Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-03

Ubiquiti UniFi G4 Doorbell

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Ubiquiti sells at least three doorbells and the names are one word apart: this 'G4 Doorbell' (UVC-G4-DoorBell, $199), the 'G4 Doorbell Pro' — a different, higher-tier product Ubiquiti describes as having an enhanced package-detection camera and an integrated display — and a 'Doorbell Lite' (UVC-Doorbell-Lite) below both. There is also a 'G4 Doorbell Pro PoE Kit', which is the Pro bundled with its power hardware rather than a fourth model. ⚠ And note the power difference this catalogue cares about: unlike Ubiquiti's PoE cameras, THIS doorbell runs on ordinary doorbell-transformer power and joins by WiFi.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[3][13]
[3][13]
[3][13]
[3][13]
[4][14]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · BLUETOOTH[1][11]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Ubiquiti hub or bridge

Setup and sources

A UniFi OS Console running Protect, per Ubiquiti's stated requirement. The Cloud Gateway Max (~$279 configured) is the cheapest verified here; Network Video Recorders and CloudKey+ also qualify. The doorbell counts against the console's camera capacity like any other Protect device.

Yes, and this is what separates a UniFi doorbell from every other doorbell here. Ubiquiti's own requirement for UniFi Protect is 'A UniFi Console running Protect'; there is no app-only mode and no cloud account that substitutes, so without a console this hardware does nothing. The cheapest console we verified that runs Protect is the Cloud Gateway Max at $279 as configured, plus a storage disk if you want recordings kept. Unlike Ubiquiti's other cameras, this doorbell does not need a network switch that powers it: it runs on ordinary doorbell-transformer power at 16 to 24 volts AC and joins the network over Wi-Fi.[3][13]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [14] [17]

Documented device function

Doorbell pressed

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [14] [17]

Documented device function

Motion detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [14] [17]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[5][14][17]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[3][13]Google HomeInconclusive[3][13]AlexaInconclusive[3][13]SmartThingsInconclusive[3][13]Home AssistantWorks[4][14]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Doorbell pressedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Same position — no Apple Home, HomeKit or Matter claim anywhere in Ubiquiti's physical-security documentation.[3][13]

Google Home

Same position as Alexa: no Google statement anywhere on Ubiquiti's pages that we read.[3][13]

Alexa

Not established. Ubiquiti names no voice assistant and no third-party smart-home platform on any first-party surface read for this record or for the console it requires. Qualified silence, not an evidenced absence.[3][13]

SmartThings

Same position: SmartThings is not named anywhere on Ubiquiti's pages that we read.[3][13]

Home Assistant

The one documented platform path, and it runs through the console rather than the doorbell. Home Assistant's official UniFi Protect integration is rated at its highest quality tier and works entirely on your home network, with no cloud round-trip. It supports every UniFi console that can run Protect and names the G4 Doorbell among the cameras with smart detections, with live streams, motion and object detection, a doorbell-ring event and notifications for automations. Both stated conditions attach to the console: only UniFi Protect running on a UniFi OS console is supported, and Home Assistant requires UniFi Protect 7.2.105 or later, with early-access builds unsupported.[4][14]

Device documentation: [5] [14] [17]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][13]Not established. Ubiquiti names no voice assistant and no third-party smart-home platform on any first-party surface read for this record or for the console it requires. Qualified silence, not an evidenced absence.
Google HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][13]Same position as Alexa: no Google statement anywhere on Ubiquiti's pages that we read.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][13]Same position — no Apple Home, HomeKit or Matter claim anywhere in Ubiquiti's physical-security documentation.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][13]Same position: SmartThings is not named anywhere on Ubiquiti's pages that we read.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][14]The one documented platform path, and it runs through the console rather than the doorbell. Home Assistant's official UniFi Protect integration is rated at its highest quality tier and works entirely on your home network, with no cloud round-trip. It supports every UniFi console that can run Protect and names the G4 Doorbell among the cameras with smart detections, with live streams, motion and object detection, a doorbell-ring event and notifications for automations. Both stated conditions attach to the console: only UniFi Protect running on a UniFi OS console is supported, and Home Assistant requires UniFi Protect 7.2.105 or later, with early-access builds unsupported.In Home Assistant you also need: the maker's own hub

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][13]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

⭐ No subscription and no licensing, stated by Ubiquiti in the negative: 'Absolutely not. Our goal is to provide you with a feature-rich security solution without any hidden or recurring fees', and 'Run 4 or 4,000 cameras - licensing is still $0.' On a shelf where the dominant business model is $5–20/month for recordings and person alerts, that is the whole argument for buying into this system — recordings live on hardware you own, and the detection runs locally. The cost is front-loaded into the console rather than spread across a plan.

Maintenance and offline use

Security updates[7][15]

UniFi publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

ASSESSED AND FOUND ABSENT, not unchecked (2026-08-20). Ubiquiti publishes an active security programme and no support period. What exists: a live advisory stream at ui.com/security-updates, running to Security Advisory Bulletin 069 when read on 3 October 2026, covering Cloud Gateways/CloudKeys, Protect and Network. What does not exist anywhere we could reach: any statement of how long a product receives security updates. Ubiquiti's own Vintage and Legacy page defines the two end-states in words — Vintage products "will continue to receive critical bug fixes and security updates", Legacy products "have stopped receiving updates" — but attaches NO duration, NO date, and does not list this product in either state. The practical position for a buyer: this vendor patches visibly and promises nothing in writing, so there is no date to hold them to.

The catch

Two things to weigh. First the system cost: a UniFi console is required, not optional, so a recording doorbell realistically means $199 plus about $279 for a Cloud Gateway Max plus storage, and Ubiquiti says plainly that without a disk the console keeps nothing. Second the generation gap: this is a 2-megapixel doorbell in a line whose current cameras are 8 megapixels, so it trails the 2K and 4K doorbells elsewhere here, and its splash rating and 14 °F floor are the least weather-hardened numbers in this group. What you buy for that is the absence of a bill: no subscription, no licensing, detection that runs on your own hardware, and recordings you own.

Who it's for

A household already committed to UniFi — one that owns or is buying a Protect console anyway — and wants the doorbell to live in the same system as the cameras, with no monthly fee and footage on its own hardware. Home Assistant homes get the strongest path here. If you want the sharpest doorbell image on this shelf, or a doorbell that works on its own out of the box, this is the wrong product: the resolution trails and the console is mandatory.

Check availability at UniFi

This opens UniFi's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

17 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] techspecs.ui.com, UniFi G4 Doorbell — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Batteries, Research status
  2. [2] store.ui.com, G4 Doorbell — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability
  3. [3] ui.com, UniFi Physical Security — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  4. [4] home-assistant.io, unifiprotect integration — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] Home Assistant, UniFi Protect integration documentation, read 2026-08-19 — a document written by the other side of the integration, which ENUMERATES the entities it creates rather than stating compatibility, and that is why it answers this where UniFi's own store page cannot. Unconditional for every UniFi Protect camera: "A camera entity for each active RTSPS quality (up to four: high, medium, low, and package)" and "Sensors — Sensors include 'Is Dark', 'Motion Detected', detected object sensors (if the camera supports smart detections), and 'Doorbell Chime' (if the camera has a chime)." The integration's Event Entities list names a "Doorbell Ring Event". The same page states which cameras have Smart Detections: "All 'AI' series cameras … All 'G4' series cameras. This includes the G4 Doorbell, G4 Bullet, G4 Pro and G4 Instant. G3 Series cameras do not have Smart detections." Cross-read against Ubiquiti's own store page for UVC-G4-Doorbell, which describes it as a "WiFi-connected doorbell with an integrated night vision camera and porch light." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Capabilities
  6. [6] This catalogue's own hub-edge data, swept 2026-08-19 against the 111 manufacturer records in src/data/manufacturers/., verified 2026-08-19
  7. [7] Ubiquiti's own surfaces, read 2026-08-20 with the tab content open for the first time (the 2026-08-20 tab-expansion ruling). (1) ui.com/security-updates — a live advisory stream, latest seen "Security Advisory Bulletin 066", tagged Official, spanning Cloud Gateways/CloudKeys, Protect and Network; 3,777 characters rendered with 2,503 more present in the DOM. (2) techspecs.ui.com — the specification tables that were unreadable until now: the G4 Doorbell page renders 2,326 characters and carries 20,364 in the document (mechanical, optics, video, system, network rows in full). NO support-period language appears in any of it. (3) help.ui.com's "Ubiquiti's Vintage and Legacy Products" article, which defines both end-states without a duration: Vintage products "will continue to receive critical bug fixes and security updates, and remain compatible with our management tools and customer support"; Legacy products "have stopped receiving updates and are no longer distributed by Ubiquiti". Neither definition carries a date, a number of years, or a trigger, and this product is listed in neither state. (4) The ~195,000 characters of Ubiquiti compliance and legal pages already read on an earlier pass, which contained zero support-period language. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  8. [8] Ubiquiti Help Center, "How UniFi Protect Protects Your Data" — under "Recordings Stay Local": "All video recordings are stored locally on your UniFi OS Console, such as the UNVR or Cloud Gateway Max. You are in full control of your data retention, storage configuration, and access policies. There's no cloud backup of your video by default." Under "AI is Local, Too": "All detection, recognition, and AI-enhanced video processing happens on your local network, not in the cloud." Corroborated by "UniFi Local Management": "UniFi Local Management is essential for instances when users experience an Internet outage and need to manage their deployment locally or for customers who prefer a fully airgapped setup without any cloud management." (https://help.ui.com/hc/en-us/articles/28457353760919-UniFi-Local-Management, read 2026-08-22) — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Works without the internet
  9. [9] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-05 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-05
  10. [10] Ubiquiti's own Trust Center page says UniFi Protect records camera footage straight to your UniFi console and never stores it in Ubiquiti's cloud, and that your security features keep working if Ubiquiti's cloud is unreachable. Recording and viewing on your own network carry on through an internet outage; alerts to your phone are sent through Ubiquiti's cloud, so those wait until the connection is back. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Works without the internet
  11. [11] Ubiquiti's specification page for the G4 Doorbell, read in full on 2026-10-03. Model "UVC-G4-DoorBell"; resolution "2MP 1600 x 1200 (4:3)"; networking "802.11a/b/g/n/ac WiFi Bluetooth™ 4.2"; power "16—24V AC, 1.25A max., 50/60 Hz"; weatherproofing "IPX4"; operating temperature "-10 to 40º C (14 to 104º F)"; mounting "Flat wall, 20° wedge (Included)"; audio rows 'Microphone' "Yes (Can be disabled)" and 'Speaker' "Yes"; software rows "Web application UniFi Protect" and "Mobile app UniFi Protect iOS™ and Android™". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Batteries, App platforms, Research status
  12. [12] Ubiquiti's US store page, read in full on 2026-10-03: "G4 Doorbell UVC-G4-Doorbell $199.00", described as a "WiFi-connected doorbell with an integrated night vision camera and porch light.", with the note "Third-party WiFi configuration available during setup with the UniFi Protect mobile app." The buy control reads "Notify me when available". No struck-through or compare-at price is shown. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability
  13. [13] Ubiquiti's UniFi Physical Security page, read in full on 2026-10-03. 'What do I need to get started?' answers "A UniFi Console running Protect", naming Cloud Gateways, Network Video Recorders and CloudKey+, and "* Compatible storage disk is only required to save recordings and does not impact real-time playback." 'Are there any fees?' answers "Absolutely not. Our goal is to provide you with a feature-rich security solution without any hidden or recurring fees." The licensing section reads "Run 4 or 4,000 cameras - licensing is still $0." and the access answer ends "Remote management is a free, optional feature." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  14. [14] Home Assistant's UniFi Protect integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Hardware: the integration "supports all UniFi OS Consoles that can run UniFi Protect." and "Only UniFi Protect running on a UniFi OS Console is supported." Software: "Home Assistant requires UniFi Protect 7.2.105 or later." and "Early Access and Release Candidate versions are not supported by Home Assistant." Device support: "All known UniFi Protect devices should be supported." and, of the cameras with smart detections, "This includes the G4 Doorbell". Events: the doorbell event "is triggered when someone rings the doorbell." Footer: "Its IoT class is Local Push." and "🏆 Platinum quality". — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
  15. [15] Ubiquiti's community release feed filtered to security updates, read in full on 2026-10-03 (rendered; a plain read returns only a loading shell). Newest entry "Security Advisory Bulletin 069", tagged 'Official' and 'Cloud Gateways / CloudKeys', released 11 days before the read; the list runs back to Bulletin 040, with several bulletins tagged 'Protect'. No entry or page text states how long any product receives security updates. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Security-update support period
  16. [16] Ubiquiti's Trust Center page, read in full on 2026-10-03 ("This was last updated on July 13, 2026."). Under UniFi Protect: "Camera footage is recorded directly to your NVR or other UniFi OS hardware. Footage is never stored in our cloud." Under where cloud integration is required: "Mobile Push Notifications Alerts are relayed through the cloud." Under the cloud being unreachable: "Even if Ubiquiti’s cloud services were temporarily offline, your local network and security features remain fully functional". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Works without the internet
  17. [17] Home Assistant's UniFi Protect integration page, read in full on 2026-10-15 (55,621 characters). Verbatim: "This integration supports the device types documented below. Other UniFi Protect devices, such as the AI Port and standalone speakers, are not supported." · "Each UniFi Protect camera will get a device in Home Assistant with the following: Camera - A camera entity" · "Doorbells will also have a “Voltage” sensor for troubleshooting electrical issues." · "Description : This event is triggered when someone rings the doorbell." · "Description : This event fires each time a camera starts detecting motion." — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Capabilities

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Ubiquiti UniFi G4 Doorbell with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker