Product Library / Smart Locks

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-27

August WiFi Smart Lock (4th gen)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[10][34]
[9][33]
[8][32]
[11][35]
[12][24][30]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH[1][4][23][27][29]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No bridge, and that is the 4th generation's whole point — the radio moved into the lock. August states it plainly: 'the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock requires no additional bridge to connect. Wi-Fi capability is built right into the smart lock.' Home Assistant's own documentation agrees from the other side, listing the Gen 4 among the devices that do not require a Connect Bridge or Doorbell. Worth knowing if you are comparing against the older Smart Lock + Connect, which does need one. The lock's Wi-Fi is unusually flexible for this category: 802.11 b/g/n on 2.4GHz OR 5GHz, where most smart locks are 2.4GHz-only.[4][23][27]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Lock/unlock

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [9] [33]

Documented device function

Lock state

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [9] [33]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[9][33]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
1 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[10][34]Google HomeWorks[9][33]AlexaWorks[8][32]SmartThingsWorks[11][35]Home AssistantWorks[12][24][30]
Lock/unlockDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Lock stateReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

HomeKit is genuinely native on the 4th gen (WiFi/Bluetooth in the lock, no bridge). Remote Siri/Home-app control away from home needs an Apple home hub (HomePod or Apple TV). No Matter support — August's own compatibility pages list no Matter or Thread anywhere (re-checked 2026-08-07, still absent).[10][34]

Google Home

Cloud-to-cloud Works-with-Google-Home linking using the lock's built-in WiFi. Voice unlock works but Google requires a spoken security PIN for any voice unlock — a Google platform rule for locks, not stated on August's page.[9][33]

Alexa

Cloud-to-cloud via the August Alexa skill using the lock's built-in WiFi — lock and status by voice anytime, but voice UNLOCK requires a 4–12 digit PIN configured during skill account linking; no PIN set, no voice unlock.[8][32]

SmartThings

Official cloud-to-cloud linked service — SmartThings talks to August's cloud, so it needs the lock's WiFi online and there is no local execution; no SmartThings hub required.[11][35]

Home Assistant

Official integration built into Home Assistant (since version 0.64, with updates pushed from August's cloud) covering lock/unlock, DoorSense door state, battery, and who operated the lock — but it depends entirely on the August/Yale cloud (there is no local control), some data updates slowly because August offers no instant-update feed for it, and Home Assistant's docs flag battery reporting on the Gen-4 lock as frequently inaccurate.[12][24][30]

Device documentation: [9] [33]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[8][32]Cloud-to-cloud via the August Alexa skill using the lock's built-in WiFi — lock and status by voice anytime, but voice UNLOCK requires a 4–12 digit PIN configured during skill account linking; no PIN set, no voice unlock.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[9][33]Cloud-to-cloud Works-with-Google-Home linking using the lock's built-in WiFi. Voice unlock works but Google requires a spoken security PIN for any voice unlock — a Google platform rule for locks, not stated on August's page.
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[10][34]HomeKit is genuinely native on the 4th gen (WiFi/Bluetooth in the lock, no bridge). Remote Siri/Home-app control away from home needs an Apple home hub (HomePod or Apple TV). No Matter support — August's own compatibility pages list no Matter or Thread anywhere (re-checked 2026-08-07, still absent).
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[11][35]Official cloud-to-cloud linked service — SmartThings talks to August's cloud, so it needs the lock's WiFi online and there is no local execution; no SmartThings hub required.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[12][24][30]Official integration built into Home Assistant (since version 0.64, with updates pushed from August's cloud) covering lock/unlock, DoorSense door state, battery, and who operated the lock — but it depends entirely on the August/Yale cloud (there is no local control), some data updates slowly because August offers no instant-update feed for it, and Home Assistant's docs flag battery reporting on the Gen-4 lock as frequently inaccurate.

Plans and ongoing costs[5][22][28]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

Maintenance and offline use[7]

Security updates[15]

August publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

Verified absence. Yale and August document HOW firmware updates happen — updates are released periodically to improve connection speed, reliability, motor controls and Auto-Lock, and begin automatically when the lock owner connects over Bluetooth — and nowhere state for how long they will keep coming. A cadence is not a commitment: knowing that updates arrive periodically tells a buyer nothing about the horizon, which on a door lock is the question that matters. Recorded as a checked absence rather than an unchecked cell.

The catch

3-month battery life and cloud dependence — convenience with a maintenance tax.

Who it's for

Renters: 10-minute install keeping your exterior key; not for the maintenance-averse.

Check availability at August

This opens August's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

36 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] august.com/pages/bluetooth (read 2026-08-09): Bluetooth LE described as 'Control Your Locks At Your Door' — 'This allows you to control your lock when you arrive at your door, eliminating the need for a traditional house key', with the lock detecting approach; Wi-Fi described as 'Control Your Locks from Anywhere', enabling remote access 'when you're away from home and out of Bluetooth® LE range'. Per-SKU corroboration of radio presence from august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock (read 2026-08-09): 'August Smart Lock uses Bluetooth™ Low Energy technology encryption and TLS in our mobile applications' — the only Bluetooth mention on that page, and it is under security rather than connectivity. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] August's own store listing data for the Wi-Fi Smart Lock, at august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock, read 2026-08-07: "title":"August Wi-Fi Smart Lock", "available":true, "price":19999, no compare-at price, "price_min":19999, "price_max":19999, "vendor":"August Home"; variants "Silver" sku AUG-SL05-M01-S01 available true and "Matte Black" sku AUG-SL05-M01-G01-C available false — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  3. [3] variant SKUs from August's own store listing data at august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock (read 2026-08-07), cross-read against home-assistant.io/integrations/august, which lists "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock (Gen 4)" among devices requiring no Connect Bridge — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Product identity
  4. [4] august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock specification and requirements block (read 2026-08-07): '802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz or 5GHz'; 'Bluetooth™ Low Energy technology encryption'; box contents 'August Wi-Fi Smart Lock DoorSense™ sensor (2) CR123 batteries Lock adapter & mounting hardware'; 'the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock requires no additional bridge to connect. Wi-Fi capability is built right into the smart lock.'; 'Free August app for iOS or Android'; 'All our smart locks come with a 1-year warranty.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, App platforms
  5. [5] august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock plus august.com/pages/alexa, /pages/google-assistant, /pages/homekit and /pages/smartthings, all read 2026-08-07: the strings subscription, plan, membership and trial appear on none of them; the product page states only 'Free August app for iOS or Android' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Subscription
  6. [6] august.com store and integration pages (read 2026-08-07) + home-assistant.io/integrations/august (read 2026-08-07): "For devices that use the Yale Home app, the Yale integration should be used instead", with "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock (Gen 4)" listed among supported devices needing no Connect Bridge — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Service status, Research status
  7. [7] august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock ('(2) CR123 batteries', 'up to 3 months', interior-only over your existing deadbolt keeping your keys) + support.august.com early low-battery-notification article (feature confirmed; exact % threshold not stated on the loadable page) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Batteries, Works without the internet
  8. [8] august.com/pages/alexa ('"Alexa, unlock my front door." … Works with Amazon Alexa (Requires Wi-Fi) — Built In to Lock'), with the unlock PIN configured in the Alexa app per August's Alexa-integration support article — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  9. [9] august.com/pages/google-assistant ('"Ok Google, unlock my door" … Works with Google Assistant (Requires Wi-Fi)'), naming the Wi-Fi Smart Lock with lock/unlock/status commands — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, Capabilities
  10. [10] august.com/pages/homekit ('Use your iPhone or Apple Watch to unlock your august lock simply by saying "Hey Siri, Unlock my door"'; remote access via built-in WiFi) + product page 'Works with Siri + HomeKit'; Matter absence is evidenced by omission from August's compatibility pages, not an explicit denial — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  11. [11] august.com/pages/smartthings (read 2026-07-21: names 'August Wi-Fi Smart Lock' as compatible; lock/unlock/status plus SmartThings Routines; 'Remote Access (Requires Wi-Fi)'). Rests on August's page — no Samsung-side listing was captured — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  12. [12] Home Assistant official docs, www.home-assistant.io/integrations/august (the no-www form previously recorded here 301-redirects to this URL) — lists the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock (Gen 4) as a supported device; 'The August hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.64 … August/Yale does not offer a push API for some data' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  13. [13] august.com, Bluetooth LE explainer page, re-read 2026-08-18 — 'Control Your Locks At Your Door with Bluetooth® LE'; 'Control Your Locks from Anywhere with Wi-Fi'; 'Wi-Fi connects your Smart Lock to August's servers which allows you to control your lock when you're away from home and out of Bluetooth® LE range'; '*Requires Connect Wi-Fi Bridge or a Wi-Fi built-in smart lock for remote access features and smart device integrations.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Works without the internet
  14. [14] This record's own answer to whether a hub is required, and the evidence entry already claiming it (unnamed entry), re-read 2026-08-19., verified 2026-08-19
  15. [15] Yale and August first-party support surfaces read 2026-08-20 (support.shopyalehome.com and support.august.com firmware-update articles). They describe update mechanics and frequency — "released periodically to help improve connection speed, connection reliability, motor controls, and Auto-Lock", applied automatically over Bluetooth — and state no support period, no end-of-support policy and no per-model dates. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  16. [16] August's own Alexa page (august.com/pages/alexa, read 2026-09-04): 'August Smart Home skills for Amazon Alexa enabled devices allow you to lock and unlock your door, check status and view your doorstep live from your August Doorbell Camera.' The page's capability table is a list of UTTERANCES — 'Alexa, is my front door locked?' / 'Alexa, lock my front door.' / 'Alexa, unlock my front door.' / Set PIN code [Configured in Alexa app]. The words routine and automation do not appear anywhere on it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-04
    Backs: What your assistant can automate
  17. [17] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  18. [18] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-16 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-16
  19. [19] August's product page for the Wi-Fi Smart Lock, https://august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock, read in full 2026-09-20. Battery text: specification line "(2) CR123 batteries"; FAQ "You can expect up to 3 months of battery life with August Wi-Fi Smart Lock." and "Click here for tips on extending battery life or here to order replacement batteries." (A separate FAQ line, "The Yale Keypad has a 7-month battery life.", is about the accessory keypad, not this lock.) No sentence about a low-battery notification or alert appears anywhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Batteries
  20. [20] August’s Shopify structured listing for the same product, https://august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock, structured listing read 2026-09-20: title “August Wi-Fi Smart Lock”, price 19999, no struck-through price, available true, and exactly one variant — “Silver”, SKU AUG-SL05-M01-S01, price 19999, available true. The 2026-08-07 read of the same structured listing reported two variants, the second being “Matte Black”, SKU AUG-SL05-M01-G01-C, available false. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  21. [21] August's Shopify structured listing for the Wi-Fi Smart Lock, https://august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock, structured listing read 2026-09-21: title "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock", price 19999 in cents, no compare-at price recorded against it, available true, and one variant only — "Silver", SKU AUG-SL05-M01-S01, inventory quantity 30, available true. The same variant carries no selling plan of any kind. The rendered page carried at the same read, in its own markup, a second colour button labelled "Matte Black" that is styled hidden and has no variant attached to it; and the store catalogue the page embeds lists "Matte Black for August Wi-Fi Smart Lock", type "Parts", image MatteBlack_Faceplate_AWSL.jpg, at $19.99, SKU 025-00257-02. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  22. [22] august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock, read in full 2026-09-21. The words subscription, plan, membership, trial and paywall appear nowhere in the page's own copy — the only occurrences of "subscription" anywhere in the document are inside a third-party A/B-testing script (shoplift) that ships with the theme and belongs to no product. The page is plainly a live commercial page while it says nothing: "$199.99", "Add to cart", a colour button, "30-day money-back guarantee | Free Shipping in the US", and an FAQ block. The structured listing for the same URL adds the machine-readable half: "requires_selling_plan":false and "selling_plan_allocations":[]. What August asks a buyer to have is unchanged — "Free August app for iOS or Android", "iOS or Android smartphone", "Wi-Fi internet connection (802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz or 5GHz)" and the FAQ answer "No, the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock requires no additional bridge to connect." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Subscription
  23. [23] august.com/products/august-wifi-smart-lock specification and FAQ blocks, read in full 2026-09-21, all quoted verbatim and all unchanged from the 2026-08-07 and 2026-09-20 reads: Requirements "Free August app for iOS or Android", "iOS or Android smartphone", "Wi-Fi internet connection (802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz or 5GHz)", "Single-cylinder deadbolt lock"; What's Included "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock / DoorSense sensor / 2 CR123 batteries / Lock adapter & mounting hardware"; "The August Wi-Fi Smart Lock installation takes less than 10 minutes" over the existing deadbolt keeping the original keys; FAQ "No, the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock requires no additional bridge to connect. Wi-Fi capability is built right into the smart lock"; FAQ "You can expect up to 3 months of battery life with August Wi-Fi Smart Lock."; security copy "August Smart Lock uses Bluetooth Low Energy technology encryption and TLS in our mobile applications"; comparison chart "Remote Access (Requires Wi-Fi)". Warranty is stated as 1 year. No web or desktop app is named anywhere on the page, and no low-battery-notification sentence appears. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: App platforms, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, Batteries, Research status
  24. [24] www.home-assistant.io/integrations/august, read in full 2026-09-21. "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock (Gen 4)" is still listed under Known working devices with "Requires Connect Bridge or Doorbell: no"; "For devices that use the Yale Home app, the Yale integration should be used instead"; "August/Yale does not offer a push API for some data" naming the doorbell ding, lock battery and lock operation sensors; the Gen-4 battery charge value "has frequently been reported as incorrect". The page states "The August hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.64, and it's used by 1.1% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Cloud Push." NEW SINCE THE 2026-08-07 READ: the page carries an integration-alert banner linking to alerts.home-assistant.io/alerts/august/, which was read the same day and says "The August integration will stop working soon without Home Assistant 2025.9.0 or later", created 2025-09-05. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Service status, Home Assistant compatibility
  25. [25] August's own store listing for the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock, read 2026-09-23. The listing is titled "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock", is sold by August Home, and sells a single version today, Silver: part code AUG-SL05-M01-S01, barcode 850004426357. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  26. [26] August's store product data for the Wi-Fi Smart Lock, read 2026-09-27: title "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock", vendor "August Home", "price":19999 with no compare-at price, "available":true, and one variant, "Silver", with "sku":"AUG-SL05-M01-S01", "barcode":"850004426357", "inventory_quantity":30, "requires_selling_plan":false and "selling_plan_allocations":[]. The colour option lists one value, Silver. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Certification and product IDs
  27. [27] August's product page for the Wi-Fi Smart Lock, read in full 2026-09-27. Verbatim: "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock $199.99"; "What's Included August Wi-Fi Smart Lock DoorSense™ sensor (2) CR123 batteries Lock adapter & mounting hardware"; "Requirements Free August app for iOS or Android iOS (iOS or Android smartphone required) Wi-Fi® internet connection (802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz or 5GHz)"; "The August Wi-Fi Smart Lock installation takes less than 10 minutes. Simply install it on the inside of your door over your existing deadbolt."; "No, the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock requires no additional bridge to connect."; "You can expect up to 3 months of battery life with August Wi-Fi Smart Lock. Click here for tips on extending battery life or here to order replacement batteries."; "August Smart Lock uses Bluetooth™ Low Energy technology encryption and TLS in our mobile applications."; and "*Note: Our smart locks and app are for use in the US and Canada only." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Installation, App platforms, Batteries, Research status
  28. [28] August's product page for the Wi-Fi Smart Lock, read in full 2026-09-27: the words subscription, membership and trial appear nowhere in its text, while the page is plainly live and selling ("$199.99", "Add to cart", "30-day money-back guarantee | Free Shipping in the US"). The store data read the same day carries "requires_selling_plan":false and "selling_plan_allocations":[]. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Subscription
  29. [29] August's Bluetooth LE page, read in full 2026-09-27. Verbatim: "Control Your Locks At Your Door with Bluetooth® LE"; "Wi-Fi connects your Smart Lock to August's servers which allows you to control your lock when you're away from home and out of Bluetooth® LE range."; "*Requires Connect Wi-Fi Bridge or a Wi-Fi built-in smart lock for remote access features and smart device integrations."; and "All August Smart Locks include Bluetooth® LE technology." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Protocols, Works without the internet
  30. [30] Home Assistant's August integration documentation, read in full 2026-09-27. Verbatim: "For devices that use the Yale Home app, the Yale integration should be used instead."; "The August Wi-Fi Smart Lock (Gen 4) uses different battery technology (lithium-ion) than the other locks. The battery charge value reported by the lock detail API has frequently been reported as incorrect for these models."; "August/Yale does not offer a push API for some data"; and "The August hub was introduced in Home Assistant 0.64, and it's used by 1.1% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Cloud Push." The page still carries its integration-alert banner. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Service status, Home Assistant compatibility
  31. [31] Home Assistant's August integration documentation, read in full 2026-09-27. Under the heading 'Known working devices' its table lists "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock (Gen 4) no" in the column 'Requires Connect Bridge or Doorbell', and the sentence under the table reads "Other devices not listed above have not been tested and may not function as expected." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-27
  32. [32] August's Alexa page, read in full 2026-09-27. Verbatim: "August Smart Home skills for Amazon Alexa enabled devices allow you to lock and unlock your door, check status and view your doorstep live from your August Doorbell Camera."; "Custom skills like lock & unlock with PIN."; the command table beside "Wi-Fi Smart Lock": "Alexa, is my front door locked?", "Alexa, lock my front door.", "Alexa, unlock my front door.", "Set PIN code [Configured in Alexa app]"; and the comparison row "Works with Amazon Alexa (Requires Wi-Fi)". The words routine and automation do not appear. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, What your assistant can automate
  33. [33] August's Google Assistant page, read in full 2026-09-27. Verbatim: "Use the Google Assistant to unlock your August lock simply by saying" followed by the command "Ok Google, unlock my door", and "lock your door by saying" followed by "Ok Google, lock my door", with the comparison row "Works with Google Assistant (Requires Wi-Fi)". The page does not mention a PIN. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, Capabilities
  34. [34] August's Siri and HomeKit page, read in full 2026-09-27. Verbatim: "Use your iPhone or Apple Watch to unlock your august lock simply by saying" followed by the command "Hey Siri, Unlock my door", and "Ask your HomePod, Apple TV and just about any other Apple device to lock your door by saying" followed by "Hey Siri, lock my door", with the comparison row "Works with Siri + HomeKit". The words Matter and Thread appear nowhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  35. [35] August's SmartThings page, read in full 2026-09-27. Verbatim: "Control your August Smart Lock and other connected devices with the SmartThings app for iPhone or Android."; "Manage your August Smart Lock and other connected devices with SmartThings Routines for Good Morning, Goodbye, Good Night, and more."; and, under 'Compatible August Products', "August Wi-Fi Smart Lock With Wi-Fi built in right out of the box, no Wi-Fi bridge needed to integrate voice assistants." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-27
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  36. [36] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-09-27

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check August WiFi Smart Lock (4th gen) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker