Product Library / Energy, Solar & EV

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-07

Emporia Classic EV Charger

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]
[5][32][45][66]
[5][32][45][66]
[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]
[4][11][31][36][44][50][65][71]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][4][7][12][23][29][31][38][39][40][44][51][61][65]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub. The charger joins your Wi-Fi directly and talks to Emporia's servers, and there is nothing to buy in between. That is the good news; the catch is the other side of the same fact. Emporia states plainly that 'Direct local access to Emporia device data is not available on any Emporia product' — so while you need no hub, you also have no way to reach this charger except through Emporia's servers. There is no local connection of any kind. A hub-free product is usually a simple one; here it means the maker's servers are the only road in.[1][29][40][61]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [32] [45] [66]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[5][32][45][66]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeDoesn't work[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]Google HomePartial[5][32][45][66]AlexaPartial[5][32][45][66]SmartThingsDoesn't work[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]Home AssistantInconclusive[4][11][31][36][44][50][65][71]
On/offDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

A clean no, and Emporia is one of the few makers in this category willing to write it down. Its help centre lists Apple HomeKit among integrations 'not currently supported by Emporia. There is no specific development timeline for any of these at this time.' That is a stated absence rather than an omission, which we treat as much stronger evidence — most charger makers simply never mention Apple and leave a buyer guessing. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Emporia. So for an Apple household this charger cannot appear in the Home app at all, by any route. One piece of context that is not Emporia's fault: Apple Home controls no energy device of any kind. Even a maker who wanted to put an EV charger into the Home app has nothing to put it into, so the absence here is the platform's shape as much as this company's roadmap.[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]

Google Home

Identical standing to Alexa, from the same first-party article — Emporia documents Google Home and Amazon Alexa together in one guide, describes different setup steps for each, and distinguishes their capabilities nowhere. The same sentence governs both: 'Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported.' Partial for the same reason. Here the limit is Emporia's rather than Google's: Google's developer documentation defines a charger device type whose interactions include starting and stopping charging and checking the current charge level, and Emporia's guide does not say which device type its Google integration uses. Credit where due — Emporia treats the two platforms even-handedly and says what the limit is, where the more common pattern in this catalogue is one platform documented properly and the other left as a bare name in a list.[5][32][45][66]

Alexa

Emporia's voice-assistant guide names this charger and states the limit in its own words: 'Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported', and 'Advanced commands (such as adjusting charge rates or checking energy usage) are not available through voice assistants at this time.' Its worked example is 'Turn off my EV Charger'. Setup runs through the Emporia Energy skill, after which the guide sends you to Devices in the Alexa app to select Plugs or EV Chargers. Amazon's own list of the device categories a maker can give a device in the Alexa app, last updated September 28, 2026, has no category for an EV charger. Charge scheduling, amperage limits and energy cost stay in Emporia's app. Voice control runs through Emporia's cloud, so it stops when your internet does.[5][32][45][66]

SmartThings

Stated absence, from the same help-centre sentence that closes the Apple cell: Samsung SmartThings is listed among integrations 'not currently supported by Emporia. There is no specific development timeline for any of these at this time.' We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Emporia. This one is a genuine miss rather than a platform limitation, and it is worth saying so: SmartThings is the one major platform that DOES list EVSE among its supported Matter device types, so it is the only place a certified charger could appear as a real charger rather than as a switch.[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]

Home Assistant

Not established. Emporia lists Home Assistant among the platforms it does not currently support, and Home Assistant ships no Emporia integration. The same Emporia article names a community project, HA Emporia Vue, among tools built independently of Emporia that it cannot support, and does not say which Emporia products that project reaches. The project's own description says it also supports Emporia's EV chargers, and its page says it is not associated with or endorsed by Emporia. Emporia states that direct local access to device data is not available on any of its products, so a tool like this works through Emporia's own servers.[4][11][31][36][44][50][65][71]

Device documentation: [5] [32] [45] [66]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]A clean no, and Emporia is one of the few makers in this category willing to write it down. Its help centre lists Apple HomeKit among integrations 'not currently supported by Emporia. There is no specific development timeline for any of these at this time.' That is a stated absence rather than an omission, which we treat as much stronger evidence — most charger makers simply never mention Apple and leave a buyer guessing. We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Emporia. So for an Apple household this charger cannot appear in the Home app at all, by any route. One piece of context that is not Emporia's fault: Apple Home controls no energy device of any kind. Even a maker who wanted to put an EV charger into the Home app has nothing to put it into, so the absence here is the platform's shape as much as this company's roadmap.
Amazon AlexaPartialPartial support — see the catch[5][32][45][66]Emporia's voice-assistant guide names this charger and states the limit in its own words: 'Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported', and 'Advanced commands (such as adjusting charge rates or checking energy usage) are not available through voice assistants at this time.' Its worked example is 'Turn off my EV Charger'. Setup runs through the Emporia Energy skill, after which the guide sends you to Devices in the Alexa app to select Plugs or EV Chargers. Amazon's own list of the device categories a maker can give a device in the Alexa app, last updated September 28, 2026, has no category for an EV charger. Charge scheduling, amperage limits and energy cost stay in Emporia's app. Voice control runs through Emporia's cloud, so it stops when your internet does.
Google HomePartialPartial support — see the catch[5][32][45][66]Identical standing to Alexa, from the same first-party article — Emporia documents Google Home and Amazon Alexa together in one guide, describes different setup steps for each, and distinguishes their capabilities nowhere. The same sentence governs both: 'Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported.' Partial for the same reason. Here the limit is Emporia's rather than Google's: Google's developer documentation defines a charger device type whose interactions include starting and stopping charging and checking the current charge level, and Emporia's guide does not say which device type its Google integration uses. Credit where due — Emporia treats the two platforms even-handedly and says what the limit is, where the more common pattern in this catalogue is one platform documented properly and the other left as a bare name in a list.
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[4][7][23][31][38][39][44][51][65]Stated absence, from the same help-centre sentence that closes the Apple cell: Samsung SmartThings is listed among integrations 'not currently supported by Emporia. There is no specific development timeline for any of these at this time.' We could not confirm a Matter certificate for Emporia. This one is a genuine miss rather than a platform limitation, and it is worth saying so: SmartThings is the one major platform that DOES list EVSE among its supported Matter device types, so it is the only place a certified charger could appear as a real charger rather than as a switch.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[4][11][31][36][44][50][65][71]Not established. Emporia lists Home Assistant among the platforms it does not currently support, and Home Assistant ships no Emporia integration. The same Emporia article names a community project, HA Emporia Vue, among tools built independently of Emporia that it cannot support, and does not say which Emporia products that project reaches. The project's own description says it also supports Emporia's EV chargers, and its page says it is not associated with or endorsed by Emporia. Emporia states that direct local access to device data is not available on any of its products, so a tool like this works through Emporia's own servers.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][20][28][30][41][43][62][64]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[20][30][43][64]

No subscription, and Emporia says so in an unusually complete sentence: the app is 'completely free with no subscription, no in-app purchases, and no paywalled features.' Three separate ways of charging for software, all refused in one line — that is a stronger statement than the more common 'free app', which often means free until a feature you want turns out to sit behind a tier. Recorded as a positive 'none' on the strength of that wording rather than on the absence of a price. The account is still mandatory, and Emporia's app page now says so in a setup instruction rather than leaving it to be inferred: 'Download the app on iOS or Android, create a free account, and follow the in-app setup guide for your Emporia device.' There is no second way in. Emporia states that 'Bluetooth setup for new Emporia devices happens in the mobile app', its web portal at web.emporiaenergy.com signs into the same account, and it publishes no local route at all. So using this charger means holding an Emporia account and accepting that everything it reports passes through Emporia's cloud. There is no consumable and no ongoing hardware cost. What the subscription line does not cover is electricity pricing: Emporia markets time-of-use scheduling and utility programmes, and any money those save depends on your utility's rates, not on anything Emporia charges.

Maintenance and offline use[1][2][6]

The catch

Start with the money, because most of what is written about home EV chargers online is now wrong about it. The federal 30C credit that paid 30% of a home charger up to $1,000 EXPIRED on 2026-06-30. The IRS's own page describes the credit as applying to property placed in service 'from January 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026', and even while it was live it only applied in eligible census tracts — so a buyer today gets no federal help, and any article promising otherwise is out of date. Second, the amperage split costs you something real: 48 amps hardwired, 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug. The plug is the cheaper, easier installation and it is also the slower one, and no page frames that as the trade-off it is. Third, the smart half of this smart charger barely reaches your smart home. Emporia supports Alexa and Google Home and says exactly what that means — 'Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported', with scheduling, charge rates and energy usage explicitly excluded. Apple HomeKit and SmartThings are stated as unsupported with 'no specific development timeline'. Everything genuinely useful lives in Emporia's app. Fourth, and this is the one to think hardest about: there is no local control, and Emporia publishes no way for outside software to talk to its devices — both of those are the company's own statements rather than our deductions: 'Direct local access to Emporia device data is not available on any Emporia product.' Your charger's schedule, its history and its very ability to be automated all depend on a company's servers staying up. That is not a hypothetical worry in this category. The charger everyone points at is the JuiceBox: its manufacturer shut down US operations in October 2024 leaving owners about nine days' notice, the units fell back to dumb charging, and the company that took over the app is reported to have stopped working for most users by mid-2025. Emporia shows no sign of that today. The point is that with no local path, you have no floor under you if it ever changed. Fifth, plan for an electrician. This is 240-volt work: Emporia offers a $100 credit toward professional installation through a partner, which tells you what the company expects. Finally, two things in the buyer's favour, both verified rather than taken on trust. The ENERGY STAR claim is real — the EPA's own dataset lists model EMEVSE1 from Emporia Corp., qualified 2022-05-31, and its 25-foot cord matches this product's published cable exactly. And a direct check of the federal recall database found no recalls for this manufacturer, on a database we confirmed was answering properly at the time.

Who it's for

A good fit for someone who wants a well-certified 48-amp charger at the cheap end of the market and expects to live in the maker's app rather than in their smart home. If your charging routine is 'plug in overnight, let a schedule handle it, check the cost occasionally', Emporia's own software does all of that and costs nothing extra — the free-app statement is unusually explicit, refusing subscriptions, in-app purchases and paywalled features in one sentence. It suits a household on Alexa or Google that wants voice on/off and accepts that, by Emporia's own statement, on/off is all its voice control does. It also suits anyone who wants the cheaper NEMA 14-50 installation and can accept 40 amps instead of 48. It is the wrong charger for an Apple household — Emporia states HomeKit as unsupported. It is the wrong charger for a SmartThings household for the same reason, which stings a little more because SmartThings is the one platform that would actually treat a certified charger as a charger. And think hard before buying it if local control matters to you: Emporia states there is no local access to any of its products and publishes no way for outside software to talk to them, so this device is only ever as automatable as the manufacturer's servers — and in this particular category that is a risk with a well-documented precedent behind it.

Check availability at Emporia

This opens Emporia's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

78 numbered sources, including 1 where sources disagree· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Emporia Energy, Classic EV Charger product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation, Market availability, Service status, Research status
  2. [2] Emporia Energy shop, Classic Level 2 EV Charger listing — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Batteries, Works without the internet, Installation
  3. [3] Emporia Energy, app page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Subscription, App platforms
  4. [4] Emporia Energy Help Center, Developer Access & Future Integrations — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols, Works without the internet
  5. [5] Emporia Energy Help Center, Voice Assistant Integration Google Home & Amazon Alexa — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities
  6. [6] US EPA, ENERGY STAR Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment — AC-Output (open dataset 5jwe-c8xm) — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Product identity, Batteries, Works without the internet, Market availability
  7. [7] CSA-IoT certified products database, keyword search — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  8. [8] A search check on the certification registry used another company's products (Narwal's Flow and Flow 2) to test that the search answers. Those certificates belong to different products and say nothing about this one., verified 2026-08-02
  9. [9] US Consumer Product Safety Commission, recall REST service — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Service status
  10. [10] US Internal Revenue Service, Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-02
    Backs: Price
  11. [11] Home Assistant integrations documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  12. [12] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, vendor registry (read 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs). Emporia does not appear under any name tried: 'emporia'. The DCL's vendor registry was enumerated to EXHAUSTION on 2026-08-22 via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: substring queries were unioned until the distinct-VID count reached 833, which is the record count the tool itself reports scanning per query (the union of a/e/i/o/u/y reached 832; the last holdout was 'SLV GmbH', a vowel-free name, recovered by adding l/s/t). Every vendor in the ledger was therefore inspected, not searched for. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Protocols
  13. [13] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  14. [14] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  15. [15] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing answer that Apple Home is not supported now names the platform rule its reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
  16. [16] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-17 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-17
  17. [17] Emporia Energy help centre, 'EV Charger Offline Behavior', dated on the page 'August 12, 2026', breadcrumb 'All Collections › EV Chargers › Classic & Pro EV Charger › About', read 2026-09-19 through the rendered-read helper. Verbatim, under the heading 'Does the EV Charger Require Wi-Fi?': 'No, the charger functions at default settings (40A for NEMA 14-50, 48A for hardwired) without Wi-Fi. However, adjusting charge rates or enabling automated features requires an initial setup via the Emporia app. The charger will retain essential settings, such as breaker size or guaranteed charging rate, even after losing Wi-Fi connectivity.' Under 'Scheduled Charging While Offline': 'Pre-set schedules remain active during Wi-Fi outages, but schedule updates require an internet connection. The charger will continue to follow previously downloaded scheduling rules until connectivity is restored.' The article's opening line: 'Emporia EV Chargers are designed to maintain charging capability even when WiFi connectivity is lost.' On logging: short outages under 20 minutes upload on reconnection, longer ones are averaged and 'in rare cases, the charger may lose track of cumulative usage, potentially resulting in data loss'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Works without the internet
  18. [18] Emporia Energy, Classic EV Charger product page, re-read 2026-09-19: 'How much does the Classic EV Charger cost? The Emporia Classic EV Charger starts at $449 (J1772). The NACS variant is $479, making it one of the most affordable level 2 chargers available.' The comparison table on the same page reads 'Price starting at $449' for the Classic against '$599' for the Pro. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability
  19. [19] Emporia Energy shop, Classic Level 2 EV Charger listing, read 2026-09-19. The shop's own structured product data gives the title 'Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger', marks it as available, and prices it from $449.00 to $479.00 across eight variants: 'White / CCS / J1772 / NEMA 14-50' and 'White / CCS / J1772 / Hardwire' at $449.00 (part numbers EMEVSE1-A-N-J and EMEVSE1-A-H-J), 'White / NACS / Tesla / NEMA 14-50' and 'White / NACS / Tesla / Hardwire' at $479.00, and the four Black equivalents at the same two prices. The listing page itself shows '$449.00' and 'In stock'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Installation
  20. [20] Emporia Energy, app page, re-read 2026-09-19: 'Is the Emporia app free? Yes, completely free with no subscription, no in-app purchases, and no paywalled features. Everything in the app is included when you purchase any Emporia device. Download it from the App Store or Google Play and all features are available from the start.' · 'How do I get started after I download the app? Download the app on iOS or Android, create a free account, and follow the in-app setup guide for your Emporia device.' · 'Bluetooth setup for new Emporia devices happens in the mobile app. All other features, including monitoring, scheduling, and device control, are available in both the mobile app and the web portal at web.emporiaenergy.com.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Subscription, App platforms, Vendor account required
  21. [21] US EPA, ENERGY STAR Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment — AC-Output (dataset 5jwe-c8xm), re-read 2026-09-19: one row, partner 'Emporia Corp.', brand 'Emporia', model 'EMEVSE1', product type 'Level 2', max nameplate output 48.00 A, input 240.00 V, maximum output power 11.52 kW, one output, output cord 25 ft at 6 AWG, date qualified 2022-05-31, markets 'United States, Canada'., verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability, Price, Research status
  22. [22] US Consumer Product Safety Commission, recall REST service, re-read 2026-09-19: the service answered normally and listed no recall at all for manufacturer 'Emporia'. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Service status
  23. [23] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, vendor registry, re-read 2026-09-19 through this catalogue's ledger lookup: nine pages and 855 vendor records read to the end of the list, with no vendor named Emporia among them., verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  24. [24] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-22 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-22
  25. [25] Emporia's own store listing for the Classic Level 2 EV Charger, read 2026-09-24. The listing is titled "Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger", is sold by Emporia Energy, and sells eight versions (white or black, J1772 or Tesla-style NACS connector, plug-in NEMA 14-50 or hardwired), each with its own part code beginning EMEVSE1 and its own barcode. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  26. [26] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-25 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-25
  27. [27] Emporia's shop, product data for 'Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger', read 2026-09-30 (structured route). Verbatim fields: "price":44900, "price_min":44900, "price_max":47900, "available":true, with no compare-at price on the listing or on any version. Per version: White and Black 'CCS / J1772 / NEMA 14-50' and 'CCS / J1772 / Hardwire' at 44900 with "available":false; 'NACS / Tesla / NEMA 14-50' in White and Black at 47900 with "available":true; 'NACS / Tesla / Hardwire' in White and Black at 47900 with "available":false. The eight part codes EMEVSE1-A-N-J through EMEVSE1-B-H-T and their eight barcodes are unchanged. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Certification and product IDs
  28. [28] Emporia's shop listing page, read 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger - White / NACS / Tesla / NEMA 14-50 $479.00' · 'In stock' · 'It is recommended to hire a licensed electrician to install a hardwired Emporia charger.' · 'NEMA Plug: A NEMA Plug is easy to install and portable, but limits your charge rate to 40A. If your electrical panel has GFCI breakers, we recommend the hardwired option.' · 'Per NEC continuous load requirements, your outlet must be industrial-grade, 50A rated, and continuous-duty rated (Hubbell, Leviton, Bryant, or Cooper (Eaton) are recommended brands). A standard residential outlet is not designed for the sustained load of nightly EV charging.' · 'Per NEC requirements, a 50A receptacle and dedicated non-GFCI breaker are required to support 40A continuous charging.' · 'The National Electrical Code (NEC) now requires a GFCI breaker installed on any circuit using a 6-50 or 14-50 outlet.' · 'Get a $100 credit when you book installation through our trusted partner, Treehouse.' · '3-Year Warranty' · 'EV charger product model numbers: White: EMEVSE1 Black: EMEVSE1-B' · 'Required Breaker: Dedicated 50A+ dual pole for 40A Dedicated 60A+ dual pole for 48A'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Price, Installation, Subscription
  29. [29] Emporia Energy, Classic EV Charger page, read 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'The Emporia Classic EV Charger starts at $449 (J1772). The NACS variant is $479' · 'Price starting at $449 $599' · 'Power Output: Up to 48 amps (hardwired) or 40 amps (NEMA 14-50 outlet)' · 'Cable Length: 25 feet with remote holder' · 'Rating: NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor installation' · 'Certifications: Energy Star rated and UL Certified' · 'Warranty: 3 years' · 'you get a $100 credit toward high-quality, professional installation when you book through our partner, Treehouse'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, Market availability, Research status
  30. [30] Emporia Energy, app page, read 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'Yes, completely free with no subscription, no in-app purchases, and no paywalled features.' · 'Download the app on iOS or Android, create a free account, and follow the in-app setup guide for your Emporia device.' · 'Bluetooth setup for new Emporia devices happens in the mobile app. All other features, including monitoring, scheduling, and device control, are available in both the mobile app and the web portal at web.emporiaenergy.com .' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Subscription, App platforms, Vendor account required
  31. [31] Emporia help centre, 'Developer Access & Future Integrations', read 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'direct local access to Emporia device data is not available on any Emporia product, including all Vue energy monitors and EV chargers. The devices do not expose a local API or direct network interface — all data flows through the Emporia cloud.' · 'several community-developed open-source projects provide programmatic access to Emporia data: PyEmVue — Python library for accessing Emporia device data HA Emporia Vue — Python-based Home Assistant integration VueGraf — Python integration for InfluxDB Emporia-Vue-Hubitat — Groovy-based Hubitat integration emporia-api-go — Go library for Emporia data' · 'These projects are developed and maintained independently of Emporia Energy. We are not able to officially support them' · 'The following platforms are not currently supported by Emporia. There is no specific development timeline for any of these at this time: Matter ... Apple HomeKit ... OCPP ... Home Assistant ... IFTTT ... Samsung SmartThings ... Hubitat ... ioBroker'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols
  32. [32] Emporia help centre, 'Voice Assistant Integration Google Home & Amazon Alexa', read 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported' · '"Turn off my EV Charger" – Stops an active charging session' · 'Advanced commands (such as adjusting charge rates or checking energy usage) are not available through voice assistants at this time.' · 'Choose Works with Google' · 'Select the Emporia Energy Skill and tap Enable to Use'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities
  33. [33] Emporia help centre, 'EV Charger Offline Behavior', read 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'No, the charger functions at default settings (40A for NEMA 14-50, 48A for hardwired) without Wi-Fi.' · 'Pre-set schedules remain active during Wi-Fi outages, but schedule updates require an internet connection.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Works without the internet
  34. [34] US EPA, ENERGY STAR Certified EVSE AC-Output dataset, read 2026-09-30: partner 'Emporia Corp.', model 'EMEVSE1', 'Level 2', max output 48.00 A at 240.00 V, 11.52 kW, output cord 25 ft, 6 AWG, date qualified 2022-05-31, markets 'United States, Canada'., verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability
  35. [35] US CPSC recall REST service, read 2026-09-30: the answer for manufacturer 'Emporia' is an empty list, '[]'. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Service status
  36. [36] Home Assistant documentation, read 2026-09-30 as a status read of https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/emporia/: the address says the page does not exist, 'Oh no! This page does not exist'. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  37. [37] IRS, Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit, read 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'For property you buy and place in service at your main home from January 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026, the credit equals 30% of the cost of the property up to a maximum credit of $1,000 per item' · 'the refueling or recharging property must be installed in a low-income community census tract or non-urban census tract' · 'Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 26-May-2026'., verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Price
  38. [38] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger vendor registry, read 2026-09-30: the first page through tools/page-read.mjs, then all nine pages and 859 vendor records through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs, with 'NO VENDOR MATCHED "emporia"'., verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  39. [39] CSA certified-products search, keyword 'Emporia', read 2026-09-30 rendered: 'No Entries Found'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  40. [40] Emporia Energy, Classic EV Charger page, read in full 2026-10-03 (plain read). Verbatim: "The Emporia Classic EV Charger starts at $449 (J1772). The NACS variant is $479" · "Price starting at $449 $599" · "Power Output: Up to 48 amps (hardwired) or 40 amps (NEMA 14-50 outlet)" · "Cable Length: 25 feet with remote holder" · "Rating: NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor installation" · "Certifications: Energy Star rated and UL Certified" · "Warranty: 3 years" · "you get a $100 credit toward high-quality, professional installation when you book through our partner, Treehouse". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, Market availability, Research status
  41. [41] Emporia's shop listing page, read in full 2026-10-03 (plain read). Verbatim: "Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger - White / CCS / J1772 / NEMA 14-50 $449.00" · "In stock" · "It is recommended to hire a licensed electrician to install a hardwired Emporia charger." · "NEMA Plug: A NEMA Plug is easy to install and portable, but limits your charge rate to 40A. If your electrical panel has GFCI breakers, we recommend the hardwired option." · "Per NEC continuous load requirements, your outlet must be industrial-grade, 50A rated, and continuous-duty rated (Hubbell, Leviton, Bryant, or Cooper (Eaton) are recommended brands). A standard residential outlet is not designed for the sustained load of nightly EV charging." · "Per NEC requirements, a 50A receptacle and dedicated non-GFCI breaker are required to support 40A continuous charging. Professional installation by a licensed electrician is strongly recommended." · "Get a $100 credit when you book installation through our trusted partner, Treehouse." · "3-Year Warranty" · "EV charger product model numbers: White: EMEVSE1 Black: EMEVSE1-B". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Installation, Subscription
  42. [42] Emporia's shop, product data for 'Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger', read 2026-10-03 (structured route). Verbatim fields: "price":44900, "price_min":44900, "price_max":47900, "available":true, with no compare-at price on the listing or on any version. The four J1772 versions are at 44900 and the four NACS versions at 47900; the eight part codes EMEVSE1-A-N-J through EMEVSE1-B-H-T and their eight barcodes are unchanged. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Certification and product IDs
  43. [43] Emporia Energy, app page, read in full 2026-10-03 (plain read). Verbatim: "Yes, completely free with no subscription, no in-app purchases, and no paywalled features." · "Download the app on iOS or Android, create a free account, and follow the in-app setup guide for your Emporia device." · "Bluetooth setup for new Emporia devices happens in the mobile app. All other features, including monitoring, scheduling, and device control, are available in both the mobile app and the web portal at web.emporiaenergy.com ." · "The app works with all Emporia products: EV chargers (Classic and Pro)". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription, App platforms, Vendor account required
  44. [44] Emporia help centre, 'Developer Access & Future Integrations', read in full 2026-10-03 (plain read). Verbatim: "direct local access to Emporia device data is not available on any Emporia product, including all Vue energy monitors and EV chargers." · "several community-developed open-source projects provide programmatic access to Emporia data" · "HA Emporia Vue — Python-based Home Assistant integration" · "These projects are developed and maintained independently of Emporia Energy. We are not able to officially support them" · "The following platforms are not currently supported by Emporia. There is no specific development timeline for any of these at this time:" (the list names Matter, Apple HomeKit, OCPP, Home Assistant, IFTTT, Samsung SmartThings, Hubitat and ioBroker). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols
  45. [45] Emporia help centre, 'Voice Assistant Integration Google Home & Amazon Alexa', read in full 2026-10-03 (plain read). Verbatim: "Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported" · '"Turn off my EV Charger" – Stops an active charging session' · "Advanced commands (such as adjusting charge rates or checking energy usage) are not available through voice assistants at this time." · "Choose Works with Google" · "Select the Emporia Energy Skill and tap Enable to Use" · "Go to Devices in the bottom menu and select Plugs or EV Chargers". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities
  46. [46] Emporia help centre, 'EV Charger Offline Behavior', read in full 2026-10-03 (plain read). Verbatim: "No, the charger functions at default settings (40A for NEMA 14-50, 48A for hardwired) without Wi-Fi." · "Pre-set schedules remain active during Wi-Fi outages, but schedule updates require an internet connection." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Works without the internet
  47. [47] US EPA, ENERGY STAR Certified EVSE AC-Output dataset, read 2026-10-03: partner 'Emporia Corp.', model 'EMEVSE1', 'Level 2', max output 48.00 A at 240.00 V, 11.52 kW, output cord 25 ft, 6 AWG, date qualified 2022-05-31, markets 'United States, Canada'., verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability
  48. [48] US CPSC recall REST service, read 2026-10-03: the answer for manufacturer 'Emporia' is an empty list, '[]'. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Service status
  49. [49] IRS, Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit, read in full 2026-10-03 (plain read). Verbatim: "For property you buy and place in service at your main home from January 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026, the credit equals 30% of the cost of the property up to a maximum credit of $1,000 per item" · "the refueling or recharging property must be installed in a low-income community census tract or non-urban census tract" · "Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 26-May-2026"., verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price
  50. [50] Home Assistant documentation, read 2026-10-03 as a status read of https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/emporia/: the address says the page does not exist, 'Oh no! This page does not exist'. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  51. [51] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger vendor registry, read 2026-10-03: the first page through tools/page-read.mjs, then all nine pages and 861 vendor records through tools/dcl-lookup.mjs, with no vendor whose name contains 'emporia'., verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  52. [52] The certification body's product search for the keyword Emporia, read rendered 2026-10-03. The rendered page returned the same unfiltered product listing for this keyword and for the control keyword Eve (the same fingerprint, 05d82e7351d8, for both), so on this date the search filtered nothing and says nothing either way about Emporia. No claim rests on this read; the Matter answer for this date rests on the ledger read beside it. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
  53. [53] The community project 'HA Emporia Vue' that Emporia's help centre names, its repository front page, read in full 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Home Assistant Integration for Emporia Vue Energy Monitor" · "Reads data from the Emporia Vue energy monitor. Creates a sensor for each device channel showing average usage over each minute." · "This project is not associated with or endorsed by Emporia Energy." The page does not name an Emporia EV charger., verified 2026-10-03Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-03This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-03.
  54. [54] The same project's info page, the description its install store shows, read in full 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Adds a new sensor showing power consumption for the last minute, day, and month, for each power channel. Also supports Emporia switches and EVSEs, plus retry-count and API-latency diagnostic sensors." It names Emporia's EV chargers as a class and no charger model., verified 2026-10-03Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-03This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-03.
  55. [55] Amazon's developer documentation, 'Alexa.Discovery Interface 3', read in full on 2026-10-04 (the page shows 'Last updated: Sep 28, 2026'). Verbatim: "When you provide the display category in your discovery response, your endpoint appears in the correct category in the Alexa app, with the correct iconography." · "Set the displayCategories property to the one that's most appropriate for your device." · "OTHER Endpoint that doesn't belong to one of the other categories." The table runs from ACTIVITY_TRIGGER to WEARABLE and names no category for an EV charger or a vehicle charger; it does carry SMARTPLUG and SWITCH. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-04
  56. [56] Amazon's developer documentation, 'Understand Smart Home Energy Add-ons', read in full on 2026-10-04 (the page shows 'Last updated: Nov 22, 2023'). Verbatim: "The smart home energy interfaces are intended to help users manage their energy usage with the Alexa energy dashboard." · "Alexa.DeviceUsage.Meter — For devices that measure energy use directly, such as electric and natural gas meters." · "The smart home energy interfaces are available in the United States (en-US) only." The page names no EV charger. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-04
  57. [57] Ruling N-9 of the 2026-10-03 planning sitting (docs/decisions/2026-10-03-PLANNING-SITTING-RULINGS.md, 'the Emporia classic charger takes the same answer as the Vue'), applied to the reads lead triple t5 wrote on 2026-10-03: bq107-t5-20261003-emporia-developer-access, bq107-t5-20261003-emporia-ha-community-readme and bq107-t5-20261003-emporia-ha-community-info., verified 2026-10-04
  58. [58] The Matter certification ledger kept by the Connectivity Standards Alliance, read on 2026-10-06: no maker registration was found under the names Emporia or Emporia Energy, so the ledger cannot say either way whether this Emporia product is certified. The Alliance's public product directory could not serve as the second check that day: its search showed the same list of products whatever name it was given, and a member company's page lists no products at all. No certification answer is recorded for this date. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-06
  59. [59] Google Home Developers, 'Smart Home Charger Guide', read in full on 2026-10-07 (the page shows 'Last updated 2026-09-23 UTC'). Verbatim: "action.devices.types.CHARGER - Interactions with chargers may include starting and stopping charging, and checking the current charge level, capacity remaining, and capacity until full values." · "This type indicates that the device gets the Charger icon and some related synonyms and aliases." The required trait is EnergyStorage, and the sample EXECUTE command is Charge with a true or false parameter. The page names no product and no maker. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-07
  60. [60] Google Home Developers, the cloud-to-cloud device-types index, read in full on 2026-10-07 (27,005 characters). Its list of device types runs from 'Air conditioning unit' through 'Charger' onward, and its table describes CHARGER as "Interactions with chargers may include starting and stopping charging, and checking the current charge level, capacity remaining, and capacity until full values." with "Required: EnergyStorage". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-07
  61. [61] Emporia Energy, Classic EV Charger page, read in full on 2026-10-07 as a plain read (10,117 characters; the same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "The Emporia Classic EV Charger starts at $449 (J1772). The NACS variant is $479" · "Power Output: Up to 48 amps (hardwired) or 40 amps (NEMA 14-50 outlet)" · "Cable Length: 25 feet with remote holder" · "Rating: NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor installation" · "Certifications: Energy Star rated and UL Certified" · "Warranty: 3 years" · "you get a $100 credit toward high-quality, professional installation when you book through our partner, Treehouse". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, Market availability, Research status
  62. [62] Emporia's shop listing page, read in full on 2026-10-07 as a plain read (10,676 characters). Verbatim: "Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger - White / NACS / Tesla / NEMA 14-50 $479.00" · "It is recommended to hire a licensed electrician to install a hardwired Emporia charger." · "Per NEC continuous load requirements, your outlet must be industrial-grade, 50A rated, and continuous-duty rated (Hubbell, Leviton, Bryant, or Cooper (Eaton) are recommended brands). A standard residential outlet is not designed for the sustained load of nightly EV charging." · "Per NEC requirements, a 50A receptacle and dedicated non-GFCI breaker are required to support 40A continuous charging." · "Get a $100 credit when you book installation through our trusted partner, Treehouse." · "3-Year Warranty" · "EV charger product model numbers: White: EMEVSE1 Black: EMEVSE1-B". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Price, Installation, Subscription
  63. [63] Emporia's shop, product data for 'Emporia Classic Level 2 EV Charger', read in full on 2026-10-07 (structured route; the same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim fields: "price":44900, "price_min":44900, "price_max":47900, "available":true, with no compare-at price on the listing or on any version. The four J1772 versions are at 44900 and the four NACS versions at 47900; the eight part codes EMEVSE1-A-N-J through EMEVSE1-B-H-T and their eight barcodes are unchanged. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Certification and product IDs
  64. [64] Emporia Energy, app page, read in full on 2026-10-07 as a plain read (9,380 characters; the same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "Yes, completely free with no subscription, no in-app purchases, and no paywalled features." · "Download the app on iOS or Android, create a free account, and follow the in-app setup guide for your Emporia device." · "Bluetooth setup for new Emporia devices happens in the mobile app. All other features, including monitoring, scheduling, and device control, are available in both the mobile app and the web portal at web.emporiaenergy.com ." · "The app works with all Emporia products: EV chargers (Classic and Pro)". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Subscription, App platforms, Vendor account required
  65. [65] Emporia help centre, 'Developer Access & Future Integrations', read in full on 2026-10-07 as a plain read (4,126 characters). Verbatim: "direct local access to Emporia device data is not available on any Emporia product, including all Vue energy monitors and EV chargers." · "HA Emporia Vue — Python-based Home Assistant integration" · "These projects are developed and maintained independently of Emporia Energy. We are not able to officially support them" · "The following platforms are not currently supported by Emporia. There is no specific development timeline for any of these at this time:" (the list names Matter, Apple HomeKit, OCPP, Home Assistant, IFTTT, Samsung SmartThings, Hubitat and ioBroker). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-13
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols, Works without the internet
  66. [66] Emporia help centre, 'Voice Assistant Integration Google Home & Amazon Alexa', read in full on 2026-10-07 as a plain read (2,552 characters). Verbatim: "Currently, only basic on/off commands are supported" · '"Turn off my EV Charger" – Stops an active charging session' · "Advanced commands (such as adjusting charge rates or checking energy usage) are not available through voice assistants at this time." · "Choose Works with Google (not New Device)" · "Select the Emporia Energy Skill and tap Enable to Use" · "Go to Devices in the bottom menu and select Plugs or EV Chargers". The article does not say which Google device type or Alexa category the integration uses. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities
  67. [67] Emporia help centre, 'EV Charger Offline Behavior', read in full on 2026-10-07 as a plain read (3,146 characters; the same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "No, the charger functions at default settings (40A for NEMA 14-50, 48A for hardwired) without Wi-Fi." · "Pre-set schedules remain active during Wi-Fi outages, but schedule updates require an internet connection." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Works without the internet
  68. [68] US EPA, ENERGY STAR Certified EVSE AC-Output dataset, read in full on 2026-10-07 (the same text as change detection's copy): partner 'Emporia Corp.', model 'EMEVSE1', 'Level 2', max output 48.00 A at 240.00 V, 11.52 kW, output cord 25 ft, 6 AWG, date qualified 2022-05-31, markets 'United States, Canada'., verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability
  69. [69] US CPSC recall REST service, read on 2026-10-07: the answer for manufacturer 'Emporia' is an empty list, '[]' (the same text as change detection's copy). — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Service status
  70. [70] IRS, Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit, read in full on 2026-10-07 as a plain read (12,797 characters; the same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "For property you buy and place in service at your main home from January 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026, the credit equals 30% of the cost of the property up to a maximum credit of $1,000 per item" · "the refueling or recharging property must be installed in a low-income community census tract or non-urban census tract" · "Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 26-May-2026"., verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Price
  71. [71] Home Assistant documentation, read on 2026-10-07 as a status read of https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/emporia/: the address says the page does not exist, 'Oh no! This page does not exist'. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  72. [72] The Matter ledger's vendor registry, read on 2026-10-07: the first page through tools/page-read.mjs, then node tools/dcl-lookup.mjs vendors "Emporia" and vendors "Emporia Energy", each scanning 863 vendor records to pagination exhaustion with no vendor matched., verified 2026-10-07
  73. [73] The certification body's product search for the keyword Emporia, read rendered on 2026-10-07. The rendered page returned the same text for this keyword and for the control keyword Eve (the same fingerprint, d4bcd507aa47, for both), so on this date the search filtered nothing and says nothing either way about Emporia. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-07
  74. [74] The community project 'HA Emporia Vue' that Emporia's help centre names, its repository front page, read in full on 2026-10-07 (7,451 characters). Verbatim: "Home Assistant Integration for Emporia Vue Energy Monitor" · "Reads data from the Emporia Vue energy monitor. Creates a sensor for each device channel showing average usage over each minute." · "Note: This project is not associated with or endorsed by Emporia Energy." · "Data is pulled from the Emporia API using the PyEmVue python module". The page does not name an Emporia EV charger., verified 2026-10-07Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-07This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-07.
  75. [75] The same project's info page, read in full on 2026-10-07 (3,505 characters). Verbatim: "Adds a new sensor showing power consumption for the last minute, day, and month, for each power channel. Also supports Emporia switches and EVSEs, plus retry-count and API-latency diagnostic sensors." · "Note: This project is not associated with or endorsed by Emporia Energy." It names Emporia's EV chargers as a class and no charger model., verified 2026-10-07Someone's observation, checked 2026-10-07This fact comes from an owner, a forum or a community project rather than from the manufacturer. Last checked 2026-10-07.
  76. [76] Amazon's developer documentation, 'Alexa.Discovery Interface 3', read in full on 2026-10-07 (the page shows 'Last updated: Sep 28, 2026'; the same text as the 2026-10-04 read). Verbatim: "When you provide the display category in your discovery response, your endpoint appears in the correct category in the Alexa app, with the correct iconography." · "OTHER Endpoint that doesn't belong to one of the other categories." The table names no category for an EV charger or a vehicle charger; it carries SMARTPLUG and SWITCH. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-07
  77. [77] Amazon's developer documentation, 'Understand Smart Home Energy Add-ons', read in full on 2026-10-07 (the page shows 'Last updated: Nov 22, 2023'; the same text as the 2026-10-04 read). Verbatim: "The smart home energy interfaces are intended to help users manage their energy usage with the Alexa energy dashboard." · "The smart home energy interfaces are available in the United States (en-US) only." The page names no EV charger. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-07
  78. [78] A wording correction to this record's own sentences about the certification body's keyword search. No page was read., verified 2026-10-07

Where sources disagree

Where two sources we consider reliable say different things, we publish both positions and what we recorded, rather than quietly picking one.

Price, Product identity, Batteries, Works without the internet, Installation

We publish: 429

Both pages are Emporia's own and were read the same day, so neither is automatically the more authoritative and neither is stale. We publish $429 for a reason a reader can check: it is the lowest price at which Emporia will sell this charger on any of its own surfaces, and it is the only one of the three figures that is tied to a stated configuration — the J1772 model — rather than to an unspecified default. The main site also distinguishes the connectors by price where the shop does not, which is more information rather than less. What we are NOT doing is claiming $429 is the price you will pay: the record says plainly that depending on which Emporia surface you land on and which connector your car needs, you will see $429, $449 or $479. The spread is $50 on a ~$450 product, so nothing else on this record turns on it — but a catalogue that quietly picked one number would be hiding the fact that the vendor itself has not.

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Emporia Classic EV Charger with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker