Product Library / Blinds, Shades & Curtains

Research profile · last verified 2026-09-21

SwitchBot Curtain 3

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[2][12][17][18][19]
[2][12][17][18]
[2][12][17][18]
[2][12][17][18]
[4][11][13]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: BLUETOOTH[1][2][7][12][13]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

Not for the curtain itself, and yes for every ecosystem. SwitchBot's listing describes app control directly and then puts the platforms behind a hub in two sentences that name two different hubs: 'With SwitchBot Hub, you can also use voice commands via Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts, and IFTTT', and 'With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit. Control your curtains via the Home App or using your HomePod/Apple Watch.' As with the Blind Tilt, the Hub 2 is the one that carries Matter and Apple; a cheaper SwitchBot hub reaches the voice services only.[2][12][17]

Equipment that adds features

Check which features need it

Switchbot hub or bridge

Required for Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts and IFTTT. SwitchBot writes 'SwitchBot Hub' generically for this list without naming which models qualify.[2][12][17]

Check which features need it

Matter controller

SwitchBot names the Hub 2 by model as what makes the curtain a Matter device and what puts it into Apple HomeKit. The Matter controller on the far side is whatever ecosystem the buyer already runs.[2][12][17]

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

Open/close

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [12] [13] [17]

Documented device function

Position

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [2] [12] [13] [17]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[2][12][13][17]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
2 documented
Reported events
None documented by the vendor

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks[2][12][17][18][19]Google HomeWorks; position unconfirmed[2][12][17][18]AlexaWorks; position unconfirmed[2][12][17][18]SmartThingsWorks; position unconfirmed[2][12][17][18]Home AssistantWorks[4][11][13]
Open/closeDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

PositionDevice control
Control

Supported for this Matter device type

Automation

✓ routines can use it

Control

Not stated

Automation

? not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

Control

Not stated

Automation

? not stated

Control

Not stated

Automation

—

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Matter device-type support is based on the platform’s list for this kind of device; this exact model is not named.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Reached only through the Hub 2, which SwitchBot names by model: 'With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit. Control your curtains via the Home App or using your HomePod/Apple Watch.' The claim rests on SwitchBot's word — no Apple document confirms what a bridged curtain motor exposes in the Home app.[2][12][17][18][19]

Google Home

Works through a SwitchBot hub: SwitchBot says that with a hub you can use voice commands via Google Home, so opening and closing the curtain works there. Setting how far it opens is unconfirmed on Google: SwitchBot names the open percentage only in its own app. SwitchBot does not say which hub models qualify.[2][12][17][18]

Alexa

Works through a SwitchBot hub: SwitchBot says that with a hub you can use voice commands via Alexa, so opening and closing the curtain works there. Setting how far it opens is unconfirmed on Alexa: SwitchBot names the open percentage only in its own app. SwitchBot does not say which hub models qualify.[2][12][17][18]

SmartThings

Works through a SwitchBot hub: SwitchBot says that with a hub you can use voice commands via SmartThings, so opening and closing the curtain works there. Setting how far it opens is unconfirmed on SmartThings: SwitchBot names the open percentage only in its own app. SwitchBot does not say which hub models qualify.[2][12][17][18]

Home Assistant

This platform is documented from both sides, which no other platform on this page is. Home Assistant's own SwitchBot integration lists the Curtain 3 by name and says what it does with it: open, close, pause, set and read the curtain position, read the light level and the battery, and set the motor's movement speed. It needs no SwitchBot hub — Home Assistant states that outright and states that it talks to the motor on your own network rather than through SwitchBot's servers — so this is the only platform here that does not add a hub to the bill. SwitchBot has also certified the Curtain 3 for Home Assistant over Bluetooth by name, which is the maker's own commitment rather than a third party's reading. The one thing to price in: the machine running Home Assistant needs working Bluetooth and has to be within range of the curtain, because nothing in this path relays the signal.[4][11][13]

Device documentation: [2] [12] [13] [17]

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Apple HomeWorksWorks with this ecosystem[2][12][17][18][19]Reached only through the Hub 2, which SwitchBot names by model: 'With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit. Control your curtains via the Home App or using your HomePod/Apple Watch.' The claim rests on SwitchBot's word — no Apple document confirms what a bridged curtain motor exposes in the Home app.In Apple Home you also need: a Switchbot hub · a Matter controller
Amazon AlexaWorks; position unconfirmedWorks; position unconfirmed — see the catch[2][12][17][18]Works through a SwitchBot hub: SwitchBot says that with a hub you can use voice commands via Alexa, so opening and closing the curtain works there. Setting how far it opens is unconfirmed on Alexa: SwitchBot names the open percentage only in its own app. SwitchBot does not say which hub models qualify.In Amazon Alexa you also need: a Switchbot hub
Google HomeWorks; position unconfirmedWorks; position unconfirmed — see the catch[2][12][17][18]Works through a SwitchBot hub: SwitchBot says that with a hub you can use voice commands via Google Home, so opening and closing the curtain works there. Setting how far it opens is unconfirmed on Google: SwitchBot names the open percentage only in its own app. SwitchBot does not say which hub models qualify.In Google Home you also need: a Switchbot hub
SmartThingsWorks; position unconfirmedWorks; position unconfirmed — see the catch[2][12][17][18]Works through a SwitchBot hub: SwitchBot says that with a hub you can use voice commands via SmartThings, so opening and closing the curtain works there. Setting how far it opens is unconfirmed on SmartThings: SwitchBot names the open percentage only in its own app. SwitchBot does not say which hub models qualify.In SmartThings you also need: a Switchbot hub
Home AssistantWorksWorks with this ecosystem[4][11][13]This platform is documented from both sides, which no other platform on this page is. Home Assistant's own SwitchBot integration lists the Curtain 3 by name and says what it does with it: open, close, pause, set and read the curtain position, read the light level and the battery, and set the motor's movement speed. It needs no SwitchBot hub — Home Assistant states that outright and states that it talks to the motor on your own network rather than through SwitchBot's servers — so this is the only platform here that does not add a hub to the bill. SwitchBot has also certified the Curtain 3 for Home Assistant over Bluetooth by name, which is the maker's own commitment rather than a third party's reading. The one thing to price in: the machine running Home Assistant needs working Bluetooth and has to be within range of the curtain, because nothing in this path relays the signal.

Plans and ongoing costs[2][12][17]

✓ Works without a subscription: Yes.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

No subscription is referenced anywhere on SwitchBot's store listing for this product, including its feature copy and warranty section.

Maintenance and offline use[3]

The catch

The rail type is the first decision and it is not reversible by software: SwitchBot sells this as U Rail, Rod Type 1 and an I Rail accessory kit, at different prices, and buying the wrong one means the motor will not mount on your curtain track. Measure before ordering. The second thing is the hub, which follows SwitchBot's usual shape — the motor answers the app over Bluetooth on its own, but Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts and IFTTT all need a SwitchBot hub, and Matter and Apple Home need the Hub 2 specifically. Home Assistant is the exception: it reaches the motor over Bluetooth with no hub at all. Third, Silent Mode is real but it is a trade: SwitchBot rates it below 25 dB and says the curtain will 'drift slower' to get there, so the quiet setting is the slow setting. Fourth, and unusually for a product at this price, SwitchBot publishes no battery capacity and no rated battery life on this listing — the Solar Panel 3 is sold separately, so the recharging question is both unanswered and unbundled. The 15 kg thrust rating is the number that matters for heavy or lined curtains, and it is the one spec SwitchBot does state plainly.

Who it's for

Someone with existing curtains on a rod or a U/I rail who wants them to open on a schedule or by voice without replacing the track. It suits heavier curtains — the 15 kg thrust rating is the reason to pick this over a lighter retrofit — and it suits a household that already owns a SwitchBot hub, or an Apple household willing to buy the Hub 2 specifically. A Home Assistant household is well served here too, and without a hub: Home Assistant documents this motor by name and SwitchBot has certified it for that platform. It is the wrong pick if the window has blinds with slats rather than draw curtains, or if the rail type is unusual enough that none of the three mounting options fits.

Check availability at SwitchBot

This opens SwitchBot's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

20 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] Home Assistant's SwitchBot integration is a BLUETOOTH integration — it states in its own words that "A SwitchBot Hub is not required for this integration" — and it names this device with control features, which is a usable control path under the ruled definition. Curtain 3 features: open/close/pause, set position, get position, get light level, get battery level, get calibration state, set curtain movement speed. · The same page's "Works with Home Assistant" section lists the devices SwitchBot has certified for Bluetooth and names "SwitchBot Curtain 3" among them. ⚠ SwitchBot's own product description (read 2026-08-09 from the store's structured product data) contains ZERO occurrences of "Bluetooth" — recorded as the limit of this evidence rather than left unstated., verified 2026-08-09
    Backs: Protocols
  2. [2] SwitchBot store listing, SwitchBot Curtain 3 — product description and feature sections — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Product identity, Required hub or bridge, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Capabilities, Subscription, Protocols
  3. [3] SwitchBot store listing, SwitchBot Curtain 3 — rail and pack options, specification lines and warranty section — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Price, Market availability, Research status, Batteries, Works without the internet, Power source, Installation
  4. [4] SwitchBot store listing, SwitchBot Curtain 3 — the third-party platform enumeration in the feature copy — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-01
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  5. [5] SwitchBot Curtain 3 product page, re-read 2026-08-18 — no sentence about Bluetooth-only control, hub requirement for remote access, or internet-outage behaviour. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
  6. [6] SwitchBot's own Vulnerability Disclosure Policy (www.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-vulnerability-disclosure-policy), read in full 2026-08-20. The commitment, verbatim: "We will deliver an updated experience for you on a regular basis including updated security patches. The period of software update support is 2 years, see the table below for details." The table it points to contains exactly ONE row — "SwitchBot Floor Cleaning Robot S10 | 2023/10/16 | 2025/12/31" — under the headings "Product Name", "Launch Date" and "End date of software update support". The same policy publishes remediation targets rather than a support horizon: "critical and high-risk vulnerabilities will be fixed within three working days, high-risk vulnerabilities within 0.5 months, medium-risk vulnerabilities within one month, and low-risk vulnerabilities within four months", with reports to security@switch-bot.com. Rungs walked per method note 69: (a) no SwitchBot regulatory-declaration library (UK PSTI / EU CRA) could be located — a first-party search surfaced only per-product FCC "Safety and Compliance Information" articles, which carry no support period; (b) answered by this policy page; (c) the product's own page sits on us.switch-bot.com, a host our conduct register lists as refusing us, and was not reachable when this entry was written. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Security-update support period
  7. [7] SwitchBot's own store listing for the Curtain 3, already cited on this record: "With SwitchBot Hub, you can also use voice commands via Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts, and IFTTT all from your sofa", and "With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain…". Home Assistant reaches the device through its BLUETOOTH integration, which states in its own words "A SwitchBot Hub is not required for this integration" — establishing a Bluetooth control path, not a Matter one., verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Protocols
  8. [8] SmartHomeWorkflow record maintenance: the catalogue-wide pass that filled in which region each security-support statement covers, verified 2026-08-27
  9. [9] SwitchBot's own product page for the Curtain 3, re-read on 12 September 2026 — 'Multiple Control Methods: Use our app to manage curtain opening, closing, and open percentage. Set custom schedules for fully automated curtains. With SwitchBot Hub, you can also use voice commands via Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts, and IFTTT all from your sofa.'; 'Supports Matter: With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit.' The 'Product Information and Specs' block carries size, weight and warranty only — no connectivity row. Also re-read: www.home-assistant.io/integrations/switchbot/ ('The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the SwitchBot Cloud.', 'Curtain 3' named in the supported list) and www.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-vulnerability-disclosure-policy. Read on www.switch-bot.com, SwitchBot's global store; us.switch-bot.com has been turning our reader away. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-12
  10. [10] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-13 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-13
  11. [11] SwitchBot's Curtain 3 product page, re-read 2026-09-19, verbatim: "With SwitchBot Hub (sold separately), you can also use voice commands via Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts, and IFTTT all from your sofa." and, under the heading Supports Matter, "With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit." Home Assistant appears nowhere in the product body; only the site-wide store menu carries a Works with Home Assistant section. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility
  12. [12] SwitchBot's global store listing for the SwitchBot Curtain 3, https://www.switch-bot.com/products/switchbot-curtain-3, read in full 2026-09-21 through the store's structured product route. Every list price unchanged and every item in stock: U Rail 1-Pack US$89.99, 2-Pack US$179.98, 4-Pack US$359.96; Rod Type 1 1-Pack US$99.99, 2-Pack US$169.99, 4-Pack US$339.98; I Rail Accessory Kit US$9.99, 2-Pack US$19.98, 4-Pack US$39.96. ONE PRICE DISPLAY CHANGED: the Rod Type 1 2-Pack now carries a struck-through comparison price of US$199.98 against its US$169.98 selling price, which is the only struck-through figure anywhere on the listing. The listing's own words are unchanged sentence for sentence: "Upgrade your curtains effortlessly, no changes or tools needed. Hang it up, install the positioning magnets, and connect to our app. 3 simple steps for smart curtains in any room"; "Curtain 3 (Rod) offers over twice the thrust compared to the previous gen, and our all-new upgraded motor ensures smooth operation even on heavy curtains (up to 15KG)"; "When using an extendable rod please note if the diameter of the extendable area of your rod is less than 5/8 inch this device will not be compatible"; "Our smart curtains include a Silent Mode to enable your device motor to operat below 25dB, allowing your curtains to drift slower and quieter"; "Use our app to manage curtain opening, closing, and open percentage. Set custom schedules for fully automated curtains"; "With SwitchBot Hub, you can also use voice commands via Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts, and IFTTT all from your sofa"; "With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit. Control your curtains via the Home App or using your HomePod/Apple Watch"; "Size: Rod: 78 × 71 × 205 mm (3.1 × 2.8 × 8.1 in.) U Rail: 66 × 51 × 173 mm (2.6 × 2 × 6.8 in.)"; "Weight: 280 g (9.9 oz.)"; "SwitchBot Curtain is covered by a 1-year warranty." Home Assistant is named nowhere in the listing copy. The store's own barcodes are 850046603495 for the U Rail motor, 810150544701 for the Rod Type 1 motor and 850046603532 for the I Rail Accessory Kit; the multi-pack items reuse the motor barcodes with an X2 / X4 suffix on the stock code. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Product identity, Certification and product IDs, Price, Market availability, Research status, Protocols, Required hub or bridge, Subscription, Capabilities, Power source, Installation, Batteries, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility
  13. [13] Home Assistant's own documentation for the core SwitchBot Bluetooth integration, https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/switchbot/, read in full 2026-09-21 (page footer: Home Assistant 2026.9.3 Documentation). Recorded as published: the integration "was introduced in Home Assistant 0.78, and it's used by 4.4% of the active installations. Its IoT class is Local Push." and it is rated "🥇 Gold quality". Under Prerequisites: "To use this integration, it is required to have working Bluetooth set up on the device running Home Assistant. A SwitchBot Hub is not required for this integration." Under Data updates: "The integration connects locally to the devices without going via the SwitchBot Cloud." The Supported devices list carries a Cover section naming "Curtain (WoCurtain) (version 1 & 2) · Curtain 3 (WoCtn3) · Blind Tilt (WoBlindTilt) · Roller Shade · Garage Door Opener". The per-device section for this model reads "Curtain 3 — Features: open/close/pause · set position · get position · get light level · get battery level · get calibration state · set curtain movement speed", with the note that "Curtain movement speed is primarily designed for Curtain 3 models" and is set from the device options between 0 and 255. The same page's "Works with Home Assistant" section states that "SwitchBot is committed to making sure their products are up-to-date and ready to use in Home Assistant" and lists the devices SwitchBot has certified for Bluetooth, naming "SwitchBot Curtain 3" among them. — Read what the other company publishes, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Protocols, Capabilities
  14. [14] SwitchBot's own Vulnerability Disclosure Policy, https://www.switch-bot.com/pages/switchbot-vulnerability-disclosure-policy, re-read in full 2026-09-21. Unchanged in every part this record rests on. The commitment, verbatim: "We will deliver an updated experience for you on a regular basis including updated security patches. The period of software update support is 2 years, see the table below for details." The table still contains exactly ONE row — "SwitchBot Floor Cleaning Robot S10 | 2023/10/16 | 2025/12/31" — and the Curtain 3 is still not in it. The remediation targets are unchanged, and the page still names no country anywhere. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-21
    Backs: Security-update support period
  15. [15] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-22 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-22
  16. [16] SwitchBot's own store listing for the Curtain 3, read 2026-09-23. The listing is titled "SwitchBot Curtain 3", is sold by SwitchBot, and publishes an order code for each single-unit version: 850046603495 for the U Rail version and 810150544701 for the Rod Type 1 version, each matching that version's retail barcode. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Certification and product IDs
  17. [17] SwitchBot's global store page for the SwitchBot Curtain 3, read in full on 2026-10-02, plain. Verbatim: "Upgrade your curtains effortlessly, no changes or tools needed. Hang it up, install the positioning magnets, and connect to our app. 3 simple steps for smart curtains in any room" · "Use our app to manage curtain opening, closing, and open percentage. Set custom schedules for fully automated curtains. With SwitchBot Hub, you can also use voice commands via Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts, and IFTTT all from your sofa." · "With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit. Control your curtains via the Home App or using your HomePod/Apple Watch." · "SwitchBot Curtain is covered by a 1-year warranty." No plan, membership or recurring fee is named in the product's own copy. — Read the original source directly, verified 2026-10-02
    Backs: Required hub or bridge, Apple Home compatibility, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Capabilities, Subscription, Installation
  18. [18] SwitchBot's store page for the Curtain 3, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Multiple Control Methods : Use our app to manage curtain opening, closing, and open percentage. Set custom schedules for fully automated curtains. With SwitchBot Hub, you can also use voice commands via Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Siri Shortcuts, and IFTTT all from your sofa." · "With SwitchBot Hub 2 (sold separately), Curtain 3 supports Matter and can be integrated with Apple HomeKit. Control your curtains via the Home App or using your HomePod/Apple Watch." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
  19. [19] Apple Support, 'Pair and manage your Matter accessories', read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity)." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Apple Home compatibility
  20. [20] This record's own entries: the switch-bot.com listing entry of 2026-08-01, which quotes the 'SwitchBot Hub' sentence for Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings and the Hub 2 sentence for Matter and Apple HomeKit, and the entries bq107-a5ctrl-switchbot-curtain-3-store-2026-09-21 and bq612-p4-switchbot-curtain-3-listing-2026-10-02, which found those sentences unchanged., verified 2026-10-12

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check SwitchBot Curtain 3 with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker