Product Library / Switches & Dimmers

Research profile · verified 2026-09-30 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02

TP-Link Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch KS225 (Matter)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your home?

[16][18][27][43][52]
[16][18][27]
[16][18][27]
[16][18][27]
[5][22][26][32][37][44][55]

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · MATTER[1][2][3][4][13][18][19][24][27][28][30][43][52]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [18] [27] [43] [52]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [18] [27] [43] [52]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[11][18][27][43][52]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[16][18][27][43][52]Google HomeWorks[16][18][27]AlexaWorks[16][18][27]SmartThingsWorks[16][18][27]Home AssistantWorks[5][22][26][32][37][44][55]
On/offDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ Listed for this device type

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

A device-type listing describes the platform’s general support; it does not confirm this exact model.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

No native HomeKit; Apple Home and Siri work only through Matter; an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control. TP-Link names the Apple Home app explicitly.[16][18][27][43][52]

Google Home

Works with Google Home per the official datasheet; Matter is an alternative path.[16][18][27]

Alexa

Works with Alexa per the official datasheet; Matter is an alternative path. The native path rides the TP-Link cloud account link.[16][18][27]

SmartThings

Works with SmartThings per the official datasheet; Matter is an alternative path.[16][18][27]

Home Assistant

Official tplink integration, local polling, KS225 explicitly listed, with the footnote 'Model requires authentication': TP-Link cloud credentials must be entered once to enable local access.[5][22][26][32][37][44][55]

Device documentation: [11] [18] [27] [43] [52]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[16][18][27]Works with Alexa per the official datasheet; Matter is an alternative path. The native path rides the TP-Link cloud account link.
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[16][18][27]Works with Google Home per the official datasheet; Matter is an alternative path.
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[16][18][27][43][52]No native HomeKit; Apple Home and Siri work only through Matter; an iPhone on iOS 18 or later can add and control it over Matter without a home hub, and a HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV is still needed to control it away from home, run automations and share control. TP-Link names the Apple Home app explicitly.
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[16][18][27]Works with SmartThings per the official datasheet; Matter is an alternative path.
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][22][26][32][37][44][55]Official tplink integration, local polling, KS225 explicitly listed, with the footnote 'Model requires authentication': TP-Link cloud credentials must be entered once to enable local access.

Plans and ongoing costs[6][18][27][43]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[14][21][29][48]

On Apple Home via Matter: No — no vendor account is involved.[48]

No subscription tier is attached to this switch: TP-Link's product page and datasheet name no plan and no fee, and describe schedules and remote control as features of the Kasa Smart app.

Maintenance and offline use[6]

Who it's for

A fit for single-pole locations in homes that want one dimmer visible to Alexa, Google, SmartThings, Apple Home (via Matter), and Home Assistant without a hub, on a 2.4 GHz network with a neutral wire in the box.

Check availability at TP-Link (Kasa)

This opens TP-Link (Kasa)'s own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

55 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] tp-link.com product page for this model (read 2026-08-09): "Specifications NETWORK Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only) · Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth 4.2 (for setup only)" · prose: "No Hub Required – Connects directly to your home's secured 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network". DCL: VID 5009 (Kasa), PID 514 'Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch' [part KS225] — registered. · DCL vendor resolution via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: 'TP-Link' matches VID 4488 (TP-Link), 5009 (Kasa) and 5010 (Tapo), all legal name 'TP-Link Systems Inc.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-switch/ks225/v1/ (page titled 'Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Light Switch, Matter') — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Protocols, Required hub or bridge
  3. [3] KS225(US)1.0 Datasheet V1 (static.tp-link.com) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Protocols
  4. [4] csa-iot.org/csa_product/kasa-smart-wi-fi-dimmer-switch/ — TP-Link Systems Inc., Matter spec 1.0, certified 2023-01-06, cert ID CSA23100MAT40613-24, WiFi+Bluetooth transport. Listing does not print the model string 'KS225'; match is by product name, company, and transport — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Protocols
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  5. [5] home-assistant.io/integrations/tplink/ — official, local polling, KS225 in Wall Switches list with footnote 'Model requires authentication' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  6. [6] tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-switch/ks225/v1/ read 2026-08-11: title 'Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Light Switch, Matter'; 'Maximum Load: 300W INC/HAL,150W LED (TRIAC Dimmable)'; 'Leading Edge Dimming / TRIAC Phase Cut'; NETWORK 'Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only)'; works-with list 'Matter-Certified, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings'; no price shown and no subscription, plan or paid tier mentioned anywhere on the page; purchase routed via a BUY NOW button to Amazon rather than a first-party store. · KS225(US)1.0 Datasheet V1 (static.tp-link.com), re-read 2026-08-11: 'Neutral wire connection required', 'Single pole switch. Not compatible with 3-way (multi-location) wiring.', 'Setup: Bluetooth 4.2* — *Bluetooth is only used for setup', Local Control over LAN, 'Matter Setup Code' in package contents. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11
    Backs: Works without the internet, Subscription, Price
  7. [7] tp-link.com/us/support/faq/5154/ 'IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read 2026-08-11 — 'August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services.'; affected Kasa smart switches 'KS200, KS200MP2, KS200P3, KS205, KS205P3, KS220, KS225, KS225P3, KS230 KIT, KS240'; 'For continued automation needs, we highly recommend using the Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app to create seamless, powerful local automations.' · tp-link.com/us/landing/tapo-supports-kasa/ read the same day: Kasa devices gain unified control in Tapo App 3.0, and the page states nothing about the Kasa app being retired — no cutoff date for the Kasa app exists on it, so no such claim is recorded here. · tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-switch/ks225/v1/ read the same day: page live, BUY NOW present. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability, Service status, Research status
  8. [8] tp-link.com, KS225 datasheet PDF — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source, Wi-Fi bands it can use
  9. [9] TP-Link's Kasa KS225 product page, re-read 2026-08-18 — no local-control block and no sentence about offline operation. ⊕ Recorded because it is the control that keeps the Tapo S505's 'Local Control' sentence from reading as TP-Link boilerplate: the same vendor's page for this switch does not carry it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  10. [10] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., "PSTI STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE" (static.tp-link.com, document dated 2026-03-18), read in full 2026-08-20 — a signed regulatory declaration under Schedule 1 of the UK PSTI Regulations 2023, covering "the TP-Link brand and its subsidiaries". Its support-period rule is stated verbatim: "TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date." The document then carries a per-model table — Product/Model Name, Model Number, Defined Support Period — with real dates (e.g. "20/2/2029", "11/7/2027", "31/12/2029 or later*") given SEPARATELY FOR EACH HARDWARE VERSION. TP-Link's own end-of-life FAQ (tp-link.com/uk/support/faq/3562/), read the same day, defines EOL as production having "ended on the model or the specific version of the model" and lists Home Networking and Business Networking products only — no Kasa or Tapo smart-home models appear in it. The Kasa KS225 appears nowhere in the table. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  11. [11] tp-link.com's KS225 product page, read 2026-08-20: "Instantly turn connected devices on/off from wherever you are through the Kasa Smart app"; "Control the brightness of your lights to set the ideal ambiance for different activities"; "Slowly increase brightness or dim to off when turning lights on/off"; "Preset a schedule to automatically manage devices"; "Matter Certified – Integrate Matter-certified Kasa devices with other Matter end products into your preferred ecosystem"; "Manage your smart switch with voice commands via Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri®, or Google Assistant"; and a compatibility list of "Matter-Certified, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  12. [12] tp-link.com's Kasa KS225 product page, read 2026-08-20, stating it outright: "No Hub Required – Connects directly to your home's secured 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network." The page also carries "Matter Certified – Integrate Matter-certified Kasa devices with other Matter end products into your preferred ecosystem" and "Manage your smart switch with voice commands via Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri®, or Google Assistant", with a compatibility list of "Matter-Certified, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  13. [13] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the ruled definition of what the device itself speaks: certificate CSA23100MAT40613 · Matter over Wi-Fi. No new external source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  14. [14] KS225(US)1.6 Quick Installation Guide, 7106510019 (static.tp-link.com, from TP-Link's own KS225 support-download page), 'Set Up with Matter' section, read 2026-08-21; corroborated by the Kasa Matter QIG (7106510364) published on that same download page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  15. [15] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  16. [16] TP-Link, Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch KS225 product page (https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-switch/ks225/v1/), re-read 2026-09-03. The platform list is published TWICE, which is why all four cells rest on this one page. In the specification table under COMPATIBILITY, the "Third-Party Platform" row reads verbatim: "Matter-Certified · Apple Home · Alexa · Google Assistant · Samsung SmartThings". And in the feature copy, verbatim: "Voice Control – Manage your smart switch with voice commands via Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri®, or Google Assistant." The page also states "No Hub Required". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  17. [17] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, the model list registered to vendor ID 5009 (Kasa), read 2026-09-20 and enumerated to pagination exhaustion: six models, one of which is "Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch" filed under part number KS225 at product ID 514. The certificate detail for 5009/514 returns two certified software versions — "sv 65536 (1.0.0): CERTIFIED CSA23100MAT40613-24 dated 2023-01-06" and "sv 66304 (1.3.0): CERTIFIED CSA25198MAT45290-24 dated 2025-03-22". — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-20
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  18. [18] TP-Link's US product page for the Kasa KS225, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim: "Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only) Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth 4.2 (for setup only)" · "Maximum Load 300W INC/HAL,150W LED (TRIAC Dimmable) Dimmable Leading Edge Dimming / TRIAC Phase Cut" · "Third-Party Platform • Matter-Certified • Apple Home • Alexa • Google Assistant • Samsung SmartThings" · "No Hub Required – Connects directly to your home’s secured 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network." · "Slowly increase brightness or dim to off when turning lights on/off" · "Voice Control – Manage your smart switch with voice commands via Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri ®, or Google Assistant." No price, plan or paid tier appears; the purchase button reads 'BUY NOW'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Subscription, Price, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  19. [19] TP-Link's KS225(US)1.0 datasheet PDF, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim: "Wi-Fi Protocol: IEEE 802.11b/g/n" · "Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4GHz" · "Setup: Bluetooth 4.2*" · "* Bluetooth is only used for setup." · "Rating: 120V~ 60Hz" · "Neutral wire connection required" · "Single pole switch. Not compatible with 3-way (multi-location) wiring." · "For installation in standard electrical wall-box: 2-inch depth minimum". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source
  20. [20] TP-Link's KS225(US)1.0 datasheet PDF, read in full 2026-09-24 (the same read as the entry above). Verbatim, from the Features block: "Local Control – Your connected devices in your local area network(LAN) remain accessible via the Kasa Smart app or other Matter-compatible smart home control centers, even when the household goes offline." From the Communication block: "Kasa App System Requirement: iOS 10 or Android 5.0 or higher". Every page of the datasheet is headed 'TP-Link Smart Wi-Fi Light Switch, Dimmer KS225'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Works without the internet, App platforms
  21. [21] TP-Link's KS225(US)1.6 Quick Installation Guide (7106510019) PDF, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim: "1 Turn off the circuit breaker. Then remove the old wallplate of the wall switch and label the Ground and Neutral wires." · "2 Disconnect the wires from the old switch." · "4 Connect the wires to the smart dimmer switch as shown below." · "Note: If you are unsure, consult a qualified electrician." · "If you are unfamiliar with these codes and requirements, or are uncomfortable performing the installation, consult a qualified electrician." · "Set Up with Matter This is a Matter-certified device. You can integrate it into any Matter ecosystem you prefer for easy control." · "Get the Kasa Smart app from the App Store or Google Play." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Vendor account required, Installation
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  22. [22] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim: "Wall Switches : ES20M, HS200 2 , HS210, HS220 2 , KP405, KS200, KS200M, KS205 1 , KS220, KS220M, KS225 1 , KS230, KS240 1", where footnote 1 reads "Model requires authentication"; and "Its IoT class is Local Polling." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  23. [23] TP-Link FAQ 5154, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', last updated July 9, 2026, read in full 2026-09-24. Verbatim: "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." The Smart Switches list reads "KS200 KS200MP2 KS200P3 KS205 KS205P3 KS220 KS225 KS225P3 KS230 KIT KS240". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Service status
  24. [24] CSA certified-product page 'Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch' by TP-Link Systems Inc., read in full 2026-09-24. It lists certificate CSA23100MAT40613-24, certified 2023-01-06, product ID 0x0202, vendor ID 0x1391, and Matter 1.0 over Wi-Fi with Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Protocols
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  25. [25] TP-Link, Statements of PSTI Compliance (static.tp-link.com, file path dated 2026-03-18), read in full as PDF 2026-09-24. Searched on the space-stripped text, 'KS225' does not appear anywhere in the document; nor do 'KS220' or 'HS220'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-24
    Backs: Security-update support period
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  26. [26] Home Assistant's own TP-Link Smart Home integration page, as read at 02:59 UTC on 2026-09-26. Under its "Supported Devices" heading, the "Supported Kasa devices" list names this product's model number KS225 in its "Wall Switches" group, which reads ES20M, HS200, HS210, HS220, KP405, KS200, KS200M, KS205, KS220, KS220M, KS225, KS230 and KS240 (footnote markers on several models omitted here). The section opens by saying devices not listed may still work and points to python-kasa for hardware and firmware versions. The page's "Known limitations" section names no model., verified 2026-09-26
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  27. [27] TP-Link's US product page for the Kasa KS225, read in full 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only) Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth 4.2 (for setup only)' · 'Maximum Load 300W INC/HAL,150W LED (TRIAC Dimmable) Dimmable Leading Edge Dimming / TRIAC Phase Cut' · 'Third-Party Platform • Matter-Certified • Apple Home • Alexa • Google Assistant • Samsung SmartThings' · 'No Hub Required – Connects directly to your home’s secured 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.' · 'Fade On/Off – Slowly increase brightness or dim to off when turning lights on/off' · 'Package Content KS225 × 1 Wall Plate × 1 Wire Nuts × 2 Screws × 2 Wire Labels Quick Start Guide'. No price appears; the purchase button reads 'BUY NOW'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  28. [28] TP-Link's KS225(US)1.0 datasheet PDF, read in full 2026-09-30 (PDF read). Verbatim rows as on the 2026-09-24 read, whose fingerprint this read reproduces exactly: 'Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4GHz' · 'Neutral wire connection required' · 'Single pole switch. Not compatible with 3-way (multi-location) wiring.' · 'For installation in standard electrical wall-box: 2-inch depth minimum' · 'Local Control – Your connected devices in your local area network(LAN) remain accessible via the Kasa Smart app or other Matter-compatible smart home control centers, even when the household goes offline.' · 'Kasa App System Requirement: iOS 10 or Android 5.0 or higher'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Works without the internet, App platforms
  29. [29] TP-Link's KS225(US)1.6 Quick Installation Guide (7106510019) PDF, read in full 2026-09-30 (PDF read). Verbatim, as on the 2026-09-24 read whose fingerprint this read reproduces: 'Turn off the circuit breaker.' · 'Note: If you are unsure, consult a qualified electrician.' · 'Set Up with Matter This is a Matter-certified device. You can integrate it into any Matter ecosystem you prefer for easy control.' · 'Get the Kasa Smart app from the App Store or Google Play.' — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Vendor account required, Installation
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  30. [30] CSA certified-product page 'Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch', read in full 2026-09-30 (plain read). It lists certificate CSA23100MAT40613-24, certified 2023-01-06, product ID 0x0202, vendor ID 0x1391, and Matter 1.0 over Wi-Fi with Bluetooth. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Protocols
    page changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
  31. [31] Matter Distributed Compliance Ledger, models for VID 5009, read 2026-09-30: six products, among them product 514, the Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch with part number KS225., verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  32. [32] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'KS220, KS220M, KS225 1 , KS230' in the Wall Switches list, footnote 1 'Model requires authentication', and 'Its IoT class is Local Polling.' — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  33. [33] TP-Link FAQ 5154, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read in full 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim: 'August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services.' and the Smart Switches list naming 'KS225'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Service status
  34. [34] TP-Link, Statements of PSTI Compliance (file path dated 2026-03-18), read in full as PDF 2026-09-30. On the space-stripped text, 'KS225', 'KS220' and 'HS220' do not appear; the support-period rule wording ('3 years after') does. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
    Backs: Security-update support period
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  35. [35] TP-Link's KS225 support download page, read in full 2026-09-30 (plain read). Verbatim document list: 'KS225(US)_V1.6_Datasheet Manual Kasa Matter(US)_Quick Installation Guide KS225(US)_V1.6_User Guide KS225(US)_V1.6_Quick Installation Guide KS225 Setup Video'. Latest firmware note read: 'KS225(US)_V1.6_1.0.2 Build 230810 Published Date: 2023-09-12'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-30
  36. [36] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: TP-Link's UK security statement of 18 March 2026 was read again in full on 2026-10-02. It prints the company's general rule and has no row for the KS225., verified 2026-10-02
  37. [37] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page (documentation 2026.9.4), read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Wall Switches : ES20M, HS200 2 , HS210, HS220 2 , KP405, KS200, KS200M, KS205 1 , KS220, KS220M, KS225 1 , KS230, KS240 1" · "Light entities are added for bulbs, light strips, and dimmer switches. Depending on the supported features of the device, the integration will allow changing brightness, color, color temperature, and light effects." · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." · "Its IoT class is Local Polling." · "Categories Binary sensor Button Camera Climate Fan Hub Light Number Select Sensor Siren Switch Vacuum". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  38. [38] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (Published Date May 07, 2026), read 2026-10-10: "If you have an iPhone using iOS 18 or later, you can add Matter accessories to and control Matter accessories from the Home app without a home hub." · "However, for the best experience set up a home hub to add supported Matter and thread-based accessories to the Home app." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  39. [39] Apple Support, 'Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub' (Published Date September 15, 2025), read 2026-10-10: "Set up a home hub to control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories to do what you want, when you want." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-10
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  40. [40] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-09-30
  41. [41] TP-Link's KS225 page, read in full on 2026-10-21. Verbatim: "Voice Control – Manage your smart switch with voice commands via Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri ® , or Google Assistant." · "Third-Party Platform • Matter-Certified • Apple Home • Alexa • Google Assistant • Samsung SmartThings". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
  42. [42] Record-keeping entry: the apple answers of this record gained a per-function findings map from the platforms' own Matter files (apple-matter.json), 2026-10-21, verified 2026-10-21
  43. [43] TP-Link's US product page for the Kasa KS225, read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only) Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth 4.2 (for setup only)" · "No Hub Required – Connects directly to your home’s secured 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network." · "Fade On/Off – Slowly increase brightness or dim to off when turning lights on/off" · "Third-Party Platform • Matter-Certified • Apple Home • Alexa • Google Assistant • Samsung SmartThings" · "Package Content KS225 × 1 Wall Plate × 1 Wire Nuts × 2 Screws × 2 Wire Labels Quick Start Guide". No price appears; the purchase button reads 'BUY NOW'. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Subscription, Market availability, Apple Home compatibility
  44. [44] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full on 2026-10-27 as its source file in the documentation repository on GitHub through tools/page-read.mjs (the file's base64 content decoded). Verbatim: "ha_iot_class: Local Polling" · "KS220, KS220M, KS225[^1], KS230" · "[^1]: Model requires authentication" · "If your device is a newer Kasa or Tapo device it will require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access." · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  45. [45] TP-Link FAQ 5154, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." · "KS220 KS225 KS225P3 KS230". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Service status
  46. [46] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (Published Date May 07, 2026), read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "If you have an iPhone using iOS 18 or later, you can add Matter accessories to and control Matter accessories from the Home app without a home hub." · "However, for the best experience set up a home hub to add supported Matter and thread-based accessories to the Home app." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  47. [47] Apple Support, 'Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub' (Published Date September 15, 2025), read in full on 2026-10-27. Verbatim: "Set up a home hub to control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories to do what you want, when you want." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  48. [48] TP-Link's KS225(US) 1.6 Quick Installation Guide (7106510019), read in full on 2026-10-27 (PDF read). The PDF prints its panels in columns, so its text comes out interleaved; each run below is verbatim and contiguous. Kasa route: "STEP 1 DOWNLOAD APP" · "Get the Kasa Smart app from the App Store" · "Tap the button in the app and select". Matter route, under 'Set Up with Matter': "This is a Matter-certified device. You can integrate" · "A Matter-supported controller and smart home app of the" · "same ecosystem are required." · "1. Turn on Bluetooth on your phone. 2. Open your selected smart home app and enter" · "the provided numeric setup code on your device or scan the Matter QR code on the provided label." · "3. Follow the instructions in the app to complete" · "Note: Setup processes may vary between ecosystems." Wiring: "Turn off the circuit breaker." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
    Backs: Vendor account required, Maker account requirements by connection, Installation
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  49. [49] TP-Link's KS225 support-download page, read in full on 2026-10-27 with its link targets. It lists 'Kasa Matter(US)_Quick Installation Guide', linked to https://www.tp-link.com/us/document/92507/, and 'KS225(US)_V1.6_Quick Installation Guide', linked to https://www.tp-link.com/us/document/93646/. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27
  50. [50] Google Home Developers, 'Supported devices' for the Automations script editor, read in full on 2026-10-27. TP-Link Kasa's switch rows include "TP-Link Kasa SWITCH KS220(US) onoff Starter" and a KS220M(US) row; no row names the KS225., verified 2026-10-27
    page unchanged as of 2026-11-02
  51. [51] TP-Link's US EOL List for Smart Home (V8.1), as read on 2026-10-27 and quoted on kasa-ep40-outdoor-plug entry bq107-t14-20261027-ep40-eol-list (readHash 1d7ba3513b77…), verified 2026-10-27
  52. [52] TP-Link's US product page for the Kasa KS225, read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only)" · "Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth 4.2 (for setup only)" · "No Hub Required" · "Fade On/Off" · "Third-Party Platform • Matter-Certified • Apple Home • Alexa • Google Assistant • Samsung SmartThings" · "Package Content KS225 × 1 Wall Plate × 1 Wire Nuts × 2 Screws × 2 Wire Labels Quick Start Guide". No price appears; the purchase button reads 'BUY NOW'. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-04
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Market availability, Apple Home compatibility
  53. [53] TP-Link's KS225 datasheet, read in full on 2026-11-04 (PDF read). Its highlights print 'No Hub Required' and "Control your lights from anywhere with the Kasa Smart app."; it names no subscription, plan or fee., verified 2026-11-04
  54. [54] TP-Link FAQ 5154, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read in full on 2026-11-04. Verbatim: "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." · "KS220 KS225 KS225P3 KS230". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-04
    Backs: Service status
  55. [55] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full on 2026-11-04 as its source file in the documentation repository on GitHub (the file's base64 content decoded). Verbatim: "ha_iot_class: Local Polling" · "KS220, KS220M, KS225[^1], KS230" · "[^1]: Model requires authentication" · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-11-04
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check TP-Link Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Dimmer Switch KS225 (Matter) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker