Product Library / Sensors & Detectors
Research profile · verified 2026-09-22 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your home?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: THREAD · MATTER[1][2][5][10][22][44]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Matter controller
Thread border router (HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model, Nest Hub 2nd gen, newer Echo devices, SmartThings hubs with Thread, or an Aqara Hub M3) plus a Matter controller in your ecosystem. No Aqara hub required — but adding an Aqara Hub M3 unlocks custom detection timeout, sensitivity tuning, and local alerts via Aqara Home.[2]
Follow the documented setup. Read the equipment details and connection limits below.
Pair through Matter
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- ThreadThread border routerConnected to your home network
- MatterApple Home Matter controllerCompatible Matter-enabled hardware
- ControlApple HomePlatform app
What you gainUse the documented local Matter connection.
Keep in mindNeeds both Thread border routing and Matter control for this platform. These are roles, which suitable hardware may combine. Read the named equipment and function limits below; the device’s support level remains as recorded.
Which features come through?
Check the function table and setup notes for this route. An alternative connection does not inherit every capability of the recorded primary connection. A Thread border router, a Matter controller and a platform home hub are different roles; suitable hardware may provide more than one.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-19
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-02
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Via Matter over Thread — requires a HomePod, a HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model as Thread border router and controller. Motion and light sensor both exposed.[13][45]
Follow the documented setup. Read the equipment details and connection limits below.
Pair through Matter
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- ThreadThread border routerConnected to your home network
- MatterGoogle Home Matter controllerCompatible Matter-enabled hardware
- ControlGoogle HomePlatform app
What you gainUse the documented local Matter connection.
Keep in mindNeeds both Thread border routing and Matter control for this platform. These are roles, which suitable hardware may combine. Read the named equipment and function limits below; the device’s support level remains as recorded.
Which features come through?
Check the function table and setup notes for this route. An alternative connection does not inherit every capability of the recorded primary connection. A Thread border router, a Matter controller and a platform home hub are different roles; suitable hardware may provide more than one.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-19
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-19
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-07
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Works via Matter over Thread: Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors and light sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires a Google Thread border router (e.g., Nest Hub 2nd gen) as the controller.[13][36][39][40][47]
Follow the documented setup. Read the equipment details and connection limits below.
Pair through Matter
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- ThreadThread border routerConnected to your home network
- MatterAmazon Alexa Matter controllerCompatible Matter-enabled hardware
- ControlAmazon AlexaPlatform app
What you gainUse the documented local Matter connection.
Keep in mindNeeds both Thread border routing and Matter control for this platform. These are roles, which suitable hardware may combine. Read the named equipment and function limits below; the device’s support level remains as recorded.
Which features come through?
Check the function table and setup notes for this route. An alternative connection does not inherit every capability of the recorded primary connection. A Thread border router, a Matter controller and a platform home hub are different roles; suitable hardware may provide more than one.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-19
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-02
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Via Matter over Thread only — needs an Echo that is both Thread border router and Matter controller. Aqara states Alexa does not support the light-sensor function, so only motion is usable.[13][26][46]
Follow the documented setup. Read the equipment details and connection limits below.
Pair through Matter
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- ThreadThread border routerConnected to your home network
- MatterSmartThings Matter controllerCompatible Matter-enabled hardware
- ControlSmartThingsPlatform app
What you gainUse the documented local Matter connection.
Keep in mindNeeds both Thread border routing and Matter control for this platform. These are roles, which suitable hardware may combine. Read the named equipment and function limits below; the device’s support level remains as recorded.
Which features come through?
Check the function table and setup notes for this route. An alternative connection does not inherit every capability of the recorded primary connection. A Thread border router, a Matter controller and a platform home hub are different roles; suitable hardware may provide more than one.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-19
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-02
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Via Matter over Thread — requires a SmartThings hub with Thread border router capability (Station, Hub v3, Aeotec).[13][21][48]
Follow the documented setup. Read the equipment details and connection limits below.
Pair through Matter
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- ThreadThread border routerConnected to your home network
- MatterMatter ServerRuns inside Home Assistant
- ControlHome AssistantPlatform app
What you gainUse the documented local Matter connection.
Keep in mindNeeds both Thread border routing and Matter control for this platform. These are roles, which suitable hardware may combine. Read the named equipment and function limits below; the device’s support level remains as recorded.
Which features come through?
Check the function table and setup notes for this route. An alternative connection does not inherit every capability of the recorded primary connection. A Thread border router, a Matter controller and a platform home hub are different roles; suitable hardware may provide more than one.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-24
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-09-02
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Thread border router
Matter controller
Officially listed by Aqara; joins through Home Assistant's Matter integration, which needs the Matter server add-on plus a Thread border router.[13][25]
Platform setup limits
Home Assistant: If this device joins over Thread and your Thread border router is Apple's (a HomePod or Thread-capable Apple TV), Home Assistant can't deliver its firmware updates today. Home Assistant documentation · checked 2026-09-25
Equipment that adds features
Aqara Hub M3
Optional equipment is listed; its role has not been established.[2]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Documented device function
Motion detected
The device reports this event.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Setup and sources
Device documentation: [9]
Apple Home · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Listed for this device type
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Via Matter over Thread — requires a HomePod, a HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model as Thread border router and controller. Motion and light sensor both exposed.
Connection documentation: [13] [45]
Device documentation: [9]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-20
us.aqara.com · checked 2026-09-02
support.apple.com · checked 2026-10-19
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
Google Home · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Listed for this device type
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Works via Matter over Thread: Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors and light sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires a Google Thread border router (e.g., Nest Hub 2nd gen) as the controller.
Connection documentation: [13] [36] [39] [40] [47]
Device documentation: [9]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-20
us.aqara.com · checked 2026-10-07
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-19
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-19
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
Alexa · Partial
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Listed for this device type
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Via Matter over Thread only — needs an Echo that is both Thread border router and Matter controller. Aqara states Alexa does not support the light-sensor function, so only motion is usable.
Connection documentation: [13] [26] [46]
Device documentation: [9]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-20
us.aqara.com · checked 2026-09-02
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-10-19
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
SmartThings · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Supported for this Matter device type
- Automation
- ✓ Documented for this model
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Via Matter over Thread — requires a SmartThings hub with Thread border router capability (Station, Hub v3, Aeotec).
Connection documentation: [13] [21] [48]
Device documentation: [9]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-20
us.aqara.com · checked 2026-09-02
partners.smartthings.com · checked 2026-10-19
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-19
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-19
Home Assistant · Works
Motion detected
This device reports motion detected.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment options above.
Setup and sources
Thread border router.
Matter controller.
Officially listed by Aqara; joins through Home Assistant's Matter integration, which needs the Matter server add-on plus a Thread border router.
Connection documentation: [13] [25]
Device documentation: [9]
csa-iot.org · checked 2026-08-20
us.aqara.com · checked 2026-09-02
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-24
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-28
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
The functions, side by side
What can you use, and where?[9]
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- Not established from vendor documentation
- Reported events
- 1 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeWorks[13][45] | Google HomeWorks[13][36][39][40][47] | AlexaPartial[13][26][46] | SmartThingsWorks[13][21][48] | Home AssistantWorks[13][25] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motion detectedReported event | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ Listed for this device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ Listed for this device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type Automation ✓ Listed for this device type | Event Supported for this Matter device type | Event Not stated Automation — |
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Via Matter over Thread — requires a HomePod, a HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model as Thread border router and controller. Motion and light sensor both exposed.[13][45]
Google Home
Works via Matter over Thread: Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors and light sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires a Google Thread border router (e.g., Nest Hub 2nd gen) as the controller.[13][36][39][40][47]
Alexa
Via Matter over Thread only — needs an Echo that is both Thread border router and Matter controller. Aqara states Alexa does not support the light-sensor function, so only motion is usable.[13][26][46]
SmartThings
Via Matter over Thread — requires a SmartThings hub with Thread border router capability (Station, Hub v3, Aeotec).[13][21][48]
Home Assistant
Officially listed by Aqara; joins through Home Assistant's Matter integration, which needs the Matter server add-on plus a Thread border router.[13][25]
Motion detected: Home Assistant setup limit
Platform documentation:
us.aqara.com · checked 2026-09-02
support.apple.com · checked 2026-10-19
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
Apple Home — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
us.aqara.com · checked 2026-10-07
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-19
developers.home.google.com · checked 2026-10-19
Google Home — Matter path · checked 2026-10-03
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-10-19
Alexa — Matter path · checked 2026-09-04
partners.smartthings.com · checked 2026-10-19
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-07
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
SmartThings — Matter path · checked 2026-10-14
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-19
raw.githubusercontent.com · checked 2026-10-19
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-09-24
Home Assistant — Matter path · checked 2026-10-28
Device documentation: [9]
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | PartialPartial support — see the catch[13][26][46] | Via Matter over Thread only — needs an Echo that is both Thread border router and Matter controller. Aqara states Alexa does not support the light-sensor function, so only motion is usable.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[13][36][39][40][47] | Works via Matter over Thread: Google's Matter list marks occupancy sensors and light sensors as available by Google Assistant, in the Google Home app and on a Smart Display. Requires a Google Thread border router (e.g., Nest Hub 2nd gen) as the controller.In Google Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Apple Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[13][45] | Via Matter over Thread — requires a HomePod, a HomePod mini, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model as Thread border router and controller. Motion and light sensor both exposed.In Apple Home you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| SmartThings | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[13][21][48] | Via Matter over Thread — requires a SmartThings hub with Thread border router capability (Station, Hub v3, Aeotec).In SmartThings you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[13][25] | Officially listed by Aqara; joins through Home Assistant's Matter integration, which needs the Matter server add-on plus a Thread border router.In Home Assistant you also need: a Thread border router · a Matter controller |
Plans and ongoing costs[16][22]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
Maintenance and offline use
- Batteries: CR2450 x2 — manufacturer-stated 24 months per set
- Works without the internet: Yes — the core function runs on the device or your home network. A vendor cloud may still be involved in remote access.[7][22]
- Batteries included; Aqara rates life at up to 2 years. Matter-over-Thread automations run locally through the controller.
- Security updates: Aqara declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2026 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.[8][53]
Who it's for
Suits households that already run a Thread border router (HomePod, the 2021 Apple TV 4K or the Wi-Fi + Ethernet 2022 model, Nest Hub, newer Echo, or SmartThings hub) and want a battery-powered, locally controlled motion-plus-illuminance trigger without an Aqara hub.
This opens Aqara's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
66 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] csa-iot.org/csa_product/motion-and-light-sensor-p2/ Transport Interface 'Thread, Bluetooth' (quote captured and verified on-page by the change-detection pipeline 2026-08-03). Class control re-read live 2026-08-09 on the sibling certificate page csa-iot.org/csa_product/door-and-window-sensor-p2/ — the Door and Window Sensor P2's own certificate, whose number is printed there and not on this product's page — which still reads 'Thread, Bluetooth'. (The sibling's certificate number has been removed from this entry's prose because it identifies another product; it remains readable on the page named here.) This product's certificate is CSA22084MAT40084-24, the number this entry's note records the page printing on the 2026-09-23 read. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-23Backs: Protocolspage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [2] us.aqara.com/products/motion-and-light-sensor-p2 (official US store product page) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16Backs: Protocols, Price, Required hub or bridge, Product identity
- [3] csa-iot.org/csa_product/motion-and-light-sensor-p2/ — CSA certified-products entry under Lumi United Technology (certificate ID seen in a search snippet of the CSA page rather than on the page itself) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-16page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [4] aqara.com/en/motion-and-light-sensor-p2-specs/ + aqara.com/en/product/motion-and-light-sensor-p2/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16Backs: Product identity
- [5] https://us.aqara.com/products/motion-and-light-sensor-p2 structured offer data read 2026-08-08: $33.99, SKU DTC-US-SN-MLSP2, available. Radios from https://csa-iot.org/csa_product/motion-and-light-sensor-p2/ — certificate CSA22084MAT40084-24, certified 2022-11-03, Specification Version 1.0, Vendor ID 0x115F, Product ID 0x2003, and **Transport Interface: 'Thread, Bluetooth'**. ⚠ The Bluetooth in that field is COMMISSIONING transport for a Matter-over-Thread device, not a control path, so it is deliberately not added to this record's protocols — the same call made for the Tapo L535E on 2026-08-08. The catalogue is split on this (8 of 28 Matter-over-Thread records list bluetooth, 20 do not) and has no documented rule; the raw certificate field is recorded here so the evidence survives whichever way the rule lands. Warranty: https://us.aqara.com/pages/limited-warranty — Aqara's published warranty table gives 'Smart Home Sensor 12 Months'. ⚠ Recorded with its limitation rather than as a flat 12-month promise: the same page states the warranty covers 'purchases on us.aqara.com' and excludes 'Items purchased from sources other than us.aqara.com', so a unit bought from a retailer is not covered by this term. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Service status, Protocols, Research status
- [6] aqara.com, Motion and Light Sensor P2 specs page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Power source
- [7] us.aqara.com, Motion and Light Sensor P2 product page, re-read 2026-08-18 — 'The automations are executed without the cloud, which can protect the user's privacy and will keep working even if there is no internet connection.'; protocols row 'Thread, Bluetooth 5.0'; requirement 'The Aqara Thread border router, which is Matter-compatible'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Works without the internet
- [8] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), Statement of Compliance for UK — Motion and Light Sensor P2, read 2026-08-19. Model name on the document: ML-S03D, ML-S03E. Verbatim: 'we state that the defined support period for the product above is till 12/31/2026'. Located via Aqara's own compliance library at https://www.aqara.com/en/security-certifications/, which lists this product with these model numbers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19Backs: Security-update support periodpage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [9] CSA certified-products entry for the Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd.), read 2026-08-20: certificate CSA22084MAT40084-24, certified 2022-11-03, over Thread and Bluetooth, primary device type 0107, the Matter Occupancy Sensor device type. The entry's own description says the product senses movement and how bright the room is. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilitiespage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [10] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled meaning of the protocols a device itself speaks: certificate CSA22085MAT40085 · Matter over Thread. No new outside source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Protocols
- [11] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance — filling in which region the security-support statement applies to, verified 2026-08-27
- [12] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [13] Aqara US store, Motion and Light Sensor P2 product page — verbatim, model-scoped, and naming all five: “The Motion and Light Sensor P2 establishes direct connections with Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings, Home Assistant, Homey, and Aqara Home.” The Information block states the path: “[Native Matter Support over Thread] The Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 seamlessly integrates with the robust Matter platform and is compatible with Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, and Samsung.” The page's own compatibility strip reads “Aqara · Apple Home · Alexa · Google Home · SmartThings”. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
- [14] Apple Support, ‘Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub’, read together with ‘Identify your Apple TV model’ at support.apple.com/en-us/101605. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-06page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [15] Aqara's own specification page for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read 2026-09-11 as a browser would see it. Verbatim from the Specifications table: 'Battery CR2450 × 2'. Aqara's US store page for the same model states in its Specifications block 'Batteries Lithium Metal ( 2*CR2450, Included)', and in body copy: 'The Motion and Light Sensor P2 boasts a robust 2*CR2450 Lithium battery, delivering one of the lengthiest battery lifespans among Matter over Thread sensors, lasting up to 2 years.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-11Backs: Batteries
- [16] Aqara's US store page for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read 2026-09-11 as a browser would see it. The page carries the section heading 'Local and Subscription-Free Security with Aqara Home' over the automation example built around this sensor. No plan, tier, or recurring charge appears anywhere on the page, in its purchase flow or in its Specifications block. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-11Backs: Subscription
- [17] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
- [18] csa-iot.org certified-product page, read 2026-09-15. The served HTML prints firmware 1.0.0.0, hardware 1000, certificate CSA22084MAT40084-24, certified 2022-11-03, product ID 0x2003 and vendor ID 0x115F., verified 2026-09-15Backs: Certification and product IDspage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [19] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-16 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-16
- [20] Aqara's own US store listing for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read 2026-09-18. The listing is titled "Motion and Light Sensor P2", is sold by My Store, and publishes its own part codes and retail barcodes: one version — part code DTC-US-SN-MLSP2, barcode 0192784000854. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18Backs: Certification and product IDspage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [21] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Aqara's page, read 2026-09-20. SmartThings lists this product by name, verbatim on its own row, and no other row on the page carries that name: "Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2", "Model Number" "ML-S03E", "Category" "Motion Sensors"., verified 2026-09-20Backs: SmartThings compatibilitypage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [22] Aqara's US store page for this sensor, re-read in full 2026-09-22, structured route first. The structured record: 'title':'Motion and Light Sensor P2', 'price':3399, 'price_min':3399, 'price_max':3399, no crossed-out original price recorded against it, in stock, one variant with 'sku':'DTC-US-SN-MLSP2' and 'barcode':'0192784000854'. The description, verbatim on the points this record rests on: 'is compatible with Matter. (*NOTE: Alexa DOESN'T SUPPORT light sensor functionality)'; 'the automations are executed without the cloud, which can protect the user's privacy and will keep working even if there is no internet connection'; 'Thanks to its compact wireless design and adjustable stand, the Sensor P2 can easily be installed on a wall, ceiling or a particular zone, and set up with ease'; 'has a powerful 2*CR2450 Lithium battery and provides up to 2 years of power'. The store header carries '30-Day Money-Back Guarantee' and 'Hastle-free Warranty'. No subscription, plan, tier or trial is named anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Service status, Protocols, Subscription, Works without the internet, Installation, Batteries, Research status
- [23] The store's own structured product data for this page, read 2026-09-22: a price of $33.99 with no crossed-out original price recorded against it, in stock, one variant carrying the SKU DTC-US-SN-MLSP2 and the barcode 0192784000854. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [24] Apple Support, 'Apple TV 4K (2nd generation) - Technical Specifications', which lists Thread among the 2021 model's connections and says: 'Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
- [25] Home Assistant's own Aqara integration page, read 2026-09-24. Under its "Supported devices" heading, Home Assistant lists this product on its own line: "Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2"., verified 2026-09-24Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [26] Amazon's own developer page "Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters", read 2026-09-27 at 05:05 UTC. It opens: "Alexa supports many device types from the following Matter device categories: Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices (door locks, window coverings), thermostats, fans, air purifiers, appliances (room air conditioners, dishwashers), and robotic vacuums." In the Sensors table, the row for this product's certified device type (occupancy) reads, verbatim: "Motion detector Detect and report motion Occupancy Sensing Alexa.MotionSensor". The light row reads "Light sensor Detect and report light levels in an area Illuminance Measurement —", with no Alexa interface in the last column. Footer: "Last updated: Apr 08, 2026"., verified 2026-09-27Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibilitypage changed on 2026-10-24, after this reading
- [27] Aqara's Motion and Light Sensor P2 user manual, read in full on 2026-09-29. 'Product Specifications', verbatim: 'Motion and Light Sensor P2' · 'Model: ML-S03E/ ML-S03D'. 'What is in the Box', verbatim: 'ML-S03E: Sensor Main Unit × 1, Holder × 1, Sticker × 2, User Manual × 1' · 'ML-S03D: Sensor Main Unit × 1, Holder × 2, Sticker × 4, User Manual × 1'. FCC statement, verbatim: 'FCC ID:2AKIT-MLS03'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDspage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [28] Aqara's US store page for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-09-29. It prints no model code; its manual link points to the P2 user manual cited on the identity entry of this date. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
- [29] Aqara's US store product data for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read 2026-09-29: the only code it carries is the sku 'DTC-US-SN-MLSP2'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-29page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [30] The CSA certified-product page for the Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-09-29. It prints certificate, product and vendor ids and no model code. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [31] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), Statement of Compliance for UK, read in full on 2026-09-29. Verbatim: 'Model name: ML-S03D,ML-S03E' · 'we state that the defined support period for the product above is till 12/31/2026.' · 'Place and date of issue: Place: Shenzhen, China; Date: April 9, 2024'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [32] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), Statements of Compliance under Australia's Cyber Security (Security Standards for Smart Devices) Rules 2025, read in full on 2026-09-29. Verbatim: 'Product: Motion and Light Sensor P2' · 'ML-S03D' (printed beside 'Model name:') · 'We state that the defined support period for the product above is at least 1years from the launch day.' · 'Place and date of issue: Place: Shenzhen, China; Date: 2025.8.20'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
- [33] Aqara's EU Data Act disclosure for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-09-29. It states no security-update support period. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
- [34] Aqara's Global Security & Compliance Statements page, read in full on 2026-09-29. Policy sentence, verbatim: 'We will maintain the security updates for at least 2 years from the launch day of certain device models.' Rows for this product: Australian table 'Motion and Light Sensor P2 ML-S03D Active 2025-08-20' · UK PSTI table 'Motion and Light Sensor P2 ML-S03D, ML-S03E Active 2024-04-09' · EU Data Act table 'Motion and Light Sensor P2 ML-S03E, ML-S03D Active 2025-11-19'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [35] Aqara's Product Security Support Policy (2024-08), read in full on 2026-09-29. Row, verbatim: 'Sensor Motion and Light Sensor P2 ML-S03D,ML-S03E 2024.04.09 2026.06.30'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [36] Google's own developer page "Supported device types | Matter", English edition, read 2026-09-30 at about 20:30 UTC. Above its table it says: "Note: Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." In the table, the row for this product's device type reads, verbatim: "Occupancy Sensor Occupancy Sensing 1.0 Sensor". The light row reads "Light Sensor Illuminance Measurement 1.0 Sensor". Footer: "Last updated 2024-12-20 UTC.", verified 2026-09-30Backs: Google Home compatibilitypage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [37] This record's own entries for Aqara's signed statements of compliance, each of which quotes the model list the document prints., verified 2026-08-19
- [38] The Matter ledger's compliance record for vendor ID 0x115F and product ID 0x2003, read in full on 2026-10-06. In our words: certificate CSA22084MAT40084-24, dated 2022-11-03, for software version 1.0.0.0; the tool lists two later software versions with no compliance record. The record names the product by these two IDs only. Its transport field, which the 2026-08-09 measurement in tools/dcl-lookup.mjs found empty, reads Thread with Bluetooth in this record; the tool's cert output still prints no transport., verified 2026-10-06
- [39] Aqara's US store page for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-10-07: "The Motion and Light Sensor P2 establishes direct connections with Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings, Home Assistant, Homey, and Aqara Home. This connectivity is facilitated through the Aqara Thread border router, which is Matter-compatible." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibility
- [40] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-07. Rows: "Occupancy Sensor Occupancy Sensing 1.0" and "Light Sensor Illuminance Measurement 1.0", each marked available in all three control columns: Google Assistant, Google Home app (GHA) and Smart Display. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07Backs: Google Home compatibilitypage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [41] This record's own entries: the us.aqara.com product-page entry (it records the hub requirement and the Hub M3 optional-feature note); the hubRequired prose says adding an Aqara Hub M3 unlocks extra settings., verified 2026-10-09
- [42] SmartThings' own matter-sensor Edge driver fingerprint file (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: id: "4447/8195" · deviceLabel: Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 · vendorId: 0x115F · productId: 0x2003 · deviceProfileName: motion-illuminance-battery — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13Backs: What your assistant can automatepage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [43] SmartThings' own motion-illuminance-battery device profile in the matter-sensor Edge driver (its source in the SmartThingsCommunity/SmartThingsEdgeDrivers repository). Verbatim: name: motion-illuminance-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: motionSensor · version: 1 (no optional flag) — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-13Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [44] The Connectivity Standards Alliance's certified-product page for the Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 (Lumi United Technology), read in full on 2026-10-19. Certificate CSA22084MAT40084-24, issued 3 November 2022 for firmware 1.0.0.0, hardware version 1000, Matter specification 1.0. In our words: the page gives vendor ID 0x115F and product ID 0x2003, lists Thread and Bluetooth as the transport interfaces, and gives the primary device type as occupancy sensor (0107). — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: Protocols, Certification and product IDspage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [45] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (published May 07, 2026), read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." · "Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a compatible third-party Thread border router." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: Apple Home compatibilitypage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [46] Amazon's developer page 'Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters', read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Alexa supports many device types from the following Matter device categories, Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices (door locks, window coverings), thermostats, fans, air purifiers, appliances (room air conditioners, dishwashers), and robotic vacuums." · "Motion detector Detect and report motion Occupancy Sensing Alexa.MotionSensor" · "Light sensor Detect and report light levels in an area Illuminance Measurement —". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibilitypage changed on 2026-10-24, after this reading
- [47] Google Home Developers, 'Supported device types' (Matter), read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem." · "Occupancy Sensor Occupancy Sensing 1.0" · "Light Sensor Illuminance Measurement 1.0" · "Last updated 2026-10-08 UTC." Both rows are marked available in the Google Assistant, Google Home app and Smart Display columns. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: Google Home compatibilitypage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [48] Samsung's Works with SmartThings partner directory, Aqara's page, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim, this product's row: "Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 Model Number ML-S03E Category Motion Sensors". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19Backs: SmartThings compatibilitypage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [49] SmartThings' own matter-sensor Edge driver fingerprint file, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: id: "4447/8195" · deviceLabel: Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 · vendorId: 0x115F · productId: 0x2003 · deviceProfileName: motion-illuminance-battery — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: What your assistant can automatepage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [50] SmartThings' own motion-illuminance-battery device profile in the matter-sensor Edge driver, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: name: motion-illuminance-battery · components: · - id: main · capabilities: · - id: motionSensor — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: What your assistant can automate
- [51] Aqara's own specification page for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Model ML-S03E / ML-S03D" · "Battery CR2450 × 2" · "Wireless Protocols Thread, Bluetooth 5.0". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: Product identity, Power source, Batteries
- [52] Aqara's Motion and Light Sensor P2 user manual, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Model: ML-S03E/ ML-S03D" · "FCC ID:2AKIT-MLS03". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDspage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [53] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), Statement of Compliance for UK, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Model name: ML-S03D,ML-S03E" · "we state that the defined support period for the product above is till 12/31/2026." · "Date: April 9, 2024". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19Backs: Security-update support periodpage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [54] Aqara's statement of compliance under Australia's smart-device security rules, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "We state that the defined support period for the product above is at least 1years from the launch day." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19
- [55] Aqara's EU Data Act disclosure for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-10-19. It states no security-update support period. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19
- [56] Aqara's Product Security Support Policy (2024-08), read in full on 2026-10-19. This product's row still lists ML-S03D and ML-S03E with launch 2024.04.09 and end 2026.06.30. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [57] Aqara's Global Security & Compliance Statements page, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "We will maintain the security updates for at least 2 years from the launch day of certain device models." · "Motion and Light Sensor P2 ML-S03D Active 2025-08-20" · "Motion and Light Sensor P2 ML-S03D, ML-S03E Active 2024-04-09" · "Motion and Light Sensor P2 ML-S03E, ML-S03D Active 2025-11-19". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [58] Apple Support, 'Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub', read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "You must set up a home hub to add Matter accessories to the Home app." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [59] Apple Support, 'Apple TV 4K (2nd generation) - Technical Specifications', read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19
- [60] The Matter ledger's compliance record for vendor ID 0x115F and product ID 0x2003, software version 1000, read in full on 2026-10-19. In our words: certificate CSA22084MAT40084-24, dated 3 November 2022., verified 2026-10-19
- [61] Aqara's global product page for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-10-19 (plain readHash 0bae09df9f16, rendered below). Its served text carries the site menus, the product's 'Overview Specs Product Support Buy Now' tabs and unrelated case studies; it carries no sentence about this sensor's platforms. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19
- [62] Apple's Home accessories page, read in full on 2026-10-19. It describes the Home app and the 'Works with Apple Home' logo and names no Aqara product. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [63] Home Assistant's Aqara brand page, its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "description: Connect and control your Aqara Matter devices using the Matter integration" · "ha_iot_class: Local Push" · "works_with: - matter" · "{% include integrations/device_list.html brand="aqara" %}". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19
- [64] Home Assistant's documentation include that draws a brand's certified-device list, read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "{%- for company in site.data.wwha_devices -%}". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19
- [65] The directory listing of Home Assistant's documentation data folder, read in full on 2026-10-19. It holds no wwha_devices file. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-19
- [66] Aqara's own specification page for the Motion and Light Sensor P2, read in full on 2026-11-07. Verbatim: "Model ML-S03E / ML-S03D" · "Battery CR2450 × 2" · "Wireless Protocols Thread, Bluetooth 5.0". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-11-07Backs: Batteries
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.