Product Library / Sensors & Detectors
Research profile · verified 2026-09-22 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02, unchangedEve Motion (3rd generation, Matter)
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your home?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: THREAD · MATTER[1][2][4][7][9][10][11][17][32][34][37]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Matter controller
Thread border router + Matter controller — Eve's own wording: 'This Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter.' For Apple Home Eve names HomePod (2nd gen), HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model; for Alexa/Google/SmartThings, that ecosystem's Matter controller with Thread border router.[1][4][7][11][32][34]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Richest experience: Eve app features (when/how-long motion records, exportable history, brightness data, twilight thresholds) explicitly require connection through Apple Home and the Eve app for iPhone/iPad.[19][32]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history/threshold features outside Apple Home.[19][26][27][28][32]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Standard Matter motion-sensor function; Eve-app extras (motion history, twilight-threshold tuning) are not available. Eve's Matter upgrade page notes that features like historical data 'are currently not supported by all platforms', and the Eve Motion page says feature availability depends on the platform.[19][25][32][34]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain Matter sensor functions only.[19][23][32][38]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially badged 'Works with Home Assistant' on Eve's product page (via HA's Matter support with a Thread border router); Eve-app history features do not carry over.[19][32]
Platform setup limits
Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Richest experience: Eve app features (when/how-long motion records, exportable history, brightness data, twilight thresholds) explicitly require connection through Apple Home and the Eve app for iPhone/iPad.
Connection documentation: [19] [32]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [32]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
Google Home · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Listed for this device type
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history/threshold features outside Apple Home.
Connection documentation: [19] [26] [27] [28] [32]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [32]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-09-30
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-07
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
Alexa · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Listed for this device type
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Standard Matter motion-sensor function; Eve-app extras (motion history, twilight-threshold tuning) are not available. Eve's Matter upgrade page notes that features like historical data 'are currently not supported by all platforms', and the Eve Motion page says feature availability depends on the platform.
Connection documentation: [19] [25] [32] [34]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [32]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-09-30
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
SmartThings · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Documented for this model
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain Matter sensor functions only.
Connection documentation: [19] [23] [32] [38]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [32]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
partners.smartthings.com · checked 2026-11-04
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-13
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-13
Home Assistant · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially badged 'Works with Home Assistant' on Eve's product page (via HA's Matter support with a Thread border router); Eve-app history features do not carry over.
Connection documentation: [19] [32]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [32]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-28
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- Not established from vendor documentation
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeWorks[19][32] | Google HomeWorks[19][26][27][28][32] | AlexaWorks[19][25][32][34] | SmartThingsWorks[19][23][32][38] | Home AssistantWorks[19][32] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motion detectedReported event | Event Not stated Automation — | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ Listed for this device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ Listed for this device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type | Event Not stated Automation — |
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Richest experience: Eve app features (when/how-long motion records, exportable history, brightness data, twilight thresholds) explicitly require connection through Apple Home and the Eve app for iPhone/iPad.[19][32]
Google Home
Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history/threshold features outside Apple Home.[19][26][27][28][32]
Alexa
Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Standard Matter motion-sensor function; Eve-app extras (motion history, twilight-threshold tuning) are not available. Eve's Matter upgrade page notes that features like historical data 'are currently not supported by all platforms', and the Eve Motion page says feature availability depends on the platform.[19][25][32][34]
SmartThings
Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain Matter sensor functions only.[19][23][32][38]
Home Assistant
Officially badged 'Works with Home Assistant' on Eve's product page (via HA's Matter support with a Thread border router); Eve-app history features do not carry over.[19][32]
Motion detected: Home Assistant setup limit
Platform documentation:
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-09-30
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-07
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-09-30
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-04
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
partners.smartthings.com · checked 2026-11-04
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-13
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-13
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-28
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[19][25][32][34] | Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Standard Matter motion-sensor function; Eve-app extras (motion history, twilight-threshold tuning) are not available. Eve's Matter upgrade page notes that features like historical data 'are currently not supported by all platforms', and the Eve Motion page says feature availability depends on the platform.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[19][26][27][28][32] | Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history/threshold features outside Apple Home.In Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Apple Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[19][32] | Richest experience: Eve app features (when/how-long motion records, exportable history, brightness data, twilight thresholds) explicitly require connection through Apple Home and the Eve app for iPhone/iPad.In Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| SmartThings | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[19][23][32][38] | Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain Matter sensor functions only.In SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[19][32] | Officially badged 'Works with Home Assistant' on Eve's product page (via HA's Matter support with a Thread border router); Eve-app history features do not carry over.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
Plans and ongoing costs[1][7][32]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: No — no vendor account is involved.[6][18][31]
Eve states: 'works across platforms, offers all features without any additional subscriptions'; no Eve cloud, no registration.
Maintenance and offline use[7]
- Batteries: AAA x2
- Works without the internet: Yes — the core function runs on the device or your home network. A vendor cloud may still be involved in remote access.[1][15][32]
- Battery life not stated anywhere in Eve's official specs — left unrecorded rather than estimated. Firmware updates via the Eve app; Eve's Matter-upgrade documentation explicitly requires an iPhone or iPad. An Eve app for Android exists (since 2023), but whether it can perform firmware updates is not clearly stated by Eve — unverified.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether Eve Systems publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
Who it's for
Suits households that already run a Thread border router and want a subscription-free, locally controlled motion-plus-light sensor; Apple Home users get the full feature set, other Matter ecosystems get core motion sensing.
This opens Eve Systems's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
41 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] www.evehome.com/en-us/eve-motion, read in full 2026-09-22, plain and then rendered. Price, from the rendered store block: 'SINGLE PACK $54.95', beside 'SET OF 3 $159.85' struck from '$164,85', footnoted 'Strikethrough price and savings are based on the SRP of the single device.' Technical Details, verbatim: REQUIREMENTS 'iPhone or iPad with latest version of iOS/iPadOS, or Android device (8.1 or later)' and 'Compatible hub with Matter Controller & Thread Border Router functionality (find compatible devices on evehome.com/hub)'; SPECIFICATIONS 'Field of view: 120°', 'Distance: 9 m / 30 ft. max at 2 m / 6.5 ft. mounting height', 'Operating temperature: -18°C to +55°C', 'Indoors and outdoors: Certified IPX3', 'Twilight setting: 0 - 15,000 lux', 'Power 2 x AAA Replaceable Batteries', 'Wireless Connection Thread'. Privacy and subscription, verbatim: 'works across platforms, offers all features without any additional subscriptions', 'No subscription, no registration', 'No Eve cloud', '100% privacy'. Hub FAQ, verbatim: 'Yes, this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter.' The store block still offers the unit for sale, and the page still says 'receive notifications when motion is detected'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22Backs: Price, Protocols, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, App platforms, Capabilities, Product identity, Market availability, Research status
- [2] www.evehome.com/en/identify-your-eve-accessory, read in full 2026-09-22. Both third-generation rows are still published and still differ in their radio, verbatim: 'Eve Motion (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2022 Product number: 10EBY9901 Model number: 20EBY9901 Wireless Connection: Bluetooth/Thread' with 'Matter update available', and 'Eve Motion (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2023 Product number: 10EBY9951 Model number: 20EBY9901 Wireless Connection: Thread' with 'Ships with Matter'. The first generation (2016, model 2EM309901000) and the second generation (2017, model 20EAK9901) are listed Bluetooth, with no Matter mark. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22Backs: Product identity, Protocols
- [3] www.evehome.com/en-us/standard-terms-conditions-online-shop, read in full 2026-09-22. The warranty sentence is unchanged, verbatim: 'If you purchase directly from the Eve Online Shop or an authorized Eve reseller, a two-year warranty will apply. If you purchase from a reseller that is not an authorized Eve reseller, the warranty herein may not apply.' Software is still 'expressly provided "as is"', and the word 'firmware' occurs zero times on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22Backs: Service status
- [4] evehome.com/en-us/upgrade-to-matter, read in full 2026-09-22. Eve Motion is still on the list of Thread-enabled devices with a Matter upgrade. System requirements, verbatim: 'Make sure a Thread Border Router capable Home Hub like a HomePod (2nd gen.), HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (2nd gen. / 3rd gen. 128 GB) is connected to your network' and 'Upgrading the firmware on an Eve device to Matter requires an iPhone or iPad with the latest version of iOS/iPadOS.' A second platform needs its own controller: 'If you want to control your Eve device from an additional platform, you need a hub of that platform as well. This hub only needs to support Matter'. Eve-only features: 'Features like energy monitoring, historical data and on-device schedules are unique to Eve and are currently not supported by all platforms.' The old Alexa line 'Matter over Thread support coming soon.' is still on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
- [5] evehome.com/en/eve-becomes-part-of-abb, read in full 2026-09-22. Verbatim: 'ZURICH, SWITZERLAND, JUNE 12, 2023 ABB strengthens smart home technology portfolio with acquisition of Eve Systems', and 'The acquisition is effective immediately with Eve Systems becoming an independently operated brand in the Building and Home Automation Solutions portfolio within ABB Electrification's Smart Buildings Division.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22Backs: Product identity
- [6] www.evehome.com/en-us/privacy, read in full 2026-09-22. Under 'No account or registration', verbatim: 'Eve does not harvest your personal data by forcing you to set up an account or registering your accessories. Inviting Eve into your home is a purely personal affair between each accessory and you, without exposing any details to any company database.' Under 'No data in cloud': 'Since privacy is designed into the core of all Eve accessories, no cloud or any other proprietary device can ever breach your most personal data.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-22Backs: Vendor account required
- [7] https://www.evehome.com/en-us/eve-motion re-read from RAW MARKUP 2026-08-09 (official product page). Price $54.95 UNCHANGED since 2026-07-16, read from this product's own buy-button attribute rather than from a page-wide price grep. All five ecosystem badges re-verified verbatim: 'Works with Apple Home', 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Google Home', 'Works with Samsung SmartThings', 'Works with Home Assistant'. Sensor specifications re-verified verbatim: 'Field of view: 120°', 'Distance: 9 m / 30 ft. max at 2 m / 6.5 ft. mounting height', 'Operating temperature: -18°C to +55°C', 'Indoors and outdoors: Certified IPX3'. Requirements block: 'Compatible hub with Matter Controller & Thread Border Router functionality'. ⚠ The word 'Bluetooth' occurs ZERO times on this page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Subscription, Protocols, Price, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Market availability, Research status
- [8] https://www.evehome.com/en-us/warranty read 2026-08-09: 'If you purchase directly from the Eve Online Shop or an authorized Eve reseller, a two-year warranty will apply. If you purchase from a reseller that is not an authorized Eve reseller, the warranty herein may not apply.' The page contains no occurrence of 'firmware' and no support-period commitment; software is supplied on its licence terms and 'as is'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Service status
- [9] https://www.evehome.com/en/identify-your-eve-accessory re-read 2026-08-09 (official generation identifier page), verbatim: 'Eve Motion (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2022 Product number: 10EBY9901 Model number: 20EBY9901 Wireless Connection: Bluetooth/Thread' with 'Matter update available', AND a second entry 'Eve Motion (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2023 Product number: 10EBY9951 Model number: 20EBY9901 Wireless Connection: Thread' with 'Ships with Matter'. The 2nd generation (20EAK9901, 2017) is listed Bluetooth. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols, Product identity
- [10] CSA registry re-read from the page source 2026-08-09, the certificate page live, with a control page we knew to be there (csa_product/aqara-hub-m2/) answering the same day, so the method was proven before anything was read from it. https://csa-iot.org/csa_product/eve-motion-2/ → Eve Systems, certificate CSA23276MAT40789-24, certified 2023-03-28, firmware 3.2.0, vendor ID 0x130A, product ID 0x0059, Matter specification 1.0, primary device type 0x0107, **over Thread and Bluetooth**. ⚠ **The Bluetooth in that field is COMMISSIONING transport for a Matter-over-Thread device, not a control path**, and Bluetooth was removed from this record's list of radios on 2026-08-09 — the same call made for the Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2 and the Tapo L535E on 2026-08-08. What makes it stronger here than in those cases is that the MANUFACTURER agrees: Eve's product page specification names only a Thread border router requirement and never says Bluetooth, and Eve's own generation table reserves 'Bluetooth/Thread' for the 2022 revision. The certificate's transport field is recorded above as the certificate states it, so the evidence survives whichever way the catalogue-wide rule lands (the distinction is documented in our own notes). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols
- [11] evehome.com/en-us/upgrade-to-matter (official Matter guidance) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
- [12] evehome.com/en/eve-becomes-part-of-abb + new.abb.com/news/detail/104038/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16Backs: Product identity
- [13] evehome.com, Eve Motion product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Power source
- [14] evehome.com, Eve Motion product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
- [15] Eve Systems, Eve Motion product page (evehome.com/en-us/eve-motion), re-read 2026-08-18 — 'No Eve cloud'; 'No subscription, no registration'; '100% privacy'; requirements block 'Compatible hub with Matter Controller & Thread Border Router functionality'. No Wi-Fi radio is published for this product. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Works without the internet
- [16] evehome.com Eve Motion page, read 2026-08-20: "Use motion-based automations to control your lights, appliances or home cinema system", with the worked example "When you come home, automatically have your smart home set to 'I'm home' and turn on the networked mood lights in the living room – but only after sunset." The page also mentions "the integrated light sensor". Matter-enabled over Thread; the same hub requirement as the sibling Door & Window. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [17] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against our settled definition of which radios a product lists: certificate CSA23276MAT40789 · Matter over Thread. No new outside source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Protocols
- [18] Eve, "Privacy by design" — under the heading "No account or registration": "Eve does not harvest your personal data by forcing you to set up an account or registering your accessories. Inviting Eve into your home is a purely personal affair between each accessory and you, without exposing any details to any company database." Under "No data in cloud": "Since privacy is designed into the core of all Eve accessories, no cloud or any other proprietary device can ever breach your most personal data." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [19] Eve Systems, Eve Motion product page (https://www.evehome.com/en-us/eve-motion), re-read 2026-09-03 under our reading rules for this site, and served normally. THE VENDOR'S PUBLISHED PLATFORM LIST, verbatim from the badge images' alt text in page order: 'Logo Works with Apple Home', 'Logo Works with Samsung SmartThings', 'Logo Works with Alexa', 'Logo - Works with Home Assistant', 'Logo: Works with Homey', 'Logo Works with Google Home'. Those six badges are what all five platform answers on this record rest on; Homey is badged too and is outside this catalogue's five ecosystems. THE APPLE ASYMMETRY IS PUBLISHED IN WORDS, not inferred by us: "Get more out of Eve Motion with the Eve app for iPhone and iPad (requires connection through the Apple Home platform)", followed by the insight features that need it: "know exactly when and for how long motion was detected, view or export the detailed records, and see exactly how the brightness" changed. The hub condition that makes the four Matter paths Matter paths, verbatim: "Yes, this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter", and in the Requirements block "Compatible hub with Matter Controller & Thread Border Router functionality". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-03Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
- [20] Apple Support, ‘Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub’, read together with ‘Identify your Apple TV model’ at support.apple.com/en-us/101605. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-06
- [21] csa-iot.org certified-product page for Eve Systems' Eve Motion, read 2026-09-16: firmware 3.2.0, hardware 1, certificate CSA23276MAT40789-24, certified 2023-03-28, product ID 0x0059, vendor ID 0x130A. The vendor and product IDs are what this entry records; the page's product name is Eve Motion and its company is Eve Systems, and the certificate it prints is the one this record already cites for its Thread protocol claim. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [22] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
- [23] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Eve's page, read 2026-09-20. SmartThings lists this product on its own row and names the model number this record carries: "Eve Motion", "Model Number" "20EBY9901", "Category" "Motion Sensors". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-20Backs: SmartThings compatibility
- [24] Apple Support, 'Apple TV 4K (2nd generation) - Technical Specifications', which lists Thread among the 2021 model's connections and says: 'Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
- [25] Amazon's own developer page "Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters", read 2026-09-30 at about 20:30 UTC. It opens: "Alexa supports many device types from the following Matter device categories: Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices (door locks, window coverings), thermostats, fans, air purifiers, appliances (room air conditioners, dishwashers), and robotic vacuums." In the table, the row for this product's device type reads, verbatim: "Motion detector Detect and report motion Occupancy Sensing Alexa.MotionSensor". Footer: "Last updated: Apr 08, 2026"., verified 2026-09-30Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [26] Google's own developer page "Supported device types | Matter", English edition, read 2026-09-30 at about 20:30 UTC. Above its table it says: "Note: Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." In the table, the row for this product's device type reads, verbatim: "Occupancy Sensor Occupancy Sensing 1.0 Sensor". Footer: "Last updated 2024-12-20 UTC.", verified 2026-09-30Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [27] Eve's U.S. page for Eve Motion, read in full on 2026-10-07. The platform badges read 'Works with Apple Home', 'Works with Samsung SmartThings', 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Home Assistant', 'Works with Homey' and 'Works with Google Home'. Verbatim: "Do I need a hub? Yes, this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [28] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-07. Row: "Occupancy Sensor Occupancy Sensing 1.0", marked available in all three control columns: Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [29] SmartThings' own matter-sensor Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "Eve Motion" · deviceLabel: Eve Motion · vendorId: 0x130a · productId: 0x0059 · deviceProfileName: motion-illuminance-battery — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13Backs: What your assistant can automatepage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [30] SmartThings' own motion-illuminance-battery device profile in the matter-sensor Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: motion-illuminance-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: motionSensor · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [31] Eve's privacy page, read in full on 2026-10-15. Verbatim: "All data is fully encrypted and only transferred directly between your Eve accessory and iPhone, iPad or home hub." · "No data in cloud" · "Since privacy is designed into the core of all Eve accessories, no cloud or any other proprietary device can ever breach your most personal data." · "No account or registration Eve does not harvest your personal data by forcing you to set up an account or registering your accessories." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15Backs: Vendor account required
- [32] Eve's US product page for Eve Motion, read in full on 2026-11-04. Badges: 'Works with Apple Home', 'Works with Samsung SmartThings', 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Home Assistant', 'Works with Homey', 'Works with Google Home'. Verbatim: "Eve Motion works across platforms, offers all features without any additional subscriptions, and – most importantly – honors your privacy." · "No subscription, no registration" · "* Feature availability dependent on platform." · "Get more out of Eve Motion with the Eve app for iPhone and iPad (requires connection through the Apple Home platform)." · "Yes, this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter." · "Compatible hub with Matter Controller & Thread Border Router functionality" · "iPhone or iPad with latest version of iOS/iPadOS, or Android device (8.1 or later)" · "POWER 2 x AAA Replaceable Batteries WIRELESS CONNECTION Thread" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-04Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Works without the internet, App platforms, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Research status
- [33] Eve's US product page for Eve Motion, read rendered with its controls opened on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "SINGLE PACK $54.95 SET OF 3 $159.85 $164,85 Strikethrough price and savings are based on the SRP of the single device." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-04Backs: Price
- [34] Eve's 'Upgrade to Matter' page, read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "Upgrading the firmware on an Eve device to Matter requires an iPhone or iPad with the latest version of iOS/iPadOS." · "If you want to control your Eve device from an additional platform, you need a hub of that platform as well." · "Features like energy monitoring, historical data and on-device schedules are unique to Eve and are currently not supported by all platforms." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-04Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [35] Eve's standard terms and conditions for its online shop, read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "If you purchase directly from the Eve Online Shop or an authorized Eve reseller, a two-year warranty will apply." · "expressly provided "as is" unless specifically provided for otherwise in any software license accompanying the software" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-04Backs: Service status
- [36] Eve's page 'Eve becomes part of ABB', read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "ZURICH, SWITZERLAND, JUNE 12, 2023 ABB strengthens smart home technology portfolio with acquisition of Eve Systems" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-04Backs: Product identity
- [37] Eve's 'Identify your Eve accessory' page, read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "Eve Motion (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2022 Product number: 10EBY9901 Model number: 20EBY9901 Wireless Connection: Bluetooth/Thread" · "Eve Motion (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2023 Product number: 10EBY9951 Model number: 20EBY9901 Wireless Connection: Thread Ships with Matter" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-04Backs: Product identity, Protocols
- [38] SmartThings' partner page for Eve, read rendered on 2026-11-04 (the plain read carries no device list). Verbatim: "Eve Motion Model Number 20EBY9901 Category Motion Sensors" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-04Backs: SmartThings compatibility
- [39] Amazon's supported Matter device categories page for Alexa+, read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "Motion detector Detect and report motion Occupancy Sensing Alexa.MotionSensor" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-04
- [40] Google Home Developers' supported Matter device types page, read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "Occupancy Sensor Occupancy Sensing 1.0" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-04
- [41] Google Home Developers' supported Matter device types page at its English-language address, read in full on 2026-11-04; it served the same text as the address without the language parameter. Verbatim: "Occupancy Sensor Occupancy Sensing 1.0" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-04
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Eve Motion (3rd generation, Matter) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.