The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
Product Library / Water Protection & Plumbing
Research profile · verified 2026-08-28 · sources re-checked 2026-11-02StreamLabs Monitor
⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ StreamLabs sells THREE differently-priced products under one family name on one storefront — Scout ($129, a point sensor), Monitor ($389, this record, whole-home usage + leak alerts, no shutoff), and Control ($999, adds an automatic shutoff valve) — and a buyer skimming the name alone can land on the wrong one. ⚠ 'StreamLabs' is also unrelated to the identically-spelled live-streaming software company Streamlabs (streamlabs.com, owned by Logitech), which dominates a plain web search for the name.
Compatibility at a glance
Does it work with your home?
Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.
A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓
Protocols: WIFI[1]
Before you buy
What do you need to make it work?
Same FAQ statement as Alexa: HomeKit integration is 'in progress' and not available today. No Matter certification claimed anywhere.[2]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
StreamLabs Monitor
- StreamLabs MonitorStreamLabs Monitor
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Account linkGoogle HomePlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-08-28
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
StreamLabs' FAQ states 'StreamLabs products currently work with Google Home' but documents no capability detail beyond that on the FAQ itself; other StreamLabs material describes a voice-set home/away mode toggle via Google Assistant. Recorded partial because a real, named integration exists but no source establishes it carries leak or usage-alert push notifications the way the app does — assume voice/away-mode convenience, not a notification channel, until confirmed otherwise.[2]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
StreamLabs' own current FAQ states plainly: integration with 'Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and others—is in progress and will be available in the future.' Recorded as an explicit not-yet, not an unverified blank. ⚠ Older third-party listings (including a legacy Amazon product page) describe Alexa compatibility from the pre-2021, RWC-owned era of this product line; the FAQ is the current first-party statement and is trusted over stale retail copy.[2]
The record does not support a connection to this platform. Read the explanation below.
StreamLabs says its products currently work with Google Home and that other smart home platforms, Alexa and Apple HomeKit among them, are still in progress. SmartThings is not available today.[2][9]
Follow the recorded connection below. Equipment details and setup limits explain what else this path needs.
The documented connection
StreamLabs Monitor
- StreamLabs MonitorStreamLabs Monitor
- Wi-FiWi-Fi routerYour home network
- InternetCloud serviceInternet connection required
- Official integrationHome AssistantPlatform control
What you gainReach the device through the documented cloud connection.
Keep in mindCheck the function table for supported controls and routines. A connection diagram does not establish every function or remote access.
How to read the equipment roles
This shows the connection route, not every network cable or a shopping list. One device may provide several roles, including a Matter controller and a Thread border router. Only a Thread connection needs the Thread role. Read the equipment cards for all recorded requirements.
Sources for these setup paths
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-08-28
- Setup documentation · checked 2026-10-27
These paths summarize documented setup options. Check the function table for the connection covered by each recorded capability.
Home Assistant ships this integration itself, and it works through StreamLabs' servers rather than over your own network. Home Assistant's own documentation lists daily, monthly and yearly water-usage sensors plus away-mode status and control. The real limit is not the integration but the account underneath it: Home Assistant states that outside access to StreamLabs' water data is not free and needs a StreamPlus subscription level that enables it, and the access key has to be requested from StreamLabs directly rather than granted by signing in. So the integration is real and reasonably capable, and it is paywalled one layer above the device.[5][10]
The equipment list for this platform is not fully specified here. Use the documented setup above; an empty list does not mean no equipment is needed.
One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.
What could you do with this?
Put its functions to use.
Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.
Documented device function
Water flow
The device reports this event.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Setup and sources
Device documentation: [5]
Documented device function
Leak detected
The device reports this event.
Compare its platform availability in the table below.
Setup and sources
Device documentation: [5]
Apple Home · Doesn't work
Water flow
This device reports water flow.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Same FAQ statement as Alexa: HomeKit integration is 'in progress' and not available today. No Matter certification claimed anywhere.
Connection documentation: [2]
Device documentation: [5]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-28
streamlabswater.com · checked 2026-08-28
Google Home · Partial
Water flow
This device reports water flow.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Voice-level convenience (home/away mode) per StreamLabs' own material; no source documents leak-alert push through Google Assistant.
StreamLabs' FAQ states 'StreamLabs products currently work with Google Home' but documents no capability detail beyond that on the FAQ itself; other StreamLabs material describes a voice-set home/away mode toggle via Google Assistant. Recorded partial because a real, named integration exists but no source establishes it carries leak or usage-alert push notifications the way the app does — assume voice/away-mode convenience, not a notification channel, until confirmed otherwise.
Connection documentation: [2]
Device documentation: [5]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-28
streamlabswater.com · checked 2026-08-28
Alexa · Doesn't work
Water flow
This device reports water flow.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
StreamLabs' own current FAQ states plainly: integration with 'Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and others—is in progress and will be available in the future.' Recorded as an explicit not-yet, not an unverified blank. ⚠ Older third-party listings (including a legacy Amazon product page) describe Alexa compatibility from the pre-2021, RWC-owned era of this product line; the FAQ is the current first-party statement and is trusted over stale retail copy.
Connection documentation: [2]
Device documentation: [5]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-28
streamlabswater.com · checked 2026-08-28
SmartThings · Doesn't work
Water flow
This device reports water flow.
- Event
- Doesn't work
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
StreamLabs says its products currently work with Google Home and that other smart home platforms, Alexa and Apple HomeKit among them, are still in progress. SmartThings is not available today.
Connection documentation: [2] [9]
Device documentation: [5]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-28
streamlabswater.com · checked 2026-10-03
Home Assistant · Partial
Water flow
This device reports water flow.
- Event
- Not stated
- Automation
- —
Setup: See the equipment information above.
Setup and sources
Usage sensors and an away-mode toggle, gated behind a paid StreamPlus subscription for API access — see subscription.notes.
Home Assistant ships this integration itself, and it works through StreamLabs' servers rather than over your own network. Home Assistant's own documentation lists daily, monthly and yearly water-usage sensors plus away-mode status and control. The real limit is not the integration but the account underneath it: Home Assistant states that outside access to StreamLabs' water data is not free and needs a StreamPlus subscription level that enables it, and the access key has to be requested from StreamLabs directly rather than granted by signing in. So the integration is real and reasonably capable, and it is paywalled one layer above the device.
Connection documentation: [5] [10]
Device documentation: [5]
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-28
api.github.com · checked 2026-10-27
A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.
The functions, side by side
What can you use, and where?[5]
A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.
- Controls
- None documented by the vendor
- Reported events
- 2 documented
Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.
| Device function | Apple HomeDoesn't work[2] | Google HomePartial[2] | AlexaDoesn't work[2] | SmartThingsDoesn't work[2][9] | Home AssistantPartial[5][10] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Water flowReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Not stated | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work | Event Not stated |
| Leak detectedReported event | Event Doesn't work | Event Not stated | Event Doesn't work | Event Doesn't work | Event Not stated |
Automation availability for this model is not established.
✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.
Setup and sources
Apple Home
Same FAQ statement as Alexa: HomeKit integration is 'in progress' and not available today. No Matter certification claimed anywhere.[2]
Google Home
StreamLabs' FAQ states 'StreamLabs products currently work with Google Home' but documents no capability detail beyond that on the FAQ itself; other StreamLabs material describes a voice-set home/away mode toggle via Google Assistant. Recorded partial because a real, named integration exists but no source establishes it carries leak or usage-alert push notifications the way the app does — assume voice/away-mode convenience, not a notification channel, until confirmed otherwise.[2]
Water flow: Voice-level convenience (home/away mode) per StreamLabs' own material; no source documents leak-alert push through Google Assistant.
Leak detected: Voice-level convenience (home/away mode) per StreamLabs' own material; no source documents leak-alert push through Google Assistant.
Alexa
StreamLabs' own current FAQ states plainly: integration with 'Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and others—is in progress and will be available in the future.' Recorded as an explicit not-yet, not an unverified blank. ⚠ Older third-party listings (including a legacy Amazon product page) describe Alexa compatibility from the pre-2021, RWC-owned era of this product line; the FAQ is the current first-party statement and is trusted over stale retail copy.[2]
SmartThings
StreamLabs says its products currently work with Google Home and that other smart home platforms, Alexa and Apple HomeKit among them, are still in progress. SmartThings is not available today.[2][9]
Home Assistant
Home Assistant ships this integration itself, and it works through StreamLabs' servers rather than over your own network. Home Assistant's own documentation lists daily, monthly and yearly water-usage sensors plus away-mode status and control. The real limit is not the integration but the account underneath it: Home Assistant states that outside access to StreamLabs' water data is not free and needs a StreamPlus subscription level that enables it, and the access key has to be requested from StreamLabs directly rather than granted by signing in. So the integration is real and reasonably capable, and it is paywalled one layer above the device.[5][10]
Water flow: Usage sensors and an away-mode toggle, gated behind a paid StreamPlus subscription for API access — see subscription.notes.
Leak detected: Usage sensors and an away-mode toggle, gated behind a paid StreamPlus subscription for API access — see subscription.notes.
Platform documentation:
streamlabswater.com · checked 2026-08-28
streamlabswater.com · checked 2026-10-03
home-assistant.io · checked 2026-08-28
api.github.com · checked 2026-10-27
Device documentation: [5]
- Google Home: Voice-level convenience (home/away mode) per StreamLabs' own material; no source documents leak-alert push through Google Assistant.
- Home Assistant: Usage sensors and an away-mode toggle, gated behind a paid StreamPlus subscription for API access — see subscription.notes.
Deliberately empty actions: no shutoff valve exists on this SKU (that's the $999 'Control' product), so this device measures and reports rather than actuates — a leak here ends in an alert, not an intervention. The home/away mode toggle StreamLabs and its Home Assistant integration both expose has no matching term in the capability vocabulary and is recorded in prose (integrations catches) rather than claimed structurally.
Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.
Connection details and setup sources
| Ecosystem | Support | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Alexa | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2] | StreamLabs' own current FAQ states plainly: integration with 'Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and others—is in progress and will be available in the future.' Recorded as an explicit not-yet, not an unverified blank. ⚠ Older third-party listings (including a legacy Amazon product page) describe Alexa compatibility from the pre-2021, RWC-owned era of this product line; the FAQ is the current first-party statement and is trusted over stale retail copy. |
| Google Home | PartialPartial support — see the catch[2] | StreamLabs' FAQ states 'StreamLabs products currently work with Google Home' but documents no capability detail beyond that on the FAQ itself; other StreamLabs material describes a voice-set home/away mode toggle via Google Assistant. Recorded partial because a real, named integration exists but no source establishes it carries leak or usage-alert push notifications the way the app does — assume voice/away-mode convenience, not a notification channel, until confirmed otherwise. |
| Apple Home | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2] | Same FAQ statement as Alexa: HomeKit integration is 'in progress' and not available today. No Matter certification claimed anywhere. |
| SmartThings | Doesn't workVerified: does not work with this ecosystem[2][9] | StreamLabs says its products currently work with Google Home and that other smart home platforms, Alexa and Apple HomeKit among them, are still in progress. SmartThings is not available today. |
| Home Assistant | PartialPartial support — see the catch[5][10] | Home Assistant ships this integration itself, and it works through StreamLabs' servers rather than over your own network. Home Assistant's own documentation lists daily, monthly and yearly water-usage sensors plus away-mode status and control. The real limit is not the integration but the account underneath it: Home Assistant states that outside access to StreamLabs' water data is not free and needs a StreamPlus subscription level that enables it, and the access key has to be requested from StreamLabs directly rather than granted by signing in. So the integration is real and reasonably capable, and it is paywalled one layer above the device. |
Plans and ongoing costs[2][3]
◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.
- Free: Real-time push leak alerts (leaks as small as 0.25 GPM), Drip Detect alerts, Smart Alerts learning mode, Water usage charts — current day/month/year, Up to 2 monitored locations, up to 5 Scouts per location, Last 3 alerts in history
Vendor account required: Yes — you must create a vendor account to use it.[2]
The free 'Standard' plan is not a stripped demo — StreamLabs' own plan-comparison page shows it includes the same core leak detection, Smart Alerts and Drip Detect features as the paid tier, and push notifications work on both. The $5.99/mo or $59/yr 'StreamPlus' tier adds email and text notification channels (Standard is push-only), more locations and Scouts, and up to 2 years of history instead of the last 3 alerts. ⚠ ONE REAL GATE: Home Assistant's official integration documents that outside access to StreamLabs' water data is itself not free and needs a StreamPlus subscription level that enables it — so the app experience is fully free, and letting anything outside the StreamLabs app read or control the device is not.
Maintenance and offline use
- Batteries:
- Works without the internet: No — the core function depends on the vendor's servers, so an outage takes it with them.[1]
- Mains-powered via an included universal power supply (100–240VAC in, 5.9V/0.6A out) on a 10-foot cord, with 25 ft and 50 ft extension cables sold separately — not battery-run, so there is no battery-life figure to record. Attaches externally to an existing straight, uninterrupted pipe run (minimum 5 inches) with included zip-ties; no cutting or plumbing. Fits 3/4" and 1" CTS pipe in copper (Types M & L), PEX and CPVC. Indoor use only; rated water-temperature range 40–80°F, max operating pressure 232 psi.
- Security updates: No security-update support date is on record for this model yet. We haven't yet checked whether StreamLabs publishes one, so this is a gap in our research — not a statement about the manufacturer.
Who it's for
A household that wants whole-home leak and usage visibility without cutting into a pipe or hiring a plumber — it clips onto an existing straight run of copper, PEX or CPVC with zip-ties and reads flow acoustically. Good fit for renters or anyone who wants to try monitoring before committing to a shutoff-valve install. Look elsewhere if you want the water physically shut off on a leak (StreamLabs' own Control, or a dedicated shutoff-valve product, does that — this one doesn't) or if Apple Home, SmartThings, or a live Alexa integration matters today. Home Assistant households can get real usage sensors and away-mode control, but only by paying for StreamPlus.
This opens StreamLabs's own website. We earn nothing from this link.
Sources & method
Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →
10 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
- [1] streamlabswater.com/products/streamlabs-water-monitor (first-party product page), read 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28Backs: Price, Market availability, Research status, Batteries, Required hub or bridge, Power source, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Works without the internet, Product identitypage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [2] streamlabswater.com/pages/faqs (first-party FAQ), read 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Vendor account required, Subscriptionpage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [3] streamlabswater.com/pages/streamplus (first-party plan-comparison page), read 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28Backs: Subscription
- [4] streamlabswater.com/pages/about-us (first-party About page), read 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28Backs: Service status
- [5] home-assistant.io/integrations/streamlabswater (Home Assistant core integration documentation), read 2026-08-28 — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-28Backs: Home Assistant compatibility, Capabilities
- [6] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-10 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-10
- [7] streamlabswater.com — StreamLabs Monitor product page and its installation FAQ, read 2026-09-16. Verbatim: 'No need for complex installation; simply attach it to your existing pipes and let the patented ultrasonic technology do the work, silently monitoring every drop.'; 'The Monitor may be installed vertically or horizontally as long as it is securely fastened to the pipe using the included zip-ties.'; 'Do not install the Monitor on top of a pipe joint or coupling - it must be a straight segment of uninterrupted pipe.'; 'The chosen install location must also be in range of a standard wall outlet.' — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-16Backs: Installationpage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [8] StreamLabs' own store listing for the Monitor, read 2026-09-24. The listing is titled "StreamLabs Monitor", is sold by StreamLabs, and sells a single version under the part code UFMT-1000. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-24Backs: Certification and product IDspage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
- [9] StreamLabs' FAQ page, read in full on 2026-10-03: "Can the app work with my smart home apps like Alexa or Google Home? Yes, StreamLabs products currently work with Google Home. Integration with other smart home platforms—including Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, and others—is in progress and will be available in the future." — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-03Backs: SmartThings compatibilitypage changed on 2026-11-02, after this reading
- [10] Home Assistant's StreamLabs integration page source, read in full on 2026-10-27 from the documentation repository on GitHub through tools/page-read.mjs (source/_integrations/streamlabswater.markdown on branch current, blob dae3ac062b6e; the file's base64 content decoded). Verbatim: "to retrieve usage information and manage the away mode of the device." · "is used to retrieve daily, monthly, and yearly water usage along with the current away mode." · "Access to the StreamLabs Water API is not free, you must have a StreamPlus™ subscription level that enables API access." · "Be sure to request an API key and not an OAuth token." Its IoT class is Cloud Polling, its platforms list names binary_sensor and sensor, and its integration type is service. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-27Backs: Home Assistant compatibilitypage unchanged as of 2026-11-02
Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.
Check StreamLabs Monitor with your setup.
Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.