Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-21

WiZ Mobile Portable Light

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][22]
[1][2][13][17][21]
[1][2][13][17][20]
[1][2][13][17]
[3][18]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][2][11]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No. WiZ states it plainly on the product page — 'No need to install additional hardware such as hub or gateway!' — and Home Assistant's documentation independently agrees from the other side: WiZ devices 'are set up through your Wi-Fi network and don't need any additional bridge or gateway'. Two parties with no reason to coordinate saying the same thing is about as settled as this question gets. One qualification, and it is the exception rather than the rule: WiZ's own specification sheet says Matter works 'Via 3rd party hubs (Wi-Fi)', so the no-hub promise covers the WiZ app and the voice assistants, while any Matter route would need a controller you supply. That Matter line is a platform-wide field rather than a statement about this lamp — see the integration cells.[1][3][11]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [16]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [16]

Documented device function

Color

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [16]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][16]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
4 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks, by a limited route[1][22]Google HomeWorks; four functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][2][13][17][21]AlexaWorks; four functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][2][13][17][20]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][2][13][17]Home AssistantWorks[3][18]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Works

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Works

ColorDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Works

Color temperatureDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Works

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

🔴 Read this one carefully, because it is the fact most likely to disappoint a buyer and the page's own wording invites the mistake. The ONLY Apple integration WiZ names anywhere is 'Siri Shortcuts'. The words HomeKit and Apple Home appear nowhere on the page — not in the marketing copy, not in the specification block, not in the platform list. Siri Shortcuts and Apple Home are not the same product experience: Shortcuts gives you a spoken phrase that fires an action, while Apple Home gives you a device tile you can tap, a light that appears in rooms and scenes, automations that can address it, and something the rest of the household can control through Home. With Shortcuts you get the phrase and none of the rest. Anyone reading 'works with Siri' as 'works with Apple Home' will find out on the first evening. Recorded 'partial' rather than 'none' precisely because the route is real, first-party and named — this is not an absence, it is a narrower thing than it sounds. ⚠ This is the second product in this catalogue in as many days where a vendor's Apple story turned out to be Shortcuts rather than HomeKit; the Rachio Smart Hose Timer carries the identical shape. There is one theoretical route to a fuller Apple answer — WiZ's specification field lists Matter with the note 'Via 3rd party hubs (Wi-Fi)', and Matter would put the lamp in the Home app — but that field is catalogue-wide boilerplate proven identical on an unrelated WiZ bulb, so it is not evidence that THIS lamp is Matter-certified, and no Matter claim is made here. WiZ also does not say which controls a shortcut can reach, so on/off, brightness, color and color temperature are unconfirmed through Siri Shortcuts.[1][22]

Google Home

WiZ connects its lights to Google Home when you link your WiZ account in the Google Home app: add a device, choose the option for something already set up, and pick WiZ. It runs through WiZ's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. WiZ's Google Home help page says you can turn lights on or off, dim them and change their color by voice, but it covers WiZ lights in general and doesn't name this lamp, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from Google Home are unconfirmed for it.[1][2][13][17][21]

Alexa

WiZ connects its lights to Alexa through its WiZ add-on: you link your WiZ account from the WiZ app, or enable the WiZ add-on in the Alexa app with a code the WiZ app gives you. It runs through WiZ's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. WiZ's Alexa help page lists commands to turn a light on or off, dim or brighten it, set a color and set warm or cool white, but it covers WiZ lights in general and doesn't name this lamp, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature with Alexa are unconfirmed for it.[1][2][13][17][20]

SmartThings

WiZ lists Samsung SmartThings in this lamp's specifications, in the same wording it uses on its other lights. It doesn't say how the lamp connects to SmartThings or what SmartThings can control, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from SmartThings are unconfirmed.[1][2][13][17]

Home Assistant

⊕ The deepest cell on this record, and it comes entirely from the other side — WiZ names Home Assistant nowhere. Home Assistant ships an OFFICIAL WiZ integration with IoT class 'Local Push', and its own description is unambiguous about the architecture: it 'allows you to control your WiZ lights and smart sockets. The devices are set up through your Wi-Fi network and don't need any additional bridge or gateway.' That is a fully local control path with no WiZ cloud in it and no hub to buy — better, in the way that matters most to a self-hosting household, than any of the three voice platforms WiZ actually advertises. The integration exposes light entities among several platform types. ⚠ One setting decides whether this works, and it lives in WiZ's app rather than Home Assistant's: local communication must be enabled. Home Assistant's documentation states that 'Allow local communication' can be disabled or enabled in the WiZ app and should be enabled by default — so if it has been turned off, the local path is off with it. Rated 'full' on an explicit device-class match: the integration covers WiZ lights generally rather than naming this model, and that is the claim on this record most exposed to a future per-model list proving narrower. Home Assistant lists WiZ among its lights, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature all work there.[3][18]

Device documentation: [1] [16]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; four functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; four functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][2][13][17][20]WiZ connects its lights to Alexa through its WiZ add-on: you link your WiZ account from the WiZ app, or enable the WiZ add-on in the Alexa app with a code the WiZ app gives you. It runs through WiZ's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. WiZ's Alexa help page lists commands to turn a light on or off, dim or brighten it, set a color and set warm or cool white, but it covers WiZ lights in general and doesn't name this lamp, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature with Alexa are unconfirmed for it.
Google HomeWorks; four functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; four functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][2][13][17][21]WiZ connects its lights to Google Home when you link your WiZ account in the Google Home app: add a device, choose the option for something already set up, and pick WiZ. It runs through WiZ's cloud, so it stops working when your internet does. WiZ's Google Home help page says you can turn lights on or off, dim them and change their color by voice, but it covers WiZ lights in general and doesn't name this lamp, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from Google Home are unconfirmed for it.
Apple HomeWorks, by a limited routeWorks, by a limited route — see the catch[1][22]🔴 Read this one carefully, because it is the fact most likely to disappoint a buyer and the page's own wording invites the mistake. The ONLY Apple integration WiZ names anywhere is 'Siri Shortcuts'. The words HomeKit and Apple Home appear nowhere on the page — not in the marketing copy, not in the specification block, not in the platform list. Siri Shortcuts and Apple Home are not the same product experience: Shortcuts gives you a spoken phrase that fires an action, while Apple Home gives you a device tile you can tap, a light that appears in rooms and scenes, automations that can address it, and something the rest of the household can control through Home. With Shortcuts you get the phrase and none of the rest. Anyone reading 'works with Siri' as 'works with Apple Home' will find out on the first evening. Recorded 'partial' rather than 'none' precisely because the route is real, first-party and named — this is not an absence, it is a narrower thing than it sounds. ⚠ This is the second product in this catalogue in as many days where a vendor's Apple story turned out to be Shortcuts rather than HomeKit; the Rachio Smart Hose Timer carries the identical shape. There is one theoretical route to a fuller Apple answer — WiZ's specification field lists Matter with the note 'Via 3rd party hubs (Wi-Fi)', and Matter would put the lamp in the Home app — but that field is catalogue-wide boilerplate proven identical on an unrelated WiZ bulb, so it is not evidence that THIS lamp is Matter-certified, and no Matter claim is made here. WiZ also does not say which controls a shortcut can reach, so on/off, brightness, color and color temperature are unconfirmed through Siri Shortcuts.
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][2][13][17]WiZ lists Samsung SmartThings in this lamp's specifications, in the same wording it uses on its other lights. It doesn't say how the lamp connects to SmartThings or what SmartThings can control, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature from SmartThings are unconfirmed.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][18]⊕ The deepest cell on this record, and it comes entirely from the other side — WiZ names Home Assistant nowhere. Home Assistant ships an OFFICIAL WiZ integration with IoT class 'Local Push', and its own description is unambiguous about the architecture: it 'allows you to control your WiZ lights and smart sockets. The devices are set up through your Wi-Fi network and don't need any additional bridge or gateway.' That is a fully local control path with no WiZ cloud in it and no hub to buy — better, in the way that matters most to a self-hosting household, than any of the three voice platforms WiZ actually advertises. The integration exposes light entities among several platform types. ⚠ One setting decides whether this works, and it lives in WiZ's app rather than Home Assistant's: local communication must be enabled. Home Assistant's documentation states that 'Allow local communication' can be disabled or enabled in the WiZ app and should be enabled by default — so if it has been turned off, the local path is off with it. Rated 'full' on an explicit device-class match: the integration covers WiZ lights generally rather than naming this model, and that is the claim on this record most exposed to a future per-model list proving narrower. Home Assistant lists WiZ among its lights, so on/off, brightness, color and white color temperature all work there.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][11]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription, plan, tier or fee appears anywhere on the product page. Recorded 'none' on that basis — an absence of fee language rather than a vendor promise that the app stays free. The architecture supports the reading: Home Assistant's integration reaches these lights over the local network with no WiZ account involved, which means the lamp's core function does not sit behind a service that could be gated later.

Maintenance and offline use[1][3]

The catch

🔴 Start with Apple, because it is where this lamp is most likely to be misread. The only Apple integration WiZ names anywhere on the page is 'Siri Shortcuts'. HomeKit and Apple Home appear nowhere. Those are different things: Shortcuts gives you a spoken phrase that runs an action; Apple Home gives you a tile in the Home app, a light that sits in a room, automations that can address it, and something everyone in the house can control. Buy this expecting a lamp in Apple Home and you will not have one. Second, and this is the finding that shaped the whole record: WiZ's specification block carries a line reading 'Compatibility with 3rd party systems: Alexa, Google Home, IFTTT, Matter, Samsung Smartthings, Homey, Siri Shortcuts, Enki' — and that exact string also appears on WiZ's $15.39 candle bulb, checked in the same session. It is a statement about the WiZ platform, not about this lamp. Alexa and Google are also named in the lamp's "Works with" line, but the candle bulb's page carries that line word for word too, and neither line says how the lamp connects or what Alexa or Google can control; SmartThings and Matter are named only in the specification block, so treat all of them as platform-level claims and confirm before buying on them. Third, something WiZ never mentions: Home Assistant ships an official WiZ integration that is local push and needs no bridge or gateway, which makes this one of the few lamps in the subcategory with a control path that touches no vendor server at all. One catch attached to it — 'Allow local communication' has to be enabled in the WiZ app, and if someone has turned it off the local route goes with it. Fourth, a gap rather than a warning: WiZ publishes 13.5 W, 400 lumens, 2200-6500 K, a UL damp-location rating and a built-in INR18650 battery, but no runtime figure anywhere. For a portable lamp, how long it lasts off the charger is the specification buyers most want, and it is the one not published. Finally, on hubs the answer is clean and confirmed from both sides: 'No need to install additional hardware such as hub or gateway!'

Who it's for

A household on Alexa or Google Home that wants a portable, rechargeable colour lamp to move between a table, a shelf and a covered porch — the UL damp-location rating means outdoors under cover is within spec — and that will use the WiZ app for scenes. It also fits a Home Assistant household, though WiZ never says so: an official local-push integration with no bridge, no gateway and no vendor cloud is a more local route than anything WiZ advertises, and it makes this lamp unusually independent for a Wi-Fi product. Think twice if you are an Apple household expecting a light in the Home app, because Siri here runs through Shortcuts and nothing appears in Home. Think twice if SmartThings or Matter is the deciding factor, since both are claimed only in a compatibility field WiZ prints identically across its catalogue. And think twice if runtime matters to you — a lamp sold on being portable that publishes no battery life is asking you to find out for yourself.

Check availability at WiZ

This opens WiZ's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

22 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] WiZ, Mobile Portable Light product page (US) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Subscription, Market availability, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
  2. [2] WiZ, MODERN BULB Candle 40W B12 E12 product page (US) — used as a control — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Protocols
  3. [3] Home Assistant, WiZ integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Works without the internet
  4. [4] WiZ US product page, Mobile Portable Light (046677604356) — "Low stock · Current price is $98.99 $98.99 · Back to School Sale · Add to cart". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Research status, Price
  5. [5] Our own record maintenance: a repair pass over this catalogue's absence markers and everything they touched, verified 2026-08-27
  6. [6] https://www.wizconnected.com/en-us/p/table-lamps-mobile-portable-light/046677604356 (read 2026-09-09), Technical specifications: 'WiFi 802.11b/g/n', 'Communication protocol: Bluetooth, WiFi (2.4GHz)' and 'Compatible operating systems: Android, iOS'. The protocol row names the band as the device's radio rather than as a network requirement, and the operating-systems row is the vendor enumerating its app's platforms. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use, App platforms
  7. [7] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
  8. [8] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by WiZ (Signify) itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation of local control, or its own statement about this model — that the WiZ Mobile Portable Light keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: Home Assistant's own WiZ integration documentation (IoT class Local Push), including the condition that 'Allow local communication' must be enabled in the WiZ app., verified 2026-09-16
  9. [9] Signify's own WiZ product page for the Mobile Portable Light, already cited by this record, read end to end on 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check and searched for any statement about the internet, an outage, offline behaviour or local control. The page carries none of them: zero occurrences of any of those terms in the served page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
  10. [10] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  11. [11] WiZ, Mobile Portable Light — US product page, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Subscription, Market availability, Price, Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Batteries, Protocols
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  13. [13] WiZ's page for the Mobile Portable Light, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Adjust lights with your smartphone, voice, the WiZ remote control, or by using the existing wall switch to toggle between two favorite modes. Works with Google Home, Alexa and Siri Shortcuts." · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa Google Home IFTTT Matter Samsung Smartthings Homey Siri Shortcuts Enki" · "Matter functionality Via 3rd party hubs (Wi-Fi)". No sentence says how the lamp connects to Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings, or which of its controls reach them. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  14. [14] WiZ's page for an unrelated product (MODERN BULB Candle 40W B12 E12), read in full on 2026-10-07 as a control. It carries the same lines as the Mobile Portable Light's page: "Works with Google Home, Alexa and Siri Shortcuts." and "Adjust lights with your smartphone, voice, the WiZ remote control, or by using the existing wall switch to toggle between two favorite modes." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
  15. [15] Home Assistant's WiZ integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "allows you to control your WiZ lights and smart sockets. The devices are set up through your Wi-Fi network and don’t need any additional bridge or gateway." · "Categories Binary sensor Fan Light Number Sensor Switch". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
  16. [16] WiZ's own US product page for the Mobile portable light, read in full 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Set the right ambience with tunable warm to cool white light Choose from a wide range of energizing cool white to soft warm white light" · specification rows "Color temperature 2200-6500 K" and "Light color Coloured and white light (RGBW)". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Capabilities
  17. [17] WiZ's own US product page for the Mobile portable light, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Adjust lights with your smartphone, voice, the WiZ remote control, or by using the existing wall switch to toggle between two favorite modes. Works with Google Home, Alexa and Siri Shortcuts." · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa Google Home IFTTT Matter Samsung Smartthings Homey Siri Shortcuts". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  18. [18] Home Assistant's WiZ integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "allows you to control your WiZ lights and smart sockets. The devices are set up through your Wi-Fi network and don't need any additional bridge or gateway." · "Its IoT class is Local Push." · "Categories Binary sensor Fan Light Number Sensor Switch". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  19. [19] WiZ's page for an unrelated candle bulb, read in full on 2026-10-07; its compatibility row carries the same platform wording as the Mobile's. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
  20. [20] WiZ's own help article 'Alexa' (WiZ V2 Help Center), read in full on 2026-10-12. Verbatim: "Setting up Amazon Alexa Smart Home Add-on for WiZ METHOD 1 - APP-TO-APP LINKING In the WiZ app Tap on the Settings page, select Integrations under Current home, then tap on Amazon Alexa and click \"Link my account\"." · "In the search bar for Smart Home Skills, search for “WiZ” and select the add-on. Enable the Add-on." · "The current commands that can be used through Alexa are: Turn on [device name] Turn off [device name] Dim [device name] to X % (it sets brightness to X%) Brighten [device name] by Y (it adds Y% to current brightness) Dim [device name] by Z (it subtracts Z% to current brightness) Turn on [scene name] Set [lamp name] to red, blue, green... Set [lamp name] to warm white, daylight, cool white..." The article names no WiZ product., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  21. [21] WiZ's own help article 'Google Home' (WiZ V2 Help Center), read in full on 2026-10-12. Verbatim: "Go to the Google Home app and tap the “+” sign on the upper left corner. Select \"Set up device\" then choose “Have something already set up?”. Scroll down the list or type in “WiZ” to search. Select WiZ. You will be redirected to a page asking you to agree on linking your WiZ account with Google." · "You can turn on/off, adjust dimming and change the color of the individual lights by voice, start existing scenes or access additional features provided as part of Google Home." The article names no WiZ product., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  22. [22] WiZ's US product page for the Mobile Portable Light, read in full on 2026-10-21. Verbatim: "Works with Google Home, Alexa and Siri Shortcuts." · "Compatibility with 3rd party systems Alexa Google Home IFTTT Matter Samsung Smartthings Homey Siri Shortcuts Enki" · "Matter functionality Via 3rd party hubs (Wi-Fi)". HomeKit and Apple Home appear nowhere on the page. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check WiZ Mobile Portable Light with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker