Product Library / Plugs & Outlets
Research profile · last verified 2026-09-17Tapo Smart Wi-Fi In-Wall Outlet, Matter, Energy Monitoring (P210M)
Exactly which product this is[2]
- Model number
- P210M
- Generation
- Not established
- Region this page covers
- US
- Also sold or listed as
- Tapo P210M · Tapo P210M(US)
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[3] | Matter is the documented mechanism: the quick start guide's Matter section says 'You can integrate your Tapo Matter device into your preferred ecosystem, such as Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, and more', and the product page lists Alexa in its compatibility line. Two practical limits. You need a Matter-capable Echo — TP-Link's own wording is 'Requires a hub of your chosen third-party platform'. And the energy monitoring that distinguishes this outlet is a Tapo-app feature; TP-Link documents no route by which per-outlet energy or bill estimates reach Alexa.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[3] | Same Matter commissioning path, with Google Assistant and Google Home named in TP-Link's own materials. Needs a Matter-capable Google hub, not just the Google Home app on a phone. Energy data stays in the Tapo app.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
| Apple Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][4] | Apple Home is reached through Matter — TP-Link names Apple Home in the quick start guide's Matter section — and no native-HomeKit path is documented or needed. Requires a HomePod or Apple TV acting as the Matter controller. One installation detail specific to an in-wall device that is easy to overlook until you have already screwed the wallplate on: the Matter QR code is on the label in the package, and the numeric code is on the device itself, reachable only 'by detaching the wallplate and unscrewing its bracket'. Photograph the code before installation.In Apple Home you also need: an Apple home hub (a HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV) — Apple Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-06) |
| SmartThings | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[4] | TP-Link's product page names 'Samsung SmartThings' in its compatibility list, and the mechanism is the same Matter commissioning flow the quick start guide describes. Requires a SmartThings hub capable of acting as a Matter controller. |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[6] | Confirmed from Home Assistant's side, not TP-Link's: Home Assistant's core TP-Link integration lists 'P210M' by name among supported Tapo devices and 'connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud'. Two caveats from the same documentation: a newer Tapo device 'will require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access', and some firmware versions 'require explicit activation of third-party integrations before they will allow access from Home Assistant'. A second route also exists — Home Assistant's Matter integration, since the device is Matter-certified — which avoids TP-Link credentials but requires a Matter server; the vendor integration generally exposes more of the energy data. |
Protocols: WIFI · MATTER[1][2][11][22]
What it can do[3][4]
You can tell it to
- On/off
- Energy monitoring
It reports
- Energy reading
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Apple Home | Google Home | Alexa | SmartThings | Home Assistant |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| On/off | ? not stated | ? not stated | ? not stated | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
| Energy monitoring | ✗ app only | ? not stated | ✗ app only | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
| Energy reading | ✗ app only | ? not stated | ✗ app only | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
Platform documentation: Alexa — Matter path (2026-09-04), Apple Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Google Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — Matter path (2026-09-04)
- Alexa: On/off per outlet through Matter; TP-Link documents no path for energy readings or bill estimates to reach Alexa.
- Google Home: On/off per outlet through Matter; energy data is not documented as reaching Google Home.
- Apple Home: On/off per outlet through Matter; energy history and bill estimates live in the Tapo app rather than Apple Home.
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[2][21]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[12]
TP-Link does sell a subscription, and it does not cover this device. Tapo Care, read on TP-Link's own plans page on 2026-09-17, is a camera plan: three tiers — Cloud at $3.49/mo or $34.99/yr for up to 2 devices, Cloud Advanced at $11.99/mo or $119.99/yr, Cloud Advanced AI at $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr, the last two unlimited — and everything they unlock is camera footage: cloud storage, extended video history, AI analysis. The page's own FAQ reads 'Your Tapo camera works without a subscription.' No tier names plugs, outlets or energy monitoring, and no plug tier exists. Alongside that, no plan or paid tier appears in the P210M datasheet, quick start guide or product page, including around the energy-monitoring and bill-estimate features that would be the obvious things to gate. So the energy history and bill estimates this outlet is bought for are not behind a paywall. The limit worth stating: TP-Link nowhere prints an explicit 'this product needs no subscription' sentence — this is the maker's own plan surface enumerated and read, which is a stronger basis than the absence of paywall wording that this record previously rested on. A free TP-Link account is still needed for the Tapo app.
Maintenance reality[2][3][4]
- Works without the internet: Yes — the core function runs on the device or your home network. A vendor cloud may still be involved in remote access.[18]
- TWO independently controlled outlets, each with its own control button and status LED — a real difference from the Leviton D215R in this subcategory, where the second outlet is permanently on. Electrical: power supply 125 V~ 50/60 Hz, 15 A; max load 15 A (general use / resistive load), 1/2 HP motor. TP-Link publishes a per-appliance load table rather than one number, which is more useful than most: iron/kettle/heater 15 A 1875 W, toaster 1500 W, coffee maker 1200 W, TV 350 W, PC 600 W, motor/fan/water pump 4.4 A 367 W (1/2 HP), power adapter or USB charger 2.4 A 200 W. Two explicit exclusions: 'Avoid plugging your appliances with a motor/compressor higher than 1/2 HP, such as an air conditioner. Frequent on/off switching may damage the compressor', and 'EV charging is not supported as it demands higher power and a charging current that surpasses the plug's rated capacity.' Radio: IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz only; Bluetooth for setup only. Install: Line, Neutral and Ground wires, 14 AWG or larger, copper only, stripped to 12 mm; the box must be UL Listed and at least H 2.95 in / W 1.81 in / D 3.15 in (75 × 46 × 80 mm), and TP-Link states 'The product should be installed by a qualified electrician' and 'FOR INDOOR USE ONLY; USE ONLY IN DRY LOCATIONS'. Body is V-0 (UL-94) flame-retardant PC; certifications FCC, ETL, RoHS. Environment 0–40 °C (32–104 °F), 10–90% RH non-condensing. Size 3.33 × 5.07 in (84.7 × 128.7 mm). Warranty '2-year limited warranty (US only)'. LED codes are documented, including solid amber for 'Disconnected from cloud'.
- Security updates: Tapo states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: ends 3 years after the product's end-of-life date — and TP-Link's published end-of-life list covers Home and Business Networking only, so no end-of-life date exists for this smart-home model and no clock has started (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.[10]
The catch
Two separately switched outlets with per-outlet energy monitoring, joined to any major ecosystem through Matter rather than a vendor cloud — that combination is the case for it, and the qualifications are all installation and platform ones. It is a hardwired receptacle: line, neutral and ground, copper only, a box at least 75 × 46 × 80 mm, and TP-Link itself says a qualified electrician should install it. Indoor and dry locations only. Every ecosystem path needs a Matter controller of that ecosystem — TP-Link's phrasing is 'Requires a hub of your chosen third-party platform' — so an Echo, HomePod, Apple TV, Nest hub or SmartThings hub is part of the real cost. The energy features that justify picking this over a dumb receptacle are Tapo-app features: no ecosystem is documented as showing the readings, and the app path is cloud-tethered, which is why the device has an LED state for 'Disconnected from cloud'. Load limits are stated unusually plainly and are worth respecting: 1/2 HP motor maximum, air conditioners discouraged outright, and 'EV charging is not supported'. Photograph the Matter numeric code before you fit the wallplate — afterwards it is behind the bracket.
Who it's for
A fit for a household replacing a receptacle that wants both outlets independently controllable, wants per-outlet energy data in an app, and wants ecosystem control over Matter instead of a vendor cloud — with a Matter controller already in place and either wiring competence or an electrician. It suits a media wall, a home-office desk feed, or any spot where knowing what a specific outlet draws is the point. Look elsewhere if you cannot supply a Matter controller and want more than app control, if the box is shallow, if the location is damp or outdoors, if the load is a compressor or an EV charger, or if you need the energy figures visible inside Apple Home, Alexa or Google Home rather than in the Tapo app.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
23 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] tp-link.com product page for this model (read 2026-08-09): "Specifications Communication Wi-Fi Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only) · Wi-Fi Frequency 2.4 GHz WiFi Only · Wi-Fi Requirements Secured 2.4GHz home Wi-Fi network". DCL: VID 5010 (Tapo), PID 273 'Tapo Smart Wi-Fi In-wall Outlet' [part P210M] — registered. · DCL vendor resolution via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: 'TP-Link' matches VID 4488 (TP-Link), 5009 (Kasa) and 5010 (Tapo), all legal name 'TP-Link Systems Inc.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols
- [2] TP-Link Tapo P210M(US) 1.0 datasheet (PDF on static.tp-link.com), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Maintenance, Subscription
- [3] TP-Link Tapo P210M(US) 1.0 & 1.6 quick start guide (PDF on static.tp-link.com, © 2024), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29Backs: Maintenance, Required hub or bridge, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Capabilities
- [4] tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-plug/tapo-p210m/ (first-party product page), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29Backs: SmartThings compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Capabilities, Price, Maintenance
- [5] tp-link.com/us/support/download/tapo-p210m/ (first-party support/download page), read 2026-07-29 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-29Backs: Market availability, Service status
- [6] home-assistant.io/integrations/tplink (Home Assistant core integration documentation), read 2026-07-29 — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-07-29Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
- [7] TP-Link / Tapo, Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products (FAQ 1939) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11Backs: Service status
- [8] TP-Link Tapo P210M(US) 1.0 & 1.6 quick installation guide (7106511403) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Power source
- [9] TP-Link Tapo P210M(US) 1.0 datasheet — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
- [10] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., "PSTI STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE" (static.tp-link.com, document dated 2026-03-18), read in full 2026-08-20 — a signed regulatory declaration under Schedule 1 of the UK PSTI Regulations 2023, covering "the TP-Link brand and its subsidiaries". Its support-period rule is stated verbatim: "TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date." The document then carries a per-model table — Product/Model Name, Model Number, Defined Support Period — with real dates (e.g. "20/2/2029", "11/7/2027", "31/12/2029 or later*") given SEPARATELY FOR EACH HARDWARE VERSION. TP-Link's own end-of-life FAQ (tp-link.com/uk/support/faq/3562/), read the same day, defines EOL as production having "ended on the model or the specific version of the model" and lists Home Networking and Business Networking products only — no Kasa or Tapo smart-home models appear in it. The Tapo P210M appears nowhere in the table. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Security-update support period
- [11] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the ruled definition of what the device itself speaks: a transport statement · Matter over Wi-Fi. No new external source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Protocols
- [12] Tapo Matter Quick Installation Guide (Plug), 7106510365 REV1.2.1 (static.tp-link.com; the guide TP-Link links from the P210M's own support-download page as tp-link.com/us/document/127529/), read 2026-08-21; corroborated by the P210M's own QIG (7106511403), which prints 'Set Up Your Device via Matter' as a parallel column to 'Set Up Your Device via Tapo' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Vendor account required
- [13] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
- [14] tp-link.com — Tapo P210M product page, and TP-Link's PSTI Statement of Compliance (18/3/2026 edition), both read 2026-08-30 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30Backs: Research status, Market availability
- [15] TP-Link PSTI Statement of Compliance, edition dated 18/3/2026, re-read 2026-08-30. No date established; this entry records what the re-read found. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-30
- [16] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [17] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-11 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-11
- [18] TP-Link's own US product page for the Tapo P210M, re-read 2026-09-12, the host being open in our conduct register — 'Local Control - Your connected devices in your local area network (LAN) remain accessible via the Tapo app. even when the household goes offline.' and, in the feature grid, 'Local Control Your connected devices in your local area network (LAN) remain accessible via the Tapo app, even when the household goes offline.' Also re-read at the same time: the P210M datasheet and quick-start guide PDFs on static.tp-link.com, the P210M support download page, the Matter quick-start guide PDF, www.tapo.com/us/faq/1939/, TP-Link's PSTI statement PDF and www.home-assistant.io/integrations/tplink/ (quoted in the note, transport only). Control page: www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-plug/tapo-p400m/ (no Local Control block). — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12Backs: Works without the internet
- [19] static.tp-link.com — 'Quick Start Guide, Tapo Smart Wi-Fi Outlet, Energy Monitoring' for the Tapo P210M (7106511403 REV1.1.0), read 2026-09-16. Verbatim: 'CAUTION - Risk of Electric Shock - The product should be installed by a qualified electrician.'; 'Wire Your Device (Before installing, prepare a Phillips and slotted screwdriver, pliers, wire strippers, and a non-contact voltage detector.)'; 'The Smart Outlet must be installed and used in accordance with the National Electric Code (NEC) or your local electrical code.'; 'Install only in a suitable UL Listed outlet box.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Installation
- [20] TP-Link's own US Tapo store listing for the Tapo P210M single-pack, read 2026-09-17 through the store's structured product route per our standing method rule — stock and price state are read from the store's structured product data, never from the rendered page. Verbatim from the structured payload: title 'Matter-Certified Smart Outlet, Tapo P210M', handle 'tapo-p210m-1-pack', product available true, one variant 'Default Title' at price 2599 (cents), available true, sku 'Tapo P210M', type 'Smart Plug'. No selling-plan group is attached to the product. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Price, Market availability
- [21] TP-Link's own Tapo Care plans page, read 2026-09-17. Verbatim tiers: 'Cloud' $3.49/mo or $34.99/yr ('Up to 2 Devices'), 'Cloud Advanced' $11.99/mo or $119.99/yr (unlimited devices), 'Cloud Advanced AI' $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr (unlimited devices). From the page's FAQ: 'Your Tapo camera works without a subscription. However, Tapo Cloud plans unlock premium features like cloud storage, extended video history, and advanced AI analysis.' No tier, feature row or FAQ entry on the page names smart plugs, outlets, or energy monitoring. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Subscription
- [22] Two first-party TP-Link sources re-read in full on 2026-09-17. ① The Tapo P210M(US) 1.0 datasheet PDF on static.tp-link.com — specifications table read verbatim: 'LED&Button: Control Button & LED for Plug 1/2', 'Material: V-0 (UL-94) Flame-Retardant PC', 'Power Supply: 125 V~ 50/60 Hz, 15 A', 'Max Load: 15 A (General Use/Resistive Load), 1/2 HP Motor', 'Protocol: IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only)', 'Wireless Type: 2.4 GHz', 'Certifications: FCC, ETL, RoHS', 'Operating Temperature: 0 ºC – 40 ºC (32 ºF–104 ºF)', 'Operating Humidity: 10%–90% RH, Non-condensing', 'Dimensions : 3.33 x 5.07 in (84.7 x 128.7 mm)', package contents 'Tapo P210M ×1 / Quick Start Guide', the labelled diagram showing Plug 1 and Plug 2 each with its own control button and LED, and the footnote 'Please do not use in damp environments or outdoors.' ② TP-Link's US P210M product page — compatibility line 'Matter-Certified • Apple Home • Alexa • Google Assistant • Samsung SmartThings', 'IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only)', '2.4 GHz WiFi Only', 'Maximum Load: 15A, 1875W', '2-year limited warranty (US only)', and the Local Control sentence 'Your connected devices in your local area network (LAN) remain accessible via the Tapo app, even when the household goes offline.' No price and no subscription wording appears on either source; no discontinuation notice on either. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Batteries, Protocols, Research status
- [23] TP-Link's own Tapo FAQ on the end of IFTTT support, re-read 2026-09-17; the page carries 'last updated time: 06-30-2026'. Verbatim: 'August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services.' TP-Link attributes the decision to 'focusing our development on AI-powered technologies' and directs users to the 'Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app to create seamless, powerful local automations.' The affected-model list still names 'P210M' explicitly, among roughly 200 Tapo and Kasa devices. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-17Backs: Service status
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.