Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-18

Ubiquiti UniFi Doorbell Lite

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ 'Lite' is a price and wiring tier here, NOT a picture tier, and reading it as one gets this shelf backwards. Ubiquiti sells three doorbells at once: this Doorbell Lite (UVC-Doorbell-Lite, $99, powered over its network cable only) has a 5MP 1920×2560 sensor — a HIGHER resolution than either model above it, both of which Ubiquiti specifies at 2MP 1600×1200: the G4 Doorbell ($199, Wi-Fi on a doorbell transformer) and the G4 Doorbell Pro ($299, with a second package-detection camera and a built-in display). What 'Lite' actually costs you is the wireless option and the extras, not the image. Note also that the store lists this product under a colour code — 'UVC-Doorbell-B' for black — rather than under the model number on its specification sheet.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[3][16]
[3][16]
[3][16]
[3][16]
[4][13][17]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: ETHERNET[1][15]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

A hub or controller is required

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Required for the device

Ubiquiti hub or bridge

Setup and sources

A UniFi OS Console running Protect, per Ubiquiti's stated requirement. ⚠ On this model the wiring is a second dependency and it is the one people underestimate: the specification sheet gives this doorbell a '10/100 MbE port' powered by 'PoE' at 'Max. Power Consumption 8W' and names no WiFi radio at all, so unlike the G4 Doorbell — which runs on an ordinary doorbell transformer and joins by WiFi — this one needs Ethernet run to the door. The console and the cable are both prerequisites, not upgrades.

Yes — a UniFi OS Console running the Protect application, and this is a system requirement rather than an optional accessory. Ubiquiti's own physical-security page names what it takes to start: 'A UniFi Console running Protect' plus a camera, with the footnote 'Compatible storage disk is only required to save recordings' — so a console without a disk gives you a live view and keeps nothing. The Cloud Gateway Max (~$279 as configured) is the cheapest console this catalogue has verified; Network Video Recorders and CloudKey+ also qualify. This doorbell counts against the console's device capacity like any other Protect camera.[1][3][16]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [7] [15]

Documented device function

Doorbell pressed

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [7] [15]

Documented device function

Person detected

The device reports this event.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [7] [15]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[7][15]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
1 documented
Reported events
4 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[3][16]Google HomeInconclusive[3][16]AlexaInconclusive[3][16]SmartThingsInconclusive[3][16]Home AssistantWorks; two-way audio unconfirmed[4][13][17]
Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Doorbell pressedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Person detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Vehicle detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Pet detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Same position — no Apple Home, HomeKit or Matter claim anywhere in Ubiquiti's physical-security documentation or on this product's specification sheet.[3][16]

Google Home

Same position as Alexa — Ubiquiti says nothing about Google on any page we read.[3][16]

Alexa

Not established. Ubiquiti names no voice assistant and no third-party smart-home platform on any first-party surface read for this record or for the console it requires — a token search of its physical-security page found Alexa, Google Home, Apple HomeKit, SmartThings and Matter all absent. Qualified silence, not an evidenced absence: a vendor who publishes no compatibility list anywhere has told you nothing, rather than told you no.[3][16]

SmartThings

Same position — SmartThings is not named on any Ubiquiti page we read.[3][16]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant's official UniFi Protect integration, which carries its top quality rating, shows this doorbell's live video, rings and detections through your UniFi console, on your own network. It can play audio through the doorbell's speaker but doesn't say you can talk back and forth with a visitor, so two-way audio in Home Assistant is unconfirmed. It needs UniFi Protect 7.2.105 or later running on a UniFi OS console.[4][13][17]

Device documentation: [7] [15]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][16]Not established. Ubiquiti names no voice assistant and no third-party smart-home platform on any first-party surface read for this record or for the console it requires — a token search of its physical-security page found Alexa, Google Home, Apple HomeKit, SmartThings and Matter all absent. Qualified silence, not an evidenced absence: a vendor who publishes no compatibility list anywhere has told you nothing, rather than told you no.
Google HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][16]Same position as Alexa — Ubiquiti says nothing about Google on any page we read.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][16]Same position — no Apple Home, HomeKit or Matter claim anywhere in Ubiquiti's physical-security documentation or on this product's specification sheet.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[3][16]Same position — SmartThings is not named on any Ubiquiti page we read.
Home AssistantWorks; two-way audio unconfirmedWorks; two-way audio unconfirmed — see the catch[4][13][17]Home Assistant's official UniFi Protect integration, which carries its top quality rating, shows this doorbell's live video, rings and detections through your UniFi console, on your own network. It can play audio through the doorbell's speaker but doesn't say you can talk back and forth with a visitor, so two-way audio in Home Assistant is unconfirmed. It needs UniFi Protect 7.2.105 or later running on a UniFi OS console.In Home Assistant you also need: the maker's own hub

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][16]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

⭐ No subscription and no licensing, and Ubiquiti states it in the negative rather than leaving it to be inferred: 'Absolutely not. Our goal is to provide you with a feature-rich security solution without any hidden or recurring fees.' The same page explains where the footage lives instead — 'All security footage remains local to your UniFi Console to avoid unnecessary cloud storage for maximum data privacy.' On a shelf whose dominant business model is $5–20 a month for recordings and person alerts, the absence of a bill is the whole argument for buying into this system; the cost is front-loaded into the console and the storage disk rather than spread across a plan.

Maintenance and offline use

Security updates[6]

UniFi publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.

ASSESSED AND FOUND ABSENT, not unchecked (2026-08-20). Ubiquiti publishes an active security programme and no support period. What exists: a live advisory stream at ui.com/security-updates, running to Security Advisory Bulletin 066 at the time of reading, covering Cloud Gateways/CloudKeys, Protect and Network. What does not exist anywhere we could reach: any statement of how long a product receives security updates. Ubiquiti's own Vintage and Legacy page defines the two end-states in words — Vintage products "will continue to receive critical bug fixes and security updates", Legacy products "have stopped receiving updates" — but attaches NO duration, NO date, and does not list this product in either state. The practical position for a buyer: this vendor patches visibly and promises nothing in writing, so there is no date to hold them to.

The catch

The $99 buys a doorbell that does nothing on its own. A UniFi console running Protect is required — realistically another $279 and a storage disk on top — and this model, unlike the G4 Doorbell beside it, has no WiFi at all: it is a PoE device with a 10/100 Ethernet port, so somebody has to run a network cable to the front door. Budget the install, not just the box. What is genuinely surprising in the other direction is the sensor: at 5MP this 'Lite' outresolves both pricier Ubiquiti doorbells, which are 2MP. And the reason to accept all of that is the bill you never get — no subscription, no licensing, footage kept on hardware you own.

Who it's for

A household or small site that already runs UniFi — or is about to — and wants the cheapest way to put a doorbell on a system with no monthly fee, where a network cable to the door is either already there or not a problem to pull. Wherever Ethernet is available, it costs half as much as the $199 G4 Doorbell and sees more. It is the wrong pick for anyone replacing a wireless doorbell without rewiring, for anyone who wants Alexa or Apple Home to answer the door, or for a household that does not want to own a console.

Check availability at UniFi

This opens UniFi's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

19 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] techspecs.ui.com, UniFi Doorbell Lite specification sheet — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge
  2. [2] store.ui.com, Doorbell Lite product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability, Research status
  3. [3] ui.com, physical-security overview — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  4. [4] home-assistant.io, UniFi Protect integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] This catalogue's own hub-edge data, swept 2026-08-19 against the 111 manufacturer records in src/data/manufacturers/., verified 2026-08-19
  6. [6] Ubiquiti's own surfaces, read 2026-08-20 with the tab content open for the first time (the 2026-08-20 tab-expansion ruling). (1) ui.com/security-updates — a live advisory stream, latest seen "Security Advisory Bulletin 066", tagged Official, spanning Cloud Gateways/CloudKeys, Protect and Network; 3,777 characters rendered with 2,503 more present in the DOM. (2) techspecs.ui.com — the specification tables that were unreadable until now: the G4 Doorbell page renders 2,326 characters and carries 20,364 in the document (mechanical, optics, video, system, network rows in full). NO support-period language appears in any of it. (3) help.ui.com's "Ubiquiti's Vintage and Legacy Products" article, which defines both end-states without a duration: Vintage products "will continue to receive critical bug fixes and security updates, and remain compatible with our management tools and customer support"; Legacy products "have stopped receiving updates and are no longer distributed by Ubiquiti". Neither definition carries a date, a number of years, or a trigger, and this product is listed in neither state. (4) The ~195,000 characters of Ubiquiti compliance and legal pages already read on an earlier pass, which contained zero support-period language. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  7. [7] techspecs.ui.com/unifi/cameras-nvrs/uvc-doorbell-lite, read 2026-08-20 with the tab content open (1,993 characters rendered, 30,071 in the document). Ubiquiti's own specification table states: "Smart Detections (People, Vehicles, Animals) ✓", under Audio "Two-way audio", and under Button: "(1) Ring button (1) Factory reset". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  8. [8] Ubiquiti Help Center, "How UniFi Protect Protects Your Data" — under "Recordings Stay Local": "All video recordings are stored locally on your UniFi OS Console, such as the UNVR or Cloud Gateway Max. You are in full control of your data retention, storage configuration, and access policies. There's no cloud backup of your video by default." Under "AI is Local, Too": "All detection, recognition, and AI-enhanced video processing happens on your local network, not in the cloud." Corroborated by "UniFi Local Management": "UniFi Local Management is essential for instances when users experience an Internet outage and need to manage their deployment locally or for customers who prefer a fully airgapped setup without any cloud management." (https://help.ui.com/hc/en-us/articles/28457353760919-UniFi-Local-Management, read 2026-08-22) — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-22
    Backs: Works without the internet
  9. [9] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
  10. [10] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  11. [11] Ubiquiti's own Trust Center page says UniFi Protect records camera footage straight to your UniFi console and never stores it in Ubiquiti's cloud, and that your security features keep working if Ubiquiti's cloud is unreachable. Recording and viewing on your own network carry on through an internet outage; alerts to your phone are sent through Ubiquiti's cloud, so those wait until the connection is back. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-22
    Backs: Works without the internet
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-25 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-25
  13. [13] Home Assistant's UniFi Protect integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "supports all UniFi OS Consoles that can run UniFi Protect." · "Home Assistant requires UniFi Protect 7.2.105 or later." · "Live camera feeds use the RTSPS streams provided by the UniFi Protect public API." · "Device type Full access API key only Camera ✅ ✅ (streams and snapshots only)" · "Media Player - If your camera has a speaker, you will get a media player entity ... that allows you to play audio to your camera’s speaker." · "Its IoT class is Local Push. 🏆 Platinum quality". The page states live video and playing audio to a camera's speaker; it does not state two-way talk. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  14. [14] Ubiquiti's US store page for the Doorbell Lite, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Doorbell Lite UVC-Doorbell-B $99.00 $116.00 Surcharges incl." · "Compact PoE video doorbell with two-way audio and versatile mounting options." · "Add to Cart". The page's own price data for the variant 'UVC-Doorbell-B' gives a selling price of 9900 US cents and 11600 with surcharges, carries no regular price and no campaign discount, and marks the item 'Available'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Price, Product identity, Market availability
  15. [15] Ubiquiti's technical specification page for the Doorbell Lite, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Doorbell Lite UVC-Doorbell-Lite" · "Resolution 5MP 1920 x 2560 (3:4)" · "Smart Detections (People, Vehicles, Animals) ✓" · "Audio Two-way audio" · "Button (1) Ring button (1) Factory reset" · "Max. Power Consumption 8W Supported Voltage Range 37—57V DC Power Method PoE" · "Networking Interface 10/100 MbE port". No Wi-Fi or Bluetooth row is present, and the page states no live view. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Capabilities
  16. [16] Ubiquiti's UniFi Protect page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "What do I need to get started? A UniFi Console running Protect" · "* Compatible storage disk is only required to save recordings and does not impact real-time playback." · "Are there any fees? Absolutely not. Our goal is to provide you with a feature-rich security solution without any hidden or recurring fees." Alexa, Apple HomeKit and SmartThings are named nowhere on the page; Google appears only as Google Drive for video archiving. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  17. [17] Home Assistant's UniFi Protect integration page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "supports all UniFi OS Consoles that can run UniFi Protect." · "Home Assistant requires UniFi Protect 7.2.105 or later." · "Live camera feeds use the RTSPS streams provided by the UniFi Protect public API." · "If your camera has a speaker, you will get a media player entity". The IoT class reads Local Push and the quality scale Platinum. The page states no two-way talk. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  18. [18] Ubiquiti's security advisory stream, read in full on 2026-10-08 (the plain read returns a 65-character shell, so it was read rendered). The newest item is "Security Advisory Bulletin 069"; the stream lists advisories and states no support period for any product. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
  19. [19] Ubiquiti's Trust Center page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Camera footage is recorded directly to your NVR or other UniFi OS hardware. Footage is never stored in our cloud." · "we architect our solutions so that critical features remain operational—even if the cloud is offline." · "push notifications, or remote alerts—rely on Ubiquiti’s cloud." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Works without the internet

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Ubiquiti UniFi Doorbell Lite with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker