Product Library / Thermostats

Research profile · last verified 2026-08-18

Sensibo Air

⚠ Similar names, different products: ⚠ Sensibo sells three controllers whose names differ by one word, and the difference decides which ecosystem you can use. This Air sits in the middle: the Sky ($89) has NO Apple HomeKit support, while this Air and the Air Pro ($139) do. Against the Pro the gap is the air-quality half rather than the air-conditioning half — both control the same air conditioners the same way. Check which of the three a listing actually names before buying on price.

Compatibility at a glance

Does it work with your platform?

Choose your platform to see its setup and functions. Your choice carries across product pages.

[1][8]
[1][8]
[1][8]
[1][8]
[1]

A connection can work while individual controls or automations remain unconfirmed. Read the connection details ↓

Protocols: WIFI[1]

Before you buy

What do you need to make it work?

No hub for the device alone

Choose a platform above for its connection. A hub can be optional for the device itself and required for a platform or automation.

One device can provide more than one role. These are setup requirements, not a shopping list of separate purchases.

What could you do with this?

Put its functions to use.

Research, not hands-on testing

Start with a documented control or event. The selected connection shows what is confirmed for that platform.

Documented device function

HVAC mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4]

Documented device function

Target temperature

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4]

Documented device function

Fan mode

The device supports this control.

Compare its platform availability in the table below.

Setup and sources

Device documentation: [4]

A documented control or event is one part of a setup. It does not by itself establish a complete automation.

The functions, side by side

What can you use, and where?[4]

A platform connection does not confirm every function. Controls and reported events are shown separately from what an automation can use.

Controls
3 documented
Reported events
2 documented

Compare all five platforms. On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways.

Documented device functions, platform controls and automation availability
Device functionApple HomeWorks; fan mode unconfirmed[1][8]Google HomeWorks; fan mode unconfirmed[1][8]AlexaWorks; fan mode unconfirmed[1][8]SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed[1][8]Home AssistantInconclusive[1]
HVAC modeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Target temperatureDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Fan modeDevice control
Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Not stated

Control

Inconclusive

Temperature readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Humidity readingReported event
Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Not stated

Event

Inconclusive

Automation availability for this model is not established.

✓ Documented for this connection. × A stated limit. ◐ A partial function. ? Not established. A listed device function does not establish a complete routine, its other equipment or any plan requirements.

Setup and sources

Apple Home

Sensibo says the Air is Apple HomeKit certified and works natively with the Apple Home app, and that you can change the temperature or switch modes with a voice command, naming Siri and Apple Home among the platforms. Fan mode is unconfirmed in Apple Home: Sensibo does not say whether you can change the fan speed there. The cheaper Sky has no Apple Home route, so within Sensibo's line-up the Air is the step that gives an Apple household a working device.[1][8]

Google Home

Sensibo says the Air links to Google's assistant in one click and that you can change the temperature or switch modes with a voice command. Fan mode is unconfirmed on Google Home: Sensibo does not say whether you can change the fan speed from Google.[1][8]

Alexa

Sensibo says the Air links to Alexa in one click and that you can change the temperature or switch modes with a voice command. Fan mode is unconfirmed on Alexa: Sensibo does not say whether you can change the fan speed from Alexa.[1][8]

SmartThings

Sensibo lists SmartThings among the platforms the Air works with. It does not say how the Air connects to SmartThings or which settings SmartThings can change, so temperature, mode and fan speed are not confirmed there.[1][8]

Home Assistant

Not established. Home Assistant does not appear anywhere in Sensibo's platform list for this product, and we found no Home Assistant documentation naming the Air. ⊕ Sensibo does publish an open way for other software to control its devices, which is the kind of thing community integrations get built on — but that is a capability, not a documented Home Assistant path, and the two are not the same claim.[1]

Device documentation: [4]

Some functions may need a paid plan. Plan requirements are shown below.

Listed device functions are established from vendor documentation. An ability missing here is unestablished, not necessarily absent.

Connection details and setup sources
EcosystemSupportThe catch
Amazon AlexaWorks; fan mode unconfirmedWorks; fan mode unconfirmed — see the catch[1][8]Sensibo says the Air links to Alexa in one click and that you can change the temperature or switch modes with a voice command. Fan mode is unconfirmed on Alexa: Sensibo does not say whether you can change the fan speed from Alexa.
Google HomeWorks; fan mode unconfirmedWorks; fan mode unconfirmed — see the catch[1][8]Sensibo says the Air links to Google's assistant in one click and that you can change the temperature or switch modes with a voice command. Fan mode is unconfirmed on Google Home: Sensibo does not say whether you can change the fan speed from Google.
Apple HomeWorks; fan mode unconfirmedWorks; fan mode unconfirmed — see the catch[1][8]Sensibo says the Air is Apple HomeKit certified and works natively with the Apple Home app, and that you can change the temperature or switch modes with a voice command, naming Siri and Apple Home among the platforms. Fan mode is unconfirmed in Apple Home: Sensibo does not say whether you can change the fan speed there. The cheaper Sky has no Apple Home route, so within Sensibo's line-up the Air is the step that gives an Apple household a working device.
SmartThingsWorks per the maker; details unconfirmedWorks per the maker; details unconfirmed — see the catch[1][8]Sensibo lists SmartThings among the platforms the Air works with. It does not say how the Air connects to SmartThings or which settings SmartThings can change, so temperature, mode and fan speed are not confirmed there.
Home AssistantInconclusiveWe researched this and the evidence doesn't settle it — the catch explains why[1]Not established. Home Assistant does not appear anywhere in Sensibo's platform list for this product, and we found no Home Assistant documentation naming the Air. ⊕ Sensibo does publish an open way for other software to control its devices, which is the kind of thing community integrations get built on — but that is a capability, not a documented Home Assistant path, and the two are not the same claim.

? Inconclusive means we researched that ecosystem and the evidence doesn’t settle it — the catch says why, and the sources are listed below. It is a statement about the available evidence, never a verdict on the product. A Setup Check researches your exact setup where the official sources don’t answer.

Plans and ongoing costs[2]

◐ Works without a subscription: Yes. The maker also sells an optional paid plan.

Vendor account required: Not established — we have not sourced this yet.

⭐ Sensibo publishes an actual free-versus-paid table, which is rarer on this shelf than it should be — most vendors leave you to discover the line after purchase. The Energy Saver Plan (Sensibo Plus) is '$3 / month Billed yearly ($30 / year)'. What stays free is the part most buyers are actually buying: app control, schedules, timers, geofencing, filter reminders, device sharing, PureBoost and — importantly — Climate React, the sensor-driven automation that is Sensibo's signature feature. What you pay for is the analytics and optimisation layer: energy statistics, Optimus, AC health checks, anti-mold, auto-off. ⚠ Read one item on the paid list as a cost rather than a feature: 'Extended warranty' sits behind the plan, so declining the subscription may also decline warranty coverage the page does not otherwise quantify.

Maintenance and offline use

The catch

This is an infrared remote with WiFi, not a thermostat — it works by mimicking the handset your air conditioner already came with, so it can only ever tell the unit what that remote could tell it. Anything the remote cannot do, this cannot do either. It is also 2.4 GHz only, which is fine until the router is far from the wall unit. And the subscription line deserves a second look before you dismiss it: the everyday features are genuinely free, including the Climate React automation that is the whole reason to buy a Sensibo — but 'Extended warranty' sits on the paid side, so declining $30 a year may also be declining coverage.

Who it's for

Anyone with a mini-split, window unit or portable air conditioner that has a remote and no smarts — which is most of them. It gives that unit schedules, geofencing and humidity-triggered automation without touching the equipment, and it is the cheapest of Sensibo's three controllers that an Apple Home household can actually use, since the $89 Sky has no HomeKit path. Step up to the Air Pro only if indoor air-quality sensing is the point; for controlling the air conditioner the two are the same device.

Check availability at Sensibo

This opens Sensibo's own website. We earn nothing from this link.

Sources & method

Numbered sources below back the facts marked with the matching number above. This is a research profile: compiled from manufacturer documentation, certification registries, and published testing — we state facts, not verdicts, and we have not physically tested this unit. How we work →

9 numbered sources· read them in the source's own words
  1. [1] sensibo.com, Sensibo Air product page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Product identity, Price, Protocols, Wi-Fi bands it can use, Power source, Installation, Required hub or bridge, Market availability, Research status, Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, Apple Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Home Assistant compatibility
  2. [2] sensibo.com, Sensibo Energy Saver Plan (Sensibo Plus) page — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-18
    Backs: Subscription, Service status
  3. [3] sensibo.com Sensibo Air product page, already cited on this record for protocols, hubRequired and all five ecosystem cells — Recorded from our own earlier read, verified 2026-08-19
    Backs: What it provides to your home
  4. [4] support.sensibo.com/community-integrations/home-assistant, read 2026-08-20: "Support for all Sensibo device models (Sky, Air, Air Pro)" — an explicit model enumeration that names this product — with the integration's capabilities given as "Adjust AC modes, fan speeds, and target temperature" and "Monitor real-time temperature and humidity readings". — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-08-20
    Backs: Capabilities
  5. [5] the record's own customer-facing prose fields as they stood before 2026-09-06 (no new external read), verified 2026-09-06
  6. [6] this record's own lifecycle note as it stood before 2026-09-19 (no new external read): its wording was rewritten so it reads in plain language. No fact, date, source or value changed, and the earlier wording is kept on this record., verified 2026-09-19
  7. [7] Sensibo's own store listing for the Sensibo Air, read 2026-09-23. The listing is titled "Sensibo Air", is sold by Sensibo, and sells a single version: model code SEN-AIR-CRL-01, barcode 7290016037173. — Read on the maker's own site, verified 2026-09-23
    Backs: Certification and product IDs, Product identity
  8. [8] Sensibo's own Sensibo Air page, read in full on 2026-10-04. Verbatim: "Voice Assistants & Integrations Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Apple Siri, SmartThings, IFTTT, API" · "Hands-free control Works with Amazon Echo, Google Home, Siri & Apple Home Sensibo Air works with Amazon Echo, Google Home, Siri & Apple Home. Just one click to link the Sensibo Air to your Amazon or Google assistant and you're set to go. Change the temperature or switch modes with a simple voice command." · "Apple HomeKit Integration Works natively with the Apple Home app." · "Does Air support Apple HomeKit? Yes. The Sensibo Air is Apple HomeKit certified. You can control it using the Apple HomeKit app." The page states fan levels only for the Sensibo app ("Full control of AC from anywhere (including all modes, fan levels, swing, LED light, etc.)") and names no route for SmartThings. — Re-checked this against its sources, verified 2026-10-04
    Backs: Amazon Alexa compatibility, Google Home compatibility, SmartThings compatibility, Apple Home compatibility
  9. [9] This record's own entries for the pages that name the route., verified 2026-10-04

Compatibility and lifecycle information reflects the last-verified date above and can change without notice (firmware updates, cloud-service changes, discontinuations). It is provided as-is, for information — verify with the manufacturer before purchasing. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it. Full terms: Terms of Service.

Check Sensibo Air with your setup.

Your platform, exact hub and the functions you need determine the answer. A Setup Check researches how they fit together.

Get a Setup Check → Use the free compatibility checker