The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Product Library / Hubs & Controllers
Research profile · last verified 2026-08-18Amazon Echo Show 8 (2025 release)
⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ 'Echo Show 8' has named several different devices across generations, and this is the 2025 release announced alongside Alexa+ — check the generation before matching a listing to it. Against its own launch sibling the difference is smaller than the price gap suggests: Amazon's announcement distinguishes the Echo Show 8 ($179.99) from the Echo Show 11 ($219.99) by price and screen size only, and describes both as sharing the same display technology, the same 13-megapixel camera and the same speaker architecture. The $40 buys inches, not capability.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your platform?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: WIFI · ZIGBEE · THREAD · MATTER[1][4][18]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add. Its Matter badge means it can control Matter devices for Alexa; it doesn't make the Echo Show something Apple Home can add.[1][19]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add, so Google Home has no way to use it. A Matter device paired to it can still be shared with Google Home on its own.[1][19]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
Connection summary
Amazon Echo Show 8 (2025 release)
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (2025 release)Amazon Echo Show 8 (2025 release)
- Native connectionAmazon AlexaPlatform control
What you gainUse the recorded platform connection.
Keep in mindIntermediate equipment and transport are not mapped in this summary. Read the setup notes before choosing hardware. Check the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-02
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
This is an Alexa device, and it is the smart-home hub itself rather than something that plugs into one. The limit is the paid Alexa+ tier, which is what unlocks the more conversational and proactive features. What that tier costs is left blank here on purpose — the Amazon page carrying the price would not open for us, and we do not repeat a price we have not read ourselves.[1][18]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established. Amazon says nothing either way. The Zigbee, Thread and Matter radios in this device serve Alexa's own hub, and nothing we read points to a way of pairing it with SmartThings — but Amazon never actually rules one out either, so we leave the question open rather than call it a no on silence alone.[1][20]
There is not enough model-specific evidence to draw a supported connection. Read the evidence and limits below.
Not established, and deliberately NOT inherited from the sibling record. Amazon publishes nothing about Home Assistant for this device. ⊕ Worth knowing which direction the practical relationship runs, since it is the opposite of what people expect: Home Assistant cannot control an Echo Show as a device or borrow it as a Matter controller — a Matter controller commissions accessories INTO Alexa rather than exposing Alexa's fabric outward. The workable arrangement is Home Assistant exposing its own entities to Alexa so the display can voice-control them, which is a statement about Home Assistant rather than a documented capability of this product.[2]
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Apple Home · Doesn't work
Media playback
This device supports media playback.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add. Its Matter badge means it can control Matter devices for Alexa; it doesn't make the Echo Show something Apple Home can add.
Connection documentation: [1] [19]
Device documentation: [3] [5] [18]
aboutamazon.com · checked 2026-10-02
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-20
Google Home · Doesn't work
Media playback
This device supports media playback.
- Control
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add, so Google Home has no way to use it. A Matter device paired to it can still be shared with Google Home on its own.
Connection documentation: [1] [19]
Device documentation: [3] [5] [18]
aboutamazon.com · checked 2026-10-02
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-20
Alexa · Works
Media playback
This device supports media playback.
- Control
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
This is an Alexa device, and it is the smart-home hub itself rather than something that plugs into one. The limit is the paid Alexa+ tier, which is what unlocks the more conversational and proactive features. What that tier costs is left blank here on purpose — the Amazon page carrying the price would not open for us, and we do not repeat a price we have not read ourselves.
Connection documentation: [1] [18]
Device documentation: [3] [5] [18]
aboutamazon.com · checked 2026-10-02
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-20
SmartThings · Inconclusive
Media playback
This device supports media playback.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not established. Amazon says nothing either way. The Zigbee, Thread and Matter radios in this device serve Alexa's own hub, and nothing we read points to a way of pairing it with SmartThings — but Amazon never actually rules one out either, so we leave the question open rather than call it a no on silence alone.
Connection documentation: [1] [20]
Device documentation: [3] [5] [18]
aboutamazon.com · checked 2026-10-02
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-20
Home Assistant · Inconclusive
Media playback
This device supports media playback.
- Control
- Inconclusive
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Not established, and deliberately NOT inherited from the sibling record. Amazon publishes nothing about Home Assistant for this device. ⊕ Worth knowing which direction the practical relationship runs, since it is the opposite of what people expect: Home Assistant cannot control an Echo Show as a device or borrow it as a Matter controller — a Matter controller commissions accessories INTO Alexa rather than exposing Alexa's fabric outward. The workable arrangement is Home Assistant exposing its own entities to Alexa so the display can voice-control them, which is a statement about Home Assistant rather than a documented capability of this product.
Connection documentation: [2]
Device documentation: [3] [5] [18]
aboutamazon.com · checked 2026-10-02
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-20
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-08-18
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- 1 documented
- Reported events
- Not established from vendor documentation
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeDoesn't work[1][19] | Google HomeDoesn't work[1][19] | AlexaWorks[1][18] | SmartThingsInconclusive[1][20] | Home AssistantInconclusive[2] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Media playbackDevice control | Control Doesn't work | Control Doesn't work | Control Not stated | Control Inconclusive | Control Inconclusive |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add. Its Matter badge means it can control Matter devices for Alexa; it doesn't make the Echo Show something Apple Home can add.[1][19]
Google Home
This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add, so Google Home has no way to use it. A Matter device paired to it can still be shared with Google Home on its own.[1][19]
Alexa
This is an Alexa device, and it is the smart-home hub itself rather than something that plugs into one. The limit is the paid Alexa+ tier, which is what unlocks the more conversational and proactive features. What that tier costs is left blank here on purpose — the Amazon page carrying the price would not open for us, and we do not repeat a price we have not read ourselves.[1][18]
SmartThings
Not established. Amazon says nothing either way. The Zigbee, Thread and Matter radios in this device serve Alexa's own hub, and nothing we read points to a way of pairing it with SmartThings — but Amazon never actually rules one out either, so we leave the question open rather than call it a no on silence alone.[1][20]
Home Assistant
Not established, and deliberately NOT inherited from the sibling record. Amazon publishes nothing about Home Assistant for this device. ⊕ Worth knowing which direction the practical relationship runs, since it is the opposite of what people expect: Home Assistant cannot control an Echo Show as a device or borrow it as a Matter controller — a Matter controller commissions accessories INTO Alexa rather than exposing Alexa's fabric outward. The workable arrangement is Home Assistant exposing its own entities to Alexa so the display can voice-control them, which is a statement about Home Assistant rather than a documented capability of this product.[2]
Platform documentation:
aboutamazon.com · checked 2026-10-02
developer.amazon.com · checked 2026-08-18
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][18] | This is an Alexa device, and it is the smart-home hub itself rather than something that plugs into one. The limit is the paid Alexa+ tier, which is what unlocks the more conversational and proactive features. What that tier costs is left blank here on purpose — the Amazon page carrying the price would not open for us, and we do not repeat a price we have not read ourselves. |
| Google Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[1][19] | This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add, so Google Home has no way to use it. A Matter device paired to it can still be shared with Google Home on its own. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[1][19] | This is an Alexa hub, not a device other systems add. Its Matter badge means it can control Matter devices for Alexa; it doesn't make the Echo Show something Apple Home can add. |
| SmartThings | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1][20] | Not established. Amazon says nothing either way. The Zigbee, Thread and Matter radios in this device serve Alexa's own hub, and nothing we read points to a way of pairing it with SmartThings — but Amazon never actually rules one out either, so we leave the question open rather than call it a no on silence alone. |
| Home Assistant | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2] | Not established, and deliberately NOT inherited from the sibling record. Amazon publishes nothing about Home Assistant for this device. ⊕ Worth knowing which direction the practical relationship runs, since it is the opposite of what people expect: Home Assistant cannot control an Echo Show as a device or borrow it as a Matter controller — a Matter controller commissions accessories INTO Alexa rather than exposing Alexa's fabric outward. The workable arrangement is Home Assistant exposing its own entities to Alexa so the display can voice-control them, which is a statement about Home Assistant rather than a documented capability of this product. |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Plans and ongoing costs[1][15]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.
Optional Alexa+ (free with Prime, else $19.99/mo); the device works as an Echo Show without it.
Maintenance and offline use
- Works without the internet: Not established — we have not sourced this yet. It does not mean the product fails without the internet.
- A mains-powered countertop display — nothing to charge, nothing to replace. The hardware detail most likely to matter to a buyer is the camera: a '13-megapixel camera', which is what makes video calling and the visual-presence features work, and equally what a household has to be comfortable placing in a kitchen or bedroom.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether Amazon publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
The catch
The $40 between this and the Echo Show 11 buys screen inches and very little else — Amazon's own announcement separates them by price and size while describing the same display technology, the same 13-megapixel camera and the same speakers. The bigger question is the subscription: Alexa+ arrives as Early Access in the box, and Amazon's announcement never says what the device is like once that ends, which is an unusual thing to leave unstated about the feature the whole product line was relaunched around. And read the smart-home hub for what it is — it is an Alexa hub. The Zigbee, Thread and Matter radios bring other products into Alexa; they do not make this display usable from Apple Home or Google Home.
Who it's for
An Alexa household that wants one countertop device to be the screen, the speaker and the smart-home hub — and specifically the household that does not want to buy a separate bridge for Zigbee accessories or a border router for Thread ones. Pick it over the Echo Show 11 unless the extra screen is worth $40 on its own terms, because on Amazon's own account that is the difference. It is the wrong device for anyone whose home runs on Apple Home or Google Home: there is no path in.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
20 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] aboutamazon.com, Amazon's new Echo devices with Alexa+ announcement — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Market availability, Research status, Subscription, Amazon Alexa compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
- [2] developer.amazon.com, Alexa+ Matter support documentation — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [3] Amazon's own launch article, read 2026-08-20, describes Omnisense as leveraging "a range of sensors and signals—the 13-megapixel camera on our new Echo Show devices, audio, ultrasound, Wi-Fi radar, accelerometer, and Wi-Fi CSI", and states that "Each of these new devices also includes a built-in smart home hub with support for Zigbee, Matter, and Thread to control thousands of compatible smart home devices." It does not distinguish the Show 8 from the Show 11 on which sensors each carries. www.amazon.com, where this record's per-model listings live, is on our standing list of places that turn us away. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [4] What this record already establishes the device provides, including its role as a Matter controller. Re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled meaning of the protocols a device itself speaks; no new outside source was read., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Protocols
- [5] home-assistant.io/integrations/alexa_devices (Home Assistant's own documentation, written by the other side of this pairing), read 2026-08-20. Its supported-device list names "Amazon Echo Dot" and "Amazon Echo Show" among others, and it enumerates the entities it creates: "Media Player - Play audio/video from several sources", "Button - Execute Alexa routines, restart the device", "Notify - Speak and Announce notifications", "Select - Select Drop In status", "Switch - Do not disturb". The Echo Show line is named in the supported list as "Amazon Echo Show". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [6] This record's own per-ecosystem catches and the evidence entries behind them, re-read 2026-08-22. No vendor page was opened — deliberately, so no date on this record implies a look nobody took., verified 2026-08-22
- [7] Amazon developer documentation, Thread support — verbatim: "The following Amazon Echo and eero devices have Thread Border Routers built-in." The list names "Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen, 2025 release)" under "Thread version 1.3". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02Backs: What it provides to your home
- [8] Amazon developer documentation, Zigbee support — verbatim: "The following Amazon Echo and eero devices have built-in smart home hubs that connect and control Zigbee smart devices." The "Zigbee hub list" names "Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen, 2025 release)". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02Backs: What it provides to your home
- [9] Amazon developer documentation, Matter support — verbatim: "The following Amazon Echo and eero devices support Matter." The "Matter-enabled device list" names "Echo Show 8 (1st Gen and newer, 2025 release)". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02Backs: What it provides to your home
- [10] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
- [11] https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/amazon-new-echo-devices-alexa-plus (read 2026-09-10) is Amazon's own announcement for this generation and describes silicon, sensors and Omnisense; it states no Wi-Fi band, no app platform and no power figure. Amazon's device detail pages on amazon.com carry that specification table, and amazon.com tells automated readers as a group to stay out, so we do not read it and a refusal is never worked around. All three fields stay as they are, CHECKED AND UNPUBLISHED on every surface we may read. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-10
- [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [13] This record's own none answers and the entries backing them, re-read against R-10 and the owner's 2026-09-10 ruling on hubs., verified 2026-09-10
- [14] Plugs into a wall outlet — nothing to wire or mount., verified 2026-09-16Backs: Installation
- [15] aboutamazon.com, Amazon's Alexa+ article ("Alexa+ is your next-generation assistant") — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Subscription
- [16] internal ruling, applied to evidence this record now holds, verified 2026-09-16
- [17] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-16 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-16
- [18] Amazon's own news page announcing the 2025 Echo devices, read in full 2026-10-02. "The all-new Echo Dot Max , Echo Studio , Echo Show 8 , and Echo Show 11 are the most advanced Echo devices we’ve ever built." · "Each of these new devices also includes a built-in smart home hub with support for Zigbee, Matter, and Thread to control thousands of compatible smart home devices." · "Browse music, ambient sounds, podcasts, and books in dedicated pages, play content with a single tap, and easily manage playback across multiple devices." · "Echo Show 8 will be available for $179.99, and Echo Show 11 will be available for $219.99." · "Echo Show 8 and Echo Show 11 will be available on November 12." · "All devices come with Alexa+ Early Access out of the box with the purchase of a new Echo." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Research status
- [19] Amazon's own news page announcing the 2025 Echo devices, read in full 2026-10-02. "Each of these new devices also includes a built-in smart home hub with support for Zigbee, Matter, and Thread to control thousands of compatible smart home devices." Google Home, Apple Home, HomeKit and SmartThings occur zero times on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02Backs: Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
- [20] Amazon's own news page announcing the 2025 Echo devices, read in full 2026-10-02 (13,889 characters of extracted text). SmartThings occurs zero times. Samsung occurs once, about Samsung's own products gaining Alexa+: "companies including Bose, Sonos, LG, Samsung, and BMW will be adding Alexa+ to their speakers, TVs and In-Car experiences too". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02Backs: SmartThings compatibility
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check Amazon Echo Show 8 (2025 release) with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.