Product Library / Hubs & Controllers

Discontinued

Apple HomePod mini

Left as unanswered rather than promoted to full, and the re-read on 2026-09-10 made the reason sharper than 'Apple publishes nothing'. Apple's own out-of-warranty service page states a minimum of five years of service and parts from when a product was last sold — and the families it names are iPhone, iPad, iPod, Mac, Apple TV, Apple Watch, AirPods, Apple Vision Pro and Beats. HomePod is not among them. So this is an ENUMERATED absence rather than a silence: Apple lists the product families that commitment covers and this one is not on the list. Apple plainly services HomePod mini in practice and sells AppleCare for it; this axis records what a manufacturer publishes, and there is no published period for this family to cite. It's an Apple device — it hubs Apple Home and nothing else.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[5]
[6]
[6]
[6]
[27][32][33][34][36][39]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · THREAD · MATTER[2][5][14][18]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No. Apple publishes an enumerated System Requirements list for this model and there is no hub in it: “HomePod mini with the latest version of software”, “iPhone SE, iPhone 6s or later, or iPod touch (7th generation) with the latest iOS; or iPad Pro, iPad (5th generation or later), iPad Air 2 or later, or iPad mini 4 or later with the latest iPadOS”, and “802.11 Wi-Fi internet access”. A phone is the setup instrument rather than a hub in this catalogue’s sense — none of the six provider types appears anywhere in the list. The relationship runs the other way on this record: the HomePod mini IS an Apple Home hub and a Thread border router, which is what its provides block records.[12]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Media playback

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [13] [31]

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [13] [31]

Documented device function

Humidity reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [13] [31]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[13][31]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
3 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[5]Google HomeDoesn't work[6]AlexaDoesn't work[6]SmartThingsDoesn't work[6]Home AssistantInconclusive[27][32][33][34][36][39]
Media playbackDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Inconclusive

Temperature readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Humidity readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Sound recognisedReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Apple Home hub + Thread border router[5]

Google Home

Set up and controlled only through Apple devices per Apple's spec page; it acts as a Matter controller/Thread border router for Apple Home, not a Matter accessory, so Google Home cannot add or control it.[6]

Alexa

Apple-ecosystem by design: setup requires an iPhone or iPad, AirPlay receives audio from Apple devices only, and its Thread radio serves 'HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories only' per Apple's specs — it is a controller for Apple Home, not an accessory Alexa could pair.[6]

SmartThings

Apple documents no non-Apple platform support; it is not a Matter accessory SmartThings could onboard and does not appear in Works with SmartThings partner materials.[6]

Home Assistant

Not established. Apple names no Home Assistant route for the HomePod mini, and Home Assistant has no HomePod integration: its Apple TV integration controls Apple TVs, and mentions HomePods only as speakers an Apple TV's volume can play through. Community projects exist, but neither Apple nor Home Assistant stands behind them. As a home hub it is Apple-only, so Home Assistant cannot use it as a controller.[27][32][33][34][36][39]

Device documentation: [13] [31]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[6]Apple-ecosystem by design: setup requires an iPhone or iPad, AirPlay receives audio from Apple devices only, and its Thread radio serves 'HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories only' per Apple's specs — it is a controller for Apple Home, not an accessory Alexa could pair.
Google HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[6]Set up and controlled only through Apple devices per Apple's spec page; it acts as a Matter controller/Thread border router for Apple Home, not a Matter accessory, so Google Home cannot add or control it.
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5]Apple Home hub + Thread border router
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[6]Apple documents no non-Apple platform support; it is not a Matter accessory SmartThings could onboard and does not appear in Works with SmartThings partner materials.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[27][32][33][34][36][39]Not established. Apple names no Home Assistant route for the HomePod mini, and Home Assistant has no HomePod integration: its Apple TV integration controls Apple TVs, and mentions HomePods only as speakers an Apple TV's volume can play through. Community projects exist, but neither Apple nor Home Assistant stands behind them. As a home hub it is Apple-only, so Home Assistant cannot use it as a controller.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[26]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Inconclusive — we read the vendor's own setup material and it does not say either way. Treat it as unanswered rather than as a no.

Nothing to pay to use it as a speaker or as an Apple Home hub. Siri, the Home app, intercom and its role as a Thread hub all work with no plan. The paid parts are optional and are all about music: Apple says plainly that a subscription is required for Apple Music, that a streaming service may need one of its own, and that reaching your own uploaded library needs Apple Music or iTunes Match. Radio from TuneIn, iHeartRadio and Audacy, Apple Podcasts, news briefings and anything you send from an iPhone all play without one.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Who it's for

The cheapest real HomeKit hub: required infrastructure for a serious Apple Home.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

43 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] support.apple.com/en-us/102772 (read 2026-08-09): 'Owners of iPhone, iPad, iPod, Mac, Apple TV, Apple Watch, AirPods, Apple Vision Pro, and Beats products may obtain service and parts from Apple service providers for a minimum of 5 years from when Apple last distributed the product for sale. Service and parts may be obtained for longer, as required by law or for up to 7 years, subject to parts availability.' · 'Find out which products are vintage: Mac iPod iPhone iPad Beats Apple Watch (Apple Store only) AirPods.' · 'Products are considered vintage when Apple stopped distributing them for sale more than 5 and less than 7 years ago.' · Zero occurrences of 'HomePod' on the page. · apple.com/shop/buy-homepod/homepod-mini references the 'Apple Limited Warranty' and sells AppleCare, but states no warranty term for this product. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Service status
  2. [2] apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/ (read 2026-08-09), Wireless section: '802.11n Wi-Fi · Peer-to-peer discovery for easy guest access · Bluetooth 5.0 · Thread networking technology · Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity'. Same page on Thread's role: 'Compatible with HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories only. Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols, Works without the internet
  3. [3] apple.com/shop/buy-homepod/homepod-mini (read 2026-08-09), the structured pricing the page publishes for search engines: price 129.00 USD on SKUs MTJT3LL/A, MJ2E3LL/A, MY5H2LL/A, MJ2D3LL/A and MJ2C3LL/A; the visible page prints 'Blue $129.00 Yellow $129.00 Midnight $129.00 White $129.00 Orange $129.00'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-01
    Backs: Price
  4. [4] 2026-07 web research sweep (docs/02 catalog; primary sources cited there) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-12
  5. [5] apple.com/shop/buy-homepod/homepod-mini ($129, raised from $99 Jun 2026) + support.apple.com/102557 & 102078 — Apple Home/Matter hub + Thread border router; WiFi/Thread/BT — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, Research status, Protocols
  6. [6] apple.com, HomePod mini Technical Specifications, re-read 2026-09-17. The control story is stated in Apple terms throughout: 'Use HomePod to easily control your HomeKit accessories with just your voice'; 'Compatible with HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories only'; 'Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router'; System Requirements 'HomePod mini with the latest version of software' plus an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad. Checked term by term on the re-read: the strings 'Alexa', 'Google' and 'SmartThings' are ALL absent from the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  7. [7] home-assistant.io/integrations/apple_tv (scope: Apple TVs; 'All volume controls should work if the Apple TV is connected to a HomePod or HomePod stereo pair' is the only HomePod mention), checked 2026-07-21, verified 2026-07-21
  8. [8] apple.com/shop/buy-homepod/homepod-mini (read 2026-08-09): live buy page, five colours (Blue, Yellow, Midnight, White, Orange) each at $129.00 in the page's structured offer data, with per-colour SKUs. Apple's own comparison on the same page lists HomePod mini alongside HomePod (2nd generation) as current products; there is no successor model on Apple's store., verified 2026-09-01
    Backs: Market availability
  9. [9] apple.com, HomePod mini Technical Specifications — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-01
    Backs: Power source
  10. [10] apple.com, HomePod mini Technical Specifications — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-01
    Backs: Role in a Thread network
  11. [11] Apple's HomePod mini specifications page, re-read 2026-08-18 — radios, audio, sensors and the Thread border-router sentence; no statement about playback, Siri or accessory control without an internet connection. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  12. [12] Apple, HomePod mini Tech Specs, System Requirements section, read 2026-08-19. Verbatim and in full: “HomePod mini with the latest version of software” · “iPhone SE, iPhone 6s or later, or iPod touch (7th generation) with the latest iOS; or iPad Pro, iPad (5th generation or later), iPad Air 2 or later, or iPad mini 4 or later with the latest iPadOS” · “802.11 Wi-Fi internet access”. The list is enumerated and closed, which is what makes the ABSENCE of a hub evidence rather than silence. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  13. [13] Apple's own HomePod mini technical specifications, read 2026-08-20, listing "Temperature and humidity" under Sensors and "Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds" among Home-app capabilities. Apple footnotes the sensing conditions: it "is optimized for indoor, domestic settings, when ambient temperatures are around 15° C to 30° C and relative humidity is around 30% to 70%." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  14. [14] What this record already establishes the device provides, including its role as a Matter controller. Re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled meaning of the protocols a device itself speaks; no new outside source was read., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  15. [15] No source was read for this entry. It records an edit so the edit is not silent, per the freshness guard's own instruction. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-20
  16. [16] This record's own per-ecosystem catches and the evidence entries behind them, re-read 2026-08-22. No vendor page was opened — deliberately, so no date on this record implies a look nobody took., verified 2026-08-22
  17. [17] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  18. [18] apple.com/homepod-mini/specs (first-party tech specifications), read 2026-09-01. Wireless section, verbatim: '802.11n Wi-Fi' · 'Bluetooth 5.0' · 'Thread networking technology'. Matter is carried by the Thread footnote's 'HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories' framing and the record's existing Matter citations, not newly claimed here. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-01
    Backs: Protocols
  19. [19] apple.com/homepod-mini/specs (first-party tech specifications), read 2026-09-01. Wireless section, verbatim: '802.11n Wi-Fi' · 'Bluetooth 5.0' · 'Thread networking technology'. No frequency band is stated anywhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-01
  20. [20] apple.com/homepod-mini/specs and apple.com/shop/buy-homepod/homepod-mini, both re-read 2026-09-01: '802.11n Wi-Fi', 'Bluetooth 5.0', 'Thread networking technology'; 'Line voltage: 100V to 240V AC for 20W power adapter'; the Thread footnote naming HomePod mini as a Thread-enabled home hub; and $129.00 exact on a live buy page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-01
    Backs: Research status
  21. [21] Apple, HomePod mini Technical Specifications — verbatim: "Thread based accessories require a Thread enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third party Thread border router." Apple's home-hub support article (https://support.apple.com/en-us/102557) adds, verbatim: "Thread-enabled Matter accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, or a supported third-party border router" and "You must set up a home hub to add Matter accessories to the Home app." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  22. [22] https://www.apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/ (read 2026-09-09): 'Electrical and Environmental Requirements — Line voltage: 100V to 240V AC for 20W power adapter', so the power source is recorded as plug-in. 'System Requirements: HomePod mini with the latest version of software; iPhone SE, iPhone 6s or later, or iPod touch (7th generation) with the latest iOS; or iPad Pro, iPad (5th generation or later), iPad Air 2 or later, or iPad mini 4 or later with the latest iPadOS'. Apple enumerates the platforms that can set up and control this speaker and Android is absent from that enumeration — which is our own bar for recording a platform as unsupported, rather than silence. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Power source, App platforms
  23. [23] https://www.apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/ (read 2026-09-09) reads 'Wireless: 802.11n Wi-Fi, Peer-to-peer discovery…, Bluetooth 5.0, Thread networking technology'. 802.11n is defined on BOTH 2.4 and 5 GHz, so naming the standard does not name the band, and no other Apple page cited here carries one. The Wi-Fi band stays unknown. ⊕ Method note: this page was nearly missed. We file apple.com as the Apple ECOSYSTEM's home rather than as a manufacturer's own site — so a sweep that picks out manufacturers' pages skips Apple's own product pages for Apple's own products. Recorded so the next sitting picks pages by how trustworthy they are rather than by that label. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  24. [24] Re-read 2026-09-10, all three sources this record already cites. PRICE and MARKET, https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-homepod/homepod-mini: still a live buy page, still '$129.00' repeated across the five colour options — the recorded 129 and the five-SKU note both hold, and the record's 'still sold' state holds with them. MAINTENANCE and IDENTITY, https://www.apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/: the radio list is unchanged — '802.11n Wi-Fi', 'Bluetooth 5.0', 'Thread networking technology', 'Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity' — as is the enumerated System Requirements list beginning 'HomePod mini with the latest version of software' and '802.11 Wi-Fi internet access'. SERVICE, https://support.apple.com/en-us/102772: 'Owners of iPhone, iPad, iPod, Mac, Apple TV, Apple Watch, AirPods, Apple Vision Pro, and Beats products may obtain service and parts from Apple service providers for a minimum of 5 years from when Apple last distributed the product for sale.' HomePod is absent from that list, which is why this axis stays unanswered., verified 2026-09-10
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Service status, Product identity
  25. [25] https://www.apple.com/homepod-mini/specs/ (read 2026-09-10) states the radio as '802.11n Wi-Fi' and names no frequency band anywhere. 802.11n is defined on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, so the standard does not settle the question and reading a band out of it would be inference rather than evidence. The Wi-Fi band stays unknown: we looked, and Apple does not publish it. This is the same call the record already makes on Bluetooth and Ultra Wideband: what Apple publishes is recorded, what it does not is not guessed at., verified 2026-09-10
  26. [26] Apple's HomePod mini technical specifications page, re-read 2026-09-12. The footnotes state it directly: 'A subscription is required for Apple Music. A subscription may be required for music streaming services.' The Audio Sources list names what needs one and what does not — 'iCloud Music Library with an Apple Music or iTunes Match subscription' against 'Radio stations from TuneIn, iHeartRadio, and Audacy', 'Apple Podcasts', 'News briefings' and 'AirPlay to share other content to HomePod mini from iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple TV, or Mac'. Nothing on the page conditions Siri, the Home app, intercom or the Thread home-hub role on a plan, and the Thread footnote describes the device as one of the hubs rather than as something that needs a service to be one. So subscription stays 'none' with core function 'full': the paid surface is entirely music, and music is not what this record calls the core function of a home hub. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Subscription
  27. [27] Home Assistant's own documentation, read 2026-09-12, and it still says what this record's catch says it says. (1) There is no HomePod integration: www.home-assistant.io/integrations/homepod/ has no page at all, and that absence is the evidence rather than a broken link — the page has never existed. (2) The Apple TV integration is the nearest thing and it is explicit about its subject: 'The Apple TV integration ... allows you to control an Apple TV (any generation)', creating a media player, remote, keyboard, binary sensor and text-input entities for an Apple TV. HomePod appears on that page in exactly one role, as a thing an Apple TV's volume is routed through: 'All volume controls should work if the Apple TV is connected to a HomePod or HomePod stereo pair.' A standalone HomePod mini is not a device the integration adds. The answer therefore stays 'partial' on a community-integration path: reachable only sideways, and never as a controller Home Assistant can drive the home through, because the home-hub role is Apple-internal. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  28. [28] Attempted 2026-09-12 while Apple's specification page was open. The page's System Requirements name hardware and software — 'HomePod mini with the latest version of software', an 'iPhone SE, iPhone 6s or later' or a listed iPad, and '802.11 Wi-Fi internet access' — and never an account. An Apple Account is plainly involved in practice, but this field asks what the VENDOR publishes as required, and Apple publishes a device requirement here, not an account one. Writing 'required' from what we happen to know is exactly the error our rule for account claims exists to stop, so the field stays unknown. The Wi-Fi band stays unknown for the reason already recorded on 2026-09-01 and re-confirmed today: Apple states '802.11n Wi-Fi' and no band, which is a documented silence rather than a gap in our effort., verified 2026-09-12
  29. [29] Re-verification sweep, 2026-09-12. Our freshness list flagged two axes on this record, subscription and the Home Assistant answer, and both were the last terms still resting on a July 2026 sweep that named no document. Both were re-read against primary sources that day and both HELD: Apple's specification page conditions only music on a plan, and Home Assistant still has no HomePod integration while its Apple TV integration still names HomePod only as a volume target. The legacy sweep entry is now empty of claims and retired. The empty subscription note was filled at the same time — the record was publishing 'no subscription' with nothing behind it for a reader to check. Whether an account is required was attempted and left unknown with its reason recorded; the Wi-Fi band stays unknown on Apple's documented silence, re-confirmed rather than re-assumed. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Research status
  30. [30] Two Apple pages read 2026-09-12. (1) The HomePod mini buy page still sells it, still at $129.00, and still in all five finishes — Blue, Yellow, Midnight, White and Orange, each priced $129.00 — so lifecycle.market stays 'current' and the price is confirmed exact rather than approximately unchanged. (2) Apple's 'Obtaining service for your Apple product after an expired warranty' page still carries the enumeration this record's service note is built on, verbatim: 'Owners of iPhone, iPad, iPod, Mac, Apple TV, Apple Watch, AirPods, Apple Vision Pro, and Beats products may obtain service and parts from Apple service providers for a minimum of 5 years from when Apple last distributed the product for sale.' HomePod is still not on that list. That is why this axis stays 'unknown' rather than moving to 'full' — it is an ENUMERATED absence, re-checked at the page that does the enumerating, not an inference from silence. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Service status
  31. [31] Apple's own HomePod mini technical specifications, read in full 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Multiroom audio with AirPlay" · "AirPlay to share other content to HomePod mini from iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple TV, or Mac" · "Touch Controls Tap Play/Pause Double-tap Skip Triple-tap Skip back Touch and hold Siri Tap or hold + or – Volume up/down" · "Four-microphone design for far-field Siri". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Capabilities
  32. [32] Home Assistant's Apple TV integration page (documentation 2026.9.4), read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "allows you to control an Apple TV (any generation). There is currently support for the following entities within the Apple TV device: Media Player Remote Keyboard binary_sensor and text input actions" · "All volume controls should work if the Apple TV is connected to a HomePod or HomePod stereo pair." · "Categories Media player Multimedia Remote". The page adds no HomePod as a device of its own. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  33. [33] Home Assistant's documentation has no page at the address it would use for a built-in HomePod integration, checked on 2026-10-04 ("Oh no! This page does not exist"), so we could not find an official Home Assistant listing for the HomePod., verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  34. [34] Apple's own HomePod mini technical specifications, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Compatible with HomeKit‑ or Matter‑enabled Thread accessories only." The page names no Home Assistant and no platform outside Apple's own. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  35. [35] Apple's page on service after an expired warranty, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Apple TV, Apple Watch, AirPods, Apple Vision Pro, and Beats products may obtain service and parts from Apple service providers for a minimum of 5 years". HomePod is not named anywhere on the page, so the service answer stays unanswered. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Service status
  36. [36] Read in full on 2026-10-08. Its text fingerprint is the same as an earlier read recorded on this record, so the facts entry bq640-u6b1-homepod-specs-ha-2026-10-04 records stand. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Research status
  37. [37] Apple's HomePod mini buy page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Blue $129.00 Yellow $129.00 Midnight $129.00 White $129.00 Orange $129.00". Still sold, at the same price in all five finishes, with no struck-through figure. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Price, Market availability
  38. [38] Read in full on 2026-10-08. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
  39. [39] Read in full on 2026-10-08. The sentences entry bq640-u6b1-homepod-ha-apple-tv-2026-10-04 quotes are all still on the page, so the facts it records stand. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  40. [40] Read on 2026-10-08: Home Assistant still has no page at the address it would use for a built-in HomePod integration, so we still could not find an official Home Assistant listing for the HomePod. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
  41. [41] Apple's support article on setting up a home hub, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Set up a home hub to control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories to do what you want, when you want." · "When you set up HomePod mini and HomePod ,* they automatically become home hubs." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  42. [42] Apple's HomePod mini buy address, read in full on 2026-10-19 (14,314 characters). "Buy HomePod mini 2 - Apple" · "New Pre-order HomePod mini 2 Available starting 10.30" · "White $149.00 Pink $149.00 Blue $149.00 Green $149.00 Midnight $149.00" · "Buy HomePod mini 2 New HomePod mini 2 $149". Apple's HomePod buy page, read the same day: "Buy HomePod Midnight $349.00 White $349.00" · "Buy HomePod mini 2 New HomePod mini 2 $149" · "HomePod $349". Neither page has a selector, listing or price for the original HomePod mini. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-19
    Backs: Market availability, Price
  43. [43] Apple's HomePod buy page, read in full on 2026-10-19 (14,265 characters). "Buy HomePod (2nd generation) - Apple" · "Buy HomePod Midnight $349.00 White $349.00" · "Which HomePod is right for you? Buy HomePod mini 2 New HomePod mini 2 $149" · "HomePod $349". No original HomePod mini appears in the comparison or anywhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-19

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Apple HomePod mini with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker