Product Library / Smart Lighting

Research profile · last verified 2026-10-15

TP-Link Tapo L535E Color Bulb (Matter)

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][20][30][41][47]
[2][20][33][44][45][47][50]
[3][20][36][41][43][47][51]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI · MATTER[2][11][20][30][47]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Matter controller

For cross-ecosystem Matter use only. TP-Link's own page footnotes its "All-Round Compatibility" claim with "*Requires a hub of your chosen third-party platform" — i.e. a Matter controller from Apple, Amazon, Google or Samsung, not a Tapo device. The Wi-Fi/Tapo-app path needs none of it.[10][30][47]

Check which features need it

Tp Link hub or bridge

For interoperation with TP-Link's own accessories only: "When working with smart button and sensors, the Tapo Hub is required." The bulb itself does not need it.[10][30][47]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

On/off

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [9] [30] [47]

Documented device function

Brightness

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [9] [30] [47]

Documented device function

Color

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [9] [30] [47]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[9][30][47]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
5 documented
Reported events
Not established from vendor documentation

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[2][20][30][41][47]Google HomeWorks[2][20][30][33][41][42][47][50]AlexaWorks[2][20][30][33][41][42][47][50]SmartThingsWorks[2][20][33][44][45][47][50]Home AssistantWorks[3][20][36][41][43][47][51]
On/offDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

BrightnessDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

ColorDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Color temperatureDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

SceneDevice control
Control

Not supported for this Matter device type

Automation

—

Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

? not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Scene automation: Apple Home lists the capabilities its automations can use over Matter, and Scene is not on it.

Google Home

Alexa

SmartThings

SmartThings turns it on and off and sets brightness, colour and colour temperature through its own Matter support, which runs locally. TP-Link names Samsung SmartThings for this bulb, though SmartThings' own device catalogue lists the Tapo L530E, a different bulb, rather than this one. The Tapo app's scenes stay in the Tapo app.[2][20][33][44][45][47][50]

Home Assistant

Use HA's Matter integration (fully local) — the native TP-Link (Kasa/Tapo) integration's docs do not list the L535E, so do not count on it; Tapo-app light effects stay in the Tapo app.[3][20][36][41][43][47][51]

Device documentation: [9] [30] [47]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][20][30][33][41][42][47][50]Full support
Google HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][20][30][33][41][42][47][50]Full support
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][20][30][41][47]Full support
SmartThingsWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][20][33][44][45][47][50]SmartThings turns it on and off and sets brightness, colour and colour temperature through its own Matter support, which runs locally. TP-Link names Samsung SmartThings for this bulb, though SmartThings' own device catalogue lists the Tapo L530E, a different bulb, rather than this one. The Tapo app's scenes stay in the Tapo app.In SmartThings you also need: a Matter-compatible SmartThings hub — SmartThings’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-10-14)
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[3][20][36][41][43][47][51]Use HA's Matter integration (fully local) — the native TP-Link (Kasa/Tapo) integration's docs do not list the L535E, so do not count on it; Tapo-app light effects stay in the Tapo app.In Home Assistant you also need: Home Assistant's own Matter Server app, installed from inside Home Assistant (no extra hardware to buy) — Home Assistant’s rule for every Matter accessory. Source (read 2026-09-11)

Plans and ongoing costs[21][28][38][53]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Optional — there is a documented way to use it without one.[12][30][47]

No plan is sold for this bulb and none is needed. TP-Link does run a paid service under the Tapo name, but it is a camera product: every feature it lists is cloud video storage, video playback, video quality or filtering of camera events, and TP-Link states that a camera works without it. Nothing on the bulb's own product page or its US datasheet mentions a fee of any kind.

Maintenance and offline use[4]

The catch

WiFi-only — a house full of them crowds a budget router.

Who it's for

A low-cost color bulb that works everywhere; suits renters and first-timers.

Check availability at TP-Link

This opens TP-Link's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

53 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] 2026-07 web research sweep (docs/02 catalog; primary sources cited there) — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-07-12
  2. [2] tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-bulb/tapo-l535e/ — the Matter-certified color Tapo is the L535E (the ~$13 L530E is NOT Matter); Matter-over-WiFi (no Thread/Zigbee), Apple/Alexa/Google/SmartThings — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-15
    Backs: Product identity, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Research status, Protocols
  3. [3] Home Assistant official docs: the tplink integration's supported Tapo bulbs are 'L510B, L510E, L530E, L630' — no L535/L535E (home-assistant.io/integrations/tplink; python-kasa supported list agrees) + HA Matter docs ('Matter products run locally and always allow local control'); L535E is Matter-over-WiFi certified per tp-link.com (already in this record's provenance) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-07-21
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  4. [4] https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/download/tapo-l535e/ — firmware v1.4.2 Build 260203, published 2026-05-29, 'Enhanced device stability and security'; hardware revisions V3/V3.20/V3.26/V3.60 all still offered; no EOL notice. Specification facts from https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-bulb/tapo-l535e/ — 'IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz WiFi Only; Bluetooth (only for setup)' and 'Compatible with Matter: Yes'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-08
    Backs: Service status, Market availability, Works without the internet
  5. [5] us.store.tapo.com/products/tapo-smart-light-bulb-matter-certified-tapo-l535e structured product data read 2026-08-10 — title 'Matter-Certified Dimmable RGBW Smart Light Bulb, Tapo L535E', sku 'Tapo L535E', price $14.99, compare-at $17.99, available: true; a 2-pack listing exists separately (handle tapo-l535e-2-pack) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-10
    Backs: Price
    Checked 2026-09-13. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  6. [6] TP-Link / Tapo, Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products (FAQ 1939) — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-11
    Backs: Service status
  7. [7] tp-link.com, Tapo L535E spec page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Power source, Wi-Fi bands it can use
  8. [8] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., "PSTI STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE" (static.tp-link.com, document dated 2026-03-18), read in full 2026-08-20 — a signed regulatory declaration under Schedule 1 of the UK PSTI Regulations 2023, covering "the TP-Link brand and its subsidiaries". Its support-period rule is stated verbatim: "TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date." The document then carries a per-model table — Product/Model Name, Model Number, Defined Support Period — with real dates (e.g. "20/2/2029", "11/7/2027", "31/12/2029 or later*") given SEPARATELY FOR EACH HARDWARE VERSION. TP-Link's own end-of-life FAQ (tp-link.com/uk/support/faq/3562/), read the same day, defines EOL as production having "ended on the model or the specific version of the model" and lists Home Networking and Business Networking products only — no Kasa or Tapo smart-home models appear in it. For THIS model the table carries two rows: "Tapo L535E V3 — 20/2/2029" and "Tapo L535E V3.20 — 31/12/2029 or later*". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  9. [9] TP-Link's own product page for the Tapo L535E, read 2026-08-20: "Turn on/off" by app and voice; "Adjust the brightness from 1% to 100% conveniently with the Tapo app"; "Millions of Colors"; "Tune your lights to warm white (2500K)… or cool white (6500K)"; presets that can be saved as a setting "to instantly adjust"; and "Create regular schedules and countdown timers to turn on/off lights at your set brightness". Ecosystem scope: "Matter-Certified" and "Compatible with Matter: Yes", set up "by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app", with Alexa, Google Assistant and Siri named for voice control. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  10. [10] tp-link.com's Tapo L535E product page, read 2026-08-20, which states the negative outright — "No Hub Required - Connect directly to your home's secure Wi-Fi network—no need for a hub or extra equipment" — and then names the two exceptions in its own words: "When working with smart button and sensors, the Tapo Hub is required", and, footnoting its Matter compatibility claim, "*Requires a hub of your chosen third-party platform". Setup is offered either through the Tapo app or by scanning "the Matter Code" with "any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Required hub or bridge
  11. [11] This record's existing per-model Matter evidence, re-read 2026-08-20 against the ruled definition of what the device itself speaks: a transport statement · Matter over Wi-Fi. No new external source was read — the evidence already on this record was re-examined and this entry states what it establishes., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  12. [12] TP-Link's own Tapo L535E product page (tp-link.com), Matter onboarding section, read 2026-08-21 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  13. [13] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  14. [14] Record-keeping entry: the migrated research stamp was retired from this record on 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  15. [15] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-12 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-12
  16. [16] Re-read 2026-09-12 after the host-conduct check (all hosts open), with quotes confirmed in the page's raw markup: www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-bulb/tapo-l535e/ and us.store.tapo.com/products/tapo-smart-light-bulb-matter-certified-tapo-l535e. The store listing's structured product data has no such sentence; it is in the rendered listing itself. Read through a reader that summarises the page: www.home-assistant.io/integrations/tplink/. The support download page, the Tapo FAQ and the PSTI PDF are relied on as previously quoted on this record. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
  17. [17] us.store.tapo.com/products/tapo-smart-light-bulb-matter-certified-tapo-l535e, structured product record read 2026-09-13: title 'Matter-Certified Dimmable RGBW Smart Light Bulb, Tapo L535E', one variant, sku 'Tapo L535E', price $10.99, compare-at $17.99, available: true. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Price, Market availability
    Checked 2026-09-13. This page no longer lets us re-check it automatically, so that date is where this fact stands.
  18. [18] TP-Link, 'Tapo L535E(US)_V3.20_Datasheet' (link text on tapo.com/us's L535E page; the file is named Tapo L535E(US)_V3_Datasheet.pdf), read in full 2026-09-13. Specifications: 'Form Factor: A19, E26' · 'Lamp Base: E26 fitting' · 'Voltage: 120 V~, 60 Hz' · 'Brightness: 1100 lumens' · 'Wattage: 9.5 W' · 'Dimmable: Yes (via app and voice only)' · 'Certifications: FCC, ETL, DOE, CEC, RoHS'. Network: 'Wi-Fi Protocol: IEEE 802.11b/g/n' · 'Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4 GHz'. Features: 'No hub required'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Power source, Wi-Fi bands it can use
  19. [19] Two first-party pages re-read 2026-09-13. (1) https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/download/tapo-l535e/: hardware versions V3.60, V3.26, V3.20 and V3 offered; newest firmware 'Tapo L535E(US)_V3.6_1.4.3 Build 260702, Published Date: 2026-08-10', notes '1. Fixed an issue where the bulb cannot be turned off in certain scenarios. 2. Enhanced device stability and security.' (2) https://www.tapo.com/us/faq/1939/: 'August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services', with 'Tapo L535E' still in the affected-model list and the Smart Action feature recommended instead. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Service status
  20. [20] Re-read 2026-09-13: https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/smart-bulb/tapo-l535e/ (product copy, not the spec table): 'Tapo L535E', 'Matter-Certified', 'Compatible with Matter: Yes', 'Works with Google Home: Yes', 'Works with Amazon Alexa: Yes', 'Wireless Connectivity: IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz WiFi Only', set up 'by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app', voice control 'via Alexa, Siri, or Google Assistant'; hardware versions V3.2/V3.20 listed. Home Assistant's tplink integration page (https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/tplink/) re-read the same day: supported Tapo bulbs 'L510B, L510E, L530E, L630', no L535E. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Research status
  21. [21] TP-Link's own paid-plan page for the Tapo brand, read 2026-09-16, which is the maker's plans surface and sells one thing: 'Experience the next generation of smart security with Tapo Care'. Its comparison table lists three tiers — Cloud $3.49/mo, Cloud Advanced $11.99/mo, Cloud Advanced AI $19.99/mo — and every row it compares is about camera video: 'Cloud Storage Duration', 'Device Coverage', 'Video Quality Storage', 'Smart Filters', 'Weekly Report', 'Snapshot Notifications'. Its own questions answer the dependency directly: 'Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No.' No lighting product, and no bulb, appears anywhere in what the plans cover. Read the same day and carrying no fee wording at all: TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo L535E, whose compatibility rows still read 'Works with Google Home Yes', 'Works with Amazon Alexa Yes' and 'Compatible with Matter Yes'; and the US datasheet already cited on this record. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16
    Backs: Subscription
  22. [22] Samsung's Works with SmartThings device catalogue, TP-Link section, read browser-rendered 2026-09-16 while grading this record's SmartThings answer: the grid prints 100 device rows, and the color bulb among them is the Tapo L530E. This record's L535E does not appear. The section address was resolved before the list was read, because a dead guessed address is not evidence that a product is missing., verified 2026-09-16
  23. [23] The certification ledger the Connectivity Standards Alliance publishes carries this exact bulb under the Tapo maker number 0x1392, read on 2026-09-18: product number 0x0301, described as a Smart Multicolor Bulb, filed with the part code L535E — which is character-for-character the model number TP-Link prints on this product. Those two numbers are how a Matter home tells one model apart from another, so a compatibility answer anchored to them belongs to this bulb rather than to a sibling that shares most of its name. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-09-18
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  24. [24] TP-Link's own Tapo store listing for the L535E bulb, read 2026-09-23. The listing is titled "Matter-Certified Dimmable RGBW Smart Light Bulb, Tapo L535E", is sold by Tapo, and sells a single version: part code "Tapo L535E", barcode 840030709272. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  25. [25] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-23 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-23
  26. [26] Tapo FAQ 1939, 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', last updated 06-30-2026, read in full 2026-09-25. Verbatim: "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." and "For continued automation needs, we highly recommend using the Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app to create seamless, powerful local automations." 'Tapo L535E' still appears in the affected-model list of the affected-model list, matched as the full model string. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-09-25
    Backs: Service status
  27. [27] Record-keeping entry: an arithmetic error in securitySupport.notes was corrected from the dates the same sentence names, 2026-09-26, verified 2026-09-26
  28. [28] TP-Link's own Tapo Care plans page, read in full 2026-10-01. Plan cards: "Cloud Per device (2 max.) $3.49/mo 30 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 2K Video Playback Snapshot Notifications Smart Filters" and, billed yearly, "Cloud Up to 2 devices $34.99/yr"; "Cloud Advanced Unlimited devices $11.99/mo 180 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 4K Video Playback" and "$119.99/yr"; "Cloud Advanced AI with $19.99/mo AI Chat Facial Recognition" and "$199.99/yr". Questions block: "Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription. However, Tapo Cloud plans unlock premium features like cloud storage, extended video history, and advanced AI analysis". Every row of the comparison table is about camera video or camera alerts, and no card, row or answer names a bulb or any lighting product. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Subscription
  29. [29] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., PSTI Statement of Compliance (static.tp-link.com), read in full on 2026-10-02. Verbatim: 'our devices fully comply with the applicable security requirements in Schedule 1 of The Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure (Security Requirements for Relevant Connectable Products) Regulations 2023.' · 'TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product’s end-of-life date.' · table columns 'Product/Model Name / Model Number / Defined Support Period' · rows, under Smart Bulb: 'Tapo L535E V3 20/2/2029' · 'Tapo L535E V3.20 31/12/2029 or later*' · footnote '*The non-EOL product’s defined support period may be refreshed to extend specific date.' · 'Date: 18/3/2026'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Security-update support period
  30. [30] TP-Link's own US product page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-03; the page title reads "Tapo L535E | Smart WiFi Light Bulb, Multicolor | TP-Link". "Matter-Certified - With support for the Matter protocol, Tapo L535E can seamlessly interoperate with other certified products across platforms." · "Voice Control - Manage your smart lights with voice commands via Alexa, Siri, or Google Assistant." · "Integrate your Tapo Matter device seamlessly into your chosen smart home ecosystem, no longer restricted to a specific platform.* *Requires a hub of your chosen third-party platform." · "When working with smart button and sensors, the Tapo Hub is required" · "Use Bluetooth to easily onboard the Smart Bulb with the Tapo app. Users can also set up Tapo L535E by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app." · "Works with Google Home Yes Works with Amazon Alexa Yes Compatible with Matter Yes" · "Wireless Connectivity IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz WiFi Only; Bluetooth (only for setup)". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Capabilities, Required hub or bridge, Vendor account required, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Research status
  31. [31] The same TP-Link product page read again on 2026-10-03, rendered with its tabs expanded. The page shows hardware version V3.20 selected, with V3 offered beside it, and its specification table reads "Form Factor A60, E27", "Brightness 1055 Lumens" and "Input Voltage 220 -240 V~, 50/60 Hz", with "Certifications CE, ERP, SAA, RCM, ETL". TP-Link's US datasheet for the Tapo L535E V3, read the same day, prints "Form Factor: A19, E26", "Voltage: 120 V~, 60 Hz" and "Brightness: 1100 lumens", and TP-Link's own US store listing says 1100 lumens. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-03
  32. [32] TP-Link's US datasheet for the Tapo L535E (V3), read in full on 2026-10-03. "Form Factor: A19, E26" · "Voltage: 120 V~, 60 Hz" · "Lamp Base: E26 fitting" · "Dimmable: Yes (via app and voice only)" · "Wi-Fi Protocol: IEEE 802.11b/g/n" · "Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4 GHz" · "Package Contents: Tapo Smart Light Bulb Quick Start Guide". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Power source, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Installation
  33. [33] TP-Link's US support and download page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-03. Hardware versions offered: "V3.60 V3.26 V3.20 V3". The setup video's description: "Tapo's first Matter-Compatible high-lumen multicolor smart bulb seamlessly integrates with certified smart home platforms, including Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings. No hub is required." Video titles: "Quick Tips: How to Link your TP-Link Tapo Account to Google Assistant" and "Quick Tips: How to Link you TP-Link Tapo Account to Amazon Alexa". Newest firmware: "Tapo L535E(US)_V3.6_1.4.3 Build 260702 Published Date: 2026-08-10" with "1. Fixed an issue where the bulb cannot be turned off in certain scenarios. 2. Enhanced device stability and security." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Service status, Market availability, SmartThings compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  34. [34] TP-Link's own Tapo store, the structured product record for this listing, read on 2026-10-03: title "Matter-Certified Dimmable RGBW Smart Light Bulb, Tapo L535E", vendor "Tapo", one variant with sku "Tapo L535E" and barcode "840030709272", price 1499, compare_at_price 1799, available true. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Market availability
  35. [35] TP-Link's own Tapo store page for the L535E, read in full on 2026-10-03. Price block: "$14.99 $17.99 / Save 17%". Product details: "Matter devices work with any certified platform such as Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home & SmartThings. All Matter-certified devices in your local area network (LAN) will work smoothly even when your home internet goes offline." · "Tapo L535E provides 1100 lumens of crisp, high-quality lighting". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
  36. [36] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Supported Tapo bulbs: "Bulbs : L510B, L510E, L530E, L630". The L535E is not listed. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  37. [37] TP-Link's Tapo FAQ 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read in full on 2026-10-03 (last updated 06-30-2026). "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." · "For continued automation needs, we highly recommend using the Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app to create seamless, powerful local automations." The affected-model list still names Tapo L535E. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Service status
  38. [38] TP-Link's Tapo Care page, read in full on 2026-10-03. Every feature in the plan comparison is a camera feature (cloud video, video history, snapshots, AI video search), and the questions block reads "Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription." No bulb or lighting feature is named in any plan. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Subscription
  39. [39] TP-Link's UK statement of compliance dated 18 March 2026, read in full on 2026-10-03. The table rows "Smart Bulb Tapo L535E V3 20/2/2029" and "Smart Bulb Tapo L535E V3.20 31/12/2029 or later*", and the footnote "*The non-EOL product’s defined support period may be refreshed to extend specific date." — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Security-update support period
  40. [40] The alliance's ledger, the model list for vendor number 5010 (0x1392), read on 2026-10-03. In our words: product number 769 (0x0301) is registered as a smart multicolor bulb with part number L535E, the record's model number. — Checked a certification register, verified 2026-10-03
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  41. [41] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-07 (the fingerprint matches change detection's). Verbatim: "Matter-Certified - With support for the Matter protocol, Tapo L535E can seamlessly interoperate with other certified products across platforms" · "simple voice commands with Alexa, Siri®, or Google Assistant" · "Hey Google, dim the light to 50% brightness" · "Users can also set up Tapo L535E by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app" · "Works with Google Home Yes Works with Amazon Alexa Yes Compatible with Matter Yes". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  42. [42] TP-Link's US support and download page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Tapo's first Matter-Compatible high-lumen multicolor smart bulb seamlessly integrates with certified smart home platforms, including Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings" · "Quick Tips: How to Link your TP-Link Tapo Account to Google Assistant" · "Quick Tips: How to Link you TP-Link Tapo Account to Amazon Alexa" · "1. Optimized the color changing performance in the Apple Home app". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  43. [43] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Supported Tapo devices Tapo devices require authentication." · "Bulbs : L510B, L510E, L530E, L630". The list does not name the L535E. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  44. [44] TP-Link's US support and download page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Tapo's first Matter-Compatible high-lumen multicolor smart bulb seamlessly integrates with certified smart home platforms, including Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings. No hub is required." · "How to Set Up Matter Devices with Alexa, Google, Apple, and SmartThings". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  45. [45] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Matter-Certified - With support for the Matter protocol, Tapo L535E can seamlessly interoperate with other certified products across platforms." · "Users can also set up Tapo L535E by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app." · "Compatible with Matter Yes". The page's text names no SmartThings; a SmartThings badge appears only as an image. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  46. [46] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-10-07
  47. [47] TP-Link's own US product page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-15 (18,239 characters). "Matter-Certified - With support for the Matter protocol, Tapo L535E can seamlessly interoperate with other certified products across platforms." · "When working with smart button and sensors, the Tapo Hub is required" · "Use Bluetooth to easily onboard the Smart Bulb with the Tapo app. Users can also set up Tapo L535E by scanning the included code with any Matter-compatible app, such as the Alexa app, Google Home app, and Apple Home app." · "Works with Google Home Yes Works with Amazon Alexa Yes Compatible with Matter Yes". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Capabilities, Required hub or bridge, Vendor account required, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility, Research status
  48. [48] The same TP-Link product page, read in full on 2026-10-15: its specification table still reads "Form Factor A60, E27", "Brightness 1055 Lumens" and "Input Voltage 220 -240 V~, 50/60 Hz". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15
  49. [49] TP-Link's US datasheet for the Tapo L535E (V3), read in full on 2026-10-15 (7,036 characters). "Form Factor: A19, E26" · "Voltage: 120 V~, 60 Hz" · "Lamp Base: E26 fitting" · "Wi-Fi Protocol: IEEE 802.11b/g/n" · "Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4 GHz". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Power source, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Installation
  50. [50] TP-Link's US support and download page for the Tapo L535E, read in full on 2026-10-15 (17,117 characters). Hardware versions offered: "V3.60 V3.26 V3.20 V3". "Tapo's first Matter-Compatible high-lumen multicolor smart bulb seamlessly integrates with certified smart home platforms, including Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings. No hub is required." Newest firmware: "Tapo L535E(US)_V3.6_1.4.3 Build 260702 Published Date: 2026-08-10". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Service status, Market availability, SmartThings compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  51. [51] Home Assistant's TP-Link Smart Home integration page, read in full on 2026-10-15 (16,565 characters). Supported Tapo bulbs: "Bulbs : L510B, L510E, L530E, L630". The L535E is still not listed. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  52. [52] TP-Link's Tapo FAQ 'Announcement: IFTTT Services Ending for Tapo and Kasa Products', read in full on 2026-10-15 (3,182 characters). "August 1, 2026: Full termination of IFTTT services." · "For continued automation needs, we highly recommend using the Smart Action feature within the Tapo app or Kasa app to create seamless, powerful local automations." The affected-model list still names the Tapo L535E. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Service status
  53. [53] TP-Link's Tapo Care page, read in full on 2026-10-15 (4,207 characters). "Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription." Every feature the page names is a camera feature; no bulb or lighting feature is named. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-15
    Backs: Subscription

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check TP-Link Tapo L535E Color Bulb (Matter) with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker