Product Library / Sensors & Detectors

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-08

Aqara Door and Window Sensor P2

Compiled by SmartHomeWorkflow Research · Aqara · Sensors & Detectors · ~$29.99 (price at time of research, read from Aqara's own US store on 2026-08-08, listed in stock that day)

Exactly which product this is[2][3][5]

Model number
DTC-US-SN-DWSP2
Generation
Not established
Region this page covers
Not established
Also sold or listed as
Not established

“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.

Compatibility

EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[14]Needs an Echo that is both a Matter controller and a Thread border router, such as the 4th-generation Echo.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[14]Needs a Google Thread border router (e.g., Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro).In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[14]Needs an Apple Home hub with Thread radio (HomePod mini, HomePod 2nd gen, or Apple TV 4K with Thread).In Apple Home you also need: an Apple home hub (a HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV) — Apple Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-06)
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[14]Needs a SmartThings hub that provides Thread border routing (e.g., Station, Hub v3/2018+, Aeotec).
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[15]Works through Home Assistant's official Matter support. You'll need Home Assistant's Matter add-on running plus a Thread border router on your network.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Protocols: THREAD · MATTER[1][2][3][4][5][9]

Needs before it works: You need a hub that is both a Matter controller and a Thread border router before this sensor does anything. Aqara says so outright. A HomePod mini, a Thread-capable Apple TV 4K (the Wi-Fi + Ethernet model), a Nest Hub (2nd gen), a newer Echo or Aqara's own Hub M3 all qualify. There is no Zigbee version and no way to use it without one of those.[2]

What it can do[8]

You can tell it to

Not established — we could not confirm this from vendor documentation

It reports

  • Contact state

Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.

What it doesApple HomeGoogle HomeAlexaSmartThingsHome Assistant
Contact state? not stated? not stated? not stated? not stated✓ routines can use it

Platform documentation: Alexa — Matter path (2026-09-04), Apple Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Google Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — Matter path (2026-09-04)

Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.

Subscription reality[19]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription, and no Aqara account fee: the sensor's alerts and its readings go to whichever hub you pair it with, and everything this record lists it doing is included in the purchase price.

Maintenance reality[2]

The catch

It does nothing until you own the right hub. This sensor speaks only Matter over Thread, so a home without a Thread border router that also acts as a Matter controller gets a sensor that cannot report anything. Second, Aqara's own listing says the Aqara Home app does not yet support this device (Aqara says an update is planned), so any features specific to Aqara's app are off the table for now.

Who it's for

A home that already owns a Thread border router (HomePod mini, a Wi-Fi + Ethernet Apple TV 4K, Nest Hub, a newer Echo, or Aqara's Hub M3) and wants a door sensor that works locally across ecosystems without buying an Aqara Zigbee hub.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

20 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] csa-iot.org/csa_product/door-and-window-sensor-p2/ (re-read 2026-08-09): certificate CSA22085MAT40085-24, certified 11/03/2022, VID 0x115F, PID 0x2002, Transport Interface 'Thread, Bluetooth'. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] us.aqara.com/products/aqara-door-and-window-sensor-p2 (official US product+spec page; specs quoted verbatim) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Protocols, Price, Maintenance, Required hub or bridge, Product identity, Works without the internet
  3. [3] csa-iot.org/csa_product/door-and-window-sensor-p2/ (CSA certified-products registry, via search snippet) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Protocols, Product identity
  4. [4] aqara.com/en/product/door-and-window-sensor-p2/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-16
    Backs: Protocols
  5. [5] https://us.aqara.com/products/door-and-window-sensor-p2 structured offer data read 2026-08-08: $29.99, SKU DTC-US-SN-DWSP2, available. Radios from https://csa-iot.org/csa_product/door-and-window-sensor-p2/ — certificate CSA22085MAT40085-24, certified 2022-11-03, Specification Version 1.0, Vendor ID 0x115F, Product ID 0x2002, and **Transport Interface: 'Thread, Bluetooth'**. ⚠ The Bluetooth in that field is COMMISSIONING transport for a Matter-over-Thread device, not a control path, so it is deliberately not added to this record's protocols — the same call made for the Tapo L535E on 2026-08-08. The catalogue is split on this (8 of 28 Matter-over-Thread records list bluetooth, 20 do not) and has no documented rule; the raw certificate field is recorded here so the evidence survives whichever way the rule lands. Warranty: https://us.aqara.com/pages/limited-warranty — Aqara's published warranty table gives 'Smart Home Sensor 12 Months'. ⚠ Recorded with its limitation rather than as a flat 12-month promise: the same page states the warranty covers 'purchases on us.aqara.com' and excludes 'Items purchased from sources other than us.aqara.com', so a unit bought from a retailer is not covered by this term. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Service status, Protocols, Research status
  6. [6] us.aqara.com, Door and Window Sensor P2 product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source
  7. [7] Aqara (Lumi United Technology Co., Ltd), Statement of Compliance for UK — Door and Window Sensor P2, read 2026-08-19. Model name on the document: DW-S02D, DW-S02E. Verbatim: 'we state that the defined support period for the product above is till 12/31/2026'. Located via Aqara's own compliance library at https://www.aqara.com/en/security-certifications/, which lists this product with these model numbers. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Security-update support period
  8. [8] aqara.com product page for the Door and Window Sensor P2, read 2026-08-20. The page states the automation use directly rather than describing a sensor: "IF Door and Window Sensor is opened THEN Turn off the thermostat", and a second worked example, "IF Door and Window Sensor P2 is opened … THEN Deactivate the automation". Ecosystems are given as Apple Home, Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings, Aqara Home and Home Assistant, all over Matter/Thread, with the caveat: "The functionality such as automation conditions may vary throughout the different ecosystems." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  9. [9] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled meaning of the protocols a device itself speaks: certificate CSA22085MAT40085 · Matter over Thread. No new outside source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  10. [10] No source was read for this entry. It records an edit so the edit is not silent, per the freshness guard's own instruction. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-20
  11. [11] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance — filling in which region the security-support statement applies to, verified 2026-08-27
  12. [12] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  13. [13] CSA certified-product entry csa-iot.org/csa_product/door-and-window-sensor-p2/, certificate CSA22085MAT40085-24 (certified 11/03/2022), which prints VID 0x115F and PID 0x2002. Read into this record on 2026-08-09 by the entry that established which protocols the sensor speaks; this entry lifts the two identifiers out of that entry's prose and gives them fields of their own. — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  14. [14] Aqara US store, Door and Window Sensor P2 product page — verbatim, and model-scoped by name: “As one of the first sensors to support Matter natively, the Door and Window Sensor P2 connects directly to Apple Home, Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings, and Aqara Home in the near future through the Matter-compatible Aqara Thread border router.” The feature copy states the path the same way — “Native Matter Support — Allowing the direct connection to platforms including Apple Home, Google Home, Amazon Alexa and more” — and the requirement twice: “[Matter Compatibility] A Matter Controller & Thread Border Router 2-in-1 is required to enjoy seamless integration with a Matter-enabled smart home ecosystem” and “To use the Door and Window Sensor P2 with a particular ecosystem, a Matter-compatible Thread Border Router is required”. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  15. [15] Home Assistant's own Matter integration documentation — verbatim: “For communicating with Matter devices, the Home Assistant integration runs its own ‘Matter controller’ as an app (formerly known as add-on).” The same page states the Thread half: “The Thread border router forwards traffic from the devices in the Thread network to devices outside that network”, and names third-party border routers as the route for Thread accessories. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  16. [16] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  17. [17] Apple Support, ‘Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub’, read together with ‘Identify your Apple TV model’ at support.apple.com/en-us/101605. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-06
  18. [18] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-16 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-16
  19. [19] Aqara's US store listing for the Door and Window Sensor P2, showing $29.99 and a buy flow with no plan, tier or recurring fee attached to the sensor — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Subscription
  20. [20] Aqara's own US store listing for the Door and Window Sensor P2, read 2026-09-18. The listing is titled "Door and Window Sensor P2", is sold by Aqara LLC, and publishes its own part codes and retail barcodes: one version — part code DTC-US-SN-DWSP2, barcode 0192784000847. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Certification and product IDs

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check it against YOUR setup →