list at lockly.com/pages/matter-compatible-devices, which names the Model S, Secure Plus/Pro latches and deadbolts, Secure Lux Mortise, Flex Touch and Access Touch models, the Compact models and the Guard series, and does NOT include the Visage Zeno. Lockly's only stated route to SmartThings is Matter, and this lock is not on the Matter list.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][19]Lockly names no Home Assistant support and states no non-support either. There is no Matter certification to give Home Assistant a standard route in — this lock is absent from Lockly's own Matter list — and no way to control it on your own network is documented. We record this as unknown rather than as a no because the maker says nothing in either direction, but a Home Assistant household should assume nothing here works until there is evidence.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[4][18][21]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

Lockly sells the lock as subscription-free for everyday use: its own description says you 'Lock, unlock and manage through free Lockly Home app without monthly subscription'. It also runs a paid tier called LocklyOS, and the product page prints where the free app stops. Activity history is kept for up to 90 days. Up to 3 eBadges and up to 3 offline access codes can be issued a month. Up to 50 credentials a month can be moved from one Lockly lock to another. Locks at up to 3 properties can be managed at no cost. LocklyOS raises each of those limits. What LocklyOS costs is not on the product page, and Lockly's own LocklyOS page opens a sign-in portal that lists what the plan does and gives no price (checked again in October 2026), so no price is recorded here. We treat the subscription as optional but material because those limits fall on guest access and history, which matter most to anyone using the lock on a rental.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Security updates[5]

Lockly publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

No security-update or firmware-support period is published for this lock. The 2-year electronics warranty is a warranty, not a promise to keep patching it — though it is the longest electronics warranty among the locks we have researched. Lockly's Matter guidance tells owners to keep firmware current with over-the-air updates, which establishes that updates exist without committing to how long they will continue.

The catch

The most advanced lock Lockly sells is the one its own smart-home plumbing skips. Lockly publishes a Matter-compatible device list covering eight of its product families, and the $349 facial-recognition flagship is not on it — which is why SmartThings is a flat no and Home Assistant has nothing standard to connect to, while cheaper Lockly locks do have that route. What you get instead is a long list of credentials at the door: 3D face recognition with radar approach detection, a fingerprint sensor, a peek-proof keypad, Apple Home Key tap-to-unlock, built-in Wi-Fi with no bridge, ANSI Grade 2, and the longest electronics warranty of any lock we have researched, at two years. One more thing to look at before buying: the battery is a proprietary rechargeable pack rather than AAs, so the long-term consumable is a $79.99 Lockly part.

Who it's for

Someone buying a lock for the door, not for the smart-home graph — a household that wants face, finger, code and phone entry to just work, is happy in the Lockly app with Alexa or Google voice on top, or runs Apple Home, where Lockly offers Siri, automations and Home Key. It is the wrong lock for a SmartThings household (Lockly's own documentation rules it out) and the wrong one for Home Assistant, where a cheaper Matter-certified Lockly would serve better.

Check availability at Lockly

This opens Lockly's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

22 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] https://www.lockly.com/products.json — product 'Lockly Visage Zeno Series Facial Recognition Deadbolt', product_type 'Smart Lock', tags including 'Deadbolt', 'new' and 'zeno', published 2024-09-03, read 2026-08-14. Two variants, both available at price 349.00 with no compare_at_price: 'Satin Nickel' SKU PGK728WRHKSN and 'Matte Black' SKU PGK728WRHKMB. Vendor description verbatim: 'Lockly Visage is an award-winning Wi-Fi smart lock featuring industry-first facial recognition unlocking. Combined with radar technology, simply approach your door to unlock. Featuring our latest 3D biometric fingerprint sensor with embedded AI learning, and Apple Home Keys to unlock with iPhone and Apple Watch. Control your door with Siri, Hey Google or Alexa. Lock, unlock and manage through free Lockly Home app without monthly subscription for best-in-class smart home experience.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability
  2. [2] https://www.lockly.com/products/lockly-visage-zeno-series (read 2026-08-14) — 'Built-in Wi-Fi (2.4GHz) pairing' and 'Encrypted Bluetooth pairing'; 'Facial Recognition: 3D facial recognition Up to 100'; 'New-gen fingerprint sensor Up to 99'; 'Patented PIN Genie keypad Up to 49 codes'; 'Rechargeable battery (2 included) Up to 8 months regular use' with '10000mAh rechargeable lithium battery, 2 included'; 'Built to meet ANSI Grade 2 standards'; 'Apple Home Key compatible Unlock with iPhone or Apple Watch'; works with 'Siri / Alexa / Google Assistant'; warranty '5-year mechanical & finish warranty 2-year electronics warranty Lifetime technical support'. The lock needs no Secure Link hub because Wi-Fi is on board; the spare battery price ($79.99) is from Lockly's own accessories listing in the same storefront. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Protocols, Power source, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Installation, Apple Home compatibility
  3. [3] https://lockly.com/products/secure-link states the rule verbatim: 'Only Matter-compatible Lockly devices support Siri voice control and automation with Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, and Samsung SmartThings via Matter integration' and 'Please check your device's compatibility before purchasing if you require these features', with the footnote '*Devices not compatible with Matter, but that support Alexa or Hey Google, can still use voice control by pairing with a hub.' https://lockly.com/pages/matter-compatible-devices lists the Matter-compatible families — Model S Series (Model 6S Latch, Model 7S Deadbolt), Secure Plus Latch PGD628F, Secure Pro Latch PGD628W, Secure Plus Deadbolt PGD728F, Secure Pro Deadbolt PGD728W, Secure Lux Mortise PGD829, Flex Touch and Access Touch Pro (PGD7Y, PGD7YW), Access Touch and Flex Touch Pro Retrofit (PGD7A, PGD7AW), Duo Compact PGD678W, Lux Compact PGD688F, and the Guard series — and does NOT include the Visage Zeno. SmartThings is therefore recorded 'none' on Lockly's own rule plus its own list. Home Assistant stays 'unknown' because Lockly's rule names four platforms and Home Assistant is not among them, so nothing here speaks to it either way. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  4. [4] https://lockly.com/pages/zeno-series (read 2026-08-14) lists the series' unlock and control methods including 'Apple Home Key', 'Built-in Wi-Fi', 'Amazon Alexa¹', 'Hey Google¹' and 'Siri¹', with the footnote tying voice support to the Wi-Fi connection; the same page names no Matter, SmartThings, Home Assistant or hub requirement for the series. Subscription: the product description states control 'through free Lockly Home app without monthly subscription', while Lockly separately markets a paid LocklyOS tier. ⚠ WHAT WE COULD NOT READ: https://lockly.com/pages/locklyos redirects to https://lap.lockly.com/#/login, a partner login, so no plan names, prices or free-tier limits were obtained from a Lockly page. Nothing about the plan's contents is asserted on this record. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Subscription
  5. [5] Listed and available in both finishes at $349.00 on Lockly's own storefront on 2026-08-14, carried on the current Zeno Series page, with the Lockly Home app and Secure Link accessories actively sold beside it. No security-update period, end-of-support date or firmware-support statement was found on any Lockly page read that day; the closest is Lockly's Matter guidance to 'update its firmware to the latest version via an Over-The-Air (OTA) update', which establishes that updates exist without dating them. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Service status, Security-update support period
  6. [6] Researched 2026-08-14 from Lockly's own pages: the storefront's structured product data, the Visage Zeno product page, the Zeno Series page, the Secure Link hub page and the Matter-compatible devices list. No third-party retailer or review site was used as evidence. Gaps stated rather than filled: the phone platforms the app runs on are unrecorded, whether an account is required is unknown, whether the lock keeps working without the internet is unknown, and the LocklyOS plan contents are unread because its page redirects to a login. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Research status
  7. [7] lockly.com Matter-compatible device list, the Visage Zeno series product page and products.json, re-read 2026-08-18 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  8. [8] lockly.com's structured storefront product data, the Visage Zeno product page and the Zeno Series page — all already cited on this record — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
  9. [9] https://www.lockly.com/products/lockly-visage-zeno-series — the vendor's own product page (read 2026-08-19) — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Capabilities
  10. [10] Lockly's own product page for the Visage Zeno Series (lockly.com/products/lockly-visage-zeno-series, read 2026-09-04): 'Control your door with Siri, Hey Google or Alexa. Lock, unlock and manage through free Lockly Home app without monthly subscription…'. Lockly's companion post 'Maximizing Your Smart Lock: Connecting Your Lockly with Alexa' (lockly.com/blogs/all/…, read the same day) was also read; the word routine appears on neither page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-04
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  11. [11] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  12. [12] https://www.lockly.com/products/lockly-visage-zeno-series (read 2026-09-10): the app block reads 'iOS App Store | Google Play Store' and links https://apps.apple.com/us/app/lockly-home/id6578425449 and https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lockly.smartlock.home. The page describes the lock as managed 'through free Lockly Home app', so the two store links are this product's app rather than a company-wide footer. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
    Backs: App platforms
  13. [13] https://www.lockly.com/products/lockly-visage-zeno-series (read 2026-09-10) advertises 'Built-In Wi-Fi' in its feature line and states no band anywhere on the page. The Wi-Fi band stays unrecorded: we looked, and Lockly does not publish it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
  14. [14] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  15. [15] Lockly's own store listing for the Visage Zeno Series Facial Recognition Deadbolt, read 2026-09-24. The listing sells two finishes; the Satin Nickel finish carries the part code PGK728WRHKSN and the retail barcode 810055604227. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  16. [16] Lockly's own store feed, read 2026-10-01. Product "Lockly Visage Zeno Series Facial Recognition Deadbolt", two purchase options: Satin Nickel, part code PGK728WRHKSN, price 349.00, no compare-at price, in stock; Matte Black, part code PGK728WRHKMB, price 349.00, no compare-at price, in stock. The feed tags the product regular-priced and dates its last change 2026-09-30. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Product identity
  17. [17] Lockly's own store data for the Visage Zeno Series deadbolt, read 2026-10-01. Satin Nickel: part code PGK728WRHKSN, barcode 810055604227, price 349.00, in stock. Matte Black: part code PGK728WRHKMB, barcode 810055604234, price 349.00, in stock. The description reads "Lock, unlock and manage through free Lockly Home app without monthly subscription for best-in-class smart home experience." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Price, Certification and product IDs
  18. [18] Lockly's own product page for the Visage Zeno Series deadbolt, read in full 2026-10-01. Apple: "Ask Siri to unlock or set up automations directly within the Apple Home app." · "Enjoy remote control and Home Key sharing through Apple Home when paired with a compatible Apple Home hub." · "Up to 16 via Apple Home app" · "To share HomeKit access with additional Apple accounts, a HomePod or Apple TV must be set up as a Home Hub." · "Certifications IP65 Works with Alexa Works with Apple Home Works with Google Home FCC RoHS". Other platforms: "Lock or unlock your door using voice commands with Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant." Free-tier limits: "Manage smart locks for up to 3 properties at no cost. Subscribe to LocklyOS™ for a total access solution to manage additional properties." · "Up to 90 days of activity history. Subscribe to LocklyOS™ for more." · "Create up to 3 free OAC per month. Subscribe to LocklyOS™ for more." · "Transfer up to 50 credentials per month for free. Subscribe to LocklyOS™ for more." · "eBadges Up to 3 per month*". Hardware: "Built-in Wi-Fi Connect to 2.4 GHz Wi‑Fi without a hub." · "Encrypted Bluetooth pairing" · "Battery 10000mAh rechargeable lithium battery, 2 included Battery life Up to 8 months for regular use*" · "Designed for 30-minute DIY installation with a step-by-step installation video." · "iOS App Store | Google Play Store" · "Warranty 5-year mechanical & finish warranty 2-year electronics warranty Lifetime technical support". Price block: "$61 OFF Sale price $349.00 Fall Prep Sale" and "Get 17.5% OFF automatically applied at checkout." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Subscription, Service status, Batteries, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Installation, App platforms, Capabilities, Research status
  19. [19] Lockly's 'Matter-Compatible Devices Model List' page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "The List of Matter-Compatible Devices The following smart devices are Matter-compatible". The list names the Model S Series (Model 6S PGD6S^, Model 7S PGD7S^), the Secure Plus Latch (PGD628F^), the Secure Pro Latch (PGD628W^, excluding PGD628WMBE1 and PGD628WSNE1, "which have built-in Wi-Fi"), the Secure Plus Deadbolt (PGD728F^), the Secure Pro Deadbolt (PGD728W^, excluding PGD728WMBE1 and PGD728WSNE1), Secure Lux (PGD829#), Flex Touch (PGD7Y), Access Touch Pro (PGD7YW), Access Touch (PGD7A), Flex Touch Pro (PGD7AW), Duo Compact (PGD678W), Lux Compact (PGD688F), and the Guard Latch, Duo, Athena and Defender editions. No Visage, no Zeno Series product and no PGK728 code appears on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  20. [20] Lockly's product page for the Secure Link Wi-Fi Hub (PGH260), read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Sale price $89.99" · "Only Matter-compatible Lockly devices support Siri voice control and automation with Apple Home, Amazon Alexa*, Google Home*, and Samsung SmartThings via Matter integration. Please check your device’s compatibility before purchasing if you require these features. *Devices not compatible with Matter, but that support Alexa or Hey Google, can still use voice control by pairing with a hub." · "Add Wi-Fi connectivity to your Lockly device for remote control, real-time alerts and voice control." · "Update the firmware of your Lockly - Even if your device is Matter-compatible, be sure to update its firmware to the latest version via an Over-The-Air (OTA) update before pairing it with the new hub." · "Each hub can only support one lock." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  21. [21] Lockly's LocklyOS page, read on 2026-10-03. The plain read returned a loading shell ("Lockly Access Portal Loading Lockly Access Portal, please be patient V1.9.6"); the rendered read shows the portal: "Welcome to LocklyOS™ (Lockly Access Portal) A Total Access Solution", a feature list ("Multi-Lock Management Lock Auditing & Reporting Configurable Roles and Rights Multi-Property Management Grant Access to Residents, Employees & Guests Setup Notifications to Specific User Groups") and a sign-in form. No plan name, price or tier appears. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
  22. [22] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-10-03

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Lockly Visage Zeno Series Facial Recognition Deadbolt with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker