Product Library / Water Protection & Plumbing
Research profile · last verified 2026-09-17YoLink Water Leak Sensor 4
⚠ Similar names, different products: YoLink sells at least four numbered leak sensors at once and the numbers are model generations, not capability tiers you can rank by eye: the Water Leak Sensor 1 (YS7903) and Water Leak Sensor 2 (YS7904) are still on the storefront beside this one. A 'Water Leak Sensor 4 MoveAlert' variant also exists, which adds removal detection and is not this SKU. Check the YS number, not the name.
Exactly which product this is[1]
- Model number
- YS7906
- Generation
- Not established
- Region this page covers
- US
- Also sold or listed as
- Not established
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1] | Named in YoLink's own compatibility content for this sensor, and consistent with the hub's list — which is the only route this device has to any platform, since the sensor itself speaks LoRa and nothing else.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a YoLink hub |
| Google Home | InconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1] | Not established for this sensor specifically. YoLink's hub page names Google among its platforms, and everything this sensor does reaches the outside world through that hub — but the sensor's own content names Alexa, Home Assistant and IFTTT without naming Google, and this catalogue does not fill a per-product gap from a hub's list. An honest unknown rather than an inherited yes. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2] | No Apple Home path exists, and the reason is architectural rather than a missing integration: this sensor's only route anywhere is the YoLink Hub, whose own compatibility list enumerates Alexa, Google, IFTTT, Home Assistant and Raedius with no Apple Home and no Matter. There is no per-device workaround behind a hub that does not speak Apple. |
| SmartThings | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2] | Same architectural absence as Apple — SmartThings is not among the platforms YoLink's hub names, and the hub is this sensor's only path off the LoRa network. |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[1] | YoLink names Home Assistant in its own content for this sensor and again on the hub's compatibility list. ⚠ This rests on YoLink's word alone — we have not read Home Assistant documentation for it, and how the connection works is not stated, so whether it runs locally or through the cloud stays unknown rather than being guessed.In Home Assistant you also need: a YoLink hub |
? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.
Protocols: LORA[1]
Needs before it works: Yes — a YoLink Hub (or SpeakerHub) is required, and it is not the usual optional-accessory kind of required. This sensor speaks LoRa and nothing else, so without the hub it cannot reach an app, a phone or any smart-home platform. YoLink's own wording scopes it precisely: the hub is required 'for full app notifications and automation functionality'. Two things survive without one: the 105 dB sounder is on the sensor itself, so it still alarms in the room where the water is, and YoLink's device-to-device pairing lets one YoLink device trigger another with no internet or WiFi. Budget roughly $23.59–$29.99 for the hub on top of this sensor's price.[1]
What it can do[3]
You can tell it to
None documented by the vendor
It reports
- Leak detected
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Alexa | Home Assistant |
|---|---|---|
| Leak detected | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
Platform documentation: Amazon Alexa — automation engine ceiling (eight terms observed; residue inconclusive by refusal) (2026-09-01), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29)
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[1][2]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it. (established from the vendor's own setup steps, where signing in is mandatory before the device can be added)[4]
No fees. YoLink states the policy at the brand level on its hub page — 'we have zero monthly subscription fees with using any of our hubs and YoLink devices' — which covers this sensor by its own terms. YoLink also names 'Smart Device Integrity Monitoring (24/7 supervision)', a check that the sensor is still alive and reporting; unusually for this catalogue, that supervision is described as part of the product rather than as a monitoring tier.
Maintenance reality
- Batteries: AAA x2 — expect roughly 60 months per set
- Works without the internet: Partly — some of it keeps working and some of it does not. See the detail below.[5]
- Two standard AAA alkaline cells with YoLink claiming '5+ year battery life' — recorded as 60 months, the floor of a '5+' claim rather than a generous reading of it. That runtime is the direct payoff of LoRa: a low-power long-range radio instead of WiFi, which is what lets a sensor sit untouched under a sink for years. Housed to IP66 with a 105 dB piezo sounder on board.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether YoLink publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
The catch
The $19.99 is not the entry price: this sensor speaks LoRa and nothing else, so a first purchase means buying the YoLink Hub too, and the hub's platform list is the real ceiling — Alexa, Google, IFTTT and Home Assistant, with no Apple Home, no SmartThings and no Matter anywhere in the architecture. Worth being precise about what the hub dependency costs, though: the 105 dB sounder is on the sensor itself, so an unbridged unit still wakes the house; what you lose without the hub is the notification when you are out, which is the whole point of buying it.
Who it's for
Anywhere a leak would go unheard for days and WiFi does not reach well — a crawlspace, a well house, a basement corner of a big property — where the quarter-mile LoRa range and a five-year battery matter more than a broad ecosystem. Add the freeze alerts and it covers the two ways a pipe ruins a winter. Not for Apple Home or SmartThings households: there is no path in.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
10 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] YoLink's own store at shop.yosmart.com, read from the store's machine-readable product data for the Water Leak Sensor 4 (YS7906) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Batteries, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
- [2] shop.yosmart.com, YoLink Hub product page (YS1603) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Subscription, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [3] YoLink's own store page for the Water Leak Sensor 4 at shop.yosmart.com/products/ys7906, read from the store's machine-readable product data on 2026-08-20. The Sensor 4 "adds a built-in 105 dB sounder and low-temperature alerts"; "A YoLink Hub or SpeakerHub is required for full app notifications and automation"; "You can even have the water shut off automatically." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Capabilities
- [4] YoLink Hub user manual (YS1603), setup section — "Open the app and tap Sign up for an account. You will be required to provide a username and a password. Follow the instructions, to set up a new account… Log in to the app using your new username and password." The same manual states the architecture the account sits on: "your devices communicate with the Hub, which connects to the internet, the cloud server and the app." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [5] YoLink Hub user manual (YS1603), "Before You Begin" — "YoLink Hubs are the gateway to the internet for your YoLink devices. As opposed to many smart home systems, the individual devices are not on your network or WiFI and are not directly connected to the internet. Instead, your devices communicate with the Hub, which connects to the internet, the cloud server and the app." and, stated flatly: "Your Hub requires a full-time internet connection." Composed with this record's own established specification that the Water Leak Sensor 4 carries a 105 dB sounder on the sensor itself. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Works without the internet
- [6] No source was read for this entry. It classifies evidence this record already carries, and records the classification so it is not re-derived., verified 2026-08-22
- [7] This record's own no-support integration answers and the entries backing them, re-read against the claim-basis rulings of 2026-09-09., verified 2026-09-09
- [8] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
- [9] Record-keeping entry: this record's existing answer of no Apple Home support now names the platform rule that reason rests on, 2026-09-15, verified 2026-09-15
- [10] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.