Product Library / Hubs & Controllers

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-29

Amazon Echo Dot (5th Gen, 2022 release)

⚠ Similar names, different products: Amazon sells several speakers under the Echo Dot name, among them Echo Dot with Clock, Echo Dot Kids and Echo Dot Max, and each generation reuses the plain 'Echo Dot' name. This record is the 5th generation, announced in September 2022, the first Echo Dot with a built-in temperature sensor.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[10][22]
[10][22]
[11][23]
[10][22]
[1][8][21]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH · MATTER[2][14][15][23][24]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Media playback

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [5] [8] [21]

Documented device function

Temperature reading

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [5] [8] [21]

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [3] [5] [8] [21]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[3][5][8][21]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeDoesn't work[10][22]Google HomeDoesn't work[10][22]AlexaWorks[11][23]SmartThingsDoesn't work[10][22]Home AssistantPartial[1][8][21]
Media playbackDevice control
Control

Doesn't work

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Temperature readingReported event
Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Doesn't work

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Event

Doesn't work

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

This is a hub, not a device other systems add. The Echo Dot brings Matter devices into Alexa, and Apple Home has no way to add it. You can still play music from an iPhone on it over Bluetooth.[10][22]

Google Home

This is a hub, not a device other systems add. The Echo Dot is the box that brings Matter devices into Alexa, and Google Home has nothing to pair with. A Matter device can still be shared between Alexa and Google Home on its own.[10][22]

Alexa

This is an Alexa device: the voice assistant is the product. Amazon says Echo devices have a microphone on/off button, and the built-in motion and temperature sensors can start Alexa routines.[11][23]

SmartThings

This is a hub, not a device other systems add. The Echo Dot is the box that brings Matter devices into Alexa, and nothing lets SmartThings control it in return. A Matter device can still be shared between Alexa and SmartThings on its own.[10][22]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant's alexa_devices integration (🏆 Platinum quality, Cloud Polling) names 'Amazon Echo Dot' in its supported list and controls it as a media/notify device — routines, media player, announcements, do-not-disturb, lists. Partial rather than full because the surface is scoped and the path is Amazon's cloud with app-based multi-factor login, polling every five minutes by default.[1][8][21]

Device documentation: [3] [5] [8] [21]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[11][23]This is an Alexa device: the voice assistant is the product. Amazon says Echo devices have a microphone on/off button, and the built-in motion and temperature sensors can start Alexa routines.
Google HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[10][22]This is a hub, not a device other systems add. The Echo Dot is the box that brings Matter devices into Alexa, and Google Home has nothing to pair with. A Matter device can still be shared between Alexa and Google Home on its own.
Apple HomeDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[10][22]This is a hub, not a device other systems add. The Echo Dot brings Matter devices into Alexa, and Apple Home has no way to add it. You can still play music from an iPhone on it over Bluetooth.
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[10][22]This is a hub, not a device other systems add. The Echo Dot is the box that brings Matter devices into Alexa, and nothing lets SmartThings control it in return. A Matter device can still be shared between Alexa and SmartThings on its own.
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[1][8][21]Home Assistant's alexa_devices integration (🏆 Platinum quality, Cloud Polling) names 'Amazon Echo Dot' in its supported list and controls it as a media/notify device — routines, media player, announcements, do-not-disturb, lists. Partial rather than full because the surface is scoped and the path is Amazon's cloud with app-based multi-factor login, polling every five minutes by default.

Plans and ongoing costs[18][27]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No plan is needed for the speaker or for Alexa. Alexa+, Amazon's newer assistant, costs $19.99 a month or comes free with Prime; it is an optional upgrade rather than something the speaker needs to work.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

It is the cheapest way into Alexa, and everything about it assumes you stay there: no Google, no Apple Home, and the Home Assistant path runs through Amazon's cloud with an app-based sign-in code. It has no Thread radio, so Thread accessories still need a border router from somewhere else. It can also extend an eero mesh Wi-Fi network by up to 1,000 square feet, but only if your router is already an eero.

Who it's for

An Alexa household adding a room, or anyone's first smart speaker. Amazon announced it at $49.99, and its temperature and motion sensors quietly make it a room-automation trigger, not just a speaker. Not for Google, Apple-first, or cloud-averse homes.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

32 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] home-assistant.io, alexa_devices integration — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  2. [2] What this record already establishes the device provides, including its role as a Matter controller. Re-read 2026-08-20 against the settled meaning of the protocols a device itself speaks; no new outside source was read., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  3. [3] home-assistant.io/integrations/alexa_devices (Home Assistant's own documentation, written by the other side of this pairing), read 2026-08-20. Its supported-device list names "Amazon Echo Dot" and "Amazon Echo Show" among others, and it enumerates the entities it creates: "Media Player - Play audio/video from several sources", "Button - Execute Alexa routines, restart the device", "Notify - Speak and Announce notifications", "Select - Select Drop In status", "Switch - Do not disturb". The Echo Dot is named in the supported list as "Amazon Echo Dot". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  4. [4] Amazon's own listing for the Echo Dot (5th Gen, 2022 release), as read on 2026-08-17 (the quotation of the store's text that stood here was removed on 2026-09-29 under ruling C-6: Amazon's store is no longer a source for any fact on this record). Nothing new was read; this entry structured a fact the record's own evidence carried since that read. — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-29
  5. [5] Amazon's own India press release for this model, read in full 2026-09-22: "Amazon launches its best sounding Echo Dot 5th Gen" (March 2023). Verbatim: "With Ultrasound Motion Detection, customers can automate their day by creating smart home routines such as have Alexa turn on compatible-lights or play music when you enter the room." and "The new Echo Dot comes with an in-built temperature sensor that can sense room temperature. Customers can use this feature to set up helpful routines such as automatically turn on compatible-AC when it gets too warm inside or turn it off when it gets too cold". Corroborated the same day by Amazon's US launch release (press.aboutamazon.com/2022/9/amazon-introduces-four-new-echo-devices-plus-upgrades-to-echo-studio-audio), which says the new Echo Dot adds "a temperature sensor" and "ultrasound motion detection" and gives the example of asking Alexa "to automatically turn on your smart fan when it gets too warm inside"., verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Capabilities
  6. [6] Amazon developer documentation, Matter support — verbatim: "The following Amazon Echo and eero devices support Matter." The "Matter-enabled device list" names "Echo Dot (2nd Gen and newer)", which covers the 5th generation. The same page's Thread border router device list does NOT name any Echo Dot below the "Echo Dot Max (2025 release)", which is the published form of this record's standing note that the 5th-gen Dot has no Thread radio. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-02
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  7. [7] Amazon developer documentation, Matter support — re-read 2026-09-17 and UNCHANGED on both halves. "The following Amazon Echo and eero devices support Matter." The Matter-enabled device list still names "Echo Dot (2nd Gen and newer)", which covers the 5th generation. The Thread border router device list still names no Echo Dot below "Echo Dot Max (2025 release)" (listed under Thread version 1.3), so this model is still absent from it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  8. [8] home-assistant.io, Alexa Devices integration (docs build 2026.9.2), re-read 2026-09-17. Verbatim: "There is support for the following device families within Home Assistant:" followed by "Amazon Echo Dot" among others; "🏆 Platinum quality"; "Its IoT class is Cloud Polling."; "This integration requires multi-factor authentication using an authentication app"; "device data every five minutes by default. To-do and shopping list changes, voice interaction history, media state, and volume changes are received through push events". Supported functionality, verbatim: "Button - Execute Alexa routines, restart the device", "Media Player - Play audio/video from several sources", "Notify - Speak and Announce notifications", "Select - Select Drop In status", "Switch - Do not disturb", "To-do list - Shopping, to-do, and custom lists." — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  9. [9] Amazon's own product listing for this speaker turns automated readers away, and it still did on 2026-09-17, so it could not be re-read. Amazon's developer documentation and Home Assistant's integration page both welcomed us and were read instead., verified 2026-09-17
  10. [10] Amazon's developer documentation on Matter says: "Matter-supported Amazon Echo devices can connect and control Matter smart home devices seamlessly. After a customer sets up a compatible Echo, they can add a Matter device using the Alexa app. The Echo device is the Matter administrator used to discover and connect Matter devices to Alexa locally." Its list of Echo devices that support Matter includes "Echo Dot (2nd Gen and newer)", which covers this 5th-generation Dot. So the Dot is the hub that brings other devices into Alexa, rather than a device you add to Google Home, Apple Home or SmartThings, and it needs no separate hub of its own., verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Required hub or bridge
  11. [11] Amazon's own US press release of 28 September 2022 introducing this generation of Echo Dot says it gives "more ways to bring the convenience of Alexa to every room of your home", that the new sensors enable "the ability to ask Alexa to automatically turn on your smart fan when it gets too warm inside", and that on-device processing gives "even faster responses for tap gestures, ultrasound motion detection, and on-device execution for some of the most common requests to Alexa." Alexa is built into the speaker itself., verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  12. [12] Looked on 2026-09-23 for Amazon pages, other than its store that no longer lets AI tools read it, carrying this speaker's facts. Amazon's developer documentation and its press centre both open for us. Between them they carry five facts, now cited from there: that the Dot works with Alexa, that it is itself the hub so needs none, and that it is not something you add to Google Home, Apple Home or SmartThings. Eleven facts were not found on any page we may read: the product's identity as the 5th generation, its price today, its Wi-Fi bands, how it is powered, how hard it is to set up, whether a plan is needed, which phone apps run it, whether an Amazon account is needed, whether it is still sold, how fully we have checked it, and whether it has batteries. Amazon's 2022 US launch release names a $49.99 price and the colours, but a launch price is not today's price and the release never says "5th Gen"; Amazon's India launch release does name the "Echo Dot 5th Gen", but for a different market. The developer site's own index and search were walked for pages naming the Echo Dot and found only old launch-news posts. Six requests went to Amazon's open sites for the three Amazon devices together; no request went to Amazon's store. Those eleven facts keep the dates they were read on., verified 2026-09-23
  13. [13] Looked again on 2026-09-25 for an Amazon page, other than its store that no longer lets AI tools read it, stating this speaker's Wi-Fi bands or how it is powered. Amazon's developer site was walked through its own index and search, and offered only old launch-news posts about earlier Echo models. No request went to Amazon's store. The facts that rest only on the store keep the dates they were read on., verified 2026-09-25
  14. [14] Amazon's own US press release of 28 September 2022, read in full 2026-09-29. It introduces "the next generation of Echo Dot", which it says will "add a temperature sensor" and, "for the first time", "feature eero Built-in, which makes them the first Echo devices to serve as eero mesh wifi extenders" adding "up to 1,000 square feet of coverage to your existing eero mesh wifi network". Its Pricing and Availability paragraph: "Echo Dot is available in Deep-Sea Blue, as well as the original Charcoal and Glacier White for $49.99" and "Preorders start today and devices begin shipping next month." It also says "Echo devices include a microphone on/off button". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Market availability, Research status
  15. [15] Amazon's own India press release of 3 March 2023, "Amazon launches its best sounding Echo Dot 5th Gen", read in full 2026-09-29. It names the product "Echo Dot 5th Gen" throughout, describes the same hardware as the September 2022 US release ("Ultrasound Motion Detection, temperature sensor, and tap gesture controls", "Powered by the AZ2 Neural Edge processor"), and says "Customers can also play music from their smartphones on the Echo Dot via Bluetooth." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols
  16. [16] The Amazon Alexa app's listing on Apple's App Store (developer AMZN Mobile LLC), read 2026-09-29: "Use the Amazon Alexa app to manage Alexa-enabled devices" and, under Manage your devices, "Set up your Alexa-enabled devices"; the listing is for iPhone and iPad., verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: App platforms
  17. [17] The Amazon Alexa app's listing on Google Play, read 2026-09-29: "Use the Amazon Alexa App to set up your Alexa-enabled devices, listen to music, create shopping lists, get news updates, and much more.", verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: App platforms
  18. [18] Amazon's Alexa+ article, read in full 2026-09-29 (it carries the note "This article was originally published February 26, 2025. It was updated on July 21, 2026"): "How much is Alexa+? Alexa+ costs $19.99 per month, but all Amazon Prime members get it for free." It frames Alexa+ as an upgrade to what customers "already use to play music, watch videos, and manage their smart homes". Amazon's September 2022 US release for this speaker (the US launch entry of the same date) describes its Alexa features and names no plan for the speaker; the only subscription it names is Amazon Kids+, which comes with a different product, Echo Dot Kids. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Subscription
  19. [19] Amazon's Echo buying guide, read in full 2026-09-29 to see whether it says which Echo Dot is on sale today. It describes "Echo Dot" as "one of our most popular smart speakers with Alexa" without naming a generation, so it cannot say whether the 5th generation is still sold. No claim rests on it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-29
  20. [20] Looked on 29 September 2026, after ruling C-6 took Amazon's store off the list of sources, for Amazon pages carrying the facts only the store had carried, in the order the ruling sets: the press releases (US September 2022 and India March 2023), a fact sheet on Amazon's sustainability site (its device list has none for the Echo Dot 5th generation), the developer documentation, and the Alexa app's listings in Apple's and Google's app stores. The press releases carry the identity, the $49.99 announced price, the Wi-Fi and Bluetooth radios and the 2022 on-sale date; the app stores carry the phone platforms. Terms hunted and not found: wifiBands, powerSource, installEffort, accountRequired, lifecycle.market. For lifecycle.market only the end is missing: no page says the speaker is still sold. No request went to Amazon's store., verified 2026-09-29
  21. [21] Home Assistant's Alexa Devices integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Its IoT class is Cloud Polling." · "🏆 Platinum quality" · "There is support for the following device families within Home Assistant: Amazon Echo Auto Amazon Echo Dot" · "Button - Execute Alexa routines, restart the device Media Player - Play audio/video from several sources Notify - Speak and Announce notifications" · "Switch - Do not disturb" · "device data every five minutes by default. To-do and shopping list changes, voice interaction history, media state, and volume changes are received through push events" · "This integration requires multi-factor authentication using an authentication app". Its device sensors list Temperature and Illuminance. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  22. [22] Amazon's developer documentation, Matter support, read in full on 2026-10-03 (fingerprint matching change detection's copy). Verbatim: "Matter-supported Amazon Echo devices can connect and control Matter smart home devices seamlessly." · "The Echo device is the Matter administrator used to discover and connect Matter devices to Alexa locally." The Matter-enabled list names "Echo Dot (2 nd Gen and newer)"; the Thread border router list names the Echo Dot Max (2025 release) and no other Echo Dot. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: What it provides to your home, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Required hub or bridge
  23. [23] Amazon's own US press release of 28 September 2022, read in full on 2026-10-03 (fingerprint matching change detection's copy). Verbatim: "add a temperature sensor, double as eero mesh wifi extenders" · "feature eero Built-in, which makes them the first Echo devices to serve as eero mesh wifi extenders" · "eero Built-in can add up to 1,000 square feet of coverage to your existing eero mesh wifi network" · "Echo devices include a microphone on/off button". The Pricing and Availability paragraph still gives $49.99 and a 2022 preorder start. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility
  24. [24] Amazon's own India press release of 3 March 2023, "Amazon launches its best sounding Echo Dot 5th Gen", read in full on 2026-10-03 (fingerprint matching change detection's copy). It names the product "Echo Dot 5th Gen" throughout and describes the temperature sensor, ultrasound motion detection and Bluetooth. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols
  25. [25] The Amazon Alexa app's listing on Apple's App Store (developer AMZN Mobile LLC), read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Amazon Alexa app to manage Alexa-enabled devices" and "Set up your Alexa-enabled devices"., verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: App platforms
  26. [26] The Amazon Alexa app's listing on Google Play, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Amazon Alexa App to set up your Alexa-enabled devices, listen to music, create shopping lists, get news updates, and much more." and "Set up your Alexa-enabled devices"., verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: App platforms
  27. [27] Amazon's Alexa+ article, read in full on 2026-10-03 (it still says "This article was originally published February 26, 2025. It was updated on July 21, 2026"). Verbatim: "Alexa+ costs $19.99 per month, but all Amazon Prime members get it for free". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
  28. [28] Amazon's Echo buying guide, read in full on 2026-10-03. It still describes "Echo Dot" as "one of our most popular smart speakers with Alexa" without naming a generation., verified 2026-10-03
  29. [29] Amazon's sustainability site, devices page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Its fact-sheet list has an Echo Dot Max (2025 Release) sheet and no sheet for the Echo Dot 5th generation., verified 2026-10-03
  30. [30] Walked the lead's ladder again on 2026-10-03, in its order: the US and India press releases (read in full, both unchanged since 2026-09-29), Amazon's sustainability devices page (no fact sheet for this model), Amazon's developer documentation on Matter (read in full), and the Alexa app's App Store and Google Play listings (read in full). The last rung, a certification finder, is closed: the owner declined the Wi-Fi Alliance finder as a source on 2026-10-01 (ruling E-7). No request went to Amazon's store., verified 2026-10-03
  31. [31] The Amazon Alexa app's listing on Apple's App Store (seller AMZN Mobile LLC), read in full on 2026-10-14. Verbatim: "Amazon Alexa app to manage Alexa-enabled devices" · "Set up your Alexa-enabled devices" · "Compatibility Requires iOS 17.0 or later. iPhone Requires iOS 17.0 or later.", verified 2026-10-14
    Backs: App platforms
  32. [32] The Amazon Alexa app's listing on Apple's App Store (developer AMZN Mobile LLC), read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "Amazon Alexa app to manage Alexa-enabled devices" · "Set up your Alexa-enabled devices" · "Compatibility Requires iOS 17.0 or later. iPhone Requires iOS 17.0 or later.", verified 2026-10-19
    Backs: App platforms

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Amazon Echo Dot (5th Gen, 2022 release) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker