Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-14

Tapo C660 KIT 4K Solar Pan/Tilt Camera

⚠ Similar names, different products: Tapo's outdoor camera line runs to dozens of near-identical names and the differences are not cosmetic. 'KIT' means the camera ships with a solar panel (here the Tapo A201); the bare C660 is a different SKU. Sitting beside it on the same storefront are the C645D KIT, C675D KIT, C615F KIT, C610 KIT, C630 KIT and C465 — different sensors, different mounts, different prices. Hardware revisions matter too: TP-Link's own compliance declaration lists support end-dates per version (the A201 solar panel in this kit is dated 20/2/2029 as V1 and '31/12/2029 or later' as V2), and TP-Link's HomeKit article is version-specific in the same way (Tapo C125 V1/V1.6, C225 V2). Check the version on the box, not just the model name.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[6][14][25]
[5][17][19][22][28]
[5][17][19][22][28]
[6]
[7][20][21]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[2][17][22]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [17] [22]

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [17] [22]

Documented device function

Pan/tilt

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [11] [17] [22]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[11][17][22]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
4 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[6][14][25]Google HomeWorks; two-way audio and pan/tilt unconfirmed[5][17][19][22][28]AlexaWorks; two-way audio and pan/tilt unconfirmed[5][17][19][22][28]SmartThingsInconclusive[6]Home AssistantInconclusive[7][20][21]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Pan/tiltDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Control

Inconclusive

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Person detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Vehicle detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Pet detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Apple Home support at Tapo is decided model by model, and this kit is not among the models TP-Link names. Its HomeKit setup article, updated 26 May 2026 and re-read on 19 September 2026, lists the products it applies to one at a time — two cameras, the C125 and the C225, plus one light strip, thirteen plugs and three switches — and says outright that it carries setup instructions for select devices. A list that describes itself as a selection is not a statement about everything it leaves out, which is why this stays open rather than becoming a no. What an Apple household can act on is the rest: the kit's own page offers Alexa and Google only, TP-Link's Matter certified list holds no cameras or doorbells, and the models TP-Link does name for Apple Home are the safer buy.[6][14][25]

Google Home

TP-Link says the camera works with Google Assistant for voice-activated viewing, so the live view comes up through Google. TP-Link does not say whether two-way audio or pan/tilt work through Google, so both are unconfirmed there.[5][17][19][22][28]

Alexa

TP-Link says the camera works with Amazon Alexa for voice-activated viewing ("Alexa, show me the backyard"), so the live view comes up on Alexa. TP-Link does not say whether two-way audio or pan/tilt work through Alexa, so both are unconfirmed there.[5][17][19][22][28]

SmartThings

TP-Link names no SmartThings support for this camera and no statement of non-support was found. Its Matter-certified product list — the route by which Tapo plugs, switches, sensors and hubs reach SmartThings — contains no cameras or doorbells.[6]

Home Assistant

There is no documented local video stream to point Home Assistant at. TP-Link's RTSP/ONVIF setup guide, updated 22 September 2026, names this camera directly: 'For Battery-powered (or solar-powered) cameras and doorbells such as Tapo C425, C460, C660, C645D and D230, RTSP streaming is generally not supported due to battery and hardware design limitations that prioritize power efficiency.' The only battery-powered exceptions it names are three doorbells, the Tapo D235, D225 and TD25. TP-Link publishes no Home Assistant integration either. Unofficial community integrations for Tapo cameras exist; a community project is not vendor support. Recorded unknown rather than none because the vendor's statement is about RTSP, not about Home Assistant by name.[7][20][21]

Device documentation: [11] [17] [22]

Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; two-way audio and pan/tilt unconfirmedWorks; two-way audio and pan/tilt unconfirmed — see the catch[5][17][19][22][28]TP-Link says the camera works with Amazon Alexa for voice-activated viewing ("Alexa, show me the backyard"), so the live view comes up on Alexa. TP-Link does not say whether two-way audio or pan/tilt work through Alexa, so both are unconfirmed there.
Google HomeWorks; two-way audio and pan/tilt unconfirmedWorks; two-way audio and pan/tilt unconfirmed — see the catch[5][17][19][22][28]TP-Link says the camera works with Google Assistant for voice-activated viewing, so the live view comes up through Google. TP-Link does not say whether two-way audio or pan/tilt work through Google, so both are unconfirmed there.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6][14][25]Apple Home support at Tapo is decided model by model, and this kit is not among the models TP-Link names. Its HomeKit setup article, updated 26 May 2026 and re-read on 19 September 2026, lists the products it applies to one at a time — two cameras, the C125 and the C225, plus one light strip, thirteen plugs and three switches — and says outright that it carries setup instructions for select devices. A list that describes itself as a selection is not a statement about everything it leaves out, which is why this stays open rather than becoming a no. What an Apple household can act on is the rest: the kit's own page offers Alexa and Google only, TP-Link's Matter certified list holds no cameras or doorbells, and the models TP-Link does name for Apple Home are the safer buy.
SmartThingsInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[6]TP-Link names no SmartThings support for this camera and no statement of non-support was found. Its Matter-certified product list — the route by which Tapo plugs, switches, sensors and hubs reach SmartThings — contains no cameras or doorbells.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[7][20][21]There is no documented local video stream to point Home Assistant at. TP-Link's RTSP/ONVIF setup guide, updated 22 September 2026, names this camera directly: 'For Battery-powered (or solar-powered) cameras and doorbells such as Tapo C425, C460, C660, C645D and D230, RTSP streaming is generally not supported due to battery and hardware design limitations that prioritize power efficiency.' The only battery-powered exceptions it names are three doorbells, the Tapo D235, D225 and TD25. TP-Link publishes no Home Assistant integration either. Unofficial community integrations for Tapo cameras exist; a community project is not vendor support. Recorded unknown rather than none because the vendor's statement is about RTSP, not about Home Assistant by name.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[3][16][17][23]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[4][24]

Tapo Care is genuinely optional here, and that is the opposite of what the rest of this shelf teaches. TP-Link's product page sells the camera's detection as 'No Subscription Required' and offers 'Up to 512GB of free local storage' on a microSD card; the plan adds cloud video history and snapshot notifications on top. TP-Link's plans page, read on 1 October 2026, sells Tapo Care in three tiers. Cloud is $3.49 a month or $34.99 a year and covers up to 2 devices, with 30 days of cloud storage, snapshot notifications and smart filters. Cloud Advanced is $11.99 a month or $119.99 a year for unlimited devices, with 180 days of storage. Cloud Advanced AI is $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year and adds facial recognition and AI summaries. So $3.49 is the floor, and a home with more than two Tapo cameras is looking at the $11.99 tier. The same page answers the dependency question directly: 'Your Tapo camera works without a subscription.' One thing changed underneath this record: the plans page used to print a table of what is free without a plan, and the free list here was read from that table on 14 August 2026. The page has since been rebuilt without it, so the free list is dated to that read. The microSD card is not included, and the camera takes cards up to 512 GB.

Maintenance and offline use[2]

Security updates[8][18][26]

Tapo declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2029 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.

One of the few cameras in this catalogue with a written patching commitment from its maker. TP-Link's Statements of PSTI Compliance (signed 18/3/2026 by TP-Link Systems Inc.) lists 'Tapo C660 KIT V1 — 31/12/2029 or later' under Battery Camera, and states the rule behind it: 'TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date.' Read the date as a floor, not a ceiling — the document's own footnote says a non-EOL product's period 'may be refreshed to extend specific date'. The solar panel in this kit has its own rows in the same statement: Tapo A201 V1 until 20 February 2029, and Tapo A201 V2 and V2.20 until 31 December 2029 or later. Which panel version ships in the kit is not stated, so the kit's own date is the one shown. ⊕ REGION: UK — the declaring document is a UK PSTI Statement of Compliance, filed under the Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure Act. The scope is the filing's own: this is a promise made for the United Kingdom, and it is printed that way so a buyer elsewhere is never told a British legal commitment covers their unit (S-1b).

The catch

Two things sit under the spec sheet. First, '24/7' does not mean what it means on a wired camera: TP-Link describes 24/7 Continuous Capture as enabling 'battery-powered cameras to take images at customizable intervals... even when no objects are detected' — interval stills, not continuous video, which is the compromise a battery camera has to make. Second, this is the Tapo camera you cannot pull into a third-party system: TP-Link's own documentation puts RTSP out of reach for battery models except three named ones, and this is not among them, so an NVR, Frigate or Home Assistant setup has nothing to connect to. The subscription story is the good news and it is real — recording to a microSD card costs nothing, and SD recording keeps running if the camera loses its internet connection. The kit was $118.99 on sale in August 2026; that sale has ended, and TP-Link's own store listed the kit at $169.99 on 1 October 2026.

Who it's for

Someone who wants 4K coverage of a spot with no power nearby, is happy living inside the Tapo app with Alexa or Google voice viewing on top, and intends to record to a memory card rather than pay a monthly fee. It is the wrong camera for an Apple Home household (TP-Link's HomeKit list names other Tapo models) and the wrong one for anybody who runs their own NVR or Home Assistant, where the missing RTSP stream is decisive.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

28 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] https://us.store.tapo.com/products.json — product 'Tapo C660 Kit 4K Ultra HD Outdoor Pan/Tilt Security Camera with Solar Panel', vendor 'Tapo', product_type 'Outdoor Camera', published_at 2026-08-06, single variant SKU 'Tapo C660 KIT' at price 118.99 with compare_at_price 169.99, available: true, read 2026-08-14. The vendor's own product page writes the model as 'Tapo C660 KIT'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Market availability
  2. [2] https://www.tapo.com/us/product/smart-camera/tapo-c660-kit/ — Specifications read verbatim: 'Resolution 4K 8MP (3840 × 2160 px)', 'Image Sensor 1/2.7" Progressive Scan CMOS Starlight Sensor', 'Field of View 105° (Diagonal), 88° (Horizontal), 45° (Vertical)', 'Night Vision 850 nm IR LED (40 ft.)' with 'Full-Color Night Vision', 'WiFi IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, 2.4GHz/5GHz Wi-Fi', 'Built-in Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery', solar panel 'Tapo A201' with 'Max Charging Power: 2.5 W', 'MicroSD Card Slot on Camera (Up to 512 GB, microSD card not included)', 'Operating Temperature -4°F to 113°F', 'IP65 for both camera and solar panel', 'Built-in Microphone and Speaker' with 'Two-Way Audio with Noise Cancellation'. Box contents and the '45 minutes of direct sunlight powers the Tapo C660 camera for a full day' claim read from the same page. The Tapo H500 appears as an upgrade ('Enjoy up to 16TB local storage and face management with Tapo H500', not included), never as a requirement — which is why hubRequired is false. No Bluetooth is published for this model; per our protocols rule only radios carrying ongoing communication are listed, so the array holds wifi alone. installEffort is diy-simple on the published box contents: bracket, mount adapter, seven screws and anchors, and mounting template stickers. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Protocols, Power source, Batteries, Works without the internet, Required hub or bridge, Installation
  3. [3] https://www.tapo.com/us/tapocare/ — the compare-plans table has two columns, 'Free / Without Tapo Care' and 'Premium / For 1,2,3, up to 10 Cameras', and BOTH list the same eleven feature names in text. ⚠ METHOD NOTE: reading the rendered text alone would report the free tier as including everything, which is wrong. The difference is carried in the markup: in the Free column exactly three list items carry class="fork" — '30-day video clip history**', 'Rich notifications with snapshots' and 'Smart Sort' — and those three are the paid additions recorded here. Price read verbatim from the Premium column: 'Starting at $3.49/month or $34.99 a year'. Footnotes verbatim: '*There is only one chance to take advantage of this 30-day free trial of our cloud storage service.' '**When Tapo cameras detect motion, Tapo Care saves event clips to the cloud.' '***Certain models are awaiting firmware release to support related functions.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Subscription
  4. [4] https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/2742/ (last updated April 17, 2026) — 'Most Tapo cameras require the Tapo app and a TP-Link account for setup and everyday use', with the only stated exception being 'if your camera supports Apple HomeKit, you can set it up using the Home app instead' — an exception that cannot apply here, since TP-Link's HomeKit articles do not name this model. On offline behaviour: 'Once set up, the camera can continue to function even if it loses its router connection. SD card recording, including detection recording and 24/7 recording, will keep running.' That is what makes localOperation 'partial' rather than 'cloud' — local recording survives an outage while setup, remote viewing and notifications do not. ⚠ Scope stated plainly: this article's own applicable-models list runs to 46 Tapo cameras and does NOT name the C660 KIT, so both facts are TP-Link's general statement about Tapo cameras applied to this one, not a model-specific answer. appPlatforms from the Tapo app's iOS App Store and Google Play listings linked on tapo.com; no web app is offered. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Works without the internet, Vendor account required, App platforms
  5. [5] https://www.tapo.com/us/product/smart-camera/tapo-c660-kit/ — the page's smart-home section names 'Google Assistant' and 'Amazon Alexa' and shows Google Home and Amazon Alexa badges, described as voice-activated viewing. No capability list is published for either. ⚠ Cross-party caveat per our own rule: both levels rest on the manufacturer's badge alone; neither Amazon nor Google publishes a per-model entry for this camera that we could check the claim against. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  6. [6] https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/3240/ (last updated May 26, 2026) — the 'This Article Applies to' list of HomeKit-supported models names exactly two cameras, 'Tapo C125' and 'Tapo C225', alongside plugs, switches and one light. https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/3653/ scopes itself to 'Tapo C125 , Tapo C840 , Tapo C225( V2 )' and details which camera features survive in the Apple Home app ('Max. resolution:1080P', no pan/tilt, no sensitivity adjustment). https://www.tp-link.com/us/matter/product-list/ lists Matter-certified TP-Link products by category — mesh WiFi, plugs, switches, lighting, sensors, hubs — and contains NO cameras or video doorbells, which closes the Matter route to Apple Home and SmartThings alike. The C660 KIT appears on none of these lists, and TP-Link states no refusal for it, so both cells are unknown: absence from a support list is informative, not a denial. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  7. [7] https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/4465/ (last updated July 1, 2026), verbatim: 'Most Tapo cameras, except for battery-powered models, support the RTSP and ONVIF (Profile S) protocols' · 'For battery-operated cameras and doorbells, only select models—specifically the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25—support RTSP streaming when connected via a hardwired setup with a jumper cable and the "always-on mode" activated.' · 'Other models, such as the Tapo C410, C420, C425, and D230, do not support RTSP streaming due to limitations in their battery and electronic design.' The C660 KIT is a battery camera and is named in neither list; TP-Link's rule covers the class it belongs to. Ecosystem side: Home Assistant's official Generic Camera integration is what would consume such a stream ('allows you to integrate any IP camera or other URL into Home Assistant', Stream Source field accepting rtsp:// URLs) — with no stream to give it, there is nothing to configure. Home Assistant publishes no vendor-supported Tapo camera integration. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  8. [8] https://static.tp-link.com/upload/manual/2026/202603/20260318/Statements%20of%20PSTI%20Compliance_TP-Link.pdf (signed for TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., 5 Peters Canyon Road, Suite 300, Irvine CA; dated 18/3/2026) — table row under Battery Camera: 'Tapo C660 KIT V1 — 31/12/2029 or later*'. Policy text verbatim: 'TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date. Up-to-date information concerning the defined support periods for the entire TP-Link product range are listed below.' Footnote verbatim: '*The non-EOL product's defined support period may be refreshed to extend specific date.' Same table, Camera Accessories: 'Tapo A201 V1 — 20/2/2029' and 'Tapo A201 V2, V2.20 — 31/12/2029 or later*' — the solar panel bundled with this kit, whose horizon depends on its hardware revision. — Read a public regulatory filing, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Security-update support period
  9. [9] The product is listed and available on TP-Link's own US Tapo storefront (us.store.tapo.com, read 2026-08-14, available: true, published 2026-08-06) with a live product page at tapo.com/us carrying current firmware-dependent features, and it appears in TP-Link's March 2026 compliance declaration with an active support period running to at least 31/12/2029. Nothing on either surface marks it end-of-life. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Service status
  10. [10] Researched 2026-08-14 from TP-Link and Tapo first-party surfaces only: the US Tapo storefront's structured product data, the vendor product page, the Tapo Care plan page (raw markup), four TP-Link support articles (2742, 3240, 3653, 4465), the Matter-certified product list, and the March 2026 PSTI compliance declaration. No third-party retailer, review site or community post was used as evidence for any claim on this record. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-14
    Backs: Research status
  11. [11] tapo.com/us/product/smart-camera/tapo-c660-kit/, read 2026-08-20. Stated: "Live View: Yes"; "Two-Way Audio with Noise Cancellation"; "360° pan and tilt coverage automatically locks onto and follows movement"; and under AI Detection, "Motion Detection", "Person Detection", "Vehicle Detection" and "Pet Detection" as named detection types. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  12. [12] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  13. [13] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  14. [14] TP-Link's HomeKit setup article, tp-link.com/us/support/faq/3240/, re-read 2026-09-19. Its title is "How to Set Up and Add Tapo and Kasa HomeKit-Supported Devices", it carries "Last updated: May 26, 2026", and it states its own scope: "It also includes model-specific setup instructions for select devices." Its This Article Applies to block names every product individually — Smart Cameras (2): Tapo C125, Tapo C225; Smart Lighting (1): Tapo L930-5; Smart Plugs (13): EP25P4, EP40A, EP40M, KP125MP2, KP125MP4, Tapo P110M, Tapo P125, Tapo P125M, Tapo P135, Tapo P306, Tapo P316M, Tapo P400M, Tapo P430M; Smart Switches (3): KS200, KS220, KS240. The C660 KIT appears nowhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-19
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  15. [15] TP-Link's own US store feed, read 2026-10-01. Product +q+, one purchase option with part code Tapo C660 KIT, price 169.99, compare-at 169.99, available to order. The product carries the tags Backorder, Outdoor Camera and Security Cameras, and the feed dates its last change 2026-09-30. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Market availability, Product identity, Price
  16. [16] TP-Link's own Tapo Care plans page, read in full 2026-10-01. Plan cards: "Cloud Per device (2 max.) $3.49/mo 30 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 2K Video Playback Snapshot Notifications Smart Filters" and, billed yearly, "Cloud Up to 2 devices $34.99/yr"; "Cloud Advanced Unlimited devices $11.99/mo 180 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 4K Video Playback" and "$119.99/yr"; "Cloud Advanced AI with $19.99/mo AI Chat Facial Recognition" and "$199.99/yr". Questions block: "Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription. However, Tapo Cloud plans unlock premium features like cloud storage, extended video history, and advanced AI analysis". The page prints no column of features that are free without a plan, and the phrases 'Starting at', 'up to 10 Cameras' and 'awaiting firmware release' do not occur on it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Subscription
  17. [17] TP-Link's own product page for the Tapo C660 KIT, read in full 2026-10-01. "Wireless Connectivity: IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, 2.4GHz/5GHz Wi-Fi" · "Connect the camera to 5 GHz for faster speed or 2.4 GHz for longer distance." · "Power Source: Built-in Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Solar Panel: Tapo A201" · "Solar Panel Max Charging Power: 2.5 W" · "45 Minutes of Direct Sunlight powers the Tapo C660 camera for a full day" · "Protection Powered by AI" followed by "No Subscription Required" · "Up to 512GB of free local storage equals 379 hours (about 16 full days) of 4K video storage." · "Receive rich notifications with snapshots, encrypted protection, data backups, and 30-day video clip history with Tapo Care" · "Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant for hands-free automation." · "Smart Integration: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa" · "Tapo App: iOS 12.0 or higher, Andriod 7.0 or higher" · "AI Detection: Motion Detection Person Detection Pet Detection Vehicle Detection" · "Tapo H500 is not included." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-01
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, App platforms, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities, Subscription, Service status
  18. [18] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., PSTI Statement of Compliance (static.tp-link.com), read in full on 2026-10-02. Verbatim: 'our devices fully comply with the applicable security requirements in Schedule 1 of The Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure (Security Requirements for Relevant Connectable Products) Regulations 2023.' · 'TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product’s end-of-life date.' · table columns 'Product/Model Name / Model Number / Defined Support Period' · row, under Battery Camera: 'Tapo C660 KIT V1 31/12/2029 or later*' · rows, under Camera Accessories: 'Tapo A201 V1 20/2/2029' · 'Tapo A201 V2, V2.20 31/12/2029 or later*' · footnote '*The non-EOL product’s defined support period may be refreshed to extend specific date.' · 'Date: 18/3/2026'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Security-update support period
  19. [19] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo C660 KIT, read in full on 2026-10-07. Verbatim: "Two-Way Audio Communicate directly with the outdoors for your convenience." · "Voice-Activated View Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant for hands-free automation. Alexa, show me the backyard." · "Smart Integration: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa" — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-07
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  20. [20] TP-Link's configuration guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF', read in full on 2026-10-08; the page prints "Last updated: September 22, 2026". Verbatim: "Tapo wired cameras support two protocols for third-party streaming: Real-Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP) and Open Network Video Interface Forum (ONVIF)." · "For Battery-powered (or solar-powered) cameras and doorbells such as Tapo C425, C460, C660, C645D and D230, RTSP streaming is generally not supported due to battery and hardware design limitations that prioritize power efficiency." Home Assistant is named nowhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  21. [21] TP-Link's 'Tapo Camera ONVIF and RTSP Common Questions Answered', read in full on 2026-10-08; the page prints "Last updated: July 1, 2026". Verbatim: "Most Tapo cameras, except for battery-powered models, support the RTSP and ONVIF (Profile S) protocols, ensuring compatibility with various NVR and NAS systems." Home Assistant is named nowhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  22. [22] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo C660 KIT, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Wireless Connectivity: IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, 2.4GHz/5GHz" · "Protection Powered by AI" followed by "No Subscription Required" · "Up to 512GB of free local storage equals 379 hours (about 16 full days) of 4K video storage." · "Cloud Storage: Tapo Care Cloud Storage Services (Subscription required)" · "AI Detection: Motion Detection Person Detection Pet Detection Vehicle Detection Activity Zones: Yes Output Notification : System Notification System Notification with Snapshot (Tapo Care Services)" · "Voice-Activated View Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant for hands-free automation." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, App platforms, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Capabilities, Service status
  23. [23] TP-Link's Tapo Care plans page, read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Cloud Per device (2 max.) $3.49/mo 30 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 2K Video Playback Snapshot Notifications Smart Filters" · "Cloud Up to 2 devices $34.99/yr" · "Cloud Advanced Unlimited devices $11.99/mo 180 Days of Cloud Storage" · "Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription." The page prints no list of features that are free without a plan. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Subscription
  24. [24] TP-Link's 'Tapo Cameras: Your Complete Guide to Setup, Features, and Settings', read in full on 2026-10-08; the page prints "Last updated: September 22, 2026". Verbatim: "The Tapo app is available for iOS and Android only." · "Most Tapo cameras require the Tapo app and a TP-Link account for setup and everyday use." · "SD card recording, including detection recording and 24/7 recording, will keep running. However, without a Wi-Fi network connection, you will not be able to view the live feed, play back videos, or receive detection notifications through the Tapo app." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Works without the internet, Vendor account required, App platforms
  25. [25] TP-Link's 'How to Set Up and Add Tapo and Kasa HomeKit-Supported Devices', read in full on 2026-10-08; the page prints "Last updated: May 26, 2026". Its list headed "This Article Applies to" names two cameras, "Tapo C125 Tapo C225", one light strip, thirteen plugs and three switches. The Tapo C660 is not on it. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  26. [26] TP-Link's Statements of PSTI Compliance (PDF, dated 18/3/2026), read in full on 2026-10-08. Verbatim: "Tapo C660 KIT V1 31/12/2029 or later*" · "*The non-EOL product’s defined support period may be refreshed to extend specific date." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-08
    Backs: Security-update support period
  27. [27] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-10-08
  28. [28] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo C660 KIT, read rendered on 2026-10-18 (the plain read, readHash ad7ad1e96117, carries the overview only). Verbatim: "Voice-Activated View Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant for hands-free automation." · "Alexa, show me the backyard." · "Two-Way Audio Communicate directly with the outdoors for your convenience." · "Smart Integration" "Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Tapo C660 KIT 4K Solar Pan/Tilt Camera with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker