Product Library / Smart Locks

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-07

Kwikset Halo Select Plus Touchscreen Smart Lock

⚠ Similar names, different products: Kwikset sells four locks whose names differ by one word, and the differences decide what the lock can do. 'Halo Select PLUS' is the one with Apple Home Keys — tap-to-unlock with an iPhone or Watch; plain 'Halo Select' is the same Wi-Fi + Matter lock WITHOUT it, and there is also a 'Halo Select Contemporary' styling variant. Ordinary 'Halo' (Touchscreen or Keypad) is Wi-Fi only with no Matter at all. Kwikset's model strings carry the answer where the marketing name does not: this one is 9801 WIFI THRD TSCR 15, and THRD is the Thread radio.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[3][12][13][14][23][27][30]
[3][12][13][14][18][19][20][22][23][27][31]
[2][12][13][14][23][27]
[2][13][14][19][20][21][27]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · THREAD · MATTER[2][7][15][24]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Platform setup limits

Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Thread border router

Needed only for Matter. Kwikset's support page says the Halo Select Plus requires 'a compatible smart home hub with Thread and Matter support' to join a smart home platform, and its Matter page lists the qualifying hubs per platform: the Echo (4th Generation), Echo Show 8 (3rd Generation), Echo Hub and eero models for Alexa; the HomePod mini, HomePod (2nd Generation), Apple TV 4K (2nd Generation) and Apple TV 4K (3rd Generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet) for Apple Home; the Google TV Streamer (4K), Nest Hub (2nd gen), Nest Hub Max and Nest Wifi routers for Google Home; and the SmartThings Hub (V3) and SmartThings Station. Kwikset's own app runs over the lock's Wi-Fi with no hub.[1][12][13][14][23][25][27]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Lock/unlock

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [15] [24]

Documented device function

Lock state

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [15] [24]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[2][15][24]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[3][12][13][14][23][27][30]Google HomeWorks, except voice unlock[3][12][13][14][18][19][20][22][23][27][31]AlexaWorks[3][12][13][14][23][27][29]SmartThingsWorks[2][12][13][14][23][27]Home AssistantWorks[2][13][14][19][20][21][27]
Lock/unlockDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Works, except voice unlock (Matter device-type support)

Automation

? not stated

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

? not stated

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it[32][33]

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Lock stateReported event
Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it[32][33]

Event

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

The reason to buy the Plus over the plain Select: 'With NFC technology and Apple home keys, simply tap to unlock Halo Select Plus using your iPhone or Apple Watch for easy and secure access to your home.' Home Key is provisioned through Apple Home, and Kwikset names Apple Home in its works-with statement. The lock joins Apple Home over Matter on Thread, and Kwikset lists the Apple home hubs that qualify: the HomePod mini, the HomePod (2nd Generation), the Apple TV 4K (2nd Generation) and the Apple TV 4K (3rd Generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet), noting that the 64GB Wi-Fi-only Apple TV 4K does not have Thread.[3][12][13][14][23][27][30]

Google Home

Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Kwikset does not say whether the Halo Select Plus requires one. On this lock Matter runs over Thread, so you need one of the Google hubs Kwikset lists, among them the Google TV Streamer (4K), the Nest Hub (2nd gen), the Nest Hub Max and the Nest Wi-Fi Pro. Kwikset's own table compares which lock features Google Home gets over Matter with what its app does over Wi-Fi.[3][12][13][14][18][19][20][22][23][27][31]

Alexa

Kwikset states 'Works with Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home. Control your lock with your voice, create helpful automations that secure your home and manage all your smart devices in one app.' The lock reaches Alexa over Matter, and on this lock Matter runs over Thread, not Wi-Fi: Kwikset's support page says it needs 'a compatible smart home hub with Thread and Matter support', and its Matter page lists the Alexa hubs that qualify, including the Echo (4th Generation), the Echo Show 8 (3rd Generation), the Echo Hub and several eero routers. Kwikset also publishes a table of which lock features Alexa gets over Matter; the rest stay in the Kwikset app. Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate applies.[3][12][13][14][23][27][29]

SmartThings

Kwikset names SmartThings on this lock's own page, in its compatible-technologies list and in its works-with specification, and its Matter page names the SmartThings Hub (V3) and the SmartThings Station as the hubs to use. The lock joins SmartThings over Matter on Thread. Anything Kwikset-specific — SmartKey, geofence auto-unlock, code scheduling beyond Matter's own model — stays in the Kwikset app.[2][12][13][14][23][27]

Home Assistant

Kwikset does not name Home Assistant, but its Matter page says 'Your Matter enabled smart lock can be added to any smart home platform that supports Matter', and this lock is Matter 1.3 certified. Home Assistant's official Matter integration (with a Matter server) commissions certified locks and exposes lock/unlock, state and PIN-credential management. Kwikset's Matter mode runs over Thread, so a Home Assistant household needs a Thread border router on its network as well.[2][13][14][19][20][21][27]

Device documentation: [2] [15] [24]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][12][13][14][23][27][29]Kwikset states 'Works with Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home. Control your lock with your voice, create helpful automations that secure your home and manage all your smart devices in one app.' The lock reaches Alexa over Matter, and on this lock Matter runs over Thread, not Wi-Fi: Kwikset's support page says it needs 'a compatible smart home hub with Thread and Matter support', and its Matter page lists the Alexa hubs that qualify, including the Echo (4th Generation), the Echo Show 8 (3rd Generation), the Echo Hub and several eero routers. Kwikset also publishes a table of which lock features Alexa gets over Matter; the rest stay in the Kwikset app. Alexa's standard voice-unlock code gate applies.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorks, except voice unlockWorks, except voice unlock — see the catch[3][12][13][14][18][19][20][22][23][27][31]Google turns off voice unlock for every Matter lock, so asking Google to unlock the door does not work; locking and checking whether it is locked work by voice, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Google also turns off remote unlock for Matter locks that don't require a PIN, and Kwikset does not say whether the Halo Select Plus requires one. On this lock Matter runs over Thread, so you need one of the Google hubs Kwikset lists, among them the Google TV Streamer (4K), the Nest Hub (2nd gen), the Nest Hub Max and the Nest Wi-Fi Pro. Kwikset's own table compares which lock features Google Home gets over Matter with what its app does over Wi-Fi.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][12][13][14][23][27][30]The reason to buy the Plus over the plain Select: 'With NFC technology and Apple home keys, simply tap to unlock Halo Select Plus using your iPhone or Apple Watch for easy and secure access to your home.' Home Key is provisioned through Apple Home, and Kwikset names Apple Home in its works-with statement. The lock joins Apple Home over Matter on Thread, and Kwikset lists the Apple home hubs that qualify: the HomePod mini, the HomePod (2nd Generation), the Apple TV 4K (2nd Generation) and the Apple TV 4K (3rd Generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet), noting that the 64GB Wi-Fi-only Apple TV 4K does not have Thread.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][12][13][14][23][27]Kwikset names SmartThings on this lock's own page, in its compatible-technologies list and in its works-with specification, and its Matter page names the SmartThings Hub (V3) and the SmartThings Station as the hubs to use. The lock joins SmartThings over Matter on Thread. Anything Kwikset-specific — SmartKey, geofence auto-unlock, code scheduling beyond Matter's own model — stays in the Kwikset app.In SmartThings you also need: a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][13][14][19][20][21][27]Kwikset does not name Home Assistant, but its Matter page says 'Your Matter enabled smart lock can be added to any smart home platform that supports Matter', and this lock is Matter 1.3 certified. Home Assistant's official Matter integration (with a Matter server) commissions certified locks and exposes lock/unlock, state and PIN-credential management. Kwikset's Matter mode runs over Thread, so a Home Assistant household needs a Thread border router on its network as well.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[4][12][13][23][25]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[16][28]

No subscription appears anywhere on Kwikset's product page for this lock — remote lock/unlock, guest access sharing, activity history and door-status checking are all described as app features over the lock's own Wi-Fi, with no plan named and no feature marked as requiring one. Recorded as none on that absence; if Kwikset later gates history or notifications behind a plan, this is the field that moves.

Maintenance and offline use[1]

Security updates[4][13][25]

Kwikset publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

No security-update commitment was found on Kwikset's product or support page for this lock. The published 1-year electronics warranty is a warranty, not a patching period, and must not be read as one. Kwikset publishes no EU/UK-style per-model support-period table of the kind TP-Link and some others do.

The catch

On this lock, Matter means Thread, so budget for a Thread hub if you want it in Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings. Kwikset's own Matter page answers 'Do I need Wi-Fi? No. Matter uses a technology called Thread', and its support page says the lock needs 'a compatible smart home hub with Thread and Matter support'. The Wi-Fi radio is for Kwikset's own app, which works with no hub, and you choose one or the other: the Kwikset app converts the lock to Matter and back to Wi-Fi. Two more things to weigh. The electronics warranty is one year against a lifetime mechanical warranty, and Kwikset publishes no security-update period at all, so the connected half of a $309 lock has the shortest written commitment on it. And the 'Plus' in the name is doing real work: it is what buys Apple Home Key tap-to-unlock, and the near-identically-named Halo Select does not have it.

Who it's for

An Apple household that wants tap-to-unlock with Apple Home Key and already owns one of the Thread home hubs Kwikset lists (a HomePod mini, a HomePod (2nd Generation), or the Apple TV 4K 2nd-generation or 3rd-generation Wi-Fi + Ethernet model), and any Matter household with a Thread hub that wants a keypad deadbolt from a mainstream brand with a re-keyable cylinder. Without a Thread hub it still works as a Wi-Fi lock through Kwikset's own app. It is a weaker choice for someone shopping on published support commitments — Kwikset states none — or for anyone who wants UWB hands-free unlocking, which this lock does not do.

Check availability at Kwikset

This opens Kwikset's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

33 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] https://www.kwikset.com/products/detail/halo-select-plus-touchscreen-wi-fi-and-matter-enabled-smart-lock-with-apple-home-keys (read 2026-08-14) — product name 'Halo Select Plus Touchscreen Wi-Fi and Matter Enabled Smart Lock with Apple Home Keys', model '9801 WIFI THRD TSCR 15', price $309.00. Specs verbatim: 'ANSI Grade AAA' with 'UL 20-minute fire rating', 'Wi-Fi and Matter connectivity built-in', '4 AA batteries included', 'up to 250 access codes', door thickness '1-3/4" to 2"', assembled dimensions '5-7/16"H × 2-27/32"W × 7/8"L', cross bore '2-1/8"'. Warranty verbatim: 'Limited Lifetime Mechanical Warranty, Limited Lifetime Finish Warranty and 1-Year Limited Electronics Warranty'. The page states Wi-Fi operation needs no hub and includes a door sensor and SmartKey re-key. Protocols are recorded as wifi + thread + matter per the certificate below; no Bluetooth radio is published for this model, and per our protocols rule only radios carrying ongoing communication are listed. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge
  2. [2] CSA-IoT certified-products registry, certified product "Halo Select Plus" by Assa Abloy AB Sweden, read 2026-08-26: Certificate ID **CSA25CCEMAT48160-24**, Certified Date 10/22/2025, Firmware Version 23.51.05.26, Hardware Version 1.0, Product ID 0x0042, Vendor ID 0x1421, Specification Version 1.3, and **Transport Interface: "Thread, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth"**. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-26
    Backs: Protocols, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  3. [3] https://www.kwikset.com/products/detail/halo-select-plus-touchscreen-wi-fi-and-matter-enabled-smart-lock-with-apple-home-keys — verbatim: 'Works with Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home. Control your lock with your voice, create helpful automations that secure your home and manage all your smart devices in one app.' And: 'With NFC technology and Apple home keys, simply tap to unlock Halo Select Plus using your iPhone or Apple Watch for easy and secure access to your home.' ⚠ Cross-party caveat: no platform publishes a per-model entry for this lock, so the capability detail in each cell is drawn from the Matter certificate's device type and from each platform's published rules for Matter locks, not from a Kwikset-specific listing. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
  4. [4] https://www.kwikset.com/products/detail/halo-select-plus-touchscreen-wi-fi-and-matter-enabled-smart-lock-with-apple-home-keys and https://www.kwikset.com/support/productdetail/halo-select-plus-touchscreen-wi-fi-and-matter-enabled-smart-lock-with-apple-home-keys (both read 2026-08-14). Neither page names a subscription, a plan tier, or any feature gated behind payment; app control, remote lock/unlock, guest access and activity history are described without one. Neither names a security-update or firmware-support period. The only dated commitment published for this lock is the warranty, and warranties are not patching periods. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Subscription, Security-update support period
  5. [5] Listed for sale at $309.00 on Kwikset's own site with a live support page carrying manuals and firmware guidance (both read 2026-08-14), and holding a Matter certificate issued 09/24/2025 with firmware 23.50.00.09. Nothing on either surface marks it end-of-life. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Market availability, Service status
  6. [6] Researched 2026-08-14 from Kwikset's own product and support pages plus the CSA-IoT certified-products registry. No third-party retailer or review site was used as evidence for any claim on this record. Gaps stated rather than filled: the app's platforms and whether an account is required both stay unanswered — neither was established from a first-party page during this research. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Research status
  7. [7] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against our settled definition of which radios count as the device's own: certificate CSA25931MAT47235. No outside page was read for this entry — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  8. [8] https://www.kwikset.com/products/detail/halo-select-plus-touchscreen-wi-fi-and-matter-enabled and the Halo Select Plus support page (read 2026-09-09). For wifiBands the pages say only 'Check your router settings to ensure your home network is broadcasting 2.4GHz frequency and is not hidden' — troubleshooting instructions about the buyer's router. For appPlatforms the only mention of platforms is a December 2024 service-outage notice describing the error text seen '(Android)' and '(iOS)'; an incident report naming two clients is not the vendor enumerating supported platforms, and filling from it would be borrowing an accident. Both stay unanswered, recorded as checked and not published. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  9. [9] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by Kwikset itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation for controlling the lock over the home network, or its own statement about this model — that the Halo Select Plus keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: the CSA-IoT certified-products registry entry for this lock (certificate CSA25CCEMAT48160-24, Transport Interface 'Thread, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth')., verified 2026-09-16
  10. [10] Kwikset's own product page for the Halo Select Plus, already cited by this record, read end to end on 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check and checked for any Kwikset statement about what this lock does when the internet is down. What it carries instead: under 'Using Matter with Thread', 'No Internet, No Problem. With Thread, your devices create their own network, ensuring all smart devices keep working smoothly, even when the Wi-Fi goes out.' and 'Thread's reliable mesh networking enhances the responsiveness of your lock to commands and self-repairs automatically if other devices go offline.'; under the remote-access feature, 'Remotely lock and unlock, share guest access, view all lock activity in the event log and check if your door is shut and secure using Wi-Fi connectivity (no hub required).'; and an app notice, 'A third-party service outage occurred between December 12, 2024 from 6:00-8:30 PM PT' with 'an inability to log in to the Kwikset App.' No sentence on the page names this lock's own behaviour without the internet. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
  11. [11] csa-iot.org certified-product page for Halo Select Plus by Assa Abloy AB Sweden, read 2026-09-17. The page gives firmware 23.51.05.26, hardware 1.0, certificate CSA25CCEMAT48160-24, certified 2025-10-22, product ID 0x0042 and vendor ID 0x1421., verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  12. [12] Kwikset's own product page for the Halo Select Plus, read in full on 27 September 2026. It shows 'Halo Select Plus Touchscreen Wi-Fi and Matter Enabled Smart Lock with Apple Home Keys', '9801 WIFI THRD TSCR 15', at $309.00 in Satin Nickel, with no 'was' price shown. Installation: 'Installs in Minutes with Just a Screwdriver Simple Guided Install Our interactive in-app installation guide walks you through every step with easy-to-follow visuals for a simple DIY install.' and 'No Hardwiring Required Includes 4x long-lasting Duracell AA batteries'. Platforms: 'Works with Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home.' · 'Choose Matter or Wi-Fi connectivity to access your preferred lock features.' · 'Compatible Technologies Alexa SmartThings Google Home Apple HomeKit Apple Watch'. Remote access: 'Remotely lock and unlock, share guest access, view all lock activity in the event log and check if your door is shut and secure using Wi-Fi connectivity (no hub required).' Specifications: 'Product Type Deadbolt', 'Min Door Thickness 1-3/4', 'Max Door Thickness 2', 'Cross Bore 2-1/8', 'Hub Required No Hub required', 'Electronic Works With Alexa ; Apple HomeKit ; Apple Watch ; Google Home ; SmartThings', '# Of Codes 250', 'Battery Type Required 4 AA, included'. Warranty: 'Limited Lifetime Mechanical Warranty, Limited Lifetime Finish Warranty and 1-Year Limited Electronics Warranty'. No subscription or plan is named anywhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Installation, Product identity, Price, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  13. [13] Kwikset's own support page for the Halo Select Plus, read in full on 27 September 2026. Under 'How can I troubleshoot Matter connectivity on my smart lock?': 'Halo Select, Halo Select Plus, and Aura Reach require a compatible smart home hub with Thread and Matter support.' · 'Navigate to Lock Settings in the Kwikset app, then tap Matter Integration to begin the Matter Setup process. Follow the instructions in the Kwikset app to convert your lock to Matter connectivity. Once your lock has been successfully converted to Matter, your lock will enter Matter Pairing Mode and begin broadcasting using Thread.' · 'Convert your lock back to Wi-Fi by navigating to Lock Settings in the Kwikset app, tapping Matter Integration, and selecting Begin Wi-Fi Setup.' It links Matter help for Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home and SmartThings. No answer on the page names a subscription, a plan or a security-update period. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Security-update support period, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Service status
  14. [14] Kwikset's own Matter page, read in full on 27 September 2026. Its Compatible Locks list names the 'Halo Select Plus' beside the Aura Reach and Halo Select. Verbatim: 'Do I need Wi-Fi? No. Matter uses a technology called Thread and is more reliable because devices can directly connect to each other. Even if your internet goes down, you'll still have control inside the house and your automations will still run.' · 'Your Matter enabled smart lock can be added to any smart home platform that supports Matter.' · 'Matter is an evolving standard, some smart home platforms may not yet support all smart lock features. Compare feature support for each smart home platform before connecting your lock with Matter.' Compatible hubs: for Amazon Alexa 'Amazon Echo (4th Generation) Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Generation) Amazon Echo Hub' and eero models; for Apple Home 'Apple TV 4K (3rd Generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet) *Note: The Apple TV 4K Wi-Fi Only 64GB model does not have Thread. Apple TV 4K (2nd Generation) Apple HomePod mini Apple HomePod (2nd Generation)'; for Google Home 'Google TV Streamer (4K) Google Nest Hub (2nd gen) Google Nest Hub Max Google Nest Wi-Fi Pro' and other Nest Wi-Fi models; for SmartThings 'SmartThings Hub (V3) SmartThings Station'. Each platform's table compares 'with Matter' against 'Kwikset App with Wi-Fi'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge
  15. [15] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for Halo Select Plus by Assa Abloy AB Sweden, read in full on 27 September 2026, gives firmware 23.51.05.26, hardware 1.0, certificate CSA25CCEMAT48160-24, certified 2025-10-22, product ID 0x0042, vendor ID 0x1421, Matter specification 1.3, Thread, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth as transports, and primary device type 0x000A. Its description says the lock can be added to a smart home over Matter for control from a single app, and that installing it needs only a screwdriver. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Capabilities
  16. [16] Kwikset's Installation and Reference Guide for the Halo Select Plus (document 56424-000, Rev 02, English), read in full on 2026-10-01. Required tools, verbatim: "No electric drills", beside a Phillips head screwdriver and a ruler. Steps: "Remove your existing deadbolt", then the latch, strike and sensor magnet, exterior assembly, interior assembly and batteries. Batteries: "Insert (4) AA batteries (included)" · "Use new, non-rechargeable alkaline batteries only." Setup, verbatim: "Download the Kwikset app & create an account to complete set up". The same page, headed 'Complete your lock set up', gives two routes side by side: 'Full Setup in Kwikset App' and 'Direct Setup in Matter Smart Home Platform', the second pointing to the Matter Commissioning page, which has the owner hold the lock's A button for 5 seconds and then scan the lock's Matter code in a Matter smart home app. Also verbatim: "If this lock was professionally installed (or installed by someone other than the homeowner), make sure this step is performed by the homeowner." Regulatory page: "FCC ID: NUL-HAL3SP" and "IC: 3022A-HAL3SP". The guide names no phone platform, no Wi-Fi band, no battery life and no fee. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Installation, Vendor account required, Certification and product IDs, Batteries
  17. [17] Kwikset's support page for the Halo Select Plus, read on 2026-10-01 for its Documents list: 'Installation Guide - English 58.4 MB' and 'Installation Guide - Spanish 58.8 MB'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-01
  18. [18] Kwikset's Halo Select Plus product page, read in full on 2026-10-07: "Works with Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home. Control your lock with your voice, create helpful automations that secure your home and manage all your smart devices in one app." · "Compatible Technologies Alexa SmartThings Google Home Apple HomeKit Apple Watch". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  19. [19] Kwikset's Matter page, read in full on 2026-10-07: "Your Matter enabled smart lock can be added to any smart home platform that supports Matter." · "Matter is an evolving standard, some smart home platforms may not yet support all smart lock features. Compare feature support for each smart home platform before connecting your lock with Matter." The Google Home table lists "Lock/Unlock Remote Lock/Unlock" with an icon in both the 'Google Home with Matter' and 'Kwikset App with Wi-Fi' columns, and its hubs "Google TV Streamer (4K) Google Nest Hub (2nd gen) Google Nest Hub Max Google Nest Wi-Fi Pro Google Nest Wi-Fi Point Google Nest Wi-Fi Router". The text read does not say what the icon means, and the page does not say whether the lock requires a PIN code over Matter. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  20. [20] Kwikset's Halo Select Plus support page, read in full on 2026-10-07. It links Matter information for Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home and SmartThings, and covers "Adding Halo Select, Halo Select Plus, or Aura Reach to Additional Matter Smart Home Platforms". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  21. [21] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for the Halo Select Plus, read in full on 2026-10-07. In our words: certificate CSA25CCEMAT48160-24, granted in October 2025 to Assa Abloy AB Sweden against Matter 1.3, naming Thread, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, with the door lock as its primary device type. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  22. [22] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-07. The device type and control support table's Door Lock row is marked available in all three control columns it prints: Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. The Door Locks section: "Although the Matter specification does not require PIN codes for door locks, remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  23. [23] Kwikset's own product page for the Halo Select Plus, read in full on 2026-10-07. It shows '9801 WIFI THRD TSCR 15' at $309.00 in Satin Nickel with no 'was' price. Verbatim: "Works with Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home." · "Remotely lock and unlock, share guest access, view all lock activity in the event log and check if your door is shut and secure using Wi-Fi connectivity (no hub required)." · "Includes 4x long-lasting Duracell AA batteries for consistent, reliable power." · "Choose Matter or Wi-Fi connectivity to access your preferred lock features." · "Compatible Technologies Alexa SmartThings Google Home Apple HomeKit Apple Watch" · "Hub Required No Hub required" · "Battery Type Required 4 AA, included". No subscription or plan is named anywhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Batteries, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  24. [24] The Connectivity Standards Alliance certified-product page for the Halo Select Plus, listed under Assa Abloy AB Sweden, read in full on 2026-10-07. Stated here in our own words: certificate CSA25CCEMAT48160-24, certified on 22 October 2025 under specification 1.3 for firmware 23.51.05.26 and hardware 1.0, vendor 0x1421 and product 0x0042, an end product whose primary device type is the door lock, over Thread, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDs, Capabilities
  25. [25] Kwikset's support page for the Halo Select Plus, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Halo Select, Halo Select Plus, and Aura Reach require a compatible smart home hub with Thread and Matter support." · "Once your lock has been successfully converted to Matter, your lock will enter Matter Pairing Mode and begin broadcasting using Thread." The page names no plan or fee and no security-update period. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Security-update support period, Service status
  26. [26] The shorter Kwikset product address this record's 2026-09-09 context entry cites, read in full on 2026-10-07: it now serves Kwikset's general Products page (deadbolts, knobs, levers, electronic locks) and no longer the Halo Select Plus. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
  27. [27] Kwikset's own Matter page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Its Compatible Locks list names the 'Halo Select Plus' beside the Aura Reach and Halo Select. Verbatim: "Do I need Wi-Fi? No. Matter uses a technology called Thread and is more reliable because devices can directly connect to each other." · "Your Matter enabled smart lock can be added to any smart home platform that supports Matter." Compatible hubs for Apple Home: "Apple TV 4K (3rd Generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet) *Note: The Apple TV 4K Wi-Fi Only 64GB model does not have Thread. Apple TV 4K (2nd Generation) Apple HomePod mini Apple HomePod (2nd Generation)"; for SmartThings: "SmartThings Hub (V3) SmartThings Station". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge
  28. [28] Kwikset's Installation and Reference Guide for the Halo Select Plus, document 56424-000 Rev 02, read in full on 2026-10-07 as a PDF. Verbatim: "Remove your existing deadbolt" · "Insert (4) AA batteries (included)" · "Download the Kwikset app & create an account to complete set up". The setup page still prints two routes side by side, full setup in the Kwikset app and direct setup in a Matter smart home platform, and the regulatory page still prints FCC ID NUL-HAL3SP. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Installation, Vendor account required, Certification and product IDs, Batteries
  29. [29] Amazon's 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters', read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Alexa supports many device types from the following Matter device categories: Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices (door locks, window coverings), thermostats, fans, air purifiers, appliances (room air conditioners, dishwashers), and robotic vacuums." The closure table maps a door lock's lock and unlock to the Door Lock cluster and Alexa.LockController. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  30. [30] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories', read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  31. [31] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types', read in full on 2026-10-07. The Door Lock row is marked available on all three surfaces. Verbatim: "Although the Matter specification does not require PIN codes for door locks, remote unlock is disabled on all surfaces for Matter door locks in the Google ecosystem that don't mandate a PIN code. Likewise, voice unlock for door locks is disabled." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  32. [32] SmartThings' own matter-lock Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "5153/66" · deviceLabel: Kwikset Halo Select Plus · vendorId: 0x1421 · productId: 0x0042 · deviceProfileName: lock-user-pin-battery — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  33. [33] SmartThings' own lock-user-pin-battery device profile in the matter-lock Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: lock-user-pin-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: lock · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: What your assistant can automate

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Kwikset Halo Select Plus Touchscreen Smart Lock with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker