Product Library / Plugs & Outlets
Research profile · last verified 2026-07-17TP-Link Tapo P125M Mini Smart Wi-Fi Plug (Matter)
Exactly which product this is[3]
- Model number
- Not established
- Generation
- Not established
- Region this page covers
- Not established
- Also sold or listed as
- Not established
“Not established” means we have not sourced that detail yet — not that the product has no model number, generation or regional variant. We publish the gap rather than filling it.
Compatibility
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][6][10] | Matter path requires a Matter-capable Echo as controller (TP-Link FAQ 3564); the native Tapo-app-plus-Alexa path is also officially supported.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Matter-capable Amazon Echo or eero device — Alexa’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
| Google Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][6][10] | Matter path requires a Google Matter hub (Nest Hub, Nest Wifi Pro, or Google TV Streamer per TP-Link FAQ 3564); the native Tapo path is also officially supported.In Google Home you also need: a hub for Google Home (a Nest speaker or display, Nest Wifi Pro, the Google TV Streamer, or a compatible TV) — Google Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
| Apple Home | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][6][10] | Apple Home works only via Matter. On iOS 18 or later an iPhone can add and locally control the plug with no home hub; a HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV is still required for remote access, automations, and sharing (Apple support 102135; TP-Link FAQ 3564).In Apple Home you also need: an Apple home hub (a HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV) — Apple Home’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-06) |
| SmartThings | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[5][6][10] | Requires a SmartThings hub with Matter controller support (e.g., Aeotec SmartThings Hub, per TP-Link FAQ 3564). TP-Link lists SmartThings on the official product page. |
| Home Assistant | WorksWorks with this ecosystem[5] | TP-Link does not list Home Assistant; support comes from standard Matter via HA's official Matter integration. No Thread border router needed for WiFi Matter devices.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11) |
Protocols: WIFI · MATTER[1][3][8][10][16]
What it can do[17]
You can tell it to
- On/off
It reports
None documented by the vendor
Whether each platform's automations and routines can use it — not just whether its app shows it.
| What it does | Apple Home | Google Home | Alexa | SmartThings | Home Assistant |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| On/off | ? not stated | ? not stated | ? not stated | ? not stated | ✓ routines can use it |
Platform documentation: Alexa — Matter path (2026-09-04), Apple Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Google Home — Matter path (2026-09-04), Home Assistant — automation engine ceiling (2026-08-29), SmartThings — Matter path (2026-09-04)
Listed capabilities are what we could establish from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished — not necessarily absent.
Subscription reality[7][10]
✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.
Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[5]
No plug feature sits behind a subscription. Tapo Care (TP-Link's paid plan) is a cloud video service for Tapo cameras only; the official Tapo Care page attaches no features to plugs (verified 2026-07-17).
Maintenance reality[3]
- Works without the internet: Yes — the core function runs on the device or your home network. A vendor cloud may still be involved in remote access.[21]
- Tapo account optional: TP-Link support FAQ 3564 documents direct Matter commissioning into Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, or SmartThings without the Tapo app; the Matter setup code is printed on the device. TP-Link recommends the Tapo app for full feature access (Away Mode, Auto-Off, remote control via Tapo cloud). Local control works without internet via Matter. 2.4 GHz WiFi only; Bluetooth is setup-only. Load rating: 15 A / 1800 W max. No energy monitoring on the US model (the EU-region P125M datasheet lists it; regional variants differ).
- Security updates: TP-Link (Tapo) publishes no security-update support date for this model. That is a gap in what the manufacturer has published, not evidence either way — some makers declare a support period and some say nothing at all.[12]
The catch
2.4 GHz WiFi only, and the US model has no energy monitoring (TP-Link's P110M line covers that). The plug itself needs no hub, but pure Matter commissioning requires that ecosystem's Matter controller; without one, the Tapo-app path is the fallback.
Who it's for
A fit for households that want one inexpensive plug working across Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, and Home Assistant through Matter, without a TP-Link account if commissioned directly. Not a fit for anyone who wants energy monitoring on the US model.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
22 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] tp-link.com product page for this model (read 2026-08-09): "Specifications NETWORK Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only) · Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth (for setup only)" · prose: "Use Bluetooth to easily onboard the smart plug within a few steps. Users can also set up Tapo P125M by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app" · "Tapo app : Bluetooth Onboarding". · DCL vendor resolution via tools/dcl-lookup.mjs: 'TP-Link' matches VID 4488 (TP-Link), 5009 (Kasa) and 5010 (Tapo), all legal name 'TP-Link Systems Inc.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-09Backs: Protocols
- [2] TP-Link US product page, tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-plug/tapo-p125m/ — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17
- [3] Tapo P125M(US)1.0 official datasheet PDF (static.tp-link.com): 802.11b/g/n 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth 4.2 setup-only, 15A/1800W, Matter setup requires a Matter-supported controller — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17Backs: Required hub or bridge, Maintenance, Protocols, Product identity
- [4] TP-Link press release tp-link.com/us/press/news/20447/ (launch, $19.99, first Matter plug) + us.store.tapo.com listing ($11.99, in stock) — Read published press coverage, verified 2026-07-17Backs: Price, Market availability, Service status, Research status
- [5] TP-Link support FAQ 3564 (tp-link.com/us/support/faq/3564/): direct Matter setup in Alexa/Google/Apple/SmartThings without Tapo app, per-ecosystem controller requirements; home-assistant.io/integrations/matter — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Vendor account required
- [6] Apple support 102135 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories' (support.apple.com/en-us/102135, updated 2026-05-07): iOS 18+ can add and control Matter accessories without a home hub; hub needed for remote access, sharing, automations. Google Home Matter setup (support.google.com/googlehome/answer/12391458): a Matter-enabled hub is needed before adding Matter devices. Amazon Matter docs (developer.amazon.com/en-US/docs/alexa/smarthome/matter-support.html, updated 2026-05-01): a Matter-capable Echo/eero is the Matter administrator that connects the device locally. Samsung SmartThings compatible-hubs page (samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10002638): SmartThings Hub v2/v3, Station, Aeotec, or 2022+ Samsung TV acts as the Matter controller. — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-07-22Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
- [7] Tapo Care official page, tapo.com/us/tapocare/ — camera cloud-video service only; no plug features listed — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-17Backs: Subscription
- [8] CSA registry csa-iot.org/csa_product/tapo-smart-plug/ — 'Tapo Smart Plug' by TP-Link Systems Inc., cert CSA22466MAT40466-24, certified 2022-12-28, Matter 1.0, WiFi+Bluetooth, VID 0x1392/PID 0x0101. The registry prints no model numbers; the match is by vendor, date, and feature description (strong-circumstantial, noted rather than claimed as registry-explicit) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-17Backs: Protocols
- [9] TP-Link Tapo US store, structured product data, 2026-08-11 — title 'Matter-Certified Smart Plug Mini 15A, Tapo P125M', variant 'Default Title', price 1199 (=$11.99), available true, sku 'Tapo P125M'; the 3-pack handle reports $24.99, sku 'Tapo P125M(3-pack)' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11Backs: Price, Market availability
- [10] TP-Link US product page, Tapo P125M, re-read 2026-08-11 — 'COMPATIBILITY Third-Party Platform: Matter-Certified · Apple Home · Alexa · Google Assistant · Samsung SmartThings'; 'NETWORK Protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth (for setup only)'; 'Wireless Type 2.4 GHz WiFi Only, Bluetooth (for setup only)'; 'Voice Control – Manage your smart plug with voice commands via Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri, or Google Assistant' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11Backs: Protocols, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Subscription
- [11] TP-Link / Tapo, Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products (FAQ 1939) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11Backs: Service status
- [12] TP-Link, Statements of PSTI Compliance (master per-model support-period table, 34pp) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11Backs: Security-update support period
- [13] TP-Link Tapo US store, P125M product record — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11Backs: Price, Market availability
- [14] tp-link.com, Tapo P125M spec page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17Backs: Wi-Fi bands it can use
- [15] tp-link.com's Tapo P125M product page, read 2026-08-20. Setup is offered two ways with no intermediary in either — "Bluetooth Onboarding" through the Tapo app, or "Users can also set up Tapo P125M by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app." On operation: "Your connected devices at home remain accessible via the Tapo app or any other Matter-certified app (already configured), even if you lose connection to the internet." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20Backs: Required hub or bridge
- [16] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the ruled definition of what the device itself speaks: certificate CSA22466MAT40466 · Matter over Wi-Fi. No new external source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20Backs: Protocols
- [17] TP-Link US product page, Tapo P125M V1.20 — "Remote Control Instantly turn connected devices on/off from wherever you are through the Tapo app."; "Schedule Preset a schedule to automatically manage devices."; "Auto-Off Automatically turns off a connected device after the device is left on for a set time"; "Away Mode Automatically turns devices on and off at different times to give the appearance that someone is home." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21Backs: Capabilities
- [18] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
- [19] https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-plug/tapo-p125m/ (read 2026-09-09), Specifications → GENERAL: 'Working Status: Rated 100-125 V~ 50/60 Hz', 'Maximum Load: 15 A, 1800W @120V~'. A plug that draws its own supply from the outlet it occupies is plug-in powered, taken from the mains rating rather than from the device class. The same page links https://itunes.apple.com/app/id1472718009 and https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tplink.iot for the Tapo app. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-09Backs: App platforms, Power source
- [20] this record's own provenance, re-read 2026-09-16: every entry was checked for a statement by TP-Link (Tapo) itself — its own app, its own hub or bridge, its own documentation for controlling it on the home network, or its own statement about this model — that the P125M keeps working when the internet is down. No such entry exists on this record. What the old value rested on instead: TP-Link's own P125M(US)1.0 datasheet PDF, converted to partial support by the 2026-08-11 C-1 seed pass, which by its own ruling did no new research., verified 2026-09-16
- [21] TP-Link's own product page for the Tapo P125M, read 2026-09-16 after the host-conduct check (the host is open on the register). The page names the model throughout and carries a section headed 'Local Control' reading: 'Your connected devices at home remain accessible via the Tapo app or any other Matter-certified app (already configured), even if you lose connection to the internet.' Its neighbouring 'Remote Control' section reads 'Manage your connected devices from anywhere with the Tapo app.' Control page read the same day from the same product template on the same site: TP-Link's Tapo P100 page, which carries no Local Control section and no sentence about losing the internet. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Works without the internet
- [22] csa-iot.org certified-product page for the TP-Link Tapo smart plug, read 2026-09-17. Verbatim, as the page prints it: "Product Details Firmware Version 1.0.0 Build 220930 Rel.143947 Hardware Version 1.0 Certificate ID CSA22466MAT40466-24 Certified Date 12/28/2022 Product ID 0x0101 Vendor ID 0x1392". The page prints ONE certificate and it is the one this record already cites., verified 2026-09-17Backs: Certification and product IDs
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.