Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-14

Tapo D225 2K QHD Video Doorbell

⚠ Similar names, different products: Tapo sells seven video doorbells whose names differ by two characters and whose capabilities do not track the numbering — D130, D205, D210, D225, D235, TD21, TD25. Two of those differences are decisive rather than cosmetic. Only the D235, D225 and TD25 can produce an RTSP stream at all, per TP-Link's own article; the D130 is a wired doorbell while the D225 is battery-or-hardwired. And TP-Link's compliance declaration lists support end-dates for D130, D205, D210, D230S1, D235, TD20, TD21 and TD23 — but not for this model. Reading one Tapo doorbell's facts across to another will be wrong in both directions.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[6][13][26][28]
[5][14][20][32][34]
[5][14][20][31][34]
[6][28]
[7][29][30]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[2][14][20]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [14] [20]

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [14] [20]

Documented device function

Siren

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [14] [20]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[11][14][20]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
6 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[6][13][26][28]Google HomeWorks; two-way audio and siren unconfirmed[5][14][20][32][34]AlexaWorks; two-way audio and siren unconfirmed[5][14][20][31][34]SmartThingsInconclusive[6][28]Home AssistantPartial[7][29][30]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

SirenDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Doorbell pressedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Person detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Pet detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Vehicle detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Package detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

TP-Link decides Apple Home support model by model, and no doorbell is on its list. The HomeKit setup article, updated 26 May 2026 and re-read on 19 September 2026, names the products it applies to individually — the C125 and C225 cameras, one light strip, thirteen plugs and three switches — and describes itself as carrying setup instructions for select devices. A selection is not a closed statement about everything else, so this stays open rather than a no. Practically, though, an Apple Home household has nothing to work with here: the doorbell's own page offers Alexa and Google, and TP-Link's Matter certified list holds no cameras or video doorbells.[6][13][26][28]

Google Home

TP-Link names Google Assistant for this doorbell and says it works with Google Assistant to show what the doorbell sees on a supported device, so live view works. Two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed on Google: TP-Link names both for the doorbell and the Tapo app, and does not say whether either one reaches Google.[5][14][20][32][34]

Alexa

TP-Link names Alexa for this doorbell and says it works with Alexa to show what the doorbell sees on a supported device. Two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed on Alexa: TP-Link does not say whether either one reaches Alexa, and it does not say how the doorbell connects to Alexa.[5][14][20][31][34]

SmartThings

TP-Link names no SmartThings support for this doorbell and states no non-support. Its Matter-certified product list — how Tapo plugs, switches, sensors and hubs reach SmartThings — includes no cameras or doorbells.[6][28]

Home Assistant

There IS a local video path here, and it is rarer than the price suggests: TP-Link names this doorbell as one of only three battery models that can stream RTSP — 'For battery-operated cameras and doorbells, only select models—specifically the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25—support RTSP streaming when connected via a hardwired setup with a jumper cable and the "always-on mode" activated.' Home Assistant's official Generic Camera integration consumes exactly that (rtsp:// stream source, port 554). Two limits keep this at partial rather than full. First, the condition costs you the product's headline feature — RTSP needs hardwired power with always-on mode, so the wire-free battery installation this doorbell is sold for cannot have it. Second, RTSP carries video, not the doorbell: the press event, two-way audio and battery state are not in the stream, and TP-Link's own note that 'ONVIF Profile S does not support two-way audio' points the same way. TP-Link publishes no Home Assistant integration by name.[7][29][30]

Device documentation: [11] [14] [20]

Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; two-way audio and siren unconfirmedWorks; two-way audio and siren unconfirmed — see the catch[5][14][20][31][34]TP-Link names Alexa for this doorbell and says it works with Alexa to show what the doorbell sees on a supported device. Two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed on Alexa: TP-Link does not say whether either one reaches Alexa, and it does not say how the doorbell connects to Alexa.
Google HomeWorks; two-way audio and siren unconfirmedWorks; two-way audio and siren unconfirmed — see the catch[5][14][20][32][34]TP-Link names Google Assistant for this doorbell and says it works with Google Assistant to show what the doorbell sees on a supported device, so live view works. Two-way audio and the siren are unconfirmed on Google: TP-Link names both for the doorbell and the Tapo app, and does not say whether either one reaches Google.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6][13][26][28]TP-Link decides Apple Home support model by model, and no doorbell is on its list. The HomeKit setup article, updated 26 May 2026 and re-read on 19 September 2026, names the products it applies to individually — the C125 and C225 cameras, one light strip, thirteen plugs and three switches — and describes itself as carrying setup instructions for select devices. A selection is not a closed statement about everything else, so this stays open rather than a no. Practically, though, an Apple Home household has nothing to work with here: the doorbell's own page offers Alexa and Google, and TP-Link's Matter certified list holds no cameras or video doorbells.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6][28]TP-Link names no SmartThings support for this doorbell and states no non-support. Its Matter-certified product list — how Tapo plugs, switches, sensors and hubs reach SmartThings — includes no cameras or doorbells.
Home AssistantPartialPartial support — see the catch[7][29][30]There IS a local video path here, and it is rarer than the price suggests: TP-Link names this doorbell as one of only three battery models that can stream RTSP — 'For battery-operated cameras and doorbells, only select models—specifically the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25—support RTSP streaming when connected via a hardwired setup with a jumper cable and the "always-on mode" activated.' Home Assistant's official Generic Camera integration consumes exactly that (rtsp:// stream source, port 554). Two limits keep this at partial rather than full. First, the condition costs you the product's headline feature — RTSP needs hardwired power with always-on mode, so the wire-free battery installation this doorbell is sold for cannot have it. Second, RTSP carries video, not the doorbell: the press event, two-way audio and battery state are not in the stream, and TP-Link's own note that 'ONVIF Profile S does not support two-way audio' points the same way. TP-Link publishes no Home Assistant integration by name.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][17][24]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[4][25]

TP-Link puts it plainly on the product page: 'Save recorded videos on the microSD Card* (up to 512 GB, purchased separately) or use Tapo Care cloud storage services (subscribe separately)' and 'Keep footage free or in the cloud: Save up to 512 GB to a microSD Card at no extra cost, or use cloud storage with Tapo Care.' The local card is a genuine alternative to the plan, not an accessory to it, which is the opposite of how Blink's local backup works on the same shelf. TP-Link's plans page, read on 1 October 2026, sells Tapo Care in three tiers. Cloud is $3.49 a month or $34.99 a year and covers up to 2 devices, with 30 days of cloud storage, snapshot notifications and smart filters. Cloud Advanced is $11.99 a month or $119.99 a year for unlimited devices, with 180 days of storage. Cloud Advanced AI is $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year and adds facial recognition and AI summaries. So $3.49 is the floor, and a home with more than two Tapo cameras is looking at the $11.99 tier. The same page answers the dependency question directly: 'Your Tapo camera works without a subscription.' One thing changed underneath this record: the plans page used to print a table of what is free without a plan, and the free list here was read from that table on 14 August 2026. The page has since been rebuilt without it, so the free list is dated to that read. The microSD card is not included.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Security updates[8][19]

Tapo states its security-update commitment for this model as a period rather than a date: ends 3 years after the product's end-of-life date (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). That is a floor measured from a starting point the manufacturer sets — a launch or a purchase — rather than a fixed end date, so it cannot be placed on a calendar here. We record the commitment as the manufacturer states it, in our words, rather than converting it into a date it did not give. This is a published commitment, not a gap in our research.

TP-Link publishes per-model security-support end dates — and this doorbell is not in the list, while eight of its siblings are. The March 2026 Statements of PSTI Compliance names D205, D130, D210, D230S1, D235, TD20, TD21 and TD23 under Video Doorbell, each at '31/12/2029 or later', and names the Tapo C660 KIT camera on the same terms; a search of the document returns no occurrence of D225 or TD25. The likeliest reason is scope rather than neglect — that document exists to satisfy UK law and this is a US-market model — so its absence says nothing either way about how long this doorbell will be patched. Read the sibling dates as an indication of company practice, and note that we have no written commitment for THIS model. TP-Link's UK security statement of 18 March 2026 prints the company's general rule and has no row for the D225, so no end date is published for this model.

The catch

Everything good about this doorbell beyond the basics is on the far side of a wire. Battery installation is the selling point — 10000 mAh, a claimed eight months, no electrician — but 24/7 continuous recording needs hardwired power by TP-Link's own description, and the RTSP stream that would put the camera into Home Assistant, an NVR or Frigate needs a hardwired setup with 'always-on mode' switched on. Choose wire-free and you have a good, cheap, subscription-optional doorbell with local recording to a memory card; choose hardwired and you get the features that make it interesting to anyone running their own system. The two configurations are close to different products. Two smaller things: the Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only, and TP-Link's own per-model security-support declaration lists eight Tapo doorbells and not this one.

Who it's for

Two quite different buyers. For most households it is the cheap end of the shelf done properly — chime in the box, recording to a memory card at no monthly cost, alerts and two-way audio in the Tapo app without a plan, and a view of the doorbell's camera on Alexa or Google. For a Home Assistant or NVR household it is one of the very few Tapo battery devices with any documented local stream at all, and worth choosing over Tapo's cameras for that reason alone — provided you are willing to hardwire it and give up the battery mode. It is not for an Apple Home household, and not for anyone whose front door is out of reach of a 2.4 GHz signal.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

42 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] https://us.store.tapo.com/products.json — product '2K QHD Smart Doorbell with Chime, Tapo D225', vendor 'Tapo', product_type 'Video Doorbell', published_at 2024-11-11, tags including 'Backorder' and 'Bestseller', single variant SKU 'Tapo D225' at price 99.99 with compare_at_price 109.99, available: true, read 2026-08-14. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability
  2. [2] https://www.tapo.com/us/product/smart-doorbell/tapo-d225/ — Specifications read verbatim: 'Maximum Resolution 2K 4MP QHD', 'Image Sensor 1/2.7" Progressive Scan CMOS Sensor', 'Focal Length: 1.18mm Aperture: F1.8 Field of View: 170.6° (Horizontal), 140.1° (Vertical)', 'Night Vision 850 nm IR LED (33 ft / 10 m) Full-Color Night Vision', 'Frame Rate 15/20 fps', 'Video Compression H.264', 'Siren Volume 98dB (Level measured at 4-inch/10-cm distance)', 'Power Source 10000 mAh Built-in Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Hardwire charge Hardwire supply', adapter 'Input: 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz' / 'Output: 5.0 V, 2.0 A', 'MicroSD Card Slot (Up to 512 GB)', 'IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi', 'Temperature -4°F ~ 113°F', 'Humidity 10%~90% RH, Non-condensing', 'IP66 Water & Dust Resistance', '24/7 Continuous Recording Supported', 'Indoor Chime Provided', AI detection listed as 'Motion Detection Person Detection Pet Detection Vehicle Detection Package Detection'. Battery claim verbatim: '8 Months' beside 'The rechargable 10000mAh battery* can largely extends your usage and gives you flexiblity to place it anywhere you needed.' Box contents quoted in full on the record. 24/7 recording verbatim: 'Never miss a moment with 24/7 continuous recording. Hardwired power ensures reliable video capture around the clock, giving you a complete record of activity around your doorstep.' No hub is named anywhere as a requirement. Bluetooth is not published for this model; per our protocols rule the array lists ongoing-communication radios only. installEffort is diy-tools on the box contents: wire nuts, hardwire installation screws, extension wires and a jumper for an existing chime. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Protocols, Power source, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Installation
  3. [3] https://www.tapo.com/us/tapocare/ — the compare-plans table lists the same eleven features under 'Free / Without Tapo Care' and 'Premium / For 1,2,3, up to 10 Cameras'; in the Free column exactly three items carry class="fork" ('30-day video clip history**', 'Rich notifications with snapshots', 'Smart Sort'), which is the actual paid delta. ⚠ Reading the rendered text alone would report the free tier as including everything. Price verbatim: 'Starting at $3.49/month or $34.99 a year'. Footnotes verbatim: '**When Tapo cameras detect motion, Tapo Care saves event clips to the cloud.' '***Certain models are awaiting firmware release to support related functions.' The product page states the alternative directly: 'Keep footage free or in the cloud: Save up to 512 GB to a microSD Card at no extra cost, or use cloud storage with Tapo Care' and 'Cloud: Tapo Care Cloud Storage Services (Subscription required)'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Subscription
  4. [4] https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/2742/ (last updated April 17, 2026) — 'Most Tapo cameras require the Tapo app and a TP-Link account for setup and everyday use', the only stated exception being 'if your camera supports Apple HomeKit, you can set it up using the Home app instead', which cannot apply here since TP-Link's HomeKit articles name no doorbell. Offline behaviour verbatim: 'Once set up, the camera can continue to function even if it loses its router connection. SD card recording, including detection recording and 24/7 recording, will keep running.' Hence localOperation 'partial': local recording survives an outage, setup and remote access do not. ⚠ Scope stated plainly: the article's applicable-models list covers 46 Tapo cameras and does not name the D225, so both facts are TP-Link's general statement applied to this model rather than a model-specific answer. appPlatforms from the Tapo app's iOS App Store and Google Play listings linked on tapo.com; no web app is offered. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Works without the internet, Vendor account required, App platforms
  5. [5] https://www.tapo.com/us/product/smart-doorbell/tapo-d225/ — smart-home section names 'Google Assistant' and 'Amazon Alexa' with Google Home and Amazon Alexa badges, and the page states 'Voice Activated: Works with Alexa and Google Assistant'. No capability list is published. ⚠ Cross-party caveat: both levels rest on the manufacturer's badge alone; neither platform publishes a per-model entry for this doorbell. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  6. [6] https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/3240/ (last updated May 26, 2026) — the 'This Article Applies to' list of HomeKit-supported models names two cameras, 'Tapo C125' and 'Tapo C225', plus plugs, switches and one light, and no doorbell of any kind. https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/3653/ scopes its Apple Home feature comparison to 'Tapo C125 , Tapo C840 , Tapo C225( V2 )'. https://www.tp-link.com/us/matter/product-list/ enumerates TP-Link's Matter-certified products by category (mesh WiFi, plugs, switches, lighting, sensors, hubs) and includes no cameras or video doorbells, which closes the Matter path to Apple Home and SmartThings alike. TP-Link states no refusal for this model, so both cells are unknown rather than none. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  7. [7] https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/4465/ (last updated July 1, 2026), verbatim: 'Most Tapo cameras, except for battery-powered models, support the RTSP and ONVIF (Profile S) protocols' · 'For battery-operated cameras and doorbells, only select models—specifically the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25—support RTSP streaming when connected via a hardwired setup with a jumper cable and the "always-on mode" activated.' · 'Other models, such as the Tapo C410, C420, C425, and D230, do not support RTSP streaming due to limitations in their battery and electronic design.' · 'ONVIF Service Port: 2020 and RTSP Service Port: 554' · 'For high quality stream1: rtsp://IP Address/stream1' · 'ONVIF Profile S does not support two-way audio. It covers video and audio streaming, network configuration, event handling, and PTZ control.' Ecosystem side, from Home Assistant's own documentation: the Generic Camera integration 'allows you to integrate any IP camera or other URL into Home Assistant', takes an rtsp:// Stream Source, and is an official integration maintained by the Home Assistant project. The level is partial because the vendor's stated precondition (hardwired + always-on) removes the battery operation the product is sold for, and because an RTSP video stream is not the doorbell press, the intercom or the battery state. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  8. [8] https://static.tp-link.com/upload/manual/2026/202603/20260318/Statements%20of%20PSTI%20Compliance_TP-Link.pdf (signed for TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., dated 18/3/2026). Its Video Doorbell rows read 'Tapo D205 V1 — 31/12/2029 or later*', 'Tapo D130 V1', 'Tapo D210 V1', 'Tapo D230S1 V1, V1.20', 'Tapo D235 V1', 'TD20 V1', 'TD21 V1', 'TD23 V1.20' — all at the same horizon. A text search of the extracted document returns ZERO occurrences of 'D225' and zero of 'TD25'. The policy the table implements, verbatim: 'TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date.' No support-period commitment for this model was found on any TP-Link surface, so no security-update horizon is recorded for this model rather than inheriting a sibling's date. — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Security-update support period
  9. [9] Listed and available on TP-Link's own US Tapo storefront (us.store.tapo.com, read 2026-08-14, available: true, tagged 'Bestseller') with a live vendor product page at tapo.com/us, and named in TP-Link's July 2026 RTSP support article as a currently-supported model. Nothing on either surface marks it end-of-life. ⚠ The storefront also tags it 'Backorder', which is a stock signal rather than a lifecycle one. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Service status
  10. [10] Researched 2026-08-14 from TP-Link and Tapo first-party surfaces plus one ecosystem-side source: the US Tapo storefront's structured product data, the vendor product page, the Tapo Care plan page (raw markup), TP-Link support articles 2742, 3240, 3653 and 4465, the Matter-certified product list, the March 2026 PSTI compliance declaration, and Home Assistant's own Generic Camera integration documentation. No third-party retailer, review site or community post was used as evidence for any claim on this record. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Research status
  11. [11] TP-Link, Tapo D225 product page (tapo.com/us/product/smart-doorbell/tapo-d225), read 2026-08-19. Specification table, DETECTION and NOTIFICATIONS → AI Detection: "Motion Detection · Person Detection · Pet Detection · Vehicle Detection · Package Detection", with sensor "Single PIR Motion Sensor (FOV: 130° horizontal)". Same table: "Live View: Yes", "Audio Communication: Two-Way Audio with Noise Cancellation", "Siren Volume: 98dB", and "Interface & Button: 1× RESET /SYNC Button, 1× Doorbell Button, 1× Anti-Theft Button, 1× Power ON/OFF Button". Page copy confirms the detection is on-device and unmetered: "On-device AI tags people, packages, and vehicles in frame, without a subscription." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Capabilities
  12. [12] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  13. [13] TP-Link's HomeKit setup article, tp-link.com/us/support/faq/3240/, re-read 2026-09-19. Its title is "How to Set Up and Add Tapo and Kasa HomeKit-Supported Devices", it carries "Last updated: May 26, 2026", and it states its own scope: "It also includes model-specific setup instructions for select devices." Its This Article Applies to block names every product individually — Smart Cameras (2): Tapo C125, Tapo C225; Smart Lighting (1): Tapo L930-5; Smart Plugs (13): EP25P4, EP40A, EP40M, KP125MP2, KP125MP4, Tapo P110M, Tapo P125, Tapo P125M, Tapo P135, Tapo P306, Tapo P316M, Tapo P400M, Tapo P430M; Smart Switches (3): KS200, KS220, KS240. No doorbell of any model appears on the page, and the D225 appears nowhere on it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  14. [14] TP-Link's Tapo D225 page, read in full on 2026-09-29. Verbatim: "Network Connectivity: IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi" · "Power Source: 10000 mAh Built-in Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Hardwire charge Hardwire supply" · "Go wire-free for up to 8 months on a charge, or hardwire it for around-the-clock monitoring." · "Smart Integration: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa" · "Tapo App: iOS 12.0 or higher, Andriod 4.4 or higher" · "AI Detection: Motion Detection Person Detection Pet Detection Vehicle Detection Package Detection" · "Cloud Storage: Tapo Care Cloud Storage Services (Subscription required)" · "Package Contents: Tapo Video Doorbell × 1 Tapo Chime × 1" — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Installation, App platforms, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Service status
  15. [15] TP-Link's US Tapo store catalogue feed, read in full on 2026-09-29 with limit=250 so that every product is on one page. The D225's product: title '2K QHD Smart Doorbell with Chime, Tapo D225', handle 'tapo-2k-qhd-smart-battery-video-doorbell', published_at 2024-11-11, tags 'Backorder', 'Bestseller', 'Outdoor Camera', 'Security Cameras'; one variant, SKU 'Tapo D225', price 99.99, compare_at_price 129.99, available true. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability
  16. [16] TP-Link's US Tapo store product feed at its default address, read in full on 2026-09-29: 30 products. The D225 on its own is not among them; five bundles that include a D225 are, each available, for example 'Front Door Security Pro – 2K Video Doorbell Camera + Palm/Fingerprint Smart Door Lock' at 279.98 against 339.98. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-29
  17. [17] TP-Link's own Tapo Care plans page, read in full 2026-10-01. Plan cards: "Cloud Per device (2 max.) $3.49/mo 30 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 2K Video Playback Snapshot Notifications Smart Filters" and, billed yearly, "Cloud Up to 2 devices $34.99/yr"; "Cloud Advanced Unlimited devices $11.99/mo 180 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 4K Video Playback" and "$119.99/yr"; "Cloud Advanced AI with $19.99/mo AI Chat Facial Recognition" and "$199.99/yr". Questions block: "Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription. However, Tapo Cloud plans unlock premium features like cloud storage, extended video history, and advanced AI analysis". The page prints no column of features that are free without a plan, and the phrases 'Starting at', 'up to 10 Cameras' and 'awaiting firmware release' do not occur on it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Subscription
  18. [18] TP-Link's own US store feed, read 2026-10-01. The feed's first page returned 30 products. The Tapo D225 appears in it only inside bundles; the doorbell sold on its own is not among the 30. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
  19. [19] TP-Link's UK statement of PSTI compliance (signed 18/3/2026), read in full as a PDF on 2026-10-03 (119,967 characters). The rule, verbatim: "The defined support period will end 3 years after the product’s end-of-life date." Its Video Doorbell rows run from Tapo D205 to TD23, among them "Video Doorbell Tapo D235 V1 31/12/2029 or later*". 'D225' and 'TD25' occur nowhere in the document. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Security-update support period
  20. [20] TP-Link's Tapo D225 page, read in full on 2026-10-03 (27,078 characters, the same text as change detection's copy). Every sentence the read of 2026-09-29 quoted is on the page today: "Network Connectivity: IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi" · "Power Source: 10000 mAh Built-in Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Hardwire charge Hardwire supply" · "Go wire-free for up to 8 months on a charge, or hardwire it for around-the-clock monitoring." · "Smart Integration: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa" · "Tapo App: iOS 12.0 or higher, Andriod 4.4 or higher" · "AI Detection: Motion Detection Person Detection Pet Detection Vehicle Detection Package Detection" · "Cloud Storage: Tapo Care Cloud Storage Services (Subscription required)" · "Package Contents: Tapo Video Doorbell × 1 Tapo Chime × 1". On what is free without a plan: "Smart alerts, no monthly fees: On-device AI tags people, packages, and vehicles in frame, without a subscription." · "Keep footage free or in the cloud: Save up to 512 GB to a microSD card at no extra cost, or use cloud storage with Tapo Care." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Installation, App platforms, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Service status
  21. [21] TP-Link's US Tapo store product data for this listing, read in full on 2026-10-03 (35,152 characters). Title '2K QHD Smart Doorbell with Chime, Tapo D225', seller 'Tapo', tags 'Backorder', 'Bestseller', 'Outdoor Camera', 'Security Cameras'. One variant: SKU 'Tapo D225', barcode 810142821575, price 99.99, compare-at 129.99, available. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Market availability
  22. [22] TP-Link's US Tapo store page for this doorbell, read in full on 2026-10-03 (46,855 characters). Verbatim: "Supports free local storage with a microSD card (up to 512GB, sold separately) or Cloud storage with a Tapo Care subscription." · "receive more relevant real-time notifications with free AI detection that alerts you when people are detected at your doorstep, no additional fees or subscription required." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  23. [23] TP-Link's US Tapo store catalogue feed, read in full on 2026-10-03 with limit=250. The D225's product, handle 'tapo-2k-qhd-smart-battery-video-doorbell', carries the same title, tags, SKU, price 99.99, compare-at 129.99 and availability as the listing's own product data. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Market availability
  24. [24] TP-Link's Tapo Care plans page, read in full on 2026-10-03 (22,538 characters, the same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "Cloud Per device (2 max.) $3.49/mo 30 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 2K Video Playback Snapshot Notifications Smart Filters" · "Cloud Up to 2 devices $34.99/yr" · "Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription." The page still prints no list of what is free without a plan. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
  25. [25] TP-Link's Tapo camera FAQ, read in full on 2026-10-03 (33,727 characters); it now prints "Last updated: September 22, 2026". Verbatim: "Most Tapo cameras require the Tapo app and a TP-Link account for setup and everyday use. However, if your camera supports Apple HomeKit, you can set it up using the Home app instead." · "Once set up, the camera can continue to function even if it loses its router connection. SD card recording, including detection recording and 24/7 recording, will keep running." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Works without the internet, Vendor account required, App platforms
  26. [26] TP-Link's HomeKit setup article, read in full on 2026-10-03 (19,448 characters, the same text as change detection's copy). It prints "Last updated: May 26, 2026" and "It also includes model-specific setup instructions for select devices." Its list names two cameras, Tapo C125 and Tapo C225, one light, thirteen plugs and three switches, and no doorbell. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  27. [27] TP-Link's Apple Home feature article, read in full on 2026-10-03 (12,878 characters). Its scope line names Tapo C125, Tapo C840 and Tapo C225 (V2), and the D225 appears nowhere on it. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  28. [28] TP-Link's Matter certified product list, read in full on 2026-10-03 (13,324 characters). Its categories are plugs, switches, lighting, sensors and hubs, from the Tapo P125M and Kasa KP125M plugs to the Tapo H100, H110, H200 and H500 hubs; it lists no camera and no doorbell. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  29. [29] TP-Link's Tapo camera ONVIF and RTSP questions article, read in full on 2026-10-03 (21,788 characters, the same text as change detection's copy); it prints "Last updated: July 1, 2026". Verbatim: "Most Tapo cameras, except for battery-powered models, support the RTSP and ONVIF (Profile S) protocols" · "For battery-operated cameras and doorbells, only select models—specifically the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25—support RTSP streaming when connected via a hardwired setup with a jumper cable and the "always-on mode" activated." · "ONVIF Profile S does not support two-way audio." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  30. [30] TP-Link's guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF', read in full on 2026-10-03 (20,120 characters, the same text as change detection's copy); it prints "Last updated: September 22, 2026". Verbatim: "However, an exception exists for select video doorbell models with flexible power options: the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25 can support RTSP streaming, but only when hardwired for power, with a jumper cable installed, and with always-on mode enabled." · "You must create a camera account in the Tapo app before connecting to any third-party platform." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  31. [31] TP-Link's Tapo D225 page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Verbatim: "Voice Activated Works with Alexa and Google Assistant to see what the doorbell sees on a supported device." · "Smart Integration: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". The page names no Alexa skill, no route and no other function on Alexa. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  32. [32] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo D225, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Voice Activated Works with Alexa and Google Assistant to see what the doorbell sees on a supported device." · "Total Control, One App Two-Way Audio Have a real-time conversation with guests and delivery couriers at your door with crystal-clear two-way audio." · "Siren Volume: 98dB" · "Smart Integration: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa" — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  33. [33] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-10-04
  34. [34] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo D225, read rendered on 2026-10-18 (the plain read, readHash 9a0baf6a5d2e, carries the site navigation only). Verbatim: "Voice Activated Works with Alexa and Google Assistant to see what the doorbell sees on a supported device." · "Smart Integration" "Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  35. [35] TP-Link's 'Tapo Camera ONVIF and RTSP Common Questions Answered' ("Last updated: July 1, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "For battery-operated cameras and doorbells, only select models—specifically the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25—support RTSP streaming when connected via a hardwired setup with a jumper cable and the \"always-on mode\" activated." · "ONVIF Profile S does not support two-way audio." The article names no smart-home platform. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
  36. [36] TP-Link's configuration guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF' ("Last updated: September 22, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "However, an exception exists for select video doorbell models with flexible power options: the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25 can support RTSP streaming, but only when hardwired for power, with a jumper cable installed, and with always-on mode enabled." The guide names no smart-home platform. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
  37. [37] Home Assistant's own TP-Link Smart Home integration page (its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository), read in full on 2026-10-19. Its doorbell list does not include the D225. Verbatim: "D100C, D130, D230" · "Only Tapo cameras, doorbells, and chimes are currently supported." · "Hub attached cameras will be supported in the future. Due to battery considerations they do not support live view.". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-19
  38. [38] TP-Link's 'Tapo Camera ONVIF and RTSP Common Questions Answered', read in full on 2026-10-19; it names no smart-home platform. Verbatim: "only select models—specifically the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25—support RTSP streaming when connected via a hardwired setup". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19
  39. [39] TP-Link's guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF', read in full on 2026-10-19; it names no smart-home platform. Verbatim: "the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25 can support RTSP streaming, but only when hardwired for power". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19
  40. [40] TP-Link's Tapo camera ONVIF and RTSP questions article, read in full on 2026-10-21 (the same fingerprint as the 2026-10-03 read). It names no Home Assistant integration. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
  41. [41] TP-Link's guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF', read in full on 2026-10-21 (the same fingerprint as the 2026-10-03 read). It names no Home Assistant integration. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-21
  42. [42] Home Assistant's own TP-Link Smart Home integration page (its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository), read in full on 2026-10-21 (the same fingerprint as the 2026-10-19 read). Its doorbell list does not include the D225. Verbatim: "D100C, D130, D230" · "Only Tapo cameras, doorbells, and chimes are currently supported." — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-21

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Tapo D225 2K QHD Video Doorbell with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker