Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-25

TP-Link Kasa Smart Ceiling Fan Control and Dimmer Switch (KS240)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][17]
[1][17][23][26]
[1][17][23][25]
[2]
[3][20][24]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][17]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

No hub, and TP-Link names none anywhere on the page — this is a Wi-Fi switch that talks to your router directly. What it does require is wiring, and one requirement is absolute and stated twice: 'Neutral Wire Required: Yes', with the installation note 'Neutral wire is required. Connect wires to the smart switch as below.' That is the single fact that decides whether you can buy this, and it is decided by your house rather than by you — older US switch boxes frequently have no neutral, and no setting or adapter works around it. Check the box before ordering. The switch replaces a combined fan-and-light wall control, so it is a two-load device in one gang: it sets fan speed and dims the light from the same faceplate.[1][21]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [21]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [21]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [1] [21]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[1][21]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[1][17]Google HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][17][23][26]AlexaWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][17][23][25]SmartThingsDoesn't work[2]Home AssistantWorks[3][20][24]
On/offDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Doesn't work

Control

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

A real Apple Home answer, and it is worth saying so explicitly because two other products verified this same week turned out to offer only Siri Shortcuts dressed up as Apple support. TP-Link's own words describe the Home app rather than a voice phrase: 'Easily integrate your KS240 with Apple Home to conveniently manage your connected fans and lights using the Apple Home App or with voice commands by asking Siri.' A device you manage in the Apple Home App is a device in Apple Home — a tile, a room, something automations can address and the household can share. TP-Link also uses Apple's current name for the platform rather than the retired 'HomeKit' branding. One thing NOT published: TP-Link does not say whether the route is HomeKit or Matter, so the mechanism is recorded as native and local on the strength of the Home-app statement rather than a stated protocol. Matter is named nowhere on the page.[1][17]

Google Home

TP-Link connects this switch to Google Home when you link your TP-Link account through Works with Google Home in the Google Home app. TP-Link doesn't say which controls Google gets, so on/off, dimming and fan speed are unconfirmed there.[1][17][23][26]

Alexa

TP-Link connects this switch to Alexa through the Kasa skill, which you turn on in the Alexa app and sign in to with your TP-Link account. TP-Link doesn't say which controls Alexa gets, so on/off, dimming and fan speed are unconfirmed there.[1][17][23][25]

SmartThings

Plan on a different switch if SmartThings runs your house. TP-Link's specification sheet for the KS240 has a line headed 'Third-Party Platform', and the whole of it reads Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant. SmartThings is not on it, and that line is where TP-Link says what a switch works with. This is not the company ignoring SmartThings generally: the same line on TP-Link's own Tapo S505 switch does carry Samsung SmartThings, so TP-Link adds it where it applies, and for this fan-and-light switch it did not. Apple Home, Alexa or Google Home are the three that are stood behind here.[2]

Home Assistant

⊕ The strongest cell on this record, and unusually so because it rests on a MODEL NAME rather than a device class. Home Assistant ships an official TP-Link Smart Home integration, IoT class 'Local Polling', which 'allows you to control your TP-Link Kasa Smart Home Devices and TP-Link Tapo Devices' — and its supported-wall-switch list names KS240 explicitly, alongside HS200, HS210, HS220, KS200, KS200M, KS205, KS220, KS220M, KS225 and KS230. Most integration cells in this catalogue rest on a class match that a future model list could narrow; this one is already at model granularity. The integration covers fans and lights among its device categories, which matters for a two-load switch. ⚠ One condition attached to this model specifically: Home Assistant footnotes KS240 as requiring authentication, so expect to supply TP-Link account credentials during setup even though the control path itself is local. TP-Link names Home Assistant nowhere — the whole cell comes from the other side.[3][20][24]

Device documentation: [1] [21]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[1][17]A real Apple Home answer, and it is worth saying so explicitly because two other products verified this same week turned out to offer only Siri Shortcuts dressed up as Apple support. TP-Link's own words describe the Home app rather than a voice phrase: 'Easily integrate your KS240 with Apple Home to conveniently manage your connected fans and lights using the Apple Home App or with voice commands by asking Siri.' A device you manage in the Apple Home App is a device in Apple Home — a tile, a room, something automations can address and the household can share. TP-Link also uses Apple's current name for the platform rather than the retired 'HomeKit' branding. One thing NOT published: TP-Link does not say whether the route is HomeKit or Matter, so the mechanism is recorded as native and local on the strength of the Home-app statement rather than a stated protocol. Matter is named nowhere on the page.
Amazon AlexaWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][17][23][25]TP-Link connects this switch to Alexa through the Kasa skill, which you turn on in the Alexa app and sign in to with your TP-Link account. TP-Link doesn't say which controls Alexa gets, so on/off, dimming and fan speed are unconfirmed there.
Google HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][17][23][26]TP-Link connects this switch to Google Home when you link your TP-Link account through Works with Google Home in the Google Home app. TP-Link doesn't say which controls Google gets, so on/off, dimming and fan speed are unconfirmed there.
SmartThingsDoesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2]Plan on a different switch if SmartThings runs your house. TP-Link's specification sheet for the KS240 has a line headed 'Third-Party Platform', and the whole of it reads Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant. SmartThings is not on it, and that line is where TP-Link says what a switch works with. This is not the company ignoring SmartThings generally: the same line on TP-Link's own Tapo S505 switch does carry Samsung SmartThings, so TP-Link adds it where it applies, and for this fan-and-light switch it did not. Apple Home, Alexa or Google Home are the three that are stood behind here.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][20][24]⊕ The strongest cell on this record, and unusually so because it rests on a MODEL NAME rather than a device class. Home Assistant ships an official TP-Link Smart Home integration, IoT class 'Local Polling', which 'allows you to control your TP-Link Kasa Smart Home Devices and TP-Link Tapo Devices' — and its supported-wall-switch list names KS240 explicitly, alongside HS200, HS210, HS220, KS200, KS200M, KS205, KS220, KS220M, KS225 and KS230. Most integration cells in this catalogue rest on a class match that a future model list could narrow; this one is already at model granularity. The integration covers fans and lights among its device categories, which matters for a two-load switch. ⚠ One condition attached to this model specifically: Home Assistant footnotes KS240 as requiring authentication, so expect to supply TP-Link account credentials during setup even though the control path itself is local. TP-Link names Home Assistant nowhere — the whole cell comes from the other side.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][3][17]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[6][27]

No subscription, plan, tier or fee appears anywhere on the product page. Recorded 'none' on that basis — an absence of fee language rather than a vendor promise. The Home Assistant route reinforces it from the other side: that integration is local polling, so the switch can be driven with no TP-Link service in the path at all.

Maintenance and offline use[1]

The catch

The first thing to check is not a feature, it is your wall. 'Neutral Wire Required: Yes' — stated plainly by TP-Link and repeated in the installation instructions — and that requirement is settled by the age of your house rather than by anything you can configure. Plenty of US switch boxes, especially in older homes, have no neutral, and there is no adapter or setting that works around it. Open the box and look before you order. Second, what this switch is for: it is a combined fan-and-light control replacing a single wall plate, setting fan speed and dimming the light from one gang. That is the reason to choose it over a plain fan controller, and it is also why the undocumented voice depth below matters more here than it would on a simpler device. Third, the Apple question, which this product gets RIGHT in a way worth calling out: TP-Link says you 'manage your connected fans and lights using the Apple Home App or with voice commands by asking Siri'. That is a device in Apple Home, not a Siri phrase — a genuine tile you can automate and share, and a different thing from the Shortcuts-only arrangements some vendors describe with similar-sounding words. What TP-Link does not say is whether that runs over HomeKit or Matter; Matter is named nowhere on the page. Fourth, the gap: TP-Link publishes no command set for Alexa or Google. On a two-load switch that is a real unknown — whether you can say a fan speed rather than just 'on', and whether the light's brightness is voice-addressable, are not documented anywhere on the page. Fifth, and this is the pleasant surprise TP-Link never mentions: Home Assistant's official integration names KS240 by model in its supported list and drives it over the local network, so a self-hosting household gets local control without TP-Link's cloud — with the footnoted catch that this model requires authentication at setup. Finally, on price: TP-Link publishes none on its own page, only a button that hands you to a retailer.

Who it's for

The household with a ceiling fan and light on one wall switch, a confirmed neutral wire in the box, and a willingness to do a straightforward but real wiring job. It suits an Apple Home household particularly well, because the Apple support here is the genuine article — a device in the Home app rather than a Siri shortcut — and that is scarcer in this subcategory than the marketing across the category suggests. It is equally strong for a Home Assistant user, where the official integration names this exact model and controls it locally. Alexa and Google households are well served too, with the honest caveat that TP-Link documents no voice command set, so how precisely you can set a fan speed by voice is something you will discover rather than read. Think twice if your switch box has no neutral wire, which rules the product out entirely; if you need SmartThings, which TP-Link's specification sheet leaves off its list of platforms this switch works with; or if you want the manufacturer's price before you shop, since TP-Link publishes none.

Check availability at TP-Link (Kasa)

This opens TP-Link (Kasa)'s own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

27 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] TP-Link, Kasa KS240 product page (US) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Works without the internet, Capabilities, Subscription, Market availability, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Research status
  2. [2] TP-Link, Kasa KS240 product page (US) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  3. [3] Home Assistant, TP-Link Smart Home integration documentation — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-08-05
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Subscription
  4. [4] TP-Link, IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo & Kasa Products (FAQ 5154) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11
    Backs: Service status
  5. [5] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., "PSTI STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE" (static.tp-link.com, document dated 2026-03-18), read in full 2026-08-20 — a signed regulatory declaration under Schedule 1 of the UK PSTI Regulations 2023, covering "the TP-Link brand and its subsidiaries". Its support-period rule is stated verbatim: "TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date." The document then carries a per-model table — Product/Model Name, Model Number, Defined Support Period — with real dates (e.g. "20/2/2029", "11/7/2027", "31/12/2029 or later*") given SEPARATELY FOR EACH HARDWARE VERSION. TP-Link's own end-of-life FAQ (tp-link.com/uk/support/faq/3562/), read the same day, defines EOL as production having "ended on the model or the specific version of the model" and lists Home Networking and Business Networking products only — no Kasa or Tapo smart-home models appear in it. The Kasa KS240 appears nowhere in the table. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  6. [6] KS240(US)1.0 official datasheet (static.tp-link.com, from TP-Link's own KS240 support-download page), 'HomeKit Supported' feature block, read 2026-08-21; the setup procedure itself from the HomeKit card TP-Link publishes on that same download page (tp-link.com/us/document/127542/) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  7. [7] Our own record maintenance: a repair pass over this catalogue's absence markers and everything they touched, verified 2026-08-27
  8. [8] Our own record maintenance: filling in which regions the maker's security-update statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  9. [9] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was replaced by the read that actually established this record, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  10. [10] The three TP-Link pages cited on this record (read 2026-09-09) carry no band or platform statement for the KS240. ⊖ Notable because two of its siblings in this same series DID fill from a 'Wireless Type' spec row — the Tapo S505 and the Tapo P125M — so the row exists on TP-Link's Tapo pages and not on this Kasa one. The route that would answer it is the KS240's own tp-link.com specification page, which this record does not cite. Both stay blank: checked, and nothing found to publish. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09
  11. [11] https://static.tp-link.com/upload/product-overview/2023/202312/20231206/KS240(US)1.0_Datasheet_V1.pdf — TP-Link's own datasheet for the KS240(US) 1.0, already cited on this record, re-read 2026-09-12 (1.66 MB). Under 'Communication', verbatim and in the file's own order: 'Secured home Wi-Fi connection required' · 'Wi-Fi Protocol: IEEE 802.11b/g/n' · 'Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4GHz' · 'Setup: Bluetooth'. ⚖ THE THREE LINES ARE SEPARATE AND THAT IS WHY THIS FILLS WHERE OTHERS IN THIS SERIES REFUSED: the requirement sentence about the buyer's network is its own bullet, and 'Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4GHz' is a row of the DEVICE's own communication specification — a band enumeration, not a router prerequisite. IDENTITY: the datasheet's title block names KS240(US)1.0, which is this record's model number, KS240. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-12
    Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
  12. [12] The datasheet above names the Kasa Smart app repeatedly ('Control your lights and fan from anywhere with the Kasa Smart app') and never states which phone platforms it runs on; its only platform words belong to APPLE's app, not TP-Link's — 'Easily manage your connected fans and lights using the Apple Home app and Siri on your iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, HomePod, or Mac', which is the HomeKit integration this record already documents and says nothing about the Kasa app. The product page https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-switch/ks240/v1%20(1-pack)/ was read browser-rendered with tabs expanded 2026-09-12 (7,147 characters after opening 17 tabs) and carries no App Store link, no Google Play link and no platform row. Which phone platforms the app runs on stays blank: checked, and nothing found to publish. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-12
  13. [13] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  14. [14] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-15 (no external read), verified 2026-09-15
  15. [15] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by TP-Link (Kasa) itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation of local control, or its own statement about this model — that the KS240 keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: Home Assistant's own TP-Link integration documentation (IoT class Local Polling), whose supported Kasa wall-switch list names KS240 explicitly., verified 2026-09-16
  16. [16] The TP-Link surfaces this record cites, read 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check (tp-link.com and static.tp-link.com are open on the register). The KS240 datasheet PDF was downloaded and its text extracted in full: it contains no occurrence of 'internet', 'offline', 'local' or 'cloud'. Verbatim from that datasheet: 'Control from Anywhere — Control your lights and fan from anywhere with the Kasa Smart app. No more worrying about forgetting to turn off the lights.'; 'App & Voice Control — Control the fan and lights through compatible smart home app or voice assistants.'; 'Voice Control — Use simple voice commands with Alexa, Siri or Google Assistant to conveniently control the fan and light.' The model's own product page was read end to end the same day and carries no sentence about behaviour without an internet connection. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
  17. [17] TP-Link, Kasa Smart Ceiling Fan Control and Dimmer Switch KS240 (v1, 1-pack) US product page, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Product identity, Protocols, Installation, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Subscription, Research status
  18. [18] the record's own customer-facing prose as it stood before 2026-09-24 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-24
  19. [19] TP-Link FAQ 5154, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', last updated July 9, 2026, read in full 2026-09-25. Verbatim: "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." and "For continued automation needs, we highly recommend using the Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app to create seamless, powerful local automations." 'KS240' still appears in the Smart Switches row of the affected-model list, matched as the full model string. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-25
    Backs: Service status
  20. [20] Home Assistant's own TP-Link Smart Home integration page, as read at 02:59 UTC on 2026-09-26. Under its "Supported Devices" heading, the "Supported Kasa devices" list names this product's model number KS240 in its "Wall Switches" group, which reads ES20M, HS200, HS210, HS220, KP405, KS200, KS200M, KS205, KS220, KS220M, KS225, KS230 and KS240 (footnote markers on several models omitted here). The section opens by saying devices not listed may still work and points to python-kasa for hardware and firmware versions. The page's "Known limitations" section names no model., verified 2026-09-26
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  21. [21] TP-Link's own US product page for the Kasa KS240, read in full on 2026-09-30. Verbatim: "Basic Wiring Guide Neutral wire is required. Connect wires to the smart switch as below." · "Circuit Type Single Pole Neutral Wire Required Yes" · "Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth (for setup only)" · "4-Speed Fan Control" · "1-100% Dimming Control" · "Schedule your lights and fans to turn on/off at your preferred brightness and speed." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Power source, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities
  22. [22] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: TP-Link's UK security statement of 18 March 2026 was read again in full on 2026-10-02. It prints the company's general rule and has no row for the KS240., verified 2026-10-02
  23. [23] TP-Link's own US KS240 page, read in full on 2026-10-04 (same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "Voice Control – Manage your connected fan and light with voice commands via Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri ® , or Google Assistant." · "Use simple voice commands with Siri®, Alexa, or Google Assistant. No more fumbling to reach for the pull chains. Hey Siri®, adjust the fan speed to max." · "Third-Party Platform • Apple Home • Alexa • Google Assistant". The page names no way of connecting to Alexa or Google and no function for either. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  24. [24] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page (documentation 2026.9.4), read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Wall Switches : ES20M, HS200 2 , HS210, HS220 2 , KP405, KS200, KS200M, KS205 1 , KS220, KS220M, KS225 1 , KS230, KS240 1" · "Light entities are added for bulbs, light strips, and dimmer switches." · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." · "Its IoT class is Local Polling." · "Categories Binary sensor Button Camera Climate Fan Hub Light Number Select Sensor Siren Switch Vacuum". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  25. [25] TP-Link's support article 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Amazon Alexa' (FAQ 944, "Last updated: June 30, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash 73aba713ba59…). Verbatim: "Tapo and Kasa devices can be linked to Amazon Alexa using two methods: through the Tapo or Kasa app under Me > Third-Party Services > Amazon Alexa, or by searching for the Tapo or Kasa skill directly in the Amazon Alexa app." · "Step 2. Enter and search for Tapo/Kasa. Step 3. Tap the ENABLE TO USE button. Step 4. Follow the instructions to link your Tapo/Kasa account with Alexa." · "as it's a Cloud-to-Cloud service" (camera live feed) · "If you added Kasa devices through the Tapo app, they will not show up in Amazon Alexa when you link only your Tapo account." Its "This Article Applies to" list names "KS240"., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  26. [26] TP-Link's support article 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Smart Devices to Google Home' (FAQ 1534, "Last updated: September 4, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash 1394343ce658…). Verbatim: "You can link them through the Tapo or Kasa app under Me > Third-Party Service > Google Assistant , or directly from the Google Home app using Works with Google Home ." · "Step 2: Tap Works with Google Home , and search Tapo/Kasa." · "Tapo camera live streaming through Google Assistant is a Cloud-to-Cloud service." · "Google Home app supports live streaming from Tapo cameras." · "If you added Kasa devices through the Tapo app, they will not show up in Google Home when you link only your Tapo account." Its "This Article Applies to" list names "KS240"., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  27. [27] TP-Link's own datasheet for the KS240(US) 1.0, read in full on 2026-10-12 through tools/page-read.mjs --pdf. Verbatim: "HomeKit Supported" with "Easily manage your connected fans and lights using the Apple Home" (the sentence runs across the two-column layout) · "Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4GHz" · "Setup: Bluetooth". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Vendor account required, Wi-Fi bands it can use

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check TP-Link Kasa Smart Ceiling Fan Control and Dimmer Switch (KS240) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker