Product Library / Sensors & Detectors
Research profile · verified 2026-09-21Eve Door & Window (3rd generation, Matter)
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your home?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: THREAD · MATTER[1][2][7][9][10][11][17][34][36]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Matter controller
Thread border router + Matter controller — Eve's own wording: 'this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter.' For Apple Home: HomePod (2nd gen), HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model; for other ecosystems, that platform's Matter controller with Thread border router.[1][4][7][11][34][38]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Full experience: the Eve app's detailed records (when and how long a door/window was open) explicitly require connection through Apple Home on iPhone/iPad.[19]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks contact sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history features outside Apple Home.[4][19][27][28][29][30][38][45][46]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Reports open/closed state as a standard Matter contact sensor; Eve-app extras (open/close history, duration insights) are Apple-Home-only per Eve's cross-platform feature note.[4][19][26][38][44]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain contact-sensor function only.[4][19][24][38][43]
Equipment is named, but the required combination is unclear. Read the setup notes before choosing a hub.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Home Assistant's own Eve page lists Eve Door & Window (20EBN9901) among its Works with Home Assistant certified devices, set up through Home Assistant's Matter integration with a Thread border router; history stays in the Eve/Apple ecosystem.[19][35]
Platform setup limits
Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Works
Contact state
This device reports contact state.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Full experience: the Eve app's detailed records (when and how long a door/window was open) explicitly require connection through Apple Home on iPhone/iPad.
Connection documentation: [19]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [34]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
evehome.com · checked 2026-09-03
Google Home · Works
Contact state
This device reports contact state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Listed for this device type
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks contact sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history features outside Apple Home.
Connection documentation: [4] [19] [27] [28] [29] [30] [38] [45] [46]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [34]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
evehome.com · checked 2026-10-07
Alexa · Works
Contact state
This device reports contact state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Listed for this device type
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Reports open/closed state as a standard Matter contact sensor; Eve-app extras (open/close history, duration insights) are Apple-Home-only per Eve's cross-platform feature note.
Connection documentation: [4] [19] [26] [38] [44]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [34]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-11-06
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
evehome.com · checked 2026-09-03
SmartThings · Works
Contact state
This device reports contact state.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Documented for this model
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain contact-sensor function only.
Connection documentation: [4] [19] [24] [38] [43]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [34]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
partners.smartthings.com · checked 2026-11-06
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-11-06
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-11-06
evehome.com · checked 2026-09-03
Home Assistant · Works
Contact state
This device reports contact state.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Home Assistant's own Eve page lists Eve Door & Window (20EBN9901) among its Works with Home Assistant certified devices, set up through Home Assistant's Matter integration with a Thread border router; history stays in the Eve/Apple ecosystem.
Connection documentation: [19] [35]
Device documentation: [1] [16] [34]
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-11-06
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-28
evehome.com · checked 2026-09-03
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- Not established from vendor documentation
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeWorks[19] | Google HomeWorks[4][19][27][28][29][30][38][45][46] | AlexaWorks[4][19][26][38][44] | SmartThingsWorks[4][19][24][38][43] | Home AssistantWorks[19][35] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contact stateReported event | Event Not stated Automation — | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ Listed for this device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ Listed for this device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type | Event Not stated Automation — |
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Full experience: the Eve app's detailed records (when and how long a door/window was open) explicitly require connection through Apple Home on iPhone/iPad.[19]
Google Home
Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks contact sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history features outside Apple Home.[4][19][27][28][29][30][38][45][46]
Alexa
Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Reports open/closed state as a standard Matter contact sensor; Eve-app extras (open/close history, duration insights) are Apple-Home-only per Eve's cross-platform feature note.[4][19][26][38][44]
SmartThings
Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain contact-sensor function only.[4][19][24][38][43]
Home Assistant
Home Assistant's own Eve page lists Eve Door & Window (20EBN9901) among its Works with Home Assistant certified devices, set up through Home Assistant's Matter integration with a Thread border router; history stays in the Eve/Apple ecosystem.[19][35]
Contact state: Home Assistant setup limit
Platform documentation:
evehome.com · checked 2026-09-03
evehome.com · checked 2026-11-06
evehome.com · checked 2026-10-07
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-11-06
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-11-06
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
partners.smartthings.com · checked 2026-11-06
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-11-06
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-11-06
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-11-06
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-28
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][19][26][38][44] | Officially badged 'Works with Alexa.' Reports open/closed state as a standard Matter contact sensor; Eve-app extras (open/close history, duration insights) are Apple-Home-only per Eve's cross-platform feature note.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][19][27][28][29][30][38][45][46] | Officially badged 'Works with Google Home', and Google's Matter list marks contact sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires Google's Matter controller. No Eve-app history features outside Apple Home.In Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Apple Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[19] | Full experience: the Eve app's detailed records (when and how long a door/window was open) explicitly require connection through Apple Home on iPhone/iPad.In Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| SmartThings | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][19][24][38][43] | Officially badged 'Works with Samsung SmartThings' via SmartThings Matter controller; plain contact-sensor function only.In SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[19][35] | Home Assistant's own Eve page lists Eve Door & Window (20EBN9901) among its Works with Home Assistant certified devices, set up through Home Assistant's Matter integration with a Thread border router; history stays in the Eve/Apple ecosystem.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
Plans and ongoing costs[1][7][34]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: No — no vendor account is involved.[6][18][33][40]
Product page states 'No subscription, no registration' and 'No Eve cloud.'
Maintenance and offline use[7]
- Batteries: 1/2 AA (ER14250 3.6V) x1
- Works without the internet: Yes — the core function runs on the device or your home network. A vendor cloud may still be involved in remote access.[1][6][15][33][34][40]
- Battery life not stated in Eve's official specs — left unrecorded rather than estimated. The 1/2 AA (ER14250) lithium cell is replaceable but less common at retail than AA/AAA. Firmware updates via the Eve app; the documented Matter-upgrade flow requires iPhone/iPad; the Android Eve app's firmware-update capability is not clearly stated by Eve — unverified.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether Eve Systems publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
Who it's for
Fits homes that already have a Thread border router and want a local, subscription-free contact sensor for doors and windows; Apple Home users additionally get open/close history and duration records.
This opens Eve Systems's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
48 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] www.evehome.com/en-us/eve-door-window, read in full 2026-09-21, plain and then rendered. Price, from the rendered store block: 'SINGLE PACK $43.95', beside 'SET OF 3 $121.85' struck from '$131.85' and 'SET OF 5 $199.75' struck from '$219.75', each footnoted 'Strikethrough price and savings are based on the SRP of the single device.' Technical Details, verbatim: REQUIREMENTS 'iPhone or iPad with latest version of iOS/iPadOS, or Android device (8.1 or later)' and 'Compatible hub with Matter Controller & Thread Border Router functionality (find compatible devices on evehome.com/hub)'; SPECIFICATIONS 'POWER 1x ½ AA (ER14250 3.6V) Replaceable Battery', 'WIRELESS CONNECTION Thread', 'DIMENSIONS 52 x 24 x 23 mm'; 'IN THE BOX Eve Door & Window, 1x ½ AA (ER14250 3.6V) Replaceable Battery, Quick Start Guide'. Privacy and subscription, verbatim: 'No subscription, no registration', 'No Eve cloud', '100% privacy'. The three worked automations are still on the page word for word — 'Simply open your door and automatically have your connected comforts activated', 'Have your hallway automatically illuminate upon entry, but only after sunset', 'have your heating pause when you open a window, provided it's cold enough outside' — each footnoted '*Feature availability dependent on platform.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Price, Protocols, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, App platforms, Capabilities, Market availability, Research status
- [2] www.evehome.com/en/identify-your-eve-accessory, read in full 2026-09-21. Both third-generation rows are still published and still differ in their radio, verbatim: 'Eve Door & Window (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2020 Product number: 10EBN9901 Model number: 20EBN9901 Wireless Connection: Bluetooth/Thread' carrying 'Matter update available', and 'Eve Door & Window (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2023 Product number: 10EBN9951 Model number: 20EBN9901 Wireless Connection: Thread' carrying 'Ships with Matter'. The table also lists first- and second-generation Door & Window units, which are Bluetooth only. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Product identity, Protocols
- [3] www.evehome.com/en-us/standard-terms-conditions-online-shop, read in full 2026-09-21. The warranty sentence is unchanged, verbatim: 'If you purchase directly from the Eve Online Shop or an authorized Eve reseller, a two-year warranty will apply. If you purchase from a reseller that is not an authorized Eve reseller, the warranty herein may not apply.' The word 'firmware' occurs zero times in the whole page, and no support period for software appears anywhere in it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Service status
- [4] evehome.com/en-us/upgrade-to-matter, read in full 2026-09-21. System requirements, verbatim: 'Make sure a Thread Border Router capable Home Hub like a HomePod (2nd gen.), HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (2nd gen. / 3rd gen. 128 GB) is connected to your network'. The upgrade path is still Apple-only: 'Upgrading the firmware on an Eve device to Matter requires an iPhone or iPad with the latest version of iOS/iPadOS', and 'Once you've upgraded your device to Matter, you can't migrate it back to HomeKit.' Per platform: 'Use the SmartThings app on your Android phone or iPhone to control your Eve devices. Requires Matter Controller from SmartThings.'; 'Access Eve devices using your voice with Google Assistant or the Google Home app on your Android phone. Requires Matter Controller from Google.'; the Alexa row reads the same way for 'Alexa or the Alexa app on your Android phone.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Required hub or bridge, SmartThings compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [5] evehome.com/en/eve-becomes-part-of-abb, read in full 2026-09-21. Dateline and headline, verbatim: 'ZURICH, SWITZERLAND, JUNE 12, 2023 — ABB strengthens smart home technology portfolio with acquisition of Eve Systems', and 'ABB today announced the acquisition of Eve Systems GmbH, a Munich-based leader of smart home products with operations in Europe and the United States.' Eve's own framing of the arrangement is still on the page in its management's words: the combination keeps 'growing Eve as a global leader'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Product identity, Market availability
- [6] www.evehome.com/en-us/privacy, read in full 2026-09-21. Under 'No account or registration', verbatim: 'Eve does not harvest your personal data by forcing you to set up an account or registering your accessories. Inviting Eve into your home is a purely personal affair between each accessory and you, without exposing any details to any company database.' Under 'No data in cloud': 'Since privacy is designed into the core of all Eve accessories, no cloud or any other proprietary device can ever breach your most personal data.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21Backs: Vendor account required, Works without the internet
- [7] https://www.evehome.com/en-us/eve-door-window re-read from RAW MARKUP 2026-08-09 (official product page). Price $43.95 UNCHANGED since 2026-07-16, read from this product's own buy-button attribute rather than from a page-wide price grep. All five ecosystem badges re-verified verbatim: 'Works with Apple Home', 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Google Home', 'Works with Samsung SmartThings', 'Works with Home Assistant'. Subscription claims re-verified verbatim: 'No subscription, no registration' and 'No Eve cloud'. Specifications block: 'Power 1x ½ AA (ER14250 3.6V) Replaceable Battery' and **'Wireless Connection: Thread'**. ⚠ The word 'Bluetooth' occurs ZERO times on this page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Subscription, Protocols, Price, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Market availability, Research status
- [8] https://www.evehome.com/en-us/warranty read 2026-08-09: 'If you purchase directly from the Eve Online Shop or an authorized Eve reseller, a two-year warranty will apply. If you purchase from a reseller that is not an authorized Eve reseller, the warranty herein may not apply.' The page contains no occurrence of 'firmware' and no support-period commitment; §VIII states software is provided on its licence terms and elsewhere 'as is'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Service status
- [9] https://www.evehome.com/en/identify-your-eve-accessory re-read 2026-08-09 (official generation identifier page), verbatim: 'Eve Door & Window (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2020 Product number: 10EBN9901 Model number: 20EBN9901 Wireless Connection: Bluetooth/Thread' with 'Matter update available', AND a second entry 'Eve Door & Window (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2023 Product number: 10EBN9951 Model number: 20EBN9901 Wireless Connection: Thread' with 'Ships with Matter'. Older generations (2nd gen 20EAL9901, 2017) are listed Bluetooth. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols, Product identity
- [10] CSA registry re-read from the page source 2026-08-09, both certificate pages live, with a control page we knew to be there (csa_product/aqara-hub-m2/) answering the same day, so the method was proven before anything was read from it. https://csa-iot.org/csa_product/eve-door-window-2/ → certificate CSA23277MAT40790-24, certified 2023-03-28, firmware 3.2.0, vendor ID 0x130A, product ID 0x004D, Matter specification 1.0, primary device type 0x0015, **over Thread and Bluetooth**. https://csa-iot.org/csa_product/eve-door-window-3/ → the sibling certificate, certified 2022-11-01, firmware 3.1.0, the same vendor and product IDs, the same two transports. That sibling certificate's number is no longer repeated in this entry, because the page this entry cites does not print it; it is quoted in full, from a read of the sibling page itself, on the entry that cites that page. ⚠ The previous citation paired these two certificate IDs with each other's page addresses; that is fixed here — the underlying protocol claim is unaffected. ⚠ **The Bluetooth in the Transport Interface field is COMMISSIONING transport for a Matter-over-Thread device, not a control path**, and Bluetooth was removed from this record's list of radios on 2026-08-09 — the same call made for the Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2 and the Tapo L535E on 2026-08-08. What makes it stronger here than in those cases is that the MANUFACTURER agrees: Eve's product page specification reads 'Wireless Connection: Thread' and never says Bluetooth, and Eve's own generation table reserves 'Bluetooth/Thread' for the 2020 revision. The certificate's transport field is recorded above as the certificate states it, so the evidence survives whichever way the catalogue-wide rule lands (the distinction is documented in our own notes). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols
- [11] evehome.com/en-us/upgrade-to-matter (official Matter guidance) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
- [12] evehome.com/en/eve-becomes-part-of-abb + new.abb.com/news/detail/104038/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16Backs: Product identity
- [13] evehome.com, Eve Door & Window product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Power source
- [14] evehome.com, Eve Door & Window product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
- [15] Eve Systems, Eve Door & Window product page (evehome.com/en-us/eve-door-window), re-read 2026-08-18 — 'No Eve cloud'; 'No subscription, no registration'; '100% privacy'; and the requirement 'this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter'. The specifications block published for this product gives 'Wireless Connection: Thread' and names no Wi-Fi radio. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Works without the internet
- [16] evehome.com Eve Door & Window page, read 2026-08-20: "Know the status of your door or window", with automations stated as rules rather than features — "Simply open your door and automatically have your connected comforts activated – such as your mood lighting and media center – all at once", "Have your hallway automatically illuminate upon entry, but only after sunset", and "have your heating pause when you open a window, provided it's cold enough outside". Matter-enabled over Thread; "this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [17] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against our settled definition of which radios a product lists: certificate CSA23277MAT40790 · Matter over Thread. No new outside source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Protocols
- [18] Eve, "Privacy by design" — under the heading "No account or registration": "Eve does not harvest your personal data by forcing you to set up an account or registering your accessories. Inviting Eve into your home is a purely personal affair between each accessory and you, without exposing any details to any company database." Under "No data in cloud": "Since privacy is designed into the core of all Eve accessories, no cloud or any other proprietary device can ever breach your most personal data." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [19] Eve Systems, Eve Door & Window product page (https://www.evehome.com/en-us/eve-door-window), re-read 2026-09-03 under our reading rules for this site, and served normally. THE VENDOR'S PUBLISHED PLATFORM LIST, verbatim from the badge images' alt text in page order: 'Logo Works with Apple Home', 'Logo Works with Samsung SmartThings', 'Logo Works with Alexa', 'Logo - Works with Home Assistant', 'Logo: Works with Homey', 'Logo Works with Google Home'. Those six badges are what all five platform answers on this record rest on; Homey is badged too and is outside this catalogue's five ecosystems. THE APPLE ASYMMETRY IS PUBLISHED IN WORDS, not inferred by us: "Get more out of Eve Door & Window with the Eve app for iPhone and iPad (requires connection through the Apple Home platform)", followed by the insight features that need it: "When did someone last crack open a window to let some fresh air in? And for how long? View detailed records about your home". The hub condition that makes the four Matter paths Matter paths, verbatim: "Yes, this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter", and in the Requirements block "Compatible hub with Matter Controller & Thread Border Router functionality". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-03Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
- [20] Apple Support, ‘Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub’, read together with ‘Identify your Apple TV model’ at support.apple.com/en-us/101605. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-06
- [21] csa-iot.org certified-product page for Eve Systems' Eve Door & Window, read 2026-09-16: firmware 3.2.0, hardware 1, certificate CSA23277MAT40790-24, certified 2023-03-28, product ID 0x004D, vendor ID 0x130A, a compliance document offered for download, TIS/TRP tested yes, Matter specification 1.0, over Thread and Bluetooth, primary device type 0x0015, filed as an end product. The vendor and product IDs are what this entry records. The sibling page at csa-iot.org/csa_product/eve-door-window-3/ was read in the same pass and prints the same Vendor ID 0x130A and the same Product ID 0x004D under an earlier certificate and firmware, so the two certificates this record already cites agree on the identity numbers and nothing had to be chosen between them. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [22] csa-iot.org certified-product page for Eve Systems' Eve Door & Window at csa-iot.org/csa_product/eve-door-window-3/, read 2026-09-16 — the SIBLING of the page this record's other identifiers entry cites. The page prints firmware 3.1.0, hardware 1, certificate CSA22068MAT40068-24, certified 2022-11-01, product ID 0x004D, vendor ID 0x130A, a compliance document offered for download, TIS/TRP tested yes, Matter specification 1.0, over Thread and Bluetooth, primary device type 0015, filed as an end product. The vendor and product IDs are the same two this record's block already carries, read here on the second of the two pages, so the two certificates agree on the identity numbers. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [23] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
- [24] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Eve's page, read 2026-09-20. SmartThings lists this product on its own row and names the model number this record carries: "Eve Door & Window", "Model Number" "20EBN9901", "Category" "Open/closed sensor". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-20Backs: SmartThings compatibility
- [25] Apple Support, 'Apple TV 4K (2nd generation) - Technical Specifications', which lists Thread among the 2021 model's connections and says: 'Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
- [26] Amazon's own developer page "Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters", read 2026-09-30 at about 20:30 UTC. It opens: "Alexa supports many device types from the following Matter device categories: Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices (door locks, window coverings), thermostats, fans, air purifiers, appliances (room air conditioners, dishwashers), and robotic vacuums." In the table, the row for this product's device type reads, verbatim: "Contact sensor Detect and report contact Identify, Boolean State Alexa.ContactSensor". Footer: "Last updated: Apr 08, 2026"., verified 2026-09-30Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [27] Google's own developer page "Supported device types | Matter", English edition, read 2026-09-30 at about 20:30 UTC. Above its table it says: "Note: Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." In the table, the row for this product's device type reads, verbatim: "Contact Sensor Boolean State 1.0 Sensor". Footer: "Last updated 2024-12-20 UTC.", verified 2026-09-30Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [28] Eve's U.S. page for Eve Door & Window, read in full on 2026-10-07. The platform badges read 'Works with Apple Home', 'Works with Samsung SmartThings', 'Works with Alexa', 'Works with Home Assistant', 'Works with Homey' and 'Works with Google Home'. Verbatim: "Do I need a hub? Yes, this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [29] Eve's 'Upgrade to Matter' page, read in full on 2026-10-07: "Access Eve devices using your voice with Google Assistant or the Google Home app on your Android phone. Requires Matter Controller from Google." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [30] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-07. Row: "Contact Sensor Boolean State 1.0", marked available in all three control columns: Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [31] SmartThings' own matter-sensor Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "Eve/DoorAndWindow" · deviceLabel: Eve Door and Window · vendorId: 0x130a · productId: 0x004D · deviceProfileName: contact-battery — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [32] SmartThings' own contact-battery device profile in the matter-sensor Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: contact-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: contactSensor · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [33] Eve's privacy page, read in full on 2026-10-15. Verbatim: "All data is fully encrypted and only transferred directly between your Eve accessory and iPhone, iPad or home hub." · "No data in cloud" · "Since privacy is designed into the core of all Eve accessories, no cloud or any other proprietary device can ever breach your most personal data." · "No account or registration Eve does not harvest your personal data by forcing you to set up an account or registering your accessories." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15Backs: Vendor account required, Works without the internet
- [34] Eve's own Eve Door & Window page, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs, rendered with tabs expanded (26,534 characters). Verbatim: "SINGLE PACK $43.95" · "No subscription, no registration No Eve cloud 100% privacy" · "Yes, this Matter-enabled device requires a hub that supports both Thread and Matter." · "iPhone or iPad with latest version of iOS/iPadOS, or Android device (8.1 or later)" · "POWER 1x ½ AA (ER14250 3.6V) Replaceable Battery" · "Know the status of your door or window." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Price, Protocols, Subscription, Batteries, Power source, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, App platforms, Capabilities
- [35] Home Assistant's published Eve brand page, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (3634 characters). Verbatim: "Eve is a member of the Works with Home Assistant partner program for their Matter products." · "Eve Matter devices work locally and integrate seamlessly with the Matter integration in Home Assistant." · "Works with Home Assistant certified devices Eve Door & Window (20EBN9901, Worldwide)" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [36] Eve's 'Identify your Eve accessory' page, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (30,298 characters). Verbatim: "Eve Door & Window (3rd generation) Year introduced: 2023 Product number: 10EBN9951 Model number: 20EBN9901 Wireless Connection: Thread Ships with Matter; requires hub" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Product identity, Protocols
- [37] Eve's online shop terms, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (20,353 characters). Verbatim: "If you purchase directly from the Eve Online Shop or an authorized Eve reseller, a two-year warranty will apply." · "Software of any kind delivered with or as part of an Eve Product is expressly provided" (the sentence goes on to say as is). — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Service status
- [38] Eve's 'Upgrade to Matter' page, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (16,140 characters). Verbatim: "Use the SmartThings app on your Android phone or iPhone to control your Eve devices. Requires Matter Controller from SmartThings." · "Access Eve devices using your voice with Google Assistant or the Google Home app on your Android phone. Requires Matter Controller from Google." · "Access Eve devices using your voice with Amazon Alexa or the Alexa app on your Android phone." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Required hub or bridge, SmartThings compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [39] Eve's page carrying ABB's press release of June 12, 2023, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (12,958 characters). Verbatim: "ABB today announced the acquisition of Eve Systems GmbH, a Munich-based leader of smart home products" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Product identity
- [40] Eve's privacy page, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (10,230 characters). Verbatim: "No account or registration Eve does not harvest your personal data by forcing you to set up an account or registering your accessories." · "no cloud or any other proprietary device can ever breach your most personal data." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Vendor account required, Works without the internet
- [41] The CSA certified-product page for Eve Door & Window, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (5,049 characters), certificate CSA23277MAT40790-24. In our words: the certificate lists vendor ID 0x130A and product ID 0x004D for this product. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [42] The CSA certified-product page for Eve Door & Window (the sibling listing), read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (5,057 characters), certificate CSA22068MAT40068-24. In our words: the certificate lists the same vendor ID 0x130A and product ID 0x004D. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Certification and product IDs
- [43] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Eve's page, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (2201 characters, rendered). Verbatim: "Eve Door & Window Model Number 20EBN9901 Category Open/closed sensor" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-06Backs: SmartThings compatibility
- [44] Amazon's developer page 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters', read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (8,678 characters). Verbatim row: "Contact sensor Detect and report contact Identify, Boolean State Alexa.ContactSensor" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
- [45] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (18,711 characters). Row: 'Contact Sensor', 'Boolean State 1.0', marked available in all three control columns. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [46] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), the same page without the language parameter, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (18,711 characters). Row: 'Contact Sensor', 'Boolean State 1.0', marked available for Google Assistant, the Google Home app and Smart Display. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [47] SmartThings' matter-sensor Edge driver fingerprints, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (9,807 characters). Verbatim: "deviceLabel: Eve Door and Window vendorId: 0x130a productId: 0x004D deviceProfileName: contact-battery" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [48] SmartThings' contact-battery profile, read in full on 2026-11-06 through tools/page-read.mjs (205 characters). Verbatim: "name: contact-battery components: - id: main capabilities: - id: contactSensor version: 1" — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-11-06Backs: What your assistant can automate
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Eve Door & Window (3rd generation, Matter) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.