Product Library / Cameras & Doorbells

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-17

TP-Link Tapo C120

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2]
[1][16][18][25][27][28][30]
[1][16][18][24][27][28][29]
[22]
[3][13][19][32]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1][18]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Camera stream

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [18]

Documented device function

Two-way audio

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [18]

Documented device function

Spotlight

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [5] [18]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[5][18]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
4 documented
Reported events
5 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeInconclusive[2]Google HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][16][18][25][27][28][30]AlexaWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[1][16][18][24][27][28][29]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[22]Home AssistantWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)[3][13][19][32]
Camera streamDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Works

Control

Works

Control

Not stated

Control

Works

Two-way audioDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

SpotlightDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

SirenDevice control
Control

Inconclusive

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Motion detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Person detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Pet detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Vehicle detectedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Sound recognisedReported event
Event

Inconclusive

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Not established. TP-Link's specification page for this camera names its smart-home integration in one line: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa and Samsung SmartThings. Apple Home, HomeKit and HomeKit Secure Video appear nowhere on the page. A line naming which voices work is not a statement about which home platforms the camera joins, so it leaves Apple Home unanswered rather than ruled out. Nothing TP-Link publishes says it works either, and no Tapo camera in this library has a documented Apple Home route, so do not plan around it — ask TP-Link before you buy if Apple Home is where this camera has to live.[2]

Google Home

TP-Link connects this camera to Google Home when you link your TP-Link account through Works with Google Home in the Google Home app; the live view can then play in the Google Home app or on a Nest display. TP-Link doesn't say whether Google can use the two-way audio, spotlight or siren, so those are unconfirmed there.[1][16][18][25][27][28][30]

Alexa

TP-Link connects this camera to Alexa through the Tapo skill, which you turn on in the Alexa app and sign in to with your TP-Link account; you can then call up the camera's view on an Alexa device with a screen. TP-Link doesn't say whether Alexa can use the two-way audio, spotlight or siren, so those are unconfirmed there.[1][16][18][24][27][28][29]

SmartThings

TP-Link's page for the camera it sells today, the C120 V2, lists Samsung SmartThings beside Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa as a smart integration. It does not say how the camera connects to SmartThings or which of its features reach it, so the camera stream, two-way audio, spotlight and siren are unconfirmed there. TP-Link's page for the older C120 V1 does not name SmartThings, so an earlier unit may not offer it.[22]

Home Assistant

Home Assistant's own TP-Link integration lists the Tapo C120 among its supported cameras, connects to it on your network 'without going via the TP-Link cloud', and creates a live view camera entity once you set up a camera account in the Tapo app. Home Assistant does not say whether two-way audio, the spotlight or the siren come across, so those three are unconfirmed. Separately, TP-Link's own streaming guide lists the C120 for RTSP and ONVIF Profile S, which suits recorders such as Frigate or a NAS, though that guide does not name Home Assistant.[3][13][19][32]

Device documentation: [5] [18]

Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][16][18][24][27][28][29]TP-Link connects this camera to Alexa through the Tapo skill, which you turn on in the Alexa app and sign in to with your TP-Link account; you can then call up the camera's view on an Alexa device with a screen. TP-Link doesn't say whether Alexa can use the two-way audio, spotlight or siren, so those are unconfirmed there.
Google HomeWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[1][16][18][25][27][28][30]TP-Link connects this camera to Google Home when you link your TP-Link account through Works with Google Home in the Google Home app; the live view can then play in the Google Home app or on a Nest display. TP-Link doesn't say whether Google can use the two-way audio, spotlight or siren, so those are unconfirmed there.
Apple HomeInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[2]Not established. TP-Link's specification page for this camera names its smart-home integration in one line: Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa and Samsung SmartThings. Apple Home, HomeKit and HomeKit Secure Video appear nowhere on the page. A line naming which voices work is not a statement about which home platforms the camera joins, so it leaves Apple Home unanswered rather than ruled out. Nothing TP-Link publishes says it works either, and no Tapo camera in this library has a documented Apple Home route, so do not plan around it — ask TP-Link before you buy if Apple Home is where this camera has to live.
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[22]TP-Link's page for the camera it sells today, the C120 V2, lists Samsung SmartThings beside Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa as a smart integration. It does not say how the camera connects to SmartThings or which of its features reach it, so the camera stream, two-way audio, spotlight and siren are unconfirmed there. TP-Link's page for the older C120 V1 does not name SmartThings, so an earlier unit may not offer it.
Home AssistantWorks; three functions unconfirmed (see the note)Works; three functions unconfirmed (see the note) — see the catch[3][13][19][32]Home Assistant's own TP-Link integration lists the Tapo C120 among its supported cameras, connects to it on your network 'without going via the TP-Link cloud', and creates a live view camera entity once you set up a camera account in the Tapo app. Home Assistant does not say whether two-way audio, the spotlight or the siren come across, so those three are unconfirmed. Separately, TP-Link's own streaming guide lists the C120 for RTSP and ONVIF Profile S, which suits recorders such as Frigate or a NAS, though that guide does not name Home Assistant.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[1][11]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.

Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it. (established from the vendor's own setup steps, where signing in is mandatory before the device can be added)[7][21]

The camera records to a microSD card of up to 512 GB with no plan, and TP-Link says its cameras work without a subscription. TP-Link also sells optional Tapo Care cloud plans that add 30 days of video clip history and notifications with snapshots; the entry plan was $3.49 a month, or $34.99 a year for up to two cameras, when we checked in September 2026, and new users get a free first month.

Maintenance and offline use

Security updates[6][15][20]

Tapo declares security updates for this model until December 31, 2029 (UK-declared — the maker's legal commitment is filed for the United Kingdom). After that date the product keeps working; the manufacturer simply has no stated obligation to keep issuing security fixes.

TP-Link's UK security statement of 18 March 2026 lists the Tapo C120 V1 with security updates until 31 December 2029 or later. Its footnote says the period for a product still on sale may be refreshed to a later date, so read the date as a floor. TP-Link's general rule, printed in the same statement, is that support ends 3 years after a product's end-of-life date. This is a promise TP-Link filed for the United Kingdom, under British law, so a buyer elsewhere should not read it as covering their camera.

The catch

2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only — TP-Link's own radio row reads 'IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi', so there is no 5 GHz option on a camera pushing 2K+ video, and a congested 2.4 GHz band is the thing most likely to make it stutter. The field of view is narrower than the marketing frame suggests too: TP-Link's figure of 115.8° diagonal works out to 98.5° horizontal and just 53.1° vertical, so it sees a corridor rather than a scene. On the other side of the ledger, it is one of the Tapo cameras that can hand a real RTSP stream to Home Assistant or an NVR — because it runs on mains power, not a battery. TP-Link now sells a second hardware version, the C120 V2, and this page follows it. A C120 V1 differs: TP-Link lists it at 2K, with a 120° diagonal view, a 96 dB siren and 30 ft night vision, and its page does not name SmartThings.

Who it's for

A household that wants a weatherproof camera it can point at its own recorder — microSD locally, and an ONVIF/RTSP stream into Home Assistant, Frigate or a NAS — without a monthly plan. Poor fit if you are an Apple household, since TP-Link does not list Apple Home, or a SmartThings household that needs to know what will work, since TP-Link names SmartThings without saying what reaches it, or if the camera has to live far from the router on a busy 2.4 GHz network.

Check availability at Tapo

This opens Tapo's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

33 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] tp-link.com, Tapo C120 product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  2. [2] tp-link.com, Tapo C120 product page — the smart-home integration line reads 'Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa' and nothing else. No Apple Home, HomeKit, HomeKit Secure Video or Matter appears on that line or anywhere else in the page's specification set. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  3. [3] tp-link.com support, How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  4. [4] tp-link.com, Tapo C120 product page — no price published by the vendor — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-17
    Backs: Price
  5. [5] TP-Link, Tapo C120 product page (tp-link.com/us/home-networking/cloud-camera/tapo-c120), read 2026-08-19. Specification table, DETECTION and NOTIFICATIONS → AI Detection: "Motion Detection · Person Detection · Line-Crossing Detection · BabyCry Detection · Vehicle Detection · Pet Detection · Meow Detection · Bark Detection · Glass-Breaking Detection", with "Activity Zones: Yes" and "Security: On-Device Machine Learning". Same table: "Live View: Yes", "Audio Communication: Two-Way Audio with Noise Cancellation", "Siren Volume: 96dB". Spotlight control is stated in the page copy rather than the table: "The camera can be set to have the spotlights turn on when motion is detected", alongside "With dual-spotlights the Tapo C120 provides a better viewing experience especially in low light conditions." — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: Capabilities
  6. [6] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., "PSTI STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE" (static.tp-link.com, document dated 2026-03-18), read in full 2026-08-20 — a signed regulatory declaration under Schedule 1 of the UK PSTI Regulations 2023, covering "the TP-Link brand and its subsidiaries". Its support-period rule is stated verbatim: "TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product's end-of-life date." The document then carries a per-model table — Product/Model Name, Model Number, Defined Support Period — with real dates (e.g. "20/2/2029", "11/7/2027", "31/12/2029 or later*") given SEPARATELY FOR EACH HARDWARE VERSION. TP-Link's own end-of-life FAQ (tp-link.com/uk/support/faq/3562/), read the same day, defines EOL as production having "ended on the model or the specific version of the model" and lists Home Networking and Business Networking products only — no Kasa or Tapo smart-home models appear in it. The Tapo C120 appears nowhere in the table. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  7. [7] Tapo App User Guide for Tapo Indoor/Outdoor Cameras, REV1.1.0 (static.tp-link.com; the guide TP-Link links from the C120's own support-download page as tp-link.com/us/document/42483/), 'Set Up Your Camera' section, read 2026-08-21 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-21
    Backs: Vendor account required
  8. [8] the source already cited on this record: tp-link.com's Tapo C120 product page and its smart-home integration line. Nothing was read again., verified 2026-08-22
  9. [9] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  10. [10] Record-keeping entry: this record's ecosystems marked as unsupported were classified under the five-way absence sort, 2026-08-30, verified 2026-08-30
  11. [11] TP-Link's C120 product page https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/cloud-camera/tapo-c120/, read 2026-09-13: 'Save recorded videos to a microSD card † (up to 512 GB) or by using Tapo Care ** cloud services.'; 'Receive rich notifications with snapshots, encrypted protection, data backups, and 30-day video clip history with Tapo Care ** cloud services. ** Tapo Care cloud storage services require a subscription. A free trial for the first month is provided.'; spec rows 'Local Storage MicroSD Card Slot on Camera (Up to 512 GB)', 'Cloud Storage Tapo Care Cloud Storage Services (Subscription required)', 'Live View Yes', 'Security On-Device Machine Learning'. Tapo's plans page https://www.tapo.com/us/tapocare/, read the same day: 'Try 30 days free. New users only. Monthly Annual Cloud Per device (2 max.) $3.49/mo 30 Days of Cloud Storage Up to 2K Video Playback Snapshot Notifications'; 'Cloud Up to 2 devices $34.99/yr 30 Days of Cloud Storage'; FAQ 'Is a Tapo Care plan required to use my camera? No. Your Tapo camera works without a subscription. However, Tapo Cloud plans unlock premium features like cloud storage, extended video history, and advanced AI analysis'. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-13
    Backs: Subscription
  12. [12] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  13. [13] TP-Link's configuration guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF', read in full on 2026-10-02; the page prints "Last updated: September 22, 2026". Verbatim: "Tapo wired cameras support two protocols for third-party streaming: Real-Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP) and Open Network Video Interface Forum (ONVIF)." · "For Battery-powered (or solar-powered) cameras and doorbells such as Tapo C425, C460, C660, C645D and D230, RTSP streaming is generally not supported due to battery and hardware design limitations that prioritize power efficiency. However, an exception exists for select video doorbell models with flexible power options: the Tapo D235, D225, and TD25 can support RTSP streaming, but only when hardwired for power, with a jumper cable installed, and with always-on mode enabled." · "The Tapo camera supports ONVIF Profile S. Compatible platforms include VLC media player, Agent DVR, Synology Surveillance Station, and other ONVIF-compatible software/NAS/NVRs." · "You must create a camera account in the Tapo app before connecting to any third-party platform." The list headed "This Article Applies to: Smart Cameras (41)" names "Tapo C120". Home Assistant is named nowhere on the page. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  14. [14] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the code TP-Link uses for this camera on its own product page, Tapo C120, was written onto the record so the row in TP-Link's UK security statement can be tied to it. No page was read for this., verified 2026-10-02
  15. [15] TP-LINK SYSTEMS INC., PSTI Statement of Compliance (static.tp-link.com), read in full on 2026-10-02. Verbatim: 'our devices fully comply with the applicable security requirements in Schedule 1 of The Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure (Security Requirements for Relevant Connectable Products) Regulations 2023.' · 'TP-Link will provide security updates for our products during the pre-defined support period. The defined support period will end 3 years after the product’s end-of-life date.' · table columns 'Product/Model Name / Model Number / Defined Support Period' · row, under Smart Outdoor Camera: 'Tapo C120 V1 31/12/2029 or later*' · footnote '*The non-EOL product’s defined support period may be refreshed to extend specific date.' · 'Date: 18/3/2026'. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Security-update support period
  16. [16] TP-Link's own US Tapo C120 page, read in full on 2026-10-04 (same text as change detection's copy). Verbatim: "Works with Your Smart Home - Connect with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings for more convenient viewing and control across your smart home ecosystem." · "Voice Activated View Check in on your loved ones when used with a supported device. Works with Alexa and Google Assistant. Alexa, show baby room camera." · "Smart Integration Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  17. [17] TP-Link's US product page for the Tapo C120, read in full on 2026-10-09. It now opens on the second hardware version, with a chooser for both: "Tapo C120 V2 Overview Specifications" · "Download Tapo C120 V2 Tapo C120 V1" · "Tapo C120 V2 Indoor/Outdoor Home Security Wi-Fi Camera" · "Can I use the Tapo C120 outdoors? Yes. Tapo C120 is IP66 weather-resistant and designed for both indoor and outdoor use." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  18. [18] TP-Link's US page for the Tapo C120 V1, read in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim: "Tapo C120 V1 Overview Specifications" · "Voice Activated View Check in on your loved ones when used with a supported device. Works with Alexa and Google Assistant." · "With dual-spotlights the Tapo C120 provides a better viewing experience especially in low light conditions." · "The camera can be set to have the spotlights turn on when motion is detected." · "Field of View: 120°(Diagonal), 103°(Horizontal), 55°(Vertical)" · "Audio Communication Two-Way Audio with Noise Cancellation" · "Siren Volume 96dB" · "Wireless Connectivity IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi" · "Power Source 5V DC Power Adapter" · "Smart Integration Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa" · "The magnetic base enables quick installation, while the 9.8 ft. power cord provides extra reach for easier placement." The AI detection row names motion, person, line-crossing, baby cry, vehicle, pet, meow, bark and glass-breaking detection. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Product identity, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Capabilities, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  19. [19] TP-Link's configuration guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF', read in full on 2026-10-09; the page prints "Last updated: September 22, 2026". Verbatim: "Tapo wired cameras support two protocols for third-party streaming: Real-Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP) and Open Network Video Interface Forum (ONVIF)." · "You must create a camera account in the Tapo app before connecting to any third-party platform." · "For Battery-powered (or solar-powered) cameras and doorbells such as Tapo C425, C460, C660, C645D and D230, RTSP streaming is generally not supported due to battery and hardware design limitations that prioritize power efficiency." · "Tapo cameras support ONVIF Profile S, which does not include two‑way audio. Profile S covers only basic functions such as video/audio streaming, network configuration, event handling, and PTZ control." The 'This Article Applies to' list names the Tapo C120. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  20. [20] TP-Link's PSTI Statement of Compliance, read in full on 2026-10-09 (the PDF as served today). The support-period rule, verbatim: "The defined support period will end 3 years after the product’s end-of-life date." The table's Smart Outdoor Camera rows include "Tapo C120 V1 31/12/2029 or later*". No Tapo C120 V2 row appears. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Security-update support period
  21. [21] TP-Link's Tapo App User Guide for Tapo Indoor/Outdoor Cameras, REV1.1.0, read in full on 2026-10-09. Verbatim, setup steps: "Step 2. Log In" · "Open the app, and log in with your TP-Link ID." · "If you don't have an account, create one first." · "Step 3. Add Your Camera". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-09
    Backs: Vendor account required
  22. [22] TP-Link's own US Tapo C120 page, read in full on 2026-10-11; it opens on "Tapo C120 V2" with a chooser naming "Tapo C120 V1" and "Tapo C120 V2". Verbatim, Specifications: "Field of View: 115.8° (Diagonal), 98.5° (Horizontal), 53.1° (Vertical)" · "Color Night Vision) (40 ft / 12 m) Infrared Night Vision (40 ft / 12 m)" · "Lighting 2× 850nm IR LED 2× Spotlights" · "Maximum Resolution 2K+ (2560*1440 px)" · "Siren Volume 98 dB (Level measured at 10-cm distance)" · "WPA/WPA2-PSK/WPA3-PSK" · "Input Voltage 5.0 V, 1.0 A, Type-C Power" · "RTSP YES ONVIF Yes(Profile S)" · "Smart Integration Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings". — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-11
    Backs: SmartThings compatibility
  23. [23] TP-Link's own US Tapo C120 V1 page, read in full on 2026-10-11. Verbatim: "Field of View: 120°(Diagonal), 103°(Horizontal), 55°(Vertical)" · "Maximum Resolution 2K QHD 4MP (2560 × 1440 px)" · "Siren Volume 96dB" · "Smart Integration Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". The page does not name SmartThings. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-11
  24. [24] TP-Link's support article 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Amazon Alexa' (FAQ 944, "Last updated: June 30, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash 73aba713ba59…). Verbatim: "Tapo and Kasa devices can be linked to Amazon Alexa using two methods: through the Tapo or Kasa app under Me > Third-Party Services > Amazon Alexa, or by searching for the Tapo or Kasa skill directly in the Amazon Alexa app." · "Step 2. Enter and search for Tapo/Kasa. Step 3. Tap the ENABLE TO USE button. Step 4. Follow the instructions to link your Tapo/Kasa account with Alexa." · "as it's a Cloud-to-Cloud service" (camera live feed) · "If you added Kasa devices through the Tapo app, they will not show up in Amazon Alexa when you link only your Tapo account." Its "This Article Applies to" list names "Tapo C120"., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  25. [25] TP-Link's support article 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Smart Devices to Google Home' (FAQ 1534, "Last updated: September 4, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-12 (readHash 1394343ce658…). Verbatim: "You can link them through the Tapo or Kasa app under Me > Third-Party Service > Google Assistant , or directly from the Google Home app using Works with Google Home ." · "Step 2: Tap Works with Google Home , and search Tapo/Kasa." · "Tapo camera live streaming through Google Assistant is a Cloud-to-Cloud service." · "Google Home app supports live streaming from Tapo cameras." · "If you added Kasa devices through the Tapo app, they will not show up in Google Home when you link only your Tapo account." Its "This Article Applies to" list names "Tapo C120"., verified 2026-10-12
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  26. [26] Record-keeping entry: desk correction, no page read; the retired SmartThings absence marker is removed and the Apple Home catch now names all three integrations on TP-Link's line., verified 2026-10-18
  27. [27] TP-Link's US Tapo C120 page, read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "Works with Your Smart Home - Connect with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Samsung SmartThings for more convenient viewing and control across your smart home ecosystem." · "Voice Activated View Check in on your loved ones when used with a supported device. Works with Alexa and Google Assistant. Alexa, show baby room camera." · "Smart Integration Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  28. [28] TP-Link's US page for the Tapo C120 V1, read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "Alexa, show baby room camera Voice Activated View Check in on your loved ones when used with a supported device. Works with Alexa and Google Assistant." · "Smart Integration Google Assistant, Amazon Alexa". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility
  29. [29] TP-Link's support article 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Amazon Alexa' ("Last updated: June 30, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "Once linked, you can use Alexa voice commands to control Tapo and Kasa devices, or stream Tapo/Kasa camera feeds to an Amazon Echo Show or Fire TV." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility
  30. [30] TP-Link's support article 'How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Smart Devices to Google Home' ("Last updated: September 4, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "Once linked, you can use voice commands to control a Kasa smart plug, smart bulbs, and smart lights, or stream Tapo camera video on the Google Home app, Google Nest, or Chromecast display." · "Tapo camera live streaming through Google Assistant is a Cloud-to-Cloud service. The live feed stops automatically after 10 minutes, but you can ask Google to resume the stream." — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
    Backs: Google Home compatibility
  31. [31] TP-Link's configuration guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF' ("Last updated: September 22, 2026"), read in full on 2026-10-18. Verbatim: "Tapo wired cameras support two protocols for third-party streaming" · "No two‑way audio: Tapo cameras support ONVIF Profile S, which does not include two‑way audio." The 'This Article Applies to' list names the Tapo C120. The guide names no smart-home platform. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-18
  32. [32] Home Assistant's own TP-Link Smart Home integration page (its source file in the home-assistant/home-assistant.io repository), read in full on 2026-10-19. Verbatim: "C100, C120, C210, C220, C225, C325WB, C520WS, C720, TC65, TC70" · "Checkbox to enable live view will create the live view camera entity for Tapo cameras." · "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud.". — Read the platform's own documentation, verified 2026-10-19
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  33. [33] TP-Link's guide 'How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF', read in full on 2026-10-19; it names no smart-home platform. Verbatim: "Tapo wired cameras support two protocols for third-party streaming". — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-19

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check TP-Link Tapo C120 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker