Product Library / Hubs & Controllers

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-01

Apple HomePod (2nd generation)

⚠ Similar names, different products: 'HomePod' alone is ambiguous three ways: the discontinued 2018 original, this 2nd-generation model, and the $129 HomePod mini that sits beside it on Apple's own buy page at less than half the price. The mini is a different speaker with its own record on this site — check the generation label before buying used or comparing prices.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][12]
[1][13]
[3][13]
[1][2][13]
[5]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · THREAD · MATTER[1][7][12]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [6] [12]

Documented device function

Humidity reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [6] [12]

Documented device function

Sound recognised

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [6] [12]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[6][12]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
Not established from vendor documentation
Reported events
3 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][12]Google HomeDoesn't work[1][13]AlexaDoesn't work[3][13]SmartThingsDoesn't work[1][2][13]Home AssistantInconclusive[5]
Temperature readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Humidity readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Sound recognisedReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

This IS the Apple Home hub — Thread-enabled home hub per the specs footnote, Matter-capable smart home hub per the buy page, and 'Use HomePod to easily control your HomeKit accessories with just your voice.' Setup and control run through Apple devices; the buy page's hub footnote notes accessories are sold separately.[1][12]

Google Home

Same shape as the Alexa cell: Apple documents the full control surface (Siri, Apple Home, AirPlay) and Google appears nowhere in it. This is a hub for Apple Home, not a device other systems add, so Google Home has no way to control it.[1][13]

Alexa

Apple ecosystem device — Siri is the voice layer and Apple Home is the smart-home surface; Apple's pages describe the control story in full and Alexa appears nowhere in it. This is a hub for Apple Home, not a device other systems add, so Alexa has no way to control it.[3][13]

SmartThings

This is a hub for Apple Home, not a device other systems add, so SmartThings has no way to control it. Apple's own pages describe only the Apple Home relationship and make no SmartThings statement in either direction.[1][2][13]

Home Assistant

Checked, and honestly ambiguous: Home Assistant documents no HomePod control integration — its apple_tv integration (Local Push) mentions HomePod only as an Apple TV audio output ('All volume controls should work if the Apple TV is connected to a HomePod or HomePod stereo pair.'). Nothing affirmative was found in either direction for controlling the speaker itself from HA.[5]

Device documentation: [6] [12]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[3][13]Apple ecosystem device — Siri is the voice layer and Apple Home is the smart-home surface; Apple's pages describe the control story in full and Alexa appears nowhere in it. This is a hub for Apple Home, not a device other systems add, so Alexa has no way to control it.
Google HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[1][13]Same shape as the Alexa cell: Apple documents the full control surface (Siri, Apple Home, AirPlay) and Google appears nowhere in it. This is a hub for Apple Home, not a device other systems add, so Google Home has no way to control it.
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][12]This IS the Apple Home hub — Thread-enabled home hub per the specs footnote, Matter-capable smart home hub per the buy page, and 'Use HomePod to easily control your HomeKit accessories with just your voice.' Setup and control run through Apple devices; the buy page's hub footnote notes accessories are sold separately.
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[1][2][13]This is a hub for Apple Home, not a device other systems add, so SmartThings has no way to control it. Apple's own pages describe only the Apple Home relationship and make no SmartThings statement in either direction.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[5]Checked, and honestly ambiguous: Home Assistant documents no HomePod control integration — its apple_tv integration (Local Push) mentions HomePod only as an Apple TV audio output ('All volume controls should work if the Apple TV is connected to a HomePod or HomePod stereo pair.'). Nothing affirmative was found in either direction for controlling the speaker itself from HA.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][11]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No plan, tier, or recurring charge is named on the specs or buy pages for the speaker's own functions or its hub role. Apple Music is the obvious adjacent subscription and is its own product, not a HomePod plan.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

It is the most locked-to-one-ecosystem speaker on this shelf: setup needs an Apple device, the voice layer is Siri, and there is no Alexa, no Google, and no documented Home Assistant control path. Its WiFi row says only '802.11n Wi-Fi' — Apple does not state which bands are implemented, so this record honestly can't tell you whether it reaches 5 GHz. And the name is a trap: a used 'HomePod' may be the discontinued 2018 original, and the $129 device beside it on Apple's page is the mini, a different speaker.

Who it's for

An Apple household, full stop — where it doubles as the home hub that Thread and Matter accessories need. If anyone in the house lives on Android, or you want Alexa or Google voice, buy elsewhere on this shelf.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

14 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] apple.com, HomePod (2nd generation) Technical Specifications — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Role in a Thread network, Power source, Apple Home compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Installation, Market availability, Research status, Subscription, App platforms, Batteries, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  2. [2] Apple's HomePod (2nd generation) specifications page, re-read in full 2026-09-23 (8,338 characters). It describes the control surface as Siri, the Home app and HomeKit, and AirPlay ('Use HomePod to easily control your HomeKit accessories with just your voice'; 'Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation)'). SmartThings appears zero times. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  3. [3] apple.com, HomePod (2nd generation) Technical Specifications, re-read 2026-09-17. The control story is stated in Apple terms throughout and nowhere else: 'Use HomePod to easily control your HomeKit accessories with just your voice'; 'Compatible with HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories only'; 'Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router'; System Requirements 'HomePod with the latest version of software' plus an iPhone or iPad. Alexa is named nowhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  4. [4] apple.com, HomePod buy page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Price
  5. [5] home-assistant.io, apple_tv integration — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] Apple's own HomePod (2nd generation) technical specifications, read 2026-08-20. The Sensors section lists "Temperature and humidity" and "Accelerometer". Home-app capabilities listed include "Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds" and "Intercom transcriptions". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  7. [7] What this record already establishes the device provides, including its role as a Matter controller. Re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled meaning of the protocols a device itself speaks; no new outside source was read., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  8. [8] Apple, HomePod (2nd generation) Technical Specifications — verbatim: "Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router." Apple's own support article "Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub" (https://support.apple.com/en-us/102557) states the controller half verbatim: "You must set up a home hub to add Matter accessories to the Home app" and "When you set up HomePod mini and HomePod, they automatically become home hubs." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  9. [9] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-11 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-11
  10. [10] Apple, HomePod (2nd generation) technical specifications — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Research status
  11. [11] Apple's own buy page for HomePod (2nd generation), read in full 2026-10-01. "Midnight $349.00 White $349.00", beside "HomePod mini $129". The comparison lists "Smart home hub" for both speakers. The only subscription named is the music offer: "Get 3 months of Apple Music free with your HomePod." and "$11.99/month after trial." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Subscription
  12. [12] Apple's own technical specifications page for HomePod (2nd generation), read in full 2026-10-01. Wireless: "802.11n Wi-Fi", "Bluetooth 5.0", "Thread networking technology", "Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity". System Requirements: "iPhone SE (2nd generation or later) or iPhone 8 or later with the latest version of iOS". "Line voltage: 100V to 240V AC" · "In the Box HomePod Power cable Documentation" · "Sensors Temperature and humidity" · "Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds" · "Use HomePod to easily control your HomeKit accessories with just your voice." · "Thread-based accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as Apple TV 4K, HomePod (2nd generation), HomePod mini, or a third-party Thread border router." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: App platforms, Batteries, Product identity, Protocols, Role in a Thread network, Power source, Apple Home compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Research status, Capabilities, What it provides to your home
  13. [13] Apple's own technical specifications page for HomePod (2nd generation), read in full 2026-10-01 (8,338 characters of extracted text). The control surfaces it describes are Siri, the Home app and HomeKit, and AirPlay. Alexa, Google and SmartThings occur zero times. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility
  14. [14] Apple's support article on setting up a home hub, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Set up a home hub to control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories to do what you want, when you want." · "When you set up HomePod mini and HomePod ,* they automatically become home hubs." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: What it provides to your home

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Apple HomePod (2nd generation) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker